View Full Version : Pensioner / Health Card Discounts
Pensioner and Health Cards entitle you to an array of discounts, not just for Health Care. However, it's very difficult to know what discounts are available and info on the Centrelink website is limited.
To help all our parents out there who have these cards, lets keep a thread here of all the discounts that apply.
23-10-2007, 13:22
Free reading glasses from OPSM (though you have to fill out an application form) if you have a pension card.
Fuchsia!
23-10-2007, 13:24
you get free train tickets, 4 a year. Although you have to pay for a booking fee
also you can get free rego
borntobemummy
23-10-2007, 13:26
free rego? really? how???
punkbaby
23-10-2007, 13:41
When i had my HCC kinder fees were dramatically reduced normally $150 a term they were ony $45 a term
School fees (EMA) reduced
Cheaper rego (saved about $150 and had option to pay 6 monthly)
Pet registrations 50% discount
Some vets would also have a HCC or pension day where you saved 25%
Fuchsia!
23-10-2007, 13:45
free rego? really? how???
Umm i think so anyway!! i think you just have to pay for your greenslip.
You can do your driving test for free and you get your licence for free too. Correct me if im wrong
23-10-2007, 13:56
Umm i think so anyway!! i think you just have to pay for your greenslip.
You can do your driving test for free and you get your licence for free too. Correct me if im wrong
Yep free rego, but only for pension card, not HCC.
borntobemummy
23-10-2007, 14:04
oh, we just have HCC
Noah_and_Elijah
23-10-2007, 14:07
It differs from state to state as well because in Qld you don't get any discounts at Transport (RTA) on anything apart from rego and even then it's only about $50 for the year (for a pension card holder).
Different departments have different regulations in different states. It's very confusing! :confused:
Half price entry into Dreamworld with a PCC
LilShenanigans
23-10-2007, 14:31
Yeah the different states thing is difficult.. but maybe we could mention which state we're from and what discounts we get??
I know some things would be national, say getting an ambulance should very much be free for concession card holders.
In NSW, car rego is free, licenses and pretty much everything at the rta is free.
There are discounts on insurance, CTPs etc as well.
Everything under utilities should be discounted - water, gas, electricity, phone (landline only?) just have to notify the company of your card.
And my favourite is mail redirection, heavily discounted with a concession card. Last time I did it, 6 months only cost me $17 and proved quite a good choice as a medicare letter was sent out about 5 months after I moved.
Other things would be worth looking into is council rates and pretty much every entertainment venue you can think of.. some places advertise no concession discounts, but very rarely.
Very worthwhile asking especially if you go to kids concerts etc
mum23girls
23-10-2007, 16:23
:crying: I want a HCC.
You can also use your motor club card for HEAPS of discounts. It is worth the $50 odd dollars a year, even if you don't break down.
jellybellybean
23-10-2007, 16:33
You will only find limited info on the Centrelink website because Centrelink issue the cards fro the Pharmaceutical Benefit Scheme only (cheaper prescriptions, healthcare). Individual organisations can offer different concessions to cardholders, but this has nothing to do with Centrelink so its always worth asking around if any concessions are offered.
mikaylasmummy
23-10-2007, 17:08
sorry to take over the thread but just wondering what is the differance between the pension card and a HCC.
Is it the color?
Amberlea
23-10-2007, 18:38
Health Care Cards are for people in receipt of the dole/parenting payment/etc alone, or those families with low incomes (under a certain threshold)
The pension car is for those in receipt of a pension and Single Parenting Payment.
There are different concessions for both cards, some are the same, but there are a few differences. Normally a pension card holds more concessions.
jordy&steph'smumma
25-10-2007, 09:54
I have a hhc I'm in Vic.
I have gotten:
- Cheaper train fairs about 1/2 price
- electricity and gas discounts at certain times of the year (winter)
- reduced school fees because of (ema)
- Kinder fee was only $10 for the whole year as you get $550(I think) off if you have hhc. (this is for 2 sessions a week (10 hours)
- $90 off rego of 1 car
- dog rego cheaper (but ours is anyway because our dog is desexed and chipped)
- No account fees at bank.
Will post more if any pop up I have forgotten.
SweetSerenity
25-10-2007, 10:42
I am a pension card holder (single parent) in NSW.
I actually went to the RTA and got a pretty good surprise!
My rego is due today, so I popped in yesterday and I had paid for my greenslip earlier and handed them my pension card and rego paper.
I hadn't told them in January that I went onto a pension (SPP) as I didn't think I had to.
So she started typing away and then said to me "Oh have you been on the pension since January?" and I said "Yes"... "Well you will be entitled for part of last years rego to be refunded to you"... :D:D
All up including a $20 refund for my license I am getting back $180!! Happy birthday nat hahaha.
So just thought I would let you girls know that if you get on a pension after you have already paid rego for your car, you are entitled to a refund of whatever amount from the time you began your pension :thumbsup:
SweetSerenity
25-10-2007, 10:49
Regarding the driving tests, they aren't covered unfortunately with the pension card. I asked yesterday as I'm due to go for my full license in a week or so, you still have to pay the $35 for the test, just not your license :thumbsup:
I have a hhc I'm in Vic.
I have gotten:
May I ask what bank is that as I still have to pay fees!:(
Ana Gram
25-10-2007, 15:36
So just thought I would let you girls know that if you get on a pension after you have already paid rego for your car, you are entitled to a refund of whatever amount from the time you began your pension :thumbsup:
I wonder if that is different in each state. My rego was about $1000 and I started on the pension the following week.
LilShenanigans
25-10-2007, 15:46
I wonder if that is different in each state. My rego was about $1000 and I started on the pension the following week.
Wouldn't hurt to pop in and ask :thumbsup:
jordy&steph'smumma
26-10-2007, 08:44
May I ask what bank is that as I still have to pay fees!:(
NAB
One of my friends told me ages ago about it and I asked and they said no you have a loan trimmer anyway which pretty much cancels out the monthly fees.
But I went in the other day and the girl said I see you get a pension do you still get it? I said yes and she said I will put it on there and you won't get the $4 monthly fee you get now anymore.
I was like GREAT!!!! Any money saved is great.:thumbsup:
SweetSerenity
26-10-2007, 09:01
Hey Chelle,
Was that $1000 including your greenslip or just rego?
Here in nsw we pay our greenslip and then rego is about $250 usually and thats what I got my refund on, the rego itself.
Nat x
SimplyMum
26-10-2007, 10:57
you get free train tickets, 4 a year. Although you have to pay for a booking fee
also you can get free rego
Free train tickets? How do you get these and whats the max km you can go? Like Sydney to QLD? Local?
And to the person asking about bank fees. Westpac does it as well. I have a westpac acc and I get unlimited transactions (with any Westpac atm) and no bank fees. You just have to ask. They were called a deeming acc but it's changed now, I can't remember what it's called. Although you can only have 1 acc and it has to be the acc in which your pension goes into.
Ana Gram
26-10-2007, 12:45
Hey Chelle,
Was that $1000 including your greenslip or just rego?
Here in nsw we pay our greenslip and then rego is about $250 usually and thats what I got my refund on, the rego itself.
Nat x
I don't even know what a green slip is!
Amberlea
26-10-2007, 13:18
Chelle - why was your rego that much?
It shouldnt be more than $580 full price (for 4 and 6 cylinders).
In any case - you should be entitled to get half of your actual rego fee back.. take your pension card into Vic Roads and show them.
They may not do it because you didn't have your card when you went in - but worth asking about anyway.
Rego for pension holders in Vic is only $280 (yearly) and you can chose to pay it 6 monthly instead of yearly.
This Link (http://www.office-for-children.vic.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0013/42403/concessions_manual_sept2006.pdf) has most of the concessions available to HCC and Pension Card holders in Victoria (PDF please be patient whislt it loads)
Here (http://www.dadhc.nsw.gov.au/dadhc/templates/General.aspx?NRMODE=Published&NRORIGINALURL=%2fdadhc%2fOlder%2bPeople%2fOlder%2b People%2bConcessions%2ehtm&NRNODEGUID=%7bD30FB77D-4885-48C1-B768-070515CE4346%7d&NRCACHEHINT=NoModifyGuest#Entitled%20pension) for New South Wales - i know it says seniors.. but the concessions are still the same because they are relevant to the Pension Card (most concessions are available in the ACT also)
Here (http://www.revenuesa.sa.gov.au/Concessions.pdf) for South Australia (not detailed but lists the common ones)
Here (http://www.premier.tas.gov.au/publications/budget07/Concession%20Booklet%202007.pdf) for Tasmania
Here (http://www.communities.qld.gov.au/community/concessions/brochure/stategovt/) for Queensland
NT I havent located the site for - but there are similar sites for both offering the concessions
Ana Gram
26-10-2007, 13:42
It is a brand new car so that might be why. The total amount paid on the rego receipt was $1068.80, so that must include all the other fees that go with it.
Amberlea
26-10-2007, 14:36
yeah thats why, it will include stamp duty and the rest of the rubbish - anything for them to make a buck or two.
26-10-2007, 14:41
Chelle did you let VicRoads know that you have a pension card?
If your reg was due and the card was valid for that date, take your card and licence into VR and you will get a refund. It's also handy to have it on file that was your reg next year will be sent out to you with the pension rate and you will not have to go into VR to get it changed.
26-10-2007, 14:43
Amberlea - You sound like you used to work (or do) at VR??????
Ana Gram
26-10-2007, 14:45
Chelle did you let VicRoads know that you have a pension card?
If your reg was due and the card was valid for that date, take your card and licence into VR and you will get a refund. It's also handy to have it on file that was your reg next year will be sent out to you with the pension rate and you will not have to go into VR to get it changed.
Got it the week after, so I think I have to wear the full cost since I didn't have my pension card at the time of registration.
26-10-2007, 14:47
Is the pension card backdated??? or only valid from the day you got it??? If it covers the date of reg you can still get it. YKWIM.
Ana Gram
26-10-2007, 14:50
Not sure, I'll look into it though.
Amberlea
26-10-2007, 16:17
Mel: No I don't/haven't worked at VR - I just spend way to much time doing research and reading up on things.
(plus if I worked at VR - all single parents and low income families would get free rego - cos Id tell the computers so hehe)
You could say I don't have a life :D
I'm a walking encyclopaedia of useless/sometimes useful information.
Chelle check the "date granted" on your pension card - if it is before your rego date - then you will be entitled to a refund.
SugarBlossom
26-10-2007, 16:25
The single parent card is worth diddley squat up here in the NT. I have asked at soooo many palces inc MVR (moter vehicle registry) the councils etc and none give discounts...only if you have a seniors card I'm told...which sucks cos I prolly get less than a senior as I don't get maintenance, and have had my payment cut becoz of it :gloomy:
our little treasures
26-10-2007, 16:37
I have a hhc I'm in Vic.
I have gotten:
- Cheaper train fairs about 1/2 price
- electricity and gas discounts at certain times of the year (winter)
- reduced school fees because of (ema)
- Kinder fee was only $10 for the whole year as you get $550(I think) off if you have hhc. (this is for 2 sessions a week (10 hours)
- $90 off rego of 1 car
- dog rego cheaper (but ours is anyway because our dog is desexed and chipped)
Will post more if any pop up I have forgotten.
Which bank??
Amberlea
26-10-2007, 16:37
umm NT does offer concessions on rego..
Link Here (http://http://www.dva.gov.au/factsheets/documents/SOI61%20Concessions%20for%20PCC%20Holders%20NT.pdf ?ID=1073519084358)
You get most of the main concessions that other states get actually.. Not as many - but still the main ones that are worth anything.
nayasmum
26-10-2007, 16:46
In WA you get $30 a month off your gas and electricity bills combined and also cheaper tickets to the movies :)
ashleerose
26-10-2007, 21:01
our little treasures:
ANZ will provide you with a fee free bank account (only have to show them your pension card and open a certain bank account with them).
jordy&steph'smumma
26-10-2007, 21:49
Which bank??
NAB
SugarBlossom
27-10-2007, 09:35
Amberlea, That link is not working.....
Amberlea
27-10-2007, 13:34
Sorry - I forgot to adjust the link address
Try Here (http://www.dva.gov.au/factsheets/documents/SOI61%20Concessions%20for%20PCC%20Holders%20NT.htm ?ID=1073519084358)..
The information given is from the department of veteran affairs - but the concessions are specifically for Pension Card Holders and are the same no matter what pension/payment you are on.
It lists all entitlements/concessions that are available in Darwin .. rego and license discounts are included.
our little treasures:
ANZ will provide you with a fee free bank account (only have to show them your pension card and open a certain bank account with them).
Westpac also has an account like this:thumbsup:
Tam-I-Am
28-10-2007, 21:54
Ladies, I have just deleted a number of off-topic comments, and would like to take this opportunity to remind you that if you find a post in any way inappropriate or offensive, to please report it by clicking the ! inside the red triangle at the top-right-hand corner of every post rather than retaliating in the thread.
Thanks for your co-operation, and keep the information coming :thumbsup:
Funkychicken
29-10-2007, 12:30
There is a new program being run by a few charities around the country (Berry St in VIC) and is run in conjunction with the ANZ bank. It is an education savings program that offers health care card holders a chance to save for either their own education or their children's.
Basically they will match you dollar for dollar, up to $1000, over your nominated period of time.
So, for instance, if you nominate 12 months and $1000, you deposit $22/week into a fee-free ANZ account and at the end of the 12 months, they will match the exact amount you have saved. If you reach $1000, you get another $1000, if you reach $800 you get another $800.
It must be used for education purposes only but I don't know of any other investment that offers 100 % interest!
I have some details if anyone is interested-just PM me and I'll send them to you.:)
Also, wanted to add, in VIC, if you have a HCC, your ambulance membership is covered too.
Ana Gram
29-10-2007, 12:38
Also, wanted to add, in VIC, if you have a HCC, your ambulance membership is covered too.
Really? Bugger, already paid for it.
Funkychicken
29-10-2007, 13:00
Really? Bugger, already paid for it.
I rang Ambulance Victoria to see if a HCC offered any discount on membership and was told that it included the entire membership. If at any time your HCC is removed, there is no waiting period for membership again-you have it reinstated immediately.
daisy4300
29-10-2007, 13:44
Here in the NT, if you have a Pension card then it entitles you to apply for another pensioner concession card. It's called the pensioner and Carer concession scheme. It's an orange concession card that entitles you to more concessions than your regular blue pension card. Some agencies will ask if you have one but generally they don't. Rego would only cost me $50 for 6 mths rather than about $400 for 6 mths. You can get free lenses for prescription glasses plus i think it's $30 off the frames and when you connect to electricity they will waiver the connection fee and pay a percentage of your bill every 3mths. 50c bus transport for 3 hrs anywhere in the NT as well. These are just a few that I have personally benefited from. There is further information at this link.
http://www.nt.gov.au/health/comm_svs/aged_dis_ccs/pensioner/pcs.shtml
Some of the concessions it offers are:
Electricity/Alternate Energy
Local Council Property rates
Water Rates
Sewerage Rates
Garbage Charges
Motor Vehicle Registration
Drivers Licence
Spectacles
Public Transport
Interstate/Overseas Travel - restricted to Senior Citizens, Aged Pensioners, Totally and Permanently Incapacitated Veterans, and Aged War Service Veterans. (These cardholders are able to use their travel entitlements to bring a friend or family member living interstate or overseas to visit them in the Northern Territory.) NB: Concessions 2,3,4 and 5 are only available to members who own or are purchasing the property they reside in.
NB: Concession 10 is only available, under specified conditions, to:
Women aged 60 years and over
Men aged 65 years and over
Totally and Permanently Incapacitated Veterans of any age
Female War Service Veterans aged 55 years and over
Male War Service Veterans aged 60 years and overAnother thing we have here in the NT is mates rates for local territorians. If you have proof of address then you can get discounts on tourists attractions, places like territory wildlife park offer a 12 mth pass after you have paid once and show proof of address, others offer large discounts. And homebirth is free of charge, government funded whether your a concession card holder or not.
In any case - you should be entitled to get half of your actual rego fee back.. take your pension card into Vic Roads and show them.
They may not do it because you didn't have your card when you went in - but worth asking about anyway.
Rego for pension holders in Vic is only $280 (yearly) and you can chose to pay it 6 monthly instead of yearly.
This Link (http://www.office-for-children.vic.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0013/42403/concessions_manual_sept2006.pdf) has most of the concessions available to HCC and Pension Card holders in Victoria (PDF please be patient whislt it loads)
Here (http://www.dadhc.nsw.gov.au/dadhc/templates/General.aspx?NRMODE=Published&NRORIGINALURL=%2fdadhc%2fOlder%2bPeople%2fOlder%2b People%2bConcessions%2ehtm&NRNODEGUID=%7bD30FB77D-4885-48C1-B768-070515CE4346%7d&NRCACHEHINT=NoModifyGuest#Entitled%20pension) for New South Wales - i know it says seniors.. but the concessions are still the same because they are relevant to the Pension Card (most concessions are available in the ACT also)
Here (http://www.revenuesa.sa.gov.au/Concessions.pdf) for South Australia (not detailed but lists the common ones)
Here (http://www.premier.tas.gov.au/publications/budget07/Concession%20Booklet%202007.pdf) for Tasmania
Here (http://http://www.communities.qld.gov.au/community/concessions/brochure/stategovt/) for Queensland
NT I havent located the site for - but there are similar sites for both offering the concessions
The QLD link doesn't seem to be working:( Can you please re-post it?
Amberlea
29-10-2007, 16:36
Sorry about that - I was in a rush when I posted those links.. you will find that the address has two http:// 's in it - remove both of them and the address will work.
I have fixed the link - but if it happens again that is why *smacks self*
neostudded
25-12-2007, 21:27
I feel really proud because now I can contribute to this thread. :goodvibes:
If you have a HCC you get get cheaper subsciption at the Australian Breastfeeding website.
It normally costs 50 dollars for one year but if you have HCC it will cost you 35 dollars for one year.:thumbsup:
New subscribers receive a FREE copy of ABA's comprehensive book "Breastfeeding ... naturally" (RRP $34.95) **
So I think thats pretty good value :thumbsup:
you will also receive regular Essence magazines packed with interesting articles and the shared experiences of other members.
The simple savings website also gives a cheaper rate to HCC holders.
https://www.simplesavings.com.au/order/index.php
Not sure how much the savings are - but if you're trying to save money, they have some excellent tips!
Mrs Dolphin
29-03-2008, 11:47
So what other discounts can you get with a PCC in WA? Anyone know?
Ana Gram
29-03-2008, 15:25
I have been told by Centrelink that they are no longer giving Health Care Cards to people with pension cards as they should give you the same entitlements.
I wish i could get a HHC i just paid $75 for DS ashma meds:thumbsdown:
Free train tickets? How do you get these and whats the max km you can go? Like Sydney to QLD? Local?
And to the person asking about bank fees. Westpac does it as well. I have a westpac acc and I get unlimited transactions (with any Westpac atm) and no bank fees. You just have to ask. They were called a deeming acc but it's changed now, I can't remember what it's called. Although you can only have 1 acc and it has to be the acc in which your pension goes into.
In QLD you can get up to travel train rides for $5 it could be from anywhere in QLD to anywhere else in QLD.
Mummabear
13-08-2008, 09:25
The simple savings website also gives a cheaper rate to HCC holders.
https://www.simplesavings.com.au/order/index.php
Not sure how much the savings are - but if you're trying to save money, they have some excellent tips!
I couldn't find anything about a HCC discount :confused:
When I was searching regarding this, I found the following information about some of the concessions offered in New South Wales to PCC holders through State and local governments.
PCCs are issued by DVA to all
service pensioners
age pensioners who receive their pension through DVA
war widows and widowers receiving an income support supplement
They have mentioned that the PCC is proof that we receive a means tested pension and are eligible to receive certain concessions. It is issued when you are granted any of the above pensions and during October/November for each new year while you continue to be eligible for the pension. Your DVA PCC has the same status as a PCC issued by Centrelinkand will give you the same concessions.
MellyMumma
04-09-2008, 22:33
Not sure if all IGA's do this but the one out here give 5% off groceries on a tueday to pension card holders. :thumbsup:
Might add thats the normal IGA not the Supa IGA.
mumma sienna
16-10-2008, 14:44
Kmart gives a 5 or 10% discount on tuesdays to pensioners aswell... that will help around xmas time!!:yelclap:
do you just show your card when you pay or something?
mumma sienna
17-10-2008, 14:01
hi, yeah i am pretty sure its tuesday's but ask when you get to the counter no matter what day! any savings is a good savings!:yes:
anyone else know of any other places offerring discounts like this?
i applied for discounts with tesltra, iag and origin energy yesterday. telstra offers fantastic discounts on home phones :yelclap:worth everyone looking into!
Missbella
19-05-2009, 12:47
The suckful thing about QLD rego, is that the pension discount doesnt apply if the rego is in joint names and the other party doesnt hold a pension card.=(
staceyandalley
02-09-2009, 12:25
im a single mum on a pension card i live in qld i get about $10 dollars off my line rental through telstra but my rego is still $310 for 6 months!!!! its only a v6
UsThreeGirls
02-09-2009, 13:05
better than the $410 it would have been
ladybugblue84
15-12-2009, 21:24
I have never heard of that! Does anyone know if it's for real? In Qld?
HarvestMoon
16-12-2009, 03:00
I have never heard of that! Does anyone know if it's for real? In Qld?
Isn't it just for the old age pension?
myhusbandswife
24-04-2011, 21:34
My children both have a HCC each but its in their name not mine. Does anyone know if we would be eligable for these types of discount or would it just be for the kids?
In Melbourne with a HCC you get free access to Melbourne Museum and Scienceworks, general areas only you do get a discount on special showings though. Nice and cheap outings for school holidays and weekends!!!
Apparently if the PCC is used to its full extent they are worth around $50,000!! :freakingout:I nearly fell off my chair!!
The HCC is worth around $30,000 apparently..
These figures are a few years old too
starsky79
01-02-2012, 10:35
Hi... I'm new here, got HCC last month, it's NEW for me too...
Nice and useful thread...:thumbsup:
I used HCC ,so far, only for see docs, buy presc meds.
I'm a bit no confident use HCC outside that med related, bit worried if we have to pay back, one day.., once our income back to ineligible for HCC...?