View Full Version : Im a July mummy to be
JulyAngel
15-04-2005, 08:41 AM
Hey where are all the July mums hiding?
kerrie
15-04-2005, 10:18 AM
Here!
Not much new to report....except that heartburn has entered my life...not all the time (thank goodness) .....I'm not really enjoying figuring out which foods I need to eliminate.
Ummmmm...what else????? Oh Yer, I'm getting much better at Yoga :D Must be all those lovely softening hormones that are helping me stretch further ;)
How's everyone else?
Kerrie & Weeny Buba
Manxie
15-04-2005, 11:21 AM
I'm due 27th July. Havent had the heartburn yet, something else to look forward to :)
Was really starting to enjoy the pregnancy then my holidays finished and it was back to work with a vengance. I do shiftwork and am on my feet for eight hours at a go, still only eight weeks to go and then I'm off. Anyone else finding work knackering : :(
Another winge- it amazes me how in the space of five minutes you can have one person tell you that you dont look pregnant and another go on about how fat and huge you are :eek:
Look forward to hearing how everyone else is getting.
JulyAngel
18-04-2005, 06:54 PM
The heartburn has well and truly kicked in for me!! Oh and no eating and then sleeping either, it comes right back up....ewww
My neighbour told me the other day I dont look pregnant, then she told my hubby today I look like Im ready to pop...grrr I dont know what depresses me more.
That whole 'You dont look pregnant' or the 'My gosh your HUGE!!'
I am eagerly awaiting the final 12 weeks. Hope it goes fast. My back is aching like nothing else.
Blood pressure is great, though I failed the gluecose test :o
Nice to meet u girls!!
Donna & Lil Mason
kerrie
19-04-2005, 01:31 PM
I just bought some "TUMS" (natural remedy to decrease acidic gastric juices) but havent had another episode of heartburn yet so havent had to put them to the test....will let you all know if they work or not )
Only 12 weeks to go Donna :D ....its funny thinking of it that way, I haden't even calculated the "count down" yet.....I think I'll say 14 weeks to go because I think he/she is more likely to be born after my due date (maybe not, but I'm sure that thinking that way will help my psyche just in case I do go beyond my due date ;)
Bummer about the glucose test. How r u feeling about that?
Congrats on your excellent BP .
Maxie I'm planning on finishing work around the same time as you and although I'm not knackered I'm certianly over being here....alas money dictates :rolleyes:
No "little v's big" comments coming my way, just "big" ones...to which I reply "Yep, luckly I have a pelvis you could drive a truck through!"
Belly rubs to all,
Kerrie
Manxie
23-04-2005, 07:29 PM
Hi Kerrie & July Angel
Love the pelvis comment, will have to try that! Think I am a touch sensitive about my size...especially when asked at 7.00am in front of all my colleagues whether or not I'm expecting twins as I'm sooooo huge :mad: ..... 7 weeks and counting, every shift!
Cant quite believe it is only twelve weeks to go, scary really, hope you are all as disorganised as I am!
Still avoiding the heartburn :) but can sympathise with the back ache, I find swimming really helps.
our little treasures
25-04-2005, 12:14 AM
Hi all the july mums we are due on july 22nd and can't wait. I have had severe pain in my pelvis/groin area yet to find out what it is as it is the long weekend!! Other than that everything has been fine. I'm sorry to hear about the heartburn apparently it means your baby will have lots of hair???? An old wives tale!! :D
Hopefully you all keep updating your progress, love to hear
melasuras
26-04-2005, 09:11 PM
Im a july mum to be for the second time, im due on the 19th july but i have got a feeling that she is going to be early just like my first he was 13 days early(three days b4 my hubbys bday much to my motherinlaws dis approval) but all is going well i to have heartburn (the books say is cos the bub has a small amount of hair on there heads b4 birth) i use rennie tablets they work a treat!!! :D . i am getting to the uncomfey stage where sitting and driving is a pain but what can one do when you have a 2 yr old and a diabled hubby :rolleyes: .
anyways hope everyone elses preganacys are going well
melasuras
kerrie
28-04-2005, 12:20 PM
Hi Melasuras
Not sure if the hair on the head is the real cause for heart burn :D
I used my TUMS tabs the other night and am happy to report that they did the trick as well :)
I too am starting to get a little uncomfy..driving is still OK for me but I'm thinking I'll have to move the seat back a litttle further soon :D
Off to the Oesteopath this w/e for a massage and a neck crack...& looking forward to it.
Belly rubs to all :)
Kerrie
tazzystone
28-04-2005, 01:38 PM
Hi to all the July mums to be. I'm also a July first time mum to be and cant wait. We are due on 23rd July and trying to get organised. I think I will be finishing work at 36 weeks and moving house at the same time! So much to do, hoping the time flies though!
I'm lucky to have had a great pregnancy so far apart from the occasional back ache. Just wanted to say hi to everyone and hope you are all well.
:p
Taz
our little treasures
28-04-2005, 10:27 PM
Hi again hope you all are taking it easy and enjoying the pregnancies. I have another hyperactive bubba as this one is non stop. Like my first who would move all day and half the night, although this one wants to move 24 7. This time around I can feel the babies bottom and feet instead of just lumps moving my first I couldn't feel until closer to the end. How are your babies sleepy or alert???
TAZ, please take it easy moving I have just moved and have paid for it ever since. Hopefully you will have people help you if not get your partner to do it.
;)
tazzystone
29-04-2005, 01:51 PM
Yes I think I will make my partner do all of the moving, somehow I ended up doing all of the packing last time!! This time I suggested a removalist but seen as though we are only moving up the road a few kms he wouldnt let me and said he will do it all! Hmm somehow I think I will still end up doing alot of the packing! Oh well it will be nice to be in our new house when bub arrives. Our bub is pretty active and my partner thinks we are having a boy because it does some mad combo kicking at times! I have no idea when I feel it what part of the bub I'm feeling. I guess as I get further along I might. I have my next doc appointment tomoz so I get to hear the heartbeat again - I love hearing it, just amazing! Anyway best get back to work, have a good weekend everyone. Take it easy Angelbaby8
Taz
02-05-2005, 04:10 PM
hi all.
i'm due for bub #1 on july 9.
hubby & i are getting excited now. only 10 weeks to go!!!!
good luck to everyone else too!
Manxie
01-06-2005, 10:47 AM
Not long now, how are you all feeling? Work is having a morning tea for me today which is very exciting I cant believe how generous everyone has been.
Six shifts to go until I pack it all in, cant wait as it is really getting too much to be on my feet rushing around for eight hours at a stretch. Is anyone else packing it in soon?
Starting to really feel bubs move around now which I love :) . Apparently I have an anterior placenta which has meant that depending on what position baby is in a lot of the kicks are into the placenta and not me! It must have shifted as I am now being regularly prodded. (Have no idea what bits I am feeling.)
Take it easy and put your feet up! :D
tazzystone
02-06-2005, 06:12 AM
Hi Manxie
Yeah I'm finishing full time work this week and I sit in an office!! So I bet you are excited to finish soon! 8 hours on my feet would kill me, so you're doing well. I'm going to do three weeks of three days a week from Monday. My work had a replacement early for me and are happy for me to do whatever hours I like and I find it hard sitting down for most of the day as my back aches and no matter what I do I just cant get comfy! I bet its a nice feeling for you now that you can feel those kicks too! I've only experienced one jab under the ribs so far which made me sit up fast and say ouch!
Have started my classes now which are good, anyone else doing their classes at the moment?
Oh and I managed to have my first car accident on Friday which was very stressfull but luckily bub and I were fine, just shaken up! Although it took me the whole day to stop the tears! Its strange that once I'm upset I can just cry thinking about it! :confused:
Anyway hope everyone is well
:p
Manxie
02-06-2005, 10:42 AM
Hi tazzystone
sorry to hear about your car accident :( but glad to hear that you and baby are both well, must have given you a real fright and I'm not suprised it made you very teary. (I can cry at anything at the moment even adverts on t.v. :D )
Reducing your hours sounds good, unfortunately they dont seem to make any allowances for pregnant people at work (typical isnt it, I'm a nurse...so much for the caring profession!!!) Thankfully my colleagues are all great and help me out. Not long now though.
We start our classes on Saturday which I think are going to be a bit of a giggle hope its not all huffing and puffing!! Will keep you posted. Did anyone watch the abc show coupling? I keep thinking its going to be like that.
melasuras
04-06-2005, 09:39 AM
hello all july mums
i am sorry to hear about your accident, i happy to hear that you and bub are okay, thats one thing i am really worried about at the moment is losing concration and having a bingle. my little girl is giving me lots of sharp kicks and punches, the other day she had the hiccups which felt very funny, my inlaws have and keep tell her to stay in there until the end of june as my father inlaw is away in QLD with the army but i think i should be all right as i am not due until the 19th july, but i have a feeling that i am going to go into labour early, propbably the first or second week in july. my little man was 13 days early much to the familys horror, as he was due in april but he decided to come 3 days b4 his daddys birthday in march, which i think it is funny
anyway got to go my little man is making a huge mess (as toddlers do)
melissa
mum of jason and plus 1
tazzystone
06-06-2005, 12:49 PM
Thanks for your thoughts about me with the accident, very nice. Yeah its definately harder to concentrate these days but now I am trying to be very good. I'm yet to experience the hiccups but really want too. At the moment our bub is trying to figure out which position he/she likes and pushes its bum from one side to the other! I think its amazing but sometimes it makes me feel ill (like a rollercoaster ride! :eek: )
Unlike you Melissa I think I will go late, I'm thinking 29 July instead of 23, well sometimes I think that and then other times I think I will go early cause I'm very short and there's really not that much room in there! Who knows I guess. Funny how we get dates in our head and think...right thats when its going to happen. I just cant wait. With every week we get more excited!
Hey Manxie how did your first class go?? And I didnt watch the Coupling show on the ABC either, so not sure about that.
Have a nice day girls
Taz
Manxie
08-06-2005, 09:23 AM
Its official, I am now a lady of leisure :) , for a little while anyway until bubs comes. It is heaven not to be on my feet all day, working shifts and no stress, my brain was really struggling at the end there! (Sorry if I'm rubbing it in :( ). Wonder how long it will take me to get bored!!!!!
Had our first huff, puff class on Saturday which was really good. I think it was especially good for my other half as has made him feel involved again. I especially liked the physio's rule that for every ten minutes of massage your partner gives you they get ten seconds in return!! Excellent.
Hope you are all keeping well. I havent felt any hiccups yet. Dont know what was going on in there last night some sort of baby olympics.
Take care all
melasuras
10-06-2005, 08:32 PM
hi to one all
hope your enjoying beeing a lady of leasure manxie, i spoke to my baby doctor last tues (7th june) he said that if you keep track of the times bub does the movements and how long they go for its pretty much their feeding routine when they ae born so if your a luck mum and bub only moves every 4hrs you probably have a 4hrly feeding rountine, i have personaly myself with my second bub set my watch to her movements ie she moves at 0830 moves for 40mins then again bout 1230 moves for bout 40mins then again bout 1730 (5pm) moves for an hr then she will do her last movements bout 2230(1030pm) moves for an hr then nothing until i wake up.
thats only an example but every one is different!! :o
Currently i am 34wks and 3days , bubs head is down ready to go so my hubby and i are on count down (but hubby wants baby out now so he can play)
hope everything going well with all of the other july mums
melissa
mum of jason and plus one
:D :D
our little treasures
11-06-2005, 11:50 AM
hi all glad to hear everyone is doing fine.
I'm so very excited at the moment everything is also very emotional. With my first I was oh so proud of my tummy and I'm the same with this one, as for the stretch marks so far I have'nt got one new one with dd I didn't get them until week 32 but then I just tore up to my bust. How are your all going with the lovely braxton hicks. I had them bad with dd and I have them with #2 as well not the best sensation. Anyway this little bubs has the hiccups all day I asked my obs and he said that it is a great sign that bubs is swallowing and that the digestive system is working, so just another sigh of relief. So take care all and try to relax. :p
IAdoreYou
14-06-2005, 10:31 AM
Hi girls, I'm a 1st time Mum as well!
I'm due 24th July. We are having a girl. We ttc for 2.5 years and 1 miscarriage. We did IUI at QFG.
I've finished the nursery, so I'm very excited!
Does anybody know how we can add Avatars ?
Lisa
IAdoreYou
19-06-2005, 03:47 PM
Where is everybody???
Manxie
21-06-2005, 09:35 AM
Not long now :eek: . Had our last "huff, puff" class on Saturday, they were quite good and were a good opportunity for hubbie to get really involved. Freaked out after the birthing video and chat re pain relief. Dont know why I've seen about ten births so know exactly what I'm in for :( , think its just the reality hitting that its going to be my turn soon. Also think my job (nurse) makes it hard for me to be on the other side, if that makes sense? Hubby also got really annoyed that there is such a strict division between the birthing centre and the labour ward i.e. as soon as you scream for an epidural thats it your out of the birthing centre. Is anyone else planning on a birthing centre delivery?
Please someone tell me they are as disorganised as me, my "nursery" consist of a room filled with boxes, old furniture and dirt and dust :rolleyes: , its on the to do list for next weekend, just hope baby dosent come early!
Dont think I've felt any Braxton Hicks, is this normal with No 1?
Melasuras-Have been taking more notice re movements since your post - Dont think I'm going to get much peace in the evening this one seems to be awake from about 4.00 until 10.00pm!!
Take care all, pats to the bumps
LittleBoysRock
21-06-2005, 11:03 AM
Hello Ladies,
I am a July Mummy- to-be as well. Hopefully I am not too late to join in. I only found this site recently.
I am due with my first on the 22nd July but the Doctors are talking about inducing me possibly around the 11th as I am having a big baby. He is full-term size at 35 weeks! Not long to go now.... is anybody else nervous??
Manxie, I have felt some crampy type pains and some discomfort in my pelvis...dont know if these are Braxton Hicks. I think they are pre-labour signs of some sort though. I have heard that if you have a high pain threshold you might not feel Braxton Hicks at all.
Anyway, take care all.
Simone.
Manxie
22-06-2005, 08:32 AM
Monyfelix
Your comment re the Braxton Hicks contractions just made my day.... going to convince myself that I have a high pain threshold :) . (Am very scared that I am going to be a complete wimp). Was talking about this to a midwife last night and saying that its one of the hardest things not knowing how you are going to react/cope with the pain.
Anyway...thinking positive, high pain threshold thoughts :D
IAdoreYou
22-06-2005, 07:37 PM
Hey Manxie and Monyfelix.
I have so many B-Hicks .. OUCHY!
My nursery is all done ... I'm on maternity leave, so I got it all ready.
Do you guys know if your having boys or girls .. or just not finding out? Would you like me to add you to the due dates?
Lisa.
melasuras
22-06-2005, 07:40 PM
Hi all july to b mums
my bub has became a little quiter since my last post, but i have been having braxton hicks which is fun (not) i have only 2-4wks to go until i am due my midwife reckons i am going to go early but i am not sure, her head has been down since bout 29-30 wks,
the presure is the bubs head in the pelvis area, i asked my midwife on tue just gone cos i am getting the same thing, i was concerned so i asked, and the little cramps are braxton hicks if they last for a couple of seconds its just the body getting in practice for the real thing.
hopr every one else is well, myself personally cant wait to have number two,
chat soon
Melissa
mum of Jason and plus 1 :)
Manxie
23-06-2005, 07:59 AM
We havent found out the sex of the baby. Its good fun listening to everyone's theorys on what they think it is! I think currently more people think its a girl than boy but we will have to wait and see.
I am on maternity leave too so have no excuse for not getting things ready other than being a lazy toad :D
Lisa you can add me to the due dates, due 27th July - eek.
Melasuras, is your bubs head engaged or just pointing in the general direction of the exit? Mine has had head down for a few weeks but not engaged yet.
Have fun
LittleBoysRock
23-06-2005, 10:38 AM
Hey Everybody,
Manxie, glad to hear your staying positive!! I am a bit of a whimp so every little niggle I get I think omigod, am I going into labour!! Lol :)
Lisa, Braxton's are lots of fun- NOT!! Sounds like you are all organised! Our nursery is nearly finished... all except the cot really. We have restored a wooden cot that has been in our family and it isnt quite finished! We have been told that they are 95% certain it is a little boy. They actually wrote Male Foetus on the 19 week ultrasound! You certainly can add me to the due dates, it is 22nd July but they are talking about inducing around the 11th...
Melissa, My bub has also become pretty quite. From time to time I rub my belly just to wake him up so he wriggles and I know he is ok! Goodluck with everything. If bub does come early, it would be great to hear how it all goes. :)
Have any of your bubs become engaged yet? I am wondering when this is going to happen as my bub is sitting right up high still and I am really uncomfortable!
Chat soon,
Simone.
IAdoreYou
24-06-2005, 10:14 AM
hey girls,
I think I may be starting to engage .. my belly seems lower! I had my OB appointment yesterday and her head is very down .. her back and spine are against my belly on the right and she kicks on the left .. My OB predicted I may have a 7 pounder a average bub .. definately not a 9 pounder **phew - wiping forehead ** :D
melissa - hope everything goes well!
manxie - added to the list. I have to slow down, I have been so busy on maternity leave, no more outing and i'm gonna have to slow down on nesting now and become a lazy toad as well .. hehe
monyfelix - braxton hicks su*k don't they. Added to the list as well !!!
July IS NEARLY here .. I can't wait to meet my widdle girl!
LittleBoysRock
24-06-2005, 11:02 AM
Hi Lisa,
That is great news! I have been told by a few people that my bump looks lower but I dont see it myself...cant wait to go for my appointment next week and find out for sure :) 7 Pound bub is great...perfect size!
It is hard to slow down and rest I think. Though I am not really sleeping much at night I find that during the day there is so many other things to do. I will have to try harder I think.. :)
Thank you for adding me to the list and yeh braxtons do suck. I am looking forward to the real thing. The anticipation is too much to bear at the moment!!
Yep..Nearly..cant wait.
Simone.
IAdoreYou
25-06-2005, 06:31 PM
Simone, I can't sleep at night either! I get so uncomfy, though the last 2 nights I must admit I have just passed out .. phew, thank god I say!
I'm not the kinda person who can sleep in the day either .. I was sitting on the lounge before with hubbie and I was talking to my belly saying " how about you coming in about 2-3 weeks , pretty please brooke " :D
I hope she heard!
Ciao.
our little treasures
26-06-2005, 09:13 PM
I just wrote a lovely post in the what hosi thread, oh well! Is this everyones first bubba? This is my second and I have been having braxton hick throughout the pregnancy, I actually told my obs and he said braxton hicks are not painful just tightenings. I got out and said to hubby they are painful nothing like the real deal but very uncomfortable, my hubby said he is only saying that because he is a male!!! I laughed.
I would love to see photo's of your bubs when you all have them, I love babies and children. Is anyone having another u/s?
Manxie
27-06-2005, 08:38 AM
Hi Guys
Feeling a bit jealous(?) (probably not the right word!) re the Braxton Hicks still dont think I've felt anything and starting to wonder if this is o.k. will have to quiz the midwife this week.
Sleep whats that? My back has finally decided its had enough and therefore sleep has gone out of the window, I feel guilty going to bed for a rest during the day, makes me feel like an old woman! Still better make the most of it while I can.
Cant believe where the time is going dont feel at all prepared for this huge life change but cant wait to see what this little one looks like and to find out its sex. Hubbys family all played the guessing game last week, sex, weight arrival date etc. Nearly freaked out as my brother in law had me down for a ten pounder arriving two weeks early...think he's trying to kill me :D
Take it easy
IAdoreYou
27-06-2005, 12:21 PM
:D thats funny Manxie about DH ( darling husband )
Braxton Hicks are just tightenings .. its a wee scary sometimes, I will be walking along and bang it happens.
ALOT of people don't feel them at all Manxie, don't worry about it!
ab8 - This is my 1st baby .. though 2nd pregnancy, I miscarried at 9 weeks with an empty sac :( on our 1st attempt at IUI .
Does anybody want to see my Nursery.
Link attached ...
You girls have to get AVA's .. little pics in the corner, I can help if you like?
Or if you need any pics resized to fit in that spot , you can email me them and I'll send them back!?
OH, how long is everybody taking maternity leave for? I'm off until around easter next year and then I have to look for part-time work ...
Ciao, have a great day!
Lisa.
LittleBoysRock
27-06-2005, 04:49 PM
Sounds like we are all having trouble sleeping!! They say it is worth it all in the end though :)
Lisa, sounds like you talk to your bub the same way I talk to mine. I keep telling him that he is going to be a nice size, around 7lbs and that he will be out about 2 weeks early. Fingers crossed that both bubs decide to listen! Btw, your nursery is gorgeous.
Angel Baby, congrats on bub number 2! I am having another ultrasound on Friday, how about you?
Manxie, I think that those of us having the B/H are jealous that your not having them. I think your the lucky one! :) I totally agree with you about not feeling prepared...my husband and I are feeling the same way. We had a similar thing for people to guess the birth weight and I wasnt too happy with anybody making guesses over about 8.5lbs!!
Take Care,
Simone.
Manxie
27-06-2005, 06:16 PM
Oh my god Lisa your nursery is fab, where do you live if bubs comes early I'm going to have to move in and hijack your nursery!! Could provide you with a photo of the various boxes and mess in my "nursery" :eek: , now I feel really unprepared, thats it this weeked DH (wondered what that stood for, god I'm such a techno fool) is getting a boot up the butt.
No wonder your all hoping bubs will put in an early appearance, I'm asking mine to hang on in there so I can at least unpack the boxes.
Thanks Simone, will try and enjoy not feeling the BH, got to worry about something though! (Apart from the nursery :D )
Lisa I'm on maternity leave until next June and can then go back part time, am lucky as can also pick up the odd shift here and there if I feel like it and can work weekends and nights. What do you do?
Super Nanny tonight, what a sad life I lead!
IAdoreYou
28-06-2005, 10:22 AM
thanks girls on the nursery :)
Manxie - I work for AVJennings the builders in brisbane .. I was in Admin-Maintenance, so lots of cranky CALLS! "my roof is leaking" "my bathroom tiles are falling down" "we have several cracks appearing" blar blar, I must admit it was an excellent job, not 1 day was the same.
I was there for 5 yrs and 9mths, excellent JOB and conditions .. how bout you? YES, you are very luck to not be having B-Hicks as well..
Simone - :D i have decided once I hit 38 weeks I'm gonna really sit down and have a good chat to this one about coming the week after ... I always hoped she would come in week 39!!! fingers xxx
Anybody drinking Red Rasp leaf tea yet? I was going to start .. though I think I will end of next week ..
Have a great day girls. Its rainy weather! off to grab some lunch.
Lisa.
jonesso
28-06-2005, 11:17 AM
Hey Lisa - your pictures are awesome! Glad to see I'm not the only one who has gone and put baby's name on the door - please god may the scan have been right!!
We're having a boy - Nathan Corey - and he is due 20JULY. Like the rest of you I am telling him that Week 38 would be a lovely time to come out. My husband and I had a talk to him yesterday and told him to get moving, and this morning - either because he's listening to his mummy and daddy, or by sheer fluke (latter I fear) - he has dropped his head down and I have more breathing room at last. Yay!
These last few weeks have dragged and will continue to do so - I've been on maternity leave now for three weeks and have done all the jobs I had saved up to do, so now it is a waiting game. Bet you all feel the same though! ;) Also, the fear that I felt has pretty much gone. I'm just so excited to meet my little baby and hold him - I'm not even that worried about labour anymore! Let's hope it stays that way when the contractions start!
How are you all feeling?
:) Sonia
IAdoreYou
28-06-2005, 06:55 PM
Sonia - I love Nathan Corey - sooo cute! I've also lost my fear ... I'm actually looking forward to contractions .. I just want to meet her as well!
I'm pretty sure my belly is slowing dropping down .. it just looks different !!!! I can definately breath again ..
Its really not that long before we will be posting how many poo's and wee's are they supposed to be doing :D
is everybody breastfeeding? I hope tooooo **fingers xxx** I've read heaps and got alot of info from friends and family etc .. I'm all set to BF!
Ciao, have a good night !
melasuras
28-06-2005, 07:59 PM
hi girls
well today to saw my baby dr, and he is a bit worried bout bub, as i am having b/h but they are quite server, he explained it to me as if it was like a straight jacket on bub stopping her movements, but the heart beat is fine, so thus i am on dr orders not to lift anything including my little (18kg) man who is two which is hard as i love picking him up and giving him huggles :( . so when i dont feel her move i have to lay on my side and keep track of the movements, bub dr told me if she moves between 2-5 times within the hr thats good,if she dosent give her another hr and take it from there, (movements ie even the slighest movement is counted), but the good news is that her head is down and ready to go, so im on count down now :D ,
hope very thing is well with everyone else, i dont have any maternatiy leave as i dont work lol
take care
Melissa
LittleBoysRock
29-06-2005, 10:20 AM
Hope you are all doing well. :) It is almost July...only a couple more sleeps!!
Lisa, I think you are being more patient than me...I would be happy to have my little boy out at 38 weeks which is next week. he is already the size of a full-term bub!!
I started taking raspberry leaf tablets as I heard the tea tastes horrible. I found though that I dont feel nearly as much movement from the baby if I take them. I would rather the reassurance of him moving so I have stopped taking them.
I am going to try breast feeding as they say it is best for both Mum and Bub. I have started getting the colostrum already so hopefully that means I wil have a decent milk supply...
Sonia, can you give me some tips on loosing fear about labour? :) I am very keen to meet my baby but petrified of the pain!
Melissa, sounds like it wont be too much longer. Keep smiling :)
Has anybody lost their appetite at all? Although the baby has dropped I dont feel like eating at all. Anybody having the same problem??
Take care all,
Simone.
jonesso
29-06-2005, 01:04 PM
Hey girls
Simone, I have no advice on losing the fear-factor - I think it might just be denial!! I'm focusing on the end result rather than the road between here and there - maybe because I don't know how labour is going to go, so there is no point dwelling on it!!
I was going to try the raspberry leaf tea but the lack of movement thing puts me off a bit... I'll try the long walks (in the rain by the looks of it) and the sex first I think!
Anyone got any ideas about how to pass the days away while we wait?? :confused: I am used to working 55 hours a week and this lying around "resting" is doing my head in!! And if I clean or try to do too much house stuff my two boys protest - namely my husband and the baby who will give me almighty kicks!
Take care,
Sonia
Manxie
29-06-2005, 03:59 PM
Melasuras hope things are settling down must be hard not being able to lift your little man.
Lisa - I'm a registered nurse working on a cardiothoracic unit, surgial and medical. Really interesting and varied but extremely stressful at times. This is why I will be the patient from hell!!! The poor student midwife I have got is I think starting to regret wanting me to be her follow through, apparently we make the worse patients cant understand why!!! This is also why I am hoping that I will be able to give birth in the birthing centre as planned, have already had a nightmare that one of the drs that I cant stand is there trying to deliver the baby and I'm screaming at DH to take me to another hospital!!
Also am going to try and breastfeed, lets hope none of us have too many problems.
Whats the go with the rasberry leaf tea, does it induce labour or just help "tone" the uterus...wonder why it would reduce babys movement (sorry see its the nurse in me...!)
Suggestions for passing the time.....going swimming, I love bobbing about on a "noodle" it just takes the pressure off all your joints and back. Spending money!! Bit of pampering, haircut, nails done etc. Sorting out old photographs, going to the movies, cooking nice meals for DH cause he isnt going to be getting any for a long time!! Reading trash from the library... I could go on and on!
MyL&S
29-06-2005, 04:43 PM
hi all,
I am a july mum.. found out about this last week looking for ways to bring on a labour.. DD is the 7th and i have well and truely had enough..
My first bub was 10 pounds and was indued 2 weeks early, have been scared that this one will be bigger.. Had my check up today and the doctor said baby his/her head and gone upwards from last week.. not good.. proberly will go over my DD.. wanted to go into labour natually this time.. will see
anyways hope all is well with the other mums
IAdoreYou
29-06-2005, 08:28 PM
aliciamaree - I hope you don't go over and everything goes okay!
Manxie - your job sounds FULL ON! I actually drank my 1st RRL tea this afternoon and NO joke this bub was pretty bouncy after that .. I've heard it helps tone uterus and helps bring on labour :eek: THATS why i' haven't been game enough to start until now ..
Sonia - I sleep in 1st and then stay in Pj's until 10 ..then shower .. then the day dosen't seem so long .. Dr Phil and Oprah seem to make the afternoons go fast for me .. oh and Foxtel ;)
Simone - I have the breast leaks happening as well! I'm hoping its a good sign as well. I'm starting to lose my fear of L&D now as well .. I figure contractions are getting you dilated to 10cm .. so I will welcome them with open arms now .. I just hope there NOT too painfull .. YEAH RIGHT :rolleyes: I just hope I don't lose control .. thats my only fear .. other then that, I'm mega excited about the day now. OH , I'm not that hungry either .. I'm back to just eating 3 normal sized meals .. weird!
melissa - excellent on your appointment! I love maternity leave So much .. Lying on your left side also helps feeling the bub more as well, and COLD ICED water allways does the trick ..
I had a boring today, its POURING right now here. Its nice though! I'm feeling bubba alot .. I"m starting to really day dream now, Ijust can't wait to have her home and safe with us .. 3.5 weeks and couting .. SO HOPE she comes sooner though.
Ciao .. have a snuggly sleep girls in the rain!
LittleBoysRock
30-06-2005, 09:42 AM
Sonia, I think I am going to have to adopt a similar approach. I keep telling myself that thousands of women all over the world do it everyday, so it cant be that bad! Suggestions on how to keep busy... rent some movies, do some baking, visit the library, catch up with family and friends via email, start a scrap book for the baby...
Manxie, from what I have read about RLT there are pretty varied opinions on what it does. Some claim that it induces labour but most suggest that it helps to tone the uterus ready for labour. I dont know why I would feel less movments from bub while taking it but since I have stopped, he is moving as much as he was before. Certainly not suggesting that it would have the same effect on everybody though.
AliciaMaree- Goodluck with the baby, hope you do go into labour naturally this time :)
Lisa, I am glad I am not the only one!! With the fear of labour, I keep telling my husband that when I am in labour I want him to remind me after each contraction that I will never get THAT particular contraction again and that we are one step closer to meeting bubs. Hmmm, I think loss of appetite is normal. I dont feel like eating anything though! Question for the Doctor I think. :) Day dreaming about the baby is pretty much my number one pass-time atm. I have found myself doing it while driving, shopping, dreaming...just cant wait to meet him. :)
Take Care,
Simone.
tazzystone
30-06-2005, 12:48 PM
Oh my god....I have missed so much, you guys have been doing lots of chatting while I've been busy. I couldnt beleive how much I had to read to catch up.
We moved into our new house 1.5 weeks ago and I'm still unpacking. The day seems to fly for me - cant get enough done, although I do sit down for Dr Phil etc (dont know why as I always seem to cry), those adoption stories get me!
Yeah so anyway glad everyone is going well and getting excited about bubs arriving. I'm also not experiencing any B-Hicks yet! and I'm still not organised in the nursery! I loved your nursery Lisa - I'm going to go home and login and show my partner what one should look like! he he. I'm just starting to wash everything now. I'm at work today and then one more day on the 8th July then thats it.
I still have so much around the house to do, still no turf etc :( but its all coming together.
Well I must run, take care everyone.
Taz :p
MyL&S
30-06-2005, 04:15 PM
hey thanks..
when are you all due? do you know what your having??
I cant wait to meet this baby too,
I have not only been dreamimg about what he/she will look like but just the other night i had a dream and in the dream i went to sleep and had a dream about the baby... my sister inlaw is coming this sunday and has said she's going to get me excercising... yeah right! All i want to do is sleep so will see how that goes??
IAdoreYou
30-06-2005, 08:51 PM
aliciamaree .. I started a DUE Date thread above this one if you want too see when we are due . I'm due 24th July.
THOUGH girls, had a very vivid dream that it would be the 25th .. will be funny if it is true. I have dreamt of my baby and she had brown eyes !! aren't they supposed to be all born with blue?
taz - thanks, funny about Dh seeing the nursery :) did you build a house? Dr Phil and those adoption stories get me as well *sigh*
Simone - yep, bring on contractions :D
HEY what hospital are we all giving birth in again?
ME - Mater Mathers Private Brisbane ..
Ciao girls .. looks like the rain has finally stopped! **fingers xxx**
Nothing exciting to add .. talk again soon!
LittleBoysRock
01-07-2005, 08:14 AM
Hi July Mummys',
It's JULY!! How exciting...we should all be meeting our babies this month!
Hi Tazzystone :) Nice to 'meet' you
Aliciamaree, I am due 22nd July though wil probably be induced around the 11th as my baby is getting pretty big :)
Lisa, I am having my bub at Kind Edward Memorial Hospital in Perth.
I also have nothing exciting to add, just wanted to congratulate everybody on getting this far, I think we are all so clever!! :)
Take Care,
Simone.
jonesso
01-07-2005, 08:32 AM
Morning ladies
Lisa - I am at Mater Mothers too - anyone else from Brisbane here? Would be great to know some people with young babies going through the same stuff as me!
Thanks for your suggestions on how to pass the time... went to the shops yesterday and got lost in a sea of strollers and school holiday crowds trying to grab a final bargain... resisted the urge to buy lots of cute baby clothes as we are well and truly stocked up!! That's the great thing about none of your friends having kids and having the first grandchild - everyone inundates you with baby stuff! :p Also went and have stocked up on weekly DVD's to keep me entertained! So that should keep me going for a few days anyway!
Decided to give the Raspberry Leaf Tea a go, baby has kicked pretty hard with it and had some BH with them, so fingers crossed may it do the job! It doesn't taste too bad, kind of like a plain herbal tea. Read it is really good post-baby too for tightening uterus and increasing milk production, so I figure anything is worth a shot.
Hope you're all doing well, enjoy Dr Phil today!
xoxo Sonia
Manxie
01-07-2005, 09:26 AM
Hope you are all doing well. Reality hit home yesterday as one of the girls in my aquanatal class had her baby on Monday she was due a week before me, (I'm due on the 27th). Therefore today will be spent packing labour bag and seeing about getting a car seat installed, it could happen any day!!!!! :eek:
Stupid question but where do you get the RLT from and when should you start taking it and how much????????
Tazzystone - glad its not just me re the Braxton Hicks, spoke to the midwife yesterday and she said I probably was having them but just am not recognising them - suits me!
Have a good day, better get some jobs done before Dr Phil :D
tazzystone
01-07-2005, 09:46 AM
Well I'm due on 23rd and am having it at Townsville Hospital. We did build our house and I dont recommend building - its very stressfull, not to mention while pregnant. Actually have some repair being done on the house right now - which is a pain so I best get going and I'll try to write later.
IAdoreYou
01-07-2005, 02:09 PM
It is JULY :D we meet our babies ..YAY
Tazzy- building would be stressfull when pregnant!
Manxie-YEP, I've got my bags packed now, just a few clothes I still wear though I keep near my bag when I take them off .. and YEP defiantely gonna have to check out how to fit the carseat this weeked :rolleyes:
Red Raspberry Leaf tea can be bought from any Health Shop .. I like the taste as well! I'm only having 1 cup a day though .. It supposed to be really good, works different for everybody though. good luck!
Sonia-missied Dr Phil today! *sigh* had a gf over though with her 1 year old girl . made me think WHOA - thats what I will have in 1 year .. I can't wait!
Simone-we are clever :D how is it over there in Perth ? cold?
Its finally stopped raining here girls .. YAY! NOW its hot though .. all that moisture rising from the ground, no joke I'm sitting here in short shorts and a singlet top that barely covers my belly :eek: NOT a good sight if somebody was to cmoe to the door now.
Its FRIDAY! Tennis Semi-final tonight .. anybody watching Leyton H ? I will be ... I only like watching the semi's and the finals though ..
Have a great weekend! Hubbie and I are going on maybe our "final" date tomorrow night . .we are off to HOgs Breath and going to see probably our "final" movie as 2 .. 'War of the Worlds' .. it should be good night!
talk soon, CIAO
BUMPITY BUMP
MyL&S
01-07-2005, 07:22 PM
hi girls,
look's like i will hopefully be the first to meet our little bundle's (well atleast i hope this one smaller)..
I have had my bag packed for 3 weeks, i keep on thinking that if this is done then baby will know its time to come!! so that why every inch of my house is spotless.. the list of things that i thought if it was done just kept on getting bigger now theres nothing left for me to do.. except wait..
I have started an art centre for my son to pass the time, doing different arts and crafts do any of you know any good children web sites for that kind of thing??
hope you all have a good weekend, We are having our last date this saturday before there is no time left..
take care..
jonesso
04-07-2005, 09:08 AM
Hey girls
Does anyone know of anyone who has been for acupuncture to bring on labour? A friend of mine has recommended an acupuncturist to me who supposedly has a very high success record of bringing on labour, but I can't find really find anything on bubhub from people who have had it. Anyone heard any reports or tried it?
Cheers - Sonia.
P.S. How was everyone's weekend?
Manxie
04-07-2005, 10:17 AM
Sorry Jonesso dont know about acupuncture to bring on labour, used it for back pain which was very good though!
Bag is now preety much packed, cot and change table are up and I'm starting to feel almost prepared should things get started! Family & Hubby are all desperate for bubs to be early (family in UK are keen as there is a sale on in Baby Gap and they want to know the sex!) I'm happy for bubs to hang on in there until at least 38 weeks, have convinced myself its going to be late in any case.
Quiet weekend -not -7 people for sunday lunch yesterday :D , still it helps pass the time.
Hope you all had a good weekend.
jonesso
06-07-2005, 08:02 AM
Quick hello to you - hope you're all doing OK.
I spoke to my OB and said the acupuncture can't do any harm, so I am off tomorrow for my first session. Will let you know how it goes!
How's everyone feeling? Impatient?
Have a good rest of the week.
Sonia ;)
LittleBoysRock
06-07-2005, 11:39 AM
Accupunture is about the only thing I havent tried... might be worth a shot!! :) Apparently fresh pineapple can bring on labour, I tried it and had no luck but might work for one of you...
Hope your all doing well. I am starting to get very frustrated and impatient about meeting my little man. I am having problems even walking around and sleeping at the moment as I have very bad siatica...it will all be worth it in the end!
How is everybody else doing?
Take care,
Simone.
Mummabear
06-07-2005, 01:09 PM
I've enjoyed readying your posts so I thought I might join in! I'm due in 1 week exactly today - although I'd be happy for it to come any time now. I had no idea that the final weeks would be this hard. I had a fall in the shower 6 weeks ago and haven't been able to lay down at all since then and only able to sit up in the one position for a short time - so sleep is a thing of the past! I'm looking forward to 2 or 3 hour blocks of 'laying down' sleep between feeds once the baby arrives - it's going to be heaven!!!
I've been using the raspberry leaf tea also, but it doesn't seem to be doing anything, although my midwife said that it is good for strengthening the uterine muscles which help with the pushing, and it tastes quite nice so I'll keep taking it. I was also told by someone that Clary Sage oil works to bring on contractions - you can get in as an essential oil from health food shops and if you mix 5 drops of it in 10ml of olive oil you can use it as a massage oil on your tummy - also it is good to put it in your bath apparently (if you can handle the smell!!). But alas I've had no success with this either. I guess the final verdict is that bubs will come when it's good and ready!!!
Good luck to you all - hope you're all keeping well and I wish every one of you a safe delivery of a healthy and beautiful baby.
Ciao
Larissa :)
IAdoreYou
07-07-2005, 03:45 PM
hey girls ..
Larissa - howdy! I'm drinking RRL tea .. though I keep forgetting .. I'm gonna have a cup later. Do you know what your having ?
Simone - OH REALLY, fresh pineapple WOW! I might try that end of next week :D
Not long now hang in there ..
Sonia - how did it go ?
I'm feeling good .. still a good 2.5 weeks away for me, my little one still puts on big performances at night ( that must mean she has lots of room still left ) hey? dam IT! I'm starting to not really "believe" this is happening as well .. it took us close to 3 years to have a baby and I still feel like something is gonna go wrong !! I just can't help it. this pregnancy has been so easy and uneventful and we have a very healthy little girl in there .. I just feel like its too good to be true ..
I SO want her out and IN mumma arms so i can pinch her ALL OVER and not let go !!!
Manxie - I'm convinced this one will come late as well! 7 people :eek: as long as the weekend went fast for you!
We have a busy weekend actually this one .. next weekend we are gonna get the WHOLE house ready , because the weekend after I'm hoping will be the LAST one before this little critter arrives .
I've blabbered ..
THERE will be some babies born soon I can feel it! ;)
talk soon,
Lisa.
jonesso
08-07-2005, 08:15 AM
Hey there fellow impatient mums-to-be!
Went to acupuncture yesterday and it was a very interesting experience. As it was my very first time for acupunture he decided to go easy on my and not go for the oxytocin pressure points first up. Thank God he didnt, I came over really faint 5 minutes in - a combo of the way I was lying, needle shock, and also where he put the pins - apparently my "chi" rushed from my head to my feet and made me faint! Amazed me how much a little pin can do... he put some in my hips and the groin pain has lessened considerably, joy of joys! I'm going back on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday next week and he wills start releasing the oxytocins so that my body gets ready to start labour on its own. We'll see if it works, but it can't do any harm and if it helps to prepare my body for labour (hopefully a shorter one) then bring it on!
Also, something you girls might be interested in - acupressure for pain relief during labour. If used correctly it can reduce labour pains by up to 50%. There is a weblink and a really great booklet you can download and print out that explains the different points and how to use them and what they do. The woman who designed the booklet has been teaching acupressure to midwives as a pain relief technique and has had some great success stories. If you're anything like me, you want to try anything to make this as easy and painless as possible!
The website is: http://home.clear.net.nz/pages/debra_betts
The acupuncturist I saw is giving DH and I a demonstration session next week on acupressure for labour. Will let you know how THAT goes too!
Hopefully this helps you guys (and me!) - at least I feel like I'm doing something rather than just sitting here and counting the next twelve days down...
Hope your bundles of joy are doing well and the finishing touches are being done on houses, nurseries, etc!
Good luck girls!
Sonia :p
LittleBoysRock
08-07-2005, 11:07 AM
Hiya Ladies,
It's FRIDAY!!
Just thought I would give you a quick update on bubs...we had an appointment this morning. They are NOT going to induce even though he is pretty big, they think I will go into labour myself within the next two weeks but if I dont they will book the induction at my next appointment which is 2 weeks from today. So I am still counting down to the 22nd July...
Basically I am going to continue to do everything in my power to get him out in the next two weeks. They did say though that my cervix is soft so it should start dialating soon :) FINGERS CROSSED!!
Accupressure sounds like it might be worth trying! Thanks Sonia. Goodluck with the accupunture :)
Hope everyone is well,
Simone. :D
tazzystone
08-07-2005, 11:55 AM
Wow all of this information is great, I just printed off the accupressure booklet so I will have a read tonight while hubby is watching footy! I havent tried anything to make our little one arrive early as I'm just not organised yet....think I will try the RL tea next week though. Last weekend bub had not yet engaged so will see how it is tomorrow at our next doc appointment. Is everyones babies engaged??
So how big do they think your little boy will be Simone? We had a baby guessing competition at my work and people guessed from 6lb 7 to 9lb 1!! I told the 9lb 1 guesser that I definately hope she isnt right. Its funny cause some people think I'm big yet others think I am very small, strange.
Anyway I hope everyone has a nice weekend. I will be doing some organising and more unpacking, our house is looking good though, all new appliances arrived yesterday, just have the turf to go now but that can wait! Also have a baby shower on Sunday that my work is putting on for me which will be nice.
Take care, cant wait to hear about some babies being born!
Taz
jonesso
08-07-2005, 02:43 PM
Hey Taz, you gave me an idea... how big are our babies going to be? Post what you think will be your baby's estimated weight and we'll see how close mums-to-be are at getting this thing right!
:rolleyes: I'm told mine will be average sooooo... 7 pounds 6 ounces is my guess.
Here's praying for no big babies for any of us!!
Have a great weekend girls - :) Sonia
Manxie
09-07-2005, 10:47 AM
Hi Guys
Great to catch up on all your news. I'm guessing mine will be an 8 pounder.
Had an "interesting" :confused: evening on Thursday night with a constant stomach ache and then strong pain which came and went, scared the s... out of me I can tell you. Couldnt figure out what was going on as everything I read said that Braxton Hicks early labour pains come and go and this wasnt like that at all. Anyway I decided to ride it out and see what happened and it all calmed down after about 4 hours. Midwife seems to think that my bowel was irritated and that it had caused some contractions, babys heart rate etc is all ok and its moving well so nothing to worry about.
In a way it was quite good as its made me think about how I am going to cope with labour. Came to the realisation that I will have to let go- sounds very hippyish I know. But I think I have been hanging on for dear life to this little one for the last nine months as I've been scared of loosing it and now I dont have to anymore but its hard to transform your thinking, really felt like I was battling the pain the other night which only made it worse. Sorry hope that kinda makes sense.
I am going to start RLT next week, have got the box ready but havent been brave enough. Acupuncturne sounds good, think if I get to my due date I will investigate this.
Take care all - wonder who will be first???????????? :)
Hi there :)
I had another scan on thursday and they said bubs is about 4pounds 4oz and im nearly 35 weeks. So im thinking she might be around 6 pounds, although with our bubs the bigger she is the better for her! :D
Not too sure if im still going to be a july mummy or an august mummy yet :confused: But the way im feeling im pretty sure bubs will be here by the end of July!
jonesso
10-07-2005, 08:10 AM
Hey manxie, sorry to hear about the other night but glad all is OK. Sounds like you were having a dress rehearsal for the "real thing"!! And hi Jes, hope you are a July mummy too! We are all counting the days...
My girlfriends have taken to calling me every day now for a baby update, and if they haven't heard from me they go into mild panic attacks!! It's so sweet that they are all so excited too. Can't wait until I have something I can actually report!
Enjoy the rest of your weekends, girls. Quiet one for me I think, might go to the movies - a lady yesterday was telling me that her labours both started when she was at the movies!! Anything worth a try!
IAdoreYou
10-07-2005, 01:27 PM
hey girls,
38 weeks today for ME !!! I have a feeling i'm definately gonna go overdue.. I feel to great .. I cleaned the entire house before, anybody else having loads of energy still ?
Sonia - We went to the movies last weekend , I really want to go again though before bub comes ..
MY guess is Brooke will be 7 Pound 3 or 4! I think ...
hey jes, haven't heard from you in ages .. I was thinking of you! I hope it all goes great! keep us updated okay.
Manxie- sorry about thursday night! ((Hugs)) I was scared to start RRL tea as well .. though , I'm drinknig it daily now ..
I wonder who will go 1st :D
Tazzystone - how did you baby shower go ? we have had a busy weekend. I here .. I'm pretty sur this bub has engaged ..
Anybody esle feeling really good though!? I'm feeling quite good for somebody who is 38 weeks preggers .. hmmmmmmmmmmm
Simone .. july 22nd will be here before you know it! :D
Well, we are into another week girls ... C'mon BABIES !!!!
Ciao, bumpity bump
hi
Yeh im still here iv been posting in the august sorry :o All is well with bubs but she isnt growing as good as she should, but the doc still wont give us any idea on when she will be born??? Im feeling really good most of the time but im still only 35 weeks! Lots more aches and pains to be had lol
Only 2 more weeks for you :eek: that is so exciting! Not long untill we can all see little Brooke in colour!
Have a gr8 week hope all goes well :)
Mummabear
10-07-2005, 08:44 PM
It's so nice to read through and keep track of everyone elses final weeks/days - makes the final stage of the journey not so lonely (DH is great, but there is only a certain level of understanding once can expect from a mere male!!!!). I love the baby weight guessing thing - although I'm always wrong with friends, so I don't know why I bother. I have a feeling that I'm going to be upper 8 pounds - hoping I don't reach the 9's, although I was 8lb 2oz and DH was 7lb 1oz. Girlfriend had baby # 3 last week - 9lb 10oz AND he came out with his head sidewaysish - ouch!!! I figure if I prepare for a 9lb baby with a massive head then anything under that is a blessing!!!
3 days to go for me, and I'm getting very impatient. Woke up yesterday from my usual cat knap on the couch between 3am and 5am and felt the best that I had felt in months - was hoping that it was either the calm before the storm and would go into labour yesterday or that baby had moved further down (have been 2/5 engaged for 2 weeks now) and that the remainder of my days would be comfortable - but alas I was only dreaming, my body was just dangling a carrot at me and reminding me of days gone by when being in pain was an occasional experience and not a normal part of every day!! Oh well - small price to pay. I feel blessed to be able to have a baby in the first place, so I'm certainly not going to complain about the journey (well, not too much anyway!). Went for a walk (ok, a waddle) tonight hoping that would help things - I just don't think that I have much of a chance of starting labour on my own, as each day goes by I'm more and more sure that induction is going be iminent!
Hope you're all doing well and enjoying these last few days/weeks of that special bond with bubs - it sure is going to be strange to not have bubs inside kicking around, I think I'm going to miss it quite a bit - it's like a special secret between me and bubs that no one else can get in on - you all know what I mean :)
I'm off to check out the acupressure site now - thanks for that info, I'm looking forward to giving it a go (I'm trying for drug free - although I'm not going to be too proud to cave in if needed).
Good luck girls and I look forward to reading how you're all doing in the next few days. Hopefully I'll have some news to report for you soon.
Oh - no we don't know what we're having - although DH & I have a strong feeling that it's a boy - we''ll find out soon (hopefully!!!)
our little treasures
10-07-2005, 09:52 PM
Hi all you mums too be!!!
Well we only have 1 week and 5dys left.. hopefully. Hubby and I went out on a date night on Wednesday and had DD looked after by my mum. We went to bingo which was heaps of fun, then I talked hubby into driving 5 suburbs away to a kmart stall that was open 24/7 as the toy sale was starting at midnight and we wanted to get the chrissy gifts for our two and my 9 nieces and nephews. Funny I thought it would be dead, the car park was full and we waited in a layby line for 2 hrs. My dh stayed in line while I walked around and sat down then went through the clothes etc. We got home at 3 in the morning anyone would've thought we were at a club!!!!
Anyway while at bingo I had some sharp pains and while shopping the pains were still there, I got back to the line to see how hubby was and looked down and realised that bubba had dropped I could actually see my tips of my toes..
Next day everyone kept commenting on how far I have dropped, finally got the cot all ready and my dd came in for her nap and wanted to sleep in the cot, this is very funny as she never slept in it she has always slept with us.
My little bubba is very lively but so was dd I remember asking with dd if while your in labour does the bubby still move noone could remember, so when I was in labour I was amazed at how much dd moved around very strange as I had hardly no fluid around her and you could see her.
Well take it easy as soon the little ones will be here.
My guess for weight is 8.8 pounds - 9 pounds
melasuras
11-07-2005, 08:43 AM
Guess What ?? I have finally got to meet my little girl on friday the 8th July at 0521am 11 days early, i came out of hospital yesturday, hubby and i called her Tamika Elizabeth she weighed in at 7 pound 2oz, this labour was lovely and short only 4hrs 27mins. Tamika is soooo tiny 0000 clothes are too big for her.
Good luck with every one else hope your labours/end of pregs goes smoothly for every one
Melissa
mum of Jason and Tamika :p
jonesso
11-07-2005, 10:23 AM
THE FIRST ARRIVAL!!!!! And 11 days early, there is hope for the rest of us yet! Congrats Melissa - hope all goes well settling in at home. Keep us posted and put a piccy or two online if you can, we'd love to see her.
Reading all the updates was great, who will be next??
;) Sonia
Manxie
11-07-2005, 11:36 AM
congratulations Melissa and a big kiss for the new arrival, Tamika is a lovely name.
Angelbaby8 - cant believe your night out!! That sounds like severe nesting type symptoms to me, I bet you dont have long to go. There is no way I could get my DH in Kmart until 3am!!
Can definately recommend going to see Batman if your concerned that your bubs is not moving enough. After a morning of stressing re no movement we went last night and my god did the baby move :D Really enjoyed the movie as well. Thanks guys for all your kind words about my experience last week.
Larissa I felt a bit like you the other morning, said to my DH that I didnt feel pregnant anymore, felt a lot more comfortable and had slept well, maybe mines heading further south too.
Cant believe its nearly time......rest up girls and treat yourself loads.
LittleBoysRock
11-07-2005, 12:14 PM
How exciting..the first baby has been born!! Congrats Melissa, I too would love to see a pic if you get a chance :)
Taz, my baby was measured as being 7lbs 8oz at 37 weeks so now at 38.5 weeks I am not sure how much he will have grown. Apparently they thought he was bigger as I am carrying heaps of fluid. They also said that ultrasound can be out by as much as 15% later in pregnancy so he may be bigger by 15 % or smaller. Hopefully smaller!
Manxie, Thursday night sounds pretty damn scary! Hope all goes well for the remainder of your pregnancy
I had a little scare late yesterday, we thought my waters might have been breaking. I havent had any contractions though or noticed a show at all. Not too sure what it was but wasnt the real thing just yet. Interesting to see my Husband's reaction though, he was really excited, started singing and dancing! :)
The accupressure info was really informative, think it might be helpful during labour. :)
Anyway ladies, best wishes if you do go into labour!
Simone.
tazzystone
11-07-2005, 03:09 PM
Wow congrats melissa, must be so exciting for you and your family. Well I guess we are all sitting here waiting for something to happen. I have no pains, nothing so I dont think I will be meeting our little on until at least the due date. 12 days to go, not that I'm counting! he he, funny now that I'm counting days and not weeks!
Had a great baby shower yesterday and got some nice presents, still doing the final touches to bubs room as we needed to put a shelf in so hubby is staining it etc tonight and it should be up tomoz, then I can put some teddies and things on there and it will look more like a nursery.
I'm feeling OK, Doc guessed our bub will be 7.5 to 8 lb baby so thats not too bad. And the bub is 2/5 enagaged so far. I really have had nothing to complain about the whole pregnancy but lately I wake up for hours in the middle of the night. Not sure if I'm just thinking too much and getting excited about meeting the bub or what is going on but its hard when I have to get up early to do something. But tomorrow I'm sleeping in and then have a massage in the afternoon and then putting my feet up, oh and I'm starting to get fluid and my ankles are starting to look ugly. Anyone else have fluid???
Well girls, take it easy and I cant wait to hear more news soon.
IAdoreYou
12-07-2005, 11:17 AM
hey girls,
hi to everybody,
CONGRATULATIONS Melissa :D Tamika Elizabeth is a beaufitul name ..
Sorry I can't reply to everybody, I've read everyting though .. sounds like all our bubs will be HERE very soon ..
WE ALL must post pics okay? hehe
talk soon, only jumping on quickly!
Lisa xxoo
( 12 sleeps ) for me and BOY am I counting :)
Mummabear
12-07-2005, 07:15 PM
Taz - I can totally relate to the fluid. I was doing pretty well the whole way through until my final 2 weeks, and now I look like a puffer fish! I no longer have feet or ankles - I don't think they even qualify as kankles!! They're huge! My DH's favourite party trick at the moment is to put his thumb on where my shin bone should be, push down really hard (which I can't feel at all) and then leave his imprint on my shin - he show's this to everyone who visits! It's pretty gross, but quite funny at the same time. :rolleyes:
I spoke with my midwife this evening and she said that now that I am officially due she can recommend the following: insert 2 x evening primrose gel capsuals into the vagina, right up high so they are near the cervix and leave them there, stay lying down so they don't fall out - do this each night and morning for three days - it is supposed to be a natural way of softening and ripening the cervix. Needless to say I was at the chemist about 10 seconds after hanging up the phone to her. I'm starting tonight so I'll let you all know how it goes. It's pretty funny - I'm trying anything and everything at the moment - I even read on the internet yesterday morning that some woman ate fresh pineapple and then went into labour - so off I waddled to the shop and I ate half a fresh pineapple - obviously I'm still here. I know that most of these things are just pure coincidence, but if it's not going to hurt bubs then I'm willing to give it a go. I'm so gullable at the moment - you could tell me to stand on my head and sing the national anthem to bring on labour and I'd give it a good aussie go!! :p
We definetely need pics girls. You've all spent 9 months growing beautiful healthy babies and once they come out you are obliged to show them off to anyone and everyone!!!
Tamika is a beautiful name - congratulations on her safe arrival.
Take care girls and hopefully I'll have some news too soon!!!
our little treasures
12-07-2005, 10:22 PM
CONGRATS- LOVELY NAME
I hope your doing well, can't wait to see pics.. Is your hubby home for a while??
4hr labour gee I hope I get away with that he he. Did you do anything to help bubs along, I ask as everyone else is trying!!
I hope everyone else is going well.
Only 10dys left can't wait.
Loving mummy and wife 25
DH 30
DD 17MNTHS
DS EDD 22 july
jonesso
13-07-2005, 08:17 AM
Morning girls
Acupuncture update - well obviously I'm still here, but I went for my 2nd session yesterday and felt great afterwards, groin and hip pains left for the remainder of the day, that is a rare treat! :p Acupuncturist started on the oxytocin points yesterday and showed DH how to apply pressure to the spots to help cervix dilate.
OB not very helpful yesterday, said "any time now" - grr, as if we all don't know that!!!!!!!! :mad:
Am booked in for acupuncture every day from now until EDD (which is when I am booked to be induced) so hopefully the body can kickstart itself without the medical induction.
Taz, hands and feet swelling has just begun for me too - but girls, think of all the fluid we'll lose straight away! :D
Lisa, you inspired DH and I and we have started a website for Nathan too - nothing really on there yet but in a week there will be!! Yay!
Take care girls, and may ONE of our alternative therapies work! Pineapple, RLT, sex... who cares, as long as it helps! (Besides, it distracts me from the countdown to EDD a little)
Have a great day - :) Sonia
Manxie
13-07-2005, 09:38 AM
2 weeks today for me....baby is now officially cooked so it can make an appearance any time now :) , although I have a bit of a weird desire for the baby to be born a leo, dont know why I dont even believe in all that stuff, think I am just delaying the inevitable. Mind you stomach is now compleletly stuffed to the max and bending is a thing of the past so give it a few more days and I too will be grapping the pinapple and pouncing on DH!!
Good luck everybody...just think someone might be doing the deed right now as I'm writing this how exciting.
IAdoreYou
13-07-2005, 01:51 PM
hey girls ...
Larissa -
YOUR QUOTE : "I'm so gullable at the moment - you could tell me to stand on my head and sing the national anthem to bring on labour and I'd give it a good aussie go!! " :D :D so funny ..
I'm soooooooooo going to buy some fresh pineapple this weekend .. we are getting our carseat installed by the Ambulance next tuesday for free .. so she can come ANYTIME after that :D so I might even eat some from fresh stuff everyday after :D
Cool about the Primrose as well .. very interesting!!!
Manxie - SAME about leo baby .. I want this one to hurry up, though I would a baby leo ... LOL
Sonia - Your Acupuncturist sounds GREAT!!! I know babiesonline album is so cute .. I think we should all do one !! I can't wait too see yours ...
Just had my 38wk appointment!
All is good and everytime I'm in the waiting room Brooke decides to move about and everytime he reads her heartbeat its quite high and I think yep .. she always wakes up in the waiting room .. I don't know why !!! so cute though ..
Okay, at this stage she is head down though not "engaged" still he puts his fingers down real hard as well on each side of her head above my pubic bone and OUCHY does it kill and says, nope she can still swivel her head side to side .. he said he'll check again next week , though her head is down and her spine is still against my belly which is great "maybe thats why i'm not getting any back ache"?
So my week 39 appointment is next wednesday and he said I can book an internal if i like for my week 40 appointment .. and then if all okay he said we can choose to be induced anytime, though if i'm not opening up at all he would recommend that i go the full 7 days over .. he said, lets see how we go next week!
I have a feeling she may come next weekend!!! Well, thats what I'm hoping I'm telling her come next Thursday , friday .. next Thursady, friday Brookey ...
thats my update girls. I think if we have to make a decision I'm gonna request to be induced on July 31st !!!
So no bubba yet!
I'm actually gonna go for some big walks .. I'm gonna go for one tomorrow actually!
IF YOU HAVE read this far **hats off to you** .
Ciao ..
KCAngel
13-07-2005, 06:19 PM
Hello fellow July Mums to be :)
I have totally run out of things to do so I have decided to join an internet chat group to meet other expectant Mums. There is only so much house cleaning and baking that one can do before going slightly mad!
I am due on the 21 July, so only 9 days to go.
I have read some of your posted messages and am pleased to learn that I am not the only anxious and slightly swelled MIM.
Have most of you finished working now? Don't the days just drag, last week's midwife appointment seemed like an eternity ago and don't even ask what I had for dinner last night :confused:
Some of you have been members and using this thread for months, what a great support / discussion group to have.
Bye for now.
Mummabear
13-07-2005, 07:31 PM
Ok girls - you're going to LOVE this one!! I have officially lost my mind. I woke up at 5.30am this morning and simply could not get back to sleep. I was so restless, my legs were twitching and I honestly could not sit still. So what did I do to overcome this I hear you ask - well, think of the most insane thing possible - yep, I ran (ok, waddled fast) laps of the lounge room / kitchen. It was probably the most hilarious thing anyone could have witnessed (thank god no one did) - one big bellied preggo woman running circles in a trance like state! I was SO hoping that DH didn't wake up and catch me in the act because then I would had to have explained myself - and what acceptable explanation could I possibly offer other than I am TOTALLY INSANE. I told my midwife about this act of insanity and I think she was just trying to be nice, so rather than just come right out and say that I'm totally nuts she put it down to 'nesting' and said that perhaps things would happen in the next 48 hours. Yeah, something is going to happen in the next 48 hours - my DH is going to have me carried away in a straight jacket and committed :D
Anyway - update on the evening primrose oil thing. No action yet, but I read on the bottle that EPO is needed by the body for the production of prostaglandins, which is the same hormone in sperm that helps soften the cervix - so I feel even more confident now that it is totally natural and won't do any harm. Word of warning though girls - put a towel under you once you have inserted them because even though you're laying down some of the oil will still leak out - it is a very strange sensation and I got all excited and thought that my waters had broken - but unless bubs is swimming in a sack of EPO no such luck!!
Well, I'm off to find something normal to do so I don't feel like I'm totally loosing my mind. Hey, perhaps if I eat fresh pineapple while having sex on my head and singing the national anthem after having gone for a long walk then maybe I'll go into labour. It makes sense........
Hope you all have a comfortable evening. Take care.
jonesso
14-07-2005, 08:46 AM
Welcome KC!
Far our Larissa... perhaps if I eat fresh pineapple while having sex on my head and singing the national anthem after having gone for a long walk then maybe I'll go into labour... where does the evening primrose oil go in this instance? And you forgot having a dozen needles sticking out of you!! LOL you crack me up :D
Well we went to acupressure last night and DH is bloody good at it - make sure you girls have a read of that booklet, especially about BL32 (this is one on the back just above your bum - it is an awesome pain relief spot) and C4 (on your hand between your index finger and thumb - really calming and an oxytocin release point). Hopefully this will make labour a little bit easier, and it also gives DH something constructive to do rather than him wondering what he can do to help (other than being a punching bag and getting screamed at by moi).
Lisa, I hope for your sake you are right - come on Brooke! DH has joked about shining a torch between my legs and directing Nathan to the exit... hmm... maybe Larissa you could give that a shot too???
Keep us updated, girls!!
Manxie
14-07-2005, 09:36 AM
Hi KC how u doing?
Larrisa thanks for making me laugh, shame DH didnt catch you he could have done a video for funniest home videos!! :D Surely that bubs got to be on its way out.
Going to have to check out the acupressure leaflet sounds good. I'll try anything. Unfortunately I dont know the words to the Aussie Anthem, maybe I can learn them to pass the time!!!!
Is anyone else getting a bit weird and emotional??? I feel very teary at the moment which is very unlike me, my moods have been stable throughout this pregnancy but now I can cry at the drop of the hat :( . DH is starting to feel the strain, I suppose it must be weird for them just waiting for the call to say lets go things are kicking off. How are all you DH's coping????
Hope you have a good day, happy pineapple eating, primrose oil smearing long walks and lots of sex :)
IAdoreYou
14-07-2005, 10:11 AM
Another day of waiting ..
Maxie - I had that last week !!!! weird .. I'm back to myself this week though .. HOpe you feel better soon.
Sonia - LOL .. I'm gonna look for my torch now :D
Larissa - YOU CRACK me up! So funny. I'm seriously buying fresh Pineapple and that evening primrose oil caps after next tuesday!!! ( carseat goes in then ) ;)
Welcome KCAngel .. I'll add you to our Due Date list ..
I'm feeling quite good today, I have to run some errands soon though, the thought of putting make-up on and getting dressed isn't that exciting though ..
I think i'm gonna totally BLUDGE this afternoon in front of the tele ...
I keep constantly thinking about the "big day" i'm actually honestly getting SO EXCITED about it all!
I just wish it would hurry up now!
Ciao girls, hope some more bubs come soon :D
KCAngel
14-07-2005, 12:55 PM
After posting my message last night, I told DH what I'd been up to and he promptly corrected my error in how many days I have left... being 8 instead of 9. That should give you an indication of how excited he is. This morning he calls me from work to see if "Baby is coming" and when I reply that no I don't think it will be today, he states that I should "Start pushing". This exchange has been going on for a couple of days now. :)
I can totally relate to the emotional period, I was an utter mess. One night I just cried and cried until my already stuffy nose got so blocked I had to have a steamy shower. The shower really helped, because after another 5 mintues of sobbing I was so exhausted yet relieved that I fell straight to sleep. Gets rid of all that anxiety and built up tension.
I can't believe some of the crazy things you can do to bring on labor, though I haven't attempted to try anything just yet... funnily enough the primose oil sounds the most natural and safest thing (Aside from sex of course... but who can be bothered with that at the moment?)
Has anyone else had this weird feeling that bubs is going to appear on this one certain date? I've even been making bets with DH & other friends to see if we can guess the EDD.
jonesso
14-07-2005, 04:11 PM
You guys are lifesavers... seriously, I have just pulled myself together from having my head buried in my pillow for no reason whatsoever bawling my eyes out, and here I was thinking "oh my god I am such a freak and emotional wreck, nobody else is surely feeling like this" and then I looked online and Manxie is there saying "oh my god I am an emotional wreck" - it's not just me!!!!!!! Yay!!!! Thanks guys :o Sonia
Mummabear
14-07-2005, 04:23 PM
You girls crack me up :D . It is so awesome having you all to keep me sane!
Manxie - my DH has taken holidays, hoping that bubs would have come on time, which it hasn't, so DH is just hanging around the house driving me mad - I wish he would go back to work!
As for moods - not so much of the crying emotional mess as GRUMPY, GRUMPY, GRUMPY - everyone is annoying me at the moment, including myself. If I could get away from myself for a few hours it would be awesome!
Sonia - I couldn't help but laugh uncontrollably at your punching bag comment - I'm so paranoid that I'm going to turn into super-***** from hell in the delivery room.
We had appointment at Birth Centre today and have been booked in to be induced. If bubs doesn't come on it's own (which I don't think it will) then they will break my waters on Wednesday arvo, send me home for the night and hopefully I'll be back there on Thursday having a baby!!! Yay. So if you don't hear from me at the end of next week then you know what's up!!
P.S. I'm so sick of pineapple.
Cheers for the laughs girls - you're my saviours at the moment!!! :D
our little treasures
14-07-2005, 10:41 PM
Well you have all won, after reading all your posts and telling dh how impatient everyone is to see their bundles I made him go down the street and buy the pineapple!!!!!!
STILL HERE AND WAITING!!!!
I'm so sick of not being able to get on the floor and chase my dd, so at 8pm tonight I packed our swimming bags and took dd and hubby to the pool. What a blast we had, it was good to do something fun with dd other than draw and read and paint her nails etc.
Take it from me all you mums wanting to be induced not the best experience! Pain is a lot worse and you wont be able to move aropund as much as they will want to monitor you etc. I wasn't allowed to shower bath or walk around.
With the head being able to turn I was told by ob that in labour the baby can still turn its head even though you can be fully engaged, dd fully engaged and she turned her head to posterior... Sorry for anyt let downs..
Who's next I wonder???? :)
jonesso
15-07-2005, 10:24 AM
Hey Larissa, we are going to hospital at the same time - Wednesday! Don't get me wrong, I would love NOT to be induced (hence the pineapples-RLT-sex-standing-on-your-head palarva) but at least we know that there is an end date. I have a feeling the end of next week is going to be quiet on the net as we are all due within days of each other - hopefully it will be a procession to the hospitals for us!!
Hope you're all well today, I'm feeling heaps better, out of my crappy teary mood from yesterday arvo. Here's to a good weekend for everyone!
LittleBoysRock
15-07-2005, 11:32 AM
After reading through lots of posts it sounds like everybody is getting weary of being pregnant and eager to meet our babies. Wont be long now and we will all be on here comparing how many hours sleep we are getting etc. Keep smiling gals :)
I have decided that I am going to try and be patient. I have tried everything to get this baby out and he isnt going to budge until he is ready! Though everybody says this stage is the worst part but there is light at the end of the tunnel... I think the first 12 weeks was the worst. This part is really special and I am trying to enjoy it :)
My family and friends are staring to drive me batty with calls and sms saying is he out yet? How much longer? It is exciting though so I dont blame them. :)
Fingers crossed some bubba's come this weekend naturally before anybody gets induced. Funny to think this might be our last baby free weekend...EXCITING!
Take care all
Simone.
Manxie
15-07-2005, 01:01 PM
So great to read all the messages and to see that I'm not the only one feeling emotional, that makes me feel so much better :D . This site is a lifesaver, thanks guys. Thankfully I am feeling a lot more cheery today and dont feel so overwhelmed by it all.
Hope everyone enjoys what could be the last baby free weekend, hard to get your head around isnt it? I asked the midwife today if she had any idea when baby will come, response was "when its ready" - hummm.
My mum sounds so diasappointed when I call her in the UK as she thinks its to say bubs has arrived! I am under strict instructions to call her day or night when it comes.
Is there anything that you guys are really looking forward to eating/drinking when bubs is safely out. I'm looking forward to some soft cheeses and salami!!
Take care girls, have a great weekend
melasuras
15-07-2005, 01:19 PM
As soon as my father-in-law emails me the photos i will put them up for you to have a look, When i had Tamika i didnt have a show but my waters broke naturally, but when i had my son Jason i had a show and with him the dr had to break my waters. With Tamika i had rasberry tablets every third day i wasnt a fan of the rasberry tea, yuck!
I was really funny how i knew i was in labour, i felt like i needed to go to the toilet, then a 1155pm (thurs nite) i started to have these really sharp pains in my pelvic area and i thought they were Braxton Hicks but then they came a a bit faster and a bit stronger then i knew i was in labour, then i sat up in bed to watch a bit of telly and time the contractons, then i felt like i had wet myself and at this point i rang the hospital and explained to them, the midwife on duty had told me that my waters had broken(its not a good feeling when they brake)
the a 0521 miss tamika was born.
So ladies you may not get a show, the bubbies mayb in a rush
Good luck
Melissa
mum of Jason and Tamika :D
IAdoreYou
15-07-2005, 02:32 PM
hey girls,
YEP, sounds like we are all definately ready! YEP, we are all due just days apart literally :D
I have this strong feeling my widdle girl will be here sometime next weekend!
** I so hope so ** :rolleyes: I really don't want to be induced the following week etc ..
anybody else get the midnight munchies still? I seem to wake up and eat eat eat .. then can't wake up in the mornings ..
How is everybodies weight going? Mine is pretty much stable now .. one day its 1kg heavier and the next is down again .. its been like that for about 3 weeks now!
Whos delievering at Mater Mothers Private again in Brisbane ? .. if you are and you see on the door BROOKE HOLLY (as they put your childs name on the door a well ) come visit ..
I'm so buying fresh Pineapple next week !!!!
I just can't wait to meet my girl .. another weekend approaching, the NEAR is in sight girls ..
I'm really gonna sit back and totally enjoy all the little kicks and bumps I'm getting as it may be sometime before I feel this beautiful feeling again ..
ciao.
tazzystone
15-07-2005, 02:37 PM
Melissa where did you get the rasberry tablets from? Chemist or Health Food Shop and also when did you start taking them? So glad everything went great for you, sounds like a good birth, hope all of ours are just as quick!.... yeah right!
Well I have been cleaning and cooking like mad today, very tired now and hubby just got home from work so I best get going. Take care everyone and enjoy your weekend.
Taz
our little treasures
15-07-2005, 02:59 PM
Hi mums to be. I knew there was something I forgot in my last long post, all you mums with bad swelling just a piece of advice for me personally I had swelling through the last pregnancy my feet where in huge amounts of pain rings wouldn't fit on fingers etc. When I had dd it was 10 times worse than while Iwas preggars.
It took nearly a week to die down..
I hope it's not the case for all of you, but I was not prepared for the agony. Thankfully I have skipped bad swelling all together this time. :p
KCAngel
15-07-2005, 03:50 PM
I feel I have to share with you all my rollercoaster day today! What a mess, hopefully you won't all have to go through anything similar...
When I first found out I was pregnant, my doctor and I worked out my EDD to be the 15th July (Today), at my 14 week scan this was confirmed. Then at 19 weeks I went for my second scan and was told that it is in fact the 21st July, therefore the hosiptal and I have been going off this date.
Anyways I had my 39 week appt with midwife today, DH has attended every single appt so far, however we decided that today he wouldn't need to come along...
I have quite a little hypo-active bubba inside and have been feeling kicks quite frequently. Rest assured baby's heartbeat was beating perfectly, however the midwife was concerned that she hasn't grown at all in the last week. She left me sitting there whilst she consulted a doctor about hooking me up to the monitor... There I was sitting in the consulting room near to tears and wishing that DH was there with me.
Midwife returns and hands me a referral, they want me to go and have another ultrasound... I started to panic at this stage and start thinking the worst. So off I waddle to the imaging centre and they had to fit me in asap, so I got an appt within an hour.
I duck outside and desperately try and contact DH, whom was in a meeting at work. I sob uncontrolably and he starts to get upset too, he then tells me he'll leave work and come to the ultrasound with me... what a sweetheart!
You'll all be pleased to hear that it ends well! I go into the ultrasound (It's amazing seeing your baby so big and developed - not alien like) and the tech says that I am in fact 40 weeks pregnant and that my EDD should never have been changed. Babygirl weighs 3.3 kgs or 7lbs 3ozs and is doing perfectly okay, just ready to come out into the world. Based on this, I could go tonight!!!
The things us women go through... but what a miracle we'll have in the end!
Hope you all have a good weekend!
jonesso
15-07-2005, 04:14 PM
OH my god KC what a stress to go through, particularly at this late stage and considering how emotional you are with hormones all over the place... glad all is fine with the baby and wow, could you imagine if you went tonight! :eek: How exciting!! I have my fingers crossed (not my legs) for you...
Melissa, thanks for the run-down on what happened with Tamika and labour etc. I've been looking for the "show" for the past two weeks and was thinking I might be a freak if it doesn't come!
Lisa, I am at the Mater, so same goes for you, if you see Nathan Corey on the door come on in and visit!
Take care and look after all those babies xoxox Sonia
IAdoreYou
16-07-2005, 03:54 PM
Hey girls
Sonia - I KNEW there was somebody .. sorry "pregnancy brain" I will remember Nathan Corey .. I'll be looking :D
KC - Whoa .. how exciting THOUGH :D anyday now and perfect size !!!
My fingers KILL on my right hand .. I definately ahve that Carpal tunnel syndrome on that hand ..
I can't wait to make a fist again !! OH BLISS.
KC based on your info ..
At my very 1st scan they said EDD was 23 July, EDD was 26 July based on my last cycle and IUI procedure ( which my Dr keeps on his chart ) and on OUR big U/s at 19 weeks it had EDD 24th July ..
So I'm guessing my bub will come between 23 - 26th **fingers xxxx***
SO BUYING fresh pineapple soon :D
So going by my very last scan, I'm 39 weeks TOMORROW!!! :D yahoo ..
take it easy girls, all our bubs will be here in a couple of weeks NO MATTER WHAT!
how good does that sound?
Ciao
our little treasures
16-07-2005, 11:18 PM
Hi all, well we had our obs appointment yesterday and the head is now fully engaged which is great as second pregnancies the babies don't fully engage until labour. So my obs said anytime now, he made us an appointment but said he doesn't expect to see us!!!!! Yippee!
With the u/s dates etc going by my cycle I'm due 22nd of July, going by the 12 week scan it's the 31st of July and going by my 20 week scan I'm due the 26th of july. Our obs is taking the 31st but he sent the paper work to hosi for the 22nd dh and I go by 22nd as this works out with date of conception. We have left the date with the obs as we don't want to be induced and this gives bubs extra time between the first and second date!!!
Going by the obs he thinks it will be here by the 22nd anyway, all I know is we were given four different dates with dd1 and she came by the 20week scan. Babies come when they want to anyway ( I just hope it is sooner rather than later). ;)
Mummabear
17-07-2005, 01:12 AM
KC - you poor thing. I was almost in tears reading through your rollercoaster ride. I'm so glad to hear that everything is okay. I had a scare at around 15 weeks when my preggo physio thought I was leaking amniotic fluid and rang delivery ward who wouldn't see me because I was under 16 weeks so I was told to go to emergency - it's just that not knowing, and the being kept waiting until they finally decide to fill you in that's the worst. What a nice surprise in the end though - to find out your going to meet your baby earlier than anticipated without the stress of it being premmie. Awesome.
Fluid, fluid, fluid. I'm so over it. I now have massive amounts of fluid in my feet, ankles and all the way up to my upper thighs - I can't bend at the knee very well as all the fluid pushes up and pools in my upper thigh. It is the strangest feeling.
I also thought that unless I got the show things weren't happening. But then again, thanks to Hollywood, until I became pregnant and did some reading I also thought that every labour started off with waters breaking.
Sonia - hopefully our little bundles will decide to come on their own before Wednesday - but at least we have dates now and we officially aren't going to be pregnant forever :eek:
Is anyone else from Adelaide and if so are you having bubs at Flinders?? My two best girlfriends moved interstate at the beginning of the year (I now shower more regularly and have worked on my social behaviour :D ) so it would be nice to meet with any of you girls if you're in Adelaide.
Well girls - as always, you've kept me sane for another day!! Actually I hadn't really thought about the fact that this will be our last baby-less weekend - what a strange (but wonderful) thought. It all still seems rather surreal though - I'm not going to believe that I actually have a baby until it's in my arms and someone is pinching me really hard.
Take care girls - keep those feet up and relax as much as possible. I wonder who's going to be next.......
Larissa :D
IAdoreYou
17-07-2005, 02:54 PM
hey girls :D
Larissa - I know, this is our last baby free weekend for MOST of us .. I have a feeling this time next week I will be having contractions :) I hope that fluid goes quickly after the birth - sounds OUCHY!
angelbaby8 - I got told the very 1st measurements are usually spot on when bub comes .. as they grow over the following months according to "there blue prints" which is based mainly around genetics and the environment .. so the very 1st scan and measurements are usually the closest to the real thing .. So for me that was around 23rd july .. 26th July is based on my last cycle and the 24th July is based on my very last 20 week scan .. so I guess my baby is definately due next weekend!
HERE'S to safe arrivals of ALL our angels .. and can't wait to hear updates.
Have a relaxing week girls! talk soon ..
BUMP!
jonesso
18-07-2005, 08:22 AM
Still here!
My mother arrived yesterday from down south to help out so hopefully that will help the next couple of days to pass quickly. I have a list of jobs for her to do - things I can't (and lets face it, never wanted to) do!
Swollen feet? Wouldn't know, haven't see them for a few months... they're down there somewhere I'm sure!! My wedding rings are really tight from the fluid so have taken them off now, do you reckon I could go out and try and pick up a hot bloke in this state??
Last appt with OB tomorrow, internal exam yuck... then off to hospital Wed night... by the end of the week I'll be a mummy! How scary is that? Spent the better half of the night last night lying awake thinking crazy thoughts about the baby and being a family and all that, you know the kind of stupid things that race through your head at that time of the morning. Resisted the urge to put on a load of washing at 4am, decided DH and mother would not appreciate the racket!
Well, time to supervise some serious cleaning, I have a mould issue that needs addressing in the bathroom! Thanks Mum!
Take care girls!
Manxie
18-07-2005, 08:46 AM
KC glad things were o.k. I cant imagine how scary that was for you I'd have been beside myself. I've had a couple of scares the last two weeks and poor DH is now getting used to my distressed phone calls!
Larissa I am in Adelaide and having bubs at Flinders Public (birthing centre) are you going Public or Private??? Would love to meet up afterwards, you neednt have bothered improving your personal hygiene standards as a POM I understand that we are considered a smelly lot!!! :D Feel free to Personal Message me, I suppose you'll be a bit tied up this week!
Think its safe to say that they havent really got a clue with EDD, I cant believe they use a tape measure and a prod in your groin to work out estimated weeks.
Enjoy your last few days girls,
KCAngel
18-07-2005, 12:28 PM
Well ladies, I am still here and waiting. Thank you for all your support after my last email. It seems like there has been a lot of mix up with people's dates. In today's society we all want the reassurance of certainty or at least a time frame... unfortunately mother nature has her own ideas!
After reading all about your pineapple theories, I was happily suprised when yesterday my mother-in-law dropped around with a plate full of freshly cut pineapple. :D What a laugh, she is obviously excited as we are!
Larissa - sounds like the fluid is doing your head in. DH comments on the rather large indents in my calves when I remove my socks, oh and I can relate to not being able to bend down... it's not a graceful act getting dressed in the morning.
Sonia - what a great idea to have your Mum come and help you out, I laugh at all the books that say you should preferably hire help for a week or so after the birth and limit all housework. In an ideal world this would be great, but a Mum is even better!
Oooh I had two hours worth of false contractions on Saturday night, they were 20 minutes apart and I thought this is it... only to wake up 5 hours later feeling normal again "Sigh" What a tease!
Hope you are all hanging in there. Oh by the way does anyone know of any good creams / remedies to eliminate the stretch marks?
Mummabear
18-07-2005, 01:28 PM
Manxie - I'm Flinders Birthing Centre also. I've sent you a message so we don't have to bore everyone else on this thread with sorid tales of exicting Adelaide!
Sonia - love the Mum cleaning thing! I've got some chores over here if you run out of stuff at home. I had to remind DH that I asked him 2 weeks ago to clean the bath (bending down that far is all but a distant memory). I was quickly jolted back into the reality that male cleaning and female cleaning are two totally different things - he turned on the bath tap, splashed some water around to wash off the dust and beamed at me looking for praise :rolleyes: Oh well, I guess at least it looks better - and I'll be able to clean it myself next week (oh yay, something to look forward to).
KC - don't you just hate those false contractions. I was sure that I was going to be having a baby today. I was still awake at 3.30am this morning (that within itself isn't unusual though) and had been on the toilet quite a bit and was having contractions and feeling lots of pressure on my cervix - I also thought that I would just try and get some sleep and that the contractions would wake me when they became stronger - but like you, I woke up to nothing!! Hmm, maybe we should skip the going to sleep bit next time. As for the stretch marks - I'm not really sure about how to deal with them, I guess my days of bikini modelling are over :eek: - luckily DH has stepped up to the plate and said he'll just have to start up the bikini modelling - just to keep the money coming in. Being that I've always been such an attractive beast in a bathing suit this is just going to be so hard to come to tems with :p
Well, it has finally stopped raining in Adelaide for a day - so I'm thinking I might go and enjoy some of this sunshine - wouldn't it be so nice if I could put on sneakers and go for a walk - not sure about waddling over to the park in ugg boots.
Take care girls. 2 more sleeps for me....... (and you too Sonia!)
IAdoreYou
18-07-2005, 04:01 PM
Hi everybody ..
Just doing a fly by ..
SONIA - what does an internal feel like? I will be getting this done next week if my Brooke does a NO-Show this weekend?
I've heard it can get things going as well !??
* waving * to everybody ..
gotta fly, have to pee and shower just checking in ..
our little treasures
19-07-2005, 12:29 AM
MAIP: I thought I would make a comment on the internal examination, I hated them and I found them the worse thing I had to do in the labour room. Every four hrs I would be fretting!! Although I have had other people say it didn't bother them. The best thing is really to relax (I didn't) I'm hoping I don't get half as many this time!!!
Gosh I can't believe we only have a few dys till they are due, as many of you have had the dreaded b/h I have had them throughout pregnancy but have gotten unbearable the last 2 weeks. On friday night I had massive pains and went to the loo every 20-30mins I didn't sleep a wink until 5.30 in the morning then I slept for 15mins and had a nightmare (too much big brother). Had aches and pains until 8am when dd woke up and then I got up and ran a bath jumped in but it still didn't stop.
I actually had an aroma party booked and got dh to postpone and the lady had a go at him saying I shouldv'e given notice. This is where I love my hubby he told the lady that she would not be rebooking me. The cheek of her I said to dh when was I going to ring since it happened from 10.30pm - 9.30am when I rang. I should've rang at 3 in the morning!!!!
Thats my groan for the day..... I hope someone does something!!!!!
tazzystone
19-07-2005, 03:03 AM
Well girls its 4am and cant sleep so what better to do then jump on the net! I cant believe its not long now until we are all parents. I was also wondering what they do with an internal? Doesnt sound pleasant anyway. Well all is good with us, Bub is still not engaged so it doesnt look like it will until I go into labour. Is anyone else like this? This is our first as well which I thought was unusual for the bub not to engage. Have just been starting to have niggly little pains but still not much as all. No BH! Have been trying walking each day, sex, spicy foods but nothing. My next appointment is on Mon if bub doesnt come by then and then they will book a date to be induced! Which I hope I dont make it till then! There is definately no room left in there.
Off to town in the morning to do last shopping to get out of the house as we are getting our landscaping done at the moment and yesterday I spent the entire day locked inside - no windows open because of the dirt etc. But on the brightside we will have grass before bub is born!
Well I guess I best get going and try to go back to sleep :rolleyes:
Happy resting.
MyL&S
19-07-2005, 06:12 AM
I just want to announce the birth of my surprise package, a beauitful baby girl. Sophie 8lb6oz :)
I ended up going 6 days over my DD and was induced last tuesday.
My labour was a total of 1 hour and 21 minutes, perfect! We are doing great!
Manxie
19-07-2005, 09:17 AM
A big welcome to Sophie...now thats the kind of length of labour I want!! Congratulations.
Tazzystone I'm still not having much in the way of BH but midwife says I am having them just not aware of it so maybe its the same for you. Some people never feel them though. Hope you manage to persuade bubs to put in an appearance before Monday, my sister and mum both went overdue by 10days with their firsts so I'm not expecting much for a while.
Being extremely lazy and loving it!! Cant say I'm missing work at all - I pop down and see the ward where I work when I go for my antenatal appointments and it always looks like chaos and I'm soooo glad I'm out of it!! :)
Good luck to those being induced tomorrow cant wait to see how you go.
Take it easy and enjoy the rest
jonesso
19-07-2005, 10:20 AM
CONGRATS ALICIAMAREE AND WELCOME BABY SOPHIE!!!!
That is great news, especially about the length of your labour!!!!!! :D :D :D Bring that on!
Taz, I don't think any of us are sleeping... 4am I was doing crossword puzzles!
Have just come home from OB and final acupuncture session. Baby update! He is engaged but not much happening on the cervical side of things... the internal was fine, I relaxed and OB was really good about it, she felt my cervix to see if it was dilated at all (which it isn't) and how high it is (still high) and checked baby's head (yes, he has one, phew). Only took a couple of minutes and didn't hurt, so nothing to stress about. I figure it has nothing on what is going to come over the next few days!
Acupuncture was full-on today - I had electrodes attached to needles, and instead of the usual 4 needles I had about 20 today to get this bubba going! We'll see what happens!
Have we seen any piccies of Tamika yet? And can't wait to see Sophie's piccy!
Take care girls, see you online at 4am tomorrow morning????
;) Sonia
IAdoreYou
19-07-2005, 12:06 PM
:D Welcome baby SOPHIE !!!!!
Sounds like a great labour and birth .. you lucky thing !!!
Sonia - OH phew .. I have to have an internal next Wednesday if Brooke is a No-Show this weekend! The Acupuncture sounds great . I bet WE see each other in hosptial this weekend or next week ;)
Manxie - I'm not missing work at all either!!
Tazzy - I'm starting to get niggly pains at night as well .. like mild period pains .. I thought last night is this IT!? but nothing further happened! dam it. I sat up and watched Big Brother uplate last night, I just could not sleep!
angelbaby8 - SOUNDS like you are very close .. I can't believe we are all so close!
good luck girls.
WE just got the car seat installed by Qld Ambulance, its soooooooooooooo dam cute in the car! My heart sank .. I'm very emotional today, I'm very excited as well!
Crazy Hormones :)
C'mon July Babies ..
take it easy girls, check in again tomorrow night .. I have my last Dr's appointment tomorrow and we are gonna go pig out on Pancake Manner for lunch ( hubbie and I ) as he is home this week, night shift though ick!
Ciao.
BUMP!
maybe1more
19-07-2005, 02:43 PM
Hi there alicemaree, great to hear that your beautiful daughter Sophie has been welcomed to the world, sounds like you had a fabulous labour, hope you and bub are well.
To all the other july mummy i keep checking this thread waiting to hear of more babies born, i hope your are all well, i know the waiting games sux(my first was 14 days overdue).Best of luck to you all. :)
LittleBoysRock
19-07-2005, 05:53 PM
Congratulations AliciaMaree! Welcome to little baby Sophie!! :D Would love to see a pic when you get a chance.
It's all getting so exciting, any of us could go into labour at any point now. Funny to think that I am due to be a Mother before the week is out!!
I am hoping that we dont go overdue as I am starting to g