View Full Version : ~Baby Name talk~ (April 08)
Brand new thread to chat about baby names etc.... :D
heres the last post from the other thread :)
We're just getting into the naming game. I refused to start until I was past 12 weeks. We have a Caitlin and an Olivia and I'm sure this will be another girl DH is from a Dutch background and the name Jacobia (pronoucned Jack o b a) is used a lot in their family. I love it - but unfortunately DH hates it - so no go. I've also been thinking about Georgie but I'm not sure if that works - I guess she'd have to be Georgia. It's going to be fun trying to agree on girls names - we've always struggled to find ones we both like. On the other hand if we do have a boy it's easy. He will be Jack or Harry - we've had these two picked out for years.
I also like (but can't have)
Maddison Kate
Jordan (girl)
Taylah (girl)
Noah (boy)
Eva Lilly
Ella rose
kylza
23-10-2007, 09:40 AM
Going round & round in circles trying to find names we like
GIRLS
Reghan
Torah
Zali
Tori
Kendall
BOYS
Logan
Zavier
Thomas
Braythe
Just cannot agree on boys names. Any suggestions?:confused:
I loooove Torah!! it reminds me of the lil girl in the titanic movie!! she sooo cute!!
i loooove Xavier - DH wont have a bar of it :(
Noah's Mum
23-10-2007, 10:31 AM
Everyone has some very nice names picked out so far.. We have had our girls name Layla picked out for ages and we have a backup name which is Isabella. Boys names we couldn't agree on, we went through our friends middle names and found Noah, it's the only name we have agreed on..
17more days and hopefully i will find out what sex bubs is :smiliedance:
sparkleymum
23-10-2007, 11:39 AM
I love the name Noah, it was my boy name if Aimee had been a boy. BUT my family hate it, they also hated Aimee. I used to get emails slagging me off saying stuff like 'the animals went in two by two' and stuff about Noahs arc. Then when they heard Aimee, they were saying its the name of a girl in some british soap and it was a horrible name.
I stuck with it and now I cannot imagine her being called anything else.
Does anyone else have this kindof problem? God, names are so stressful:banghead:
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
23-10-2007, 12:28 PM
OMG yes sparkleymum you are so not alone there.....We had Kayden picked out if Eloise was a boy and my whole family thought it was a " BOGANS" name and surely we could have been more creative !!!! :hair:
Lucky for us though she was a girl cause I a so over that boys name now..have met way too many kids with it that i dont really like :o !!!
We have gone with sentimental choices this time..family connections !!
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
23-10-2007, 12:28 PM
All these names you ladies have sujjested or picked out are so pretty and hansome I love them !!!
Ruby Slippers
23-10-2007, 12:41 PM
I thought I would pop in and say my baby names when I finally fall pregnant again :babydust2: :fingerscrossed:
Boy =Charlie
Girl = April
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
23-10-2007, 12:43 PM
Ruby slipper great choice in name !!!
We have Charlie picked out if this one is a boy !!!! Named after my Grandad Charles who has paaed away a few years ago now :)
bec77
23-10-2007, 12:47 PM
hi, mine is:
Bonnie for a girl
and either Max, Toby or Beau for a boy
We already have a Jack.
Bonnie has always been my pick for a girls name, boys we are struggling with, DP likes Beau, I like Toby and we both can agree on Max, so pobably one of those at this point!!!
Noah's Mum
23-10-2007, 01:21 PM
Kristi, that is so nice!
Eternity
23-10-2007, 01:22 PM
Gosh Names dh and I havent really started to decide yet. Sophia's name was picked by now, but Im going to wait till the 18 week scan so I only have to choose either boy or girl....we have a maybe boy name but I think IM going to leave you all in suspence till the birth he he keep it a secret this time around:devil6:
NZMEL
24-10-2007, 07:24 AM
There are so many lovely names "floating" around at the moment!
I have a huge list of girls names that I like (not necessarily both of us tho:thumbsdown:) and only a couple of boys names - but not really sticking to anything until we know what gender we are aiming for :yes:
I do have an idea for middle names tho - which I'm not sharing with family until Birth-day...I want to use the first initial of each of our brothers and sisters to make up the middle name:
Gema - my partners sister
Ryan - my brother
Chani - my step-sister
Alice - my half-sister
Elias - my half-brother
For a girl I have...GRACE (which I really like)
For a boy I have...CRAEG - like craig - (but I don't really like it)
So if anyone wants to fiddle around with those letters G,R,C,A,E - I'd be more than happy to hear what you come up with :thumbsup:
kylza
24-10-2007, 01:38 PM
everyone has such nice names, I made the mistake of telling someone that we would call our baby Reghan if it were a girl, and they said it would be stupid to call a girl a boys name. But I think whatever you call your precious one it always suits them, and after a while you couldn't imagine them being called anything else.
Names are such a personal thing I would never comment to the parents about their childs name.
dont listen to what anyone else says.... up there bum if they dont like it!! you are the parents, you like the name, thats all that matters
anyway, our names (i posted in the other thread but will post again) we are hoping to have 3 for each sex
girls
Kazmyn Lea (meaning Our angel in the meadow)
Savannah Estelle (meaning A star over an open plain)
Boys
no definates yet, but a few ideas
Kaelan
Taelan
Alexander (Alex)
Blake
Xavier (i like DH doesnt :thumbsdown:)
Bailey
no ideas for middle names yet!
kylza
24-10-2007, 02:13 PM
Kazmyn is such a pretty name, My hubby is slowly warming to Xavier except I think I might spell it Zavier.
Boys names are so much harder than girls names to choose.:confused:
hailsntwang
24-10-2007, 04:54 PM
We have decided on Madeleine Shae Lehanne if it's a girl :idea:
and we really can't decide on a boy's name
I like,
Brady and
Fraser
at the moment, DP doesn't like any boys names at all :rolleyes:
Kazmyn is such a pretty name, My hubby is slowly warming to Xavier except I think I might spell it Zavier.
Boys names are so much harder than girls names to choose.:confused:
I made kazmyn up when i was preg with Brayden... he was gonna be Kazmyn if he was a girl :D
i think the spelling of Xavier depends on how you plan on pronouncing it...
for me it would be
X-zavier would be Xavier
and zay-vier would be Zavier...
know what i mean? lol i prefer the pronounciation X-zavier :D
Will&Evie
25-10-2007, 12:10 PM
You're all so organised with your baby names. We have no idea and probably won't decide until the last minute.
DP has two girls names picked out, and I don't want either of them.
Grace: I've had to veto that because our DS is Will. I refuse to have children called Will and Grace. :laughing:
Sophie: a lovely name and one I always loved, but I worked with a Sophie a couple of years ago and she wasn't very nice to me.
For boys at the moment I'm really into Noah and Oliver, and I love the names Amelie, Evie and Harper for a girl.
NZMel - I notice you have a brother named Elias - I love that name and it's one we're definetely tossing around at the moment. Does he get called Eli?
NZMEL
25-10-2007, 07:07 PM
JJ7 - Yeah it is a neat name, my mum will be happy to hear that :)
Your question made me laugh, made me realize that I think I'm the only one that calls him Eli (as far as I know) - as a friendly brother/sister way and I think he suits it :D
HugsAndKisses
26-10-2007, 11:08 AM
we havent decided on any names as yet...a few we're thinking of are-
girls i like a few but havent made any decision yet
stacey
sarah
lucy
hayley
jessicca
boys i find really hard to pick at all
oliver
brady
i also had the problem whe chossing names last time of having people critisize wat we liked and acting as thought they actually had a say in what we named OUR CHILD.....we chose justin and DH lil sis says openly she thinks its an ugly name :banghead: i told her i thought her name was ugly too:o but i didnt mean it:no:
NZMEL
26-10-2007, 11:49 AM
We finally agreed on one name that we both like for a girl...Paige. (not confirmed but is a strong contender) :)
I find it really hard choosing names as since I have been a Childcare Teacher for the past 9 years I have met many children that their personalities have influenced me enough to really like or dis-like their name :o
We finally agreed on one name that we both like for a girl...Paige. (not confirmed but is a strong contender) :)
I find it really hard choosing names as since I have been a Childcare Teacher for the past 9 years I have met many children that their personalities have influenced me enough to really like or dis-like their name :o
Paige is gorgeous!! i love it, but my cousin used it on her bub first!
and im sooo hearing ya on the name thing, i was teaching special needs and nannying and in childcare, so alot of names dan suggests are like umm no hun, that kid was a terror! lol
Missus S
27-10-2007, 07:14 AM
I love the name Noah, it was my boy name if Aimee had been a boy. BUT my family hate it, they also hated Aimee. I used to get emails slagging me off saying stuff like 'the animals went in two by two' and stuff about Noahs arc. Then when they heard Aimee, they were saying its the name of a girl in some british soap and it was a horrible name.
I stuck with it and now I cannot imagine her being called anything else.
Does anyone else have this kindof problem? God, names are so stressful:banghead:
OMG How rude.....................I would tell your family to get stuffed :thumbsup: They are both fantastic names :yes:
We have a definite boys name (not sure about middle name yet) and I'm still deciding on a girls name.
melaniec
29-10-2007, 11:37 AM
OK so I'm quite certain on my choice for a girls name - Madison Jade.
However, I've gone from having no girls names and a few boys to having no boys names now. I really liked Hadyn but thenI looked it up and it means Heathen and I'm a Christian and well... that just doesn't sit right.
Maybe Jayden? It's similar and I like J names...? But I can't think of a middle name that goes with it. There is just nothing that stands out to me...
Is anyone else finding it this hard?
yes!! me me me!! we have no definate names now... any i like DH doesnt, and any he likes i dont :banghead:
hopefully this baby has a name by xmas next year!!
sparkleymum
29-10-2007, 11:50 AM
Madison is lovely.
I find boy names very very difficult. I think with a girl you can call her any name and it will be unusual and different and quirky, any girl name can be beautiful but a boy name can be different. Boys tend to slag each other over stuff like that, there was a boy in my brothers class, I cant remember what his name was now, but people used to slag him and call him gay cause he had some unusual name.
I dont want to give a boy an effemanite name or wierd name that could cause him grief, but then I dont want ot pick a boring name or one that every second boy is called, so the result is I dont have any boy names and any I like DH doesn't.
mamainthebush
29-10-2007, 11:39 PM
One thing we didn't think about when choosing the name for our son was the problems it causes because the way we're spelling it.
His name is Cian (Kian) and everyone is pronouncing it Siyan or sian. We thought we picked such an easy name for everyone to say (I'm scandinavian so it is important that my family can pronounce it right as well).
The next one I have absolutley no idea what to call if it's an other boy. My hubby and I are miles apart and it was a miracle we could agree on Cian! If it's a girl we both like Nikita which we had picked out with the first one if being a girl.
But as lots of you know by know, people have so many opinions and I won't tell anyone before this time. Why doesn't people see how lucky it is that everyone loves different names otherwise all kids would be called the same thing?!!!
Keep your bloody opinion to yourself!!! ;)
Noah's Mum
30-10-2007, 06:03 AM
Good news for me i was speaking to a friend about names (the one who had one similar to my name) and they told us they wouldn't use the one they liked as it is to close to my name Phewwwwwww... Then i told her about DH cousin who had all her names pinched by her friends, she said the reason we all tell each other is so the names are out there and we no what to stay away from... This made me so happpyyyyyyyy
wahoooo thats awesome!! :D :D
sparkleymum
01-11-2007, 07:55 AM
I like the name Cian and would definitley have known how to pronunce it as I'm from Ireland and thats how we spell 'kian' in Ireland. Nice name.
I have absolutely no idea what names to pick yet. I haven't read a name here that I haven't liked, I've seen lots that I have never heard of but they were all lovely.
tgo576231
01-11-2007, 08:36 AM
Yeah we wanted to call our girl when we have one Emma Grace (Emma because its my nan's fav name in the world, and Grace after DH's nan..) but his cousin n his wife are due mid december and have decided to name their girl Grace.. I was so p!ssed off when i found out
so back to the drawing board..
Noah's Mum
01-11-2007, 09:44 AM
QTB - i am so excited now although i still think i'm having a boy and only 8 more sleeps until i hopefully find out
It will be very surprising to see how many of us will change our names by the time our bubs arrive
8 more sleeps! omg sooo close!! how exciting... hehe i see you having a boy too!
our names will definatly change a million times between now and then... its awesome being able to choose heaps of names then choose one at the birth... i cant wait! rollll on the end of april! :D
sparkleymum
01-11-2007, 11:31 AM
5 sleeps till I know if its a boy or girl, only five, I can't wait.
I will bet anyone I am having a boy.
omg how exciting, everyones scans are so close!!
i hate being due at the end of the month...! lol although it doesnt really worry me cos we arent finding out the gender.... but im positive its a girl!
mmalt
01-11-2007, 01:51 PM
Oh, all you girls counting down the days til you find out the sex makes me want to find out too!! Hubby doesn't want to though so we won't! Can't wait to hear what you are all having for those finding out!!!
sparkleymum - for some reason I think that you might be having a boy too but guess what, I hate to tell you, I'm ALWAYS wrong!! fingers crossed that it's a boy for you though!! I think that I'm having another boy too!!!! Don't know why, just what I think.
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
01-11-2007, 02:03 PM
oooh I love all the name and sex talk in here today girls :yelclap: ...
I have 12 sleeps till I go for my next scan but 23 weeks till I know what i am having :laughing: ...geez this whole suprise thing is enough to drive me mental....:rolleyes: hmmm maybe i could find out and just not tell DH ??????? Nah I would spill the beans for sure :o oh well only 23 weeks to go !!!!!
dont worry hun, i still have just under 26weeks til i can find out... and if this baby is born the date i think it will then like 28weeks!!
mmalt
01-11-2007, 04:42 PM
I'm with you Kristi and QTB, the whole 'surprise' thing is becoming less and less appealing!! We found out with our first but not our second and I must admit that it was great having that 'wow it's a boy' factor but this time we Huh Hmmm.....hubby decided that he didn't want to find out!!! MIL would love to know and she is coming to the next scan with me and I've told her she is NOT allowed to ask if they know what it is at any time!! big trouble if she does I tell you!!! I'll be so tempted myself but not as tempted as if hubby was there too!!
hehe im the one that doesnt want to find out!
DH chose that we found out with brayden - so this times my choice... hes dying to know... im hoping he doesnt ask!!
Id love to know, but i just found it sooo impersonal last time, we asked what the sex was and the lady said 'boy' and walked out... i cant wait to find out the sex ourselves this time! :D
KatKyle
01-11-2007, 06:29 PM
As this is our first child, my husband wants to find out, and if he is interested in any part of this process, I am encouraging it!!!
My baby names picked out are:
Boy: Thomas William
Girl: Chloe Lee
I havent booked in for my next scan, but will do so at my next visit to the GP. can't wait to find out, cos calling it bump or it doesn't seem to cut it...
oooo gorgeous names kat
we have Chloe on our list too... and Lee, but spelt Lea after my SIL as a middle name for another name we have
Noah's Mum
02-11-2007, 06:28 AM
7 more sleeps to go
QTB - Your the only person who other then DH and I that thinks i'm having a boy...
YM3 - Why can't you find out the sex a friend of mine knows what she is having and her DH doesn't know... I don't care what sex bubs is i'm just excited to find out...
Kristi - 23 weeks doesn't sound that far away though, xmas will be here before we know it and the xmas/new year period goes really fast.. April will be here before we know it
Did i mention only 7 MORE SLEEPS TO GO
sparkleymum
02-11-2007, 08:08 AM
I just realised how close we are when I start reading people saying 23 weeks to go, OMG, i am starting to freek out. DEEP BREATH DEEP BREATH, can I handle it, sleepless nights again, making bottles, carrying nappies, wipes, cream, bottles, formula, change of clothes everywhere I go, prams, baby vomit, colic, constipation AGHHHHHHHHHHH
FREAK OUT TIME
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
02-11-2007, 08:19 AM
I just realised how close we are when I start reading people saying 23 weeks to go, OMG, i am starting to freek out. DEEP BREATH DEEP BREATH, can I handle it, sleepless nights again, making bottles, carrying nappies, wipes, cream, bottles, formula, change of clothes everywhere I go, prams, baby vomit, colic, constipation AGHHHHHHHHHHH
FREAK OUT TIME
I know..how scary :eek: !!!! It took us forever (a year :p ) to fall pregnant with this baby and if i had not had fallen pregnant when I did would probably have just finished my first IVF cycle now I am think geez i should pull my finger out and start stocking up on nappies and so on....I guess i should enjoy my sleep while I can :laughing:
Noah's Mum
02-11-2007, 08:56 AM
Sparkley - Take a deep breath and breathe, you can do this! I know in 2.5 weeks i will be half way. I say bring on all the sleepless nights etc
Kristi - I have been stocking up on wipes, lotions etc since i found out... The funny thing is i haven't even had this baby and i am already thinking when i want to start my next IVF cycle
I CAN"T WAIT TO MEET MY LITTLE FIDGET MIDGET... Get this i read the current issued of Pregnancy and birth there was this section about your babies star signs, well all of us having an aries baby we are all in for a ride. It said that we need to keep the bubs stimulated and busy and to encourage the kids in sport etc. If i remember i will post what it said when i get home.
Latest name we have chosen is - Cruz
I found it the other night in a baby name book, and we both loved it, the kids are pretty keen too. The grandparents arent so keen, but you cant please everyone.
Need to think of a middle name now.
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
09-11-2007, 10:55 AM
Oh I love Cruz JJ7...I think that is a strong yet soft name for a boy...That is one of my favourites on the list we had too...but we are sticking with Charlie BJ if we have a little blue bundle this time !!!
JJ7 - i looove Cruz!! dh doesnt though, party pooper!
Will&Evie
09-11-2007, 12:22 PM
I've just thought of a new boy's name today (since I'm positive that's what we'll be having).
What do you think of Asher? More than likely the middle name will be Benjamin. We love the name Noah, but too many friends have Noahs these days.
Man I wish boys names were easier!!
yep we are having soooo much trouble with boys names
i like Asher. but DHs aunty used it earlier this year!
forumfriend
09-11-2007, 12:34 PM
girl - mia
boy - brock
Noah's Mum
10-11-2007, 06:06 AM
I love boht Cruz and Asher. We are going to stick with Noah robert. Robert is after my grandad who is known as Bob, my grandad plays bowls and kept all his bowl winnings and gave his money to me and DH to help pay for IVF. He gave me the money on the condition that i didn't tell my grandma, mum or anyone else. I think this is the best way i can thank him..
NZMEL
10-11-2007, 07:07 AM
I love boht Cruz and Asher. We are going to stick with Noah robert. Robert is after my grandad who is known as Bob, my grandad plays bowls and kept all his bowl winnings and gave his money to me and DH to help pay for IVF. He gave me the money on the condition that i didn't tell my grandma, mum or anyone else. I think this is the best way i can thank him..
Kristy you have me in tears, happy ones! That is such a touching story, you have a lovely grandad and he is going to be the proudest great-grandad to your little boy!!
(someone pass me the tissues, please)
I can feel so much love in that post Kristy :hugs:
sillysideup
10-11-2007, 07:01 PM
Oh Kristy - that is such a lovely story. What a wonderful man your grandpa is! I think it's lovely that you are giving Noah his middle name (can I call him Noah already - might be a bit much just yet!) I love Noah as a name - but if our little bump is a boy it will be Jack or maybe Harry.
sassymummaof2
19-11-2007, 05:19 PM
hi there everyone ,
im a 20yr old mum of 2 soon to be 3!!
we have chosen for this baby
girl;
Alyssa or Rhianna - jane to be middle name
my middle and my mums
boy ;
Blayde or Zack - middle names reggie allan
after our grandpas
Valentine me 20 dp 27
DD 1/7/05 Patience jade
DS 2/2/07 Kynan Jay
sassymummaof2
19-11-2007, 05:22 PM
hi there everyone ,
im a 20yr old mum of 2 soon to be 3!!
we have chosen for this baby
girl;
Alyssa or Rhianna - jane to be middle name
my middle and my mums
boy ;
Blayde or Zack - middle names reggie allan
after our grandpas
Valentine me 20 dp 27
DD 1/7/05 Patience jade
DS 2/2/07 Kynan Jay
Elmofan
19-11-2007, 06:44 PM
Everyone has such great names I promised Dp I wouldnt share but once he goes back to work tonight I m going to share :laughing:
NZMEL
19-11-2007, 07:04 PM
We have two names on our short list at the moment for our little girl :kiss:
Jordan
OR
Paige
And a definite middle name...Grace...using the first initial of each of our brothers and sisters :D
sassymummaof2 - gorgeous names!
Elmofan - cant wait to hear them!
NZMEL - I looove both names, although i prefer the spelling Jordyn .. its a lil more feminan :D its on our girl shortlist too :D
NZMEL
19-11-2007, 07:48 PM
NZMEL - I looove both names, although i prefer the spelling Jordyn .. its a lil more feminan :D its on our girl shortlist too :D
Thanks! Hmmm I love the spelling :D Would you mind if we used that spelling too - if we use the name?:hugs:
Elmofan
19-11-2007, 08:19 PM
We did have a whole list written out but I now cant find it , I had everything nice and clean today and now I have missplaced it
Boys
Degon - has already been picked for first name at least Im pretty sure thats how me and dp agreed to spell it lol this name was actually picked way before we even got bfp
Middle names - each week I have been trying them out :laughing:
Lee
Taj
Ben (benjamin)
Thor
Girls this is a list of possible first names Dp has to come up with the middle name and I have no clue what his got on his list
Krystal
Ada
Zenevieva
Jada
Amity
Paige
Sabina
Tatum
Amity
This isnt our orginal list well except for Degon but once I find the orginal list Ill update
Thanks! Hmmm I love the spelling :D Would you mind if we used that spelling too - if we use the name?:hugs:
Go for it :D iv pretty much got my heart set on Savannah... lol we are trying to have 3 names set for each sex so we can choose on the day... but i cant get Savannah out of my head lol
Elmofan
Zenevieva
How do you pronounce that Elmo?
i looove the name Degon... very cute!
Elmofan
19-11-2007, 08:32 PM
:laughing:Savannah is one of the names on the list I cant find but dp doesnt like it with the H
Zenevieva
Im not sure if thats the correct spelling as Ive seen it spelt about 4 different ways but the only way I could think of describing how its pronounced is
Z Nae V A
lol that so does not make sense
Marie-Jo
19-11-2007, 08:36 PM
Elmofan - I love LEE (of course!)
We have pretty much pick the little a girl name: ROSALIE LUCIA (after my grandma for hte middle name)
As for a boy name we are thinking of: FRANCIS (it sounds nicer in French) but I like NATHANIEL, FREDERICK, WILLIAM, LIAM, LACHLAN
We always try to fond names that sound nice in French and English
:laughing:Savannah is one of the names on the list I cant find but dp doesnt like it with the H
Zenevieva
Im not sure if thats the correct spelling as Ive seen it spelt about 4 different ways but the only way I could think of describing how its pronounced is
Z Nae V A
lol that so does not make sense
hehe i like it anyway :D
once of our best friends had a baby girl earlier this year and called there daughter Savana (pron- sar-varna) ... since we love it too we changed to Savannah (Sa-van-na) and added the H for good looks (hehe i love Z's, X's, Y's and H's!)
Elmofan
19-11-2007, 08:50 PM
hehe i like it anyway :D
once of our best friends had a baby girl earlier this year and called there daughter Savana (pron- sar-varna) ... since we love it too we changed to Savannah (Sa-van-na) and added the H for good looks (hehe i love Z's, X's, Y's and H's!)
Intresting
I should add that I know how to say
Zenevieva but its harder to try to type the way how to say a word
heres som info on it
Zen-neh-vee-ah? Unless it is zen-neh-vee-EH-vah.
The meaning of the name Zenevieva is Woman Of The People / White Wave
The origin of the name Zenevieva is Slavic
Info on this name: from Genevieve
sparkleymum
19-11-2007, 08:51 PM
How do you pronounce Degon? Is it dee-gone or deeg-in?
I've never heard it before, its really nice.
We still have not decided on a name, all your names are so lovely, I especially like your names Marie-Jo (we know ours is a boy). Anything I like Dh not only dislikes but actually HATES, so name choosing is not going very well for us.
sparkleymum
19-11-2007, 08:53 PM
Elmofan, I would pronounce it zen-ah-vie-va. Its absolutely gorgeous. Where do you all get these lovely names from? I have never heard of that either.
Elmofan
19-11-2007, 08:58 PM
How do you pronounce Degon? Is it dee-gone or deeg-in?
I've never heard it before, its really nice.
We still have not decided on a name, all your names are so lovely, I especially like your names Marie-Jo (we know ours is a boy). Anything I like Dh not only dislikes but actually HATES, so name choosing is not going very well for us.
Dee - gone - Dp has choosen it after his fav motor bike rider whos last name is degon
Elmofan, I would pronounce it zen-ah-vie-va. Its absolutely gorgeous. Where do you all get these lovely names from? I have never heard of that either
Zenevieva was actually the name of a little girl I use to teach when I worked in child care the name stuck with me and when me and dp started ttc I knew I really wanted to use it I also heard it when my cousin went to Russia to adopt their little girl
sparkleymum
19-11-2007, 09:02 PM
well they are absolutely gorgeous names
Elmofan
19-11-2007, 09:25 PM
:):):)
miloand4
19-11-2007, 09:47 PM
I have a Boy named Duane a girl Rhea and a boy james I wanted to call duane by a different name when I was having him but some of my family kicked up a stink and i did not go with it but wish I had. and I wanted to call James something else but his dad preassured me into it and I also wish I had stuck to my guns although these names are definatley theirs now! Im having number four now due april the 12 and my man wont discuss names with me wich is annoying any way I like eliza for a girl and evan for a boy I find out tommorow yay!!!
sparkleymum
19-11-2007, 09:56 PM
miloand4, thats really tough. I have a family like that who all put in their opinions about my baby names. When I had Aimee they all hated the name Aimee but I went ahead and called her it and now I cannot imagine her being anything else.
This time I am having a boy and they are even worse. They hate all the new names that are fashionable like Noah (which we like) and even send me emails saying not to put a wishy washey name on the baby and actually make fun of the name, like taking about the animals going into the arc etc.
Its hard but in the end the name you give the baby will attach to the baby and they will end up liking it cause its bubs name.
Elmofan
19-11-2007, 10:04 PM
God that must suck why do family feel the need to add their 2 cents in where its really none of their business
The only family member I have really had problems with when it comes to names is my older sister and I havnt even told her what we like she thinks I should carry on the J theme when it comes to names and no not because my name starts with J its because all her childrens names start with J :laughing:
If I ever get asked by a family member why I have choosen a certain name I think the conversation would go a little like this
them : why did you pick that name
me : why did you name your child the name he or she has
them : because I like it
me : well theres your answer
sparkleymum
19-11-2007, 10:14 PM
elmofan, ha ha ha very funny.
It is really hurtful when family knock down your names, especially when they are names you really like. I loved Noah, I think its the nicest name but I feel so hounded about it that I dont think I can call bubs Noah now. I still love the name though.
So what I am going to do it pick the name and then say 'this is the name'. There will be no discussion or anything as the decision will be made.
Elmofan
19-11-2007, 10:40 PM
you can still call bub Noah just dont say anything more to the family untill after bub is born no one makes fun of innocent cute new born babies names after seeing them for the first time :)
Noah's Mum
20-11-2007, 06:09 AM
NZMEL - He sure is, i'm the favourite but i think thats because i was the first grandchild... He actually spoke to my grandma and said he wanted to help us out money wise and she said "we can't if we give one money we need to give the others money" grandad wasn't impressed and said "i don't think so this is the only way we will have great grandchildren with Kristy" so he started saving on his own, god love him..
SSU - For some reason i still can't call him Noah just yet i don't know why??? I love both of those names, we had Jack picked out years ago but my sister named my nephew Jack...
sparkleymum
20-11-2007, 07:11 AM
OK, we had no idea the other day on names but we chatted for ages about ti last night and we finally have a name.....................
Myles Thomas
Myles (pronounced miles) is a family name on my granda's side (mums dad)
Thomas is my other grandas name, he passed away a few years ago, our wedding was his last night day out.
I know Myles is very different and very old name but I think it will make him different, I dont think there will be any other kids with the same name hahaha
Noah's Mum
20-11-2007, 07:23 AM
Myles Thomas is a lovely name!
Elmofan
20-11-2007, 07:30 AM
:yelclap: Myles Thomas is a great name
sparkleymum
20-11-2007, 07:39 AM
Ah thanks girls. Its not a name I have ever heard here in Australia, I hope he wont get teased in school :fingerscrossed:
I was thinking it has to be a name you can call a man, like there are so many cute names but you have to imagine a man called those names. He might want to be a doctor like his daddy and Myles is a nice porfessional name, or as I said to DH last night, if he is a dog walker he can put 'Myles can walk your pooch for miles' on his poster hahahaha
Noah_and_Elijah
20-11-2007, 08:10 AM
Cora - We have decided on Thomas for a boy. :)
Thomas Andrew (middle name is my Dad's name as Noah's middle name is also a family name) :yes:
We did originally have Elijah... Well I did but my DF hated it. :p
Noah_and_Elijah
20-11-2007, 08:13 AM
As for a boy name we are thinking of: FRANCIS (it sounds nicer in French)
This is my DF's name. :D
Noah's Mum
20-11-2007, 08:18 AM
sparkley - I like the dog walker business name... Myles doesn't sound like a name he could get teased over. DH and i had that converstion the other day about names as babies and men. He thinks his is going to be weird when he is older as he doesn't know any old men with his name
Noahsmum - Thats a nice name...
sparkleymum
20-11-2007, 08:57 AM
What is the name he thinks will be wierd when he is older?
See we are in the generation of new names like Brayden and Jayden etc, those are names that didn't exist when we were babies so there are no older people with those names, but when our babies grow up there will be loads cause they are very popular names. So you wouldn't get teased for popular names like that. People now take a name they kindof like and add different letters to make it different and thats really fashionable now, so there are lots of new names that have never been heard before.
I think girls are easier to name as you can pick cutsie names and strange and wierd ones and they are really quirky and special, but you just cant do that for a boy. I really found it much harder naming a boy.
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
20-11-2007, 09:10 AM
Oh girls i love all your names...they are just perfect !!!!
I really really want a boy cause i love our name so much and it means so much to us as a family.....But hey i love our girls name too but it just doesnt have the really deep family connection of our boys name.
Noah_and_Elijah
20-11-2007, 09:13 AM
Kristi - I know what you mean, both of our boys names have family connections and our girls doesn't.. at all. I still love it though. :D
sparkleymum
20-11-2007, 09:20 AM
Noah and William, were very high on my list for boys, we acutally thought of those names for aimee, before we knew she was a girl.
Kristi what are your boys names again?
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
20-11-2007, 09:22 AM
Noahsmama...:D So glad i am not the only one...
Our Boys name is Charlie BJ...Charlie after my most special grandpa charles who has passed away, B stands for Ben my brother who passed away and J for John is my Dh,my dad, DH's dad and my others grandpas first or middle name.
Girls is Bridget Rose..Bridget cause that just what we like and Rose after my mum Rosemary.
sparkleymum
20-11-2007, 09:30 AM
Kristi, I 100% totally LOVE those names. I really mean that, I think they are lovely
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
20-11-2007, 09:34 AM
:D Thank you Sparkelymum :hugs:...thats so lovely of you :)
melaniec
20-11-2007, 10:57 AM
Cora - I went to primary school with a Miles... I really like it too and it was on my short list, but for the same reasons as you I wasnt sure...
Speaking of names, Cora isnt a very popular name and it is my grandmothers name. Do you know anyone else with the same name as you?
sparkleymum
20-11-2007, 01:33 PM
No I don't know anyone else with my name. I have met a girl who worked in a shop in St.Thomas (virgin islands) and one or two phillipino ladies but thats it.
Shonny82
20-11-2007, 05:06 PM
Well I think all of the names you guys have picked are awesome!! It is so hard to pick. I really really love Ethan, but my father-in-law hates it and he said he won't call his grandson that even if its on his birth certificate:(. As for Noah I think that is a really good name!!! If we have a girl, we are going to call her Haylee Neveah (which is heaven spelt backwards), so it is just finding a boy's name now...
Noah's Mum
21-11-2007, 06:29 AM
Sparkley - DH name is Josh... Yeah i like the different spelling of names, my 3 girlfriends all have different names for there DD's names i hadn't heard of before, Tahlee, Luka and Kiarni. I found it harder coming up with boys names as we couldn't agree on one so we started going through our friends names and middle names Noah came from a friends middle name, i didn't like it at first but it has sure grown on me.
Middle names for either girl or boy was after a family member. If and when we have a girl her middle name will be Peace after DH grandma..
Kristi - I love both your names... I think it means that little bit more when you use a middle name that is after a family member
sparkleymum
21-11-2007, 08:09 AM
Kristy, your DH's mum was ahead of her time calling him Josh. I dont know any adults called Josh but lots of kids are called Josh, it a popular name now. There are some hollywood people called Joshua like Joshua Jackson and emm.....ohh poo, I have forgotten now. I think its a great name, noone would think anything of it now as it is a popular name now.
Noah's Mum
21-11-2007, 08:30 AM
Sparkley - Yeah i know i can't believe how popular it is these days. I just can't imagine him being poppy josh... my nephew who is 4 in 2 weeks calls him Joshua he won't call him Josh at all :laughing:
reneem
22-11-2007, 02:30 PM
DH & I are 100% on the boys name Lawson Patrick (Patrick is FIL's name) but are still tossing up on a girls name Eden May or Emmason May (May is my Nan's middle name).
Everyone seems to have picked really beautiful names, so I'd like any advice on the girls name will be appreciated.
miloand4
27-11-2007, 10:09 AM
Just found out i am having a girl so that will be two of each am very excited!! We both like eliza for a girl but are still looking at other names and for a middle name we are having an initial only like M Just for something different :) I grew up with a really unusual name Marlo and I love having something a bit different
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.