View Full Version : Breast pads?

aprilbaby
24-02-2006, 11:20
Hi bubhubbers,

With 8 weeks to go til the birth of my first bub I am now thinking about all things breastfeeding and need some advice.

I have discovered you can use disposable or re-usable breast pads and I was wondering if anyone has any reccomendation on which is better and why?

Also, are there any brands that are better or is it a matter of what ever is cheaper?

Any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks!:)

veve
24-02-2006, 11:57
A few things :) I"ve tried all disposable ones on the market!

I have heard some comments by other mummies - that the re-useable ones in the shops are OK.. but not the best ... I have heard them RAVE about the re-useable ones made by SAHMs - made of hemp etc (and I can vouch that hemp is REALLY absorbant as it works in Jack's nappies) - I am going to invest in some home made ones next week!! :yelclap:

** It DOES depend on your own 'flow' one of my friends has to change her breastpads several times a day - I rarely do unless running REALLY late for a feed... (TMI??? :o )

the disposable ones - even a pack of 32 doesn't last long (for me anyway) - as I change pads morning and night ... I use 4 a day ... which means that 32 only lasts 8 days (is my math right?? ) ... I HATE going through a box that fast!!!! :mad: considering that each box is about $6- 8 for that many...

PLUS some of them are individually wrapped... so I hated using that much plastic too..

the NUK ones I quite liked... they have sticky bits on the back to hold them in place (ALWAYS check that... not all pads do!) and they aren't wrapped... the NUK ones in the hexagon shaped box have a free little cloth bag with them at the moment... so if you need to carry pads with you ... you can use that instead of having to use plastic wrapping..

I found no problem with the home brand ones (woolies) - but again I dont fill them... if your flow was different they may be 'cheaper' ?? but again they are individually wrapped...

(phew) is that a long enough post!!!

Sorry if I sound to 'environmental!' - but after a few weeks I noticed how much stuff I was throwing out!!! the bathroom bin was overflowing!!

hope all that raving helps you!!!

tickle
24-02-2006, 12:00
I've found the pidgeon disposibles great. I went through HEAPS with O and decided to try the washable variety from the chemist and they did nothing!
I am going to get some hemp ones that veve is talking about for this time around as I have also heard fantastic things about them.
Good luck!:)

cosmic
24-02-2006, 12:21
My sister who has breastfed two babies was just informing me that the Riteaid brand of breastpads are the best value in her opinion, but you must get the box of 40 not the box of 50 apparently.

She tried the washable ones and thought they were crap but she wouldn't have been using hemp ones by WAHMs. I'm sure they'd be great. :)

wattle
24-02-2006, 12:25
I tried all of them and found Homebrand ones the best. Yay, great for the budget too. I was a heavy leaker too, but they all soak up about the same.

I'd suggest buying a few different brands now and wearing them around. Some tended to make my skin itch quite a lot, but you don't know until you've worn them for a while. Better to test them before you have to worry about feeding too.

Baby Girl
24-02-2006, 12:47
I used j&j both times and had no probs with them at all. I never wore a bra or breastpads to bed so only used 2 a day unless I was having a particularly heavy day and I might have had to change them once - once I had been bf for about 2 weeks and my milk started to settle down I very (very very) rarely had to use more than 2 a day. I think they are about $7 for a box of 28 from memory. They are not individually wrappd and are covered in a cotton type cover so don't stick you or anything like that and they have a waterproof backing (the bit that goes against your shirt/bra). I didn't know they made reuseable ones but probably wouldn't use them anyway - too fiddly to wash all the time :thumbsdown:

24-02-2006, 12:50
I personally preferred the disposable ones in the first 6 weeks then I changed to washable ones (at 6 weeks my milk was more ummmm sorted itself out flow wise etc)!

Rahmi'sMum
24-02-2006, 13:01
After trying most of the disposables, and having very big leaking issues, Rite Aid have been almost as good as pigeon. I would highly recommend them (and they come in boxes of 40).

Smurfette
24-02-2006, 13:27
I found homebrand dis ( safeway) the best, other homebrand one I found itched.
In the end, because my flow was relatively light, I cut panty liners in half and used them. They are a lot softer, better value for money, stick to your bra and you cant see them as much through clothing.

If you try this and you are a heavy leaker, I suggest not cutting in half as you may leak where it has been cut. Still better value for money

24-02-2006, 13:30
Livia that is a pretty good idea!

Funkychicken
24-02-2006, 13:32
As I leaked during pregnancy I had to use pads but the cloth ones were fine. Then my milk came in! Whoa there was so much leaking going on and the cloth ones did nothing. The only ones that I found to work without being concerned about leaking through are the Pigeon disposables. I get a box of 50 for $16.00 at My Chemist. The prices vary heaps between shops so shop around.
At night I don't bother with a bra, just keep a cloth nappy nearby and wrap my boob in it when feeding. I don't seem to have night leakage any more except when feeding and my milk lets down.

Funkychicken
24-02-2006, 13:33
I've found the pidgeon disposibles great. I went through HEAPS with O and decided to try the washable variety from the chemist and they did nothing!
I am going to get some hemp ones that veve is talking about for this time around as I have also heard fantastic things about them.
Good luck!:)
Where do you get these hemp ones? Will definately have a try of these.

24-02-2006, 13:34
alot of the wahm's that make nappies also do the breast pads. Ebay has them from time to time too!

veve
24-02-2006, 13:44
for hemp ones -do a google search - there are lots of SAHMs who run websites selling fitted cloth nappies... pads for women... hemp breast pads... nappy covers for terries... and nappy bags :)

if you have any troubles just PM me - I'm happy to check out and recommend a few ( I tend to support brissie SAHMs more though :D)

aprilbaby
24-02-2006, 14:37
Thanks so much for all the replies. Don't you love bubhub, it's such a great way of finding stuff out!

draught
24-02-2006, 14:58
My 2 cents worth - I tried a lot of disposables and found not much difference between J&J, homebrand, etc - I went through about 4 sets a day and another one or two overnight. I also tried washables but found that they acted as a funnel to direct the leaking in a direct line down my shirt (they weren't the hemp ones though). Then I found pigeon and never looked back. I only needed one set a day, never leaked anymore and the line under my t-shirts wasn't as bulky. Although they were more expensive per pack (although they are often on sale at Woollies etc) they were cheaper for me as I was using less per day. If you are a leaker like I was (for about 8 months) then in the disposable range I would only recommend Pigeon.

jarrahsmumma
24-02-2006, 15:01
Wool! They are the best ones!

addictedtobabe
24-02-2006, 15:05
I went out and bought boxes of disposables, pigeon brand...however I did not need to use them as never leaked. So after 4 months gave them away...then when stopping breast feeding I had to go out and buy some again! Perhaps buy a small box until you see if you need them!

BTW it was the same with maternity sanitary pads - I bought lots of packs but once out of hospital regular pads were fine...cheqper and less bulky!

Callumsmum
24-02-2006, 15:17
I was a heavy leaker (sorry, tmi!) and would recommend pigeon for first up till you know what your 'flow' is like. It's also good to have something really soft and that you feel comfortable changing very regularly at first when you are prone to grazing, thrush and other nasties.

I would also recommend getting a comfortable top that has a bito f bra support that you could fit breast pads in, just in case you are a night leaker. I used to wake up soaked and wearing a bra was uncomfortable. Besides, I only have a few and I needed them during the day!

I bought a few reusable ones which I use at night now - yes I'm still a night leaker, even after 6 months!

Best of luck,
Katrina

Funkychicken
24-02-2006, 18:13
Yay- I have just visited ebay and bought some hemp breastpads. 3 pairs at $4.00 a pair. I'll get back with a result on how they are when I've got them and given them a whirl.:yelclap:

24-02-2006, 18:17
Yes let us know how you find them!

Funkychicken
02-03-2006, 19:41
Well, they are here! My hemp breast pads arrived in the mail this morning. I have worn them all day, fed about 5 times and no leaks. So far so good. The other synthetic/cotton pads I have used have always soaked through so this is a huge improvement on cloth breast pads. According to the info that came with them, they need about 9-10 washes to fulfill their maximum absorbancy so I guess they can only improve. Anyone who is interested in buying some, I got them on ebay for $4.00/pair (but it now price)the ebay shop is Nappy-Chappies. If you search for breast pads it will show up. Highly reccomend!:smiliedance:

veve
02-03-2006, 20:20
oooh ebay... I was looking for more on there!!! you probably out bid me!!! :p

I own a few hemp pairs now and love them... SOOO much better than the disposables!!! no more plastic!!! yay!!!

if there is anyone in brissie looking for some I know a SAHM who makes them... I can pick them up and bring them one (bubhub brissie) dinner (no postage charges then :) )

Funkychicken
02-03-2006, 20:46
oooh ebay... I was looking for more on there!!! you probably out bid me!!! :p

I own a few hemp pairs now and love them... SOOO much better than the disposables!!! no more plastic!!! yay!!!

if there is anyone in brissie looking for some I know a SAHM who makes them... I can pick them up and bring them one (bubhub brissie) dinner (no postage charges then :) )

Hi veve,
I'm sure the ebay shop that I got them from had more as they were all Buy It Now-no auction. Check them out.

tickle
02-03-2006, 20:55

So glad to hear of your success!
I would lurve some if possible.
I'm hoping to make it to the March dinner, will let you know.:thumbsup:

Charlie
02-03-2006, 21:06
I only wear 2 a day... don't leak really during the day...only at night..I use swisspers.. :yelclap: