View Full Version : Starting solids !
OKay so I Kaid will be starting solids in 3 weeks but about 2 months ago he had a bit of rice cereal....
Anyways what food do I start off with baby cereal then what?
Thanks In Advance :D
KapowSchazam
18-10-2007, 17:48
I did rice cereal mixed with either pumpkin or sweet potato, then increased the ratio of pumpkin to cereal each week till all pumpkin, then added in say peas, potato, carrots, etc separately and in different combos, then fruits once vegies were established.
Have fun!!! :D
Lollie86
18-10-2007, 18:00
I started DD on mashed vegies and fruit. Pumpkin, green beans, broccoli, apples and pears etc...
Mixing them with some rice cereal helps at first and make sure he gets some water in between.
18-10-2007, 18:06
Oh exciting times!!
I started my girls out on farex firstly then started mixing fruit in with it which they loved. Then I started using the bottle food because I was scared of making my own in the beggining but soon got over that and started making pumpkin and mashed veges! :thumbsup:
ButterflyMama
18-10-2007, 18:14
We started Sno on pears. Then apples. Now she has had asparagus, avocado, banana, zucchini, squash, rock melon, watermelon, peas with mint, carrots and yogurt. All home made, the best way there is. Tomorrow we'll try sweet potato. She loves it all! :)
Lollie86
18-10-2007, 18:44
Tomorrow we'll try sweet potato. She loves it all! :)
Just be careful with the sweet potato...i found it made my dd constipated.
Another question ladies, If he acts like he is not ready for it can I just wait a while before I start him on it or do they have to be introduced solids at 6 months?
KapowSchazam
18-10-2007, 18:53
Personally, I'd wait till he's ready, otherwise you're just going to end up upsetting him by trying to force it and he may end up refusing them altogether cos he associates it with being upset. Each time he refuses, wait another few days and try again. Also, he may just not like the taste - try mixing a little pureed apple with the cereal and either EBM or boiled water :thumbsup:
Tam-I-Am
18-10-2007, 19:01
You can absolutely wait until he's ready - 6 months is an indicator only.
I'd try him on farax mixed with breastmilk first, so it tastes familiar even if the texture's a bit different... Then go from there. Its often recommended that you try savory foods first rather than sweet, because little bubs often get a taste for sweet food and then refuse savory.
After farax, we introduced pumpkin, potato, broccoli, peas etc, and then after a bit apple, pear etc. Avocado's also a good first food - and you don't need to cook it, just mash it.
HTH :)
I tried my DS at about 6 months and he clearly wasn't ready. He would spit the food out or just open his mouth and tip his head so it would fall out. I left it for a week, tried again and he still wasn't ready. He also used to screw his face up like I was feeding him lemons.
I never forced him, just kept offering. That's why the farex is good, it's quick and easy to prepare if you end up having to chuck it out if he's not ready.
Eventually he started to enjoy it about 7.5 months. I started off with farex, pumpkin, sweet potato, carrot, apple and pear and avocado and banana mushed together.
I started giving him one solid feed a day at about 11am for a week or so, then another solid at about 3pm for a week. He was soon having brekky (7am), lunch(11.30am) and dinner(5.30pm). He also has some finger food now for morning/arvo tea.
Good Luck with it all, it's a whole new world...:)
Most babies start out on farex and then you can try pears and pumpkin and other exciting things.
http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/solids/index.html
is a website that will be right up your alley I reckon.
And remember, food is just for fun till bubs is one, so milk first and go slow on the solids.
Have fun! wait till you see what happens in the nappies, LMAO
Thanks ladies, I just worry that he is such a boob boy he won't take it lol! So I will just offer it to him and then just see how he goes... Thanks again for all your help, greatly appreciated :D
Most babies start out on farex and then you can try pears and pumpkin and other exciting things.
http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/solids/index.html
is a website that will be right up your alley I reckon.
And remember, food is just for fun till bubs is one, so milk first and go slow on the solids.
Have fun! wait till you see what happens in the nappies, LMAO
OMG I DONT WANT TO THINK ABOUT IT!!!
:barf:
Cant he just be on boob and only boob forever lol or at least till he is toilet trained??? :laughing:
jacks mum
18-10-2007, 19:46
I waited until Jack was 6 months and was going to wait until then for Max too but he seems to want it now. So I do farex in the evening and he loves it. I was told with Jack to start on pumpin then potato etc because at least it's all natural and not processed like farex. Each to their own. Good luck and have fun.
Sheer Bliss
18-10-2007, 20:06
As you know - we started Nick on farex last week, and it has done terrible things to his sleeping habits, so we stopped. spoke to dr today (he had his 6month needles, so thought i'd ask while there) He thinks it could be a co-incidence, so to give it a few more days, then try some pear or apple - just something different. There is no need to rush it, esp as he is such a healthy boy - he is getting all he needs from the boob.
A friends bub had issues with his swallowing muscles not working properly from birth, so was tube fed for his first 12 months. Didn't start any solids until shortly after 12months - as he couldn't swallow them. He was perfectly healthy (and a chubster!) - so booby juice or formula falone or the first 12 months can be fine. As Tam-I-am said - it's more about fun, taste & texture rather than the volumes.
HollyHotLips
19-10-2007, 11:02
Avocado's also a good first food - and you don't need to cook it, just mash it.
Thanks for that, I was just going to post asking when bubs can have avocado. :thumbsup: