View Full Version : WAY TMI but opinions needed

Grizabella
15-10-2007, 11:30
OK here is a quick background. I am not a domesticated person. I can be untidy, but not a slob, and I HATE cleaning! I only do what is necessary - I leave the anal retentive cleaning to Stu :laughing: He is the compulsive one!

Anyways - today I woke up early and in a GOOD MOOD (not normal!) and after getting Brion ready for brekky and daycare, have since swept and mopped the kitchen dining laundry and both bathrooms. Cleaned both showers and bath, tidied my desk, and for some insane reason washed the verticals.

I was a bit naughty and used bleach and exit mould and a cple other cleaners. Since using them I have (this is the TMI part) had the runs.

Now - I am having mild niggles (was due yesterday) but have had prelabour since 37 weeks. However a friend of mine thinks that the upset stomach is labour related not cleaning product related.

So the question I am asking is: Did using cleaning agents when pregnant give you an upset tummy?? Or do you think this is a precursor to labour?

15-10-2007, 11:33
Sounds to me you may be starting labour ;)

BreakfastatTiffanys
15-10-2007, 11:36
It sounds like you are nesting, and in the beginning of labour:) Good luck and :hugs: for you.

FunkyMonkey
15-10-2007, 11:38
Sounds like nesting (ie the cleaning spree) and pre-labour (the unhappy tummy)
AFAIK the body performs a 'clean out' before labour proper so it can concentrate at the task at hand.
Just don't over do things, if you must clean do it slowly and take it easy. No mowing the lawn!

Grizabella
15-10-2007, 11:41
We don't have a mower ROFL :laughing: But I did sweep the patio and de-slug the dog's area (they try to eat her food) :laughing:

I hope this is the start of labour! Was over this pregnancy at around 11 weeks!

HunterzMummy
15-10-2007, 11:42
HAHAHAH ohh this sounds so familiar.. i had a MASSIVE cleaning spree which bought on my labour hehe good luck hun:hugs:

daisy4300
15-10-2007, 11:48
yep i have to agree with the other ladies, sounds like beginning of labour to me. Don't wear yourself out to much cleaning lol :)

Fuchsia!
15-10-2007, 11:50
It sounds like you are nesting, and in the beginning of labour Good luck and :hugs: for you.

:yes::yes::yes:! Looks you are nesting!!!:laughing: I doubt it would be the cleaning products! :fingerscrossed: good luck!

2 Cherubs
15-10-2007, 11:53
Hehe, Told ya :p

Grizabella
15-10-2007, 11:54
Oh shoosh you! Hate it when you are right! (This is the friend I mentioned in the OP - SMARTARSE!) :laughing:

15-10-2007, 11:56
I started nesting with DD2 from 22 weeks gestation and used chemicals (yes shame on me :shame: ) all the time, the bleach smell was my craving :o No I didn't drink it haha. Anyway, I never got the runs from using strong chemicals.

Sounds to me like things are kicking into gear to get you having this baby. Keep yourself active, clean clean clean or go for a walk.

Best of luck Jude :smiliedance:

Myztik
15-10-2007, 11:58
:fingerscrossed: it all starts happening for you soon!!

SassyMummy
15-10-2007, 11:59
I hate cleaning too... more than anything.

Just then I was cleaning hte shower with bleach... and had to leave the room because I felt like I was going to pass out from the stench.

You're pregnant though, so I'm sure it must be different for you than me...

punkbaby
15-10-2007, 11:59
Hope its something happening for you :) fingers crossed, good luck

Grizabella
15-10-2007, 12:09
Here's hoping! Am going to the shops for a waddle with a cple friends. Might do the trick!

Angelmist♥
15-10-2007, 12:10
:smiliedance: sounds like the start of labour to me!

~*clairesmum*~
15-10-2007, 12:13
sounds like ur nesting to me, so i could be he start of labour if u were due yesterday :fingerscrossed: that this is the start n u will be holding bub soonish :smiliedance:

Roxy
15-10-2007, 12:25
I agree - the runs sounds like your body getting ready for a labour, not from the chemicals!

I had the runs during the day of the night I went into labour with DD, an I had also woken that morning feeling better than I had in weeks! I took our BIG dog to obedience classes - stood with him out in the middle of a paddock for the 1+hrs his class took, drove the 30mins there and back and felt wonderful.

:fingerscrossed: your labour starts soon!

15-10-2007, 12:27
:fingerscrossed:
I'd perhaps have something nice and nutritious to eat too and a nice nap later on just incase ;)

westerner
15-10-2007, 12:30
Oohh i hope this is it Jude.. :smiliedance:
Told you id let you have the honor and i wouldnt go before you.. :p

Go the walk.. :thumbsup: Ive just got home from walking 3.5km.. now im :sleeping: and gonna have a nap..

proud_mama
15-10-2007, 14:12
I hope this is it for you :fingerscrossed:

I have been prelabouring for 2 weeks now (ie the runs) and have been nesting since then too but still no luck for me :(

Sending labour vibes your way and all the best :babydust2:

DJWebb
15-10-2007, 15:16
I use cleaning product regularly through all my pregnancies! Never gives me any trouble. I would say just the physical part of cleaning is maybe getting things moving for you! And the runs is porobably a sign that your body is getting ready for labor. not long now!

Grizabella
15-10-2007, 18:00
Well I have been at the shops since lunchtime,walking heaps, and have been having mild contractions the whole time. Some of them more vicious tightenings and not as painful as others. Kinda regular - haven't been timing them. But my mate reckons she could see my belly dropping and going tight each time! So who knows! Might be it after all.

If not nevermind! Least I have clean verticals! :laughing:

punkbaby
15-10-2007, 21:19
Hows things anything happening yet? sounds like its starting though :) good luck

Grizabella
16-10-2007, 00:23
Nah more of the same - no progress I don't think. I have an antenatal appt tomorrow and another S&S. So see if that does the trick and gets things moving a little faster!

punkbaby
16-10-2007, 08:40
Ohh fingers crossed!! Sounds like your babies playing games like mine, i aint getting excited now till the pain makes me scream LOL

Good luck hopefully the s & s gets things moving for you :)

BoyCrazy
16-10-2007, 10:17
Good luck to all of you gorgeous beautiful pregnant mummas!!!

hope your births are exactly what you hoped for!!

best of luck, & cherish your little bubbas!!

xxx mel

Grizabella
16-10-2007, 15:09
Well decided not to get a S&S today. Didn't feel like anything invasive today - wasn't in the mood for it. I have just come to peace with the fact he will show up when he is ready - but he only has til next Mon to do it his way. Then I will do it mine (induction) :laughing:

Same as yesterday - pains are still coming, but havent increased or gotten closer together.