View Full Version : New Mum's Group

Rosie
02-09-2004, 15:07

This is a first for me, so hope I get it right! My name is Kerri, I have a lovely husband and a gorgeous 10mth old baby girl. I am interested in getting a mum's group together to meet every 1-2 weeks at each other's house or nearby parks. It would be pretty informal, just to get the kids together and for mums to make some new friends and chat about babies, life etc I would love to hear from other first time mums with babies of similar ages but please don't let that deter you from replying as I am open to any and all people. I live in Aspley, Brisbane but would be willing to travel around Brissie as well. Looking forward to hearing from you. Cheerio.

gymmum
02-09-2004, 15:11
I have just moved to Corinda, but would think about travelling too. Your idea sounds wonderful. Also look at my post that I will be doing soon about a fundraiser I am having.

Gemma
03-09-2004, 10:13
I'd go too.

Beck
03-09-2004, 11:48
I'll go too :)

Lachlan's Mum
03-09-2004, 16:59

I live in Aspley too and I think it is a great idea!

Melanie - and baby Lachlan 3 1/2 mths :)

mummymel
03-09-2004, 19:11
I live in Murarrie, I dont mind travelling so count me in too please. :)

Melissa (mel) and Cody 4.5 Luke 3.5 TTC no 3 (hopefully a girl)

Rosie
04-09-2004, 09:48
:cool: Hello everyone

Thanks for all your responses - it's good to know that there are other mummy's that want to meet up. Well, just from emailing a few of you, it sounds like next Friday is going to be most suitable, especially for you Gemma & Beck. Hopefully MummyMel this would suit you too? I have a friend who lives over your way or thereabouts and so it would be no problem to travel over to you either. :D

Everyone is welcome to come over to mine at Aspley, maybe around 10.30-11.00am, will email my address privately. Talk soon. Kerri :)

Beck
04-09-2004, 15:24
See Ya On Friday Kerri and anyone else whos's going,
I think its a great idea Kerri.

mummymel
04-09-2004, 18:06
Hi Kerrie
Friday is great, I am child free as well. so count me in definately.
My email is kphi7138@bigpond.net.au thanks and look forward to meeting you then.

Gemma
04-09-2004, 22:36
See you all there

Lachlan's Mum
05-09-2004, 08:03

unfortunately I will be in Melbourne this coming friday - but would love to be involved next time - so please keep up the posts about it! :)

Rosie
05-09-2004, 10:42

Wow, can't wait to meet you all. All the bubs are just going to love it as well. Have fun in Melbourne Melanie (Lachlan's mum) and we'll see you next time :), don't spend too much money at all the clothes shops!
Hope you are all having a fun Father's Day. See you around 10.30 or so on Friday.

mummymel
07-09-2004, 18:45
Hi Kerri,
Looking forward to Friday however does it matter I am child free that day?? :confused: . Should we bring a plate for morning tea.

Mel :)

breebreesmum
07-09-2004, 19:18
Hi Kerri.

This mums group sounds like a good idea. I live in Aspley as well. My little girl, Breanna, is 17mths old and loves to meet new kids. I have something else on on Friday, but please keep me informed.

Sue

Rosie
08-09-2004, 07:32
Howdy

No, it doesn't matter at all that you will be childfree on Friday Mel, just come and enjoy yourself! Also, don't worry about bringing anything, I will have some cookies and I think Beck is going to bring a cake to have with a cuppa. Really looking forward to meeting everyone. :)
And to Sue(Breanna's mummy), just keep watching this thread and we'll let you know when/where we are going to meet up next. :cool:

Eleni's Mum
08-09-2004, 15:09
Hiya,

I'm new to this site and stumbled onto your posting. I've only been in Queensland a few months from NSW and don't know a lot of people. We moved up just after my little girl was born. My husband got a great new job offer. I'd love to join your group - can you send me the details. :)

Rosie
08-09-2004, 18:05
Hi Eleni's Mum
Welcome to Queensland! You are very welcome to come join us & meet up. This Friday is the first time we are meeting. My place is at Aspley (which is where we are getting together this Friday at 10.30-11.00), is this anywhere near you? We'd be meeting at each other's houses and take turns. I will send you my address to your private mail here on the forum. Where abouts in NSW have you moved up from? My husband and I (and baby) moved back here to Brisbane from Wagga about 6mths ago, so Georgia was born down there. How old is your bub/children?

Eleni's Mum
09-09-2004, 08:36
Hi Rosie,

I don't think Aspley is too far, I'd need to check the directory. I'm lucky as I get car access because my hubby catches the ferry.
We moved up from the Central Coast 4 months ago when Eleni was 6 days old! She's my only one at the moment but my hubby is already saying we can't just have one! It's all right for him he wasn't sick for 9 months. :rolleyes:
Hopefully I can make it tomorrow. Eleni still dictates when I get out and about otherwise I'll keep watching for future gatherings. :)

Jenni

Beck
09-09-2004, 13:21
Hi Jenni,
How are you?? Im Beck and I have a 13 month old daughter named Sharni. I hope you can make it tomorrow looking forward to meet you and Eleni. I hope you like it here in Queensland.

Beck

And Kerri im still bring a cake tomorrow .

Eleni's Mum
09-09-2004, 14:29
Hi Beck,

I'm looking forward to it but am feeling a little daunted. I'm not so good at meeting people, my husband calls me an introvert/extrovert. I'm fine once I know people but often making the first contact almost makes me ill. :o

Rosie don't forget to send me your address.

I lok forward to meeting you all tomorrow. :)

Jenni

Rosie
10-09-2004, 08:52
Hi Jenni

I just sent you a private message with my address for mums group- really sorry thought I had already done it. Hope it isn't too late, as it would be nice to see you. :) But otherwise give me a call.

Beck
10-09-2004, 13:19
Hello everyone,
Playgroup at Kerri's was great, what a shame noone else turned up, oh well maybe next week, its going to be at my place on Friday, if u are interested private message me and I will give you my address.

Thanks again Kerri.

Beck

Rosie
10-09-2004, 14:32
Thanks Beck. It was really nice to meet you and Sharni - you are both lovely. I will look forward to next week's get together, as will Georgia. :D I'm really sorry Jenni if I emailed you my address too late, didn't mean to stuff you around and if Eleni was being too much of a little ratbag (meant in a totally nice way) then we'll look forward to meeting you at Beck's house maybe? And all the other mums too! Talk to you all soon :D

Eleni's Mum
11-09-2004, 13:45

Your address did get to my a little late but by that stage I had decided to take Eleni to the GP. She's got a mucky eye and I wanted it checked out. No major problems though.

I'd like to join the group this Friday if you can send me the details that will be great.

I'm currently hiding in the computer. My hubby is attempting to be handy!! Asking my opinion but not really wanting. Making a simple project really complicated. I'm afraid God gave him a huge dose of brains but a small dose of practical skills. ;)

Jenni

Rosie
11-09-2004, 18:19
Well, isn't that always the way with men? My dh is fantastic at lateral thinking on very complicated things but when it comes to basic things it makes me wonder sometimes :confused: And his domestic blindness never ceases to amaze and exasperate me! He can never find anything even when I have told him exactly where it is. Anyway, hope Eleni's eye is OK and I will email Beck right now to tell her you are interested in next week, so stay tuned. I'm not sure if it is going to be on Friday or not? but we'll get it sorted. :) Talk to you soon.

Lachlan's Mum
12-09-2004, 09:01
sounds like the get together went well...looking forward to next time as I am dissapointed I did not make it!! :( Please keep me posted!

Lachlan's Mum
12-09-2004, 09:04
Beck - just tried to private message you re the next get together....apparently you need to clear some space as your "inbox" is full...anyway would love to come this week so please send me the details once finalised - ta Melanie (Lachlan's Mum) :)

Beck
12-09-2004, 13:09
Hi Melanie,
Sorry I didnt realise my email was so full I just cleared it then. I dont really care what time, im easy. what ever time is easy for everyone as im home all day, so if any suggestions about what time that would be good and is Friday good for everyone??

Ps Gemma I know how hard it is when your baby isnt sleeping very wel. and how busy life can be sometimes, so when ever you can make it thats fine.

Love Beck.l

Gemma
12-09-2004, 17:35
Thanks Beck

Guys I won't be able to make Friday DH has booked the car in for a service which 'apparently' can't be done on the w-end :rolleyes:

So can't be Friday for me, maybe next time (or maybe we could change day???)

Let me know

Gemma.

Eleni's Mum
13-09-2004, 18:14

Do we have any updated info on our next gathering? Where, when etc.

J

Rosie
13-09-2004, 18:39
Hi Jenni

How are you and Eleni? I tried to contact Beck today with no luck,as she is going to have it at her house this week. Friday for me is a no go as dh needs the car. What day is best day of the week for you to get together every week? I tried to set up MSN Messenger today - I think I have done it right :confused: Do you have this? Maybe we could all start getting each week organised through this or just choose one day to meet every week. Otherwise, I will try to catch Beck tomorrow (think she has a playgroup in morning) and will post again tomorrow. Thursday this week is the only day that I will have the car. Then dh wants car Mon & Fri's for work. Will talk to you tomorrow.

Beck where are you?

Lachlan's Mum
13-09-2004, 18:44

I'm fairly flexible re which day and time this week....on Friday Lachlan is to have some vaccinations in the am :eek: :( so arvo would suit me better.....which is usually Lachlan's gross time :o so you'll all get a great first impression!! :rolleyes: Let me know!!

Melanie

Beck
13-09-2004, 21:21
Hi Eleni's mum its at my place on Friday at about 10:30 - 11:00 if thats cool with everyone else. I hope its not to far for you, I live in Kallangur which is on the northside.

Ps Gemma will you be able to make it any Fridays if not then next week we will have it on a different day??

Love Beck

Beck
13-09-2004, 21:24
Kerri, I got your phone message at 10:00pm, I will try ringing you tomorrow. R U still coming on Friday ??

Ps. Eleni's mum I forgot to say if you want to come on Friday just private message me and I will give you my address ok and thats to anyone else who wants to come.

Love Beck

Beck
13-09-2004, 21:42
Dear Melanie (lachlan's mum)

Hello, how are you?? I was just wondering if you got the email I sent you on Sunday night?? I havent had a reply thats all.

Love Beck

Lachlan's Mum
14-09-2004, 11:01
Hi Beck

I did send a reply last night - but will resend. as per my post above Lachlan has to have vaccinations on Friday morning (10.30) so I won't be able to make it at that time....maybe next time :(

Let me know if the time or day changes!

Beck
14-09-2004, 11:26
Hello everyone,
It seems that Friday is not good for anyone so what about Thursday, im easy cos Im home everyday.

Beck

Eleni's Mum
14-09-2004, 12:11

Thursday would be good for me I'm pretty flexible - I'm looking forward to it.

J :)

Lachlan's Mum
14-09-2004, 14:23
Sounds Great!!! :D See You All There! :)

Beck
16-09-2004, 12:27
Hello everyone??
The mother's group was great, thanks again Kerri and Melanie for coming. It was nice to meet you Melanie and to put a face to the name. I am looking forward to next week, where ever it is.

Love Beck...

Lachlan's Mum
17-09-2004, 17:18
Hi all...it was great to meet Beck and Kerri (Rosie) on Thursday...I'd love to meet some more of the Brissie mums...

I am happy to have this week's at my place in Aspley for anyone interested. Sounds from the posts that Thursday is a good day for most and perhaps stick to same time - 10.30/11.00.

Please private message me if you are interested! :)

Beck
17-09-2004, 20:24
Sounds good Melanie. I will private message you for you address.

Gemma
18-09-2004, 18:51
Hi Melanie,

I work on Wed and Thurs. Could we do a different day?

Lachlan's Mum
19-09-2004, 09:23
Hi All :)

I Am Not Too Fussed On Which Day.......as Per Gemma's Post, Thursday Does Not Suit Her......how Does Friday Sound For This Week.....please All Let Me Know :)

Gemma
19-09-2004, 15:41
should be good for me, grace has started eating again, and is her happy self. so count me in

Beck
20-09-2004, 11:36
Friday is better for me too.

Lachlan's Mum
20-09-2004, 14:01
Ok looks like it is Friday this week at my place in Aspley, 10.30/11.00 ish. So far Beck and Gemma, and probably Kerri - anyone else wanting to come please private message me.

Melanie.

Rosie
20-09-2004, 15:07
Yep - count me in! :D

Christine
21-09-2004, 19:59
Hello everyone,
I have been reading your messages and it sounds like your new group is going well - congratulations! I live at New Beith. "Where's that?" I can hear you all saying :) We are far southside of Brisbane, not far from Greenbank, just past Teviot Downs. Did you have anyone living on the southside who would like to get together. I would be happy to organise the first one, if needed. Monday or Friday are my best days. Tku.

Christine - mum to Luke 3yrs, and 15weeks pregnant with 2nd.

Rosie
23-09-2004, 15:08
Hi Christine

Just to reply to your post - we didn't have any one as far south as you. You are welcome to start coming to our meetings, although I guess it would be a bit of a hike for you! :eek: Only other thing is to put a new thread up to see if anyone is over your way? Otherwise I'll catch up with you on bubhub :D

Gemma
24-09-2004, 21:20

Well my story for today,

Grace has conjunctiveitis, so as you know that is why I wasn't there this am. I went to my GP and she did the once over as said Graces ear's and throat are still really red and her R)ear is badly infected...so she has to see an ENT paed spec. and will probably have to have her tonsils out and gromets put in :eek: .

Thank God for the conjunctivitis, otherwise I wouldn't have gone to the GP as she doesn't seem sick at all. No temps, no grottyness, happy child!

So I am not a happy mummy today. I just want to know how many china men I killed in a past life? I just want things to be quite for a while. I think I need a private island by myself...well maybe I could bear being with Johnny Depp!

Rosie
27-09-2004, 10:33
Hi all - well it was nice to catch up with Beck and Melanie last Friday at Melanie's house. We were really sorry you couldn't make it Gemma. Maybe some time very soon you can come along, you just concentrate on getting Grace healthy! I really hope her ears and throat are getting better or at least getting the tonsils out and gromets in will fix all the infections :) It seems like you have had a run of bad luck - it must be time for happy times to come, I'll be thinking of you and Grace anyway.
In the meantime, next get together is at my house this Friday, same time (10.30am or so), everyone is welcome, so hope to see you there :D If anyone doesn't have my address just email me and I'll send it. Bye for now.

Christine
27-09-2004, 14:28

Although I am a little bit away, I don't mind driving a bit. I also have a girlfriend who lives at Bridgeman Downs which is not far from Aspley. She doesn't have any kids yet, but is also pregnant with her first around 16 weeks. We are both due about 1 day apart, which is really exciting. Maybe I can do 2 things, visit her and your group. She might even want to join us, but can be a bit shy at first.

Can you please send your private email so I can contact you for your address. I am not sure about this week, as I am booked in for an amniocentisis on Wednesday. I will see how I feel after that, and might make a last minute decision.

Thanks also, as I received an email from someone on my side of town and I have just replied to her, so hopefully we can talk soon.

Talk to you all soon.

Eleni's Mum
27-09-2004, 18:15

Sorry I havn't been around for a while I have family visiting from NSW and have been trying to keep them amused. They will here until next so fingers crossed I can make the group next week. They have all descended as my dd gets baptised this weekend.

Gemma sorry to hear about your dd we went through the same thing 2 weeks ago but the GP thought it was only a blocked tear duct then he proceeded to tell me if it didn't get better she would need an op to clear - aaaggh.

Christine I'm on th the Southside - Annerley not quite as far but maybe we should meet.

Talk to you all again soon - here's hoping I survive the influx of family.

Gemma
27-09-2004, 21:40

thanks for the well wishes. We go to the GP on Friday so we will see if the ears have cleared up. My sister and I have decided to have a spontaneous trip to the coast this w-end...so the Dr's appt better go well because I really need a day away from this house!

Hope to see you all soon.

nix
28-09-2004, 00:35
my name is nicky. Just wondering if my son and I can come to your playgroup. I am 29 and my son is 81/2 months. We live in kallangur nth brisbane but are able to travel.
Could you send me some details of when and where your next meet will be thanx :)
look forward to meeting some mums and bubs
nicky

Lachlan's Mum
28-09-2004, 09:04
wow :D it seems like our group is growing bigger by the day...

Gemma hope all goes well with Grace and that we get to meet soon! :p

To everyone else, looking forward to meeting you all when you can make it.

To Nicky (nix) Beck (you'll see her posts in this thread) lives in Kallangar too! Maybe you should private message her for her address and catch up! :) And of course you are welcome to join the group!

Rosie
28-09-2004, 10:18
Hello everyone

It's nice to see we are getting some more interest in our group. :) It will be nice to meet the "regulars" as well as some new mums. It sounds like you are full on with family right now Jenni and I hope Eleni's christening goes well. Gemma, I hope you, Grace and your sister get to get away for the w/end - sounds like you need it and deserve it! Christine and Nicky - I have emailed you my address to your hotmail addresses, so hope to meet up with you. :D
Well, Georgia has just woken up from her nap and I have been on the computer the whole time and done nothing! oh well, that's life. :cool: See you all this week, if not at get together then here on the forum.

Wendy
28-09-2004, 12:35

I am totally enjoying this site and reading all the emails. It makes me feel normal. I cannot make your Friday Playgroup but if anyone is interested in a Monday get together, just let me know. I am a eager beaver. I am battling the terrible 2's at the moment and some days I think I may just go crazy. :eek: Talk soon.

Wendy & Tiffany (2 1/2 yrs)

Beck
28-09-2004, 13:35
Hello everyone,
I have been in bed for the past 3 days I was really sick with some kind of bug, but im feeling much better now. It seems there are a few more people interested in the group thats great to see. NICKY I also live in Kallangur. Well anyway it well be good to meet some more ladys on Friday, ok well I will talk to you all there.

Love Beck

Rosie
01-10-2004, 17:23
Hi All - it was nice to catch up with everyone today, I am really enjoying our get togethers and am looking forward to next week already! Does this mean I have no life? - no I think it is just that I think we have a good little group going and I really enjoy your company :D . Georgia was absolutely buggered out this afternoon and I think it is that she really likes the interaction with other bubs and having people over is interesting for her too! Well, dinner is burning, so better go. Will talk to you during week. Have a good w/end all. K and G

Christine
03-10-2004, 14:03

It is rather difficult for me to write this, as I have just had a miscarriage this week. I was booked in for an amnio on Wednesday, only to have the Dr tell us the bad news. I had to go back on Thursday to be induced and it finally happened on Friday morning. At 15 weeks, I had passed the 12 week mark, so it was obviously a shock to us. The reason for the amnio is rather complicated and best explained in person, so when I do make it to the group I will explain it all then if anyone wants to know. A bunch of tests have been ordered for me, the baby and the placenta, and we hope to have some answers in a few weeks time. Of course, we may never know, it may just be Mother Nature's way.

So of course, I am sorry to miss the meeting, I was looking forward to it. I hope I will feel okay this week to come along and I have Kerry's phone number too. Thanks for listening to me, and will talk to you all soon.

Christine :-((

Beck
03-10-2004, 16:07
Dear Christine,
I am so sorry to hear about your miscariage, I know how your feeling, I had a miscariage about 4 year ago and it really is sad, I suffered from Depressen for 2 years after I had the miscariage. I was 12 weeks. So many people say, you can alway have another baby, but it doesnt take away the pain and hurt your feeling. I just want you to know your not alone and feel free to come to our group its at my place this week. We are all here for you. If you are feeling up to it, then just private message me and I will give you my address.

Thinking of you at this sad time.
Love Beck.

Rosie
04-10-2004, 07:51
Dear Christine
I am so so sorry to hear of your loss. You and your husband are in my thoughts. There really isn't much else to say other than that, we are here for you if you need to talk or if there is absolutely anything I can do, just say the word. You take care and hopefully the doctor will have some answers for you which may help you to go through the grieving with more understanding. I am thinking of you. Hope we talk soon.
With love
Kerri xx

Lachlan's Mum
04-10-2004, 13:49
Dear Christine

I too am very sorry to hear of your news. Please feel free to pm me if you want to talk. You are of course very welcome to attend our group and we can all offer you some face to face support.

Thinking of you,
Melanie

Lachlan's Mum
04-10-2004, 13:52
Hi Kerri

Thanks for having us on Friday - both Lachlan and I enjoyed the company and I am really looking forward to this week so I must have no life either!! ;)

See you all this Friday! :D

Hi All - it was nice to catch up with everyone today, I am really enjoying our get togethers and am looking forward to next week already! Does this mean I have no life? - no I think it is just that I think we have a good little group going and I really enjoy your company :D . Georgia was absolutely buggered out this afternoon and I think it is that she really likes the interaction with other bubs and having people over is interesting for her too! Well, dinner is burning, so better go. Will talk to you during week. Have a good w/end all. K and G

Gemma
05-10-2004, 11:01

Christine - I'm sorry to hear your news, bug hug from Grace and I.

Well Graces ear infrection cleared :D, but we still need to see the ENT specalist. My sister and I got away and had a great time, but I missed Grace a lot!

So who is hosting this Friday? I have a Electrician coming over at 9am for about 1hr-1.5hrs, so I might be a bit late. I would have everyone over but he is putting a new fans in our lounge and family rooms so I don't want everyone exposed to the dust, especially the kids, its an old house so you never know what's up in the crawl space. I'm happy to host the 15th if you guys want, since you have all hosted before, its only fair.

Beck
05-10-2004, 12:31
Hello everyone,
you will never guess what, I am so silly sometimes I totally forgot that I have to see a BRAIN Doctor on Friday at 10:00am, I only remembered cos the lady from the hospital rang to make sure im going. So I was wondering if we could make it on Thursday this week at the same time, I feel really bad, im so sorry and I really have to make this appointment other wish I will have to wait another 3 months.
Love Beck

Christine
05-10-2004, 19:40
Hi everybody

Thank you so much for your wishes and support. I am not doing too well with this, but your thoughts are helping me. I cannot make a date on Thursday but will keep checking for your next Friday date. Good luck to Gemma and Grace and Beck with your appointments this week, I hope everything goes well for you.
I'm really looking forward to seeing you all soon.

Christine

Lachlan's Mum
05-10-2004, 19:59
Hi all :D

as per my earlier pm to Beck, Thursday is a bit hard for me......silly excuse but I have a gardener coming and he said "just before Lunch" and I don't really know what time, but will have to end up racing back....so I was thinking why don't we move it to my place? Then it doesn't matter what time he turns up.

Let me know. Otherwise, any other morning suits me...including Friday still...so it depends on everyone else too!! I'll wait to hear!

See ya
Mel :p

Lachlan's Mum
06-10-2004, 09:51

Kerri and I spoke this morning, and in order to try and facilitate as many people as possible this week, our group meeting has been moved (or it is suggested at this stage) to 1.30pm tomorrow (Thursday) at my place in Aspley. Anyone wantiing to come along, please private message me for my address. :p

Beck - is this ok for you?

Nicky? Let me know and I'll give you my address too :)

Hope to see you all :D

Beck
06-10-2004, 12:09
Yep tomorrow at 1:30pm is fine with me, I will cya you all there.

Love Beck and Sharni.

Eleni's Mum
06-10-2004, 15:53
I'm back on deck post relative invasion and am looking forward to tomorrow. Lachlan's Mum I've messaged you re your address, hope to hear from you soon. :D

Gemma
06-10-2004, 19:29

I'm working Thursday, I'm not having much luck with this playgroup am I :rolleyes: . I really hope to meet you all soon. I'm working the w-end next week so I am free all week except for a few scattered appts, so hopefully next week will happen for me.

Have a good day tomorrow. :D

Gemma
08-10-2004, 14:29
How was yesterday? I am definatly coming next week, I really want to meet all of you.

Eleni's Mum
08-10-2004, 18:33
HI everyone,

I'm sorry a lot of you couldn't make it yesterday but Melanie and I had a great chat and I got to meet her beautiful little boy. I hope your little ones are feeling better.

I look forwrd to meeting more of you next week.

J.

Beck
08-10-2004, 20:30
Hello everyone,
I have had a ****ty week with Sharni she has been so sick I had her at the hospital and everything but she is much better now. Im so sorry Mel that I couldnt make it. Gemma and Jenny I cant wait to meet you either. Whos house is it at next week???

Love Beck

Wendy
09-10-2004, 14:09

Hope you are all enjoying the start to your weekend. I am on holidays this week and would love to come to your mums group, if you are having it on Friday. I will be daughter free so I hope that doesn't matter.

Keep Smiling ;)

Wendy & Tiffany

Lachlan's Mum
10-10-2004, 19:30
Jenni and I had a great cuppa and chat and our gorgeous bubs got to meet each other (barely as Lachlan slept a fair bit as he is grumpy with his teeth but I am sure will be excited next time when he realises there is another baby now who CANT crawl either! :p ) Anyway, looking forward to hearing where it is next week...catching up with Kerri, Georgia, Beck, Sharni, Jenni, Eleni and meeting anyone new! and Nicky and Jayden WHERE ARE YOU???? :p :p Gemma and Grace, Wendy and Tiffany hope you can make it! :)

Beck
10-10-2004, 20:19
Hello everyone,
How was everyone's weekend, mine was pretty good we went to that Multicultural thingo on in the roma street park lands and we had lots of fun but I got burnt. So whats happening with the group this week, whos house is it at? I dont mind if we have it at my place seem it was my turn last week but I couldnt do it, but I cant on Friday cos my house is getting sprayed for termits but Thursday is ok if thats good with everyone else if not maybe someone else would like to have it at there place on Friday. Sharni and I are looking forward to another swimming lession tomorrow. Well hope to hear from you all soon.

Ps. Wendy and Gemma I cant wait to meet you both hope you can make it this week. Jenny sorry I missed you last week, cant wait to meet you this week.

Love Beck

Rosie
11-10-2004, 08:30

Hope you are all well. Our household is much better, no more sore throats, just a runny nose still for Georgia. So, am very much looking forward to meeting up this week as we really missed it last week! Especially cos we would have finally met you Jenni and Eleni, so hopefully you can make it this week again. I am happy to have meeting at your house Beck on Thursday (although may have to organise a lift with you Melanie?) or if it suits everyone better on Friday, then I am happy to host this week at my house - what does everyone think? I'll keep checking to see what the verdict is. Otherwise, we had a pretty boring w/end - Troy has uni exams 1st week of Nov. then we can start doing a few things, like Gold Coast for the day etc(G has never been to beach!).

Also, a message for Christine - you are still in our thoughts and hope you are coping OK. Hang in there :) Have you had your tests yet? Please let us know how it all goes and keep talking to us.

Christine
11-10-2004, 12:36
Thanks for keeping in touch and Kerry also for your thoughts. I am going well actually, better than I thought I would. Last week was a bit difficult going back to work, as nobody there knew I was pregnant! I wasn't intending to keep it a secret, but I am only a temp and have only been there a few weeks and was kinda waiting for the right time. Unfortunately, the right time presented itself. Funny how life has a way of making things happen for us.

I agree with Jenni about putting everyone's meeting info on the site. I am trying to organise something for the southside, but I don't want to clash with the northside time. However, Friday is the most popular day. I am busy the next 2 Fridays (my sister gets married in less than 2 weeks!) so my suggestion is Friday 29th October at Toytown Fun, Megasports, Johnson Rd Hillcrest. It costs $6.50 for 2-4 yrs, $4.50 for under 2 & nothing for under 1. I know this can get a bit dear if you have more than one, so any other suggestions are welcome.

I am also happy to have anyone over here. Luke has a great cubbyhouse, with swing and slide, and we can set up the wading pool if it is warm. However, I do have a rather excitable dog. He is basically harmless but can be a bit scary for the little ones, if they don't know what to expect. I can always restrain him if need be. I will still try to make your meeting on the northside of town, as my girlfriend wants to go also.

Long-winded message, sorry;-) Would love to hear from everyone, let me know. :D

Eleni's Mum
11-10-2004, 14:35
Hi Christine

I'm on the Southside and look forward to meeting up with you. I'm pretty flexible as I don't have a lot of commitments. My dd is 5 1/2 months but loves to watch other kids playing.

I'm sorry to hear about your loss, we've all been thinking about you!

Jenni

gymmum
11-10-2004, 18:55
Hi, I am at Corinda, but use to live near Hillcrest, so I might try and get there too.

Rosie
12-10-2004, 15:20
Just a quick one - this week we are meeting at my house in Aspley on Friday, same time, 10.30am or so. Looking forward to seeing whoever can get there! (maybe you can finally get here Gemma? and hopefully Jenni and Nicki also) Christine, your idea sounds like a good one and I will make sure everyone knows about it at the get together. You sound like you are being brave and trying to get on with life, which is very courageous of you :) and hopefully we will meet up at end of Oct.
Talk to you all soon. Kerri

Eleni's Mum
12-10-2004, 15:39
Hi Rosie,

Sounds great can you message me your address please :D

Jenni

I'll also put the date and time in the other thread if that's ok

Gemma
12-10-2004, 15:49

I am defiantly coming this week, I don't care if asteroids are falling from the sky, I am determined to make it.

Grace had her ENT appt today. She is booked in for surgery on 2/11/04. It wasn't a shock, but I'm a bit scared for my bub.

Hope everyone and their bubs are keeping well. Kerri, I hope Georgia is feeling better and still thinking of you Christine.

See you all on Friday.

Eleni's Mum
17-10-2004, 16:16
HI girls,

It was so great to meet a lot of you on Friday, i had a good time. Thanks Rosie for your hospitality.

I was thinking today that if anyone would like a lift from the Southside next time I can fit 3 more into my car. I live right near Dutton Park station and would be happy to pick you up from there.

Jenni

Lachlan's Mum
21-10-2004, 13:54
Hi everyone :)

This week is at my place, 10.30 am (ish) as per usual tomorrow. Anyone interested in coming who does not have my address, please PM me :D . Hope to see you there...or rather here..... :p

Eleni's Mum
22-10-2004, 08:25
Should be good fun - I'm looking forward to it - Jenni

ali27
23-10-2004, 13:10

I'm Alison & am expecting our first addition to our family the week of Xmas, EDD 20th Dec. I have been reading all your threads about meeting for coffee & play groups for the kids & I would love to attend when my little one arrives after the xmas rush. (baby sex unknown). I live in Boondall but I can also travel afar. Hope you all have a nice xmas & keep cool.
Cheers Ali XXX

Eleni's Mum
24-10-2004, 17:19
Hi Alison,

It will be great to meet you too before or after your little one is due.

Hope you have a great Christmas - I'm a Christmas baby so I know what fun it is!

Jenni

Beck
24-10-2004, 20:17
Dear Alison,
Welcome,and Congrats. Your are more then welcome to come to our group before you have your baby if you like. We are really nice people but im the nicest one :) lol.

Hope to meet you soon.

Love Beck and Sharni.

Christine
25-10-2004, 08:27
Hi everybody

I am organising a Mum's day at Browns Plains this Friday 29th Oct for everyone. I'm sorry to clash with the time for those of you on the northside, but this time seems to suit most people the best over here too.
I will make a group booking at Toytown (Megasports), 44 Johnson Rd Hillcrest Ph: 3809 4333. I haven't been there, so I'm hoping it will be okay? Is 10.00ish okay for everyone? It costs about $6.50 for over 2 yr olds, $4.50 for 1-2 yrs, & nothing for under 1s! There is a coffee shop for the mums and things for the kids to play with. (We might not want to go home :cool: )
Of course, if you want to come for a drive, it would be great to meet anyone and everyone.
If you want my email or phone number (even just for a chat) send me a message and I will try to phone everyone back asap.
See you all Friday

k&Hmum
25-10-2004, 11:45
christine i would love to be there on friday as im doing nothing else and its only down the road not far from me. i lost your phone number so if you could email me the details that would be great. see you all on friday.

tracey

Jeanie
26-10-2004, 13:37
HI everyone

My name is Jeanie and ive just come across your group. I live at Taigum and have a 14 month old girl, Vanessa and am 6 months pregnant. I would love to get together to meet other mums and my little girl loves to play.

If someone could contact me with details that would be great. From reading your posts you sound like a caring, fun group of mums.

My email is - saaci27@bigpond.net.au

k&Hmum
26-10-2004, 15:26
hi my name is tracey. and you're right everyone is very nice and supportive. if you live near hillcrest why dont you come on friday to the group. this is going to be the first one i have gone to and im very excited. i have a 17 month old daughter kiraleigh. hope to see you there. ;)

Jeanie
27-10-2004, 13:26
Hi Tracey

Thanks for replying. Unfortunately I have no idea where Hillcrest is. I live on the northside of Brisbane is Hillcrest on the south? :confused:

k&Hmum
27-10-2004, 15:10
yes hillcrest is on the southside near browns plains if you have ever heard of that. or logan. well if you cant make it thats a shame but i have noticed that there are plenty of groups on the northside you could go to. good luck. but if you ever wanna just chat my email is trace-h-99@hotmail.com

Sharon Hillenaar
27-10-2004, 18:56
Hi Melanie, I live in Bracken Ridge and have just moved here from Canada exactly 3 days ago. I have a 3.5 week old baby and would be very interested in meeting other moms. Do you know of any groups that are getting together in and around the Aspley area (about the only area I know how to get to at least for now)? Thanks
Sharon and little Tristan

I live in Aspley too and I think it is a great idea!

Melanie - and baby Lachlan 3 1/2 mths :)

Eleni's Mum
27-10-2004, 21:16
Woops,

just caught your message here - it will be great to meet you at our Mums group Sharon.

Jenni

Sharon Hillenaar
28-10-2004, 10:27
Thanks for replying Jenni. I would absolutely love to join the group in Aspley, however after checking the new mums group tread i cannot seem to find the info as to where you meet. maybe i am looking in the wrong place. Would you mind telling me where you meet and at what time? I hope to see you there. Not sure I can make tomorrow because I have just met up with another mum from my area, though I plan on asking her if she is interested in joining. She too was looking for a mums group.
Thank you! Sharon and Tristan

Jeanie
28-10-2004, 10:54
Hi Sharon

My name is Jeanie and I live at Taigum. Im less than 10 mins from Bracken Ridge.
Congratulations on the new bub, Tristan. Im also trying to get to together with mums on this side of town.

I have a little girl, Vanessa who is 14 months old and am 6 months pregnant.

If youd like to chat my email is - saaci27@bigpond.net.au

Look forward to hearing from you

Beck
28-10-2004, 12:34
Dear Sharon and Jeanie,
Hello and how are you both. Welcome to our group. Sharon congrats on your little baby. I use to live in Bracken Ridge, I lived there for 8 years I now live in Kallangur. Jeanie I to have a 14month old daughter named Sharni. Ok what happens with the group is we all get together normally at either Kerri's or Mel's place as they both live in Aspley just around the corner from each other but we are not having it this week as Mel and Kerri can't but I dont mind if you's both want to come to my place, it may be abit out of your way but just keep it in mind if you are bored tomorrow, just email me if you want to come or I dont mind coming to your place.

Beck

stebeck1981@bigpond.com
or
Beck18_69_1999@hotmail.com

Eleni's Mum
28-10-2004, 15:29
Hi Christine,

AS the Aspley group isn't meeting tomorrow I thought I'd join you - are you still meeting and where abouts shall I meet you? How will I recognise you?

Bec if you wanted to catch a train to my place I'll drive you the rest of the way if you like.

Jen

k&Hmum
28-10-2004, 15:29
hi everyone and especially christine i am so sorry to do this but i cant make it to toy town after all tomorrow because my fiancee picked up a virus and it has spread to my daughter and she is really sick and has been at the hospital. it is extremely infectious and i dont wanna risk infecting anyone else. but i promise to make it to the next one. this is just bad timing and i have to make sure kiraleigh is well before i take her anywhere. im so sorry to pull out and im very dissappointed but kiraleigh has to come first.

bye from tracey

Christine
28-10-2004, 17:10
:) Hi Jenni
Thanks for replying, I thought I might be on my own!
10.00 at Toytown, Johnson Rd Hillcrest. You can see it from the main road, but you need to drive around the block and enter from the back (apparently).
I have made a booking under Southside Mum's group so hopefully they can point us all in the same direction for about half a dozen or so Mums and kids. So I look forward to meeting you. If anyone else wants to come, that will be great too! I will try to make a couple of phone calls tonight, but I'm a bit phone shy!

Eleni's Mum
29-10-2004, 15:37
HI all,

Southside Mums get together was great, we're doing it again on Wednesday at 10am. It was great meeting you Christine & Nicole - PM Nicole for more details (sorry I can't remember your bubhub name). :o

Jenni

03-11-2004, 14:42
Hi!!

I would love to come to a meet! When and where is the next one?

k&Hmum
05-11-2004, 13:11
i wanna come to the next southside meet to. so please give me the details and i wont miss it.

thanks,
tracey

Eleni's Mum
05-11-2004, 15:01

The latest update - we are trying for a North meets South gathering at my place, I'm in Annerley but more on the very edge of Dutton Park near the Princess Alexandria Hopsital.

When - Friday 12th
At - Around 10.30am
PM me for more details.

Come along it'll be fun :D !

Jenni

Rosie
05-11-2004, 15:05
Just wanted to say how nice it was to meet up with Jenni and Eleni and to meet you Sharon and Tristan. Really enjoyed the morning!
Missed you Mel but were thinking of you and yours and hope to see you soon :)
Talk to you all during week to organise walk.

Gemma
07-11-2004, 22:23

Long time no see (well never see...ha ha hmm). Grace finally had her surgery, and all went well (to save me time if your interested in the details check Parent Chat)

We are now day five post OT and she is doing really well, she is such is a good bub, I really love her so much. As per usual my bub doesn't do anything by halves, she was teething at the same time as recovering from the tonsils!! :eek:

I won't be able to meet up this Friday as I have appts with mum. She has gotten worse lately, so I don't know if I will be able to leave her at all now unless she is at respite. But hopefully someday down the track I will be able to meet you all.

Anyhow, I am going to watch the end of LOTR's, so bye for now.

Eleni's Mum
10-11-2004, 10:58

Gemma, I'm so glad things went well, how nerve racking for you though!

I'm looking forward to this Friday - looks like a couple of you are going to make it but are there any more Southside takers. I know a few of you have been wanting to get together.

Until then. Jenni