View Full Version : Hello Blackwater, Emearld and surrounds!
LivinOnAPrayer
11-10-2007, 08:07
I'm in blackwater and bored! Any mum's from here or surrounding areas keen for a chat??
Lexi11
logismum
04-11-2007, 13:34
I live in Emerald and am also bored, probably due to the fact that we only moved here 2months ago and dont know anyone yet
I am more than happy to chat if you want
~mia&ryan~
04-11-2007, 15:55
:wave: Hi, I'm not from the area but my sister lived in Blackwater about 6 years ago and I have a gorgeous friend who still lives there with her hubby and two children!!!
LivinOnAPrayer
13-11-2007, 08:08
Wow! I had given up hope and stopped looking at this thread! Haha. Hi! Ok, so I live in Blackwater, mum of 1 DD, 15 months, Dh, 21 yrs haha and dog tecqy!! (feels like i have 3 kids sumtimes!!). I used to live at Sapphire (44km west of emerald) and also have lived in emerald. It's not so bad after a while. Have you joined a mum's group? How many kids do you have?? Where did you move from? I go to Emerald every few weeks (drs appoints for DD)! My sister in law also lives in Emerald and she has just had her 3rd DS. Anyway, If ya get bored (I know how you feel! Blackwater is even smaller than emerald) i'll be around here so drop me a post and i'll promise to check it this time!! :thumbsup:
LivinOnAPrayer
13-11-2007, 08:11
Hi miamama! Congrats on getting married! I got married 7 months ago. :)
What is your friends name in blackwater? I dont know all that many people here (hence the tread!) and I'm getting a bit isolated. Dont like that. Haha, I need friends!! DD and I used to go to play group but havent lately as she always gets sick. Perhaps we should try again...
~mia&ryan~
13-11-2007, 09:37
Thanks!! My friends name is Leah... You should give playgroup another go, it would probably do you and bubs the world of good..
logismum
16-11-2007, 09:22
Hey Lexi11, Sorry i haven't replied earlier i also stopped checking as i thought you might have. i did the same thing when i posted on the huggies website then one day i got a message from someone let me tell you i was very excited.Ok so i am mum to DS 14months, Partner to Troy 28, doggies jess and buddy and cat tasha. We moved from rocky about 11 weeks ago, I go to playgroup at S.army every tuesday and uniting church every first and third friday even just going out those couple of hours a week helps keep me sane so you should definately give it antoher go. I'm still bored and a little lonely sometimes without my old friends around me but hopefully we will meet some people to socialise with, fingers crossed. you can email me if its easier v.newport@hotmail.com hope to here from you soon. cheers:smiliedance:
LivinOnAPrayer
16-11-2007, 11:57
Hi! I keep trying to send you an email but it says it cant deliver it! I'll pm you with my email!
shannysmum
23-01-2008, 07:16
my husband has a job interview in blackwater in feb for job at bma. whats it like there?
itssunday
23-04-2008, 18:51
my husband has a job interview in blackwater in feb for job at bma. whats it like there?
how'd it go? i am wondering the smae as my hubby is about to go for a job with bma is it as hard as everyone says( living with a mining hubby)?? and what are the towns like surrounding and schools etc?
Auntyamber
12-05-2008, 18:03
My name is Amber and I live in Tieri and am looking at becoming a Doula and was wondering if any you think it would be something people in Blackwater and
Emerald would take advantage of. Also to start before I am officially a Doula I will need to participate in 3 births as a trainee doula so if you know anyone that might be interested let me know.
Amber:bee:
Spolly88
15-05-2008, 16:01
Hi girls...
Lived in Blackwater for 17 years (I'm 20 this year!), left in 2006 and may be going back this year, unsure. My partner starts a job out at Emerald in a few weeks so seeing how things are going. I think the schools are pretty good in Blackwater...I could be biased though because I attended them!
Auntyamber
23-05-2008, 22:04
My name is Amber and I am studying to be a Doula :yelclap: I live in Tieri in Central Queensland and am in search of three births to attend as part of my training. I truly believe childbirth is a beautiful and natural thing which should cherished and i can't wait to have the opportunity to support YOU with bringing your beautiful baby into this world. As i am a student Doula all services are free. I am offering the following services
Unlimited Pre-natal visits
Unlimited Telephone and Email contact.
I will be on call 24 hours a day directly leading up to the birth of your baby
Support for the whole of your labor and birth (including at home if you wish)
Support at hospital or home with babies first feed
1 post natal hospital visit
1 weekly visit for the first month of having baby at home
Extra post natal visits if you wish
Obviously if you do not wish for post natal visits this is up to you. PM me or email me at auntyamber@hotmail.com to discuss further.
Thank-you
Amber
What does eeryone do for work out there??
Do they all work in the mines? just curious,
And yes if I lived out there Id take adange of you aunty amber!!!!!!
Auntyamber
24-05-2008, 06:24
My Partner works in the mine and our town is entirely run by the mine, The only people who live in town that don't work at the mine are people such as the newsagency, grocery and chemist owners.
LivinOnAPrayer
26-05-2008, 20:15
We live at blackwater and if i were preg id be in!! But not, thankfully so cant help auntyamber. These areas are 'breading towns' though so your in the right place. My hubby isnt in the mines, he works at the blackwater quarry. Same sort of job, not as good pay packet.
Auntyamber
27-05-2008, 15:51
Hi Lexi,
Your daughter is beautiful, if you know of anyone who is expecting would you mind mentioning the doula thing to them. I still havn't found anyone who is interested in having me support them with their birth :( So if youknow of anyone or have any ideas on how to find some people that'd be great.
Aunty Amber
finalcountdown!
28-05-2008, 14:46
Hi Amber,
How long have you lived in Tieri??
I too live in tieri but havent seen you around!!!
Have you thought of putting a notice up on the board here about your services???
So how much training do you have to do to become a doula? Are you already a RN or EN ?
LivinOnAPrayer
28-05-2008, 20:25
Amber thanks! I think shes a bit cute too, but im biased :p
I'll scout around the preggas at our mums group and let them know. But the main ones i know of are ready to have bubs in the next week or so, so theyre pretty set in their plans. I'll see what i can do.
Its strange to run into people on here from the same towns!!!!! Thats a miricle lol.
Anyone from blackwater??? :smiliedance:
Well we'll be in rocky tomorow. DH has an appoint at the mater and im 1/2 tempted to take Alex up to the rocky hospital. Shes not eating, only on neocate, no one here can tell me what i can feed her (allergies) or what her outcome might be, and shes going to start losing weight again soon. :hair: so :fingerscrossed: Dr Roper at the base can sort her out...again lol.
Auntyamber
30-05-2008, 15:09
Hi Final Countdown,
My partner and I moved to Tieri in Late january. I don't have any medical training just a love all things pregnancy and baby, and have often been told how compassionate i am and being able to support someone thru the most important time in their life is an awesome idea and i can't wait to find my first birth to attend.
Hi Lexi,
I hope you took you DD up to the hospital, it really sucks that no-one is giving you much help, hope the trip to rocky was good
Amber
finalcountdown!
30-05-2008, 19:04
Hi amber..
So do you have any children?
Sorry for the 20 questions!!! Just trying to establish what a "doula" is classified as!!
So who do you study through, and are you there more so to assist the birth.....not as say a midwife to deliver the baby??
Also do you do checkups/bloodpressures etc???
Ta!
Auntyamber
31-05-2008, 14:18
That's Ok questions are good :).
My role as a doula is to provide both emotional and physical support for all involved, i held develop a birth plan if the mother wants, i come and visit with you during your pregnancy to develop a relationship and to talk about any questions the mother or father may have, i try to assist the mother during birth by holding her hand, supporting her weight during contractions, give the father (if there is one) a break and most importantly try and reassure the mother if her ability. I am present for the birth and provide you with a "story" from my view of the amazing arrival and i assist in establishing breastfeeding if you want to or just help get baby settled. I come out after birth and discuss with you how you are feeling and coping, or even just to watch the baby while you have a sleep or do some washing for you ect. i am all about making sure when you bring your baby into this world that it is as easy for you as possible. No I don't have any children of my own YET. hopefully in the next few years, not to soon though as i really want my partner to be ready. Feel free to ask any other questions you have i don't mind. Oh and i study externally through Optimum Birth :smiliedance:.
LivinOnAPrayer
02-06-2008, 18:44
Does any one see Pead dr roper?? Im having a really bad experence atm.
Ropers reg said to speak to dietitian, dietitian said to speak to Roper!!! grrrr what am i suposed to do grrrr
Sometime I hate living out in the stix.
finalcountdown!
23-06-2008, 10:26
Hi just wondering if anyone is having or has had their babies at emerald hospital...just wondering what your experiences were like?
LivinOnAPrayer
13-07-2008, 08:17
do you live in emarald finalcountdown!??
I dont know if they're delivering again, but if they are its'll be noncomplicated and 2nd+ births only. My sil has had all 3 of her boys there and all fine, no problems, but then we've heard of some real horror stories if bubs isnt as healthy as expected. All i can say is thank god i didnt birth alex in emerald!
I just found this site and am hoping to find some Emerald mums! I'm Bec and I've got an almost 3 yr old son - Ben and am 26wks pregnant. We've lived here for almost 3 years and I can't say I've made too many friends but would love to change that.
Bec
LivinOnAPrayer
02-08-2008, 20:07
Hi Bec :wave: My names Peta, my daughter alex is 2! We live in blackwater but come to emerald a fair bit. Maybe we could meet up?? Or better yet, alex is having her birthday party in blackwater (at the park) on friday, would you like to come?? Im sure ben would LOVE it, theres plenty of boys his age from our play group coming!
Hi Peta,
I'd almost given up on getting a reply, it seems that Mums in this area are far and few between lol. Thanks for the party invite, unfortuneately we will be in Rocky - Thursday and Friday, DH is doing a course. Normally that wouldn't be a bad thing but we have to go back next week for Dorothy the Dinosaur concert and a friends wedding so it will get a bit tiring. But whenever you come to Emerald and you have a bit of spare time, I'd love to meet up and let the kids have playdate.
Bec
Hi Ladies :wave:
Just stumbled across this thread. I'm new to Emerald from Brisbane. We moved here in May, hubby started a job with the state gov. I've got 2 boys, one 11 and one 15. We're overall pretty happy here, but feel a bit isolated sometimes. It'd be good to meet up with other newbies to the area. Maybe even establish a new to CQ group for others moving here. Any thoughts?:flowerz:
finalcountdown!
14-08-2008, 07:03
No im in tieri...about an hour from emerald.
Come to emerald once a week to do groceries though.
I think i ve decided to have bub at the Mater in Rocky!
Auntyamber
18-08-2008, 18:43
So it's been ages since I've been online. Feeling pretty lonely at the moment and trying to talk DP into fostering a child but hes a little unsure but decided to let me turn the spare room into a nursery/kids room and he bought me a rocking chair today YAY.
I go to emerald and would love to meet up with people for a chat. I know i don't have children but i love kids and would love to meet some new people. Feel free to email me auntyamber@hotmail.com.
Amber
LivinOnAPrayer
11-09-2008, 19:23
hi guys. long time no talk. Alex has been in hospital in brissy for a while. home now though.
Hey i reakon all us cq ladies should meet at a park in emerald some time. What do you all think? Theres finally enough of us lol. Id be really excited to!
Auntyamber
11-09-2008, 20:50
Hi Lexi,
Hope Alex is doing well, I'm sure she is though she sounds like a tough little chicken. I know i don't have any kids but i'd definately be interested in catching up. I've been in Cairns so havnf't really been able to use the computer but now that i'm back i'm super keen. Just let me know. You can email me at auntyamber@hotmail.com.
Amber
It's been awhile since I've checked the site, August has been a horrible and hectic month, one I'd like to forget. We signed a contract on a house and basically had nothing but trouble with every aspect of it, today though it all payed off and we moved into our very own home:cloud9:. However buying and moving is something I cannot recommend doing whilst pregnant lol. Also my 12yr old nephew was in a serious car accident 2 weeks ago, and the situation still isn't that clear, he'll be going great one minute, but taking 2 steps back the next. Hopefully the next 4-6 weeks will be easier/calmer and I can enjoy what's left of this pregnancy. Peta I hope Alex is going ok, was that you in the local paper a few weeks back now?
I'd definately love to meet everyone, so lets organise something!
This is my email: bec.17@hotmail.com
Bec
LivinOnAPrayer
15-09-2008, 19:59
that was us lol!!! we've had a hell of a time with this hospital. grrr. but anyways, i'll come on before we know were going to emerald next and we'll all have to have a meet :thumbsup:
Gee it sounds like a few of us have had a really bad trot lately :no:
On the plus side..there does seem to be a few of us on here now. What days/times suit for a meet? I was thinking maybe the botanical gardens and byo drinks/coffee? We may need to make a BH sign so we recognise each other though :laughing: I'm pretty flexible in regards to times, a weekend arvo maybe?
LivinOnAPrayer
08-10-2008, 08:20
jo i was just speaking to sam, and we thought the 29th (wednesday) would be a great day for a get together!! What do you all think?? At the botanic gardens? Byo lunch? We're coming in from blackwater for a speech appointment at 2:30, but we'll come in just before lunch if anyone is interested? Then the kids can play in that enclosed play area?
Hi lex11, That sounds great, byo lunch, and I'll tie a pink balloon to something in aid of pink ribbon day :) and for us to recognise each other. Shall we make it next to the playground? hope everyone can make it! Have a good day everyone :flowerz:
Hi ladies :wave: how is everyone? just wondering if everyone is able to come Wednesday to the Botanic gardens? as we talked about a while ago.. Mumtoben, you will have had your baby by now congratulations :hugs:lex11 hope you can make it and auntyamber would love to see you there, and everyone else..please come along!!
LivinOnAPrayer
30-10-2008, 16:49
hey where was everyone!! Jo?? Sam and i were there and it was really good to finally meet! Sam and her daughters are gorgeous. alex had a great time playing with the girls in the park. we have to do it again!! I'll be back in emerald on the 20th and the 26th next month :thumbsup:
sam alex is learning makaton, sign language! So the appointment went really well :flowerz:
Hi Peta,
I can't wait to meet you guys. My son also has special needs although he's 15 now. He attends the special ed unit at the high school, he knows some makaton sign language as he is profoundly deaf in the left ear. He can show Alex some. The same place on the 20th... sorry again I missed you guys.
lizziegal
08-11-2008, 19:35
Hi I live in Clermont. Pregnant with first baby. Would love some new friends.
lizziegal
08-11-2008, 19:37
Hi to all Im 29 weeks pregnant n Live in clermont would love some new friends as I get very bored :)
lizziegal
13-11-2008, 16:09
Hi Im having my first baby in emerald.
Hi lizziegal, :wave:welcome to our thread. Have you not long moved to Clermont? Please do come along on the 20th to the Botanic Gardens. Feel free to pm me for the time and if you don't know where that is. Sorry I'm assuming your not from here as a lot of us aren't :laughing: its a bit difficult to get everyone together at the same time as were all busy with our families and commitments but hopefully we can all make it next time :flowerz:
Hi Ladies, just a reminder .. When your posting about meets, please do not use the time, location and day on the open forum. Its much safer for you and your kids if you PM final details like time or day etc :)
LivinOnAPrayer
15-11-2008, 16:39
sounds good!! cant wait to meet you all and see sam and the girls again!
jo that would be great! bet your son could teach us heaps lol, hed be pro!
what time guys? We've got an appoint at 11 so maybe after lunch would be better for us?? afternoon tea at the park?
LivinOnAPrayer
15-11-2008, 16:39
thanks leeny, i forget anyone can look at this sometimes
Thursday it is! would 2 suit everyone? thats cool with me.
LivinOnAPrayer
18-11-2008, 17:20
what time do yas reakon? I think about 1 would be good for us...but then that might change if the dr is running late and i;d hate to miss it.... i've got sams moby #anyways but you guys let me know and i'll be there!
Hi gals,
Lex, hope alls well with you. Heard you guys in Blackwater copped the big storm last night, hope you didn't get stuck driving in it. I came by the gardens at about 1.30 just in case anyone was there, but that rain kinda put a dampner on our plans!! hope we can make another time before xmas! is anyone going away for the break??
lizziegal
28-11-2008, 11:25
Hi sorry couldnt make it as I dont drive n hubby was working. Hope you all had a great time. Lived in Clermont for 3 three years.
tevans7982
08-01-2009, 12:47
Hi I live in Clermont. Pregnant with first baby. Would love some new friends.
hi lizziegal, i live in tieri not far from clermont, am in first trimester with 3rd child. also dont know many people. id be happy to get to know you. what is your due date?
tevans7982
08-01-2009, 12:54
My name is Amber and I live in Tieri and am looking at becoming a Doula and was wondering if any you think it would be something people in Blackwater and
Emerald would take advantage of. Also to start before I am officially a Doula I will need to participate in 3 births as a trainee doula so if you know anyone that might be interested let me know.
Amber:bee:
hi amber, i have emailed you.... i am from tieri too, pregnant with my 3rd child due aprox 25th august 09. i dont really know any one in tieri as im still pretty much a newbie, only moved here in august 08 from the uk with hubby and 2 kids. im not british though, and originaly from nz. would really like to get to know any other mums expectant or not who live in tieri. it does get very lonley for me. :(
lizziegal
11-01-2009, 01:42
My due date is 26 jan this is my first 1 so exxcited n nervous would love to be friends.
Long time no chat in this thread. Wonder if anyone's still here? Or if there are any newbies?
Anyway hope your all doing well.
Bec:wave:
Hi mumtoben,
I'm still here, now mum to a beautiful 10 week old boy as well :cloud9: hello to any newbies on here as well, there is more of us here in Emerald :)
Hi Jo
Congrats on you new little bundle:yelclap:. It's almost been 12mths since my princess was born - scary at how fast time has flown. But I guess when your busy with house reno's, kids and work (I now do Tupperware if anyone is interested lol) life goes very fast.
Was hoping there were some newbies (and of course the originals) thought we could get a mums group happening. I've tried the local playgroup but um yeah lol not a fan.
Bec:wave:
Auntyamber
19-10-2009, 22:27
Hi Jo and Bec,
Congratulations to you both on your bubbas. I've been terribly busy this year getting engaged and married and having 2 miscarriages. Thankfully we are now 17 weeks pregnant and all seems to be going well. Would love to chat sometime.
Amber
Hi Amber
Wow what a year for you! Congratulations on getting engaged, married and now expecting! Hope the next 23 wks are easy and stressfree as they can be. Sorry to hear about your 2 m/c, it's something I've experienced prior to Miss A being born and it's such a heartbreaking situation to go through. I have found it's more common then you realise but it's not something that people talk about. Are you still in Tieri?
Well I'm busy all this week preparing for Miss A's 1st Birthday! I'm making the cake - hope I don't poisen everyone lol.
Auntyamber
20-10-2009, 21:50
Hi Mum2ben,
Yes we are still in Tieri and very excited about our upcomming arrival however I have spent the last week in hospital suffering from hypermesis not much fun at all, so hopefully from now on our little bubba is going to behave and make things easy for mummy.
Hi there mumtoben and auntyamber,
wow congrats auntyamber on your wonderful news :yelclap: hope your on the mend now, may I ask what is hypermesis?
mumtoben, glad to see your still around :) time sure has gone fast, last time we spoke on here you were going to Rocky to have your bub and now she's a year old! we ought to start our own little BH emerald play group ;)
Auntyamber
21-10-2009, 12:04
HI Jo,
Hypermesis is basically severe morning sickness, basically you can't eat or drink anything and have to be hospitalised for IV therapy. They have me on medication now which seems to be working, only downside is that it's $90.00 for a box of 10 and I have to take 2 a day.
I would definately be interested in catching up, even though I don't have bubba yet it would be lovely to spend some time with other mums and women who have been through pregnancy.
I usually come to emerald once a week to do grocery shopping, sometimes I come up to 3 times if i'm bored, so let me know if you would like to catch up.
Usually I just have to check we'll be in town, as we travel quite a bit with doctors appointments.
Amber
mummybear21
02-11-2009, 11:31
hi there im livin in blackwater and havin my 1st child in april
Hi Amber,Bec and all Central highlander mums here on BH,
It'd be great to finally have a meetup in the new year. I'm back in town after the 10/01/09
Sorry Amber for being so slack and not replying, gets pretty hectic now with 3 kids and DH to look after.
Merry Christmas all :santa::noel: