View Full Version : savoury party food ideas please!
jembelina
10-10-2007, 07:19 PM
We are having a Teddy Bear's Picnic for bubs 1st birthday and I need some savoury food ideas!!! The sweet stuff is easy, got that covered.
Some ideas for sandwich fillings and puff pastry pinwheels would be great!
As well as whatever else you can think of, I would love stuff I can prepare a little in advance!! Teh bulk of the guests will be grown ups.
Any help/ideas would be greatly appreciated.
UmmInayah
10-10-2007, 08:32 PM
Uhm.. How bout mini quiches? Or zucchini slice?
Or cheese sticks made out of puff pastry, cheese and paprika?
Or uhm.. You could make this dip that someone at work made once.. It was really easy.. all you need is a large tub of sour cream, about a cup of natural yoghurt, a block of frozen chopped spinach and a sachet of spring vegetable soup mix.. Just defrost the spinach and add all the ingredients together, mix well and you can serve with crusty bread (like a baguette, cut into mini slices)
I love carrot and cheese sandwiches :P
Hope this helps a little.. Sorry I can;t think of anything else!
mollymoosmum
10-10-2007, 08:46 PM
The good old cob loaf always goes down a treat. (there are ots of different variatiesto choose from) just make sure you do heaps of extra bread!
Also not sure how these would go being pre-made but these are always a hit- if you buy a pack of dinner rolls (white or brown) and do them with differenet fillings.
*Camenbare (ok I know this is not how you spell it but it's late and I have baby brain!) and asparagus
*yummy tasty cheese and thinly sliced ham off the bone
*seasoned chicken diced finly mixed with mayo ect....
Just put a toothpick through the top to keep them closed then bake for till the cheese melts
They are so cheap and really easy and guite filling......
punkbaby
10-10-2007, 08:50 PM
make a basic dough, like scone mix and roll it flat, fill it with pasta sauce, mushrooms cheese, or even just cheese and vegemite, roll it up and cut it into pin wheels So quick and easy :)
DivinelySophistimicated
10-10-2007, 08:58 PM
My fave is the little dinner rolls with a cooked frankfurt inside......MINI HOTDOGS!!!
I make my pizza pinwheels wityh a sheet of puff pastry, spread with tomato paste, sprinkle with mixed herbs, sprinkle with diced bacon, diced capsicum and grated cheese. Roll up and press along the edge with a fork to seal.
Cut into 1 to 1.5cm peices, place them flat on baking tray civered with baking paper incase they try and stick. Cook for 12-15 minutes on about 180 or until lightly browned.
You can also swap the tom paste for pesto. They are soooo yummy!!!
I will post a couple more of my party food recipes for you, Good luck!
They can also be made in advance and wrapped (either in freezer or frisge) and pull them out, cut them up and bake on the day.
Mini Quiches
Puff pastry sheets cut into 9 squares, press into well greased muffin trays add mushies, grated zucchini, grated carrot, diced onion and ham/bacon/chicken (or no meat at all) pretty much whatever you like put grated cheese on top. Then mix in a bowl - for a dozen - 4 eggs, 1 1/4 cups of milk 1 tablespoon flour and some salt and pepper and tip a bit into each quiche.
Cook on about 170 until puffed up and cooked through.
I also make them sometimes with this tin of Salmon and caramelised onion (I think its greenseas) that you can get and just put that in the pastry and top with cheese then the egg mixture, they are always a hit too. Also can be served hot or cold.
Ham and Avocado on Mountain Bread
Mash avo with a bit of salt and pepper, spread on mountain bread. Add a layer of ham off the bone, roll up and cut into smaller peices, say 2 inch bits (skewer with a tooth pic)
YUMMO!
Sausage Rolls
This recipe will not be to exact cause I have made them since I was a little girl and not used measurements for many years but they are really easy... and really hard to stuff up as long as all these ingredients are in there they will taste awesome!
Packet of puff pastry
500 gm (i think it is - not the real big long one – if that’s all they have I usually use half and freeze half) tube thing of sausage mince from woolies etc.
1 onion diced fine
2 - 3 eggs
couple of heaped teaspoons of mixed herbs
about 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs
I sometimes add grated zucchini and carrot too/
Mix all ingredients together, if too wet just add a little extra breadcrumbs until it is a soft sort of sticky consistency.
Cut each sheet of puff pastry into 3 even strips.
Spread some of the mince mixture down the middle of each bit of pastry, roll up and seal by pressing a fork all along the edge.
You can either make them all up like this and wrap in glad wrap, freeze and pull out on the day to cook ... or ...
cut each strip into 6 little sausage rolls, place them all on oven tray and cook on 180 degress for about 15 minutes or until all puffed up and golden brown...
Hope that is explained clear enough...?? Good luck!
They can also be made in advance and wrapped (either in freezer or fridge) and pull them out, cut them up and bake on the day.
A few other ideas are...
-sushi
-cheese fruit and biscuit platter
-melba toast spread with phili cheese and a small peice of smoked salmon
-frittata - easy to serve cold
Mellymoo
12-10-2007, 09:12 AM
I love these, they're so easy and you can vary them really well too.
All you do is get some muffin tins (I make 12 at a time)
Get 12 slices wholemeal bread and cut a big circle in them - I use a small sandwich plate and cut around it with a knife.
Butter each slice of bread and press butter side out, into each hole.
Crack an egg into each muffin hole, then top with cooked diced bacon and grated cheese. Put in the oven to bake for about 10-15 minutes. You can vary the topping, as long as you put the egg in - you can use creamed corn and cheese, or whatever you want really.
Another thing you can try is just cubed cheese, gerkhin, pickled onions or whatever on little toothpicks.
Good luck !
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.