View Full Version : Catch-up with the 30-somethings...s/side Brisbane
Pauline70
09-10-2007, 21:01
Just wanted to see if there is any interest from people who would like a coffee/playdate for bubs/toddlers every couple of weeks or so. I quit my playgroup earlier in the year (people were moving too far away!) but my DD is missing interaction with other toddlers. Happy to try parks or playcentres also for some variety.
oh oh! Me me me me me!
I'm desperate to meet some people my age with bubs/toddlers. I'm south west brissy (Oxley).
I feel so old in here sometimes.:(
Pauline70
09-10-2007, 21:21
Same here for the feeling old bit! And I'm lining up to do the bub thing all over again:rolleyes: . The only thing that makes me feel a little better is that a friend just had her 2nd at 41!
Any suggestions for what you'd like to do (coffee or playcentre?) I'm free Wed - Fri most weeks:)
RaryGirl
09-10-2007, 21:25
Oh add me too! I commented at the last couple of BH dinners that I felt soooooo old. :laughing:
Monday or Fridays are the best days for me .... have to work Tue-Thu.
SilverStarfish
09-10-2007, 21:27
Me too :wave: I'd love to come along. I'm almost 30 something!
RaryGirl
09-10-2007, 21:29
Me too :wave: I'd love to come along. I'm almost 30 something!
:no: Nope you're too young!!!! :laughing:
clgcsmum
10-10-2007, 06:29
Can I come to prettttttttty pleeeeeeeeeease
SilverStarfish
10-10-2007, 07:26
:no: Nope you're too young!!!! :laughing:
I could act old? :detective: Hee hee, it's like the grown up version of trying to sneak into a club when you're 17.
Besides, even I was 10 - 15 years older than some of the people at some of the recent BH dinners too :o
RaryGirl
10-10-2007, 08:01
I could act old? :detective: Hee hee, it's like the grown up version of trying to sneak into a club when you're 17.
Besides, even I was 10 - 15 years older than some of the people at some of the recent BH dinners too :o
hmmm suppose you can join us early! And you probably feel old hanging around me anyway! :laughing:
So where are we going to meet?
RaryGirl
10-10-2007, 08:16
Where is everyone located? All over Brissy?
Faeml and I are on the southside .... what about everyone else?
I'm in Oxley.
There's a great cafe in Oxley that's kids friendly. It's called "Coffee and Kids" and has a play area for toddlers. I can't comment on how good the play area is given my DS is only 4 months. I don't know where everyone else is though so it might be too far out of the way.
Pauline70
10-10-2007, 17:43
I'm near Faeml and Nic71 (Calamvale) - would Fridays work for everyone? I work Mon/Tue and Thurs AM I've got swimming for DD.
Any suggestions for places to meet are greatly appreciated. Some of the playcentres for kids are quite pricey so if you have another place in mind that'd be great:thumbsup: I'm OK to try Oxley though. Happy to get such a good response from the thread :)
RaryGirl
10-10-2007, 19:19
Didn't know you were only around the corner! Fridays are wonderful for me (I don't work at all on Fridays :smiliedance: ) and Oxley is fine too.
The other place which isn't too pricey (but that's cause my bub is free still) is Lollipops Playland .... but that's even further away - McDonalds are always a good option to .... but not the one up at Calamvale at the moment with all the construction/roadworks going on, it's a nightmare.
Pauline70
10-10-2007, 19:52
I've heard that Lollipops is quite good. Thank goodness they are still doing construction near McDonalds Calamvale - I've been going to do the junk food lunch recently and the drive thru was closed :( - maybe my husband gave them a call :laughing:
OK - so shall we have a vote on Oxley Coffee and Kids or Lollipops - is that alright by all?? We can always do different places every fortnight.
Apparently there's a playcentre (with food facilities) on Orange Grove Rd (near Aldi) - anybody know about that one? - is it worth a visit?
RaryGirl
10-10-2007, 20:18
Either is fine with me. We'll let you decide. Just PM us the details .... that way no undesirables who lurk around forums know where we're going. :thumbsup:
SilverStarfish
10-10-2007, 21:30
Fridays are good for me too :)
Fridays are good for me too, I'd rather not go to McDonalds though.
My PC is in a coma :mad: so I'm using DF's. It's so much slower than mine :hair: . I typed this post last night but it timed out when I pressed "submit reply" :hair: :hair: :hair:
The hamsters in df's pc mustn't be as fit as the ones in mine.
Pauline70
11-10-2007, 19:30
OK - so Friday's look good for all of us :thumbsup: - so I'll PM everyone tomorrow (Friday) with the details for our first meet-up - looking forward to meeting everyone :)
Hi everyone :wave: I'm a 30 something Runcorn mummy, I have an almost 3 year old girl and just about to have number 2. I would love to meet please count me in as well for next time.
Pauline70
18-10-2007, 14:14
Hi Sammy70 :wave:
I've PM'd you with details of a meet-up - hope you can join us :)
SilverStarfish
19-10-2007, 15:46
It was lovely to meet you guys this morning! I'm sorry Sarah was being such a sad-sack. It was a drink of water... Sheesh!! :laughing:
To my utter surprise she passed out in the car on the way home (that never happens anymore!) so the poor little critter must have been more tired than I thought.
Pauline70
19-10-2007, 18:12
No worries, they all do it at some time or other. Charlotte had such a good time there today that I'm going to take her next Friday!
But speaking of the water situation - I think we should both get refunds on our drink cups as mine leaks all over the kitchen cupboard most days.... :thumbsdown:
It was lovely to meet you and Sarah today, I'll send a PM to all for the next meet-up (2nd November)
But if you're free for next week (same location) , come along :)
It was great to meet up today and have some adult conversation :yelclap: .
Looking forward to when we next meet up. :wave:
Pauline70
19-10-2007, 22:16
It was great to meet up today and have some adult conversation :yelclap: .
Looking forward to when we next meet up. :wave:
Glad you came :) , look forward to seeing you next time, could you please PM me with the location of the cafe you mentioned?
KiwiMummy
20-10-2007, 12:53
Hi I am Kiwimummy:smiliedance:and have just joined BubHub today.
I am 30 years old with 2 beautiful girls - 3 year old and new baby 7 weeks old.
I am looking at meeting some new mums for coffee/chat/playgroups - I live in West Brisbane (Graceville) but happy to travel
I am free most days - have both girls with me on Fridays :wave: but anyday is good.
Hope to join and meet up with everyone soon.
Hi KiwiMummy - that's just down the road from me - I'm in Oxley.
Pauline - I think the place we went to yesterday was great and what a bargain! I'm happy to go there again. The little one's obviously liked it and it's easy to get to.
Hi Kiwimum & Newlifemum - I have just PM'd you about meeting up next time. :wave:
Pauline70
20-10-2007, 17:26
Hi Kiwimummy :wave:
Would be happy to send you a PM next time we have a meet-up. :) Looks to be 2nd November, however, I plan to head to our last destination again this Friday. My DD who is nearly 2 had an absolute ball. Was 2 hours of pure fun for her :D I'm sure your 3yo would love it.
If anyone would like to come along again this Friday PM me so we can arrange a time :thumbsup:
Becs999 - we are happy to try all different places so if you want to do that cafe near you or you find another one over your way, let us know!
I just thought that where we went yesterday was great! I didn't know such places existed (I've so much to learn!!). Easy to find, easy parking and a BARGAIN! :thumbsup:
Pauline70
20-10-2007, 17:39
Becs999 - I agree it was great - I've been to a similar one but wasn't as good as yesterday. I have never seen DD so happy playing on her own like that :)
I'll have to take the video camera next time.
KiwiMummy
21-10-2007, 06:19
Hi Kiwimummy :wave:
Would be happy to send you a PM next time we have a meet-up. :) Looks to be 2nd November, however, I plan to head to our last destination again this Friday. My DD who is nearly 2 had an absolute ball. Was 2 hours of pure fun for her :D I'm sure your 3yo would love it.
If anyone would like to come along again this Friday PM me so we can arrange a time :thumbsup:
Becs999 - we are happy to try all different places so if you want to do that cafe near you or you find another one over your way, let us know!
Hi Pauline70
Just PM'd you to find out some details for friday.
I am also keen to meet up on 2nd November as well if anyone is interested.
KiwiMummy
21-10-2007, 06:29
Not sure where most people live but there is a playcentre at Forest Lake that is pretty good and spacious.
It has a jumping castle, huge play centre and a small area for the little ones :yelclap:
However it is a bit costly, about $6.50 for an hour or $9.50 for unlimited play all day. It is also licensed so you cant bring your own food or drinks
Just thought I would mention it in case anyone is interested
Pauline70
21-10-2007, 17:01
Hi All :wave:
I'm happy to try Forest Lake - always up for trying something new - I've also PM'd you Kiwimummy regarding 26th.
RaryGirl
23-10-2007, 22:26
Hi KiwiMummy .... we've tried the Forest Lake playcentre as well and you'll find the one we went to on Friday is alot better .... money wise and it's alot cleaner too - you'll be really impressed (if you haven't already been there :o )
I'll check the diary for Friday .... if you could PM the meeting time that would be great.
andie_pandie
23-10-2007, 22:37
Hi there, can you fit another 30+ in (Kiwi as well). I'm in Forest Lake so right in the middle of some of you girls. I'm free with Bubs Mon, Thurs and Fridays 9am-2pm.
SilverStarfish
23-10-2007, 22:37
I agree with Nic about the Forest Lake one. It's quite a bit smaller and, at least on the day we went, rather smellier...
ETA: It's rather a bit far to go for a friday catch-up (it's in Warragul, about 100km out of Melbourne:rolleyes: ) but this playcentre (http://www.gigglesplayhouse.com.au)absolutely ROCKS!!!
A friend of mine lives down there, which is how we found it. It's HUGE and has The Best Toddler area ever - complete with giant jumping castle, cool toys and a pool fence around it that not even my monkey could get out of :laughing:
Did anyone want to meet this Friday? I know we kind of agreed to meet fortnightly but I'm keen to meet up again this Friday.
Pauline70
24-10-2007, 16:02
Becs999 - I've PM'd you about Friday (hope you can come) - Nic71 and Faeml if you are both free would you like to catch up at our last destination for Friday?
Every time I mention a merry-go-round DD light's up :)
KiwiMummy
29-10-2007, 11:34
Hi KiwiMummy .... we've tried the Forest Lake playcentre as well and you'll find the one we went to on Friday is alot better .... money wise and it's alot cleaner too - you'll be really impressed (if you haven't already been there :o )
I'll check the diary for Friday .... if you could PM the meeting time that would be great.
Thanks so much for this - i havent been to many other playcentres but are keen to try others - especially ones that are reasonable in price. I will have to try the one you went to some time.
I would have been there on friday but something else came up. Another time maybe.
Regards
Katrina
RaryGirl
29-10-2007, 12:45
So are we all going to catch up on Friday? Same time and place?
I'll be there :wave: and picking your brains about sewing nappies...
RaryGirl
29-10-2007, 13:28
:laughing: I'm such a beginner!
Pookey Pockets have another nappy sewing class on this week-end or it might be next ..... but I went to one last week-end and it was a great help. Give Bec a call and see if there is room for another .... she's over at Riverhills so not far from us.
:laughing: I'm such a beginner!
Pookey Pockets have another nappy sewing class on this week-end or it might be next ..... but I went to one last week-end and it was a great help. Give Bec a call and see if there is room for another .... she's over at Riverhills so not far from us.
Woo hoo! Thanks.:thumbsup:
Pauline70
29-10-2007, 17:37
So are we all going to catch up on Friday? Same time and place?
Hi All :wave:
Is everyone OK to meet at the same time/place again this week (2nd November?) - Bec, are you OK to go back for 3rd time? - at least we get a couple of free drinks there :)
I'll PM everyone later in the week to confirm.
RaryGirl
29-10-2007, 21:28
Yep ... I'll be there and there are another couple of new members that have joined BH that live in my area that are coming too.
SilverStarfish
29-10-2007, 21:32
I'll be there so long as I can scrounge a lift (looks pointedly at Nic...) cos DH needs the car that day and it's illegal to put baby seats on motorbikes - though goodness knows Sarah would be up for it! :)
RaryGirl
29-10-2007, 21:39
I'll be there so long as I can scrounge a lift (looks pointedly at Nic...) cos DH needs the car that day and it's illegal to put baby seats on motorbikes - though goodness knows Sarah would be up for it! :)
Hmmm ....... I suppose I can give you a lift as long as Sarah doesn't want to drive again. :laughing:
stephanie73
30-10-2007, 10:10
Hello
Can I come too please! I have just joined BH today. I recently moved to Graceville, have a 1 year old son and would like to start taking him to playgroup and meet other mums. Am also very keen to meet some of the other westside mothers.
Pauline70
30-10-2007, 19:34
Hello
Can I come too please! I have just joined BH today. I recently moved to Graceville, have a 1 year old son and would like to start taking him to playgroup and meet other mums. Am also very keen to meet some of the other westside mothers.
Yes, no problem stephanie73 :) - I'll PM you the details of our meet up on Friday 2 November.
Pauline
SilverStarfish
05-11-2007, 20:10
Hello Ladies :wave:
For one of our next meets, Nic said she'd volunteer her house - she has a pool!!! :smiliedance: Ironically, being in the water is the only place I don't feel like a whale at the moment.
Everyone bring a plate or BYO meat for a bbq? I'll bump this to her and she'll explain more.
She's a bit busy at the moment, sewing Sarah another funky new nappy :D :D :D :D
RaryGirl
05-11-2007, 20:56
Happy to have everyone over here .... thought we could either all bring a plate for morning tea or meat and have a bbq lunch.
What do you all prefer?
Pauline70
06-11-2007, 20:01
Hey Nic - that's a great idea! Thanks for volunteering :) I'm happy to do either - just advise what date suits you and we'll be there.
Pauline
Ditto for me and my giant bub.
RaryGirl
06-11-2007, 21:12
What about Friday week then .... 16th November.
Does everyone prefer a bbq or morning tea?
SilverStarfish
06-11-2007, 21:25
I don't mind BBQ or morning tea, but time-wise, Sarah usually has a nap about lunchtime so she's more sociable in the mornings :)
So I guess that makes it a morning tea vote for me!
Morning tea for me too.
That day would be fine.
Does any of the other 30+ SS Brissy Mum's want to meet up this Friday at the usual spot?
SilverStarfish
06-11-2007, 21:30
I can't make this Friday, but I'll be at the next one :)
Pauline70
07-11-2007, 09:06
Morning tea on 16th works for me :) - Charlotte normally gets a bit feral if she doesn't have a lunchtime nap :mad:
Thanks again for volunteering Nic - just let us know what we need to bring along foodwise.
madjedjjlill
07-11-2007, 09:51
hi all:wave: can't wait till my bub is here so I can come 2 these play dates sounds like u and ur little ones all had a ball
No need to wait! You are more than welcome to come along. I don't think any one will be going this friday though.
RaryGirl
07-11-2007, 10:24
No need to wait! You are more than welcome to come along. I don't think any one will be going this friday though.
Sorry I can't make this Friday. :(
We'll make next Friday a morning tea (so all our little munckins can have a nap after) .... say around 10ish. I'll PM everyone the address .... coming so far:
Becs999
Pauline70
Faeml
Me
Anyone else interested in joining us?
SilverStarfish
07-11-2007, 11:50
Like Bec said - come along! The more the merrier. It would be lovely to see you again :)
RaryGirl
07-11-2007, 11:54
Shall I add your name to the list coming next Friday? :D
Hi there - new to Bub Hub but would love to meet up on Fridays with my two and a half year old son. Have just moved to Mount Gravatt East and have no friends with kids so my little one gets a bit lonely - can i join you next time? Jan
Pauline70
12-11-2007, 19:39
Hey MGEmum :wave:
We'd love to have you join us - I've sent you a PM :)
I am 'newish' to bubhub, 30 something and a sahm to a 15 mth old boy. I see from postings that you meet up on Fridays - we currently do something on fridays but would really like to find mums/bubs in our area as we are new to this part of town - Sinnamon Park - , so if there is anyone else out there, free for play dates, coffee and a chat let me know, I would love to hear from you.
Winie
I hope everyone has a nice time tomorrow. Don't worry about me with my respiratory infection at home with ds and his gastro and bronchialitis, we'll be fine :( *sniff sniff*
SilverStarfish
15-11-2007, 09:02
:hugs: That sounds nasty! I hope you are all feeling better very soon!
TwoLittleLadybugs
15-11-2007, 15:10
Are you all meeting up same place as last time?? What time? Miss Y and I will be there.
Pauline70
15-11-2007, 16:18
Hi Tina
I've sent you a PM regarding tomorrow.
Pauline
Nic71 sent me here.
My name is Peta and I live in Kingston. I would love to join in on your get togethers if you'll have me.
kel2boys
20-11-2007, 23:20
Hey Ladies
I am from Southside and have 2 boys, DS1 is 4 1/2 and DS 2 is 8 1/2 months.
I would love to meet up with some mums and kiddies.
I have just read your thread and it sounds like you all have a great time!!!
When is your next meet???
RaryGirl
20-11-2007, 23:24
Our group is growing! Our next meet is Friday week, but I think Pauline might be going to "our place" this week ... just wait and I'm sure she'll let you know tomorrow. :thumbsup:
Pauline70
21-11-2007, 15:25
Hi Ladies :wave:
II'm planning to head to our "place" this week (23rd). DD is having withdrawal symptoms and we drove past it today and she recognised it - was unhappy that I kept driving too! :hissy: I've PM'd all who have enquired with details. Hope you can make it, otherwise we'll probably be organising something for 30th November.
mumwiththree
21-11-2007, 16:30
Hi all, I'm relatively new to Brissie, well, sort of. We moved here from Perth in Jan of this year, so it has almost been a year, so I don't know if you could still call us new.
I have met up twice with another group of Mum's but found that apart from one other Mum who was 30, we were the oldest. The others are in early 20's.
I'm not quite 30 yet, but will be 12 days before bub #3 is due on the 16th of Feb. My bd is 4th.
I live in Warner, near Strathpine, so I don't know if it's anywhere near any of you. But if it's too far, would love just to chat.
Does anyone have older kids as well. My oldest is 11, then I have a 4yr old then, as I have said, I am due to give birth in Feb. Would love to meet more people with older kids for my sons sake.
Pauline70
21-11-2007, 17:04
Hi mumwithtwo :wave:
Most of the people responding on this thread are from s/south Brisbane - Warner would be a good 50 minute drive from us. I know that there was a northside thread just a week or two ago, so maybe check that. Or the Playgroup Section.
We would be happy for you to join us, but I think it would be a bit of a hike for you unless we organised city outings. I know how hard it can be just trying to find a group, let along trying to find people around our age (which might I add is a great age, I wouldn't go backwards for anything :no:) Best of luck :)
madjedjjlill
22-11-2007, 02:12
hi all :wave: have been so busy an tired waiting for this baby to arrive that i have been a bit slack on bub hub but can't wait 2 catch up with everyone soon
take care Dayna
Just wanted to say a big thanks for the warm welcome - really enjoyed myself this morning despite having to cuddle away tears from time to time..look forward to seeing you all again soon. Jan
Pauline70
30-11-2007, 18:32
Just wanted to say a big thanks for the warm welcome - really enjoyed myself this morning despite having to cuddle away tears from time to time..look forward to seeing you all again soon. Jan
Hey Jan
We're glad you came, it was lovely to meet you and Tyler - we seem to have a really nice group of ladies so the thread has been well worth it :) see you in a fortnight!
kel2boys
30-11-2007, 23:14
Thanks for the PM Pauline.............
I have been really busy lately so if it's ok with you all can I take raincheck on meeting you all til after xmas. :xmas:
Sounds like you all have a great time together!
Thanks Kellie
P.S I do really need some RL adult conversations LOL :ecomcity:
SilverStarfish
30-11-2007, 23:23
I completely forgot for say I couldn't make it today... oops!
On the upside, we're counting down the final days until we meet our new baby! She's being delivered on the 5th December :smiliedance: I can't wait!
So I'll have some special 'show and tell' for the 14th :laughing:
Todays the dayfor Wendy, good luck I hope everything goes smoothly. :smiliedance:
RaryGirl
05-12-2007, 13:31
Todays the dayfor Wendy, good luck I hope everything goes smoothly. :smiliedance:
Still waiting! She's been bumped ..... so fingers crossed I'll get that SMS soon! :fingerscrossed:
I just read Nic71's new signature!!
AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!
Congratulations!!!
:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
PS. I'm doing an MCN sewing class on 15/12!
RaryGirl
05-12-2007, 15:32
I just read Nic71's new signature!!
AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!
Congratulations!!!
:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
PS. I'm doing an MCN sewing class on 15/12!
Thanks so much Bec .... just keep your fingers crossed for me that this baby sticks with me for another 8 months!
Oh you'll have a ball at the class - I'm hooked, love making them - it seems I visit Bek at least once a week for something :o. Wendy was hoping to do the class too .... but she wants to see how today goes and how she is feeling first.
Hey Nic,
I did notice your new signature but wasn't sure I should mention it yet, I was going to say something at the Xmas party get together BUT now that it's been mentioned already.......CONGRATULATIONS!!! I have my fingers crossed for a very sticky baby.
Any word on Wendy????
RaryGirl
05-12-2007, 20:12
Wendy finally had her little girl at 3:55pm this afternoon .... and I must say she is beautiful! So tiny .... you forget how tiny they can be (not mine though :rolleyes:). And of course I come back from the hospy even more clucky!
Thanks for the congrat's ..... didn't make a big announcement ..... I'm so worried, I really just want this one to stick it out.
I really enjoyed meeting up with you all last week and was wondering if anyone is going to be "there" tomorrow?
Peta.
RaryGirl
06-12-2007, 20:50
Sorry I won't be there .... last day of school for my DD at 10am :rolleyes: .... so no use me going anywhere.
Pauline70
07-12-2007, 18:41
Big Congratulations to Wendy and her new little addition:yelclap: Can't wait to see them! We've just had a few days down the Coast and it was soooooo lovely.
Anyway, I'll PM all as a reminder for our Xmas M/Tea this week. :tree:
Have a great weekend
Pauline
Thanks Pauline for hosting our Xmas morning tea. :xmastree:
I hope everyone has a great Chrissie and that Santa shows you all with gifts. C U in January sometime :xmas:
SilverStarfish
14-12-2007, 22:18
:xmastree: Thanks Pauline for letting us all invade for the morning!
Let's see what I can leave behind next week! This time I managed to forget Sarah's shoes and teddy bear. Fortunately we have spares of the bear :)
You remembered your gorgeous little baby though - you could have left her behind, we wouldn't have mind :)
Yep - thanks Pauline for use of you house.
Thanks everyone for the yummy food :D
RaryGirl
15-12-2007, 07:44
:xmastree: Thanks Pauline for letting us all invade for the morning!
Let's see what I can leave behind next week! This time I managed to forget Sarah's shoes and teddy bear. Fortunately we have spares of the bear :)
Oh you are a dag!
Thanks for a great morning .... sorry about my "sensitive" little man and he kept his "sensitive" mood up until bedtime last night ..... joy oh joy. :confused:
Oh .... forgot to add, everyone is welcome over at my place next Friday morning if you are interested .... from 9:30am.
I'd be interested this Friday.
Hopefully we make it this time...no more hospital visits. :fingerscrossed:
Peta
RaryGirl
19-12-2007, 08:33
Oh ... I'm going to have to cancel Friday .... really, really sorry!!!! I've just got too much I have to get done before rellies arrive on the week-end .... so it will have to be in the new year for me now ... :o
Not a problem.
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all. :noel:
Pauline70
20-12-2007, 19:44
Hi Ladies :)
It's been great to meet you and your bubs this year. Looking forward to catching up early January 2008.
Have a wonderful Xmas :xmastree: and happy and healthy 2008 :party:
Snap - has been really great to meet you all. Merry Christmas everyone and Happy New Year.. lets hope that the TTCs :fingerscrossed: become :bfp: :smiliedance:before too long - might even join you!! ;) Jan
It's been great to meet you and your bubs this year. Looking forward to catching up early January 2008.
Have a wonderful Xmas and happy and healthy 2008
Hope you all had a very merry and safe christmas and a very happy new year tonight. :party:
Are there any plans yet for meets in the new year? Or are we all too busy with kids on school holidays.
Peta.
Pauline70
02-01-2008, 12:56
Hope you all had a very merry and safe christmas and a very happy new year tonight. :party:
Are there any plans yet for meets in the new year? Or are we all too busy with kids on school holidays.
Peta.
Happy New Year Peta (and all the other 30-somethings!)
I'm happy to do something on Friday 18th January, but can't do anything sooner as I'm doing a full week at work from 7-11 Jan, then the following Mon-Tues.
I'll PM people to see what they'd like to do early week beginning 14th :)
I do want to steer clear of our usual "place" until school holidays are finished though ;)
I hope you all had a lovely Christmas. We had a small gathering at home this year but it was lovely. Jacson got spoilt, he slept for 2 hours during lunch so I could enjoy myself. (his little christmas pressie to his mummy.)
New Years Eve was also a quiet one, I did however go to Baskins in Mt Gravatt and have a double scoop chocolate mousse ice cream YUM!
BUT now it's time for me to be good. I am on a health kick :rolleyes: again. I need to lose weight, I am aiming for at least 10kgs. I am heading back to the gym tonight, I belong to AJ's.
If any of you guys want to join me, it would help heaps with the motivation. I will be going at night about 7 - 7.30pm. :smiliedance:
Jacson and I are happy to start getting back together with you all so whenever everyone is ready to catch up, we will be there.
see you soon.
Nicolin :D
Hello :wave:
I would love to meet up. Tell me when and where and I'm there.
I go back to work full time from 29/1 though :crying:
We had the family here for Chrissy, James got thoroughly spoiled from his grandparents as expected. For new year we stayed at home and watched Shrek 3. I fell asleep half way through though and was tucked up in bed fast asleep around 10pm. :o
Pauline70
02-01-2008, 18:27
I go back to work full time from 29/1 though :crying:
Bec - what are we going to do without you from Feb??? Does DF work on weekends?, my DH works on Sundays and I'm always up for a coffee and a chat if you're free.
RaryGirl
06-01-2008, 18:56
We have to have a meet up soon .... I'm dragging Jen (Veve) along as well and she's due to pop out her second bubba at the end of this month .... so we have to catch up before she pops. :laughing:
So when are we all free? And where do you want to meet?
Pauline70
06-01-2008, 19:52
I'm not free now till Wed 16th Jan. DH says I'll be one :mad: lady by Friday this week. Haven't worked full-time for about 18 months (oh, not including being a full-time mum :yes:) so it will be interesting. I'll arrange a PM to all for a meet up on 18th January, but if you do one prior to that have a great time!
PS - I can do Sunday mornings if anyone is free.
RaryGirl
06-01-2008, 20:15
Ok. 18th suits me fine! We'll be there - just let us know where.
SilverStarfish
06-01-2008, 21:28
18th is good for me too :yes:
Yep - good for me too. Don't know when the next one will be for me as I'm going back to full time work on 29 Jan :hissy:
Hi - I would love to catch up - am free this Friday or next - Would offer my place, but have a lack of chairs!! Will wait for your PM Pauline. See you all soon.
I am having a get together at my place this sat @ 10am if anyone wants to come over. Email me at petazx6@msn.com if you want more details.
Pauline70
11-01-2008, 20:15
Just wanted to see if anyone had any suggestions for places we can go this Friday 18th. If so, please PM me but I'd like to avoid "our usual" place because of school holidays.
Peta - sorry I can't make it Saturday as I work from 9am-2pm.
4kids4me
12-01-2008, 14:52
Hi everyone I'm a mum of 4 and have a loving hubby and live southside of Brissie:D
I'm looking to meet new friends and of course catch up with new people:smiliedance:
Well i am going to start exploring this site...catch you all soon...
ME 32
DH 41
Prince 1 12yrs
Prince 2 10yrs
Prince 3 8mths
and Princess 6yrs
Hello 4Kids4Me - we look foward to meeting you at our next get together :)
Bec - what are we going to do without you from Feb??? Does DF work on weekends?, my DH works on Sundays and I'm always up for a coffee and a chat if you're free.
Yep - weekends are free :D (with the exception of the housework)
I have no suggestions of where to met and this will be my last one for the forseeable future :( Can someone make a suggestion???
RaryGirl
12-01-2008, 20:26
What about a park? One where the kids aren't going to be able to run out onto the road :laughing:
I dont suppose there is a park out there that is/ has
*fenced
*padded on all the equipment
*padded on the ground
*has heaps of shade
*caffinated beverages served to your seat???
*free supervisers to ensure that all children share, and play nicely??
:laughing: I can dream .. cant I ??
Jen
There's the cafe in Oxley with the kiddy area. I don't know how good the kiddy area is seeing as though DS hasn't sussed it out yet but the coffee's not bad and they can nuke a bottle for me if required. (I can PM you the web site - I don't think we're allowed to post it.) I know it's not ideal for some though so if anyone can suggest anywhere else...
you mean the Its About Cafe???
its looks lovely - I didn't know that it existed!!
Jen
RaryGirl
12-01-2008, 21:29
Looks great to me! I'm in!
Yep - I've been there a few times. It's a nice enough cafe but at the back of the cafe is a room for toddlers.
(It's also a nice little walk for me and James - well me, James gets pushed obviously)
RaryGirl
12-01-2008, 21:34
Bec do you know if we can book ahead?
I can ring and ask tomorrow and get a table reserved if possible. That's probably a good idea as it's not the biggest place. I just need to know approximately how many and what time.
you might want to mention the number of kids too :laughing:
I think their site said a limit of 10 at a time in the room???
Jen
you might want to mention the number of kids too :laughing:
I think their site said a limit of 10 at a time in the room???
Jen
I was just thinking that...
I'll send a PM to get numbers.
RaryGirl
12-01-2008, 21:43
Can we just make it a little later than our normal catch up time? I finish work 1/2 hour after our normal meet up time, so I could head over then.
Don't want to spell out what time we meet ... you never know who reads these things :laughing: ....
I think so, usual time minus half an hour it is.
I'm just in the process of sending a PM to everyone to get numbers. Please let me know if you don't get a PM from me. :)
I think so, usual time minus half an hour it is.
I'm just in the process of sending a PM to everyone to get numbers. Please let me know if you don't get a PM from me. :)
umm Nic said 1/2 hour LATER .. not earlier .. :confused:
I dont mind .. I'm just happy to be out and about with other people who have kids again .. sigh .. gotta love maternity leave
Jen
Would anyone mind if I invited a friend along. I met her on another forum and she is the loveliest person.
She isn't quite 30 something but she has a beautiful 4mth old baby girl.
Not a problem if anyone has an issue with it, just thought I'd ask.
Peta.
umm Nic said 1/2 hour LATER .. not earlier .. :confused:
I dont mind .. I'm just happy to be out and about with other people who have kids again .. sigh .. gotta love maternity leave
Jen
doh! :doh:
*note to self, read things properly!*
I'll send another PM.
AbbyJ - no worries :)
SilverStarfish
13-01-2008, 00:09
Liability insurance and all that crud aside, doesn't that sound like a lovely business opportunity? Imagine a place with a garden that you could sit at a picnic table where a waiter would bring you as much caffinated beverages as you like, while your kids scooted about in a supervised (padded!) playground...
RaryGirl
13-01-2008, 08:08
Liability insurance and all that crud aside, doesn't that sound like a lovely business opportunity? Imagine a place with a garden that you could sit at a picnic table where a waiter would bring you as much caffinated beverages as you like, while your kids scooted about in a supervised (padded!) playground...
I'm looking forward to going ..... maybe Sam will not be as "sensitive" and enjoy the padded cell. :laughing:
Can the waiters also bring glasses of wine????? :D
Pauline70
15-01-2008, 20:41
Bec - thanks for organising something for Friday. Charlotte has had a very off couple of weeks and we ended up having chest X-rays and starting yet more antibiotics last week. I'm off to the doctor again Thursday and will only head over on Friday if:
a. she is in a good mood, and
b. most importantly - she's not contagious (sp?)
Looking forward to seeing you all again and meeting the ladies and bubs we haven't yet :)
Hey Pauline - Hope she is feeling better soon.
Will have to catch you all next time as the meet is a bit late for Tyler as he is always tired after his swimming in the morning and takes his daytime sleep earlier than usual on a Friday. Have fun and see you next time.
Pauline70
17-01-2008, 14:44
We won't be able to make it tomorrow as I want to give Charlotte a bit longer to recover and not take her out too much at the moment. Plus this weather is so sticky that I'm thoroughly enjoying staying at home in the air conditioning :D :yes:
I'll PM everyone next week to see if any interest in a m/tea at my place for Friday 25th (Bec, we HAVE to get 1 more in before you return to work!).
I won't be able to make 25/1 :hissy:
We're going away on a little holiday next week and we will get back in the afternoon of Thurs 24th so I expect we will be tired and busy unpacking (we're camping).
I'm in the process of looking for a new job that's 4 days/week so I'll have some time to do mummy things.
SilverStarfish
17-01-2008, 22:48
I can do the 25 :)
Hope Charlotte's feeling better!
Are we still on for today?
I"m going :laughing: so I hope SOMEONE else turns up :yes:
Jen
great, I'll be there, so at least I won't be on my own either! :laughing:
nope - we can at LEAST have a coffee together :laughing:
JEn
RaryGirl
18-01-2008, 08:38
I'll be there ..... since I'm driving Veve I guess I better go! :laughing:
hey all .. just a quick thanks for a lovely meet today :D
I"m hopeless with introducing myself .. (sigh) .. so thanks becs999 and AbbyJ for the lovely company (and Faeml and Nic71 for the car convoy!!) even though I didn't SAY who I was .. *der*..
I loved that cafe .. and would be keen to meet there again ..
(I cant make the 25th meet .. will be busy with the baby ... :laughing:)
Jen
RaryGirl
18-01-2008, 16:41
Oh I loved the Cafe too! I'd love to go there again .... I'll be away for the 25th meet, but let me know about the one after ....
Nice to see you all again and have some adult conversation (DS isn't much of a conversationalist). I hope I can find a new part time job or even pursue my own business like I mentioned so I can do more mummy things like today. :D
Pauline70
21-01-2008, 21:02
Hi Ladies :)
I've PM'd details of morning tea at my place Friday 25th January. Please let me know if I've missed sending you details! Hope to see you all then. It's been a long time since the last meet-up for me :yes:
Ooops - I really am losing it at the moment - have just realised that I have friends coming up from Adelaide for the long weekend that arrive at 9.40am on Friday!! Sorry ladies - it will have to be next time.... Not even sure how I am going to make it from Tyler's swimming to the airport in time - eeek....!
SilverStarfish
24-01-2008, 08:09
I'll have to play it by ear on Friday... it will depend a lot on how tonight goes.
We've had a couple of rough nights in a row, and if the girls (and me!!) are as zonked tomorrow as we're feeling this morning, then I think it would be best to keep our grumpiness home to ourselves :laughing:
Sorry girls, I'm gonna have to cancel coming tomorrow, hubby just said we are going to dreamworld.
will be at the next one.
Pauline70
24-01-2008, 20:26
Hi Ladies - I hope someone shows tomorrow as we are really missing the company :yes:
I'll arrange a meet for 8th Feb unless anyone would like to do one sooner.
Bec - are you interested in us setting up a Sunday morning tea shortly? Let me know what dates suit you. All Sundays are good for me :)
SilverStarfish
24-01-2008, 23:22
I should be able to make it :)
SilverStarfish
26-01-2008, 15:11
Thanks Pauline for letting us invade again :) I'm sorry Sarah was so intent on taking your house apart! :laughing: She's such a little cyclone some days!
RaryGirl
26-01-2008, 15:14
I aim to be at the next one! I'd love to go to that cafe again .... it was fantastic!
SilverStarfish
26-01-2008, 15:18
It was!! That playroom was the best $10 I've spent in ages :laughing: I got to eat without sharing!
And they don't mind if your kids are messy or make a noise - cos everyone's in the same boat. The food was a good price as well.
Access to a change table or the toilets from inside the building would have been nice though. It was a bit of a trek around the building and even then there was a queue for the one toilet.
Still, it was a great morning :flowerz:
Pauline70
26-01-2008, 19:37
Ok - our next meet will have to be at that cafe - I'm curious to try it out now!
Is everyone happy to aim for Friday 8th February?
Bec, are they open on Sundays? Can anyone else do a Sunday morning if so?
RaryGirl
26-01-2008, 20:17
I can do the 8th .... or even the 1st if anyone is interested.
:crying: You're going without me :(
I can do a Sunday
RaryGirl
26-01-2008, 20:28
:crying: You're going without me :(
I can do a Sunday
I'll try to do a Sunday to catch up with you too. :yes:
:smiliedance::smiliedance:
SilverStarfish
26-01-2008, 21:04
I could do a Sunday too :yes:
I have a suggestion for a get together. Seeing as we are 30+ we lived through possibly the greatest decade for music ever, yep, I'm talking about the 80s. :D On Sunday 30 March there is the V Festival on the Gold Coast in which one of the greatest bands of the 80s will be playing... How do you feel about coming along to see...
DURAN DURAN!
Dust off your ra-ra skirt and bring out your "Choose Life" t-shirt. Daggy dancing is a must :yes: (Why is it that as soon as you hit 30 you completely lose the ability to dance?)
Tickets cost about $140.00 (a lot I know but come on, it is DURAN DURAN!!!)
There are lots of other bands playing and you can check it all out at ticketmaster.
I don't plan on moshing - not really my thing so it will all be sedate and respectful as us 30+ ladies are (with the exception of the daggy dancing and lots of wolf whistling).
Please please please let's come along :D
RaryGirl
26-01-2008, 21:29
Oh dear!
Duran Duran must have been the only daggy 80's band I didn't like. :laughing: which is saying something considering I loved Boy George. :o
Pauline70
27-01-2008, 16:11
Bec - I LOVE Duran Duran. I saw them in Brissie before I had Charlotte. They were great - I was 5 rows from front and I still have a massive crush on Simon Le Bon :laughing: However ticket price is a bit steep for me and DH works Sundays so I can't go :hissy:
However, if Duran Duran do their own concert in Brisbane I will let you know as I have at least 2 friends who will also come along.
Anyway - Sunday meet at the cafe - is it possible? and what day suits you best so we can all see you again??
Nic - sorry I can't do 1st Feb as I'm already booked, but will still do PM for 8th if anyone's interested.
RaryGirl
27-01-2008, 19:23
I'm interested in the 8th! And hopefully we can drag Jen along with new baby Alex too.
Pauline70
27-01-2008, 19:28
I'm interested in the 8th! And hopefully we can drag Jen along with new baby Alex too.
Ooohhh sounds good - more bubs for me to be clucky over :D
SilverStarfish
27-01-2008, 21:40
Sounds good :yes:
I'm up for the 8th too (don't think I've forgotten any prior commitments this time :fingerscrossed:)
Are we back to the usual place as the schools have gone back??
Can't do Sundays though as DH is home...
Hi Guys :wave:
I'm sick of being a "Nigel-No-Friends" & I'm a 30 something mummy in South Brisbane. I know I must qualify, cause I love 80's music & know how to daggy dance :laughing:
Can I please gate crash?!?!?!
RaryGirl
29-01-2008, 14:30
Hi Guys :wave:
I'm sick of being a "Nigel-No-Friends" & I'm a 30 something mummy in South Brisbane. I know I must qualify, cause I love 80's music & know how to daggy dance :laughing:
Can I please gate crash?!?!?!
hmmmm ..... suppose we've got room for one more! :laughing:
We'll make sure you are PM'd with the next meet details.
Look forward to meeting you.
staceyyy
04-02-2008, 16:08
where does everyone meet im at logan city my little girl is 2 on the 17th of feb.
Is everyone still meeting up this Friday?
TwoLittleLadybugs
05-02-2008, 19:13
Hi!!
I'm still planning on going to our usual place on friday. Will prob get there at about 10am after yacine's morning nap.
See you there!!
Tina
RaryGirl
05-02-2008, 19:26
I can't go now :no: .... my parents are coming down Thursday night and my mum is spending the day with me while Dad has to work. So I'm going to take her off for a pedicure!
TwoLittleLadybugs
05-02-2008, 19:39
Hi Nic,
Too bad you cant come friday. Not sure who is coming now other than Niki and myself.
Tina
Pauline70
05-02-2008, 19:56
I'm still keen to meet on Friday. I'll PM everyone for meet at our "usual" place. Look forward to seeing you all there :)
I'll be there too with Tyler from about 9.30am onwards... Congratulation Tina - just noticed your signature.
Pauline are you gonna bring a sign for any newcomers like you did last time - its a real help :)
Pauline70
05-02-2008, 20:22
Yeahhh Tina :smiliedance::smiliedance: - didn't notice your signature until I saw Jan's post. Can you touch me Friday for a bit of luck please :D
Jan - I'll put a BubHub sign on the table again as I've PM'd the new ladies on this thread that were interested in coming along.
If I've missed anyone, please let me know. I'm getting over a migraine and have a VERY fuzzy head :dizzy:
allsgood
06-02-2008, 11:13
Hi Was wondering if there was anyone wanting to meet up. I'm in Calamvale (Southside). Baby is not due until 6/3/08 but would like to meet new people. Let me know what you think :smiliedance:
Congratulations Tina, I am really happy for you. :yelclap:
Congratulations Tina.
We will be there Friday. Is it back at the usual place?
TwoLittleLadybugs
06-02-2008, 18:56
Thanks for all the Congratulations!!
and yes its at the "usual" place I think Pauline said she'd get there at about 945am and I am aiming on getting there at about 10am.
Allsgood - You're more than welcome to come along,.. I'll pm you all the details of where we meet and what time. Its always great to meet new mums in our area.
See you all Friday.
staceyyy
07-02-2008, 07:27
I'll be there too with Tyler from about 9.30am onwards... Congratulation Tina - just noticed your signature.
Pauline are you gonna bring a sign for any newcomers like you did last time - its a real help :)
hi why did everyone ignore my post :(:(
TwoLittleLadybugs
07-02-2008, 07:33
Sorry Staceyy,.... didnt meant to ignore you. You are more than welcome to come along to the meet too. If you want to come I'll PM you the details I'm sure the other Mommies wont mind.
staceyyy
07-02-2008, 07:55
thankyou so much for the invite i have to work tomorow i only work 2days aweek so hopefully will get to meet you all soon.
Pauline70
07-02-2008, 16:07
hi why did everyone ignore my post :(:(
I sent you a PM - did you get it :confused: Would never ignore anyone on the thread - as Tina said, it's great to meet new ladies in our area - hope you can come to the next meet :)
Pauline70
07-02-2008, 16:11
Hi Was wondering if there was anyone wanting to meet up. I'm in Calamvale (Southside). Baby is not due until 6/3/08 but would like to meet new people. Let me know what you think :smiliedance:
Hi allsgood :wave:
I'm also at Calamvale. We'd love to have you along. We've got Mums with bubs/toddlers of varying ages. Mums-to-be are most welcome.
I'll send you a PM of the location for Friday - hope you can make it :)
Go on everyone - have a good time without me - just think of me sitting bored at my desk starring at photos of DS. :( :crying:
I'm really sorry, I'm going to have to cancel yet again. Why does everything happen on a friday?
DS has gastro. :barf: Better keep him away from everyone!
staceyyy
08-02-2008, 09:35
hi everyone im bored bored hi abbeyj sorry about your son having gastro hope he gets better soon,i see your at logan city im hopeing to eventually make some new friends near me ohhh my gosh makes me sound so lonely:laughing:
but anyway im at crestmead.
talk soon
Thanks staceyyy, he is feeling much better this evening. Would love to meet you and your DD at one of the gatherings. :thumbsup:
I'm only fairly new to BubHub too and all the girls have been really nice and very welcoming. :yes:
Thanks staceyyy, he is feeling much better this evening. Would love to meet you and your DD at one of the gatherings. :thumbsup:
I'm only fairly new to BubHub too and all the girls have been really nice and very welcoming. :yes:
Ohhh, hope he's feeling better soon. :fingerscrossed:
I had the worst upset tummy last week (it was supposed to be my first day back at work). On Monday afternoon after spending the previous 2 hours vomiting DF called a doctor out to see me. First time in about 30 years I've had a doc come to see me at home (why is it always a public holiday too??)
Don't forget the pedialyte. Dry crackers (eg Jatz) or plain toast are gentle on the tummy too if he can hold anything down.
staceyyy
09-02-2008, 07:36
good morning everyone abbyj have you been to one of the gatherings are they near by?id like to get the courage up to go to one:thumbsup:
Pauline70
09-02-2008, 20:48
Peta - hope DS is feeling a lot better :yes: it's terrible when they get vomits/gastro bugs.
Bec - we missed you Friday - got your text :laughing: did you jinx us on the milkshakes?? Now you can only get 2 tea/coffees on Fridays for the admission price. If you want a milkshake you only get 1 drink - I felt thoroughly ripped off :p gosh I'm cheap considering you get 2 cappucino's for $3. Please let us know when you are free to catch up on a weekend.
staceyyy - hope you can come to our next meet - you don't need any courage, just come along and have a great time with the fabulous ladies and bubs :)
Wanting to find out interest for next meet - we have 3 ladies who have February birthdays (that I know of anyway, is there anyone else??). Would be lovely to have a cake for those ladies to say happybirthday. Let me know if 22nd February suits.
staceyyy
10-02-2008, 07:47
hi pauline do you all normally meet up on a weekend as thurs and fridays are out for me at this time.:yes:
Pauline70
10-02-2008, 14:35
hi pauline do you all normally meet up on a weekend as thurs and fridays are out for me at this time.:yes:
We haven't done a weekend meet yet - but I'm happy to do a Sunday morning if anyone is interested?? Are there any free dates that people want to nominate?
Wanting to find out interest for next meet - we have 3 ladies who have February birthdays (that I know of anyway, is there anyone else??). Would be lovely to have a cake for those ladies to say happybirthday. Let me know if 22nd February suits.
I would love to be there, but will have to wait and see as I have an interview on Friday morning for that job I was telling you about.. fingers crossed and then I have to decide if I want it :confused: so I may be WORKING:geek:
good morning everyone abbyj have you been to one of the gatherings are they near by?id like to get the courage up to go to one:thumbsup:
staceyyy, I have only managed to get to two so far. Everyone is really friendly, so if you can make it to one, I would definately recommend coming along. I am free most Tues and Wed if you would like to meet for a coffee though. I usually go to the hippy dome, browns or garden city.
Pauline, we should be there on the 22nd, so long as we get rid of this damn gastro.
DS has had it for a week now and I have had it for 5 days. Went to the DR yesterday and he told me to just not eat at all :( and only dry crackers, toast and gastrolyte for the boy. Have to get a sample (from DS) today to make sure it isn't anything more sinister, yuck.
I am so over washing sheets and I am so thankful that I have heaps of mattress protectors for DS's bed!
OK, whinge over.
RaryGirl
14-02-2008, 10:27
I'd love to come to the next meet .... can we please meet at the cafe instead of the usual place? Sam just doesn't do well with all the noise there .... but he did ok at the cafe, especially the playroom. And I know Wendy really enjoyed having a meal all to herself too! :yes:
Anyone interested in a Sunday bbq at a park? (Hubbies welcome - we will need someone to cook!)
I was thinking Sunday 2 March.
There is the RiverRocks park which is kind of near me. If there's enough interested I will go and check it out and tell you exactly what facilities are there. (From memory there's childrens swings, seats, bbqs etc).
Alternatively we could meet for a Sunday breaky at the cafe??? (Excuse to pig out.)
SilverStarfish
15-02-2008, 08:53
I'll have to check my calender (I'm on DH's computer at the moment as our network is on the blink again :banghead:) but I just wanted to add my two cents that Rocks Riverside Park is an awesome place for kids, esp older ones :thumbsup:
That's the day before my birthday too! Also my MIL's birthday.... so I may be busy that day.
And now I have to go and get Sarah out of the bath. She's having a bath a 9am on a Friday morning for reasons that are just to horrible to burden you with this early in the day :dizzy::mad: :(
That's the day before my birthday too! Also my MIL's birthday.... so I may be busy that day.
Then we will need to eat cake. :D
I can't make it to the 22nd meet :(, I'll be in NSW visiting my parents. And having a much needed break, :smiliedance:Jacson is so little yet such a handful some days.
happybirthday to all the Feb ladies, I am turning thirty so I am finally a legal member of this thread :laughing:.
Hope everyone has a great time, sorry I am missing the cake!!
Pauline70
15-02-2008, 16:25
I'd love to come to the next meet .... can we please meet at the cafe instead of the usual place? Sam just doesn't do well with all the noise there .... but he did ok at the cafe, especially the playroom. And I know Wendy really enjoyed having a meal all to herself too! :yes:
I'm happy to give the cafe a go for the 22nd :yes: I'll PM all next week to advise all the details.
Sorry you can't make it Nicolin, we'll eat some cake for you though :laughing:
Bec - thanks for the suggestion of 2nd March, I'll see what we're up to and get back to you.
Pauline70
15-02-2008, 16:30
Peta - sounds like you're having a terrible time at your place. Hope you and DS get over this bug as quickly as possible. It's horrible for 24 hrs so I can't even imagine what it would be like for 5 days :thumbsdown:
staceyyy - hope you can make it to our meet on 22nd - the cafe I think we'll be heading to is very good by all accounts from the ladies that went to the last meet there :yes:
Bec - I think a Sunday brekky would be a great idea as well, I haven't had a really nice brekky out for ages :no:
oooh ooh did I hear the cafe on the 22nd/?? *drools* .. you mean .. toddler free time .. WITH food ..
oh please .. tell me its true???
Jen
SilverStarfish
15-02-2008, 16:43
And I know Wendy really enjoyed having a meal all to herself too! :yes:
Oh I DID!!! best $10 I've ever spent :laughing:
RaryGirl
15-02-2008, 16:47
oooh ooh did I hear the cafe on the 22nd/?? *drools* .. you mean .. toddler free time .. WITH food ..
oh please .. tell me its true???
Jen
It's true! :yes:
So I take that means there will be at least 3 of us there on the 22nd! :laughing:
Hey guys - does anyone live close to the cafe???
another hubber mentioned to me today that she went to the cafe ... and the ladies said that it was shutting????
I would hate to dress (fight) .. brush teeth (fight) load into the car (fight) .. drive (fight) .. unload the car (fight) the kids ... and then find out its shut ...
is it still open for business/?
I tried to ring them - at lunch time today (wed) and got the machine???
Jen
Noooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
:crying:
We noticed it was closed both saturday and sunday morning but thought may be a one off.
*gets down on bended knees*
Please pleae please please please please please please don't let it be true :(
SilverStarfish
20-02-2008, 13:35
What??? Closing? :( Nooooo they only just opened!! They can't be that cruel to us. :crying:
Do we have a backup plan???
RaryGirl
20-02-2008, 14:01
Oh ... I hope not! :hissy:
We all need to go there every day to support the business. :yes: Eat lots of cake too.
RaryGirl
20-02-2008, 15:22
We all need to go there every day to support the business. :yes: Eat lots of cake too.
Now that would be such a hardship to do that! lol :laughing:
Pauline70
21-02-2008, 07:44
Sorry I haven't been on this week to PM everyone about a catch-up on 22nd. Work's been busy - home's been busy :hair:
I now have a commitment on Friday that I can't get out of so can't come along to anything.
Hope the cafe isn't closing down - haven't even had the chance to go there yet :hissy:
I'll see how next Friday 29th Feb looks for me - if anyone else is free let me know.
Don't think we'll be able to come tomorrow. I'm sick again. :mad:
Should be able to make it on the 29th though.
RaryGirl
21-02-2008, 20:55
So who is actually coming tomorrow? Is it just me, Jen and Wendy?
Are you meeting at the cafe or at the "usual"?
If it's at the usual I might be able to come for a little while.
RaryGirl
22-02-2008, 07:53
We're going to meet at the cafe today ... around 10am?
DS is sick so will not make it today - but would love to catch up next week to celebrate my birthday and also cos its the last one for me for a while as I got the job I was going for and will be full-time for the next four months!! So it will be my last time until JULY!!:eek:
thanks. A bit too far for me today I'm afraid, but we should be ok for next week if a meet is on.
Have a nice time at the cafe.
RaryGirl
22-02-2008, 08:03
Ok ... if it's just Wendy, Jen and I we might make other arrangements too.
Hopefully get a chance to catch up with everyone next week.
SilverStarfish
22-02-2008, 08:09
Oh I can't believe I forgot :o
I'll have to make it another day too...
Pauline70
22-02-2008, 09:14
DS is sick so will not make it today - but would love to catch up next week to celebrate my birthday and also cos its the last one for me for a while as I got the job I was going for and will be full-time for the next four months!! So it will be my last time until JULY!!:eek:
:yelclap: well done Jan. Extra $$ always come in handy. OK, so we'll definitely have to catch up next week and it seems to suit more of us anyway. I'm just heading out the door for my appointment, I have been way too busy this week (I need a Berocca :goodvibes:)
At least we know we're getting some cake next week Jan :D
Ladies, should we try the cafe or would you like to meet at someone's house instead?
I'm afraid we had it confirmed that the cafe in Oxley has been closed :hissy: Such a shame. If I'd known it wasn't good for them I'd have posted a message on BH letting other people know about the little oasis.
As there hasn't been much response to my suggestion of a bbq/picnic next Sunday I guess nothing will be happening with that either. :(
That's such a shame, Angus really enjoyed going there and I thought it was a great idea.
Sorry, sunday's not good for me.
Is anyone going to the "usual" on Friday? If you are, do you mind if I invite a friend? She's not quite a 30-something but she does have a really cute 5 mth old DD.
Peta.
RaryGirl
25-02-2008, 20:10
Oh the cafe was wonderful and the ladies running it were fantastic! Didn't make you feel guilty because your child had made a mess!
I'd love to catch up, but I can't do our "usual" place, it's just not worth the grief for us ... DS just doesn't do well with the noise and lots of children, so I end up with an upset little man ... so next time you catch up away from there yell out and we'll be there. :yes:
Pauline70
27-02-2008, 09:18
Just checking if anyone is interested in a catchup this Friday 29th?
I can't do my place as DH is home under the weather and want to give him some peace and quiet (for a change :laughing:).
Happy to do usual place, or alternatively if anyone knows anyplace nice somewhere for coffee (oh and Birthday Cake for Jan :)). Please let me know if you are interested.
Bec, do you want to organise a Sunday morning breakfast? I'll put my hand up now to say we'll be there.
I am hoping to be there tomorrow. Angus was sick yesterday, but seems much better today, so hopefully fine by tomorrow.
I am fine going wherever.
Ikea have a kids play area, you put the kids in there for up to 1hr for free and can have coffee or lunch in the restaurant upstairs and/or have a look through. They only take kids from 3 yrs though, so it won't suit everyone. I take Angus there every few weeks and he loves it.
The only other place I thought of is coffee club at the hyperdome. They have the kids play area close by, so we could have coffee and cake and watch the kids. I was there on Monday and it wasn't too busy then.
Pauline70
28-02-2008, 13:50
AbbyJ - we haven't much response to a meet for the 29th so perhaps we should leave it till the following Friday 7th March, that way Angus will be fully recovered and wanting to play.
I have some errands I can run tomorrow if I have a spare day so unless we get an influx of ladies saying they are OK to come along, then maybe we should just arrange to meet next Friday at our "usual" place. What do you think?
Bec, do you want to organise a Sunday morning breakfast? I'll put my hand up now to say we'll be there.
Yes! Not sure when though. Anyone have any preferences? Sunday 30 March is good for me.
oooh sunday breakfast .. my FAVOURITE meal to eat out .. mmmmmm
best still - I can leave the TODDLER with my hubby .. and just bring the newborn .. ahhh sweet sweet - bacon all to myself ..
Jen
SilverStarfish
01-03-2008, 18:54
Ooo ditto!! Toddler free eating... ahh bliss :iagree:
We could bring hubbies too if you want :)
Pauline70
01-03-2008, 20:31
Mmmm - I can smell the bacon already :p Sunday 30th March sounds good to me. Can't bring hubby as he is working but Charlotte and I will be there. Not sure where to suggest as we usually do Coffee Club or similar (that is a million years ago when we actually had breakfast out :laughing:)
Just let me know the venue - will be good to catch up again!
Pauline70
09-03-2008, 20:56
Just thought I'd post before our thread ends up over the page :eek:
If anyone would like a meet on a Friday - please PM to let me know and we'll discuss when and where......
Otherwise, Bec, can we put you in charge of organising a Sunday brekky as I am lovin' bacon big time at the moment :yes:
Hope to see you all soon :)
Otherwise, Bec, can we put you in charge of organising a Sunday brekky as I am lovin' bacon big time at the moment :yes:
:D Happy to.
I need some input from other though, can people please respond yah or nah to the following...
(Note: New people very welcome :wave: )
Date: Sunday 30 March or 13 April
Venue: Cafe, persons house or picnic in park (eg Rocks Riverside Park). A cafe means someone else cooks and cleans, however, we would then have to find a suitable venue unless someone can suggest.
Attendees: Hubbies or no hubbies
My choice is:
Date: either but prefer sooner than later
Venue: picnic in park but ok with others
Attendees: I'm all for hubbies so they can cook and we can palm kiddies off onto them but am happy to go with the majority.
If we go for a brunch in a park do you want to just bring our own or put money in togther and I will get bacon (& veggie bacon), eggs, juice, croissants etc.
SilverStarfish
10-03-2008, 08:47
I'm actually going to be at Rocks Riverside Park this Sunday playing with my band - The Brisbane Municipal Concert Band. (http://www.bmcb.org.au/)It's a free concert, the council organises them in parks across Brisbane every Sunday.
We're playing at lunchtime. It's a community ensemble, no one gets paid.
Ok, shameless plug over ;)
My choice is:
Date: a Sunday would be lovely.
Venue: a park - Riverside would be great as it's not near a road. I wish there were more parks in Brisbane with fences...
Attendees: I think it would do DH great to get out of the house. He'd whinge about it, but have a great time once he arrived... which is what always happens. Men :laughing:
I need some input from other though, can people please respond yah or nah to the following...
Venue: Cafe, persons house or picnic in park (eg Rocks Riverside Park). A cafe means someone else cooks and cleans, however, we would then have to find a suitable venue unless someone can suggest.
My choice is:
Attendees: I'm all for hubbies so they can cook and we can palm kiddies off onto them but am happy to go with the majority.
If we go for a brunch in a park do you want to just bring our own or put money in togther and I will get bacon (& veggie bacon), eggs, juice, croissants etc.
shameless bump :D
RaryGirl
12-03-2008, 10:05
Either date is good for me and I'd prefer a park .... but Wendy might prefer a park without a pond. :p
And if Wendy's hubby is going ... mine will. :laughing:
I can't make this Friday ... I'm having my 18-20 wk scan! :smiliedance:
Ok you want input....
It's Tyler's 3rd birthday on the 31st of March and I was thinking of having a birthday party for him on the Sunday before (30th) I am having it at a great park (without pond) probably about 10am.
There are BBQs there for those that fancy bacon etc....there will obviously also be party food.
So if anyone fancies that - everyone is welcome... just PM me and I will send the address of the park - I did put it here, but then thought I might end up like Corey :laughing:
allsgood
16-03-2008, 08:57
Dont want to sound desperate however .... I would be happy to go anywhere to meet up with some other mums. Does anyone have older children going? I have a 7 yr old who would be happy enough playing but some company would be nice.
Keep me posted (please!) :yelclap:
Pauline70
16-03-2008, 20:36
Hi Allsgood - congrats on your new bub :yelclap:
We haven't had a meet for a while but I'm happy to do one if anyone is interested on Thurs/Fri.
If anyone else can do a meet on one of those days, let me know and I'll organise.
My choice is:
Another shamless bump :o
I need responses if I'm going to organise this!!!
Ok you want input....
It's Tyler's 3rd birthday on the 31st of March and I was thinking of having a birthday party for him on the Sunday before (30th) I am having it at a great park (without pond) probably about 10am.
There are BBQs there for those that fancy bacon etc....there will obviously also be party food.
So if anyone fancies that - everyone is welcome... just PM me and I will send the address of the park - I did put it here, but then thought I might end up like Corey :laughing:
Hello MGEMum - I'm assuming you will have family and friends so I kind of feel we might be gatecrashing a family occassion. :o
SilverStarfish
16-03-2008, 22:29
Either date is good for me and I'd prefer a park .... but Wendy might prefer a park without a pond. :p
And if Wendy's hubby is going ... mine will. :laughing:
I can't make this Friday ... I'm having my 18-20 wk scan! :smiliedance:
Yuh... without a pond would be good. Here's why...
Click 1 (http://www.faeml.com/share/IMG_0038.jpg)
Click 2 (http://www.faeml.com/share/IMG_0043.jpg)
Click 3 (http://www.faeml.com/share/IMG_0057.jpg)
Click 4 (http://www.faeml.com/share/IMG_0058.jpg)
and yes, DH will come if I tell him Nic's is coming too :laughing:
30 March is a week on Sunday.
At the moment it looks like Nic71, Pauline70, Faeml and I (with respective hubbies and kiddies) and will be gatecrashing MGEmum's DS's birthday party. Anyone else? Veve? AbbyJ?
allsgood - you are more than welcome to join. :)