red crayon
08-10-2007, 09:12 AM
Welcome to the new thread :wave:
Chelle123
08-10-2007, 09:14 AM
Thanks red crayon, have a great day!!!
Bo0tifuL
08-10-2007, 10:01 AM
OOOhh i have my GT in an hour :( YUKKYS! see yas later!
nswmum
08-10-2007, 10:09 AM
hi everyone
i really should catch up evryday one whats been written cause now i cant seem to remember what was on the last thread. lol.
Aubrie Clare i think its very feminine and sweet.
widget- i hope DD is feeling better very soon.
with everything thats been going on latley my DF has asked if we can move to forster he got offered a job fishing with his BIL and i got offered a job in there new seafood shop. It would be a nice change not sure about picking up and moving house while im pregnant though but still its a great opportunity and that way we can also help out my SIL with their mum she has cancer and has been given 18 mths so i want to be about to help take the pressure off as much as possible.
i love forster i feel so at home and calm there so WE ARE MOVING just not sure when.
MissEdwards
08-10-2007, 10:10 AM
hehe have fun with it bootiful! i have mine on wednesday.
i didnt mind it last time i was preg with my son tho... so kinda looking forward to it.
silla
have a good day ladies.. hope bubs arent kickin you's too much!!! mine is... not fair...
Chelle123
08-10-2007, 10:15 AM
OOOhh i have my GT in an hour :( YUKKYS! see yas later!
Good Luck Kate! I had mine last week and haven't heard anything yet so I'm assuming no news is good news.
I've got kinder duty today and soooo don't want to go. It's first day of term and the kids are always crazy first day back.
Chelle123
08-10-2007, 10:32 AM
I just typed 'Aubrie' into facebook and its all girls as opposed to 'Aubrey' which is about 50/50. Feel much better about using the name now.
I'll ask again: if anyone has even an inkling that 'Aubrie' may look/sound a little 'bogan', please speak now.
xxxDragonFlyxxx
08-10-2007, 10:51 AM
Chelle - DH and I are just as paranoid about naming our kids something that sounds 'bogan' as you are, so trust me, if I thought it sounded the slightest bit bogan, i'd be sure to tell you LoL
Bootiful - I hope your GT goes well! I hate that horrid drink with a passion, so i've decided to have the test this time around ;)
Question - Because i'm having a dumb baby brain moment, does anyone know where I might be able to buy/hire a blood pressure monitor from?
I'm thinking about not going to any more ante-natal appointments, as the only reason I really need to go is to keep an eye on my BP, everything else is fine with bubs and I so I was thinking if I could possibly buy/hire one from somewhere I could just keep an eye on things myself. I'm just about to have a look on ebay in the off chance there's one there, but any other suggestions would be great!
Chelle123
08-10-2007, 10:57 AM
Chelle - DH and I are just as paranoid about naming our kids something that sounds 'bogan' as you are, so trust me, if I thought it sounded the slightest bit bogan, i'd be sure to tell you LoL
Thanks for that Lis
Question - Because i'm having a dumb baby brain moment, does anyone know where I might be able to buy/hire a blood pressure monitor from?
I was just about to suggest ebay, otherwise I don't know, maybe a medical supply???
Chelle123
08-10-2007, 11:00 AM
i love forster i feel so at home and calm there so WE ARE MOVING just not sure when.
A fresh start sounds like a great idea for you nswmum. Is it a big move? Sorry, not from your area and got no idea.
xxxDragonFlyxxx
08-10-2007, 11:09 AM
OMG! Who knew BP monitors would be so popular on ebay! LoL
There's heaps of them, all brand new. Fully digital, automatic ones are selling for as little as .99c and you just pay $10 postage!
Sounds pretty good to me, might have to snavvel one up later. If I do, i'll take it to my GP to make sure it's all working properly, then I can just keep an eye on my own BP and make sure it's taken under the same conditions, which is important, rather than just having it taken willy nilly when who knows what might have effected the outcome!
Crazy Monkey
08-10-2007, 11:55 AM
Wow girls.. lots to catch up on...
Chelle - love the name and doesn't sound bogan to me...
Widget - I hope DD is better soon... I know how stressful it is when the kiddies are sick... DS is over his fever but is still not eating properly... He's holding the food in his mouth for a long time before swallowing... I took him to the docs but everything is OK just a slightly red throat, but nothing major... Hopefully it passes soon...
Kate - good luck with your GD test... I'm going in for mine today too... Was meant to be Wednesday but because of the bleed I had last Friday, want to have it done earlier so I can have my anti-d shot on Wednesday instead of Friday (need to have a blood test before anti-d)...
nswmum - what exciting time ahead with your move... I've been to Forster once and its beautiful... All the best...
Can't think of anything else I had to write... Better go have lunch before I have to have my drink for the GD test... Be back soon...
xoxox
tiptoe
08-10-2007, 01:33 PM
Just checking in. I just got back from my GTT, i don't remember having to drink so much stuff last time. I was really struggling to finish it all by the end. They guy i had seem to be rushing quite a bit, i heard one of the nurses say they were extremely short staffed, i was the only one in the waiting room for the whole hour!
Widget
08-10-2007, 01:43 PM
Widge - I hope Miss A is feeling better very soon and that it is just some little tummy bug that will pass quickly. But keep an eye on her as there has been a terribly nasty gastro bug going around!!!
When pg with DD I had no inclination to pick a name before she was born, I was happy with our top 3 and wanted to wait until we saw her to really decide (despite having a fave name) but this time I just have htis overwhelming urge to name our little boy. I don't know why, but it just feels 'wrong' for him to be nameless...Does that make sense? Or am I just being weird? LoL
Guess what?? It's gastro... He said it's not the rotavirus - which she was immunised against - MIL2B said it'd be viral gastro... So, no dairy or fatty foods... Can you believe the ONLY stuff I could give her was Chicken Bolognaise?? Everything (and I'm being serious) has milk or cheese in it... Even spaghetti!! He said not to be surprised if in a few days her bum goes too...
You're being weird... Nah, just kidding... With DD I refused to let DF call her by her name, I said we'd wait and see if that's what she looked like - we didn't have a back up name... But this time, I refuse to go into labour without a couple of names... So far Genevieve is winning... We were talking names on Sat night when we had ppl over and someone said that Genevieve is from some country and I just turned around and said "no, it's not... It's French and they pronounce it chenny vi ev" DF turns around and says "that's the name, I love it!! Chenny vi ev!!" LOL Friends said that Gabrielle is certainly out (selfish of her really I think LOL Gabby is 4 now...). Jaqueline is coming in 2nd...
But now that I have those names, I'm almost content enough to say we'll discuss middle names 3 weeks before EDD like we did with DD and see what bub looks like when she's born...
Though... DF and I are still yet to actually sit down and discuss names...
with everything thats been going on latley my DF has asked if we can move to forster he got offered a job fishing with his BIL and i got offered a job in there new seafood shop. It would be a nice change not sure about picking up and moving house while im pregnant though but still its a great opportunity and that way we can also help out my SIL with their mum she has cancer and has been given 18 mths so i want to be about to help take the pressure off as much as possible.
We've been to Forster the last 2 years in a row for Xmas/New Years week... Well, Tiona Park, but it's a 5 min drive to Forster. If you move there and DF decides without discussing with me that we have to go on the stupid church camp again - can I stay wid you?? Means I can enjoy the quiet little town and not have to deal with the boring church camp!!
Personally though, I couldn't move there, too touristy for me, but it's a great place to visit!! I also noticed that there aren't many permanent rentals available either - it's all holiday rentals - I looked last Xmas!!
Good luck with it though! If you're going to move soon, PLEASE do it ASAP as moving when you're 34weeks onwards wouldn't be too good, the stress on you (probably moreso emotionally) could send you into premature labour (not to try and scare you) I'd either move in then 5-6 weeks or wait until after bub is born, those few weeks leading up to birth can be quite stressful without worrying about moving towns!
Same... Well, not paranoid, refuse to go anything that doesn't have class just by saying it... Hence Genevieve and Jaqueline... Annabelle has it's own ring to it, especially with DF's last name. Ours also have to be "flowy" names... I spent most of Thursday at work writing the names on our list... That's how I narrowed it down to Genevieve and Jaqueline! They're the best ones to write!!
I'm thinking about not going to any more ante-natal appointments, as the only reason I really need to go is to keep an eye on my BP, everything else is fine with bubs and I so I was thinking if I could possibly buy/hire one from somewhere I could just keep an eye on things myself.
Umm, they also check your bloods at 28 and 34 weeks... I assume that's for iron levels etc... But your GP can also do that for you... Buying/hiring?? I wouldn't have a clue, I'm using one from MIL2B's nursing home... Guess they're not missing it as she hasn't collected it since I borrowed it 21 weeks ago...
Anyhoo, DD's not having a bar of nap time, regardless of how exhausted she is!! :wave:
Oh, before I go... Kate, Silla19 - great to see you again!!
Oh... GTT I had my results on the spot... 7.6 and they refer you for the 2 hour GD test at 7.8... I just scraped in!
xxxDragonFlyxxx
08-10-2007, 02:30 PM
Aww Widge, poor Miss A! I hope it passes really quickly and that it's not a bad case of gastro, poor mite :(
*Fingers crossed* that you don't get it aswell!!!
Umm, they also check your bloods at 28 and 34 weeks
I didn't have any of those bloods done when PG with DD...except for all the ones I had whilst being monitored for my high BP
But anyways, I don't want to have those done either if they're offered to me :) There's no reason for me to, i'm all good and healthy and refuse to be pricked with needles when there's simply no need for it. Besides I HATE needles, i'm a wuss LoL
I'm watching a couple of BP monitors on ebay, might see how much they actually sell for and grab one of the others in a few days :)
Chelle ... I think that Aubrie is a beautiful name and very feminine - not bogan at all!
We got hassled by family about our naming choices and we have used Bella Cate and Daniel Arthur! Most of our family are a bit iffy about Ruby Lily which we intend to call bub - they reckon it is way too old fashioned :rolleyes: Ummm ... aren't Bella and Daniel old names too ...
Widget ... I'm glad that your dd only has gastro - my dd has been hospitalised 3 times now with rotavirus and it has been touch and go each time. She has to at emergency within an hour of starting to vomit now as she goes completely flat so quickly that it is really scary! She also gets migraines and needs medication as soon as a headache comes on to prevent them developing into full blown screaming, vomitting messes! Luckily, her school has taken this seriously and I get a call as soon as she even mentions a headache or a sore stomach. I live across the road so just pop over to her and assess the best course of action. they have ambulance cover, so just send her up to the hospy if I can't get there straight away.
nswmum ... I really do hope that this is the best thing for your family - everything seems to be falling into place easily and if you feel really happy with the idea then I wish you the absolute best for finding a new house etc and settling in with heaps of friends and support.
For all who are doing your GD tests ... I hope tat you all come back clear! It hasn't been fun being on 4 injections of insulin a day for the last 15 weeks! At least I know it will be all over with soon ... :yelclap:
Sorry ... Hi to everyone else - I'm feeling really weird today ... light headed, achy and vague so pretty sparse in the memory dept for replies :no: . I hope that you all have a fantastic day and that you, bub and family all stay in good health!
nswmum
08-10-2007, 03:02 PM
widget your more then welcome to come stay with us the more the merrier i say.
And i think we have decided to move ASAP and i will just drive down to newcastle for my antinatel appointments and seeing the dr's there are booking me in for a c-section at my next appointment i can drive down and stay with my mum for a few days before and after i leave hospital its not far only about and hr and a half away.
I can't wait im so excited
Widget
08-10-2007, 03:34 PM
Elias, if she gets rotavirus I will be very p!ssed off and demanding my money back as she was immunised against it!!
When the topic came up after she was born, MIL2B explained about rotavirus and we decided that it was best to try and find the money for the 3 doses as we knew we were already in for a long haul with hospitals.
It must be so scary! As soon as MIL2B said hospitalised from dehydration, we "found" the money (ok, we didn't eat for those weeks so she could get it)...
This time, I plan on keeping the money aside to start with so we're not struggling to get her vaccinated against it...
My DD got rotavirus for the first time when she was 13 months old and it was well before the vaccine had become available. Unfortunately, she hasn't developed and immunity to it so we are unable to have her vaccinated or to treat it lightly - it's a huge pain and so incredibly sad seeing her lying in a hospital bed for over a week not saying a word or moving. Your heart just breaks each time ... I have become an expert at getting weight back onto her in a healthy way though. She is 6 ˝ and only weighs 18kg wringing wet :crying:
I will definitely be saving for the vaccine this time! My ds has had rotavirus and seems to have developed an immunity - thank goodness! My only prob is that both of my kids have had adverse reactions to their vaccinations so I was hoping to delay until this one was 2 years old before starting a catch-up program - that will probably count us out for the rotavirus one ...
Widget ... I so hope that your little lady doesn't have rota ...
AnnaT
08-10-2007, 04:01 PM
Widge - hope A feels better soon. Been there done that with the gastro, sooooo not fun. As for names, I really hope you use Genevieve because I love it and think it would be fab for your daughter!
Nswmum - good luck with your move. Good choice doing it ASAP, moving when your heavily pregnant OR with a newborn is extremely hard and stressful.
Chelle - I love Aubrie Clare, fabulous name and definately not bogan (I would tell you if it was!). Stick with it!
Kate - I hope your GTT results come back a-ok.
Speaking of GTT I have to have mine on thursday, the bloody long one too. Im not concerned as it was ok last pregnancy and I have a family history soooo I think my odds are good this time too.
Had to go to hospital today for a BP check as Ive been getting some very bad headaches, swelling and nausea/dizzyness. Still showing protein in my urine and my BP was initially 148/80 but lowered to 130/78 so they sent me home with a repeat check to be done on thursday. I tell you though Im bloody tired of being made to feel like a hypochondriac. Considering my previous history with PE you would think theyd understand my concern when I start having symptoms but as usual unless your near-to-dying they tell you to suck it up and send you home. I hate having to deal with public hospitals.
Im also starting to seriously itch but I guess I'll mention it to my DR on thursday and see what he says, couldnt be bothered arguing with the midwives about it when they could obviously care less.
J is finally asleep (he was put down for a nap over an hour ago but just layed on his bed playing with his stuffed shark) so I might go and lie down. Ive started washing all bub's clothes/bed linen/blankets soooo after 1 more load its all in plastic tubs ready to wear/use.
Now if we could just get the spare room cleaned out and set up...........
xxxDragonFlyxxx
08-10-2007, 04:06 PM
Don't have much time at the moment, just wanted to say to Anna, and anyone else who may be interested, I was reading something today that was talking about the use of Fish Oil (capsules) and it's effect on high BP and PE and how taking it regularly may reverse the effects of both!
Do a bit of a google search and you should find some more info if you're interested! Fish Oil is good for you anyway, so there'd be no harm in taking it, you never know, it might help things Anna :)
Bo0tifuL
08-10-2007, 04:07 PM
i passed my test lol! thanks everyone for the GL! I got a 5.9! i was so sick waiting though, i thought i was going to collapse!!!
my yellow card today says:
BP 100/60
Fundal height 29
Presentation and position LOA
And the Bubs heart beat was fine. He kicked the doppler and made the loudest noise it was funny
! hope everyone elses day was good!
Chelle123
08-10-2007, 04:30 PM
I'm back from kinder duty & buggered.
Thanks everyone for the un-bogan comments about our name. I'm pretty comfortable with using it now. There are so many beautiful (and more normal than Aubrie) names out there that we like but every time we've agreed on one, somebody we know uses it or have already got it.
sairpaul
08-10-2007, 04:49 PM
Hi guys just catching up you guys have been busy today. LOL.
Widget: I really hope A is ok. She must be so miserable.
Everyone that has had there GD test is lucky to have results i don't have mine back yet and am guessing I will have to wait till next week.
I have finally decided to go to classes wasn't going to worry coz hospital was all booked and cant afford to pay but the hospital is running a two day course just two hours a day so I'm happy with that the only thing is that its not till the 17th and 18th december.
Chelle I really like Aubrie clare. I think it is just a nice name and not bogan at all.
NSW mum good luck with the plans on moving
bootiful thats good with test results
LilliS
08-10-2007, 06:49 PM
GEEZ!! I have been busy whilst my Mum was here and now we are onto thread number 6. Think I might just start on this one and try and keep up for once.
Chelle - I think Aubrie is a really pretty name - not bogan at all.
Our due dates are getting closer - onto GD test already! :yes: Shame I have to wait that little bit longer!
Mum and I completed our nursery and I have bought pretty much everything I could think of that she would need. Now just have the wait for my cot to arrive. For those that want a look there are photos on my Facebook (PM me for full name) I have the drawers stacked with 0000 and 000 clothes and accessories. Although think I may need some longer clothes as it will be hot but we will have the AC on so don't want her to freeze. Mum even bought her the cutest pink and white robe. I love it!!
Bub has been kicking me every morning for about 30 minutes, around lunch and after dinner until I fall asleep. Think I might ask if it is possible she has ADHD tomorrow at my appointment. I have even had to stop drinking lattes and hot chocs as it makes me feel sick when she wiggles around with the milk. Does anyone else have to pay their OB a management fee around 23-24 weeks? Ours is due tomorrow. :rolleyes:
That's all from me. Better go and stash my latests purchases in the bottomless drawers.
Chelle123
08-10-2007, 06:55 PM
Does anyone else have to pay their OB a management fee around 23-24 weeks? Ours is due tomorrow. :rolleyes:
Are you going to a private hospital? OB's have different fee structures for private & public. Because I'm going public, I pay $50 per visit but when I went private for DS1, I paid 2 lump sums.
Chelle123
08-10-2007, 07:03 PM
Lauren, the nursery looks beautiful - perfect for a baby girl.
LilliS
08-10-2007, 07:08 PM
Thanks Chelle! Not quite finished yet but just need the cot to finish off and finish tidying up but couldn't wait to take photos.
Yes I have a private OB, and have to pay $1500 tomorrow (management fee) and we pay $80 per visit.
Widget
08-10-2007, 07:58 PM
my yellow card today says:
BP 100/60
Fundal height 29
Presentation and position LOA
Oh, sometimes I wish I was seeing midwives instead of Drs! My yellow card only tells me BP, "Best estimate of gestational age", I got my last one saying fundal height and Mov. F.H.S (foetal movement)... The Drs never fill in positioning and I had trace protein last time and it's not marked down either :no:
Kate, if you feel up to it, do you want to meet up on the 18th?? That's next Thursday.
I have my next appt then after my u/s and probably bloods as it's my 28week appt...
Widget: I really hope A is ok. She must be so miserable.
The weird thing is, she's been herself (apart from extra clingy)... Happy, laughing, playing, clapping, her appetite seemed to return this morning - she had 10 water crackers while waiting to see the Dr!!
Don't know if plain and boring foods have helped yet as the last 2 nights she's seemed ok, then 3 hours after dinner and going to bed, she starts again, will find out in about 45 mins... She hasn't had ANY dairy today though so :fingerscrossed: it makes a difference!!
Best go take some Panadol Rapid and freeze my bum off entertaining guest and ABIL (who by the way was a godsend last night, he stayed up in the lounge room with DD all night, finally got too tired at 6am and came and got us)...
sairpaul
08-10-2007, 08:26 PM
Are you going to a private hospital? OB's have different fee structures for private & public. Because I'm going public, I pay $50 per visit but when I went private for DS1, I paid 2 lump sums.
Hi yeah I have paid mine it was 1100 for private and as i went way over medicare threshold i got $890 back i wasn't allowed to pay till 20 weeks and had to have a visit when i paid couldn't just go in and pay.
sairpaul
08-10-2007, 08:28 PM
Thanks Chelle! Not quite finished yet but just need the cot to finish off and finish tidying up but couldn't wait to take photos.
Yes I have a private OB, and have to pay $1500 tomorrow (management fee) and we pay $80 per visit.
The fees must be dearer up there coz my apps are only $70 a visit and my management fee as above. I like the medicare threshold tho.
LilliS
08-10-2007, 08:40 PM
Damn it! :no: Better not tell hubby that I got the expensive OB.
Get this.....
I was in Toys R Us today and they had Peg Perego Prima Pappa Diner High Chairs on special for $164, regular price $349. I thought this was pretty good so took a MMS and sent it to DH. He wasn't too keen on the brightness so I left it. Anyway....he just got home and we looked at them on the Peg Perego website and they are clearing the NEW 2008 collection of high chairs with miele giallo fabric. WHAT THE!!!!!
Ha ha ha ...so now he wants one...
AnnaT
09-10-2007, 07:20 AM
Lilli - my OB management fee was $1200 and I got $980 of that back through medicare because Id hit the threshhold (my OB makes you pay it when youve hit the threshhold so you get the most money back :) ) and I pay $81 + an extra $70 if he does a detailed ultrasound and I pay from that $20 out of pocket.
Ta for the tip Lis, will have to look into that.
Im up early but for some reason J has decided to go back to sleeping in til 9am. I just cant get back to sleep though so I guess I'll eat and shower in peace. Atleast he's sleeping all night most nights so I dont feel too crappy.
Chelle123
09-10-2007, 09:22 AM
Nothing interesting to say today. I'm going for a walk to the shops via the park this morning. I think the 3rd trimester tiredness has already hit me. I've been awake for 3 hrs (since 6.30) and already need a sleep. I'm going to have a coffee then my walk, need some waking up.
I forgot to mention that I found a top to wear to the wedding next month. Its silky black & red (a little Japanese looking) and goes with my black pants. I got it at Pumpkin Patch so Crazy Monkey, don't go shopping there or we'll look like twin beached whales.
LilliS
09-10-2007, 09:25 AM
I forgot to mention that I found a top to wear to the wedding next month. Its silky black & red (a little Japanese looking) and goes with my black pants. I got it at Pumpkin Patch so Crazy Monkey, don't go shopping there or we'll look like twin beached whales.
That's good. One less thing to worry about. They had a nice black and pink dress in there on the weekend that I am thinking of going back and getting.
Chelle123
09-10-2007, 09:50 AM
That's good. One less thing to worry about. They had a nice black and pink dress in there on the weekend that I am thinking of going back and getting.
You can wear whatever you like Lauren, you're not coming to the same wedding as CM & I. They have got some nice things in there though.
Crazy Monkey
09-10-2007, 10:10 AM
You make me laugh Chelle... I call myself a beached whale all the time...:laughing: I will have to start looking for something to wear soon, it will be here before I know it...
Have my GD test yesterday and bloods to check for antibodies... Hopefully everything is OK with the blood and I can have the Anti-D injection tomorrow... I'm a little stressed about it but trying to think positive...
I'll be back around lunchtime.. Have to get ready for Mothers Group...
xoxox
sairpaul
09-10-2007, 11:03 AM
Hi guys I just popped home quickly as dh decided his phone is just about flat and wanted his charger as someone rang about our car surely could this be our luck day..... anyway I better do a couple of things before I head off i'm having a lingerea party on the weekend and want to get tidied up talk soon.
MissSookyLaLa
09-10-2007, 12:48 PM
hey ladies!
well i think i beat you all with the OB fees...my management fee was $2800 ( i got back $2400 from medicare)...my monthly fee is $75 though for the first few it was $125.
have spent all weekend looking at strollers and have narrowed it down to the steelcraft strider 4 or the lovencare adiva sport...oh the decisions!
hope everyone is well- i have my next OB appointment on Thursday and assume my GD test will be shortly after that...
Crazy Monkey
09-10-2007, 02:09 PM
I'm back from mothers group... I really enjoy it and DS does most of the time :laughing: He gets all clingy when we first get there and settles in after about 20-30 minutes...
With my OB, I pay $90 per visit except for the initial visit which is about $120 and the 24-25 week visit which is $140... Other than that I don't pay anything else... I am a public patient though... But I also don't see any midwives or go to the hospital until D Day... I too have passed the medicare threshold, so I'm loving the rebates at the moment.
Widget I hope the your DD is better so and also that you don't get it... Gastro is bad enough, let alone when your pregnant...
I have my OB appointment tomorrow night after work, hopefully I can have my anti-d shot... Not sure when I'll get the GD test results back though...
Bo0tifuL
09-10-2007, 02:32 PM
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b232/BuTt3rFl1/6months2.jpg
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b232/BuTt3rFl1/6months.jpg
IM 6 MONTHS TODAY :D
Crazy Monkey
09-10-2007, 03:31 PM
Great bump you have there Kate..
Chelle123
09-10-2007, 03:34 PM
Love the pictures Kate. You're so compact!
Still nothing worth mentioning over here. My biggest news is that I got to have a nap.
Where's Widget today???
xxxDragonFlyxxx
09-10-2007, 03:38 PM
My biggest news is that I got to have a nap.
Same here Chelle! LoL DH is home from work sick, has been since yesterday, and DD has been a terror and i've been exhausted so DH said to me that he'd do the washing up (there was heaps there) and look after DD while I had a nice nap. Awww he's a sweet man!
Bootiful - Aww I love your belly pics! You have a very cute baby bump :D
I've been a bit crampy today in both my lower abdomen and my back, so haven't been able to get comfy or do much, everything is becoming a real effort at the moment, and sadly it's only going to get worse :(
AnnaT
09-10-2007, 03:40 PM
B - your tiny! Lovely baby belly!
Hmm all Ive done is clean the house and fold washing today. Atleast all my baby stuff is washed and put away ready to use AND Ripley's baby bag for hospy is packed :eek: Now I just need to find myself a medium size suitcase on wheels to pack my stuff in and then actually PACK my bag.
If only I could get around to clearing out Rip's room..............
Chelle123
09-10-2007, 03:44 PM
Don't forget to sign into the
3rd Trimester Thread (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=126654)
when you reach that wonderful milestone
:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
tiptoe
09-10-2007, 03:44 PM
Haven't got the time to read the posts and catch up - will have to do that tomorrow.
I had ante-natal today and i got 5.6 for my GTT. My iron level is dropping but not to the point were i need iron tablets (thank god) middy just told me to eat more red meat.
Thats all, be back tomorrow!
Kasia
09-10-2007, 03:58 PM
nope i think i win...$2000 at 20 weeks..and $3200 or so at 32 weeks...or are you all not counting the second payment yet?? plus the extras for the stitch but that is fair enough...and apparently thats standard....not cause I am a special case.....hope he does a bit of a dance routine or something exciting at the birth to justify the expense:D :D knowing my luck he won't be there
Chelle123
09-10-2007, 04:03 PM
I can't believe how $$$ some of these obs are. From memory, we paid about $2000 all up to the ob and about $2000 to the private hospital (self funded).
This time, I paid my private ob about $150 first visit then $50 each visit after, which I get about $40 back. We're going public hospy this time though.
Ok ... so this is where being on a really low income actually comes in handy!
I'm obviously not going private but because I have a HCC I don't pay anything for my ob, endocrinologist, diabetes dieticians or educators, cardiologist, gp or for normal ultrasounds. I will have to pay if I want to do a 4D one later on though, but it is still experimental down here so the fee will be nominal.
Nothing exciting happening here today - just treated both Bella and Daniel for the dreaded headlice - AGAIN!!!! Bella seems to pick them up constantly even though I only wash her hair once a week, tie it up in plaits then a bun, spray it liberally with hairspray ... and still - she gets them! Daniel doesn't but I treated him anyway today just in case. It's not as if I don't keep an eye on her hair and do everything to prevent them - she suffers the nit comb every couple of days. Not easy when you have waist length hair :crying: and yet, she knows that this is a condition of having it long and never complains. Fortunately DH and I haven't had them yet although we check ourselves at least every 4 days or so ...
Both kids are barking like seals now - they sound really croupy but I know that it isn't croup - just a cough. Neither are miserable and are happily playing like normal so we will just let it pass in it's own time. I'm still feeling really achy and a bit vague - doesn't help that I have had some really low blood sugar readings over the last few days - I have had to adjust my insulin down several times. Have an appointment with my endocrinologist next week and hopefully we will get to the bottom of it.
feline11
09-10-2007, 04:59 PM
HI Girls - i miss one day and it takes me ages to catch up.
Chelle - i love the name - very feminine and not at all bogan
Widget hope DD is feeling better
Bootiful - love the belly pics
We're going public so only pay for ultrasounds and then get some back. I had my GD test yesterday - they said they would contact me if abnormal. All apparently ok apart they reckon bub is too big for its age so they want me to have a scan asap - which is going to be next wednesday. he didnt sound too worried - so i am just wondering - have i got 1. GD, 2. a greedy baby or 3. am further on than they thought tho all the scans so far have agreed on the same date.
Having quite a few braxton hicks - some quite strong. finding getting up and down from my desk at work makes my belly sore too.
sairpaul
09-10-2007, 05:34 PM
nope i think i win...$2000 at 20 weeks..and $3200 or so at 32 weeks...or are you all not counting the second payment yet?? plus the extras for the stitch but that is fair enough...and apparently thats standard....not cause I am a special case.....hope he does a bit of a dance routine or something exciting at the birth to justify the expense:D :D knowing my luck he won't be there
I don't have a second payment I pay a bit extra for my apps coz of my history and like last time had two seperate in one day and had to pay for both. My hosp visit will only be $500 for private health
Chelle123
09-10-2007, 05:35 PM
Feline - until they do a scan, I wouldn't worry about baby's size. You could be just carrying excess fluid or the way bub is sitting could effect the size.
I had to have a scan at 32wks with DS2 because the OB thought he was small but he was right on target. My friend on the other hand was told to expect a 10+ pounder by the ob (without a scan) and got a 9 pound 2lb baby (all her babies have been in the 9's).
LilliS
09-10-2007, 05:48 PM
I don't have a second payment either.Just the one I paid today.
I am having the worst day. :hair: Went to get my tax done, only to get home and then have to drive back because she forgot to get me to sign one of the pages. Then...went to pick up the high chair to find they didn't have any left. Then....sat and waited for my OB for over 3 hours... Now...I just walked in to find my puppy covered in mud, forgot to set the washing machine and all the house work I planned on getting done today still waiting for me. The cleaning fairy must have forgotten to come!!!And hubby is in a cranky mood because he is late for an important client meeting because of OB running late. GRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!
Ok feel a bit better....going to find ice cream...
sairpaul
09-10-2007, 06:02 PM
Ok ... so this is where being on a really low income actually comes in handy!
I'm obviously not going private but because I have a HCC I don't pay anything for my ob, endocrinologist, diabetes dieticians or educators, cardiologist, gp or for normal ultrasounds. I will have to pay if I want to do a 4D one later on though, but it is still experimental down here so the fee will be nominal.
I am waiting to hear from centrelink but i should also have a hcc soon. However I will still have to pay what i am coz i need to go private if i could i'd prob go public. I am doing public antenatal classes etc. Just cant afford to pay on one wage and still paying off business debts. If only we could sell our bloody car!!!!
Not much happening here sil went and ordered bath and stand today for me from lovencare. So that if i have to go to hosp i don't have to lift and bend if no one around to help me.
Widget
09-10-2007, 06:45 PM
Just quickly as I'm about to go to the movies with our interstate guest...
DD was brilliant last night... no coughing, no temp, no throwing up...
Picked her up from SIL's this arvo (remember I work!!) to find that she's not better!! SIL looked worn out - probably from cleaning up after DD...
well, best be off, movie starts in 15...
xxxDragonFlyxxx
09-10-2007, 07:08 PM
Feline - Please try not to worry! Even if you did have GD, it doesn't mean you will have a 'big baby' having a larger baby due to GD is actually pretty rare. And as Chelle said, there could be many things causing bubs to be 'big'. I constantly measured 5weeks ahead of my dates with DD, but no one was worried as there are so many factors that come into play.
Also the later an ultrasound is done, the more innacurate they become at guessing your due date as every bub is different.
Just because bubs appears to be bigger doesn't mean you will actually have a larger baby. And who cares if you do! Giving birth to a 7lb bub should be no harder than giving birth to a 11lb bub, it's the head circumfrence that makes all the difference but the fact that bubs head moulds to fit through the pelvis anyway means that even the head circ. doesn't really come into play!
So sit back, relax and stop worrying hun :)
feline11
09-10-2007, 07:19 PM
thanks chelle and dragonfly
just taking it easy tonight as getting some pain in top half of my belly - wondering if is new stretching pains.
Crazy Monkey
09-10-2007, 08:31 PM
Evening ladies,
Not much to report from my end... All doing well... Feeling pretty tired tonight... Might try get an early night cause I have to work tomorrow...
Feline - as the other said don't worry about bubs size... At least you get to see bubs again...
LilliS - I hope you enjoyed your ice-cream, sounds like you really deserved it after your day... I hope tomorrow is 100 times better...
Elias - Hope your kiddies are better soon...
Just because bubs appears to be bigger doesn't mean you will actually have a larger baby. And who cares if you do! Giving birth to a 7lb bub should be no harder than giving birth to a 11lb bub, it's the head circumfrence that makes all the difference but the fact that bubs head moulds to fit through the pelvis anyway means that even the head circ. doesn't really come into play!
So sit back, relax and stop worrying hun :)
I agree ... apparently bigger bubs are actually a little easier to birth as they don't slip back up the birth canal during contractions quite so much and you end up with less grazing etc! I wouldn't know as I had both of mine by c/s but my mil who is tiny (not quite 5ft) had three boys and said the one over 9 ˝lb was the easiest by far and my Dh(youngest) at 6lb7oz was the hardest!
Thought you might like to see the difference between 2 bubs born to a mum with gd (me!) ... DD (http://s16.photobucket.com/albums/b23/kytw/?action=view¤t=Scan10003.jpg), 8lb 7oz @ 37 weeks and DS (http://s16.photobucket.com/albums/b23/kytw/?action=view¤t=Scan10003.jpg), 13lb 2oz @36 weeks - both photos taken at a day old. Remember that gd can be well controlled and I am being told that so far this bub is looking like she could be my smallest so far :yelclap:
LilliS
09-10-2007, 11:17 PM
I have to admit I don't know much about GD. My test is in three weeks as I am at the end of the month.
The ice-cream was FANTABULOUS....I just won't admit to how much I ate :p. What a &$#@$% day. I am hoping tomorrow will be much better. Have to catch up on some school work that I have neglected whilst enjoying my school holidays a little too much. Hard to believe it will be my last term teaching for the forseeable future.
Going to munch on the banana bread I just made. mmmmm....
Feline - Take it easy :hugs:
sairpaul
10-10-2007, 07:23 AM
Good Morning ladies,
For all of you that had a s**T day yest today is going to be a better day :smiliedance:
Well i'm at home all day today i didn't go in with DH as my mil is going to some dr with my fil for his heart test so i decided i'm buggered and ankles still swollen so just going to potter around the house and sit down when i want and do absolutely nothing I might make some teddy bears>..... HMmm i think thats what i'll do.
Well i'll be floating around today ladies for those of you that would like to chat etc.
Luv Me XXX
Chelle123
10-10-2007, 08:15 AM
Today is our creche day so I'm off to the hairdresser this morning, I've got really bad roots. It's DH's b'day on Sat and have a big family dinner planned so I thought I'd better look human at least. We've got such an expensive birthday month and a half coming up.
Oct
12th my mum
13th DH
20th me
22nd SFIL
Nov
5th my brother
8th BIL
9th uncle
11th friend's wedding
20th SIL
21st SIL
30th BIL
Lucky for us, DH & I put our b'day presents on layby in mid-year sales and saved some $ but there's still heaps we need to buy.
Have a great day all, I'll be back around lunchtime.
LilliS
10-10-2007, 09:14 AM
:fingerscrossed: for a better day today!!
Chelle - that is A-LOT of birthdays. April and September/ October are our big months.
I am starting to think about Christmas presents at the moment as I can't think of anything worse than trudging around ready to pop, and pushy Christmas crowds. Anyone who isn't helpful in giving ideas will be getting gift cards - ha ha ha.
I am heading into work to get some of my work organised for next term and then going to try and get home reasonably early to relax.
sairpaul
10-10-2007, 09:49 AM
ARRRGGHH christmas LOl I hate it at the best of times next year will be different DH and I decided that we arent putting our tree up this year because its so big and we both have come to the conclusion that we will put it up and then bubs will come and we'll have a huge mess!!! so not this year we are also only buying for MIL, FIL,SIL, BIL , DH's Nan and my nan and pop. So we are keeping our list down. coz we figure everyone is getting too old and the family is just too big. Inlaws buy presents for cousins etc from us so that all good. Well I have nearly finished sorting my kitchen etc. I have a sewing cupboard in the kitchen which was a junk cupboard back to sewing and scrapbooking now. I just have to wait for rubbish day bin is overflowing LOL. Well i might go and find something to eat feeling hungry now after all that
xxxDragonFlyxxx
10-10-2007, 03:54 PM
It's been pretty quiet in here today! Definitely not like us ;)
I've been busy looking after TWO whinging, sick kids today. DH is still home from work sick, and DD woke up last night sick as well *sigh* Just hoping i don't get it, I don't need a horrid head cold to deal with.
Haven't really been doing much, so don't have alot to report. Bubs is kicking me as I type, and although he is up at my ribs already, he hasn't discovered how to kick them yet, and hopefully he doesn't!
I've made the decision that i'm not going to any more ante-natal appointments until 36weeks, and even then just so I am aware of bubs position before I embark on the birth! I need to keep an eye on my BP just to make sure there's not a repeat of last time, so to do that I can either head to my local chemist and have it done, or I can buy a BP monitor off ebay for like $20 brand new, so i'm thinking I might do that. At least then i'm garunteed not to get high BP due to 'White Coat Syndrome' and I know that the conditions will be the same every time to get a more accurate result.
So no more tests, being prodded and poked and no more being told what I should and shouldn't do. I'm booked into the hospital, that's all that matters, and even if I wasn't and I turned up there in an emergency, i'm sure they wouldn't turn me away!
LilliS
10-10-2007, 03:59 PM
HA HA HA HA HA - Bub has the hiccups! It is hilarious.
feline11
10-10-2007, 04:55 PM
Nothing much happening today - just been exhausted and :barf: this morning - thought that was a thing of the past - yuk!
Going to have a quiet night doing nothing
Hope you are all well
Chelle123
10-10-2007, 04:59 PM
Well I've had a very busy day at work today :D. Firstly, I spent 2.5 hrs at the hairdresser, got home and DH was here so we had lunch, then went to visit my friend with the new baby. She's sooooo gorgeous, even at 9 pounds, she still seems tiny - I just can't wait for January!!! Now the kids are home & I'm about to get dinner ready.
xxxDragonFlyxxx
10-10-2007, 05:59 PM
Lillis - ehehe I hope the hiccups have stopped now! Poor bubs!
Feline - I hope you're feeling better soon and that the ms was just a once off thing!
OooOO Chelle you lucky thing you! I can't remember the last time I got pampered at the hairdressers! (actually, I think it was just before DD was born) Maybe I should make a point of going just before bubs is born and get DH to watch DD for me! Sounds luxurious!
Ahh forgot to mention before, I went through all DD's old baby clothes last night and pulled all the unisex stuff out, so everything got washed today (including the new stuff) so now it's all folded up in the basket ready to be put away! It feels nice to actually accomplish something. I mean we've had the cot all ready and set up for a while now, but there's just something about the clothes that makes it feel more real...
Widget
10-10-2007, 07:39 PM
By Gee, the hormones have kicked in... I'm tired, I'm irritable, I'm upset...
I miss my bubba!! Not impressed with DF right now... He has his Mum's car and guess who has my bubba?? That's right... MIL2B, with no way to bring her home and I don't drive to go and get her...
I miss her and just to cuddle her!! :crying:
I went in to her room and touched one of the blankets from her cot... big sooky sooky la la that I am... Had to come and hide in my room til I settled down...
I think I'm just going to make a quick sandwich and head to bed... Nothing else to do it would seem, hope my interstate guest doesn't mind too much being stuck out there with ABIL!
MissSookyLaLa
10-10-2007, 09:00 PM
hey ladies!
whats this second payment you were talking about? is that for the hospital? as far as i know i only have to pay my $400 excess and everything else gets paid for out of my health fund
does anyone know how much epidurals cost?
im thinking about getting a steelcraft enigma reverse handle pram, or maybe a steelcraft transaction...anyone have one of these prams or have any feedback on them?
widget, sorry you miss your bubba, how long till she's back?
Widget
10-10-2007, 09:05 PM
im thinking about getting a steelcraft enigma reverse handle pram, or maybe a steelcraft transaction...anyone have one of these prams or have any feedback on them?
widget, sorry you miss your bubba, how long till she's back?
I had a Steelcraft Ebony a LOVED it... Like the look of the Transaction too... I don't need to look at Prams as DF's cousin is giving us a double...
I probably won't get to see her until tomorrow evening... :crying:
LilliS
10-10-2007, 10:56 PM
I had two baby stores say that they had a lot of problems with the enigma reverse handle pram. He said they had a lot of fault problems with the handle mechanism. I liked the look of it but was dissuaded because of this.
Ohhh... Widget....I'm sure your bub misses you too.
Washing baby clothes is very exciting! I am too scared to in case my little girl is a boy or a bigger baby and doesn't fit into 0000.
i had a hormone moment at DH when he got home tonight because he organised a builder to come around whilst I had my programming and paper work scattered ALL over the house. :o Oh dear. It was like the devil appeared!!!!
nswmum
10-10-2007, 11:26 PM
widget im sure your DD misses you as much or more then you miss her, and don,t worrie about the :crying: i do it all the time lately.
off to Forster tomorrow for 5 days i need the break and im so excited just to be able to relax and not have to worrie about a thing my mum god love her is paying for our accom so we can just get away.
so won't be back on till next monday some time.
have a great week everyone and :hugs: for anyone who wants or needs them.
Widget
11-10-2007, 06:54 AM
Grrrr DF got to see her last night and I didn't!! He went and took his Mum's car back, said she was stirring so didn't see her - how does he know she was stirring, if he didn't at least get to look at her??
I ended up grabbing a blanket from her cot and it stayed with me all night!! Had a pretty good sleep... Scent o bubba made sure of that! :p
Well, best get ready for work *gag* have a farewell lunch for my boss - well, he's not my boss now and hasn't been since I went back... But anyways... He's changing sections within the company, seeing that I don't work Fridays and a temp in a our section (been there longer than I've been back) has an antenatal appt tomorrow we put it to today.
Spewing... the big farewell for the whole section - Pancakes on the Rocks... YUM!!
Anyhoo... better get ready!
TaTa :wave:
sairpaul
11-10-2007, 06:55 AM
Hi everyone, well its a public holiday today down here its show day and typical show day the weather is miserable. Well i'm off to clean our back yard up the gardener is coming to do our lawns coz we don't have a lawn mower or whipper snipper and then we are off to work so I don' tfeel so bad bout paying someone. Lots of trucks to load etc. Coz its a public holiday we have two days of deliveries in the warehouse and its just going to be a nightmare so in order to get everyonne on the road in the morning nice and early MIL DH and I are going to get sorted today. Anyway talk soon puppys are giving me the eye!!!
Chelle123
11-10-2007, 07:31 AM
:hugs: to you Widget. I hope you get through the day okay.
nswmum - have a great break - I'm sooo jealous!
I am too scared to in case my little girl is a boy or a bigger baby and doesn't fit into 0000.
Lauren - my solution to the 0000 problem is to to give them to your mum (or someone who won't mind washing) before bub arrives and when you call to give them the news, give them the go ahead to wash the clothes and bring them to the hospy for you. In the mean time, you'll probably only use bonds suits or the like anyway.
Kasia
11-10-2007, 11:46 AM
Never mind can't wait...looks like i am the only one with the second payment !! ah well all worth it...I wouldn't be too happy paying that if I was 'normal' however as I was in public and the experience was absolutely disgraceful when I lost my first bub.....and they said that they would wait and see if i wanted to go public again and not put in a stitch ...so I went private and got the care I believe after research as the best way to go...they only put in a stitch if you have 2 second trimester losses..bugger that I am not waiting to see if i lost another bub....and as the stitch has done me no harm, even if it sits there as a decoration on my cervix its worth every brass razoo for the peace of mind....but as I said this OB charges the same whether you are high risk or low risk..go figure....least I get bang for my buck he he
Chelle123
11-10-2007, 12:03 PM
Kasia - I paid 2 large installments with DS1 cos we went private, but going public, I only pay for OB visits, even though it has been the same OB every pg.
Crazy Monkey
11-10-2007, 01:29 PM
Afternoon girls,
Had my OB appointment last night and all is fine... Had my Anti-D injection :smiliedance: and my GD result was 7.7, so all is good... Told OB about the amount of discharge I have and said its most likely thrush and I need to ave a 6 day treatment to clear it properly, also had to give him a swab and have pathology check it out... Not each to get a swab from "down there" when you have a big bump...
DS was with my parents while I was at work and at doctors, by the time we got there to pick him up (8pm) he was asleep on the couch... He looked so cute...
Not much else going on... Just finished lunch and now my tummy is burning - just at the top of the bump under the boobs... Very annoying...
Kasia - I would do exactly the same as you if i had lost a bubs... Its horrible that they make you lose 2 babies before giving you a stitch to keep bubs safe... I've heard with early m/c's that they wont investigate why until you have had like 3-4... Such an emotional rollercoaster...
Better get back to work... Talk with you ladies tonight, DH has a gig so wont be home until late... Actually he has gigs all weekend, so lots of me on bubhub over the next few days :laughing: ...
xxxDragonFlyxxx
11-10-2007, 02:00 PM
Aww Widge *hugs* I hope you get to see Miss A very soon!! You poor thing, I can't imagine how much you're missing her! I have never been apart from DD longer than 2 hours and that was when DH and I went out for dinner on our wedding anniversary in Feb!
ARGH! Bub is being quite annoying at the moment LoL, I went to bed lastnight, and he started rolling, tumbling or something! It's no kicking/punching it's full on rolling around! He moves from one side to the other, from the top to the bottom :rolleyes:
It's a very strong feeling and quite uncomfortable, kept getting me by surprise and i'd give out a yell :o
Took me ages to get to sleep lastnight because of it, and now since lunch time he's been doing it again! My belly is actually quite sore now, all the muscles are aching and are quite tight.
Can someone please come and tell him off for me?
It's DH's 24th birthday tomorrow, so I went out and got his pressie today. I bought him a new dress watch, got a good bargain too, on sale for $99! I got him a watch for his 21st and had it all engraved, then last year...he broke it :mad: $200 watch, broken, all because he couldn't stop fiddling with the clasp!!!
So i'm hoping that he has learnt his lesson and this one lasts a lot longer *sigh*
tiptoe
11-10-2007, 02:50 PM
Just got back from Thomas Live! and DS loved it! We had really good seats, elevated but right in the middle! They had a intermission but the show would have only gone for a little over an hour if they didn't.
I have that flu going around - throat feels like razor blades.
DH is bugging me, i need to take him to work, be back tomorrow!
Bye
Bo0tifuL
11-10-2007, 03:07 PM
just a quick question, whens the next Scan done? 31 weeks? I cant rememebr...
xxxDragonFlyxxx
11-10-2007, 03:52 PM
After the 20week scan, there isn't any more 'routine' scans done. Although most obs will give you a quick once over themselves with an ultrasound at 36weeks, rather than you going to see a sonographer, to check the size ( :rolleyes: ) of bubs, the position and to make sure everything is still working okay :)
MissSookyLaLa
11-10-2007, 04:08 PM
hey ladies
went to the ob this morning, BP is good at 110/70 which is reassuring, i was worried after feeling dizzy so much lately...
also did my sugar test..but didn't the results-did you all get them straight away?
I feel so sick after doing it though, my head is pounding! did anyone else feel sick after doing it?
xxxDragonFlyxxx
11-10-2007, 04:49 PM
Cantwait - When I did the GCT with DD I didn't get my results until I had my next ante-natal appointment, although i'm sure I could have got them sooner had I rang my GP to find out!
It's not surprising that you feel sick after doing it, you have afterall just consumed a drink mainly consisting of sugar :eek:
Chelle123
11-10-2007, 04:59 PM
Cantwait - I haven't got my results from last week's GD test so I'm hoping no news is good news. I didn't feel sick afterwards but bub had a disco inside from the sugar rush.
Chelle123
11-10-2007, 05:18 PM
Tomorrow is my mum's birthday and 1 year to the day that I started spotting, leading up to my m/c. I'm really dreading the next week, it was possibly the worst week of turmoil in my life, swinging from really positive that bub would be okay, to really low each time I spotted or bled. Then the lowest point came on my birthday, which is next Saturday. Thats when I had to go to hospital and lost the baby. I know I was only 6 weeks pg and a lot worse has happened to a lot of other people, but from the minute we found out, we talked about our hopes and dreams for our family and our new baby, started making plans and all the stuff you normally do when you get your BFP and it all fell apart so quickly.
The stupidest bit was at the hospital, at the end of the day, they sent in a social worker who asked me "are we trying for a girl?". HELLOOO, we just lost a baby!!!! Then she goes on to tell me that she'd just been through 2 m/c and started sobbing - I really don't think she was suitable for my case.
I guess one of the hardest bits was un-telling people (only close family & friends knew) because every time someone said "I'm sorry", I just cried, and it lasted a long time.
I only had 1 friend who had been through a m/c and I felt like I was wearing her down, but she was the only one who understood. She's a great friend and probably still the only friend IRL that knows what I've been through.
Sorry for the big sook, just need to get it off my chest.
Widget
11-10-2007, 06:05 PM
:hugs: Chelle, hope tomorrow isn't too hard for you!
After the 20week scan, there isn't any more 'routine' scans done. Although most obs will give you a quick once over themselves with an ultrasound at 36weeks, rather than you going to see a sonographer, to check the size ( :rolleyes: ) of bubs, the position and to make sure everything is still working okay :)
I get a scan at 28 weeks (next Thursday) and 36 weeks for the above because my BMI is rather high - though they didn't do it with DD and it was only one point lower...
also did my sugar test..but didn't the results-did you all get them straight away?
I got my results straight away, the midwife checked it in front of me, though I don't remember getting my results at all with DD...
Didn't feel sick or anything after either, but I'm a sugar freak too... :o
Crazy Monkey
11-10-2007, 08:33 PM
I got my GD results 2 days after my test but thats only because I had my OB appointment... I guess you could call your OB for the results but generally if you dont hear from them its all OK..
Chelle, I hope the next week isn't too hard for you... That social worker sounds like a real idiot... I had a horrible day on what would have been my due date, so I can kind of know how you'll be feeling.. Try and keep yourself busy and positive...
MissSookyLaLa
12-10-2007, 11:36 AM
hey chelle, stay strong through the next week, :hugs:
i still dont feel awesome today so took the day off...but its very easy to feel sick atm as i am so over work! cant wait till i finish up!
hope everyone is well...
Widget
12-10-2007, 11:40 AM
LOL Cantwait... your user name just goes with so many things doesn't it?? :laughing:
Are you changing it after bub comes??
Chelle :hugs: Please know that we are thinking of you!
Chelle123
12-10-2007, 11:47 AM
Thanks for the hugs and nice words girls. Today has been more wierd feeling than my actual due date which was June 14th. I told DH about the significance of today, this morning and his comment was "oh well, we've got another one coming". He's not so strong on sensitivity but he does understand where I'm coming from. I'm just scared that it will happen again.
On a different but still scary note, I posted a thread today about my brother's mate who is a cop. He was bashed by a group of Sudanese 2 days ago. He's all over the news here. He's okay but on crutches. I've known him & his family since he was about 15 and he's married with a little boy now - so scary and so lucky it wasn't worse.
Crazy Monkey
12-10-2007, 12:23 PM
Cantwait - take it easy today and rest up, but I understand how you feel about work... I could give it up now too, its been so hectic lately...
Chelle - My DH sounds a lot like your DH in the sensitivity stakes... He wasn't too affected by our due date coming and going... Just know that you have a healthy little girl jumping around in your tummy :hugs: and we are all hear to help however we can...
I've been hearing about the cop that got bashed in Melbourne... I hope he is doing better...
As for me, nothing much to report... Just done a heap of folding, mainly DS's clothes and now I'm buggered... And I still got some more to do once they dry... Been in a bit of a cleaning mood today. I hope it passes :laughing:
Have a good day everyone
xoxox
helpstolaugh
12-10-2007, 01:22 PM
hello to everyone
sorry i havent been on here much, time just keeps getting away from me
have had a bit of a rough time lately. Had to go and see the physio as the pressure on my pelvis was getting so bad i was having trouble standing for more than 15min- not great with two toddlers to look after.
anyway apparently have kiddies so close together age wise has made my pelvis too loose so now i have to take it easier and avoid things like sitting on the floor-really anoying.
It was a worry though, to have pain this early on. Apparently some mums to be end up in hospital for the last 8 weeks because they are in so much pain but my phsio it optomistic that we can fix it in time and it wont come to that. I think she wanted to scare me a little so i would slow down.
having issues about mothers already; who will stay with us when bub arrives, for how long, who do we call to look after the other kiddies, blah blah blah
think i might tell them all to just stay away for the first week. Hubby will be on holidays so we can deal with it. Last time was a nightmare so i hope we can avoid it all this time.
bub it doing well, lots of kicks.My bladder seems to be a trampoline for the little fella!
hope you are all doing well, it is starting to get exciting
:yelclap: :smiliedance:
Widget
12-10-2007, 01:41 PM
Hi HelpsToLaugh, good to see you back and posting.
Not good to be having a hard time at all... How close are your kiddos?? Gee, I hope my 17 month gap doesn't effect any future pregnancies...
I've checked with my hospital and I can take DD in with me when I have bub but DF and I are still to discuss what we want to do...
Chelle, that doesn't sound too good, but oyu're right, it could have been a lot worse!! Thankfully it wasn't... (I don't watch/listen to news)...
helpstolaugh
12-10-2007, 01:51 PM
hiya,
i didnt think my bubs were that close together, march 2004, may 2006, and now jan 2008
but apparently space between the 2nd and third is the biggy, then it is unlikely to get worse if you want a larger fam.
i didnt have any troubles prior to this so it came as a real shock
I told DH about the significance of today, this morning and his comment was "oh well, we've got another one coming". He's not so strong on sensitivity but he does understand where I'm coming from. I'm just scared that it will happen again.
Hey Chelle ... I don't know exactly what you are going through, but I do recognise the DH response - they just don't get it, do they? My Dh really had no idea what I was going through after losing 2 bubs and he was really surprised when one day I just cracked it and spent the night thumping lounges, screaming at the top of my lungs and sobbing my heart out. I know he has dealt with the grief and disappointment in his own way, but it would be nice if he could just be a little more sensitive ... big hugs coming from my way to you :hugs:
I lost my DD's twin at 9 weeks and only found out that I was still pg when they did an ultrasound to see if I needed a d&c and found another little heartbeat still there. I focussed so much on the little one that was still there that I didn't grieve until after I had DS who was going to be the last of my kids as we were stopping at 2 on medical advice.
Needless to say, I got a bfp on australia day 2005 and was really excited yet scared at the same time - what if this bub was bigger than DS, what if it wasn't healthy like the others etc ... We went on holiday to NZ and had just announced the news to my family when I came down with bi-lateral pneumonia and ended up in hospital fighting for my life as my organs were shutting down one by one. It was a few days later when I was well enough to lie down and be scanned when they found out that bub had died at 11 weeks. I ended up having 2 d&c's (the first was botched) and told no more kids.
It took almost 2 years to convince DH that another child would be ok and that he wasn't risking losing me this time, that the other times were pure coincidence ... so I guess that he did care and did grieve in his own way. He has worried about me every day during this pg and doesn't let me do much around home etc ... he is really over protective this time. I have spent up until 23 weeks really scared that I would lose bub or that any problems would cause an early birth from which bub would have no chance of surviving. I have already been in hospital due to the influenza A and have finally shed 4 of my 7 doctors ... I have never felt healthier and my bp/gd/weight etc have never been better and yet I have still worried.
Anyway ... my long winded novel is over - have a very busy day and may not get on again until tomorrow some time - am just off to buy fabric for the quilt I am making for bub ... hope I can find some for less than $19 as that is all there is in our account until payday.
Take care everyone ...
AnnaT
12-10-2007, 03:55 PM
Just checking in :wave:
Had an OB appointment yesterday. Im having to take phenergan of a night time because Im itching like crazy (it knocks me out like there's no tomorrow so thankgod Jett is sleeping through or he'd be screaming for hours before Id become concious again). The OB thinks I have obstetric cholestasis or something like that, basically the liver doesnt filter out bile salts properly and it causes a rash and can lead to premature delivery. They generally deliver you by 37wks if you have it so it wont make much difference to me its just really uncomfortable. I also had my GD test yesterday and nearly passed out after the 2hrs was up. Im glad it was the last time I'll ever have to do it ever again :yelclap: Bub is growing fabulously (HEAD DOWN YAY!) and I managed to stack on 5kgs in 3 weeks so now sitting pretty at 64kgs and hopefully will stay there til B-day. The less I have to lose afterward the better. The OB can get off my back about not having gained anything too.
My days are spent cleaning and thinking about sorting out the spare room. DH is home this weekend and we have nothing on for a change so it *should* get done and then I can unpack all the clothes I washed and set everything up. I feel very unorganised.
:smiliedance: 11 weeks and 6 days to go! :smiliedance:
I hope everyone else is doing well! I promise to make a better effort to keep up with the thread!
Bo0tifuL
12-10-2007, 04:39 PM
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=128148
Sigh, not a good day for me today! Life sucks sometimes doesnt it...
MissSookyLaLa
12-10-2007, 05:21 PM
LOL Cantwait... your user name just goes with so many things doesn't it?? :laughing:
Are you changing it after bub comes??
hehe... i hadnt even thought of the need to change it once bubba arrives!
sorry to hear your news bootiful, lots of hugs:hugs:
MissSookyLaLa
12-10-2007, 05:22 PM
Bub is growing fabulously (HEAD DOWN YAY!) and I managed to stack on 5kgs in 3 weeks so now sitting pretty at 64kgs and hopefully will stay there til B-day. The less I have to lose afterward the better. The OB can get off my back about not having gained anything too.
i remember weighing 64 kilos...once... :rolleyes:
Widget
12-10-2007, 06:56 PM
i remember weighing 64 kilos...once... :rolleyes:
hehehe I don't... :rolleyes: I remember 56kgs and I remember 84kgs - nothing in between!!
Ohh, to be so small again...
One can dream can't they??
Kate, Hope you are holding up ok!
feline11
12-10-2007, 08:21 PM
Anna - sorry to hear you asre suffering with the major itches - a friend of mine also had that condition and luckily it does go once you have the baby
Helpstolaugh - welcome back - hope your physio manages to sort your pelvis out to make life a bit easier for you and keep you out of hospital
Chelle - I hope today wasnt too bad and i will hope you have a good day on your birthday - that social worker sounds like a real piece of work and shouldnt be dealing with mums who have had mc's
I still havent heard about my GD so hoping no news is good news. looking forward to my scan this Wed as wasnt meant to see bub again until i was 36 weeks. Looks like i have started producing milk so that is exciting - tho i am sure i will start whinging once i start leaking :laughing:
I'm sure my bub knows when i am talking aout him/her as i get more kicks.
Well hope everyone has a good weekend
Crazy Monkey
12-10-2007, 09:04 PM
Elias - what and ordeal you have been through... Its wonderful that your hubby is so protective of you now...
Kate - sorry to hear your news :hugs:
Me, I'm doing OK... Just uncomfortable with this burning tummy...
Widget
12-10-2007, 10:52 PM
I meant to give Anna some :hugs: before but my mind went AWOL after reading Kate's thread... Hope you get plenty of rest and that the Phernergan helps to settle the itchies!
Elias, I can't comprehend what you've been through in the past...
For me, being treated like an invalid by DF just because I'm pregnant drives me insane... He tries not to let me lift anything over 5kgs - ummm, my DD is over 11kgs and there is no chance in hell that I won't be picking her up... Another reason I'm pushing for VBAC (which I don't get to discuss with anyone until later on) as I don't quite fancy not being allowed to give her cuddles until the Dr tells me I can... Not liking that idea at all!!
Sue, Hope I'm not crossing the line here...
Just because you are little over the "average" size doesn't mean you will have GD... I thought for sure I'd have it with DD and I didn't... I also don't have it this time... Given my weight vs my height, the charts put me at overweight (well within actually) and my Father and Grandfather were both diagnosed with Diabetes at the start of last year, I thought I was sure to get it as I don't by far have a decent diet and don't get nearly enough exercise! I'm sure if your results weren't within the "allowable" limits you would have found out by now as you'd either
a) have to have a longer test or
b) be seen by a dietician and probably a Dr as well about your results...
Relax and don't stress!!
Speaking of my diet - off to make some noodles...
:hugs: Kate :hugs:
My best friend has cerebral palsy and I know how much she has fought to get as far in life as she has ... wife, mum of 2 etc. I will pray for your cousins wife and kids ... it's so hard to hear when you know of the struggle they have had as a family unit to get so far only to have it ripped away from them. Take care and take time to grieve such an amazing man :crying:
Well, now I'm asking for all of your prayers please ...
I was out in town yesterday arvo when my mobile rang and it was my ob on the other line. He started talking about the "anomoly" with bubs heart saying that it was a serious one and that I need to be at Westmead on monday for further tests so they can decide what they are going to do to correct it and when they are going to do it.
I went into an absolute spin! My dh can never get time off work, it is the first day back at school for my dd, my ds had to be taken care of (no way I was taking him - he wiped my first ultrasound!) and we have $5 in the bank account for the fuel.
Luckily, my ds's pre-school has happily accepted him for an emergency booking, my dd's classmates mum has said she will collect dd after school and ds if necessary and after I burst into tears on the phone, dh managed to convince his bosses to let him leave work after his first job on monday morning in exchange for working over the weekend. All I have to do now is borrow some money from somewhere for petrol and parking and we will get there.
I'm freaking out as a close friend who had her bub on tuesday's husband has the same heart problem (is wheelchair bound now) and she had to go up there to have her bub assessed as to whether he had it also and was going to have to go through surgery before birth to correct it if he did. Fortunately bub was in full health and it was an unneccessary precaution.
It took us so long to decide to have this bub out of the fear of something happening and now my worst nightmare is coming true! Good thing I can touch type as I can no longer see the keys for the tears that seem to sneak up on me constantly now ...
Please pray and think of me on monday ...
Widget
13-10-2007, 11:45 AM
Oh Elias :hugs::hugs: if you feel like you may need some real ones on Monday, there's a few of us in Syd who I bet wouldn't mind giving one to you - I'm one of them!!
If you want, I can PM my number to you and if you need some real :hugs: just let me know!!
Am thinking of you and hoping like nothing that bub's heart problem isn't as bad as they say!! :kiss:
Chelle123
13-10-2007, 12:12 PM
Elias, I'm hoping that all is okay with your bub, that its not as bad as they think.
:hugs: to you and your family:hugs:
Crazy Monkey
13-10-2007, 12:31 PM
Elias...Big :hugs: to you and your family... I hope the doctors have it wrong and everything will be OK on Monday... I'll be thinking of you...
Just remember to stay positive... They can do wonderful things these days to help out sick little bubbas...
tiptoe
13-10-2007, 03:43 PM
Elias, add my :hugs: too! I will be thinking of you and praying for you on Monday. Good Luck!
MissSookyLaLa
13-10-2007, 03:58 PM
More :hugs: from me Elias, will be thinking of you on Monday
Chelle123
13-10-2007, 04:07 PM
Happy Birthday to my DH!!!
For 1 whole week he is 5 years older than me!
sairpaul
13-10-2007, 05:52 PM
Hello everyone :hugs: :hugs: :hugs: there are hugs for just about everyone. I have been slack the last couple of days and it sounds like a few have had rough days. Don't wanna miss anyone so I have hugs for everyone.
Well I have done not alot today which is bad as i'm having a lingerea party here tomorrow and really need to tidy up but anyway who cares not me. I've felt dizzy and light headed all day and really really tired.
Well Luv to you all talk soon
Widget
13-10-2007, 07:03 PM
Anyone up for live chat for a little bit??
I haven't checked to see who's in there, just seeing if any of my fave peeps wanna chat??
Oh, Chelle, rub it in for as long as you can!! :laughing:
LilliS
13-10-2007, 07:09 PM
Widget - I just popped into live chat and was in there all by myself. :rolleyes: Are you still around?
This morning I had a dr's appointment about my headaches and dizziness and as told I am having panic attacks. I wasn't too impressed with that diagnosis as I am positive it is linked to my overactive thyroid and/ or low blood pressure!
Trying to have a quiet weekend and get ready for school starting on Monday. Hard to believe I only have 8 weeks and then will be on maternity leave!! Woo hoo.
Widget
13-10-2007, 07:16 PM
Yeah, I'll jump in now... Sorry, July Mumma that I actually talk to got me on MSN LOL But I'll be there!
Crazy Monkey
13-10-2007, 09:11 PM
Evening ladies...
Not much to report from me... Bit tired tonight cause I did a bit too much I think...
My dad is delivering our new study desk tomorrow, so I spent the afternoon, cleaning up the study and moving things... Not all done but nearly there.. DH is going to finish the rest in the morning... Also did washing and folding and dishes - you know the usual stuff... Also tried to keep DS occupied...
Happy birthday to your DH Chelle - hope he has a great day...
Sairpaul - hope you are feeling better soon... Rest up and enjoy your party tomorrow...
LilliS - hope you're feeling better soon too... go get another opinion if your not convinced thats whats wrong...
feline11
14-10-2007, 08:09 AM
Elias - i too want to send you a huge :hugs: and hope too that the docs have it wrong or if something is amiss that they can sort it out. Will be thinking of you on Monday - stay strong.
Lillis - i agree if you dont like the drs opinion then seek another one - we all know they do get it wrong sometimes
Nothing much happening to me at the mo - DF bought the cutest outfit for bub yesterday - he's been dying to buy something and there's not many unisex outfits out there. Looking forward to my scan on wed.
MissSookyLaLa
14-10-2007, 09:11 AM
hey ladies, hope everyone is well, i have absolutely nothing new to say!
oh, except we decided on the childcare hola pram... its here
http://www.childcareproducts.com.au/f/hola.pdf
xxxDragonFlyxxx
14-10-2007, 09:53 AM
Nice choice Cantwait! I've seen a few of those prams around down here, they look really nice, and they seem to be easy to push aswell!
We bought a Steelcraft EX3 (http://www.steelcraft.com.au/Websites/Business/brproddb.nsf/LUPages/Strollers-EX3%20Three%20Wheel) when we were still TTC as it was on sale, wanted to get something with a toddler seat, only downfall is that it is pretty wide so the only checkout isles in shops I can use is the disabled one, which can get annoying, but other than that it is great, much better than the 4-wheeler I had!!
Elias - *hugs* to you hun, I wi'll be thinking of you on Monday, I hope everything is okay!!!
Chelle - Happy birthday to your DH for yesterday!! Was my DH's birthday on Friday, and if your DH is anything like mine...you knew about it for weeks before hand :rolleyes:
Anna - Hope you're resting up well and that the itchies have started to settle down for you!
Me - I'm still here, reading everything, just haven't gotten around to post! I've caught the cold that DH and DD have had, so i'm feeling pretty ****e but hopefully it doesn't hang around too long!
Widget
14-10-2007, 10:01 AM
That one doesn't seem too bad at all Bec!!
Is it just me or has Spring been almost as cold as winter the last few days?? Freezing my bum off at nights!!
DD is on day3 of dairy so :fingerscrossed: it's all gone and she's good now. I bought some anti-bacterial hand gel for her which I can keep on me (her) at all times instead of searching for something to wash her hands with before she goes to sleep or starts sucking her fingers...
Did I say before that the Dr said the Gastro was most likely from her crawling around and putting dirty hands in her mouth?? She just loves outside so much, she really is a nature kiddo, even studied Daddy's lawn mower and whipper snipper the other day - until Mum moved them away!
Anyhoo, we're supposed to be at Narrabeen, should have left at 9am but it didn't happen... Better continue getting ready, DF will be back with his Mum's car soon (she rang and offered when she found out we were going out) so we have air-con, boot space and 4 doors!! So I really should get stuck into it...
:wave: TaTa :wave:
Chelle123
14-10-2007, 10:55 AM
Chelle - Happy birthday to your DH for yesterday!! Was my DH's birthday on Friday, and if your DH is anything like mine...you knew about it for weeks before hand
Lis, he's getting too close to 40 to get excited about his birthdays now.
I'm excited about my b'day on Sat cos I know what I'm getting and I know how much has been spent on it :D . I'll also be happy when the day is over (for reasons that I expressed the other day).
We're off to the Cranbourne Cup today cos DS1 wants to see horse races and there's no way we are taking them to the Melbourne Cup. We went last year without kids and we just couldn't move, didn't even see a horse the whole day. I think the Cranbourne Cup is classed as a country meet so hopefully not as many people and only about 30mins from home.
Elias - I'll be thinking of you tomorrow, actually, I have been all weekend :hugs:
MissSookyLaLa
14-10-2007, 12:01 PM
have fun at the horse races and at narrabeen today ladies...its a lovely day for it...im having a boring day at home...but DH is out at a friends so i have the house to myself, yay!
Crazy Monkey
14-10-2007, 02:30 PM
Afternoon ladies...
We'll I've just finished putting the study, well, the computer back together, after dad installed our new desk... I love it, there is so much room now... Still have to fill all the drawers and stuff but that can wait... Bit tired after all the crawling under the desk to get the cables connected...
DH is as a mates place watching the Motorbike Grand Prix, so DS and I are home alone... He was making noises a little while ago but is quiet now... Not sure if he's sleeping or not, but I'll leave him a bit longer :laughing:
Those who have gone out for the day, I hope you have a great day... Melbourne weather is so nice today, kind wish we were out but now I'm too tired to do anything with DS by myself...
Take care ladies
xoxox
Bo0tifuL
14-10-2007, 02:35 PM
Im bored. DP Went out last night so he is on the lounge ZZZzzzz BORING...
sairpaul
14-10-2007, 05:06 PM
HI guys
Well I feel better today but my knees are swollen and look gross. (Thanks Crazy monkey) my party was good. Just good to catch up with family but the women doing it was a bit hopeless!! all i wanted was maternity bras. So i only got one and two briefs coz she couldn't tell me anything about them GRR!!! how can you sell a product if you dont know???
Anyway my sil told me about her friend buying some on thurs at target cheap. So my mil and I trudged off to target today and I brought 3 for $43 so I figure that the one for$59 would wanna be bloody good. LOL. Anyway really two weren't maternity more just wire free but I thought they would be good for now and all while i don't have to have the clips
Checked out everyones prams I like them all. DH and I have had this one on layby for a lil while we like it and we are getting the bassinet and a stand as well.http://www.babylove.com.au/Productdetail.asp?RecordTotal=6&RecordID=2&categoryid=1&subcategoryid=3&productid=40
Also my sil has ordered us this bath so that I don't have to bend down to our bath coz its really lowhttp://www.lovencare.com.au/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=25
Gee I'm copy and paste happy today anyway hope everyone has had a good day.
Widget I'm glad DD is better now. Although you dr says that usually that is how kids build up there immune systems maybe hers was down a lil to start with?
Chelle123
14-10-2007, 05:48 PM
Crazy Monkey is right, it has been a beautiful day today in Melbourne, we had to apply sunscreen twice!! The races were really good. They had a free animal nursery and rides for the kids and free showbags with heaps of stuff in them, the kids have had a ball.
I weighed myself this morning :eek: . I've only put on 2kg in 6wks which is good for me so I'm still under 90kg (for now). Hopefully I won't put on too much more in the next 2-3 months or I won't have any clothes to fit.
Bo0tifuL
14-10-2007, 05:51 PM
ok girls i have a bit of a dilema...So jarad went out last night, Didnt bother me one bit. i knew the guys he was going out with and where he was going etc. Half way through the night i sent him a sms just checking up on him (as we do) and i didnt get a reply, SO i rung him and it was engaged. Thgouht ok he is on the phone. So i sent another msg just saying i was just ringing to make sure your having a good night and still after 3 hours no reply. SO i pranked him 5 times and sent another msg and i finally got one back saying Im so drunk and im having dun. I was like cool. Said goodnight and i went to bed. Now when he got home this morning Jake was playing with his phone and dialed a few numbers...I didnt recongnise these numbers so i checked his last calls...7 numbers...no names, but all last night, and they went from 8pm till 3 am this morning. Whats got to me is, yeah hes made phone calls, but to who? And why didnt he write back or ring me?
I could just be a nosey pregnant women but im just worried and ... With all my bad luck latley this is just what i need! Ill have a chat to him later as he is out getting dinner, But i dont know whether i wana know the truth :(
i mean its just a phone call right?
feline11
14-10-2007, 06:11 PM
Cantwait - pram looks good
Dargonfly = so does yours
Sairpaul = like yours too - great bargain hunting with the bras - think i might have to go have a look
I am soooooooo confused about which pram i like, i know i want pne that suits newborn and up, i can see the baby and then have it so the baby can look forwards, folds up easily and isnt too heavy. We havent gone to play with any yey so think i am going to have to do that and go from there.
Bootiful - i dunno, they could all be innocent numbers of the people he went out with trying to catch up with him - who is to say they belong to women. i asked DF if your story sounded like you should be worried but he was no help and said "dunno". If you are going to worry yourself to death then bring it up with him if you can in a non accusing way. And yes they were just phone calls and he loves you.
Sorry i cant be of much help
xxxDragonFlyxxx
14-10-2007, 06:12 PM
Hey Kate, I know how hard it is to try and not let these things get to you, it's even harder when you're pregnant (been there, done that when I was pg with DD :o )
But the most logical answer is that he was calling to get in touch with some mates, perhaps some of them were late meeting up? Perhaps they got seperated? Perhaps one of his mates got a new number and you just didn't know? Perhaps they met some people why they were out? Perhaps someone else was using his phone?
So, so many perfectly good reasons, and all perectly harmless :)
I'm sure it's nothing hun, so don't work yourself up about it too much!
Widget
14-10-2007, 06:28 PM
I'll do my post, then read back...
Narrabeen was good, tad boring, but good break... Friends DF went in the water with her car keys in his pocket and buggered the immobiliser so we spent AGES trying to get the car to start... Just after we gave up and were starting to make arrangements to get everyone home, it started... So that worked out ok (except for her DF who is a LOT of trouble!).
THEN on the way home, stupid, stupid woman (I will not name nationality for fear of sounding racisit)... Hang on...
We were travelling down the Pacific Hwy and going through Roseville/Lindfield and there was a little bit of traffic because the light was red near the station... So, we let this Prado in and proceeded on our journey... WELL... 3 car spaces from the corner we let her in from, she STOPPED, we pulled up pretty hard (no dramas), DF honked the horn... She then put her left blinker on, DF honked again (we had nowhere to go, car behind us as well), THEN she put her reverse lights on... DF honked longer this time, she reversed into us!!! The horn got stuck... Her and her passengers get out of the Prado to llok at the damage and are waiting for us to get out to swap details, the whole time we're gesturing for her to pull off the road so we can get off the HIGHWAY as well... So after a couple of mins they get back in the car and drive around the corner and into a car park... DF gets out (they cr@p themselves at the 6 foot 9 bloke that just stepped out the car that they hit) and when the driver came around to inspect the damage with her mobile to take photos, she's trying to tell us that it was OUR fault!! We're showing her the damage (MIL2B needs a new front end, the exhaust put a HOLE in her bumper and their rear bumper had moved the positioning of the bonnet) and she's telling us that she didn't do this bit and that bit... Uhhh, MIL hasn't been in an accident... She was adamant that we didn't get the police involved, even though the damage is well and truly over $500 (or is that $5000, it's over either way) worth, fair enough, both cars drove off and we're all ok... DD was asleep and awake after it, but the impact wasn't enough to do any damage to her or the unborn... So now, do I need to worry about the car seat?? I was hoping to be there when DF told MIL and she got to inspect the damages but he's not swapping the cars back until about 8pm now and DD will be in bed by then so I can't go too...
Oh, and we did report it to the police...
Anyways, DD needs dinner, so I'll be back to read up and respond... :wave:
Chelle123
14-10-2007, 07:07 PM
Kate, he might have lent his phone to a mate and so he didn't know you'd called/txt. Don't stress till he gives you an explanation.
:hugs: for everything you've been through lately.
Chelle123
14-10-2007, 07:32 PM
:hugs: Widget, I'm glad you're all okay. Accidents like that just p!ss you off don't they? Not to mention all the time it takes to get fixed and reporting etc etc.
sairpaul
14-10-2007, 07:53 PM
Oh, and we did report it to the police...
Anyways, DD needs dinner, so I'll be back to read up and respond... :wave:
Very Glad to hear you are all ok and glad you did report to the police this is how people get caught and end up paying for there repairs I have many a freind who didn't:shame: But I say good on you
sairpaul
14-10-2007, 07:55 PM
Kate :hugs: I know how it is sometimes I get like that. With the engaged etc I wouldn't jump to conclusions on that my DH phone does that all the time and he'll get a message two hours later saying he missed a call from me. I know how we all jump to conclusions especially being pregnant. Let us know darls but chin up wait to here him out:hugs:
Widget
14-10-2007, 08:36 PM
Widget I'm glad DD is better now. Although you dr says that usually that is how kids build up there immune systems maybe hers was down a lil to start with?
Nope, she's not... Just stopped throwing up, her bum has now gone... I've never seen her poos like this before, it's gets everywhere!!
So, she's back off dairy now.
I'm thinking that because she's not a taste tester, she hasn't had the last 8 or so months of putting horrid things in her mouth to build up an immunity to the germs...
I didnt recongnise these numbers so i checked his last calls...7 numbers...no names, but all last night, and they went from 8pm till 3 am this morning. Whats got to me is, yeah hes made phone calls, but to who? And why didnt he write back or ring me?
I could just be a nosey pregnant women but im just worried and ... With all my bad luck latley this is just what i need! Ill have a chat to him later as he is out getting dinner, But i dont know whether i wana know the truth :(
i mean its just a phone call right?
I'm a snooper... I ask straight out who he called and why... But I usually find some chicks number stored in his phone, not calls to numbers I don't know, though lately, there has been a few...
BUT... maybe a friends phone died or something and they needed to contact their better halves or something? I don't know, but I hope it sorts out for the best!
MissSookyLaLa
14-10-2007, 09:31 PM
hey bootiful, i wouldnt jump to conclusions, if it were me i would just tell my DH that i needed to know he would pick up the phone whenever i called cause id get worried etc etc
plus it was 7 different numbers right? id be worried if it was one number, but 7 different numbers suggests to me that one of his mates borrowed his phone.
widget, glad you're ok after the accident and hope your little one is ok
Hi Guys ...
Just popping on quickly to say thanks for the hugs and support ... I'm feeling a bit calmer about the appointment now although I have no idea how we are going to get there now!
We were driving home from a friends place at approx 7pm and had promised the kids KFC for dinner when we heard a pop and fizz sound. I managed to pull over off the highway into a motel courtyard and found that a hose had blown in the engine :mad: I got some water and we managed to limp home watching the temp gauge carefully. The kids had been promised KFC and were really disappointed that they were going to miss out (big special treat!) so we decided at DS's suggestion (mental note - NEVER listen to a 4 ˝ yo again) to walk there and back. It was further than we thought and after a 40min walk we finally got there. Ate disgustingly greasy chicken and then walked 40min home!
The kids are exhausted and conked out as soon as we put them to bed, DH is asleep aready and I have to stay up until 11pm for my final insulin shot of the day - I would love to be asleep too.
DH is going to try and borrow a car from his boss tomorrow morning - either that or we are going to have to hire one. The latest train that will get us to Westmead on time leaves here at 8:57am and DH will still be working then, so we really have no choice. I am going to have to make other arrangements for DS in the morning too as the ones I have made seem to be falling through :banghead: - Oh well, at least it was a beuatiful sunny day, I got to spend time with friends and the kids and we managed to get home in one piece. The biggest thing is at least it's only a blown hose on the car and not something more serious!
Take care all ... will pop on and let you know how my appointment goes - who knows, I may end up spending a bit of time at Westmead - great opportunity to meet some of you. Got to look on the bright side :wave:
Widget
14-10-2007, 10:26 PM
Elias, they have an internet cafe sort of thing on the ground floor of the Children's hospital (not sure about the main hospital) if you end up staying for a little while (no, offence, but I hope you don't) jump on, PM me your number and we'll catch up if you want to...
I'm pooped after my big day and I can't believe I'm actually going to bed before midnight!! :eek:
sairpaul
15-10-2007, 05:54 AM
Looks like I spoke too soon widget. Poor dd. Mmm. Dairy can be tricky. If its lactose the dr said to avoid you can buy Liddels lactose free milk. there are also yoghurts etc that you can buy which might not upset her tummy.
Elias I wish you the best of luck today. I will be on tonight to see how you went
Well I'm off to meet a friend bright and early for coffee then to see other friends for coffee then to order some new specs been having a bit of trouble with headaches etc so figure I should get a new pair while they are free.
Also DH and I looked at my legs last night not only are my ankles swollen its now my calfs and knees. my hands are really swollen too having trouble getting on my rings etc. thank goodness i have my dr app tomorrow. Starting to worry about pre eclampsia been doing som reading.... I wish i wouldn't read sometimes... I just panic myself
Chelle123
15-10-2007, 07:47 AM
Well I'm off to meet a friend bright and early for coffee then to see other friends for coffee
Sounds like you've got a great day planned Sarah. Have a coffee for me!!!
We're supposed to be meeting a friend & her kids at a park this arvo but its 27 deg and really windy so I think I might invite them here. In true Melbourne style, tomorrow is going to be 17.
Starting to worry about pre eclampsia been doing som reading.... I wish i wouldn't read sometimes... I just panic myself
I know what you mean by swelling. I went to put on some nice shoes on Sat night for DH's b'day and they were really tight. Although I've always put on weight in pg, I've never really swollen that much.
Thinking of you today Elias :hugs:
AnnaT
15-10-2007, 07:49 AM
Widge has A always been lactose intolerant? Because I was told Jett was at 9mths when he suddenly had vommiting and loose stools without acually having gastro so he's been on lactose free formula and then milk up until now BUT my Paed told me on Friday that he isnt LI. Its extremely rare for it to develop as a toddler, its usually either from birth OR during adolescence. She may just need a bit of time to adjust. I was given the go ahead to start Jett on full cream milk (he can eat cheese/ice cream etc) as of now by making his bottles 1/4 dairy to 3/4 lactose free for 2 weeks, then 1/2 and 1/2, then 3/4 to 1/4 then full dairy. Maybe try that?
xxxDragonFlyxxx
15-10-2007, 08:06 AM
Sair - Try not to worry too much about pre-eclampisa! Of course it's a possibility, but lots of other things cause swelling too. I had shocking swelling in my feet, calves, knees and hands with DD, but it was just due to high BP, not pre-eclampsia, also sometimes pg women just retain a lot more fluid without there being any cause for concern and drinking lots of water and wearing support stockings can help!
I hope it's just something little and that it's not PE!!!
Elias - Goodluck today, I really hope that everything goes well for your, thinking of you!
Ahh just another boring day at home for me! It's actually a nice day here today, supposed to be 21deg, but cold again for the rest of the week :rolleyes: so i'm taking advantage and i've hung all DD's nappies out on the line to dry, and i'll get cracking on washing all the baby blankets and wraps that I didn't do the other day! It will be nice to actually get stuff dry outside on the line for a change!
Chelle123
15-10-2007, 08:19 AM
I really don't want to work today. My DH has an antenna installation business and I answer the phones 3 days a week. Its really windy today and from past experience, this is what will happen:
Phone rings, customer says (in a very accusing tone) "your company installed our antenna and now we keep losing signal" I say "has it just been today?" they say "yes" I say "well, its the wind causing the signal loss and there is nothing we can do, if there is still a problem tomorrow, call back" they say "can't someone come today?" I say "no, the problem will fix itself when the wind stops" then they get peed off and hang up.
This happens all day and drives me insane because I get accused of bad customer service and all that when we can't possibly visit 30 houses in one day on top of all our existing bookings.
Sorry, just had to pre-vent
sairpaul
15-10-2007, 09:57 AM
Hi well coffee was enjoyable and relaxing. Well i feel offish now i don't know why think i might need a nanna nap. DH finished work for the day and so we are at home together. gosh he has a cushy job. LOL. I hope everyone is right about PE.
I hope everyone is having a good day. As you can tell i'm very bored just got home and had a job to park at my own house. We live 5 doors away from a primary school and there is and aths carnival on I didn't think i was going to get into my driveway the way everyone is crammed in the street. Well i might go lay down and read a book or something ill be floating around today.
Bo0tifuL
15-10-2007, 10:19 AM
Hey chickys!
I had a chat to DP about the whole phone situation, Apparently they were pranking people from his phone but they were his mates friends, All girls too. So i had a hissy fit, probably a bit too much but i just thought if u can talk to people all night and not make an effort to msg me and let me know your all right then too bad! So he is in twuble! hehe. But i thnk my hormones are getting the better of me, i need to stop "thinking too much" and looking to much into things! Thanks everyone for being here for me! i dont really have anyone else anymore, and its good to come on here and know the support is always here :)
Chelle123
15-10-2007, 10:22 AM
I'm glad its okay Kate. As someone else said, I'd have been much more suss if all the calls were to the same number.
Have a great day :wave:
sairpaul
15-10-2007, 11:54 AM
:hugs: Thats really good news Kate!!! I think all our hormones are raging at the moment mine especially.
Well I'm currently eating a pack of rice in which i'm forcing my self to eat coz chocolate is a better option but have to be good. It's not sitting very well tho. Anyway be back after
Chelle123
15-10-2007, 12:09 PM
Well I'm currently eating a pack of rice in which i'm forcing my self to eat coz chocolate is a better option but have to be good. It's not sitting very well tho. Anyway be back after
Sarah, I'm trying to be good too. I had an apple & banana with my morning coffee instead of biscuits and a boring lunch. Trying to stay under 90kg till the end now, which only gives me 3kg. Trying to drink lots of water too. I was 85kg at the end with DS1 and that was the heaviest I have ever been (until now) :eek: . At least I know I can lose the weight afterwards. Within 6 months of having both boys, I was down to 58/59kg and thats my aim again - to have my normal body by next Summer.
xxxDragonFlyxxx
15-10-2007, 12:22 PM
Glad there was a simple answer about the phone situation Kate! Although i'm with you, I still woulda told DH off, good on you! You always have to keep in mind, that when there are kids involved, the other parent always needs to be contactable incase of emergencies!
Food - Ahh i've been baking and eating FAR too many chocolate cakes over the last week LoL I'm a terrible girl :o
I try to be good, but i'm a sucker for chocolate cakes, especially when PG and i've been eating lots of soft serve lately too, MmMmMMm chocolate Maccas Sundae *drools*
Although we had a very healthy dinner the past two nights, so that's good! My starting weight this time around was 90kgs, and i've no idea how much i've gained so far, so it will be interesting to find out when I have my 36week appointment, I might have to jump on some scales before then and have a look see. I'm not concerned about it at all, just starting to get curious now really!
Kasia
15-10-2007, 12:38 PM
Hi Guys
well I ha the big move on the weekend...first home...feels great to be all settled, can't wait to attack the nursury but DH wants to wait a little longer BOO
INSOMIA!!!!!!!! anyone else, I am usually the best sleeper but I am having the worst insomeia....driving me nuts!!!
pinkevie
15-10-2007, 01:12 PM
Hi girls, :wave:
I have been away on holidays and it is taking me so long to catch up with everything!!
Hope everyone is well!! I am having really strange pains really low down - it is making me walk funny. I think the baby is standing on some nerves or something!!:eek:
Chelle123
15-10-2007, 01:14 PM
No insomnia here Kasia. I am usually so buggered by the end of the day, I can't wait to get to bed. The only thing that keeps me awake sometimes is bubs kicking or DH snoring.
Congrats on your new home too :smiliedance:
Crazy Monkey
15-10-2007, 01:42 PM
All going well here, except for the heartburn...
DS has been testing my patience today, and if I didn't go to my mums, I think I