View Full Version : What does your lil one wear with mcn's?
kel2boys
05-10-2007, 21:26
I've just bought a bunch of mcn's and seeing that the weather is warming up, do you think it looks ok for bubs/tods to wear just a cute colour matching singlet with their mcn when out and about?
Do you think it looks a little underdressed/daggy?
I'd hate to have to put shorts over some of the gorgeous prints that I have. For certain occasions I would of course....
What does your lil one normally wear out and about (to the shops) with their mcns?
when the weather gets warmer here, i will take Harps to the shops in a funky mcn and a t-shirt. hopefully, mums will ask about his nappy and i will be ready to convert them hehehehe.
i would put pants over his nappy depending where we were going, but down the shops... no worries!
definately just a nappy and shirt or singlet as much as possible:D
LOVE showing his cute bum off!
But yep depends were you are going and what you are doing too.
Just to the shops, yeah nappy is fine.
RaryGirl
05-10-2007, 21:47
Just popping into the shops ..... the nappy and a bright singlet to match.
Little_Toad
05-10-2007, 22:13
exactly the same as he's been wearing all winter.
Nappy and tshirt. Will use a singlet though.
Not sure what I'll do when he starts walking though.
I feel a little odd about just letting him walk around in a nappy with no trousers/pants.
SassyMummy
05-10-2007, 22:23
DD is 2 - I don't care how hot it gets, she doesn't get to do a "nappy and singlet" thing when we're out. At home it's fine, but as a low-income young mother, I don't want to LOOK like a low-income young mother (yes I know, how snobby...:o :p ).
The least I'll do is chuck a light dress on her... or a pair of little lightweight shorts and singlet top (not an actual singlet, but one that is meant to be worn as a shirt...).
Cheeky Little Monkey
05-10-2007, 22:56
I'm with Sassymummy on this one - I put a dress or the like on my kids when we got to the major shops.
kel2boys
06-10-2007, 07:50
hey I totally agree with DD's wearing a little light dress when going to major shops:yes: but as for DS's as I said I find it weird having to put shorts over his cute mcn's.....But I suppose this is really the first season I have used them and to think winter time I have to put long pants over the top :no: ohhnooooooo:)
clgcsmum
06-10-2007, 16:12
Just down to do the groceries just a singlet or shirt, to major shops a cute little outfit.
06-10-2007, 16:17
I'm not keen on going out in just a nappy and top so Eb is always fully dressed.
HoopDeeDoo
06-10-2007, 18:09
Last year when Lachlan wasn't walking it was just a T-shirt and nappy, Noah in t-shirt and shorts over his nappy.
This year I'll probably put a pair of shorts over the top, just cause he's running around now so
a) more skin covered up means less area to scratch or graise when he falls over
b) it just looks better on a toddler
But if it's hot enough he'll just be in a T-shirt and nappy because a lot of times the shopping centres air con isn't working properly and they overheat
:fingerscrossed: Noah will be fully TT by the time it gets really hot
You can usually see the nappy poking out over thier pants :)
06-10-2007, 18:21
Around the house it's a T-shirt or a singlet and a nappy. When out in public we put dresses on DD.
We just bought a matching dress and nappy set which has a slit at the back of the dress to show the nappy off. I was a bit iffy taking her out in it, but we ended up receiving really nice comments about it when we took the kids to the play centre so I was rapt. It got lots of parents interested in knowing more about modern cloth nappies.. Bonus! So I guess there is benefits taking cloth nappied children out to show nappies off, it 'promotes' MCN's :laughing:
I would take DD out in a nappy and just singlet but I gather if I put a light weight dress on her instead there's less of a chance that she'll get burnt.
breesmummy
06-10-2007, 18:40
Dress sets.....Just spent bucketloads on them for DD,
OOOH handdyed singlets and minky nappies my new spurge!!!! They look super together!!!
KapowSchazam
06-10-2007, 19:10
Karni, do you have a piccie of that dress???
06-10-2007, 19:19
Karni, do you have a piccie of that dress???
Yup I do! I'll post it in a sec when the video I have uploading finishes. :)
Mitch has made my decision a lot easier - we'll have to wear shorts over the top, or else he'll take his nappy off! Not a good look for anywhere but the backyard :D .
Last summer, I had him in just nappy and t-shirt / singlet quite a bit, but not if we were going to anywhere more important than the shops.
He's pretty spunky in a nappy & singlet, if I do say so myself! (http://i94.photobucket.com/albums/l115/sarahwilson77/Mitchinhisdragonflies030307014.jpg)
06-10-2007, 19:38
Here are the pics Renee...
Strawberry Shortcake dress (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/StrawberryShortcakeSet012.jpg)
Reversible side (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/StrawberryShortcakeSet019.jpg)
Back of dress (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/StrawberryShortcakeSet005.jpg)
The long sleeve top underneath wasn't included in the set.
Oooh, I love those Loz! Do you think Mitch'd hate me if I bought a set for him?!?!?! :p
06-10-2007, 19:49
Oooh, I love those Loz! Do you think Mitch'd hate me if I bought a set for him?!?!?! :p
:laughing: Nah, he's young enough not to care what you dress him in. If he was a bit older, then you would give him a complex ;)
KapowSchazam
06-10-2007, 19:50
Thanks Loz! It looks fab! Where'd you get it? Is the nappy an AIO???
06-10-2007, 19:56
Thanks Loz! It looks fab! Where'd you get it? Is the nappy an AIO???
No worries. I got it from Pure and Natural Botanika (Widdlewuns) on Ozebaby. The nappy is an AI2. :)
KapowSchazam
06-10-2007, 19:58
*scoots off to check it out*
KapowSchazam
06-10-2007, 20:02
OOOHHH and a bamboo AI2 to boot!!! :thumbsup:
06-10-2007, 20:09
Yeah but the insert is very very VERY trim which sucks, so I just add a BBH hemp booster in and its fine.
My ds is normally with a nappy and matching coloured T-shirt with slogan...
e.g. purple Magicalls AIO with a purple T-shirt size 00 with the saying "Future Dockers Player"...etc
I have 2 of every colour of babybeehinds products except the pink :)
Susan Mac
06-10-2007, 22:27
My DS is one now, so I usually put shorts on him if we are going out. But I don't have a problem with just a t-shirt or funky singlet if it is appropriate. Like after we'd been to the pool yesterday, we needed to go to the supermarket, but I didn't bother with shorts, just a t-shirt.
DD is 2 - I don't care how hot it gets, she doesn't get to do a "nappy and singlet" thing when we're out. At home it's fine, but as a low-income young mother, I don't want to LOOK like a low-income young mother (yes I know, how snobby...:o :p ).
I think that's okay, Stacey. Good on you for not following a stereotype.
breesmummy
07-10-2007, 07:54
Lauren, YOU got the strawberry shortcake!!!!
I got the flutterbye auction, Had SS in my cart ummm ahhhhed but shes only 5 weeks!!!!
Now I see your little sweetie, Im so glad I passed!!!!!
07-10-2007, 10:11
breesmummy - When I saw them I first liked the Flutterby dress set first, but I opted for the SSC one because it was a large. I'm glad I didn't get the Flutterby one now because it wouldn't have fit DD for very long.
Please post some pics of Bree in the set when she grows into it. :)
Sheer Bliss
07-10-2007, 16:39
when the weather gets warmer here, i will take Harps to the shops in a funky mcn and a t-shirt. hopefully, mums will ask about his nappy and i will be ready to convert them hehehehe.
i would put pants over his nappy depending where we were going, but down the shops... no worries!
LOL I am planning on having DS in nappy & t-shirts too in the hope of some conversions. Most of the time people have seen the nappies they have commented on his cute pants - so most people already think they are pants :p I had him in a blue dress shirt, blue minky bubblebubs & baby legs at hogsbreath for lunch the other weekend. People commented on how smart & cute his pants & long socks were. :D
DD is 2.5yo - so IMO she is too old to be running about at shops in a nappy, so she will be dressed - but i have had her in a few skirts, so you can still sorta see it.
IN Winter Av was wearing fitteds and longies when we went out. Last Summer he wore wool shorties. If it was really hot I think a nappy and tee would have been fine depending on where we are going.
Now we don't use nappies very often. So when we go out probably shorts over a nappy or undies if I am just picking up my daughter.
I am more than happy to take DS2 out in a t-shirt matched with a nice MCN. I would never ever ever take him down to the shops in a sposie and t-shirt without pants over the top but I am proud to be a cloth user and I think MCN are just like clothes really (you pay enough for them lol) so I don't feel the need to cover them up.
mumofsam
09-10-2007, 10:12
tshirt and nappy for us here :thumbsup:
although as ds will be walking soon, i will probably put shorts on him more... not that too many shorts fit over his cloth bum :laughing:
i've never had it warm enough to even think about this lol,
but i reckon, when out and about, i'd probably want shorts or pants over him, i still feel that my mcns still look like undies (they're all plain PUL).
if they were minky, i'd consider them as clothes.
and if he were crawling, i might do legwarmers to cover his knees..
jembelina
09-10-2007, 12:45
Definately just a nappy and a t-shirt/singlet most of the time! bub is walking, but unless we are at eh park adn I think his legs need a bit of protection , he will be in just a nappy. I have so many gorgeous nappies taht have been hidden under apnts all winter -they need some showing off!! Besides, even though he is walking, he is still a baby!