View Full Version : Big sister seeks "hamper advice" for pregnant little sister!

Lusitania
20-02-2006, 20:21
Hi everyone... I've never had a baby and my little sis is pregnant. I wanted to put together the "best hamper ever", full of products that she will use. I want it to make life easier for her. I don't really want to know about "my first lock of hair" boxes, or mobiles, or photo frames. I'm more interested in everyday practical things... not only for the baby but also for my sister (maybe even her husband too!). So, if you could pick and choose ten cheap-ish products that would really make your day, what would they be? thanks.

Frazzled
20-02-2006, 20:46
Baby Love by Robin Barker - has been my right hand man on a daily basis

Bonds singlet body suits

Pentanen nappy cream - from chemists $13.95 but it is amazing!

HUGE wraps

Bibs, bibs and more bins - especially ones that pull on and off over the head

Cloth nappies to catch vomit

Can't you tell i have a reflux bubba!!!:eek:

goldcoastgirl18
20-02-2006, 20:59
huggies whipes, nappys

johnsons baby powder, top to toe bath, baby shampoo

face washes

DUMMY- i know lucas couldnt live with out his

baby lotion

(take a walk down the baby section of ur local shop and u will get sume great ideas,

:) louise-19
:D lucas-25-11-2005

giggles
20-02-2006, 21:01
A books a great idea.........I'll go with

The Baby Whisperer by Tracy Hogg
A couple of Bonds Wondersuits for PJ's
Bonds Singletsuits
A couple of tubes of Am-O-Lin
A couple of boxes of nappy sacks (if she is going disposable)
A pack of cloth nappies...........great for EVERYTHING
A non slip mat for the bottom of the trough, kitchen sink, wherever she plans to bathe bubba
And my MIL made me a stack of flannelette bunny rugs - extra large - with fabric from spotlight and they are just about threadbare we use them that much.

I will add more if I think of anything else.

Good luck to your sis and what a wonderful Aunty you'll make ;)

My3kids
20-02-2006, 21:10
Thermometer - one that reads in a couple of seconds (I picked mine up for $30)

Children Medical guide book or make up a quick emergancy reference Numbers like there local hospital, there local dr number, Health clinic, Local chemist, Poison, etc. (very handy)

A baby book or Journal so she can put her thoughts in of her baby.

Other things i thought of can't really go in a hamper, but my friends and ! (there were 7 of us all due within a few weeks of each of other) decide near the end of our pregnancy to all cook up 7 meals that were able to freaze and re heat, and all gave one to each other so when we got back home with baby if we weren't up to cooking a meal we could just reheat the frozen meal. It was wonderful.

For my sis, I bought her a nappy bag, and filled it up so it was all ready for an outing. Like nappies, wipes, cream, powder, face washer, laundry bag, spare clothes (summer & winter jumpsuit) singlet, bibs 3, Rattles, tissues, mini first aid kit. etc. She loved it.

cwsmum
20-02-2006, 21:20
Some Papaw Ointment, that stuff fixes everything from nappy rash to cracked nipples...Huggies washcloths, they smell sooo nice....umm...Maybe some homemade vouchers for things like babysitting, vacuuming, cooking dinner for them, that sort of thing.

There are some threads for free stuff, maybe you could try emailing some companies for some samples. I have gotten a few from the ones listed...Avent, Johnsons...I got some really nice baby samples from Jurlique a weeks of so ago, Hamilton labs sent me some Toddler sunscreen samples...
There's heaps of others I just can't remember them all right now.

misskittyfantastico
20-02-2006, 23:32
Maybe not really for the hamper, but frozen meals are the best:)

Ky
21-02-2006, 07:45
Make sure you put something in to pamper herself with ... maybe a nice body wash or bubble bath.

Muslin washcloths, wipes, nappies, dummy, cloth nappies, bepanthen cream, zinc and castor oil cream, nappy bags, bibs, safety items ie. plug guards, disposable change mats, breast pads, maternity pads, soft spoons, teethers, little socks, bodysuits, baby clothes without feet (if too tight they damage bones in bub's feet), water bottle (for water on hand while feeding) ... thats all I can think of now ...

Avoid baby powder and baby oil ... they are not really very safe and can kill if inhaled accidentally so I would just avoid them altogether. If you are going to buy baby wash, get something natural ... I avoided it as it dries bubs skin out. Maybe put in some oil (olive is good) for moisturising bub and for used with baby massage.

Hope this helps!

Merlion
21-02-2006, 09:08
* The book What to Expect in the First Year - I found this better than What to Expect when you are expecting as she'd probably buy all the books regarding pregnancy but not anything regarding after bubs is born. My cousin recommended this and its a lifesaver.
*Bibs and more bibs
* Burp Cloths - Just cloth nappies
* Dummies - don't buy too many as they can be addicted to them. My best friend uses them all the time and her bubs can't live without one even if she's not grumpy
* Baby Wraps - excellent when you go out to cover the pram so ppl can't look in when bubs is asleep or to wrap baby in

johnsons baby powder, top to toe bath, baby shampoo

I wouldn't buy johnsons products as due to my baby gets really bad excema it makes it worse but I have used QV Wash (a huge pump bottle is about $15 on special from the chemist) it can be used as a shampoo and if the baby has sensitive skin its a miracle work.

Manxie
21-02-2006, 09:17
What a lovely big sister:D

No 1 product for me was the nipple cream you get from the chemist - help me someone with the name - small purple tube- it was an absolute godsend.

I was given a really cheap plastic change mat which I have found great for nappy off time

I personally wouldnt go too mad with bubble bath, creams etc- I got given a lot of J&J stuff and my dd cant use it as it makes her skin terrible.

Nappies
Cotton buds
For mum - some nice smelling body wash - I was given some with Natio stuff with Mint and it was lovely for the morning after.
Meals for the freezer is an excellent idea
My big sis gave me some money to get the house cleaned:D
A notebook to write down time of feeds, nappies changed etc

Umm thats all I can think of for now:D

MissSparkle
21-02-2006, 10:20
Nipple cream is a must!
And maybe some Palmers body lotion for ur sis!

Bonjela
Baby socks
Baby grooming set (Nail clippers, comb etc)
Lots of bibs
BIG wraps
jumpsuits
singlets
A cute lil outfit
Some nappies
a feeding pillow (Its an amazing pillow that wraps around u to lye bubs on when u r feeding)

And for ur sister-
Some body lotion
Bubble bath
Some choccies (YUM)

LittleBoysRock
21-02-2006, 11:12
I would highly reccomend the book 'What to expect when you are expecting'. It was my bible while I was pregnant. It is so informative. :)

And for the baby's father ' A blokes guide to pregnancy'. My DH had this and loved it. :)

Madi
21-02-2006, 11:20
I would recomend a bath thermometer. We picked up a cute little duck that you float in the bath and it has strip on the side that tells you how hot the water is. It was only about 7 bucks from big W.

Singletsuits also get my vote. :)

Lusitania
21-02-2006, 11:40
Thanks everyone, you've been so helpful! I've heard so many good things about Pawpaw cream... must go and find some. This is going to be fun.

Lunar
21-02-2006, 12:12
Paw paw ointment you can get just about everywhere. Woolies sells it and juat about every chemist does too;)

I got DH a book called "Diary of a pregnant Dad" by Rob Wilcher.
I have even read it myself to get the 'blokes' perspective, and it is hilarious! DH said it was great, he loves it.

Also try to get products that are made with natural ingredients. Aromababy have a great range and Gaia baby are all natural too, both very nice.

Plenty of bibs and soft cloths and wraps.
Nappies (NEED them everyday!)
Wipes
nappy sacks (for stinky nappies)

I think everyone has already suggested some REALLY good things. All are pretty much everyday things that you need EVERYDAY!
Good luck and I must say what a lovely thought.

Oh just thought of something... maybe some really nice pregnancy massage lotion or oil, her partner can rub it on.

I also really like the idea some said of the home made vouchers for house work, cooking etc..... would be VERY helpful!:D

hayleylea
21-02-2006, 13:21
I definatley agree with the nipple cream in the purple tube too i think its called lanosoil or something like!! WORKS WONDERS and if you have it from the starts she it will help her alot if she is breastfeeding.

Why dont you look in the freebies section and write away to a few of the companies and get some free bottles and dummies etc for the hamper? just a suggestion.

Huggies washclothes are GREAT!
bath stand that goes in baby bath are just excellent too if she doesnt have one...they make it alot easier to bath a baby!
Breast milk storage bags if she wants to express some for emergenicies or so she can have a break here and there?
nappy rash cream
i think everyone else has pretty much said everything...!!

goodluck

SassyMummy
22-02-2006, 01:13
I would DEFINATELY consider buying a book, above anything else. I think it's the one thing I rely on day-in, day-out...having that information ready is a god-send!

If I were to want TEN things, like you asked for, I'd want:

*Pidgeon Breast-Pads - others slipped in my bra, and irritated...whereas these ones didn't...for whatever reason.
*Pidgeon Bottles with Peristalic teats - I sound like a Pidgeon salesperson...lol...but I find these bottles to work best. I didn't plan on bottle-feeding, but it worked out that way...and I had to go out and buy so much bottle-related stuff all at once!
*Huggies Baby Wipes - they're the thickest I've found, and don't tear (so no poo on your fingers! Ew!)
*Baby Panadol - It's not something you think about until you need it (but baby won't be able to use it until he/she's one month!)
*Little Wishes Box of Nappies - They're the woolies brand. You get a few more for the same price...and they work really well. Had I not have been given them, I wouldn't have ever used them, only huggies. They're really good and cheaper...so yeah.
*Disposable Bibs - You can keep them in the bottom of the pram in case you forget to take one with you.
*Bepanthen Ointment - really good for sore bottoms.
*Magazines and food to take to the hospital - I had a C-section, and I certainly didn't want one...but I stayed in hospital for a bit over a week. SO BORING.
*Breast Pump - I figured I wouldn't need one...but OMG my boobs got SO sore and just wouldn't stop leaking. It was tragic. I sent my mother down to the late-night chemists to get me one.
*Bottle Dry Shampoo - you can get these from the pharmacy...they're no-water-necessary shampoos...they're great for when you don't have time to clean your hair but it looks crap!

They're just my ideas...good luck!

KiLLaKaZ
11-03-2006, 04:44
please, please let this be my big sis!! hehe (i should be so lucky...) ;)

the one thing i really wanted to add has been mentioned a few times - make sure you get something to pamper your sis with! EVERYONE will be getting her baby stuff, so it'll make a nice change! & even if it's not something practical, maybe some nice jewellery like a locket for her to put bub's photo in? that should make her day ;)

can't remember seeing it mentioned yet, but face washers are good, too. someone said they used them instead of baby wipes (at home) & therefore saved heaps of $$ - i plan on doing the same! :D you can get packs of 5 or more plain ones for this.
& of course they can be used as face/ body washers & you can get very pretty/ nice ones for this :D

*Sal*
11-03-2006, 13:54
These ideas are great. I might put together a hamper for myself :rolleyes:

The nipple cream someone wanted the name of was LANSINOH, and I agree it was a lifesaver. I'm not sure if anyone mentioned it yet, but a CD of music specially made for babies is a lovely idea, to get them off to sleep (relaxing for mum and dad too) and those brainy baby DVDs are great as well. I always found I was losing baby socks, so maybe a few pairs of 6 months+ sized sox.

I got a really cute white rabbit from the signature bear http://www.gotthegift.com.au/shopexd.asp?id=76 website, it has really long ears and you write baby's name, date of birth, weight, length on the inside of the ears. It comes with a pink and a blue ribbon, so you pick the appropriate one and tie it around the rabbit's neck. I think it was about $15. Many of the other things I would include have been mentioned already.

Have fun putting the hamper together.

JodieC
11-03-2006, 17:12
Maybe instead of putting the things into a hamper, use a nappy bag. Some friends of mine did this with bub #2 and it was great :thumbsup:

jes
15-03-2006, 20:41
Hi there:)

my sister made me a 'baby cake' out of towels,washers,socks,wraps etc. It looked so good and was super helpful! AND when i had my daughter my OLDER BROTHER made me a small basket full of pampering products like creams, foot scrubs, refresher spray and chocolates and much more! He came up with the idea all by himself:thumbsup: isnt that special!

Im sure she will love anything that will help her prepare for her little bubby!

2princesses
16-03-2006, 15:39
Being the mum of 2 (both girls, one 3yr old. one 5mth old) the Handiest things I found were:

ALPHA KERI products $6 - $18 (lotions, soaps etc, they are neutral products, non irritating and can be used by the whole family. I know, I am allergic to many soap products and find this range great)

PIGEON products: Ultra thin breast pads, dummies and teats (very soft and supple, shaped like nipples to avoid confusion)

SUPPORT MATERNITY BRAS (Maybe a voucher for a lingerie shop?? must get them professionally fitted)

MUSLIN WRAPS (can get various styles, I use the ones from TARGET that are shaped like diamonds with letters / numbers for ease of wrapping particularly for partners / family members)

LAMBSWOOL INLAYS for pram / car seat. warm in winter, cool in summer for baby

HOMEMADE VOUCHERS FROM FAMILY eg: meals, cleaning, washing, shopping etc....

Hope this helps, it's a great thought!!!

Lusitania
26-03-2006, 14:52
Just wanted to pop up on this forum again and thank everyone (again).

I went crazy and bought a lot of the products you mentioned, and then I individually wrapped everything and put it all in a big nappy bucket, which was wrapped in love heart wrapping paper. That was my "hamper". She loved it.

It's all about LOVE :kiss: