View Full Version : Castor Oil - Does it work?
LachlansMun
04-10-2007, 12:00
I'm just wondering if anyone had tried castor oil to bring on labour and whether it worked for them or not?
catalicious
04-10-2007, 12:02
IMO!! No it doesnt work....
Hasnt worked for anyone I know who has tried it....
All it did was either Make them vomit OR **** lots and lots.....
~*clairesmum*~
04-10-2007, 12:28
i tried it n it idnt work, the chemist told me o have sex when i brought it so we did n no that didnt work either i tried everything i.e: star jumps, sex, castor oil, walking, curb walking everything.......sill had to get induced at the hospital cause she wasnt comeing out by her self
lilpearl
04-10-2007, 13:28
castor oil is a bad idea for inducing labour. It doesn't work, and even if it does, you'll spend your labour sick as a dog.
Oooh no bad idea. From what I have heard it can bring labour on far to quickly and painfully. Also increases the risk of myconium in the waters???
I have a friend who did it and she would definately NOT recommend it.
How about accupuncture, worked for me
04-10-2007, 13:44
I haven't tried it, and I have only heard bad reports on using it.
LachlansMun
04-10-2007, 14:00
Mmmmm definatly something to think about. A lot of people say it makes you really sick and it's not worth it but I've also heard from people that it worked and it wasn't that bad.
I've read that it can be dangerous to the unborn baby and then I've also read that it's be proven to be safe.....alot of mixed information.
I've already tried sex, walking, rasberry leaf tablets, nipple stimulation with the breast pump and none of these have given any twinges.
I'm so tired of being pregnant, especially in this Brisbane heat and with a 2 and a half year old demanding my attention all day long. I just want it to be over!
LittleMissyMoo
04-10-2007, 14:20
A lady who had 8 children told me that she took caster oil while in a warm bath to bring on labour. She said she used to pack her hospital bag, take the castor oil in a bath and an hour later she'd be at the hospital like clockwork.
I followed her lead and not a thing happened other than some serious gagging :laughing:
I took the castor oil, went for a long walk, had dinner, had a hot bath, had a show, watched Gilmour Girls, went to bed and about 10 mins after getting into bed my waters broke i had her 4 hrs and 38 mins later 2 weeks early, i had a hard and fast labour but would rather that then long and drawn out, i was not sick with it and it really wasnt that bad, DD Was born safe and healthy.
Noah_and_Elijah
04-10-2007, 18:57
Tried it in copious amounts, several times and it did absolutely nothing.
The thought of it literally makes me gag to this day! :no:
Melissa1983
04-10-2007, 20:20
i done it with DD2 and it worked.
I drink some with Wine and OJ about 4:30pm, had a hot bath about 6:30pm and was in labour 1:30am the next morning and only had a hour labour..
LachlansMun
05-10-2007, 07:46
i done it with DD2 and it worked.
I drink some with Wine and OJ about 4:30pm, had a hot bath about 6:30pm and was in labour 1:30am the next morning and only had a hour labour..
Sounds to good to be true!
It' would be great if it worked for me, I'm just worried that I'll try it and nothing will happen!
Melissa1983
05-10-2007, 07:51
Sounds to good to be true!
It' would be great if it worked for me, I'm just worried that I'll try it and nothing will happen!
It does taste YUCK!!!! and worst thing it could do is make you go to the toilet. I am thinking about doing it with this one as well, but not until i'm 37 to 38 weeks of course, unless he decides to come earlier that is.
mama anne
06-10-2007, 00:02
and worst thing it could do is make you go to the toilet.
i think though different people seem to have different reactions to it. the middy that took our birth class for our first bub told us all about a woman who'd taken castor oil, and spent her entire labour vomiting, diarrhoea-ing, and screaming with pain through the vomit.
not at all how i would like to labour :no:
lilpearl
06-10-2007, 07:28
i think though different people seem to have different reactions to it. the middy that took our birth class for our first bub told us all about a woman who'd taken castor oil, and spent her entire labour vomiting, diarrhoea-ing, and screaming with pain through the vomit.
not at all how i would like to labour :no:
That's the only sort of stories I've heard from midwives, too. Seriously not worth it!
clgcsmum
06-10-2007, 16:17
I tried it with orange juice with DS 7 at the advice of my SIL was really sick and no labour :no: didnt try it with DS 6. Thought about it this time...went into the chemist and started gagging when I looked at the bottle so didnt bother buying it.
I just took a tablespoon with a glass of orange juice. Will let you know if anything happens tonight. :fingerscrossed: it does as I'm 11 days over and have an induction booked for Monday afternoon.
mumzdaword
06-10-2007, 20:02
Oooh no bad idea. From what I have heard it can bring labour on far to quickly and painfully. Also increases the risk of myconium in the waters???
I have a friend who did it and she would definately NOT recommend it.
How about accupuncture, worked for me
this is so true....:yes::yes: i would NOT recommend that you use it:no::no:
I'm over being pg too... these last few weeks are hard! My little man is a real handful for me at the moment... all I want to do is lie down and rest, but I can't :no: .
Please be really careful about taking castor oil, ok? It's ultimately your decision, but it would be awful for the worst case scenario to happen, and you become really sick, or worse - your bubba does.
After taking the castor oil last night I got a bit of nausea (no vomitting though).
Just before bed I started getting pains in my back and lower stomach. Couldnt sleep so kept getting up.
Took some rennie for the nausea and it cleared up almost straight away.
Went to try and get more sleep as I felt really tired, woke up this morning and all the pains were gone.
I was so sure that was going to be it for me. Thinking about taking another dose of the castor oil this morning and staying a bit more active this time around (induction is only one day away).
Yup worked for me. I had it at 9.00pm was horribly sick for about 2 hrs my waters broke at 2am and my first baby was born at 6.30pm that day was a long labour but it worked:yes: The trick is to mix it with orange juice and go for a big walk after u drink it as far as u can go without going too far, that helps digest the oil then u will most likely do #2's heaps and maybe :barf: I wouldn't recommend it was a bit yuk! But it worked for me and i wouldn't do it again! Mind u my MIL made it up for me and used a whole 100mls and then mixed it with OJ in a tall glass and i drank the lot!
Cheekychops
07-10-2007, 07:09
My friend took it and ended up having her baby in the bath (unplanned) before the ambos could get there!!!
Well I took a second dose yesterday arvo at 2pm and it didnt start labour for me and Im now 13 days passed my due date.
I didnt vomit or get the runs either though so thats a good thing.
A friend of mine took it and it worked - too well.
She took it and contractions came on full and fast. A couple of hours later they had to make a dash for the hospital where her little boy practically fell out into her trackie pants in the middle of the ambulance bay.
And they only lived 10mins from the hospital...
It's really not recommended, mostly for reasons that have been stated by others.
It might work for some but at what cost?
Definitely try acupuncture and other methods first...
MountainGirl
08-10-2007, 18:47
Worked for me! I took a big swig when pg with Scarlett and 3 hours later she was born,..... I was too scared with Jasper:o , and ended up having a 9hour labour,.:thumbsdown:
I didn't try it but I have a friend with 6 boys and she has used it for all of them, except her last, and it worked.
blackdog
11-10-2007, 13:00
Same principal as a nice hot Vindaloo! If you start some muscles going "down there":rolleyes: then others will follow in sympathy....iykwim:D
Personally, I was going the rasberry leaf tea, and castor oil and vindaloo (there was no way I was having medical induction) so I can't tell you which one/s did the trick!
I think people having fast births would have anyway. Mine was, like 14 hours. I wasn't sick, though.
me270880
17-10-2007, 23:53
doesnt work IMO. i had some last night about 10pm (teaspoon) same again at 11pm got pains in upper stomach from 4am and small case of the runs at 6am. took a larger dose (2 tablespoon) at 4pm this arvo and had the runs bad since 7pm. am now very sore but still not in labour:crying: