View Full Version : Stop warming bottles

beetlgrl
20-02-2006, 13:58
hi ladies, just wanting to know at wot age do u usualy stop warmng bubs bottles up?

clucky
20-02-2006, 14:03
I care for twins and they recently turned 1 and i still heat their bottles up. most of the time i only make them lukewarm but warm or cold the boy's will drink them either way. I'd reckon just see whether your daughter likes them cold or not

Rell
20-02-2006, 14:18
I stopped warming DS bottles when he was 2 weeks old. He seamed to drink more if the milk was at room temp. If your bub will drink it not warmed then there is no need to warm it.

20-02-2006, 14:35
We started decreasing how much we warmed bubs bottle early on also as its easier when your out & cant heat it up. So bubs now drinks it either way actually depends on his mood really typical male :rolleyes: ;)

Ana Gram
20-02-2006, 14:46
DD is 2 and we still warm up her nighttime bottle. She likes her formula hot and has done since birth, strange!

Mum2Lucas
20-02-2006, 15:22
DS is 6 months almost and he refuses to drink formula if its room temp. He'll drink cold water out of a normal cup but when it comes to formula it has to be hot. such funny things babies are.

sugar n spice
20-02-2006, 15:25
Both my boys like the bottle warm and i still heat it up for my 13mnth old but only luke warm or just above really now and he drinks cold drinks now so it doesn't really bother him. Loves a cold quick

Ky
20-02-2006, 23:02
I would warm bottles to room temperature if I took them from the fridge, but any other time I just gave them to my bibs as they came ... it made it heaps easier to cope with if you had to be out for the day and no screaming baby while you were attempting to get their bottle "just right"!

BlessedWithBlue
20-02-2006, 23:05
My yds is not too fussy he will drink it either way but i still warm it for him and he's 13 months. My ods hates cold milk and will not drink it unless i warm it first and he's 2.5yrs lol i warm it slightly and put it in his cup.

Cupcake
20-02-2006, 23:07
I never did,they where always room temp,that is how the hospital made them up they said there is no need to heat.

SassyMummy
21-02-2006, 00:42
I always figured that the only reason bottles were warmed up was so that a baby will take to it better because it's warmer like breast milk. If you read the back of some formula tins, they say to warm it to 37 degrees (as if we use a thermometre!)...which is the normal body temp of an adult human.

If your baby will drink it at room temperature, then I'd just give it that way...my daughter never gave too much of a stuff how warm anything she consumes is (she's 6.5 months and a PIGGY! lol).

I did read that giving refridgerated stuff to babies isn't a good idea (unless it's something like yoghurt, which has to go in the fridge I imagine), isn't the best idea, because they don't tolerate it very well. I'm not sure why, but I read it some place...not sure where because I have so many books/magazines...

WeThree
21-02-2006, 07:03
i still warm up my daughters bottle and she is nearly 15mths, it only takes a minute and i think it must be nice to have a nice, warm bottle. :)

MrsMiggins
21-02-2006, 21:42
We started out giving DD warmed bottles when she started on formula at about 2 weeks.

By the time she was about a month old, I thought it was just getting far too hot where we live to be giving her a warm bottle in the middle of the day when it's 38 degrees & 90% humidity! So I started giving them to her at room temp & she never skipped a beat. I have tried giving her bottles straight from the fridge (so much easier that way!) but she won't take it too cold. (A little sometimes is OK)

dormouse
22-02-2006, 01:27
This is great to know! I have always warmed up DD's bottles but have wondered whether you actually had to or not. (That probably sounds really stupid doesn't it?) I know it is a pain when we are out & I have to find a microwave or something to warm the bottle. I keep the bottles of water in the fridge so I will start decreasing the amount of time I put them in the microwave for, until she will drink it at room temp!

Thanks guys!

Baby Girl
22-02-2006, 12:00
With DD1 I warmed her bottles right up until she gave them up at 3 years old. She used to ask for them to go in the microwave!!

With DD2 I use room temperature water for her bottles so don't heat them although when she goes onto cows milk that may change as I can't really 'keep' that at room temperature :confused: Maybe she will just take it cold - who knows, no point worrying until it happens.

Baybijojo
22-02-2006, 16:57
The only time I warm her bottle is if it has been in the fridge and that is only to make it room temp. I found that when the bottle was warm it gave her really bad wind and tummy aches. Now that I give them to her at room temp she feeds much better and gets less wind.
The best temp to use though is what suits you and your baby the best.