View Full Version : Good suburbs to live in south east
:wave: All,
I was hoping that some lovely bub hubbers might be able to give their recomendations or ideas to some good suburbs to live in- In the south east area of melbourne. Dh has to move down that way for work and we'd be looking around the mulgrave to cranbourne area and possibly beyond.. theres really no specific's for us at the moment.
I know its a fairly large area but if anyone can help please do so! Id love your in put!
Ive been looking on many realestate websites and what not, and theres alot of suburbs to choose from but you dont get a very good idea of what the area is like..
Thanks muchly!
Tasha :wave:
punkbaby
02-10-2007, 13:40
Each area this side is pretty much the same it has its bad and good but thats like anywhere. Before moving here (we have been here 3 months) we were living in Moorabbin, Highett, Hampton and Cheltenham areas. I found these areas relatively quiet, but there were still bad areas, thankfully we didnt have any trouble though. Mordiallic and parkdale is nice too. Just seems rents quiet steep around there thats all its sky high at the moment. We were renting a dump for $220 a week when we moved out it went up to $350 which is a joke!
I havent lived in cranbourne though there are few BH here that do though. Mulgrave isnt bad either the area itself
The best part is this side the beach is soo close which is awesome for summer and even winter just to get out the house to walk around. Oh i love frankston seaford area too :) its nice there and cheaper too
I guess it really depends how much you are willing to pay in rent really then you can take it from there :)
Oh thanks for your reply! We'll definately look inot those areas you mentioned.. we'd love to live near the beach.. before melbourne we lived near the beach and we miss it terribly..
We are renting, as we cant afford our own place yet, and we are lookign around no more than $250 a week.. other wise it just gets really stupid.. the cheaper the better in a way..
Yes you are right about good an bad areas too, they all have them.. I hope we just get a decent area, some where quiet and fingers crossed safe...
And yes the rentals are going up,up up. Oh well thats what we have to deal with.
Thanks again!!!
Tasha
punkbaby
02-10-2007, 13:58
good luck i am sure you will get something for around $250 a week if you look around :) do a real estate com search check them out :)
I live in Carrum Downs... between Seaford and Frankston. I love it! lots of parks and the beach is a 5 min drive away! :thumbsup: I think rent is $200-350pw depending on the place
Chelle123
02-10-2007, 15:45
Berwick is great :thumbsup:
The whole City of Casey is great for families with heaps of schools, kinders and services.
We're not close to the beach but we have got Lysterfield Lake close by which is always good for a swim and picnic and not too many people.
We've got 2 freeway entrances too, which helps for travel to the city or wherever.
02-10-2007, 17:19
For $250 a week, I would be looking at Cranbourne, Narre Warren, Berwick, and Hallam etc. We moved to Narre from the Dandenong’s about 4 months ago and so far so good. It's a heap cheaper out here than where we were.
You will find cheap suburbs like Noble Park and Dandenong but they don't have the best reputation.
:wave: everyone,
Thanks heaps to you all for your advice, Ill definately look into them all and see what's out there in the rental world :D for the price we are looking at.
So far suburbs recomended are~
Mordiallic
Parkdale
Cranbourne
Moorabbin
Highett
Hampton
Cheltenham
Carrum Downs
Berwick
Narre Warren
Hallam
I like the sound of Carrum downs, being close to the beach is great! But also, for DH'S work- Hallam is good too as his HQ is there. And meetings in Berwick.. His work is all over the place really. He currently works in Templestowe but looks to be transfer in jan down south east way.
Can I also ask are these suburbs good for public transport, as we only have one car and I rely quite alot on public transport.
As we are looking to move Dec/ Jan it will be interesting how Im going to go about booking inot a hospital as Im currently 10 weeks preg.. ah think I might have to start another thread for that one!!!
Sorry for more questions on transport! I really do appreciate all your help!!!! :yes:
Thanks again everyone
Tasha :D
For public transport Carrum Downs is good as long as you avoid 8-9.30am and 2.30-4.30pm, School times buses are packed. But from Carrum Downs you can get the bus to either Frankston or Dandenong. From Frankston you can then get the train to the city or buses all over the place. Cranbourne, Karingal, Mornington and all down the peninsula.
I had Cadence at Frankston hospital (public), I didn't have any problems infact I found them very helpful and supportive. I got my name down at around 12-14weeks but I didn't have an appointment there til I think 25 (maybe more) weeks, I just saw my GP for antenatal care.
Hope it helps.
Yes thanks heaps for that info! It will be of a big help to us!
Tasha :yes: :wave: :yelclap:
05-10-2007, 21:01
I'm in Cranbourne north, right on the border of Narre Warren South and I love it here, lovely area, lovely locals, great school.
Before here I was in central Cranbourne for a fair few years and I admit Cranbourne north is a lot nicer but Cranbourne is okay as well!
Theres always lots of rentals around Cranbourne/Narre Warren but also lots of competition for the houses too!
I'm in Lynbrook Estate (Lynbrook is a small family suburb near Cranbourne). It's really quiet and we have a lake and one of the best playgrounds in the shire (people come from Berwick, Narre and Cranbourne with their kids). We've also just got a new shopping centre with Coles, an awesome butcher and greengrocer (great produce and prices) and specialty stores, an ANZ bank etc. The shops are a 10min walk each way from my place.
We also have a primary school, kinder and playgroups.
Houses wouldn't be any older than 8-10 years, and almost all are modern style with master room/ensuite, bedrooms, entertainment areas etc. You should find something around your price range, though rents have gone up lately. I just had a quick look on the net, and not much is advertised online, but I've seen quite a few For Lease signs around lately. We have 2 new real estate agents at the shops, one is an MPRE (not sure of the other one but can find out for you). Best to contact them directly if you're interested.
The freeway entrance/exit is just off the South Gippsland Highway, only a minute up the road as you leave the estate.
We have a bus that goes through the estate that will apparently get you to the train stations and Fountain Gate Shopping Centre.
We have 2 Aldi stores within about a 10min drive (Cranbourne and Hampton Park), and another Aldi 15mins away at Fountain Gate. As a result I've found other supermarkets in the area very competitive.
As far as hospitals go, there's Casey Hospital in Berwick (about 15-20min drive), Dandenong Hospital (also about 15-20mins).
I've heard good reports about Casey's Maternity Dept.
We had DS at The Angliss Family Birth Centre in Ferntree Gully. We'll be having this new bub there in February 08 as well. It's about a 25-30min drive, but IMO soooo worth it. For the amazing birth experience I had last time, I would drive hours!
07-10-2007, 13:32
We had DS at The Angliss Family Birth Centre in Ferntree Gully. We'll be having this new bub there in February 08 as well. It's about a 25-30min drive, but IMO soooo worth it. For the amazing birth experience I had last time, I would drive hours!
I agree. I had DS at the Angliss and will be having this one there too.
Kayangel
07-10-2007, 15:09
Hey! I think Cranbourne and Berwick are nice areas.
Look forward to having another melbourne mummy around! :wave:
I agree. I had DS at the Angliss and will be having this one there too.
Mel, did you go through the Birth Centre or the Delivery Suites? If you went through the BC we probably had antenatal classes together as we were due in Jan 06 as well!
:wave: Everyone,
Thanks heaps for all the replies, they really are a huge help to us. We have friends who live in Cranbourne, so might be a good idea to move down that way, not to mentio lots of mums/dads from there so I can make some new friends as well!!
I might look into your birth centre you went to in Fern tree gully, sounds like a really nice place and the 30 min drives not to bad either!! Im really wanting a birthcentre/hospital that takes care of you. I have also heard that casey is good as well. I really do need to book into some where soon!!!!!
Im hoping we will be able to get a rental, as yes the prices have been going up and the demand is higher.. making it harder but im keeping my fingers crossed for us. Especially ata the time of year we are looking, Im hoping there will be alot available- (Early Jan) as this is usally when everyone moves around!!
I look forword to when we move down that way making some new friends!!!:thumbsup:
:wave: Tasha
08-10-2007, 13:44
Mel, did you go through the Birth Centre or the Delivery Suites? If you went through the BC we probably had antenatal classes together as we were due in Jan 06 as well!
I went through the delivery suite as I was induced. I remember my last antenatal class was held on the week of the 12th Jan.
:wave: I agree with elissas, Lynbrook is great, a real family suburb and nice and quiet. I've been looking around at houses too and i found some great ones within Lynbrook at around $260 a week.
:wave: Yes Ive been doing heaps of surfing for rentals in all the areas.. theres heaps in Berwick and Cranbourne so thats a good thing, but Dh says its pretty far for him to drive (about 40 kms from his work) We cant move closer as the rentals go $$$$$$$$$! Ive been circling all the Kindys and Maternal Child health Places in the areas (In my UBD, HAHA little cirles everywhere), so to see where they are in relation to any rentals.. and to try get a rental thats within walking distance to one if possible. Im hoping to get my son into 3 year old kindy if possible.
Im trying to look into casey hospital and also that angliss birth centre, and Illl see what happens with them.
The only other thing we noticed is we went for a drive down that way on friday, and going down that monash was crazy!!! we moved so slowly!!!!!! Is it always like that or did we get a bad day.. it was about 3 pm when we were on it and by the time we got off at cranbourne it was 4 30 pm. I guess thats a busy time. My Dh would be driving down that monash around 430 am and anywhere between 4-5 pm each day.. he works some long hours and gets paid very $. Wont go into that :D
Thanks lovely ladies!!!
Tasha :wave: