View Full Version : we're thinking of a sea change
lachys_mama
01-10-2007, 14:36
hey guys my partner and i have decided to start saving to buy a house in Tasmania, I should be able to transfer through work (i work at woolworths) and he's an electrician. The reason we have decided we might like to move there is because there is more of a chance we could afford a home there, we would like to experience real seasons and we would like somewhere a little nicer than brisbane for ds to grow up in. I'm just curious what the cost of living is like down there??? how much would i expect to pay for fuel and groceries etc and what are daycare prices like... also if anyone can tell me which suburbs/townships to "stay away" from I would be very appreciative... I'm really just trying to feel things out so that we have all the information neccessary to make the right decisions... at the moment if we want to buy a home its tasmania or dirranbandi *sigh*
Hi:wave:
That's great that you want to buy your first home. Good on you. Its a big move tho, so think it through. As it's not that much cheaper for a decent house in a decent suburb, your looking at minimum$350k for something you don't have to renovate, or $250K that needs renovations.(Thats in a reasonable suburb) $400K minimum in the really nice suburbs.
It is a lovely place to raise children, schools are great and there is a real family feel wherever you go.
As for petrol it at $1.29 at the moment, Groceries are probably 6-7% more expensive than in Brisbane.
You will probably find it cold here all the time, Yes we get very cold winters (we can visit the snow with a 30 min car ride) but Spring/summer is beautiful, just a nice heat.
I think daycare costs are the same as every other state I pay $35 for half day (she only goes 1 morning a week).
Hope that gives you a little insight....Oh and we'd love to see you move down here the more the merrier, good luck with your decision.
01-10-2007, 14:52
The cost of living isnt to bad!
And their is ALWAYS work for electricians!
Static_Cat
01-10-2007, 15:19
but electricty is very high i just got one for $409.99 and we dont have heater on very much just enuff to take the chill of ds room. we moved from qld to here in 98 we love it here. we rent so cant help u with buying. but it depends on where and what u like here to where u live. Port Sorell where im at is really pretty its on the rubicon river and bass strait. 22kms to devonport. the west coast is a little isolated but as i said it depends on what u like. dev is looking for works at woolies i think. so do as much home work as u can. any questions u want to ask me just holler (loud im in tassie and ur up there!) :laughing:
lachys_mama
02-10-2007, 12:14
we were looking at places like port sorell, somewhere a little out of the way and pretty to look at, work shouldn't be too hard to find and at least i know there are some lovely bubhub mums down there :) thanks so much for your info ladies
Ange&Seth
02-10-2007, 12:27
Port Sorell is beautiful - that whole area is gorgeous. Hawley Beach, Port Sorell and Shearwater is where my family lives and I love going home for holidays, although I think the house prices around that area are going up at the moment :detective:
BeautifulBoys
02-10-2007, 18:44
Hello
We have recently moved to Hobart from Perth..
My DH is from Hobart so it was time for him to come home.. & my DS & myself were ready for a sea change.
My DH is an Electrician aswell.. he got a job at Austal ships,(didnt take long) theres always jobs in the paper.. im a hairdresser partime in a local shopping centre... so you will get a transfer no probs...
I just LOVE it here!!!!!!!!!! its a wonderful place to raise a family.. & cost of living is not to bad.
Good luck!!!!
BeautifulBoys
02-10-2007, 18:47
we were looking at places like port sorell, somewhere a little out of the way and pretty to look at, work shouldn't be too hard to find and at least i know there are some lovely bubhub mums down there :) thanks so much for your info ladies
We actually have land in sorell... 3/4 acre on top of the hill... in town... good views, we may sell the block?...there is a woolies in town aswell... did you wanna build or buy??
A Party of Five
02-10-2007, 19:01
:yes: I think every where in Tassie nice!
Port Sorell is really nice we have been up there on holidays.
:detective: Will this be your first time buying a house?
If so you can apply for the First Home Grant of $7000 every little helps :yes:
http://www.treasury.tas.gov.au/domino/dtf/dtf.nsf/v-fhog/home
I don't know what you price range is but are some really nice ones
http://www.realestate.com.au/cgi-bin/rsearch?a=s&cu=fn-rea&s=tas&ss=&ag=&t=res&snf=ras&chk=0&lead=&ty=&tb=+PORT+SORELL%2C+&u=®ionid=&is=1&pm=200000&px=300000&pme=200000&pxe=300000&cat=&minbed=3&maxbed=&parking=&minlandsize=&p=30&o=d
Good luck :wizard:
Ange&Seth
02-10-2007, 19:07
We actually have land in sorell... 3/4 acre on top of the hill... in town... good views, we may sell the block?...there is a woolies in town aswell... did you wanna build or buy??
Port Sorell is in the North-West, near Devonport. Sorell is a different town :thumbsup:
04-10-2007, 14:15
Good luck with it all, we moved from Brisbane to Hobart and it is HEAPS different down here:yes:
Houses are not really any cheaper though:no:
I work for ww too!:)
lachys_mama
06-10-2007, 03:07
we are thinking about living a little ways out, we have looked at places in maydena, rossarden, smithton etc. What we are looking for is a real project that we can spend our time renovating... we have found a few places under $100k that normal people would cringe at heh... i dunno we'll see when we get there
Static_Cat
07-10-2007, 13:37
hi again. yes port sorell is lovely we left qld for here. we have a small shopping area. but Devonport is about 22 k's away and so is Latrobe. And prices vary everywhere i dont think it matters to much wot state ur in. i think theres dear parts as well as cheap ones too. We love living here. We live on the Rubicon River. we rent but absolutely love it here. Prices for living evens itself out to match other states in a way. prices are going up on everything. So good luck with it all. u should come and look around b4 u move to make sure its wot u want. especially if ur never been here. suss out the discovertasmania website too. it will help. and try a couple of real estates for info on living etc. hope to seeu down here. :)