View Full Version : Tommee Tippee Sangenic Nappy Bins

andrewsmum
19-02-2006, 16:05
I'm just considering what you all think about these nappy wrapper bins:

* are they worth it?
* do they make the nursery room smell?
* is it easy to use/clean?
* how much are the refills, how often do you buy them?

Your input would be much appreciated.

littlepickle
19-02-2006, 16:16
I cant really answer your questions, but I am going to get one. I am waiting until March though as there is a new model coming out in march that is supposed to be a bit better

Foxymoron
19-02-2006, 16:27
I won one of these a few years ago from a magazine promo... I thought it would be great, but really they don't control the odour of a smelly nappy... and the refills are pricey. We tossed it and went back to just putting soiled stuff straight into the outside bin. I can't stand even a whiff of stale nappy in my house. I'm glad we didn't pay for it because to me it was a glorified bin and did no better job than a bin would!

19-02-2006, 16:27
* are they worth it? Yes
* do they make the nursery room smell? No, they dont leave any odour at all:)
* is it easy to use/clean? it took me a little practice to use but its easy after a couple of turns and very easy to clean*

*how much are the refills, how often do you buy them? I think thy cost about $15 and in the beginning we were buying one every week but now that DS is bigger and using less nappies(his also at day care 5 days a week) the refil lasts us a good 6-8 weeks

littlepickle
19-02-2006, 16:32
you could try doing what my friend does, she buys disposable napp liners and puts these in the disposables, then when she changes bubs she puts the soiled nappy liner down the toilet then puts the nappy in the tommee tippee bin, That way there is lesschange of odours.. seems more hygenic to me too

Jenko
19-02-2006, 16:43
I used mine in the beginning for a while. I really don't think they are worth it. It's just as easy to put them in the bin. I decided to use it again when we moved (to QLD) and it does not control the odour in this heat!! I never noticed it smelling before so maybe it is just the heat, not sure?

As Sarah said the refills are about $15-17 and to be honest I haven't even used one roll in 19 months.

I guess everyone is different and some people will love them and some won't be bothered with them.

IMO it wasn't worth it. It was a pressie so at least we didn't buy it. :)

andrewsmum
19-02-2006, 16:44
This is very interesting to see your comments on this. Thanks very much for your input and ideas/suggestions.

I am considering getting one of these bins for the next bub (if I'm ever lucky! :rolleyes: )

my babyemmy
19-02-2006, 18:37
we couldn't live without ours we love it & the nappy wrappers have actually won awards! At first we were laughed at coz the price puts some people off but 2 of the new mummies that laughed own one now & wouldn't be without them either!
* are they worth it? Yes,for us definitely
* do they make the nursery room smell? none we have noticed or anyone else that has even been standing next to it!the instruction manual does tell you that you should spray it with air fresheners after every emptying!
* is it easy to use/clean? yeah easy to use & not that hard to clean
*how much are the refills, how often do you buy them?our $20 refill lasts about 3 weeks!

SassyMummy
20-02-2006, 01:17
I have that Tommee Tippee Sangenic one because I thought it would be really great...after having a friend testify to its useful-ness.

IMO, it's absolutely crap, and I don't even bother buying the refills anymore.

It doesn't block out the smell at all...so I have to change it SO OFTEN to keep the room poo-smell-free. It was just a waste of time and effort really.

Now, I just use it as a bin...a regular bin. lol. Pretty pricey bin for about $70... but it doesn't do its job.

It's much cheaper to buy these little tie-up bags. You can get 200 bags for about $5...rather than about 120 wrapped nappies for $16. The tie-up bags are even scented...so they just smell better.

If I were you, I wouldn't bother...it's just not worth what you pay for it.

JnA
20-02-2006, 01:24
I was given one as a gift and to be honest, I wouldn't have bought one. IME they cover the smell ok, untill you open it, to put another nappy in.. and emptying it needs to be done either each day, or with a nose peg.

I use mine now for just wet nappies. It doesn't smell as bad and you don't have to empty it until it's full.

Rhys'Mum
20-02-2006, 08:55
I love mine. Although after 7 1/2 months of solid use it is starting to smell of the perfumy stuff.

I love the convenience of having it right there next to the change table. Over the last couple of months changing has become a bit of a battle and tearfilled so anything that reduces the time the process takes and makes it easier is a winner in my book.

I think the refills are pricey but they do last for quite a while, particularly if you fold up the nappy and reseal rather than just push it in as I did initially. I have also found that I don't turn it quite as much for wet nappys (turning twists the internal bag and seals it) but if I want to make sure there is no nappy smell with dirty nappys I turn recommended and then again. A friend with a baby the same age has had problems with hers retaining a smell but she has commented that mine does not, we're not sure what's different though, sorry.

Rockett
20-02-2006, 09:57
I was thinking of asking the same question yesterday.....but it looks like the majority is that they are a waste of money,so thanks ladies...you've saved me around $80!:D

rynosmum
20-02-2006, 12:43
A couple of my girlfirends and I have had the same discussion. Maybe it IS the heat in Brisbane because I still find that I have to empty it every 2 days (and I twist 3 times each time). I use a bin liner as well and also spray the interior of the bin everytime I empty it. For a while I used perfumed nappy sacks on each nappy and then put it in - that worked well.

We have air conditioning in DS's room so don't often have the window open so it can truly stink !:eek:

I stopped using it for a while but have gone back to it because in my opinion, it is still better than a normal nappy bin.

IamHero
20-02-2006, 18:01
I used the tommy tippee one when I had my daughter in Ireland. I thought it was useless. I had to empty it everyday or else the room would smell, and when I emptied it the nappies always fell in one pile & didn't stay individually wrapped & I found it hard to cut the bag. Anyway I gave it away when I left Ireland. When my son was born I bought a diaper Nanny one > it is so good, it doesn't smell, I only empty it twice a week & the blade for cutting the bag is much easier to use. . It costs less to purchase. I love mine & even on bub number 3 it's still going strong.

lukaelmo
20-02-2006, 18:10
SO funny, some love it some hate it!

I would like to love it but am sorry, I hate mine too... And I am in Brisvegas, so perhaps it is the heat.

I hold my breath when I take the lid off to put another nappy in, otherwise I would need to have a little vommy... needless to say, it will be going on ebay soon :D

jarrahsmumma
20-02-2006, 18:12
TBH, I think it is ridiculous to wrap something so unbiodegradable in something alse that is just as unbiodegradable! Doubly killing the environment...

andrewsmum
20-02-2006, 18:15
Thank you!!! I guess the majority opinion is quite negative, so you have in fact saved me money because I guess I'll just continue to use the nappy sacks as I do now for the next bub!;)

I was worried about the smell and you have confirmed my suspicions.

Guess it is a love it/hate it kind of thing.

Thanks for your input ladies:D

jarrahsmumma
20-02-2006, 18:31
Totally not intending to stir the pot, but if you empty the poo from the nappy as you should, the smell will be less ;) ;)

wattle
20-02-2006, 19:25
I won one too and found it totally useless.

Save your $80 plus extra $ for refils and take yourselves out for dinner instead.

Maxs_MumMy
20-02-2006, 19:51
That was one of the first things i bought and soo glad i did...

Been in constant use since day 1 and never looked back...:D

I buy re-fills once every 4 weeks...:)

razzle
20-02-2006, 23:07
Thank you!!! I guess the majority opinion is quite negative, so you have in fact saved me money because I guess I'll just continue to use the nappy sacks as I do now for the next bub!;)
I SO wanted one when I first saw them! (the Tommee Tippee bins)

I think those nappy sacks at the supermarket are really expensive, I use the cheapo ones from the $2 shop - 150 bags for $2. They're perfumed, and they work just fine. No smells in Eloise's room. I empty her bin every 3 or 4 days.