View Full Version : Restless nights anyone?

Kathe
25-09-2007, 04:59 PM
I am having really restless nights atm, for the last couple weeks i toss and turn and cant sleep. Most of the time I am so tired and can't wait to get to bed but after a while I just toss all night. Because of this I am so so tired during the day when I am at work its ridiculous. Somebody told me this is preparing me for when I have the baby...what does everyone else think? Is anyone else having trouble sleeping through? Any ideas?

GizmoKel
25-09-2007, 06:56 PM
Are you thinking heaps about the baby and stressing about everything cos thats what I do. I've always done this whether pregnant or not but I find it gets worse when pregnant no matter how tired I am cos there is just so much going through my mind. Add to that needing to go to the toilet and currently having a tickle in my throat and needing to cough when laying down its hard. And today I also got heartburn.
People do often say its helping you prepare for the baby and who knows maybe it is (not that I think anything could prepare you for those early sleepless nights).
Maybe try a nice relaxing bath before bed and they always suggest a nice glass of warm milk and just try clear your mind.
Hope you get some better sleep soon

Kel

paulapoobum
26-09-2007, 07:51 AM
oh my god thought i was the only one the last week has been the worst for me getting to sleep is okay but staying asleep is a differnt thing i have now learnt that i can no longer sleep on my belly which sucks as that is my main sleep position so when i go to move it really hurts i think bub is trying to tell me somthing

Mrs J
29-09-2007, 02:52 PM
its easy to fall asleep I just can't stay asleep, i find myself awake just laying there and i can't get comfy, i feel hot, the constant wee stops and i love to tummy sleep and i can't and its really annoying :thumbsdown:

mimcal
30-09-2007, 08:15 AM
Bleh - me too! I find I fall asleep on the couch with no worries - but when my husband wakes me up to go to bed as soon as I get there I can't fall asleep - and once I do I find I am waking about 6 or more times a night - mostly for loo stops. It's so frustrating cause I'm so tired but just can't get enough sleep. Maybe it is getting ready for the baby - I don't know - but it seems like it is pretty early for my body to be getting ready for the baby. I've only heard people talking about it happening in the last few weeks before the baby???

:sleeping::sleeping::sleeping: (I wish)

TillieAndBug
30-09-2007, 08:36 PM
I am finding it hard to get to sleep despite being shattered but sleeping right through night, unless have a bad dream or wake up needing loo! I think my DD tires me out so much we are both sleeping through at the moment! Just wish it didnt take till gone 11 to get to sleep ;)

dingo
03-10-2007, 01:32 PM
Just after reading this thread last week I thought i was lucky to still be enjoying great sleep. But uhoh I jinxed myself. Still not too bad, waking once every night, always around the 1.30 mark, but once I go to the loo I seem to go back to sleep ok. Just struggling to get comfy when I first get into bed.

I am not looking forward to the hot summer for sleeping, I think the matress will be dragged outt o the lounge for the airconditioner then:) :)

Mrs J
10-10-2007, 07:50 PM
I agree with you there darl, ill be doing the same, i was pregnant through summer with DD and it sucked this time i have a month longer :thumbsdown: i HATE the HEAT

Cin
11-10-2007, 10:32 AM
Me too ! :) the lack of sleep is making me stuffed but i guess it is getting us used to what is ahead.

dormouse
11-10-2007, 11:30 AM
I've been having trouble sleeping lately too & it is really stuffing me around! It isnt that I am uncomfortable or having to get up for the toilet, I just cant shut my brain off. I used to be a really heavy sleeper to but now the slightest thing wakes me up.
I think that may also have something to do with DD only recently goinginto her big bed & she gets up in the night & comes into me. I wake up as soon as I hear her feet hit the wood floor in her room.

Mumof6
14-10-2007, 08:28 PM
I suck at sleeping during the best of times... but it is worse when pregnant :(

I have to say that I personally think getting interrupted sleep after you have the bub is better... for the 1st 4 weeks .

I think ... for me... I'm on an adrenaline high, and just cope... after 4 weeks is a different story though ;)

ATM I go to bed about 11... get up when DH gets home at 1am, get up to the youngest 2 at least twice a night... Wake when DH goes to work at 6am, and get up... Struggling at 7.

Add to that it takes at least an hour to get to sleep *sigh*

dingo
17-10-2007, 12:20 PM
Mum of 6 - I do not know how you do it, you are amazing.

I am waking 2 or 3 times each night and that is driving me crazy, but after reading your post I won't complain...
http://www.bubhub.com.au/tickers/image.php?image=MTIwMTEwMDIyMDA4MDE==.png (http://www.bubhub.com.au)

Mumof6
17-10-2007, 10:25 PM
lol dingo... complain!!! it helps to get it out!

My whinge for this week is DH snoring... OMG he is loud ;)

i 'use' to sleep well... the more kids i have had... the less i get.

BecD
18-10-2007, 10:40 AM
I have a really bad night on average once a week or fortnight but last week I had 2 bad nights. I never know what to expect because some nights I sleep right through and other nights, every sound that DH makes wakes me up and then I can't get back to sleep.

Kathe
23-10-2007, 06:57 PM
Good news is I have been sleeping much better, Bubba wakes me up with his kicking sometimes or if I need to go to the la toilette!

My Obstetrician and Yoga teacher say i should sleep on my left side now...Love sleeping on my back but read some vein thingy gets squashed?Who knows about this stuff?

Feeling pretty good, when i am tired though I am cranky!

Take Care,

Kath

Tygr
08-11-2007, 03:58 PM
Hey all, yup.. just like u lot i am sleep deprived.. 24 weeks in and on an average i get 6 hrs of sleep scattered thru the night.. my little bubs is kickin so hard it's as if it's trying out for the footy!!! with this in mind i've found that as soon as the kicks start i get up and walk the hall way for about 5 mins then get back in bed with the pillow between my legs and off i snooze for another 1-2 hrs b4 it happens all over again! any one else waking coz of the kicks????? comfort wise though... just bought a new bed.... ahhhhhh sweet luxury DH can move and i won't feel a thing infact he could jump on his end and i wouldn't budge hahahaha! good luck to u all in this heat!!

mumwiththree
12-11-2007, 09:07 PM
I have been having trouble sleeping for weeks now. Can't get comfortable. Bought a body pillow to try and help, but still not sleeping too well.
In between getting up 5-6 times a night to wee, then having my 4 year old DD getting up and climbing into bed with us and pushing me right to the edge of the bed, I think I'm getting about 4 hours of good sleep in between waking up.
But when I am lying awake in bed, I love to lay with my hand on my belly feeling the kicks. Best thing.

Sazzy
13-11-2007, 01:57 PM
I cant sleep either!!! I go to bed around 10pm - wake up at midnight for a pee and thats it - restless legs, cant get comfortable, toss and turn, get up for a walk down the hallway, pee again and now its 3am or 4am and then i sleep. But the alarm soon goes off for work:(
Its good to have a moan.
Hope we all get some sleep soon:fingerscrossed:

mummac
13-11-2007, 04:52 PM

I too struggle to sleep at night and its so hard to stay alert at work the next day. My baby is extremely active at night and the distraction of the movement keeps me up. I have found that as the baby can hear now I play it a baby lullaby CD that I bought (I think its called Music for dreaming) and its classical music that is suppose to replicate a heart beat. Anyhow it really works, I don't think I've heard past the first song as it sends me out like a light and seems to relax the baby as well so no kicking me in the guts and waking me up. Loo stops are another thing but sleep walking to the bathroom is a useful skill to master. I know the music thing sounds a bit corny but it has really worked for me and in desperation I think you should try all options!

Rest up :sleeping:

Nex
13-11-2007, 05:45 PM
I am relieved to be getting some relief from terrible aches in my hips that have stopped me getting decent sleep for about the last 10 weeks (at 24 weeks now).

Aside from one toilet stop at about 2am I'm sleeping rather well at the mo!

dingo
13-11-2007, 07:17 PM

I am not as restless as I was a month ago, sleeping through apart from a loo break in the middle. This week the only thing that has been waking me up is terrible cramps in my calves, ouch..... Anyone else getting these ?? The books say it could be a lack of calcium, but I am having milkshakes every morning and ice cream every night as well as cheese, so who know's ??

Sleep well all, won't be long before we are all having major sleep deprivation, but at least that will be because our little one's are out !!

greenie
13-11-2007, 09:45 PM
I am not sleeping either! No matter how tired I feel just can't get comfy. I get this horrible pain around my ribs that doesn't go away unless I'm pretty much upright. And speaking of cramps, I've been getting them in my feet.
Unbelieveably painful aren't they :eek: ? So then I need an hour of massaging them and walking around until they relax and I can try and get back to sleep! Yuck.

Sazzy
14-11-2007, 11:19 AM
Dingo - leg cramps is lack of magnesium. Im taking calcium and magnesium tablets and they work a treat:thumbsup:

dingo
14-11-2007, 05:15 PM
Thanks Sazzy, I will give it a go. :smiliedance: