View Full Version : Suburb info on Kingston
Okay so we are looking at moving into a bigger house and get out of our shoebox...
I found a perfect place in Kingston but don't know much about the suburb at all....
Does anyone know what sort of area it is?... and is it a safe area for a family??... anything good or bad!!!!:thumbsup:
Not sure now, used to be pretty bad, my aunty owns a house there but that's about all i know. But if it were me, i wouldn't live there, anywhere in the Logan shire would just be a no-go for me. :( Sorry to those that live there, just my opinion (I lived there when i was younger and hated it).
subaruforestermum
25-09-2007, 14:57
Hi, we live in Kingston...as you can see.... there are a few different parts of Kingston, so if you could give me a bit more info on the street near by, if I know the area I can give you more info....
Where I live is great, there are some areas surrounding it, well streets where there is alot of idiots, but we have NO problems where we are...
Yet my sister also lives in Kingston, yet over the rail lines, closer to woodridge and have had problems with drongo neighbours, etc...... So as I said depends..:rolleyes:
The place is a few roads from Juers Street... near the Kingston Primary School...
subaruforestermum
25-09-2007, 15:06
The place is a few roads from Juers Street... near the Kingston Primary School...
If you have a map I live on....... and yeah, we have no problems, apart from trying to drive down the road before and after school where you get parents parking where they shouldnt....
If you're heading down Juers, from Kingston-Beenleigh Road, and it's on the right, I'm not sure about that area, but if it is on the left after the school, most of the streets are pretty good. A few are a bit, shall we say, full of bums....
Go for a drive during night probably on a Friday or Saturday, to see how active the area is, and the type of people walking the streets..
Well this street is the first one off of that street.... (as in coming up from Juers road...);) so very close by!!! :yes:
Good idea about the drive!!! we shall definately do it this weekend I think....
So long as its not like the Woodridge area(no offence to people who live there)... I just have that scary to drive through in the day feeling when I get there.... I refuse to go alone!!!!
subaruforestermum
25-09-2007, 15:20
Well this street is the first one off of that street.... (as in coming up from Juers road...);) so very close by!!! :yes:
Good idea about the drive!!! we shall definately do it this weekend I think....
So long as its not like the Woodridge area(no offence to people who live there)... I just have that scary to drive through in the day feeling when I get there.... I refuse to go alone!!!!
I understand about woodridge, I refuse to go there by myself too...I will drive futher to go to the Hyperdome, than go to the shops at woodridge. And I refuse to go anywhere near the train station now-a-days....
As I said we have never had any problems, there are parties held, but usually we cant hear them ,and they dont lasy ALL night. The biggest problem is the school kids walking, riding on the road and not moving, or slowly moving....even doing the 50k speed limit is a bit dangerous! There is a day care centre on Juers road and on my road! And some small shops which would both be a nice walk. The park there is ok, I take DS there ocassionally but not much shade! But we have a swing set at home so we make the most of our yard.....
Its really not as bad as people make out....
Noah_and_Elijah
25-09-2007, 15:21
I used to live around the corner from subaruforestermum and it wasn't that bad. The worst things were parents picking their kids up from school and parking over our driveway and the idiots on their dirt bikes riding up and down the street.
Other than that it was a good neighbourhood.
haha Leesh we get that here... we have a childcare place across the road, and they use our driveway, infront of our back fence and on our front lawn... Drives me mental!!! :banghead:
Oh and don't even get me started on the dirt bike/pocket bike riders and hoons near me!!!!
Thanks girls!!!
subaruforestermum
28-09-2007, 06:47
Dont forget to go for a drive at night this weekend.
Yeah we have those idiots on the pocket bikes, dirt bikes, I also have an idiot DP with a pocket bike, but I refuse to let him ride it around the neighbourhood! He has to go to his parents house! They have land....
But its not all the time that they do it, so it is slightly tolerable.
PunkyDiva
28-09-2007, 07:48
An honest opinion was asked for and this is mine...I grew up in Kingston (70's to 80's) when it was an average to upper class new suburb. Those families sorta moved out into more rural areas or across the freeway.
We had to clean up a rental property several times in the area you are looking(mid 90's) and it was sold at a loss because no decent tenants could be attained.
Maybe cheap to buy but not great for investment purposes or even as a stepping stone in housing market.
I sorta see present day Kingston how Inala used to be viewed, pretty undesirable.
Take a good look around at the families that reside there and ask yourself if these are same kind of people you currently associate with or that you wish to have influence on your child.
True, I have been away from QLD for five years now but house prices & stats there reflect my belief that Kingston has not & will not change in the near future.
Your decision but personally I would never reside anywhere on southside of Brisbane.:thumbsdown:
Yeah we are thinking about going for a drive tomorrow night... as from my younger get drunk and pass out days Saturday was the biggest night for parties... so hopefully that hasn't changed :laughing:
Thanks PunkyDiva....
We haven't settled on anything yet... ideally we want the Mount Gravatt area... but we just don't have the $400+ a week to live there... :no:
Thanks girls!!!:D
ShadyCharacter
28-09-2007, 09:14
I was being careful not to say anything offensive, so I will just say its not somewhere I would live.
What sort of rent are you looking at?
We need a 3-4 bedroom... and I want a house as I have had enough of hearing the next door neighbour sneeze or breath heavy!!!... 3 years of it is more than enough I think... and I want a backyard for Tyler to play in...:yes:
We want at least a single lock up garage with space for a second car... security screens/doors.. a fence at least around the back yard.... a bathroom with a bath!!....
And our budget is $270 tops!!!... would love to pay less though!!!
DF works out at Browns Plains at the moment on site... but he can get changed to any other site whenever this job ceases or when he is needed elsewhere.... and the other sites can pretty much be anywhere... hence why I was thinking My Gravatt as it is more centralised and near every freeway entry north and south!! :thumbsup:
ShadyCharacter
28-09-2007, 10:26
Camira would probably be a good place to look... its close to Browns Plains, quick enough to get onto a couple of major highways, a fairly quite area with big blocks of land.
Its not a fancy suburb, but is nowhere near 'slummish' either.
18 months ago the rent there was still pretty good, and I don't think it would have gone up that much since then.
Thanks I will give it a look!! :thumbsup:
Does anyone know why rental prices are so dear??... a "dump" costs up round $350!!!...
I was thinking yesterday with some of the costs we may as well just have a mortgage... then at least we can have the house how we want it and do things to it like add a fence....
But then you could pretty much guarantee the bank would say no you don't earn enough... yet you have to pay the same amount in rent every week!!! :rolleyes:
It's ridiculous!!!!!:yes:
ShadyCharacter
28-09-2007, 12:40
Its a supply demand thing I suppose, more people are renting because house prices have gone crazy and they can't afford to buy.
I am VERY lucky, I rent a lovely big 5 bedroom home, with two living areas, two kitchens, two bathrooms, double lockup, big block, outdoor entertainment area, pool, etc.... in a cul-de-sac in a nice suburb for $350. I rent it privately and the landlord and I both have a win-win situation. I dread the day he might ask us to move out :no:
We hope to buy the place one day (landlord knows this), but the mortgage at this stage would be about $750 per week. We can afford that in about 5 years when we don't have to pay daycare anymore, but at the moment it would be impossible. And of course, in 5 years it will be worth even more, so we probably STILL won't be able to afford the payments.
It sucks eh?
subaruforestermum
28-09-2007, 12:45
I am VERY lucky, I rent a lovely big 5 bedroom home, with two living areas, two kitchens, two bathrooms, double lockup, big block, outdoor entertainment area, pool, etc.... in a cul-de-sac in a nice suburb for $350. I rent it privately and the landlord and I both have a win-win situation.
hmm so I guess that is your way of saying that Kingston is NOT a nice suburb!:)
I use to think the same thing, but we have been here for over a year now and NEVER had any problems. I personally would buy here, as its not the type of area we want (wanting to buy acreage), but it is not scummy!
Yes you get your idiots, drunks, annoying school brats and hoons around, but you get that in nearly every suburb you go to!
oh it does!!!! You set out a plan to work towards... and it all gets blown out the window as they go up so much!!!....
It gets me... they are just bricks, wood and steel... they aren't that expensive to make lol
How do you find out about private rents??... I have thought about them... but have no idea where to look for them...
subaruforestermum
28-09-2007, 12:58
An honest opinion was asked for and this is mine...I grew up in Kingston (70's to 80's) when it was an average to upper class new suburb. Those families sorta moved out into more rural areas or across the freeway and you really were left with a majority of undesirables.
We had to clean up a rental property several times in the area you are looking(mid 90's) and it was sold at a loss because no decent tenants could be attained.
Maybe cheap to buy but not great for investment purposes or even as a stepping stone in housing market.
I sorta see present day Kingston how Inala used to be viewed, pretty much the slums.
Take a good look around at the families that reside there and ask yourself if these are same kind of people you currently associate with or that you wish to have influence on your child. Really is one of Brisbane's hotspots for abuse, drugs, violence, poverty etc.
True, I have been away from QLD for five years now but house prices & stats there reflect my belief that Kingston has not & will not change in the near future.
Your decision but personally I would never reside anywhere on southside of Brisbane.:thumbsdown:
The area of Kingston I live in is nothing like Inala, nor does it has the violence like Inala does.
I live in Kingston, we earn above $50 000 a year, we have money in savings, we buy what we want! I would hate for someone to think we are violent, pov scum just because we reside in Kingston!
And yes I look around and I have some great neighbours on one side, they talk to my little boy, wave to us, and talk to us. They threw a ball over the fence for my boy to play with as he was telling me about the ball there.....
I would have no problems associating with some of the people I see around! As to judge them based on the area they live would be a poor judgement on my behalf!
We rent a house that is NOT a housing commission house (nothing wrong if you do rent one), they have raised the rent, and done next to nothing to fix things around the place! The gardens are still green and well maintained, the house has no damage done by us (only from the previous OWNER), and we get excellent reviews each house inspection. They actually stopped doing inspections based on how good it was in December last year!
I dont understand how it would be a bad place to invest, as not everyone who lives/rents in the area are dead beat morons who have to ruin everything in their path! I was comprehensive about moving there due to the opinions of others, then to find that it was a nice quiet area most of the time! We also leave our $20 000 car sit in the driveway, and have never had any damage etc, also DP leaves his work ute parked on the footpath, with tool boxes on the back, ladders, and it has never been touched, damaged.... So in reality the people around us cant be too bad!
I am not trying to be nasty or take personal offence to your post, but I am pointing out how it is from a different perspective!
ShadyCharacter
28-09-2007, 13:04
hmm so I guess that is your way of saying that Kingston is NOT a nice suburb!:) Not at all. I wasn't saying anything about Kingston, I was saying that I live in a very nice suburb, that I am lucky enough to have great rent or otherwise probably would not be able to afford to live the area. Well, not in a nice house anyway.
subaruforestermum
28-09-2007, 13:17
Not at all. I wasn't saying anything about Kingston, I was saying that I live in a very nice suburb, that I am lucky enough to have great rent or otherwise probably would not be able to afford to live the area. Well, not in a nice house anyway.
Nahh its cool, you really didnt have to explain yourself like that......I understand what you were getting at! Just when you said you didnt like Kingston, then that, it made it look a bit like it (implying Kingston was not nice), if you get what I mean?
If you dont get what I mean, I wasnt being nasty....:) It was just my opportunity to point out that Kingston has positives, and isnt all bad, in case that is what you were implying (which I know now that you werent), that is why I agreed with that as it was how I use to think until living in this particular area....hope I am making some sense..:o
amumslove
04-10-2007, 23:43
I grew up behind the council chambers and back then it was alright we used to ride our bikes in the bush which is now logan gardens, My parents sold up 3yrs ago and it was starting to get a bit rough, our neighbours had been broken into countless times and the people across the road were known druggies. I was working my SIL's Mum's fabric shop in logan central untill I had DS and it was not too bad. you had the odd idiot. We rent privately and pay $280 a week hopefully they don't sell on us.