View Full Version : Mackay Mums

nqcowboysfan
22-09-2007, 22:24
am looking for a playgroup in mackay. i live in andergrove.

JuzC1981
23-09-2007, 23:25
hey there .. no sure if u have any luck tracking down a playgroup as yet in Mackay .. i know wife is apart of one if you'd like you can contact me on msn or email mr_smiles1981@hotmail.com

and i'll see what info i can find for ya

J

Silvana
07-10-2007, 11:31
I live in Andergrove! I think there is a playgroup at the community centre on Celeber Drive - just opposite the high school.

lil miss
27-10-2007, 12:17
hi all... i am a 19yr old mum who just moved back to mackay. i don't know any1 with kids my age, and all my mates have moved away for studies. Would any1 be interested in catching up? I live in paget, but can meet up at canelands or the harbour

Joell
13-11-2007, 15:14
Hi to all.
Was wondering if anyone could tell me some details regarding mothers group in Mackay. I have been here 2 years but have only just had a bub and still am yet to meet people.
Jo:wave:

~Chick79~
13-11-2007, 15:35
Hi Jo!

Firstly welcome to bubhub! And secondly hello from a Hay Point mum!!!

Can't help with any info on a mothers group though... will send you a PM!

angel_one
29-11-2007, 10:13
hi girls - im not a mackay mum any more (well technically speaking once a month i am1 lol - when we visit home! LOL)

but have you been to the neighbourhood centre (i think thats still what its called?) its near millton street school - oh hang on - i mean mackay state high school (as they dont like being claled milton any more! lol) im pretty sure they still have the toy libaray going and you would be able to talk t someone there about mothers groups/playgroups ect.....

angel_one
29-11-2007, 10:14
ok i just found this too

http://www.playgroupaustralia.com.au/qld/index.cfm?objectid=FB7936F2-E7F2-2F96-340CF64E50410B61

RebornAustralia
01-12-2007, 11:10
WOW I did not realise there where so many people from Mackay on here :o)

Good to see......I live in Collinsville at the moment but am moving back to Mackay for the start of school term for my eldest!!!!

I love playgroups they are so much fun and the best way to meet people.

Don't give up hope if you go to one and do not like it or feel comfortable

You may need to go to a few to find one that you feel comfortable in.

Well I hope to catch up with a few of you ladies when I get back to Mackay!!!!

Kirsty

~Alicia
01-12-2007, 13:28
Oh wow, look at all of you :D

I'm about 3 hours away, in Clermont. But it's good to know there's some BH's nearby! :thumbsup:

salwint
17-01-2008, 13:42
Hello, just wondering if you found a mothers group in mackay yet, if so would you be able to help me out as well. im actually moveing to mackay from victoria in 2 weeks, and dont know a single person up there at all,
I have a 18month old gil and a 12 week old son.
Thanks heaps
sal

D&M
21-01-2008, 14:09
hey there,

I am moving up to Mackay from VIC too!
we were supposed to be moving to Bowen but the company who have hired my fiance' have asked us be be based in Mackay.
And like you we don't know anyone in the area at all :(
hope to hear from you soon.

Emma

~Chick79~
21-01-2008, 15:14
Hello, just wondering if you found a mothers group in mackay yet, if so would you be able to help me out as well. im actually moveing to mackay from victoria in 2 weeks, and dont know a single person up there at all,
I have a 18month old gil and a 12 week old son.
Thanks heaps
sal

hey there,

I am moving up to Mackay from VIC too!
we were supposed to be moving to Bowen but the company who have hired my fiance' have asked us be be based in Mackay.
And like you we don't know anyone in the area at all :(
hope to hear from you soon.

Emma

Hi Sal! Hi Emma! :wave:

Can't help you much on the Mothers Group front (I haven't been to any since moving here last year) but the PCYC in Mackay have like a fun playtime for children from 9:30-11am. Some mums I know have been and say it is great!

Have you guys found housing yet? If not be prepared for it is a tight market at the moment (unless of course you want to buy).

Emma, is your fiance going to be working at Abbott Point in Bowen? Reason I ask is my DH is currently at Dalrymple Bay Coal Terminal but is looking to go to Abbott Point towards the end of the year...

Oh and incase you missed the first page, I live in Hay Point which is just south of Mackay. I have a nearly 3 and a nearly 2 year old boys.

Feel free to PM if you need some info or if you would just like to chat! :D

PookieLady
05-02-2008, 13:40
hi guys i come to Mackay often, what do u do with your little ones? Last time we were there i couldn't find much for my DD.
Sarah

bealette
25-02-2008, 16:46
Hi ladies, i am also a mackay mum!!! There are a few here arent there. I am trying to track down a playgroup for my son Hamish, 10mths. Have any of you found a decent one? Please let me know the details if you have. I really want him to start interacting with other kidlets.

lil miss
26-02-2008, 10:31
I have found that the George Street Neighbourhood Centre runs a playgroup. I'm not sure what days but if u give them a ring on 4957 2626 you can find out. I hope it helps :)

mimi91
04-03-2008, 16:32
hi im 17 years of age and live in mackay.. just want to meet others the same age.. ta xx

nqcowboysfan
17-03-2008, 22:02
would anyone be interested in a play day at the harbour :sunshine:(or somewhere else if you have a suggestion)?
i have a 1 yr old daughter and am running out of things to do with her!!:hair:

Carla84
07-04-2008, 18:10
hi all. im a wannbe mum (TTC with IVF) from mackay. im 23 and dp is 26.
i know i dont have any kids. . yet. :D BUT i dont work and hubby works away so if you ever want to catch up for a coffee pm me. Im usually friendly :laughing: and :ecomcity: but all the friends i have work!

~Alicia
07-04-2008, 18:28
Hi Carla :D Good to see you here. Are you the same Carla from PP? I haven't been there in awhile. :)

We're in Clermont still, but looking to move to Moranbah soon :D

Carla84
08-04-2008, 10:11
hey there,
yep its me :D
i dont go on pp either.
wow moranbah?? haha. thats not to far away. how are you

~Alicia
08-04-2008, 12:38
Yep, my DH has started working over there during the week so we're looking for a place. His boss is going to pay for half the rent. TG, we wouldn't be able to afford it otherwise. It's become insane there.

We're doing good, had our baby boy, he's 6 and a half weeks now. I was hoping to find you pregnant, how are things going?

lanajoelshilah
08-04-2008, 18:51
Hey all mackay mumma's!
I see some all having a little short of time to find a suitable playgroup (or one at all!) I've done a search and i hope it helps bringing sanity back to you day

Mummy & Me

MACKAY QLD 4740
Debbie: 4955 2545
http://www.playgroupaustralia.com.au/qld/wsimages/expandarrow.gif (http://javascript<b></b>:showHide('playgroup3308More', 'playggroup3308viewmore'))view more details

Ages 0-2 1/2 yrs. No weekly fee. Mums empowering each other through shared experiences and support.
Venue: Homes, Parks & Outings
Sessions: DayTimeVacancyThursdayThu 9.00-11.00No

Knyitty Jundu

10 Hicks Street
MACKAY QLD 4740
Sonetta: 4951 2833
view more details

Ages 0-5 yrs. No weekly fee. Playgroup for Indigenous families with organised activities and outdoor play area.
Venue: Knyitty Jundu Playgroup
Sessions: DayTimeVacancyMondayMon 10.00-1.00YesFridayFri 10.00 - 1.00Yes

Wednesday Suntots

4 George Street
MACKAY SOUTH QLD 4740
Toni: 4954 3892/0417 625 235
view more details

Ages 0-5 yrs. $2.00/family/visit. Playgroup with set routine, organised activities and outdoor play area.
Venue: George Street Neighbourhood Centre
Sessions: DayTimeVacancyWednesdayWed 9.30-11.00Yes

Lily Pilly - Steiner

Holack Street
NORTH MACKAY QLD 4740
Andrea: 4959 9780
view more details

Ages 0-5 yrs. $5.00/visit. Our Playgroup is all about play and being with our children. We have activities, stories and songs that relate to the seasons and nature. All toys are hand made where possible of natural fibres. We all bring fruit to share and have a baking roster. Operates according to school term. Please contact Andrea prior to attending.
Venue: Seventh Day Adventist Hall
Sessions: DayTimeVacancyMondayMon 9.45-11.45YesTuesdayTue 9.30-11.30NoWednesdayWed 9.30-11.30No

Playgroup Mates

MACKAY QLD 4740
Pricilla: 4955 4171
view more details

Ages 0-5 years. No fortnightly fee. Informal Playgroup with outdoor play area, group story/music time and organised activities including craft with activities for under 2's. Playgroup does celebrate Easter and Christmas.
Venue: Home (rotates)
Sessions: DayTimeVacancyWednesdayWed 10.00-11.30 (F'nightly)Yes

Mackay Multicultural Supported

Alfred Street
MACKAY QLD 4740
Natasha: 4957 2626
http://www.playgroupaustralia.com.au/qld/wsimages/expandarrow.gif (http://javascript<b></b>:showHide('playgroup3746More', 'playggroup3746viewmore'))view more details

SUPPORTED. Ages 0-4years. No Weekly Fee. Informal Playgroup with regular routine with Coordinator in attendance. Group/story music time, range of activities organised for babies and toddlers
Venue: Mackay Central State School
Sessions: DayTimeVacancyFridayFri 9.00am-11.00amYes

PCYC Mackay

Off Norris Road
MACKAY QLD 4740
Sgt Linda: 4942 3296
http://www.playgroupaustralia.com.au/qld/wsimages/expandarrow.gif (http://javascript<b></b>:showHide('playgroup3501More', 'playggroup3501viewmore'))view more details

ASSOCIATE MEMBER. Ages 0-5 yrs. $3.00/visit. Informal Playgroup with organised activities and outdoor play area. Playgroup does not meet during school holidays.
Venue: Mackay Police Citizens Youth Club
Sessions: DayTimeVacancyMondayMon 9.15-11.00YesTuesdayTue 9.15-11.00YesWednesdayWed 9.15-11.00YesThursdayThu 9.15-11.00YesFridayFri 9.15-11.00Yes

Messy Minors

Cnr Clements & Pompey Streets
SOUTH MACKAY QLD 4740
Carol: 4942 0113
http://www.playgroupaustralia.com.au/qld/wsimages/expandarrow.gif (http://javascript<b></b>:showHide('playgroup3240More', 'playggroup3240viewmore'))view more details

Ages 0-5 yrs. $3.00/visit or $5.00/family/visit. Playgroup with set routine, organised activities and outdoor play area. Regular outings.
Venue: South West Neighbourhood Centre
Sessions: DayTimeVacancyWednesdayWed 9.30-11.30No

George St Neighbourhood Centre

4 George Street
MACKAY SOUTH QLD 4740
Sandy: 4957 2626
http://www.playgroupaustralia.com.au/qld/wsimages/expandarrow.gif (http://javascript<b></b>:showHide('playgroup3255More', 'playggroup3255viewmore'))view more details

ORGANISATIONAL MEMBER.0-5Yrs $2.00weekly fee. Regular routine, safe outdoor play area, range of activities for babies & toddlers, group story/music time, regular outings
Venue: George St Neighbourhood Centre
Sessions: DayTimeVacancyWednesdayWed 9.30am-11.30amYesThursdayThurs 9.30am-11.30amYesFridayFri 9.30am-11.30amYes

Playgroup Mates 2

MACKAY QLD 4740
Priscilla: 4955 4171/0427 732 260
http://www.playgroupaustralia.com.au/qld/wsimages/expandarrow.gif (http://javascript<b></b>:showHide('playgroup3709More', 'playggroup3709viewmore'))view more details

Ages 0-2yrs. Playgroup with a safe outdoor play area and a range of activities including group story/music time.

Carla84
13-04-2008, 16:22
Yep, my DH has started working over there during the week so we're looking for a place. His boss is going to pay for half the rent. TG, we wouldn't be able to afford it otherwise. It's become insane there.

We're doing good, had our baby boy, he's 6 and a half weeks now. I was hoping to find you pregnant, how are things going?

thats great! wow neally 7 weeks old! time flies doesnt it? i bet your thrilled :D
rent is pathetic atm. :thumbsdown: im glad i live in one of mums houses. hopefully we will buy in the next few months and all our rent worries will be over.
no good news for me yet. going again for another cycle on the 22nd so wish me luck:p

jadesmummy
02-05-2008, 16:25
hey to all
the playgroup round at andegrove is pretty good, i used to go but have had so much on lately,
anyway does anyone know of a walking group in mackay or anyone interested?

itssunday
04-05-2008, 14:52
hey to all
the playgroup round at andegrove is pretty good, i used to go but have had so much on lately,
anyway does anyone know of a walking group in mackay or anyone interested?
i am very interested though we wont be moving to mackay for a little bit hopefully not more than 1 month. hubby just got a job there so we are looking for rentals etc at present.
i am an ex personal trainer but havent done much since having my daughter so would love love love to start walking etc.:smiliedance:

Afton
07-05-2008, 10:10
i'm a mackay mum also, looking for a friendly group for my 15 month old boy to meet some little playmates..
To introduce myself,
My name is Afton. I have 2 sons, Jack 15 months old and Randall who passed away on the 19th of jan 08 at 5 days old.
Also wondering if there are any other ladies here that have lost bubies.. i just cant seem to find any support network in Mackay. i know there are a couple.. but they certainly havnt been very reliable and i'm feeling very isolated.

look forward to talking with everyone here. being a stay at home mum i dont get to mingle with other adults!!! would like to connect in with some other mummys in the same position!

cheers..

kiripearce
14-05-2008, 16:40
Hi i'm moving to mackay in mid june and dont know anyone so would love to find a playgroup, or just some cool, fun, relaxed mums to hang out with. Will be living in shoal point so maybe kiddies could come and play at beach.
Hope to hear from some mackay mummies soon
Kiri

lil miss
18-05-2008, 10:23
hi ladies.. i have moved back to mackay and want to meet some other wonderful mummies in the area :)... i have 1 friend here but she has just had her 2nd baby (almost a year between them), so as u can imagine, she is not up for socialising much... all my other friends have moved away for work or uni, and i am feeling pretty lonely as dd's dad is still in brisbane....

kiripearce
21-05-2008, 08:25
Hey i should be in mackay on around the 21st so will have to organise a mummies and bubbies get together.
Kiri

MMM
22-05-2008, 14:45
Hi- did you find a mothers group/
i'm at the harbour and always looking to meet people at the playground to let my 3 year old burn around!

jadesmummy
24-05-2008, 21:12
Hi i'm moving to mackay in mid june and dont know anyone so would love to find a playgroup, or just some cool, fun, relaxed mums to hang out with. Will be living in shoal point so maybe kiddies could come and play at beach.
Hope to hear from some mackay mummies soon
Kiri

hey i live at eimeo, u should come to andergrove playgroup on a friday iv only been twice but the otha mums seem pretty cool
its mentioned in the list of playgroups from someone else b4.

lil miss
27-05-2008, 09:01
hey ladies... just thought i'd let u know about this great group i have found... its run by the Women's Health Centre on Shakespeare St (near the cemetry). They meet every monday from 10 til 12, and have coffee and biccies. There are heaps of toys for the kids (they cater from birth to school age), and a fenced outside area where older kids can run around. Its for mums of all ages, and they also run a pregnancy group (all the groups are linked). I went for the first time monday just gone, and thought it was great! But, there have been a drop in numbers, and I ended up being the only one there for a while :laughing:. They have outings and stuff throughout the year as well, and hold $1 market days, plus they give away baby stuff like clothes, cots, high chairs etc, as well as general house hold items. It really is a great morning, and a great opportunity to meet other mums around mackay. They also have pram walks all over mackay.

So yeah, just thought i'd share my new found support and hope to see you there!!

itssunday
24-06-2008, 16:02
hiyaz, me again:wave:
we will be moving to mackay on july 7th.
anyone want to catch up or arrange a pram walking group with me?

youngmum19
20-07-2008, 16:12
hey i am 19 too and just found out that i am pregnant to would like someone around the same age to chat to.I live in the same area too.

cocobambino
20-07-2008, 16:17
Ill be in mackay for a week from the 28th:D

DarniesMumma
27-12-2008, 09:57
I too am also from Mackay....... I call myself a local been here now 16years... I am married and have 1 son who's 13months old and also due to give birth to our daugther in like 2 weeks.... I am also interested in meeting some other mothers to hang out with not so in a large group but maybe just meeting up for a coffee in canelands or at a play park. If anyone is interested let me know

D&M
27-12-2008, 23:52
Hello Darnie'sMumma,

I'm Emma, been living in Mackay area for about 6 months now.

I have a 2 year old son and am currently pregnant with my second!

I am happy to meet up for a coffee sometime :)

mumofsean
28-12-2008, 13:33
Hi Darniesmumma & damiansmum08,

I'm also a mum in mackay, been here for about 5 months. I have a 2 year old son and I've just found out that I'm pregnant with baby number 2. I would also like to catch up.

D&M
28-12-2008, 14:52
hi mumofsean!

how are you?
sounds like we are in the same boat! haven't lived here long, have a 2 year old son and preggers with second baby LOL

i would like to catch up sometime soon if anyone is up for it??

em

DarniesMumma
29-12-2008, 07:20
Hi mumofsean and damiansmum,

I would love to meet up for a coffee sometime, I'm reachable on my mobile 0406 858208 and I am currently 38weeks pregnant and my son is 13months old......

Feel free to give me a call me so we can set something up.... it be good to meet some other mums too I'm going bonkers right now lol

Karrin

hi mumofsean!

how are you?
sounds like we are in the same boat! haven't lived here long, have a 2 year old son and preggers with second baby LOL

i would like to catch up sometime soon if anyone is up for it??

em

mumofsean
30-12-2008, 16:43
it was lovely metng you girls, we'll have to do it again soon. Good luck with the birth Karrin, hope it goes smoothly

Jaki

D&M
30-12-2008, 19:50
Yes it was lovely meeting you too! We'll have to do it again sometime :)

Em

DarniesMumma
01-01-2009, 11:59
hey ladies,

it was great meeting up..... still haven't given birth to Julise yet but not long to go now anyways:) We'll have to catch up again once I've had missy here.

safarifun
08-01-2009, 09:37

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and New Years.

Just wondering whether if you ladies had your babies here in Mackay and if so - what did you think of the hospital? Both the mater & the base.

I was at first leaning towards the Birth Centre but I'm thinking for #1 I'm better off in a hospital incase I need drugs! :laughing:

I really am leaning towards the mater - just have a gut instinct that it's the better choice.

However, I'd love to hear your comments.

BTW - I know the middies at the base are AMAZING, I guess I'm just talking aspects besides the Middies!

Thanks! :flowerz:

D&M
08-01-2009, 14:55
Hey there safarifun,

i haven't had a baby in mackay yet but the one i am pregnant with at the moment i will be having at the base!

safarifun
08-01-2009, 15:07
Hi there Damiensmum,

Good Luck! :) I hope it all goes amazingly well for you.

I'd love to hear how you find it. I hear the middies are so wonderful!

lil miss
09-01-2009, 12:39
Hi ladies! My name is Kristi and Im 20. I have an 18 month old daughter, Jessi-Kayte. I split with her dad and moved back to mackay and would love to meet some other mums and bubs.

I dont know anyone with kids, so I think it would be a great way to save my sanity (and let jess meet other kids). I dont work, so I am always free, and I am starting to lose my mind staying at home all the time.

D&M
09-01-2009, 22:17
Hey Kristi,

I replied to you in your other thread as well.

I am always up for a catch up so anytime you wanna meet for coffee let me know!

If you are interested I'll PM you my mobile number

Em

mumofsean
10-01-2009, 15:31
Hey kristi,

I'm always up for catching up. I'll send you my email and mobile number.

Also hi Em,

Let's catch up this week, I'm so bored, hopefully a time when kristi can join us

and lastly but not least, Karrin,

Hope all is going well, keep us posted, look forward to catching up wit you soon when new bubs is with us.

Jaki

D&M
11-01-2009, 15:21
Hello Jaki, How are you going? Bored by the sounds of things LOL

I am so stressed out at the moment trying to get a new place for us to rent, time is ticking down to when we have to be out of where we are and nothing so far :(
I really don't know what we are going to do if we don't get a plave soon but there are so many other people looking at the moment too!

Anyway I will be in town a few times this week so I am up for a catch up :)
Let me know when you would like to meet up, hopefully Kristi can join us too.

Karrin, hope all is going well with the end of your pregnancy! If you haven't already had bub :)

Em

mummyt84
15-01-2009, 16:57
Hi mackay mum's,
Im Lisa im 24 and have a little girl Tiarnee who is 22mths. We attend a playgroup in andergrove on friday mornings 9.30-11.30. It starts back once school resumes. Anyone is welcome to come along. I have been going since may 2008 and really enjoy it. Its at the community centre opposite pioneer high.

Hope to see some more new faces this year. :)

You can also look up playgroup australia website and it has all the playgroups that is in mackay and info on them and if there are vacancies.

Hope this has helped.

Lisa :flowerz:

Cheyennesmum
15-01-2009, 18:17
Hi everyone my name is Tara I have a 11 week old girl her name is Cheyenne (as in the Indian) and don't really no anyone with kids in Mackay. I am basically looking for a chat with other mums. Will head down to the Andergrove play group I live in the area not sure when School goes back but I'm sure I will find out. So if anyone is interested in a chat before then let me know.:)

mumofsean
15-01-2009, 21:30
Hey all,

Just a quick note on playgroups, there is a new playgroup starting up when school goes back in Bucasia on Fridays from 9:30 to 11 at the community centre next to the dolphins sporting field. Let me know if you need more info, just don't have it handy at the moment.

Also hi to Tara, I've sent you my mobile number via private message, hope 2 hear from u soon.

All the best girls

Jaki

DarniesMumma
18-01-2009, 17:00
Hey Jaki, Emma,

I had my baby girl:) Julise Madison Kemp was born on 6 January 2009 at 5:25pm weighing 7lbs 11oz 49cms long:) I had a natural labour and she was born in 1.5hours :) we'll have to catch up again sometime so drop me a tingle

Hugs
Karrin

Hello Jaki, How are you going? Bored by the sounds of things LOL

I am so stressed out at the moment trying to get a new place for us to rent, time is ticking down to when we have to be out of where we are and nothing so far :(
I really don't know what we are going to do if we don't get a plave soon but there are so many other people looking at the moment too!

Anyway I will be in town a few times this week so I am up for a catch up :)
Let me know when you would like to meet up, hopefully Kristi can join us too.

Karrin, hope all is going well with the end of your pregnancy! If you haven't already had bub :)

Em

Belily
24-01-2009, 23:35
Hey Everyone! :) My name is Belinda and I have a 3 year old daughter, we moved to Sarina Beach from Brisbane about 8 weeks ago, for hubbys work! Would really love to make some new friends, I am a SAHM so free most of the time!!! If anyone is interested in meeting for coffee and a chat and to let the kids have a play then let me know!! I am happy to go to Mackay or anywhere really hehe!!
hope to chat soon:wave:

firsttimemumtobe
29-01-2009, 22:34
Hi Mackay mums,

I am pregnant with my first little man due in Feb and I do not know of many people with young children. Does anyone know if there are any mother's groups or playgroups near East Mackay?

Cheyennesmum
30-01-2009, 09:33
Welcome to bub hub my name is Tara I'm 33 and a first time mum as well Cheyenne is 13 weeks. Can't tell you about play groups but if you google play groups Australia there is a website that gives you all the registered ones you just have to put in mackay region. I don't know anyone with young kids here either so if you want to catch up just write to me and we can go from there. Hope all is going well with your pregnancy. Hope to hear from you sometime.
Tara

firsttimemumtobe
30-01-2009, 19:55
Thanks Tara,

I'll have to have a look at that website. Hows your experience of being a first time mum going? are you loving it?

Nicole

lachys_mama
04-02-2009, 09:37
hi, are there any mums out there like me that find the whole playgroup thing slightly overwhelming? I'm really trying to work up the courage to go to one but i was wondering if there are any mums out there that would be just happy to meet up with a coffee one on one on a friday or something?
DS is 2 1/2 going on 22 LOL anyways pm me if you're interested

cj

LaVita88
06-04-2009, 08:52
Hey, im Ashlee & im 20 yrs old, i have a 3 month old daughter named Kaiyah,
I have decided to start a mothers group, held every Monday morning at 11am at Cafe La De Da on wood Street in Mackay city.
If anyone would like to attend you can call or text a message to my mobile 0415 622 656 or you can show up on the day.

I am new to Mackay only been here for 5 months, so i would like to make friends and i have big plans for this mothers group.

Come and join me and have coffee & cake or have lunch, its a great cafe they even offer $5 mums and bubs mornings includes coffee or tea with a range of yummy platters, trust me its good.

I hope we can start a great mothers group.

Thankyou,
Ashlee

LaVita88
06-04-2009, 15:15
Hey im ashlee im 20 yrs old and i have a 3 month old daughter,
Im starting a mother group, just a casual get together at Cafe La De Da on Wood street in the city, every monday at 11am...
I would like to enlarge my group...the cafe also has a promo going for $5 you get a coffee or tea and a range of food on platters...
if you would like to come you can msg me or call or even show upon the day...my number is 0415 622 656

LaVita88
07-04-2009, 17:03
hey,
im Ashlee and im 20 yrs old, i have a daughter she is 3 months old, do you have a child? if you do ihave started a mothers group atCafe La De Da on monday mornings. its located in the city on wood st...

mackaybabiesandkids
09-04-2009, 12:50
I think there is a walking group at the Botanical Gardens. The Playgroup Association has a website with all the contact details for Playgroups around Mackay. You can also organise your own playgroup. A couple of people have put up notices in the baby rooms at the shops to organise some new playgroups as most playgroups are full. My friends Sheree & Chrissy have vacancies in their playgroup for North Mackay.

mackaybabiesandkids
09-04-2009, 12:54
:flowerz: Babies & Kids Pre-Loved Market - Saturday 18th April 2009 - 8:30am to 12:30pm - QCWA Hall 43 Gordon Street, Mackay (next to Ergon Energy) - Entry Gold Coin Donation with proceeds to The Mackay Birthing Centre. Drinks & Snacks Stall Available - STALL HOLDERS NEEDED to sell your unwanted preloved babies and kids items - anything from clothes to cots & prams etc. Christine 0416 099758 or mkybabiesandkids@gmail.com Website: http://sites.google.com/site/mkybabiesandkids

mackaybabiesandkids
09-04-2009, 12:58
How is the mums group going Ashlee? Are you still meeting on Monday's? My name is Christine and I have 3 girls.... am busy this week but wouldn't mind a coffee/mums group.

lil miss
09-04-2009, 16:29
Hey, im Ashlee & im 20 yrs old, i have a 3 month old daughter named Kaiyah,
I have decided to start a mothers group, held every Monday morning at 11am at Cafe La De Da on wood Street in Mackay city.
If anyone would like to attend you can call or text a message to my mobile 0415 622 656 or you can show up on the day.

I am new to Mackay only been here for 5 months, so i would like to make friends and i have big plans for this mothers group.

Come and join me and have coffee & cake or have lunch, its a great cafe they even offer $5 mums and bubs mornings includes coffee or tea with a range of yummy platters, trust me its good.

I hope we can start a great mothers group.

Thankyou,
Ashlee

Hi Ashlee, my name's Kristi and Im also 20. I moved here in July last year and have been DESPERATELY trying to find more young mums to meet (for my sanity and my daughters lol). I would love to catch up with u sometime... feel free to give me a text on 0400 260 171.

I am currently studying full time at TAFE, but I am free friday afternoons and weekends. Look forward to hearing from you!

lil miss
09-04-2009, 16:37
hi, are there any mums out there like me that find the whole playgroup thing slightly overwhelming? I'm really trying to work up the courage to go to one but i was wondering if there are any mums out there that would be just happy to meet up with a coffee one on one on a friday or something?
DS is 2 1/2 going on 22 LOL anyways pm me if you're interested

cj

Hi lauchys_mama. My name's Kristi. Im a newly single mum too :) I am having trouble meeting other mums (i dont know ANY here :(), especially those around my age. I study full time at Tafe, but Im free fridays. Would be great to catch up. Feel free to text me on 0400 260 171 or email me turtle_chops@hotmail.com

LaVita88
13-04-2009, 13:38
:baby:NEW MUMS GROUP IN MACKAY:baby:

MONDAY MORNINGS AT CAFE LA DE DA
70 WOOD STREET CITY

COME AND JOIN OUR GROUP FOR A CHAT AND A BITE TO EAT...

CAFE OFFERS MUMS & BUBS SPECIAL
$5.00 FOR COFFEE OR TEA WITH A VARIETY OF FRESH FOOD PLATTERS...

PM ME FOR THE MEETING TIME

RSVP : ASHLEE 0415 622 656

LaVita88
13-04-2009, 13:41
hey lil warrior...
yeah thats sounds great give me a text when you wanna join us
hope your labour and birth is a pleasant one

LaVita88
13-04-2009, 13:45
hey christine...
yeah the mums and bubs was good this week, i had another young mum join us...so yeah i feel good about this group...
i hope you can join us next week....you can msg me when you can make it, if you like...0415622656

Leeny
13-04-2009, 13:59
Just a remind to keep the details of meets vague on the open forum ladies :).. Its much safer to organise final times via PM.

lil miss
13-04-2009, 15:11
hey ashlee... had a great time this morning... definitly will be making it part of my week lol. Just i probly wont bring jess most weeks cuz i will be coming straight from tafe.. but it will be good to get to know u and the other mums and bubs. see u next week

LaVita88
17-04-2009, 11:33
hey,
yeah monday was great...it was good to have someone else there to chat to and get to know...thats fine u cant bring jess...im sure we would keep up to date...lol...i saw jess at day care on wednesday and she gave me a big smile...she is so cute...i shall see you on monday...have fun for now...

lil miss
19-04-2009, 19:54
hey darl, not sure if i will make it tomorrow, i gotta go to legal aid and get these custody papers sorted... but hopefully i will be finished by then.

mum2liam
28-04-2009, 14:40
Hi there, My name is Lisa, I have a 2.5 year old boy named Liam and am pregnant with our 2nd child, due in November.
We moved from NSW to Gladstone about 4 months ago and have to move for hubbies work to Mackay in a couple of weeks.
It was really nerve racking to move in the first place but made a great group of friends in Gladstone and just hope that I can do the same in Mackay.
I have no idea where anything is at the moment and we have no idea which suburb we are going to be living in but hopefully we will figure that out soon.
Would be great to hear from someone and see what kind of groups that are around in Mackay.
Hope to speak to you soon.:flowerz:

Belily
03-05-2009, 12:44
Hi Lisa.. Im fairly new to the mackay area to.. I have a 3 year old daughter and trying to meet new people.. if you ever feel like a chat my msn is

billie904@msn.com

feel free to add me to messenger of email me sometime :)

Belinda

mum2liam
03-05-2009, 13:31
Thanks so much Billie also for your reply. I am hardly on MSN anymore but might try to get on to catch you.
We have just come back from Mackay after having a look around for a couple of days and looks like we will be living in Blacks Beach.
Would love to chat with you some more so hopefully I will catch you.
Not sure if you are on Facebook at all but I am and use that a lot, I am just under Lisa Ross if its easy to find or my email is lmr078@bigpond.com

Would be great to hear from you.

Thanks again

PhebzandMia
13-05-2009, 09:58
I'm Phebz. I'm 21 and pretty shy :(. New to Mackay - moved here last August so not really new, but haven't met anyone, mum or otherwise.
Looking for mums to do anything with. Shopping, coffee, walking, anything! Don't work :( so I have NOTHING to do ever & BF works out of town.
Daughter Mia is 5.5 weeks.
Live in Andergrove but don't mind driving places.

Phebz

Belily
13-05-2009, 15:08
Hey Phebz

My name is Belinda, I am new to Mackay to.. well since november.. I live in Sarina Beach but also dont mind driving, would love to catch up sometime for a coffee or anything? my msn/email is billie904@msn.com looking forward to chatting soon :)

jmarshall
13-05-2009, 15:11
hey everyone! im jess, 21 also from mackay on the north side. i have 2 boys aged 3 and 1.
if anyone here is interested i have created a group on facebook just for young mackay mums. we have a meet up every couple of weeks. anyone feel free to join!
http://www.facebook.com/groups.php?ref=sb#/group.php?gid=44880353697

lil miss
14-05-2009, 20:27
:wave: hi girls. My name's Kristi, Im 20 and my daughter Jess is almost 2. We have lived inMackay for almost a year now (although I grew up here, but moved away when i left school). Dont know many people with kids, especially around my age. Would love to get to know you all!!! Pm me anytime if ya wanna chat :yes:

jtandmum
27-05-2009, 14:29
Hi there everyone..
I have just found and joined the bub hub and am searching around mackay for a playgroup or mothers group for me and my 2 yo son, Josh.

I'm interested in catching up maybe once a week at a playground or similar environment for chat or coffee, etc.

Let me know if anyone is interested or if there is an existing group that I could join.

Love to hear from you,
Melissa & Josh :wave:

readytogo
27-05-2009, 15:19
Hi Ladies not in Mackay so to speak my parents are out at Grasstree so I am up that way a few times a year, will be there in July and Nov

ashleecooke
30-06-2009, 10:49
hi all... i am a 19yr old mum who just moved back to mackay. i don't know any1 with kids my age, and all my mates have moved away for studies. Would any1 be interested in catching up? I live in paget, but can meet up at canelands or the harbour

hi my names ashlee im 20yrs and live in andergrove i have a duaghter who has just turned one i work part time and get at least one day off during the week i also know a few other girls round our age who have children if you are interested in meeting up you can send me an email to ashlee@mainstream.org.au

ashleecooke
30-06-2009, 10:51
hi my names ashlee im 20yrs and live in andergrove i have a duaghter who has just turned one i walk part time and get atleast one day off during the week i also no a few other girls roud our age who have children if you are interested in meeting up you can send me an email to ashlee@mainstream.org.au

lol i ment to say i work part time

millzie
06-07-2009, 09:38
Hi everyone:confused:

well, i have been living in Mackay for about 6 months now, have just found out that i'm 8 weeks pregnant and know absolutely no one in mackay... I am pregnant with my first, so everything is so very knew and unknown to me. My partner is about to head out to the mines and work away 10 days at a time and i was wondering if there was anyone out there that meets up with young mothers, who would be happy to help me out and share some valuable information with me... i don't work atm, am studying distance ed so am available any time during the week...

Have a good day, look forward to hearing from you soon

Christy

mackaybabiesandkids
07-07-2009, 08:35
Hi Mums and Mums to be,

I notice a lot of the mums in this group are new to Mackay or new to becoming a mum. I know it's really hard to meet other mums as I've been through it.

So I am hosting a get together with lots of mums, with or without little bubs on Friday 17th July at 10:30am. I've invited heaps of different mums and hopefully you will all be able to make some new friends or at least chat and get some support.

At the morning there will be the opportunity to try some products from the Body Shop if you wish, as they have some really nice baby stuff now too. But mostly come along and meet some other mums for a coffe & chat. Here is the link to my facebook event or email me christinewilson07@dodo.com.au

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#/event.php?eid=111290404616&ref=mf

Hope to meet some of you soon.
Cheers, Christine

seaside
21-07-2009, 11:03
Hi all, I am also new to Mackay, we have just moved to seaforth, I am a mum to 3 so far and have been TTC our 4th sence Jan without much luck, but hope now that we get more time with Dh that will soon change.

I have so many questions about Mackay, seeing as I dont even know where the local public Hospital is, I think I still have a lot of exploring to do... So what is it people in Mackay do with their time off... Can you go over to the Islands... Is there any local watering holes that are a must see, where are the best camping spots? :D see too many questions...
A little bit about me, I am 30, DH ( who I noramlly call BHL on forums Big hunk of Love ) and I have been married for 12 years, Ds is 9 DD1 is 6 and DD2 is 3... we have lived on and off for the last 12 years in Cairns or Darwin, spent the last 12mths in Melbourne but decided it was way too cold so took this job and moved back to the warm tropic's... I am finding the weather here much to my liking, even if its a bit cooler than I though it was going to be...

Well as you can see I can go on a bit :ecomcity: but I mean well...

anyway I would love to get to know you all so that we can meet up one day...

Belily
22-07-2009, 07:43
:wave:hey.. I can answer most of your questions lol do you have msn? if you do and want to add me its billie904@msn.com

My name is Belinda and I am 30 sahm to my 3 year old daughter, planning to try for number 2 in a few months,

look forward to chatting with you :)

PhebzandMia
22-07-2009, 17:05
Hey, if you're interested, we have a facebook group you're welcome to check out. We have a new admin who's very interested in organizing lots of meet ups. We have kids of all different ages, and mums of all ages.
Anyways the link is:
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=44880353697&ref=ts

Phebz

seaside
23-07-2009, 14:18
Hey Belinda and Phebz, thanks for the reply Phebz I will have to check out the FB page thanks for the tip...

Belinda, sorry I dont have MSN, I am on FB my user name is Green tree frog, still only just finding our feet here, Mackay reminds me alot of Darwin, went to the Harbour today, which is really pretty, would love to know if there are any day cruze's to the Islands, but couldn't find anywhere that told us so, might have to goggle...

Loving the weather today nice that it is starting to warm up already, we love to go camping so hope that we will find a few nice spots soon, plus I would love to go to Airlie soon maybe next time BHL is home...

Once again thanks for the replys

Belily
24-07-2009, 07:09
hey! thats ok.. I will add you on fb.. day cruises to the islands leave from airlie, I went on one a couple weeks ago to daydream and it was sooo nice I loved it there! was so relaxing and beautiful!

I am still finding my feet in mackay to and I have been here for nearly 9 months lol. well I will look for you on fb and hope to chat to you more :)

seaside
25-07-2009, 07:03
let me know how you go finding me, just let me know who you are when you tag me, as I am on another parenting web site and get taged alot from people from there who I dont nessasirly( sp?) go and talk to iykwim?

which part of Mackay are you in? we really like it up here is seaforth a little out of the way but nice and quite, plus we are renting a house with a bit of land so BHL is loving that, as he is now busy cutting in a mountain bike track for him self in the the bush...

we are going to bunnings today to get a vege patch up and running soon, even though I am a black thumb... have no idea what to grow or when but hope it all come together soon, DS is a keen gardner and thinks that is something he would like to do once he is older, so I will be leaving most of it up to him...

I find it so strange that they dont have any boats going to the islands here I did see there was one company that does go to the sth Island but they didnt tell me anything about cost or time or anything really, Mackay could do so much, as it is very pretty place, but from the little driving around we have done it looks like it is doing alot of work ATM...

Belily
18-08-2009, 20:46
hey! sory for taking so long to reply

Seaforth is nice, I like the quieter places, we are in sarina beach and love it, but may have to move into mackay for Lily to go to kindy.. I didnt have much luck finding you on fb.. will try again tho :)

Made in England
28-08-2009, 11:39
Hello to all Mackay mums. I moved to Mackay about 18 months ago from the UK. I don't know many people around here, and just thought I'd say hello on here, and see if I could meet any other mums-to-be from Mackay. :wave:

Made in England
28-08-2009, 11:45
Hi Phebz

I just joined your group on Facebook. I'm looking for a group to join and it sounds perfect. I don't know many people in Mackay, especially mums-to-be anyway, so you're group looks great!!

I live out in Walkerston, and am nearly 27 weeks pregnant with my first little girl. Can't wait til she gets here!!

Belily
29-08-2009, 06:35
hello

I am fairly new to the mackay area to.. my name is Belinda, I have a 3 year old daughter and would be happy to meet up sometime :)

mum2liam
29-08-2009, 19:04
Hi there every one,

I joined this thread a little while a go telling every one that we were moving to Mackay but didnt know where or when. Well......... we have made the move, just over 2 weeks ago now and to Blacks Beach. Have met a couple of nice ladies already which is great.

I have a 2.5 year old boy named Liam and am 10 weeks off having our second bub.

So I just wanted to put myself out there again to see if anyone is near me or wants to meet up or have a chat on here or even FB! Just look me up or let me know and I can look for you as well.

If you are new then great we can chat about Mackay together or if you are old and want to find a new friend then I am keen too!!

Anyway, great to hear from someone!!!

raksaunders
08-09-2009, 10:28
Hello everyone!

My name is Renee, im married with a 3 year old son & a baby girl due in November.

I'm looking to meet other mum's in Mackay just for a chat/coffee and for my son to have some friends! We're already met Lisa & Liam, and that has restored some of my faith in meeting new friends!

I'm also on facebook as Renee 'Lavery' Saunders and i'm apart of some on the groups on there also.

Hope to chat to some of you soon!! :fingerscrossed:

raksaunders
08-09-2009, 10:33
Hi everyone:confused:

well, i have been living in Mackay for about 6 months now, have just found out that i'm 8 weeks pregnant and know absolutely no one in mackay... I am pregnant with my first, so everything is so very knew and unknown to me. My partner is about to head out to the mines and work away 10 days at a time and i was wondering if there was anyone out there that meets up with young mothers, who would be happy to help me out and share some valuable information with me... i don't work atm, am studying distance ed so am available any time during the week...

Have a good day, look forward to hearing from you soon

Christy
Hey there, how are you going with your pregnancy? I hope you have found some other mum's who are also expecting, otherwise, i'd be happy to help you thru afew things! I'm no expert myself, but i do have a 3 year old & am 28 weeks pregnant myself. Renee :)

seaside
09-09-2009, 07:13
Hey all, I havent been on here in ages, have found another parenting site and have been chatting on that, but seems to be more Mackay ladies on here...

I have been feeling very down sence moving here, not liking it much at all...:(

I feel bad for BHL as he knows I am not happy but there isnt much we can do about it as this is where the work is.... I am missing my family heaps, cried most of Fathers day as I spoke to my Dad and he was telling me how much he miss's the grandkids... My 3 year old is going around with a photo of her nanny and Granddad telling me she miss's them, so thats not helping much either...

so with that all said I would love to meet some new people, but I am a bit of a drive away in seaforth, but I am happy to drive into town if we have a meet up for coffee or something...

I have older kids 3, 6 and 9, we are TTC another without much luck ATM, but I can help out with any questions you have, I love babies so even if you just need a santy break I would be happy to have cuddles ( never know might help me get UTD :D )

I was also a 'young' mum when I started out so know what thats like, plus my BHL is a miner so also in and out of our lives...

anyway must go have school drop off and kindy to go to, hope to hear from you soon...

T xx

mackaybabiesandkids
24-09-2009, 12:50
Hi Mackay Mums,
Thought you might be interested about this market. Please feel free to pass on to all your friends.

Mackay Babies & Kids Market

Loads of various QUALITY pre-loved babies & kids items such as: Baby Clothing - Prams - Cots - Kids Clothes - Outdoor Play Equipment - Maternity Clothes - Bedding Bouncers - Baby Bath - Cradles - Change Tables - Educational Toys. Also New & Promotional Stalls

Saturday 7th November 2009

8.30 am to 12:30 pm

Senior Citizens Hall - Macalister Street (next to MECC/Art Space)

Entry Fee: Adult $2.00 - Children free

Drinks & Refreshments Stall

Stall Holders Needed - Please Contact Christine For Further Information Phone: 0416 099 758

mkybabiesandkids@gmail.com (mkybabiesandkids@gmail.com)

http://sites.google.com/site/mkybabiesandkids/Home (http://sites.google.com/site/mkybabiesandkids/Home)

SethsMum06
08-12-2009, 22:48
Just bumping this old thread to see how many of you Mackay Mummies are still around!
I am a newbie to Mackay and have an almost 4yr old son.:wave:

bellababy84
09-12-2009, 14:49
Just bumping this old thread to see how many of you Mackay Mummies are still around!
I am a newbie to Mackay and have an almost 4yr old son.:wave:

I have just come across this thread too, and I moved back here in feb and have been searching for a playgroup ever since! I had a fantastic one when i was living in T'ville that was focused on 12 to 25 year olds and i made some beautiful long time friends out of it. It would be so great if they had something like that here but unfortunately checking out the playgroup website and talking to the playgroup co-ordinator of Mackay there isn't one... there isn't even a playgroup that has vacancies on the south side of town! EEP! When I was talking to the co-ordinater she was talking about setting up another playgroup over this side of town and that was way back when they had a playgroup special day at the botanical gardens... still haven't heard anything but in saying that I have moved into a house from invading my mothers house for 8 months whilst trying to find a house (renting urgh! dont get me started!) Soooo anyway, to cut my long :ecomcity: winded speech short.. anyone keen for a south side sanity group! HAHA! I have two girls 4 and 1, both go to kindy on mondays as of next year but unfortunately it is me and these munchkins the rest of the week while the hubby is at work and we attack him on weekends out of boredom!

Hope to hear from someone.. ANYONE soon! :laughing:

:smiliedance::raspberry:

SethsMum06
10-12-2009, 07:53
What is South side. That's how new I am in Mackay... I've no idea where South Side is, LOL

I am in Blacks Beach....

mackaybabiesandkids
10-12-2009, 09:47
Hi mums,

Young Mums Mackay Group on Facebook is an active group;

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#/group.php?gid=44880353697

They are having a get together tomorrow morning (Friday) at Mt Pleasant, here's the link to the event.

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#/event.php?eid=222893265010&index=1

Regards
Christine

bellababy84
11-12-2009, 09:16
Sethsmum...haha its all good, south side is basically over near canelands, you have paget, west mackay, east mackay and like me who is over near Mackay High School you have south mackay.. I tend to refer to it all as south and over your way all north.. but thats just me :D I added you on my msn... i'll probably catch you on there!

raksaunders
12-12-2009, 12:57
Hi there!! My name is Renee, im married & have a 3 & half year old son & a 2 week old daughter. We also have another group on Facebook & regularly meet up at the park, pcyc, lagoon etc at least once a week. Here's the link if your interested in meeting up, or send me an e-mail - raksaunders@bigpond.com
Most of the people we meet with havve 2-4 year old children, so it wouldnt take long for your little one's to make some friends :)

http://www.facebook.com/#/group.php?gid=160790764697

bellababy84
20-12-2009, 22:15
Thats fantastic thanks Renee, I have joined on Facebook and look forward to catching up with you girls next year as we are going away for chrissy and I know everyone is jam packed at this time of year! Thanks heaps for the post!

Me almost 25!
Hubby to be 31!
Munchkins, Little Miss Emma 4 going on 44 and Ratbag Rahne 18 months.
2 down 2 to go!

smithy23
29-12-2009, 22:44
Hi im from mackay too also looking for a play group or to meet people im 21 and new to bub hub! :wave:

bellababy84
30-12-2009, 11:12
where abouts in mackay are you hun?

Me 25!! :chillpill:
Hubby to be 31!! :kiss:
Munckins Little Miss Emma 4 Rampaging Ratbag Rahne 1 :smiliedance::raspberry:

jakobysmum
30-12-2009, 21:58
Hi girls, my name's Shantel, I'm 20, and have a gorgeous 5 month old son named Jakoby. I've only just discovered this so if anyone would like to IM/chat/catch up for coffee. My MSN is: chaotic.butterfly@hotmail.com and my contact email is dylan.shantel@bigpond.com I really look forward to hearing from you all :)

SethsMum06
30-12-2009, 23:20
Wow, lots of Mackay mummies:wave:

Shantal I have sent you a friend request on msn :)
Kristie I haven't seen you on msn lately, have you sorted out that nasty email issue you had?

raksaunders
03-01-2010, 18:05
Hi everyone! And Hi to everyone new to mackay!!

We have a group on facebook if anyone is interested in joining, we try to meet up at least once a week. Here's the link http://www.facebook.com/#/group.php?gid=160790764697 (http://www.facebook.com/#/group.php?gid=160790764697)

Trust me, i know how hard it is to put yourself out there & meet new people, and with kids, it seems even harder! If u arent a member of facebook, my email is raksaunders@bigpond.com for anyone interested in meeting up. Happy Holidays!! :reindeer:

smithy23
04-01-2010, 09:09
hi all still trying to work out how to use this website lol sometimes not sure if my posts send so if any 1 would like to chat my email is louise-n-will09@hotmail.com or u can add me on msn also using that same email address... once again im 21 i live in mackay i have 3 children 1 is off to prep this yr 1 2yr old and a 5 month old i dont have many friends as most of them have moved away and we have drifted apart so im looking for friendship with other mums with the same interests look forward to hearing from u all :thumbsup:

bellababy84
04-01-2010, 10:39
howdy... I've added Shantel and Louise to my msn.. hope to catch up with you girls! Hope everyone had a fantastic chrissy and a great new years!

Me 25!:goodvibes:
Hubby to be 31!:kiss:
Little Miss Emma 4 and Ratbag Rahne 1:smiliedance::raspberry:

katess
06-01-2010, 09:44

I'm Kate, have 2 little girls 2.5 yrs and 2 months. I don't have many friends with kids and it was easy to manage with 1 but since #2 arrived I'm noticing the need for contact with people (all our family are interstate)!

Anyway would love to chat with even just one person!

K

bellababy84
07-01-2010, 08:45
hey kate!

I so know how you feel hun, i have a 4 year old and a 1 year old both girls and omg.. it was so much easier when it was just my eldest.. since my youngest has come along its a different story. Add me on msn if you'd like and we can chat :) kristie_gill@live.com

Me 25!:dizzy:
Hubby to be 31!:kiss:
Little Miss Emma 4 :smiliedance:and Ratbag Rahne 1!:raspberry:

Still trying to figure out... what the hell am I doing?

SethsMum06
08-01-2010, 06:06
:wave: Hi Louise and Kate.
I have added you to msn Louise :)

Wow, certainly are getting quite a few Mackay mummies around now.

Billy
08-01-2010, 08:34
Hello all I'm from Mackay too! :wave: :D I have a 3 and a half year old DD Rhianna, and am 13weeks pregnant with bub number 2.

Hope everyone is well! :goodvibes:

bellababy84
09-01-2010, 11:43
Heya Billy! If ya want to chat just add me on msn @ kristie_gill@live.com :) my msn is playing up a bit so i may not answer straight away! Also there is a catch up for the Mackay mums and family from facebook, on tuesday at 9:30am at the botanical gardens if any new mums are interested :)

Me 25! :laughing:
Hubby to be 31! :kiss:
Little Miss Emma 4 :smiliedance:
and Ratbag Rahne 1! :raspberry:

Still trying to figure out what the hell I'm doing!

Made in England
21-01-2010, 07:36
Hello all!! Hope you are all well. Are there any Mums on here from the Walkerston area of Mackay?

I've got a gorgeous 9 week old baby girl called Eva May. I don't really know many other Mums here (i'm from the uk) so it would be nice to get to know you all and maybe have a catch up.

:australia:

morgansmummy201008
21-01-2010, 16:28
hey im a 20 yr old mummy to a 15 month old little boy! currently live in muswellbrook nsw as my partner works in the mines. Considering transfering to mackay and im wondering if there is much to do? There is NOTHING here in muswellbrook and im going a little crazy :( How do all you mummies rate the area? Especially any stay at home mums? Thanks Danielle x

(little skippy i am from the UK also)

SethsMum06
22-01-2010, 00:23
Hi Danielle!

I think it depends on what your opinion of NOTHING is :laughing:

I have now been in Mackay for 2 months and coming from Brisbane this is NOTHING to me, lol. I didn't live in the city, about 50mins out, but still had the convenience of having lots of big shops close by. In Mackay there are 2 shopping complexes, one is so small (Mt Pleasant) it barely warrants being called a shopping complex. It's handy for grocery shopping and has Kmart. It is always nice and quiet and while I don't find the shops great there, I find the quiet and barely anyone around more pleasant. Then there is Canelands. http://www.canelandcentral.com.au/ You can have a look on the website to see what shops there are... There are also stores within the city centre, I haven't ventured in there much though. And we also have all the big common shops like Bunnings, Sams Warehouse, Good Guys etc.
There is the Lagoons to take kids, and also some pretty nice parks. I however am finding the lack of play centres or animal sanctuaries or just SOMETHING of this nature a bit frustrating. There are quite a few schools around.

On the whole it's not a bad place. I don't mind it here and am getting used to it. My partner is a miner too, can get a bit lonely at times but I am dealing with it.

PhebzandMia
22-01-2010, 14:02
Hey Danielle.
I'm from Muswellbrook as well, along with my partner. We've been here for nearly a year, and I can guarentee you that Mackay is A LOT better than Muswellbrook. My partner is in the mines as well and the pay up here is better than the Muswellbrook mine pay.
If you ever want to chat or anything, my email is phebz87@hotmail.com or my phone number is 0415479295

PhebzandMia
22-01-2010, 14:04
Oh and Mount Pleasant is bigger than the Muswellbrook shopping centre. There are heaps more people up here and I'd be happy to show you around. I'm a stay at home mum too and we have a small group up here that meet nearly daily.

jakobysmum
22-01-2010, 14:16
Hi there!
I've been in Mackay for about 2 years now, I love it, I come from a small mining town so I get where ya comin from! I'd be happy to catch up for coffee or chat online whatever...my addy is chaotic.butterfly@hotmail.com
feel free to add me :) I'm signed in nearly all day everyday so I'll find your message sooner or later :)!

Looking forward to hearing from you!

SethsMum06
22-01-2010, 14:27
Oh and Mount Pleasant is bigger than the Muswellbrook shopping centre.

Well in that case Danielle you will find Mackay great, LOL.

I am a stay at home Mummy too. My partners work is too caotic and busy for me to consider working anytime soon...

monelucy
22-01-2010, 18:13
Hey to you all,

we will be moving to Mackay from Bonn;Germany in Oct.
right now i find it very hard to choose a place where we should rent a house cause "what is the suburb to life " north, south, west mackay?elmo or blacks beach!!!!i haved got a clue?my husband will be working at the base hospital.

may be there is anyone of you who might tell me somethings.

we will come over on the 5.Feb. for a week to have a look around.

so then hope to hear from you

mone

SethsMum06
22-01-2010, 22:24
Hey Mone,
It is a hard thing to give an opinion on. As a newbie to Mackay I asked the one person I knew up here about what areas. They were dead against me moving to North Mackay, said it wasn't a nice place. And was also told South Mackay is bad for flooding.. But then there are going to be people who live in North Mackay and love it. I have only been here 2 months, so not sure of all the areas yet.

We ended up choosing Blacks Beach to live in. We really liked the houses in the new estate... It is also going to depend on what your budget is for rent. Blacks Beach was the dearest suburb we looked at, but we liked that it was out of town and built up areas. We fell in love with the house we are in, it was the first one we looked in and the only house we applied for.

Goodluck with the move! I was stressed out with my move and it was only from Brisbane. Imagine your move is going to be ALOT more stressfull!

bellababy84
22-01-2010, 23:22
Hiya Mone!

I've been in Mackay for a while and I just saw your post, if your other half is working at the Base and your looking to find somewhere close to his work then you'll probably looking at West or south mackay, which are the closest to the base, there is also paget and plainlands (which is a really pretty area). Hope that helped you a little bit :) also if you want a really great real estate agent I go thru Hot Property and they are fantastic! I would seriously recommend them to anybody.

Me 25! :sleeping:
Hubby to be 31! :ecomcity:
Little Miss Emma 4 :smiliedance:
Ratbag Rahne 1 :hissy:

morgansmummy201008
23-01-2010, 08:04
hey girls thanks for your replies, it gives me a little more confidence in wanting to move up that way. muswellbrook is a hole!!:laughing: Phebz it is great to hear from someone who moved from muswellbrook and to hear you are liking it is even better. Its a big move and all that worries me is if i dont settle and have to move again...my other half will kill me :yes: Great to hear there are lots of mums groups and a lot more shopping than there is here, also the lagoon looks FAB!!

Oh.. How are the waiting lists for childcare in the area???

Thanks again, Danielle :)

SethsMum06
23-01-2010, 08:08
Hi Danielle, I have looked into a few daycare centres and they all had vacancies!

Kindy however is a nightmare to get into, they all have a 2-4 year waiting list. As soon as I found out I was moving up here I tried to get my sons name on some waiting lists and they all pretty much laughed at me, LOL.

morgansmummy201008
23-01-2010, 08:41
is kindy the first year in school or is it pre-school?? is it age 4?? im from the uk originally haha so have no clue! I thought schools had to take you on if you were in their catchment area or something like that?? so really i should put my 15month olds name down now??? :confused: oh my god!

at least there is places in day care though, here they are all 12 month plus waiting lists

SethsMum06
23-01-2010, 10:29
kindy is similar to pre-school. It is for 4 year olds and is not mandatory. Lots of kids don't go to kindy but I really wanted my son to go.

Official school years starts at prep which is for 5 years old, and no you don't need to add your child to a waitlist for this. If your wanting them to go to a private school it is wise to enrol a year in advance though. But for public schools there is generlly no dramas in enrolling them a few weeks before they start. I have found there are quite a few schools in the Mackay region. My son starts prep next year and I am currently researching schools and will enrol him somewhere in the the next month as we are wanting him to go to a private school.

If your wanting to get your child into a kindy program for when they are 4, then yes I would reccomend putting them down on a waitlist now, but as I mentioned it's not mandatory. It is generally a cheaper alternative to daycare. Your partner is a miner so I assume you don't get a huge amount of CCB. I get none :( So unfortunately at $65 a day, putting my son into daycare is out of the question. He will be going one day a week from next month while I attend a Tafe course but that will be it. Would love him to go 3 days a week to get him ready for Prep, but oh well!

morgansmummy201008
23-01-2010, 16:06
that clears a lot up, thanks :)
A lot of day care's seem to do a school readiness programme, but as you said at $65 a day its money people just dont have. I dont get any CCB either! I would love my son to go to day care at least 2 if not 3 days a week for the socialisation but again its expensive so hes going for just the one day at the moment. I guess if and when we move up there i will be looking at kindy's immediately and getting him on a list! :) xxx

monelucy
24-01-2010, 17:36
thanks for the quick replies.i will make some a dates with a real estate agency when we come over in two weeks.
now i read about kindy....or preschool.our daughter Lilou age 3 already goes to one here in Germany since she was 1 1/2. so definitely i want her to go to one when we move.she needs to learn the language and find some friends.
oh my god so many things to decide.....
HELP.........

bellababy84
31-01-2010, 21:34
Hi all mackay mummies out there,

I'm trying to find a dance class for my 4 year old daughter. Ideally something like jazz or tap, i prefer to find something that is relaxed and fun as its not something that i want her to go hard core into at this age. If anyone can help me i'd be so thankful, i've tried hunting around but as i've never been in the dance scene I am unsure which is good and which isn't. I live over on South side too.

thanks heaps, Kristie.

Me 25! :chef:
Hubby to Be 31! :kiss:
Little Miss Emma 4! :doh:
Little Miss Rahne 1! :raspberry:

kaibellasmum
09-02-2010, 20:46

It looks like we're moving to Mackay in a couple of months and will be on my own half the time as my husband will be on the mines on a 3/1/3/5 shift roster. I'm looking for any advice on areas to live (like Blacks Beach at the moment) day cares centres and would love to meet NEW FRIENDS!!! Would love to come to your play group dates that you have once a week and will probably email a few of you that have put their emails on here if that's ok. I have a 3 year son, Kai and a 3 month old daughter Bella. I will have no family whatsoever over there so I've love to meet some or all of you.

Helen:wave:
Marcus :kiss:
Kai 3 yrs:smiliedance:
Bella 3 months:sunshine:

seaside
10-02-2010, 08:28
Hey Helen, I live in East Mackay and love it here ( well been close to town not Mackay so much :laughing: )

we were out in Seaforth for 6mth it was BAD it was driving me nuts having to drive 40 mins to get into town... now we are really close to everything...

I think Blacks beach is a little far out too but many like it out there...

rent anywhere in Mackay cost alot... so look carefully as you wouldnt want to have to move again like I did...

there is a group on Facebook called Mackay family and friends ( I think ) where a few of us catch up each week, and where people post about get togethers...

I hope your move to Mackay goes smoothly..

kaibellasmum
11-02-2010, 18:18
Thanks for reply

Well I'm looking forward to coming and visiting next week and hopefully we'll be there soon!

I'll keep looking at realestate.com but I was told that that turnover on property and rentals are that quick that you have to be there? Does anyone know how turn this is?

Helen

mummybear21
11-02-2010, 21:18
hi everyone ... Im from mackay but livin in blackwater now ... im 30 weeks preg with my 1st and comin back to mackay to give birth and it looks like ill have to be in mackay at 36 weeks till bub is born... talk soon take care
Emma

SethsMum06
12-02-2010, 06:33
Hi Helen :wave:

I live at Blacks Beach and love it out here! Gorgeous place and really nice houses in the Cove. I don't mind being out here, Bi-Lo is very close and there are doctors and a Post office just 5 -10 mins down the road at Bucasia. There is also a great daycare here at Blacks Beach. The drive into town does not bother me, it really isn't that far.

Housing is not too bad at present. I moved here the end of November. We got a brand new house, we were the first and only applicants and got approved straight away and it was the only house we applied for. Having said that though I have noticed since November the rent prices has jumped a little. Mining is predicted to boom again and it is going to get dearer soon from what the Real Estates have told me. I signed a 12 month lease so I don't have to worry about rent prices going up.

My partner is also a miner and I would be more than happy to meet up with you when you get here, :)

If you have msn my email address is: mylittlefuzzbubble2@hotmail.com
Please note I have had that email address since I was 13.. so no laughing at how incredibly lame it it :laughing:

Good-luck with your move!

Lisa.

kaibellasmum
13-02-2010, 11:47
Hi Lisa:wave:

Thanks for replying. Is the daycare at Blacks Beach called Sunrise or something as I was looking at this one on the net as it says it does occasional daycare which is handy for my husband's shifts as I can put Kai in on an extra day as well as his one regular day a week. How old is Seth? Kai loves older kids, he'll follow them round all day!

Been looking for rentals on the net and there are a few I like so we'll have a better look next week.

Helen:thumbsup:

SethsMum06
14-02-2010, 09:32
Hi Helen

Seth has just turned 4.

Yeh the daycare out here is called Sunrise.

Does Kai turn 4 this year? If so the Sunrise daycare have a special kindy program. The kindy room has an actual teacher, not just a childcare worker. And if you stick to the 9-3 time it is only $45 a day instead of $65 a day. If your studying or working you will get the 50% rebate on the $45 too, and if your entitled to child care benefit it will come off the $45 too.

Are you looking at houses in Blacks Beach Cove?

PetaW
15-02-2010, 16:21
Hi!!

Ive just moved to Walkerston and looking to meet some mums from out this way for walks and cuppa catch ups!. Im 27 and have a 6month old baby girl. We have come from Townsville, but originally from Victoria.:australia:

mummybear21
15-02-2010, 20:08
welcome Peta
im from mackay but now livin in blackwater .. and will be back in mackay in 5 weeks to give birth to my 1st baby ( its a boy ) hope u find someone u can meet up with soon

bellababy84
15-02-2010, 22:29
ooh how exciting!! will you be staying after you have bub or moving back to blackwater?

Me 25! :bfp: :(
Hubby to be 31! :sleeping:
Little Princess Emma 4! :ecomcity:
Little Miss Rahne 1! :devil6:

jakobysmum
16-02-2010, 07:26
Hi!!

Ive just moved to Walkerston and looking to meet some mums from out this way for walks and cuppa catch ups!. Im 27 and have a 6month old baby girl. We have come from Townsville, but originally from Victoria.:australia:
I don't live in walkerston, I'm from North Mackay but I'm definitely up for coffee and catchups :) I have a 6 month old baby boy.
Feel free to add me on msn if you have it: chaotic.butterfly@hotmail.com

PetaW
16-02-2010, 15:03
welcome Peta
im from mackay but now livin in blackwater .. and will be back in mackay in 5 weeks to give birth to my 1st baby ( its a boy ) hope u find someone u can meet up with soon

Thanks me too! Good luck with your baby boy, its such a fantastic and exciting time. Treasure your sleep while u can !!

seaside
18-02-2010, 09:22
Hey everyone just letting you know we have to move to a mining town sometime in March, so will be breaking our lease, so if anyone who is moving here, is intrusted please PM me...

the house is in East Mackay so close to everything, and is just lovely, I will be sad to leave both the house and Mackay...

mummybear21
18-02-2010, 09:59
hi seaside... what mining town are u movin to? as i live in a mining town

PetaW.. yes im tryin to get as much sleep as i can now lol :)

seaside
23-02-2010, 11:50
we are moving to Moranbah... not sure what to think... only had a quick drive though the town last week... but its free rent, so if we are careful with our money and save as much as we can we should have enough to move back home and buy a house... well thats the plan anyway...

Mamamarch
08-03-2010, 01:55
Hi seaside (and everyone else), I'm in Moranbah. :)

We've been here for a little while now. It's not a bad town, but it's a bit lacking in things to do/places to go. I have been trying to go to things in Mackay instead but holy moly that drive is mind numbing!

Mama2three
12-03-2010, 15:11
Oh my goodness! So many Mackay area ish mummies!!

I am dying (not literally lol) to get out and meet some lovely women. We just moved here a month ago and I have 2 children, Dominic 2 and Emelia 1 and am baking bub 3.

Anyone keen for a get together coffee or something??

bellababy84
20-04-2010, 21:24
hi all mackay mummies.. i haven't been on in awhile and just wanted to see how everyone was doing? Also, is anyone enrolling their child for prep yet?? This is my first time and I feel like I'm behind the 8 ball! I rang up the school where I would like to send my daughter and they said that I have to drop in a birth cert and fill out a waiting list form (huh?), its for a state school and I must be naive but I thought you just rocked up and they were enrolled!?! Anybody else having issues? Also expecting bub #3 in Oct, and keen for play dates, coffee out whatever lol! All this rain is driving me and the little ones slightly crazy :D

Me 25! :eek:
Hubby to be 31! :p
Princess Emma 4 and Ratbag Rahne almost 2 :ecomcity:
Unexpected Expecting #3 in October! :bfp:

raksaunders
21-04-2010, 12:15
Hi there bellababy84! Oh what a sad day it will be when my little boy goes off to prep, but he cant wait!

I have rang the school i want him to go to (also a public school) and they just took my name and phone number and said they would call me when the orientation date was confirmed. I dont know anything about the birth certificate (yet) and a waiting list form seems very strange indeed. I too wouldve thought you just went and enrolled them.

My boy is EXTREMLY excited! We live near his school, and we drive past it nearly everyday, and he loves seeing "his" school! He even tells me - "Thats where im going to put my bike mum, while im at school" (the bike racks!) So cute!

Let me know how you get on! It will be a day of mixed emotions i'd say. :hugs::hissy::wave: Thank goodness we've got 9 months to prepare!!:yelclap:

bellababy84
22-04-2010, 16:45
Thankyou! I know I'm so sad that she's going too, but that the same time sooo elated as we've already had to wait that extra year because of her birthdate. I've showed her, 'her school' too, and I think it was a bad idea because she is bugging me to go now hahah! We fall in the catchment area for this school but I think, because its popular they have a waiting list. Kind of sucks though because then you dont know if they are actually going to get in or not! Luckily their are two other schools in close proximity to choose from, but I really like this school as it has its own pool! 9 months!! egads!! barely enuff time to prepare lol! I hope you and big/little one go thru a smooth transition, do you have him in pre-prep at all?

Me 25!:rolleyes:
Hubby to be 31!:valentine:
Princess Emma 4 and Ratbag Rahne almost 2!!:ecomcity:
Unexpectedly Expecting our 3rd in October!!:bfp:

bellababy84
27-04-2010, 16:48
me again, i went to the school, and they took a copy of my daughters birth certificate, and I filled out a waiting list form. I did ask if they thought it was a good idea to sign up with other schools just incase she doesn't get in, but she said that it's highly unlikely that she'd not get in as they have they same amount of students that leave in year 7 that come in at Prep. I think its more a formality and being in the catchment area I think helps aswell. She told me that they'll send out a letter or give us a call when orientation is on in about October.. so excited!

Me 25!
Hubby to Be 31!
Princess Emma and Ratbag Rahne, 4 and almost 2.
Unexpectedly Expecting in October! hoping for a boy this time!

OJandMe
03-05-2010, 21:46
My sister just moved there today with her partner and 5yr old son...

So what's it like?

What schools are good?

What's there to do?

Any info appreciated.

anitaanne
11-05-2010, 10:26
I am new to Mackay, we have just rented a house in Bucasia. I am looking for a good day care for my one year old that allows flexibility, 1/2 days, late pick up's etc, we don't know anyone here and I need to go to work. I am also looking for small home based day care centres. Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks for any help
Anita

raksaunders
12-05-2010, 04:38
Anitanne-
I would suggest you get in contact with family daycare http://www.mfdc.com.au/ OR http://www.fdcqld.org/Sponsored_Services/blue_river.php
I personally dont know of any day care centre's that would allow half days and late pick up's. Daycares are usually open 6am - 6/6.30pm. i Did look into family daycare here for my son when we moved here two years ago, and there was a long waiting list. It would depend what days/times u needed. And i would say, if you are planning on trying to have care for your child after hours (say after 6pm), there would be an increase in fee's, not just the regular daytime fee. Good luck.

SethsMum06
12-05-2010, 07:44
I have seen some Family Day Care providers advertising on noticeboards so there may not be as such a shortage of them anymore.

With the flexibility it is really going to depend on the carer, some are pretty open to flexibility, others are not. And with wanting half days some may still want you to pay for the full day, because then that is a spot taken that they cannot fill for the other half of the day. I would also suggest ringing Family Day care and just let them know what you are after.

It certainly does make it harder when you have no family to reliey on.

If you decide to just use a normal daycare centre, Sunrise Daycare at Blacks Beach is pretty good! But they are just a normal daycare that will not offer any of the flexibility you are asking for...

SethsMum06
12-05-2010, 07:47
OJandME

I don't know what Moranbah is like. My partner sometimes works on a mine out there. As far as I am aware there is not a lot out there...

I shall ask him when he gets home on the weekend though If none of the other Mackay Mummies have not given you any info by then.

anitaanne
12-05-2010, 14:00
Thanks everyone for the help. I think I might advertise for a surrogate Grandma as well.

I will try all you have suggested.

Anita

tanarie
22-05-2010, 08:16
My sister just moved there today with her partner and 5yr old son...

So what's it like?

What schools are good?

What's there to do?

Any info appreciated.

Moranbah is fantastic! I've lived here for 3 years and my partner has lived her for 38!!!

The schools are greats, there are 2 primary and one high school. There's also 3 childcare centres.

Moranbah is one of those places where you kind of have to make your own fun! People are really friendly. At first I found it a little clicky, but I've found myself making lots of Mummy friends and spend a lot of time lunching and having play dates while Daddy's at work.

I honestly used to hate it here (I'm a Mackay girl) and now I love it. I can't wait for DD to grow up here and go to school with her little friends!:sunshine:

boysrgr8
24-05-2010, 16:51
Hi all. Well we have been looking at moving to a town not far south of Mackay and I am needing a little bit of help.

What is the hospital like, my son has Down Syndrome so it is important to us.

How is it making friends? Is the area friendly? My kids will go to school there so I know that I will have that avenue.

Umm, well I guess that is all that is really on my mind. DP would have a job so we know that aspect of things just the hospital and doctor system is the big one.

Thank you in advance. :D

salwint
29-05-2010, 20:44
hey just wondering if any one is interested in a playgroup catch up, i have 3 kdis 4 2 and 1 years old. dont know many people here in mackay and starting to get lonely again...
everyone i meet seems to move away again,,

ryetjo
31-05-2010, 00:18

I've just joined the forums & found the Mackay thread!

I am a stay at home Mum to 3 boys - 4yrs, almost 2yrs & a 3.5mth old.
My other half works away quite frequently & with a few of my good friends also recently moving away I am finding I am starting to crave some adult conversation. I need to get out of my comfort zone & start meeting some new people!

If anyone is interested in a catch up, coffee, park play date, or whatever please let me know.

Chat soon.

ryetjo
31-05-2010, 00:24
Hi all. Well we have been looking at moving to a town not far south of Mackay and I am needing a little bit of help.

What is the hospital like, my son has Down Syndrome so it is important to us.

How is it making friends? Is the area friendly? My kids will go to school there so I know that I will have that avenue.

Umm, well I guess that is all that is really on my mind. DP would have a job so we know that aspect of things just the hospital and doctor system is the big one.

Thank you in advance. :D

I've personally found the Mackay Base Hospital brilliant despite some of the comments you may hear. The buildings may be old & run down (they are in the process of building a new hospital now) but the staff I can't speak highly enough of. If you are moving south, I am assuming the Sarina area, then the hospital down there is very basic & they will send you into Mackay 9 times out of 10. But they do have the Community Health Nurse Clinics down that way quite regularly & they of course can steer you in the direction of any services you may need.

If you have any specific questions I can help with let me know, I've been in the Mackay area for over 10yrs now so kind of know my way around :)

boysrgr8
31-05-2010, 17:09
Thanks heaps Ryetjo. We are moving to the Sarina area :) I have booked my boy into a private doctor who see's another family with a child with Down Syndrome at the Mackay hospital, so that is awesome. We have a lot of scheduled appointments so will work out all the rest when we get there. I have holidayed up there quite a bit so know what we are getting into, kind of. LOL I think most of it is just finding out what is going on when we get there, which is a little daunting. Thanks again for your reply.

salwint
31-05-2010, 19:03
Oh my goodness! So many Mackay area ish mummies!!

I am dying (not literally lol) to get out and meet some lovely women. We just moved here a month ago and I have 2 children, Dominic 2 and Emelia 1 and am baking bub 3.

Anyone keen for a get together coffee or something??

hi there i would be up for coffee....
email me, but im not sure if we are allwed to put emails on here are we or not, its all new to me lol

katess
01-06-2010, 10:45
Hi Ryetjo and Salwint,

Not sure why but I can't send pm's anymore! I have sent you both visitor messages- I don't think they let you know when they have arrived- you just need to go to your account and check!

Hope to meet you both soon,

Kate

chza89
03-06-2010, 13:23
I am a 20 yr old sahm to 2 kids, keyara who is 2 and blake who is 11 months. I am from moranbah and would love to make some mummy friends :)

SethsMum06
04-06-2010, 06:59
Hi chza89 and all the other new Mummies. :wave:

seaside
05-06-2010, 08:32
I am a 20 yr old sahm to 2 kids, keyara who is 2 and blake who is 11 months. I am from moranbah and would love to make some mummy friends :)

Hey I live in moranbah too, I hate it lol, but I dont know anyone so sit around all day very bored, I am 31 ( I know cant believe I am that old already where has the time gone ) and a mum to 3 TTC our 4th right now, Ds is 10 DD1 is 7 and DD2 is 4, if you want to meet up let me know, I dont bite :D

jakobysmum
05-06-2010, 09:26
Hi Ladies - sorry I haven't been on for a while, welcome to all the new mummies!

I'm in between Mackay and Moranbah, my hubby works in the mines in the bah...I'd love to catch up with you all :)

For those that don't know I'm 21 next month and a SAHM to 10 mth DS Jakoby.

jmarshall
06-06-2010, 07:09
just a reminder to everyone i have a mothers group on facebook, the link is below. heaps of great mums on there and we have a group day this friday the 11th june at town beach park at 10am. everyone is welcome, just bring a small plate of food if you wish.

http://www.facebook.com/?sk=2361831622#!/group.php?gid=44880353697

chza89
07-06-2010, 20:13
I would love too meet up, will pm with my facebook deets and can organise something :)

mimi1991
09-06-2010, 19:28
hi all,
Im 19, mummy to Ella who is almost 3 and Seth who is 3 weeks old. Living in mackay love to meet some other mothers.

jakobysmum
10-06-2010, 07:08
hi all,
Im 19, mummy to Ella who is almost 3 and Seth who is 3 weeks old. Living in mackay love to meet some other mothers.

:wave: Hi! I'm back in Mackay almost for good now :) Will only be heading to Moranbah every now and then yay!

I'm def keen to meet up :)

mimi1991
10-06-2010, 09:04
cool im on facebook, still getting used to the whole bub hub thing

LaVita88
11-06-2010, 17:02
:flowerz: Hey Mackay Mums, I am 21 yr old single mum and i just wanted to share my page on facebook, which sells quality 2nd hand childrens clothing.... its called Asiyah Childrens Clothing... Please like my page... and have a look at our items.... Thankyou ::)

lilybsmum
21-06-2010, 12:57
hi mackay mums, Im Michelle a 25 year old new mum to 2 week old (tomorrow) Lily. I know its early days yet but im finding this mummy business very lonely at the moment. We have no family living in Mackay and while I have/had a few good friends they are all professionals and work everyday and very career focused, not unlike myself prior to falling pregnant. They seemed to have gradually forgotten about me during my pregnancy as I was no fun to hang out with as I obviously couldnt go up town on weekends with them. Im just hoping to find some mummy group that catches up every now and then so I can share mummy talk etc. I dont even know where I can find mothers groups here in mackay. I just feel really out of my depth and I thankfully have a fairly good baby so far. My partner works (like alot of other daddys) in the mines on a crap 4 on 2 off 4 on 6 off roster so i pretty much feel alone for 10 days straight as hes only home 2 days in between. Im new to this bubhub site and not sure how to use it but use facebook alot i see there is a link here for a facebook group so i will go and try to add that to my list.
love to hear back from anyone/everyone :)

mackaybabiesandkids
22-06-2010, 05:36
Hi Michelle,

:wave:Welcome ot Mackay and ParentHood.

Being a mum can be very rewarding and has some wonderful ventures, rewards, happy memories and lots of fun and laughter ahead for you.

"Everyday is a New day of Precious Memories"

Being a first time mum can be hard, everything is new and if you don't have a a partner around or family to tell you your doing a GREAT Job you question where you are in life. Things have changed but they haven't for your friends. It can also be like grief for what you've lost "not going to work, a rewarding foccussed everyday life" and now your not sure what the next minute or day will bring.

What it will bring is a changed routine and new things with lots of joy and happiness. The hard part for me was letting go of a fantastic career after my 3rd child was born, it took six months to get over it. Now I'm resolved to being a stay at home/work at home mum. I started as a Body Shop at Home Consultant which gave me my confidence back and with the money I earned I started my own business.

Life won't always feel so lonely. But for now I would like to make a few suggestions. Not sure if your a Breastfeeding Mum, but perhaps join some supportive groups that you can also meet other mums like the Breastfeeding Asssoc. They meet on Tuesday mornings at Shakesphere Child & Family Centre - Ph.4957 7222. The centre also has some playgroups that meet. I would also enquire with the Child Health in Nielson Street, I know that they run a "Mothers Class" kinda for first time mums. I did it in Brisbane and met some wonderful mums at the same time as gettign help and advice (we even did a baby massage class too).

Please also join some of the mums groups on facebook. there is "Mackay Young Mums" http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=44880353697&ref=search and "Mackay Families and Friends" http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=160790764697&ref=ts

I will try to find the phone number today for the First mums Classes by the Baby Health Clinic... I'll post it up on the Mackay Babies & Kids Market Facebook page. http://www.facebook.com/babiesandkidsmarket

Hope these things help and you have a great day.

Christine

PetaW
22-06-2010, 06:49
Hi Michelle

I can completely sympathise with you. I have a 10 month old girl and we moved to mackay not knowing a soul in Jan. It is incredibly hard and lonely at times on your own, there's no one to just have a cofee with and get things off your chest. Book into the new baby group at child health in town. It is the best way to make your own mums group with mums that have bubs the same age and most of the time they are all 1st time mums too. Thats how I made my mums group in Townsville. Also jump on the Playgroup Australia website and you will find all the diff play groups around mackay that are closest to u. I made a friend on this very site and also at the older baby group classes at child health. Hang in there, with ur bub only a couple of wks old everything is so new and it takes time adjusting to your new life. I think all mums go through a type of grieving process from their "old Lives", I know I still do at times and my little one is not far off being 1! I live out at Walkerston if ur out this way.
Kepp ur chin up, things will get better in time but its always going to be hard with ur partner away alot, mine is too and its bloody hard.

Peta :)

SethsMum06
22-06-2010, 07:15
Hi Michelle

I am a SAHM to a 4 year old and also have a partner who works in Mining. He has no set roster so I never know when he is and isn't going to be home, sucks at times.

Where abouts in Mackay are you?

Lisa.

readytogo
23-06-2010, 22:53
Hey ladies wondering if I can join here as well
Im moving to Grasstree in 5 weeks to help my mum out as Dad just passed away. So DP and I are upheaving with a toddler and another on the way! Im due in Sept so packing is proving to be fun!
Would love to meet some other mums up there as I will be leaving all my family and friends here in Vic and know none up there..

lilybsmum
24-06-2010, 14:28
hi ladies, thanks for your replies its nice to know im not alone with the new mum feeling. ive booked into the baby classes at queensland health which start next month so im looking forward to meeting some other mums and bubs and looked at the playgroup australia website where a couple groups mention they have activities aimed at young babies as well as toddlers which is good. i think lily is probably still to young at this stage to join a playgroup though even though im sure it would be a great way to meet other mums i may have to wait. if any of you girls joined playgroups what ages were your kiddies?

ryetjo
24-06-2010, 22:54

Nice to see so many Mackay Mums out there in the same boat of wanting/needing to get out & about to meet new people - makes me feel better that I am not the only one!

readytogo, I am sorry to hear about your father passing, best of luck with the move north. Packing is hard at any time let alone chasing a toddler & pregnant.

lilybsmum, I first joined a playgroup when my first son was only 4mths. I did it for me! Was great to have a set time each week where I had to get dressed & head out, broke up those seemingly never ending pj days! I sent you a visitor message if you would ever like to meet up for a coffee let me know :)

sethsmum, I've just noticed you have a 2006 born little boy, my oldest was born March 2006. Such a lovely yet trying age the feral 4's!

Must be off, bubba has just woken, there goes my 'me' time!
Chat again soon.

ctrandafir
06-07-2010, 19:13
Hi ladies...I am also new to Mackay and have a husband working out at the mines. We have just emigrated from Scotland and have a little family here but would love to catch up with some other mums in the same situation. I have a wee boy Alex who's nearly 20 months and it would be great to catch up in the park sometime and get some local info on playgroups etc. My email is clairetrandafir@hotmail.co.uk if you want to arrange something. At the moment im staying in the town centre. Cheers !

faery jo
04-08-2010, 10:50
hi there ,, ive just recently moved down from cairns to mackay for a few months,,
i would love to meet some other mums that are interested in catching up for coffee,, even going for drive to finch hatten and go for a walk in the bush,
though i am still trying to get my license, but im sur i can find ways wherever i need to go!!,
im pretty easy going,, i love kiddies ,so the more the merrier,, i can paint their faces to keep them occupied :D,,
im trying to find a mothers group for my little girl as well if anyone knows of a nice one??
thanks again ,, jo:sunshine:

newbie0016
10-09-2010, 08:45
Hello im from cairns myself. and now im living in mackay too i have only been here for 9 months and im still looking for a playgroup. i have a little boy that is 18 months. we go down to the andergrove park on Sam Rd and a great park with shade and lots of mum go there for the little ones the morning is the best time. if you would like to catch up just email rugby_gal0016@hotmail.com

Good luck
Tiffany

newbie0016
10-09-2010, 14:04
Play groups
Crosspatch Kids Playgroup
Address: Cnr Nebo and McGinn Street, Mackay QLD 4740
Phone: 4952 2999
catto@bigpond.com

Lily Pilly Playgroup - Steiner Inspired for ages 0-5 years
Address: Holack Street Community Hall, North Mackay QLD 4740
Phone: 4953 5310
katrinaogilvie@hotmail.com

Playgroup Queensland - Central Region
Address: George Street Neighbourhood Centre, Mackay QLD 4740
Phone: 49512969 or 0448 845 279
vwhalan@playgroupqld.com.au
www.playgroupaustralia.com.au

Here are some places that i have found on the net i hope it is helpful

mumofsean
10-09-2010, 23:21
hi,
I've been in mackay for some time (2 years) and struggle to meet people like me. I'm a full time working mum (9am to 5pm) that wants to meet others weekends and weeknights. I have 2 kids (1 yrs and 4yrs) but really seeking another adult to bond with.
message me if that is you
Jaki

Beachside Mumma
08-10-2010, 12:40
:wave: Everyone!

We will most likely be moving to Mackay January/February of next year from the Gold Coast. Funnily enough I am sooo excited - really really looking forward to a change. My DP will be working away quite a bit so I'd love to get to know some people so that when we get there the girls and I won't be stuck at home and lonely.:)

Julz83
28-10-2010, 19:20
My patner is currently working in mines in Nebo and my 7mth old daughter and I live in the sunshine coast so hubby flys in and out but we will be moving to mackay as soon as our appartment sells and im really worried as i dont know a sole and have no idea where to start i love catching up every week with my mothers group and hope i can find one in mackay i have no idea what area we will be living in as i have never been there before.

I love the sunshine coast but to be able to spend more time with my partner its best we move up there.

Can anyone please give me some guidince
:fingerscrossed:

:wave: Everyone!

We will most likely be moving to Mackay January/February of next year from the Gold Coast. Funnily enough I am sooo excited - really really looking forward to a change. My DP will be working away quite a bit so I'd love to get to know some people so that when we get there the girls and I won't be stuck at home and lonely.:)

SethsMum06
29-10-2010, 10:16
Hi Julz

The sunshine coast is beautiful, I grew up there and understand how daunting it is to move to somewhere so so different.

I have been in Mackay for almost a year now, the first 4 months or so were DREADFUL. I hated the place and was in tears numerous times and wanted to go back to Brisbane. Like you we only moved up here for my partners job, I didn't know anyone up here. I have really grown to like the place now and honestly we could of moved back to Brisbane and DP have a fly in fly out job, but we have decided that this is where we want to be now. It's not easy and your probably going to initially hate it, but it gets better, it really does. I have made some great friends through bubhub and am starting to feel like our life is meant to be here.

Regarding areas of Mackay, it really is a personal choice. I personally prefer the Northern Beaches area, but some people love in town. Only place I would definitely reccomend you steer clear of is Slade Point... sorry to those that live there, just everytime I venture there I see the dodgiest people, lol.

Do you have msn? If you want to private messgae me your email addy I will add you.

Hope that helps ease your mind :o

Lisa

bluegirl
03-11-2010, 11:36
hi guys, i've just joined bubhub because i've discovered this mackay mums thread!
i have just moved here 3 months ago and yes i know absolutely no-one!

Julz my partner works at nebo mines too! we moved from s.a. and i'm finding it hard to meet people as i don't work i stay home and do the mummy thing with my 2yo girl. I agree with Sethsmum, we are living in the northern beaches area and love it, very beautiful close to the beach, shopping close by and lovely houses and area's to live. I love Mackay but just trying to meet some friends to hang out with would make it a whole lot better.
Soo perhaps our hubby's know eachother? Keep in contact and when you move up we can catch up.

I have only just met a few people online through FB group Mackay friends and family. so check that out too! apparently the PCYC is all the craze. I haven't been there yet, only just found out about it so am checking that out soon.

kimmyrose89
08-11-2010, 13:07

I also have just moved to the Mackay area and I also live in Paget... I am pregnant with my 1st child :cloud9: and would love to make new friends. I am 21. If you are interested in getting to know me email me at kim-taylor89@hotmail.com :)

Jen88
02-04-2011, 23:21
Hi All, I'm a 27 year old Mum to 2 girls- 2 and 4 and have moved to Mackay from Brisbane just under a month ago. Now that all the unpacking is done I am really starting to miss home and all my friends back there. We went to a great playgroup back home and would love to get my girls into one up here so they can meet some other kids and I can meet some other mums- theres only so much house cleaning one can do in a day and I'm starting to feel a little isolated and boxed in!! Really glad I found this page- nice to know that there is so many others in the same boat as me :)

Jen :wave:

mummaT
03-04-2011, 20:30
I am 30. We have been in Mackay for 2 years now and dont really know that many people. We are expecting our first bub in August and am looking to meet people. I have no family here and none of my friends have kids except some who have teenagers. I have found it quite difficult to meet peopple here (probably cos im pretty slack when it comes to getting out and about lol). I am in Andergrove. DH works DIDO so although I work I still get a bit lonely sometimes when he is away. Feel free to PM me if you want to meet up.
Newbie0016 and faery jo- DH is from Cairns, we both love it up there. His family are all around Clohesy River which is near Koah between Kuranda and Mareeba.

Jen88
04-04-2011, 07:37
Hi MummaT- I am also in Andergrove if you want to catch up- will send you a message with my details :)

SethsMum06
04-04-2011, 09:45
Hi MummaT and Jen. :wave:

mummaT
04-04-2011, 10:33
Hi, Thanks for the welcome.

liabet
06-04-2011, 07:02
Hi everyone,:wave:

Just wondering if there were any mums around Blacks Beach are keen to catch up. i am 28 and have a 8 1/2month old son.

Liz :cheerleader1:

bellababy84
06-04-2011, 12:58
hi guys! If you are on Facebook we have a couple of awesome pages for mums of mackay, one is Mackay Mums and Bubs Playgroup and the other is Mackay Mums. The first one is where we are aiming to hold playgroup style of meets and for information on upcoming events and places to take the children. The second group is solely for mums! Mums meet up for coffee, or go out to dinner movies drink etc etc! If you get the time jump on and have a look :)

Kristie. :freakingout:

Me - 26 - slightly going nutty sahm
DH - 32 - works hard for the money!
DD1 - 5 - Preppy with atti-tood!
DD2 - 3 - Gumboots and a hat is all I need!
DD3 - 6m - Rusk Sticks are a mighty fine invention!

han2505
15-05-2011, 18:22

Just wondering if anyone has found any parent/child groups in Mackay?

I have a 8 month old DD and am wanting to get to know more mums in Mackay.

my e-mail is han2505@hotmail.com.au if anyone is interested. xxx

jakobysmum
16-05-2011, 06:38
Hi Ladies - welcome to Mackay!

As Kristie said, we run two different Mum's groups here, the first one being all about our kids and a playgroup style - here's the link
http://www.facebook.com/home.php?sk=group_168264399889280&ap=1

And the second one is soley for us Mummies! We're actually having a meet up this Wednesday @ 10am, North Mackay McDonalds. Hope to see some of you there! The link for this group is
http://www.facebook.com/home.php?sk=group_44880353697&ap=1

liabet
17-05-2011, 06:01
hi

i still cant access this link just takes me to my home page

liz:freakingout:

jakobysmum
18-05-2011, 06:14
Weird - I'll PM you so you can add me as a FB friend - I may have to add you manually as it's a secret group.

bluegirl
18-05-2011, 17:39
Hi I joined this group ages ago when i was in mackay, now i'm in airlie beach and wondered if any of you good people knew a thread on here that could help me meet some lovely airlie beach mums. :cheerleader1:

almfam37
08-06-2011, 18:00
Hi there, my name is Aimee and we will be moving to Mackay at the start of September i am very excited to be moving there although a little nervous about not knowing anyone. I am 31 and have 3 kids a girl who is 7 a son who is nearly 6 and another daughter who is 5 months. I would love to get to know some of you so when i get there i will be able to catch up for coffees etc also i have tried to join the mums and bubs playgroup on FB but cannot find it :( with the other group mums in mackay can i join if i have to bring my daughter (5 months) or is it only for mums with no kids?

Looking forward to making some friends
Aimee :wave:

bellababy84
10-06-2011, 10:50
Hi Aimee! I am one of the Admins from Mums Mackay and we know how hard it is to get out without the little munchkins. Your little one is more than welcome to come to any of our meets and please join! We are aiming the group more at places like coffee shops and nights out for just the mums etc where it may be a little trickier with say a 2 year old - this is why we made a sister group.. if you can't find it just jump on Mackay Mum's and I will post up a Link (let me know if that doesn't work as we have been having problems with the blasted thing). Our sister group is more aimed at the kiddies, with park meet ups, ideas on what to do with your bored little ones, great links to information pages. Hope that helps!

Kristie. :freakingout:

almfam37
11-06-2011, 16:32
Oh wow thankyou so much i will do onto facebook and apply to be a member. Ive been packing up stuff all day to get ready for the big move so its all becoming very real and exciting!!

Aimee :yelclap:

almfam37
11-06-2011, 21:02
Hi there ok i think i have applied to join the makay mums it says its a closed group but i pressed something so hopefully that worked :-) let me know if it didnt and ill try again!!!

Aimee :-)

torrens81
19-08-2011, 07:06

My name is Bree and I have a 20 mth old daughter. We are new to town and do not know anyone, I am looking for a playgroup or other mums to catch up with for a coffee and playdate. If anyone is interested please let me know. I would love to meet new people for myself and my daughter..

Thankyou Bree

jakobysmum
22-08-2011, 00:12
Hi! I have 2 boys - 2 and 5 days old :-) Would love to catch up with you and your LO. I help to admin some Facebook groups you may be interested in. Mackay Mums and Mackay Mums & Bubs Playgroup

torrens81
29-08-2011, 06:44
Hi there jakobysmum,

Thanks for the reply, these groups you admin sound great! Will have a look at them... I have added you as a contact and sent you a request on here as a friend.. We love to possibly organise a coffee and playdate for our little ones sometime if you interested...

ashley2510
09-11-2011, 13:15
I arrived in Mackay 10months ago and other than work colleagues I haven't made many friends, hopefully going part time very soon and wondered if there was any playgroup/mothers group to come along to with my 22month old daughter so we can have other mums in the area?

Ashley :smiliedance:

ashley2510
09-11-2011, 13:17
Meant *meet other Mums and children in the area :) sorry

jakobysmum
09-11-2011, 23:21
Hi Ashley!

I'm 22, married with 2 boys, Jakoby is 2 (27 months to be exact) and Blair is 12 weeks.
I'm an admin of a group directed at meeting new mummies via FB,
here's the link - hope to meet you someday soon!

https://www.facebook.com/groups/44880353697/

ashley2510
11-11-2011, 09:12
Hi Ashley!

I'm 22, married with 2 boys, Jakoby is 2 (27 months to be exact) and Blair is 12 weeks.
I'm an admin of a group directed at meeting new mummies via FB,
here's the link - hope to meet you someday soon!

https://www.facebook.com/groups/44880353697/

Thank you for your message. I have requested to join the Mackay Mum's group on facebook. I hope to meet you and your boys soon. I am 28, married with a little girl, Annalise who turns 2 in december. Would really be great to meet up with someone with kids in Mackay!

:wave: Ashley

mackayin2012
23-01-2012, 10:33

It seems I'm in a similar situation - we're moving to Mackay in mid-Feb and would love to meet some other mums and bubs. I have a 2yo girl and another bub due in May, but am keen to find some friends for both my daughter and I before #2 comes out!

Ta,
Amanda

BoyCrazy
23-01-2012, 11:21
hey amanda, im mel have just moved from bris to mackay 6 months ago. if u click on the fb link above you can ask to join the mackay mums group. hope to meet up one day :)

MuminMind
23-01-2012, 12:05
Hi ladies. Hope the following information is helpful:

ABA Community Group
(Mothers group/Playgroup for women who are breastfeeding)
Tuesdays 9:30am-12:00
Shakspeare Child and Family Centre
43 Shakespeare Street Mackay QLD 4740
(07) 4957 7222

Mackay PCYC
Address: Norris Road, North Mackay QLD 4740
Phone: 4942 3296

Beach Kidz Playgroup

Address: Llewellyn Hall, Armstrong Beach QLD 4737
Phone: 0749432390
tgsteinhardt@bigpond.comwww.playgroupaustralia.com .au/qld/ (http://www.playgroupaustralia.com.au/qld/)

Crosspatch Kids Playgroup
Address: Cnr Nebo and McGinn Street, Mackay QLD 4740
Phone: 4952 2999
catto@bigpond.com[/URL]

Lily Pilly Playgroup - Steiner Inspired for ages 0-5 years
Address: Holack Street Community Hall, North Mackay QLD 4740
Phone: 4953 5310
katrinaogilvie@hotmail.com[URL="http:/"] (http:/)

Playgroup Queensland - Central Region

Address: George Street Neighbourhood Centre, Mackay QLD 4740
Phone: 49512969 or 0448 845 279
vwhalan@playgroupqld.com.auwww.playgroupaustralia. com.au (http://www.playgroupaustralia.com.au/)

Mainly Music Mackay

Salvation Army- 48 Gregory Street
Wednesday 10am and Friday 9am and 11am $4 per family

mackayin2012
23-01-2012, 14:17
Thanks for the responses. I have joined the FB group and can see there's heaps of great info there! Looking forward to meeting everyone soon.

Melgp
29-01-2012, 14:05
Hello mums,
I'm a 26yr old mum I have a 17mth old and one on the way I don't know many mums in mackay and I'm looking at joining a group or meeting more mums if you have information or your interested pls MSG me or txt me on 0429 996 929.