View Full Version : No Myer, What Now?

CoopersMamma
22-09-2007, 19:27
I would just like to say now that Myer has, kinda burnt down that there are absolutely no decent 'feeding, nappy change and toilet' places in Hobart. RIP Myer Parents Room.

The only one I can think of is in Centrepoint but there aren't any toilets so too bad if a mum with kids needs to go somewhere. AND there isn't a microwave to heat up bottles and food... I can only hope Myer don't do what they did to the changeroom at Eastlands when that was downgraded during there renovations by cutting it in half making it impossible to move with a pram, let alone if there is a pram already in there as well as having only one feeding area, with NO privacy (shame on Eastlands Head Office)

Other than that, there will be no Myer at Chrsitmas, what is the Hobart Christmas Parade without going to Myer afterwards to see Santa and Myer's christmas wonderland...

OH NO! NO Boxing Day Sales....:crying:

Where will I buy my family's decent clothes now?! Target and Kmart etc are fine but there are no other department stores in Hobart now for quality or special clothes, except for Harris Scarfe but that IS NOT a department store, its a mess in there

Come to think of it I had my xmas present layby-ed at Myer, what's going to happen to that?!?!

22-09-2007, 19:36
Hu? What? Myer burned down?? :eek: WHEN?

22-09-2007, 19:43
Just found this on the Mercury Website!

WOW! OMG! Myer is BURNING?! I dont belive it!!!!

By Glenn Cordingley
September 22, 2007 07:05pm

A MASSIVE fire is burning through a Myer department store in Hobart, threatening surrounding buildings in the CBD.
It is understood that one floor of the multi-storey building in Liverpool Street has collapsed.

Roads surrounding the area have been closed to traffic and pedestrians have been banned from entering a police exclusion zone for safety reasons.

It is understood the blaze started around 3.30pm (AEST) today.

A massive plume of thick, black smoke hung over the building late this afternoon as the blaze intensified, forcing fire crews to back away from the Liverpool street area.

There have been no reports of injuries at this stage.

CoopersMamma
22-09-2007, 19:44
From what I heard on the ABC news (don't ask why we were watching it!) and what I saw out my front window ( looked smoking and all glowing) it happened about 5pm today, my bro in law called us because he just picked up his new TV from there, thank god! (Saturday, 22nd Sept) it may have spread to some other Liverpool Street stores but they couldnt get into Cat and Fiddle arcade so they dont know if it has spread through there...So i take it around the Katies Miller's, Target 1st level end?

Correct me if I'm wrong but that's pretty much what the ABC news said when we saw it.

CoopersMamma
22-09-2007, 19:49
I would imagine that the building has asbestos judging by the age of the building so it would be kinda dangerous and yuck....:thumbsdown:

At the moment there are HEAP of fire trucks passing along Cambridge Road (Mornington) so it must be kinda giganonormous-massiverous!

22-09-2007, 19:50
That sounds like what I just read!

OMG! I hope it doesnt all burn down! 90% of the GOOD stores in Hobart are in the Cat and Fiddle!

22-09-2007, 19:52
I want to jump in the car and go into town and see! LOL Isnt that terrible!

But its sort of exciting (in a bad way of course) that one of Hobarts ICONS is burning..... Its one of those OMG moments! (I need to get a life)

Mummamuffin
22-09-2007, 20:08
I was just talking to my MIL on the phone and I was complaining about Christmas Shopping and the Baby Room and how terrible this fire will be for Hobart, especially in the lead up to Christmas.

She responded by saying how bad she feels for all the casual and contract workers that will be out of work with NO pay and how devastating this will be for some familys :o

I am feeling like a bit of a selfish cow atm.

22-09-2007, 20:10
Oh yes, Now I feel guilty too! Thanks Sheree! THANKS ALOT!

AND GET ON MSN SO I CAN CHAT TO YOU!

22-09-2007, 20:41
http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,22464077-5005940,00.html

Oh my gosh, its totally gone! :crying:

A Party of Five
23-09-2007, 08:16
I know it's so sad :crying:

DH and I both worked at Myer for over three years and still friends that work there some of them are full time but most of are friends where casual :crying:

It's going to be a very sad Christmas for most of them as you would all know this is one of the busiest time of the year!

And it's all so very sad for the kidlets that will miss out on the the Hobart Christmas Parade and going to see Santa :crying:

I have to admit working in the Toy section at Christmas time was the best thing to see all the kidlets with Santa!

I did see on the news the other night that Priceline have opened a new Baby Room which is open seven days a week, but because of the fire I don't think it will be open now :no:

Angela :crying:

2boysmama
23-09-2007, 08:24
All of those poor people out of a job. What are they going to do? :crying:

A Party of Five
23-09-2007, 08:32
I have no idea :no:

DH did talked with one of his mates last night and he is still in shock!

He has just brought a house with his DF so he has to find a another job quick :(

A Party of Five
23-09-2007, 10:17
Here is some photo's of Myer :crying:

http://ninemsn.com.au/

23-09-2007, 10:32
Its going to be terribly sad for all the people loosing their jobs!

Moorish
23-09-2007, 10:53
Coopersmamma - I'm with you - I was also thinking of the feeding/changing room that we often visit when we're in the city - even though it was a bit grubby.

I'm so sad that such an old, iconic building has been distroyed. I believe that things will go on though and I really hope that the spirit of Christmas will pull Myer through all this and they'll sort something out! LOL!

I just read this article:
MYER (http://abc.com.au/news/stories/2007/09/23/2040814.htm?section=justin)
I really hope they work something out for the employees for Christmas - I hope they can find a temporarily location for them all.

Oh well, I guess I won't be shopping in the city today :o

ETA: Oh and Coopersmumma - SUCKS about the Eastlands change room doesn't it?

23-09-2007, 17:29
It's terrible hey... it is going to impact so many people!!

Empolyees, surrounding stores, even the change room issue etc etc...

Very sad I agree.

Moorish
23-09-2007, 18:27
Oh I was in town today and I parked the car and walked to Bathurst St (??) to have a look. I was so so sad to see the poor building destroyed :crying: .

RosssSarah
23-09-2007, 20:06
It was a strange site i tell you that!

DF and I were shopping near there at the time it happened! Our mate who works there told us all about it! He was the one who called the firies!

We got pictures of when it first started and then went in at 6:30 and got some more!
Luckey the myer staff are getting wages still!!!

They are talking about putting them in the Princess Warf shed to start back up for the christmas sales!

24-09-2007, 07:16
They are about to begin demolishing it now. :( Sad really.

A Party of Five
24-09-2007, 08:17
As odd as it my sound there is a up side to this devastating event :o

We will get a new Myer with better munch facilities than before.

I heard on the radio this morning that Myer may move down to the City Hall or water front until the new building is finished.

I just hop with the new building that they keep the same architecture as before!

lassnic
24-09-2007, 09:11
I wonder what will happen to portrait place, I was thinking of getting some professional photos done ready for Christmas to give to people.

Nic:smiliedance: Mum to Bella 16 mnths

A Party of Five
24-09-2007, 09:20
Hey Nic we had some pic's of the kidlets done last year and they are fanatic :thumbsup:

Check out this link

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=46432

24-09-2007, 11:19
Oh it is sad hey..
Everytime we walked from mens wear to ladies handbags Justin and I would watch the kids run down the walkway and we would laugh about how we did the same thing.

Mummamuffin
24-09-2007, 13:07
Apparently the Murray Street part of Myer is just water and smoke damaged and could be back up and running as soon as three weeks :fingerscrossed:

A Party of Five
24-09-2007, 13:09
Here is the newest report

http://abc.net.au/news/stories/2007/09/24/2041481.htm

Mummamuffin
24-09-2007, 13:24
I have received some pretty good photos if anyone is interested.

I cant work out how to post them but if you want to pm your email address I will forward them to you. :)

24-09-2007, 13:29
I have received some pretty good photos if anyone is interested.

I cant work out how to post them but if you want to pm your email address I will forward them to you. :)
ME ME ME!! If there are any new ones! I cant get enough! LOL

RosssSarah
24-09-2007, 13:52
My friend Ange works in Payless shoes in the mall!

They are working in Glenorchy one now! Apparently they received a lot of water damage as well!

:( I really feel for the business owners and their staff!

Femme la Phoenix
24-09-2007, 15:05
We can't believe Myer's just burnt down, just like that. From what we could see with the pics in the media, looks like the firies kept it well contained. Has it, or is that just clever photography?

I'm pleased that we had the pleasure of spending the day shopping in Hobart before all of this and at least Nick will be able to say he has being through the Old Myer's.

I am really concerned over the loss of jobs; it can't be good; I hope that the staff member's will be well looked after and given the opportunity to getting there jobs back when there is a new myer's.

Keep us that live on the north-west coast updated as it's not always in our paper's or radio k

25-09-2007, 08:21
We can't believe Myer's just burnt down, just like that. From what we could see with the pics in the media, looks like the firies kept it well contained. Has it, or is that just clever photography?

I'm pleased that we had the pleasure of spending the day shopping in Hobart before all of this and at least Nick will be able to say he has being through the Old Myer's.

I am really concerned over the loss of jobs; it can't be good; I hope that the staff member's will be well looked after and given the opportunity to getting there jobs back when there is a new myer's.

Keep us that live on the north-west coast updated as it's not always in our paper's or radio k

DH got pics from work and the damage goes right through to the cat and fiddle and down into where burrels is...

preciousbabyboy
25-09-2007, 15:23
Anyone know if Portrait Place is ok? :fingerscrossed:

25-09-2007, 15:42
Im not sure, but the Murray Street side is supposedly OK, so they should be.... depends on how much structual/smoke/water damage there is?

Femme la Phoenix
25-09-2007, 17:54
Thanks for that Kristy, so what we heard is right then. Can't believe there will be no more cat and fiddle either :crying:

Mischief so it wasn't the entire block, the whole complex would be losing $$$$'s by the day, it is terrible and this side of X'mas too.

26-09-2007, 13:25
While at the beautician yesterday I met a lady who worked for Clinique in Myer. She said that the mens wear had those fire doors come down so that was ok, and that side of the building was too but it is all pretty smokey and not sure how stable it all is. They think it will all go...

Is the cat and fiddle going? I have photos of it on my pc if anyone wants me to post them?

Femme la Phoenix
26-09-2007, 15:18
I'd love to see the piccies Kristy ...
I'd imagine it would be pretty unstable, I reckon if I was walking around it today I'd have tears in eyes for sure.

GoneBatty
26-09-2007, 17:00
post the pics if u can kristy id like to see the damage as well!

CoopersMamma
27-09-2007, 19:15
I had tears in my eyes today when i went into town for a bit of a sticky-beak, but the tears werent from the site of Myer but the stench from cat and fiddle arcade. The food would have turned rotten and all the freezers etc defrosted. The city council guys were cleaning some of it up, it must have been back since they were wearing gas/biohazrad masks.

Target, thats also pretty bad, smells like wet dog and musty, wee smelling grandma. I got to where the pyjamas start ( from the mall side) and ran back out it smells awful...it has to make you wonder what kind of nasty bugs and grot your actually breathing in...:no:

kristy_lily
28-09-2007, 11:52
I don't mean to sound like a cow but I am getting sick of reading about Myer in the newspaper. It's sad that it's happened and all those people are out of jobs but they are still getting paid and there isn't much that can be done now only clean up and get on with things.
The thing that annoyed me the most is in the paper the other day they were saying that now Myer has burnt down the FDO shouldn't go ahead because it will take all the business out of the city. They were making it out that the only reason people go into the city is to shop there...
I haven't shopped in Myer for at least 7-8 years because I can't afford it and the clothes in the bigger womens department (where I need shop) aren't my style.
I reckon the FDO should go ahead cos it makes it easier for people who live at Sorell and the east coast especially if you don't drive into Hobart and lets not forget everybody loves a bargain!!

RosssSarah
28-09-2007, 12:29
I agree with you Kirsty! I am so sick of hearing it on the radio! And seeing it in the newspaper and on tv! Its ridiculous!

I also think the FDO should go ahead! It would be the best thing to hit Hobart! The only time i have ever shopped at Myer was when i got a $150 gift voucher from my boss for Christmas two years ago! They are so expensive!

28-09-2007, 12:58
I think the DFO should go ahead too!

I dont shop at Myer either, cant afford it, and their clothes are either too small (in the young womens section) or too EXPENSIVE! :)

CoopersMamma
28-09-2007, 13:34
I think the thing that most people forget about when you/they do actually go to a Direct Factory Outlet in Melbourne, Sydney etc or even talk one up is that, they aren't a true 'store'. The reason why DFO's exsist is it is an outlet/opportunity to get rid of previous seasons stock, seconds items and odd sizes.

To most people who have/do live in the areas of a DFO realise that the truth of the matter is that unless your not an average MANUFACTURING size (10-14) or size 7-9 in shoes * this has nothing to do with anyones weight etc* you will be hard pressed to find clothes/ shoes which are suitable unless you really do love that size 28 lime green bridesmaids style dress and matching size 11.5 purple and red polka dot birkenstocks...but for accessories etc DFO's are pretty good.

The other reality to DFO's is that if you are after current clothes with a variety of sizes etc is that the prices ARE NOT cheaper and are just the same as what you would pay at your standard store.

...Myer isn't expensive when you buy things on sale AND generally there clothes do have a longer shelve life than that stretched, faded Kmart top that we all own (whether you like to confess it or not!)

DFO's are only good for homeware and accessories.:thumbsup:

A Party of Five
29-09-2007, 13:35
I must admit I don't like the sound of the DOF I know I will not be going out to check it out :no:

We like to shop in the city, Eastlands or Northgate :yes:

RosssSarah
29-09-2007, 15:24
I love the idea of the DFO still.

My fiance's mother brought him home heaps of cloths and me a bit of jewellry from the on in Melbourne, and they were bargins!

I went into town today and there was so many people in there. Still dont understand how Myer was the main attraction! Pfft.