View Full Version : baby wipes
Does anyone make their own - and if so - what do you make them from etc ??
Ta:)
You can cut up some chux washcloths, they are 50% off in woolies this week!! Just have a bowl of fresh water handy, then wash them.
On the note of wipes, i splurged and bought the new J&J wipes with the aloe strip, geez the smell yum:D Also a nice new product is Huggies bath and lotions, bubs skin feels so soft and smells divine!
aardvark
15-02-2006, 14:48
I bought bulk white facewashers from spotlight ($4.95 for 6) and keep 8-10 wet in a lunch box on the change table.
I just chuck them in the nappy bucket with the soiled nappies, and they get the same wash treatment - 95 degree wash in my front loader, with a natural detergent.
Because I am already washing my own nappies, it's really no extra effort.
One of the mums in my group bought a piece of polar fleece (I think that is what it is called - soft & fluffy material) from Spotlight and just cut it up about face washer size. Apparently it doesn't need sewing and you can get it in all sort of patterns and prints. She uses them at home with water and uses the ones from the shops when she goes out.
Mum2Lucas
15-02-2006, 15:34
I just bought some nappy flannel at spotlight for $2 and you can cut that up and sew around the edges. With the polar fleece thats better for nappy liners rather than wipes. I did see a site about making your own and when i find it again ill post that so you guys can have a look.
OK found it. I'll just put the link in and you guys can go have a look.
http://www.justpeace.org/babywipes.htm
Theres a few recipes there. or for more just google search "make your own baby wipes"
On www.simplesavings.com.au i found ;
Baby wipes- Buy Kitchen wipes (chux), scrunch them up in a lunchbox with sorbolene cream in water, add a drop or 2 of lavender oil- wash after use.
Cheap. not sure if it works. I havent gotten around to trying it yet.
Ciao
15-02-2006, 21:44
I just bought two packs of 6 coloured facewashers from Best & Less for $4 & use them along with a water squirter bottle type thing.
I plan on buying more as they are very handy way better to clean up a dirty bub who squishes food into his hair LOL.
SugarBlossom
15-02-2006, 21:48
I have about 30 cheap baby washers that just get chucked into the wash with my nappies...easy and cheap!;)
samuelboy
15-02-2006, 21:55
I bought cheap flannel from Spotlight and cut them into face washer size squares. In the morning I wet half a dozen with water and keep them in an old Huggies wipe container to use throughout the day. These just get thrown in with the nappy wash every couple of days. Using just water instead of commercial wipes has helped heaps with nappy rash.
I got some cheap face washers and use those. The thinner the better. I prefer the terry washers because the loops seem to 'catch' more than say a flannel fabric or fleece (which I find doesn't absorb so you end up just moving stuff around TMI!).
In my very excited early days, I would make up a chammomile tea solution with a bit of sweet almond oil and occassionally a drop of lavander essential oil. I would put it in a container with my wipes so that they would be premoistened and ready to go. I got over that pretty quickly :p I now store my dry wipes in the bathroom and wet them at the tap as needed. I used warm water in winter but that's because our water heater was near the bathroom and didn't take long to get to the tap. DS only poos once a day so I just use a little squeeze of Vegesorb (a non petrochemical based sorbolene) on the wet wipe to help with clean ups.
I considered the water bottle sprayer option but found that it just took too long to get the wipe moist enough. For going out, in the early days I would use a Glad Ziplock bag and take premoistened wipes with me. These days I just have a dry wipe in my bag and only wet it when needed. We always have a water bottle with us if there are no taps handy. When using disposables, I use chux clothes cut in half because DS reacts to disposable wipes and comes up with a rash within 1/2 a day.
If you are interested in various homemade wipes solutions - the basic recipe is a large cup of liquid (chammomile tea is popular because of its soothing properties), a tablespoon of 'lubricant' (it can be sorbolene, any cold pressed oil etc) and a drop of any essential oil you like (tea tree has antibacterial properties, lavander is soothing etc). Just remember that some babies are sensitive to these ingredients so watch for reactions when trying it initially. Also, I would avoid adding baby oils because it's a mineral oil and can be drying on the skin. I also don't like the thought of baby bath lotions being used because it's not getting rinsed off the skin.