View Full Version : Whats with Pinatas????

14-02-2006, 18:37
I went to my gorgeous nephew's first birthday party last weekend (Great party:D ) but they had a pinata and it got me thinking........

What is with the whole Pinata thing?

I know its a "fun" party tradition (originating from Mexico?) but am I the only one that thinks this is a really silly party game that sends kids the wrong message?

I actually kept my DS inside while they did the pinata as I didnt want him seeing people hitting the poor stuffed donkey with a great big stick I also didnt want him to participate either (as I am trying to teach him hitting is unacceptable)

I got alot of flak from my parents and most of my family for this descision, they said I was sheltering Orlando too much! Hello am I the only one who thinks its weird to hit a poor donkey with a stick????

I have also seen them sell Fairy and butterfly pinata's at spotlight :eek: who would be sick enough to hit a fairy or a beautiful butterfly with a big stick :eek: x6

What do you all think?

drewid
14-02-2006, 18:41
I don't really 'get' it either. Especially for a 1 year olds party? That seems a bit off to me.

It is a bit tough when you are trying to teach a young child about hitting and then telling them to deliberately do it, and to an animal (fake as it is) as well? Wrong!

Some of them are really beautiful and it seems like such a waste to bash the bejeezus out of them!

Bring back pass-the-parcel and musical chairs I reckon!

Chickadee
15-02-2006, 07:25
I'd have to agree that it's inappropriate for a first birthday party unless it is only the adults or older kids. And then of course all the little ones cry for being excluded :rolleyes: But no, I wouldn't give a 1 year old a stick to hit something with. I wouldn't even let my 2 year old.

And also, you never know what stuff will be inside them. Cheap candies and small breakable toys, just great for an under 3 party :(

the_queen
15-02-2006, 07:56
Vallerie wanted a pinata for her 3rd birthday party. She has a Hi-5 video and they had a pinata on there, so that's where she got the idea. At that point I didn't realise you could buy them ready-made, so she and I paper-mache'd a big balloon and I filled it with a few lollies, some stickers, little hair clips, etc etc. There was no "ok kids, here's a stick, bash it's brains out!!" mentality, all the kids had to line up behind me and one at a time they got one swing at it to break it open. Finally it broke open and everyone got some prizes.
I'm known as a pretty over-protective mummy, but I couldn't see any harm in that?

I hear what you're saying though, about when it's an actual shape like a donkey, fairy, etc etc. And I think for a 1 yr olds party it's a bit too much. IMO a 1 yr olds party should be more a celebration for the parents, of being parents for a whole year and surviving :D .

But I don't think you were wrong to shield Orlando from it. As mummy's we have to follow our maternal instinct - you did what your instinct told you to do, so therefore you did the right thing. Good on you for sticking up for what you believe in!!:)

WeThree
15-02-2006, 08:05
We had one for Cooper's secone bday, but it wasnt an animal shape or anything, it was just a round one in the wiggles colours. stupid thing wouldnt break and in the end dh had to open the little latch so everything could fall out!:rolleyes:
i dont know about this one, i think coops knows the difference between a game to try and get lollies out of something, and hitting somebody, i certainly havnt seen him suddenly whacking poor defenceless animals or other children, hehe.;)

oh, and ours came empty, so we could fill it with what we wanted, lots of big, age appropriate things;)

Mummabear
15-02-2006, 08:45
I totally understand where you are coming from, but my personal opinion is that we also need to educate our children on what is 'real' and what is 'fake'. It's the same with stuff on TV.

I don't see any harm in letting older children have a pinata (1 is a bit much :rolleyes: ) - if they can't differentiate between a paper mache donkey and a real one then there are more issues with the parenting than whether to let them play or not :eek:

I had one for my 30th on the weekend, but we're all older kids :p

15-02-2006, 09:03
Thanks for all the replies:)

I wasnt really thinking about older children (Im sure they could understand :rolleyes: )

I was thinking more about under 5's, especially kids like my son who get excited lol and love games like this (also golf, cricket anything where yu hit something and it moves lol etc)

As O is still little (not even 2 yet) his still learning about acceptable behaviour and needs alot of positive role modeling. This is why I didnt want him seeing this game, as Im sure he would have LOVED it and would have wanted a turn etc and yes he may have gotten his golf stick and tried this at home with god knows what....maybe his stuffed pooh bear :eek:

I also still think its weird to buy a fairy/butterfly/animal pinata JMO as to me I wouldnt want to hit a beautiful thing like that etc

our little treasures
15-02-2006, 09:27
Im one of those mums that have this game at my dd recent 2nd b'day and it was heaps of fun!!!!! All the kids had a hit ages 1-15 and the thing wouldn't break I had a FAIRY WINGS SHAPED one.. Even the adults had a go.. I made it myself and the kids were so happy when all the treats fell out.. My dd hasn't been running around since with a big stick chasing anyone or anything.. It will be at her next b'day.. It was a blast

Peaceangels
15-02-2006, 11:16
I think I'd much rather stick to party games like, pass the parcel, hide and seek, pin the tail on the donkey etc. - more age appropriate games, especially for 1y.o's!!

Went to a Chrissy party last year and there was a pinata there and even the adults had difficulty breaking the silly thing. It was Homer Simpson & came complete with tape recording's of Homer's voice each time it was hit (like "oh yeah baby")..........., so for 1yr old's I'm thinking it's not so age appropriate...........

Each to their own!:)

15-02-2006, 12:03
OMG LOL Ness :D

I hate Homer so would have loved having a whack at that thing!!!

Angelbaby- You are very lucky lol as my DS loves to copy things he sees and like i said loves games where you hit, kick a ball etc so the pinata would have been chaos :eek: :mad:

Any way each to there own as Ness said :)

Peaceangels
15-02-2006, 12:12
OMG LOL Ness :D

I hate Homer so would have loved having a whack at that thing!!!

Lol - Me too! It is hard (especially when it is suspended high above you), but lucky for me DH gave me a few good pointers!

I forgot to add in my post that it was amazing how much aggression came out when people where having a whack at this thing - this tiny lady, very quiet, stood up and whacked that thing with so much force that we were all in shock!

It just got me thinking that kids watching other kids doing this would have to give some sort of (wrong) message?-JMO

Sarie
15-02-2006, 12:19
I remember making one in grade three and bashing the day lights out of it to get to the goodies inside, but I don't think I'd do one for Nat, even though he's 3 in April I'd still be worried that he might hit one of his little friends over the head, even by accident... just me though;)

WeThree
15-02-2006, 12:26
Im still a bit undecided about this, I agree, for a 1 yr olds party it is just a big waste of money and not really appropriate, but I think kids get so excited about whacking it because they want the goodies to fall out, not because they are enjoying the violence of it iykwim?
ps sarah, i agree, i couldnt hit a sweet donkey or fairy either, thats why ours was just a round colourful one, hehe:)

Pixie
15-02-2006, 12:43
I had never seen one of these until I cam to Australia and now realise it's actually really american...so lets blame the yanks for this pinata problems :D