View Full Version : Young mum needs help
stacks3012
14-02-2006, 17:29
My name is Stacey and I have an eight month old son named Luke. I am 23 years old and this is my only child. Unfortunately, I live away from home and don't have any close relatives or friends with young children. I need help with the little things most mums already know or think of as common sense. My first question would be, when do I start giving my little boy three meals a day? I've wasted alot of money on books that don't tell me the type of things I should be feeding him for lunch or whether he's ready to start having it. I would love to hear from mums who have little ones either the same age (born june-05) or even a little older. Hope you can help.
jacks mum
14-02-2006, 17:48
Hi Stacey,
I've got a son also born June 05. He is having 3 meals a day. I obviously started with just one a day then after a week I added another then again after a week I added another. I haven't done morning tea and afternoon tea for him yet as he doesn't seem to want anything else. You may think I feed all day long because I do what suits us. When ds wakes he has bf, then he'll go back to bed, between 8-9 he has breakfast then between 10 - 11 has bf then sleep, then between 12.30 - 1.30 he has lunch then about 2.30 has bf then another sleep, dinner at 5 and bf about 7 just before bed. It might sound busy but like I said it souits us and our day.
I too bought books and asked heaps of questions and I don't know any one else who does the same as me but my son is a big healthy and very happy baby.
Feel free to pm me if you want to
What date is your son's birthday? Jack is the 20th.
stacks3012
14-02-2006, 18:06
Hi Delaine,
I'm not sure how to reply to you so hope this reaches you. My son was born June 13th. Does Jack sleep through the night? If so has he slept through for a long time? Luke still wakes most nights which made me think he wasn't getting enough to eat during the day seeing as though he won't go back to sleep sometimes till he's bf. What do you give Jack for lunch? Luke's been getting cereal for breakfast and meat and veg or rice for dinner. I was thinking of trying him on yoghurt. I don't have a typical routine for him. He goes to bed at the same time each night but other than that his nap times and feed times vary so much because he's appetite varies so much. Is Jack crawling at all?
Stacey
melfunction
14-02-2006, 18:41
Hi Stacey,
My son was also born in June (16th) and he has three solid meals a day. Breakfast is usually Farex with pears, Lunch is usually yoghurt or custard with fruit or avacado with mashed banana, Dinner is meat and veges. He has fruit to suck on during the day (ate a whole mango in 1.5 days :eek: ). He also has his bottles (240ml x 3) and water..
Watch which baby yoghurt you try him on. Some has more sugar than others.
You sound like you are doing a great job :)
Hi Stacey,
I have a 9 month old(May baby), he is on three meals but fairly basic foods as my older DS had a few food allergies. He has lentils rather than meats, soya yoghurt rather than dairy etc. I am trying to get him to take more textured and finger foods, so far he will only knaw at watermelon.
DS2 started crawling and pulling up about 3 weeks ago and up until Christmas he couldn't even roll, now there is no stopping him :eek:
He still wakes up quite often during the night and likes to BF but we are working on this as I am exhausted!
If you do like books, Breast, Bottle and Bowl has charts that say what foods are approriate when.
Good luck, you little boy is lucky to have such a caring mum :)
sugar n spice
14-02-2006, 19:37
Hi stacey,
my son was born 2nd jan 05 so he is 13 mnth, i slowly increased his food intake once milk was enough to fill him up on.
He eats anything we do really.
jacks mum
14-02-2006, 20:00
Hi Stacey
Yeah Jack's been sleeping through the night from about October. He also started crawling Christmas Eve and has 3 teeth. I think he's growing up quite quickly as our friend has a 10 month old with no teeth and still waking about twice a night.
Every baby is different I've found out by listening to others. I think I'm really lucky with Jack as he is just such a happy contented baby.
For brekky he now has 1/3 of a weetbix with full cream milk and fruit (I cook up fruit and puree and freeze it in ice cube trays- peach, apple, pear, nectarine), lunch I get stuck on, not sure if I'm giving him enough but usually yoghurt (took a while for him to get used to the taste -tried different brands- maybe some mashed banana or mashed avo and then dinner is his meat and veg. I also make my own jelly and give him some of that after. He has water out of a cup with all his meals.
Hope this gives you some more ideas but it sounds like you're doing great. Go with what feels comfortable and suits the 2 of you.
kye_ellie
14-02-2006, 21:48
Hi Stacey, my daughter was born on 22nd June 05. She has been having three meals aday since she was 1 or maybe even before hand. She loves her weetbix in the morning with some dried fruit on top. For lunch she usually has a sandwich (loves vegemite, tried to give her jam but didn't want to touch it) will have a fruit for afternoon tea and then usually meat and vege or pasta for dinner.
Hope this helps. Would love to chat with you more.
Kylie
Hi and welcome to bubhub! I hope you find it helpful:D
stacks3012
15-02-2006, 11:32
Hi again,
Thanks everyone who has replied to my message. I'm interested in hearing other mums routines for their bubs like Jacksmums routine. Just when they feed and when they sleep would really appreciate the help. Also does bub need to having water now he's eight months old? He doesn't seem to like it much but I suppose the earlier you start giving it the easier it will get?
Peaceangels
15-02-2006, 13:06
Hi & welcome Stacks3012!
Do you have the book "Baby Love" by Robin Barker? Great book, with lots of info on routines, what to feed, when to feed - I have had 3yrs of use out of it!
Other than that, you'll get all the info you need on here, lots if mummy's with bubs the same age as yours (sorry mine are a bit older).
Look forward to chatting with you more!:)
Flanders
15-02-2006, 13:27
hi stacks,
welcome to bubhub :)
i too have no family around me and i was 24 when my dd was born, it was a challenge :)
my ds is nearly 7 mths and on 2 meals a day, however by the time he is same age as your bub, he'll be on 3 in a month all so...
as with routine, feed play sleep always works for my fam.
looking for tired signs is good too, rubbing of eyes, red eyes irritability
we find sticking to our same routine as much as possible works to, my kids know what to expect..
but, every kid is different too..... the "Baby Love" book is supposed to be fantastic too.
feel free to send me a private message
paige&me
16-02-2006, 11:59
Hi julie, My Name is Corinne and I have a 9 months old daugther named paige,she has 3 meals a day + snacks. We get up at 8am and have toast + vegemite breakfast and a milo lunch is about 11am cheese s'wich and a sleep at 3pm we have some biscults and tea at 7pm she has a bottle 3 times a day 10am and 5pm and 9pm and she goes to bed at 10pm and sleep til 8am.
I hope this answer your question.