View Full Version : Elastic life in BBHs
Just wondering if any long term BBH users have had any problems with the leg elastic going.
1 of my bamboo and 2 hemp (older style ones) have very little elasticity left. Could be that these are older versions (I bought on ebay but hadn't been used) and I'm hoping the elastic in the ones I bought earlier this year directly from the website will have a longer life. For the money invested was hoping to use these again for the next bub and also the next (if we make it that far!).
I drape them over the line to dry pinned with 1 peg in the middle and only use the dryer for about 20mins on low to finish off.
Thanks in advance. Hehe, I only pop into this forum when I have a question. Too worried if I spend any more time in here I'll become a MCN addict like lots of you when really my BBH stash is plenty!
Cheeky Little Monkey
11-09-2007, 20:35
I would contact Davina from BBH direct and ask her about the life span of the nappies.
They also recommend hanging the nappies length ways on the line to lengthen the life of the elastic.
Drying in the dryer will also affect the life span of elastic too.
stellarella
11-09-2007, 20:41
I'm not happy with the elastic in Baby Beehinds TBH.
I have 2 nappies which were dead after a few months of use...no more than 3 months of use. They were never tumble dried, never hung incorrectly. They were cared for carefully.
I sold all my Baby Beehinds off because I had quite a few from different batches and I could see they were heading the same way. I kept the 2 buggered ones which I have fixed myself.
I didn't contact Davina about these particular nappies because I could see its just Baby Beehinds. Ive heard a lot about the elastic dying.
But I have contacted her about a cover which died after a few uses too and she is luuurvely.
The best customer service. Very quick to respond. She will do anything for her customers. I cant speak highly enough of her so by all means get in touch with her and let her know. :yes: :thumbsup:
11-09-2007, 20:41
I brought 3 BBBs in September 06 and the elastic went in them about 2 months ago... so they were 10 months old. The elastic was fairly simple to replace (swimwear elastic threaded back in where the old elastic is, sewn at both ends to hold it in place).
I would hang them longways across the line to reduce strain on the elastic. This is what I do now. Takes longer to dry but we're coming into the warmer months now so hopefully it doesn't matter:)
sopolicha
12-09-2007, 07:32
I have about a dozen of the hemp that I have used for two years now. A few months ago the elastic went in pretty much all of them.
I put new elastic in and they are again a great everyday nappy. I thought considering that they get washed about twice a week and sometimes left on the line for a few days :o , I got pretty good value out of them.
How to hang nappies (http://i132.photobucket.com/albums/q9/gremily1/P1010600.jpg)
The above hanging technique is recommended by Davina (Baby Beehinds).
I've had a couple of my hemp BB's lose their leg elastic, but they are my workhorse nappy so it was to be expected.
Essentially, the bigger rotation of nappies you have will ensure they last longer with less wear and tear.
Google: Sew Diapers.
They have a tutorial on how to fix the elastic. Otherwise, if you put the word out here someone may be able to do it for you.
Even if the elastic goes on them you can still use it. With a decent cover it won't really matter.
The nappies have a guarantee for 6 months, after that if you ask Davina she will send you instructions for replacing the elastic. All fitted nappies have elastic problems over time, there is just no type of elastic that will withstand that sort of punishment. Of course there can be faulty ones as well. I have a couple of BBH that have no elastic but I just use them with a cover instead of under woolies and they are fine. Terry flats don't have elastic and they work fine too.
You will need to replace the elastic for them to be used on another child - particularly if you want them to fit a newborn. I have had mine for about 11 months, and the elastic has pretty much gone in most of them - not only that thoough, but the hemp has stretched out, and thinned quiet a bit. Not happy :no:
In general elastic has a usable life of about 200-250 washes and a LOT depends on your laundry routine and how heavily they are used. You can repair elstic which will extend the life of your nappies. Our nappies are still going even with shot elastic and they have been in HEAVY use for about 3 years.
Having said that BB have changed the elastic that they are using to a more heavy duty one (this changed at the same time as the polyester was added to the composition of the bamboo nappies so only a couple of minths ago)
HollowLegs
12-09-2007, 11:58
I was actually talking to one of the Baby Beehinds reps at the baby expo here in Sydney back in June (i think?), & she mentioned that they had recently changed the type of elastic they were using in their nappies. She showed me a comparison of one of the newer types alongside one of the older types, & the difference was quicked marked. The newer batches have much stronger & tighter elastic now. Perhaps you have got some from an older batch?
Anyhow, like others have said i think its pretty easy to replace, & they can in fact be used elasticless in a good fitting cover. But if they are under 6 months old just contact Davina & i'm sure she'll get them fixed for you :thumbsup:
10 out of 14 of my beehinds have shot elastic. 5 of which are bamboo. Here is the link on how to fix them.
http://diaperfabric.com/how-to-repair-shot-elastic-on-a-serged-diaper-or-aio/
Thanks for the tips for replacing the elastic. I'm reasonably handy with a sewing machine so should be able to manage it.
Not going to bother contacting Davina just yet as I think it probably is the older ones that have gone but will keep an eye on my newer ones (and change the way I hang them). Plus I only bought a part time pack and wash everyday so that wouldn't help.
But I have spoken to her before and yes, she is lovely & helpful.
Thanks heaps :)