View Full Version : Formula For Reflux

10-09-2007, 21:25
Ok ladies need some help.

Im only comping Squeak but i still need to have him on reflux formula due to this so i need help !

What formula have you found to work for you etc.

Our g.p advised S-26 AR but im a little wary as i tried Boof on this when he was little to have him vomit it back up & him get the runs when he did keep it down.

Anyways give me the run down please :D

workin'mumof2
10-09-2007, 21:27
Is it a wind issue? maybe add some winddrops to it? or ask doc about it. we got it at the chemist and it helped. and thats why he is on non thickened milk now. hope it works out for you though :hugs:

10-09-2007, 21:33
Ally - this might be a silly question so please forgive if it is :o but have you called the ABA about ways to deal with the reflux while bf'ing?

I'm also giving Jedd one comp feed at night and he is on boobie juice the rest of the time. They have some fantastic information to offer, and I've noticed a big difference in him since I've put a few things to practise...

JorBai
10-09-2007, 21:35
Ally- I recommend the Novalac Formula. I use it for Colic but they have a special one for reflux too.

I noticed a change almost straight away with Jordan, the next day his wind wasnt gone but alot better.

Hope it helps lil Squeak and he gets past this so you can continue bfing:fingerscrossed:

Cheeky Little Monkey
10-09-2007, 21:43
Sarah was on Karicare HA/AR and still would vomit. I changed her to Karicare AR and now rarely vomits (poos smell heaps better now too).

10-09-2007, 21:54
No its not just a wind issue its a relflux issue in that you can hear him gaggin & he starts screaming in pain when he vomits etc.

Ally - this might be a silly question so please forgive if it is but have you called the ABA about ways to deal with the reflux while bf'ing?

I havent myself but my gorgeous Doula has sent me the relux book from the ABA which ive starting reading through. A lot of the bits & pieces are what my LC has given me already in regards to a 'plan'.

Ive been having to comp him because he refuses the breast a lot of the times due to the pain. So due to the breast refusal it means my supply keeps dropping so he often isnt getting enough. Im now on meds for it which helps but still he needs to stimulate my boobs iykwim. Have been expressing to help this also but its not always possible with Boof around.

Also due to him losing weight & dehydrating its what i have to do to make sure he stays healthy.

Nowhere
10-09-2007, 22:03
What formula was he on before you started with the reflux formulars, (or was it just breastmilk) you could maybe add a thickener to the origanal formular Gaurcol is a good one they use it at the hospital kenzee goes to,

i hope something helps soon poor baby and poor mummy to hugs

10-09-2007, 22:50
M's mum - He has been on Heinz Nuture ... Totally forgot i could get thickener ! Would they work together do you know ?

Nowhere
10-09-2007, 22:56
Sure will you can add the thickener to any formula, be careful to mix it up bottle by bottle as it gets thicker if in the fridge

Also when breast feeding you can also use qurcol thickener if you mix some with water or EBM before a feed and give bub a few 5mls before in the middle and after a breastfeed it will mix with the breast milk in bub tummy and thicken it

BE care ful to watch for constipation as thickener can cause it maybe get some lastoloose if it does

10-09-2007, 23:08
Aahah ok cool thankyou sooo much !

Will be easier if we can add thickener to his formula & even before a breastfeed this may even may him breastfeed more !

Thanks again !

Nowhere
10-09-2007, 23:26
no worries, hope it helps

See ladys im not anti breastfeeding,

RedPanda
10-09-2007, 23:28
See ladys im not anti breastfeeding,

Of course you're not :hugs:

bel84
11-09-2007, 07:06
I had my boys on Karicare AR, it worked well, stopped their vomitting:thumbsup: . I did try the S26 AR and it didnt do anything to help their reflux.