View Full Version : very excited coz I just got my FIRST CLOTHIE!!!!
the_queen
13-02-2006, 12:21
:D :D OK I am definately becoming a cloth addict!!!!!!!
I have decided to look on eBay for clothies, just to begin with, so I can get them cheaply (also there's heaps of WAHM's who make them brand new) and decide which brand I prefer before forking out for a bulk pack.
So I have today received my first ever clothie!!!
It's a newborn size AIO, it cost me $9.75 including postage, it was home-made by the seller, it is in EXCELLENT condition and is soooo cute - the design is Bob the Builder!!!! Here's a link to see it http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7739657780&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWN%3AIT&rd=1
:rolleyes: What a dag I am, I'm so excited about this!!!!!
One question for you wise ladies though: I want to wash it before use (obviously) and because it's second-hand I'd like to "sanitise" it a little too(not that it looks or smells dirty - it looks in fantastic condition, but it's technically "used"). Should I soak it in Napisan and then wash it as normal, just to get it all "brand new clean" for my new bubba's bottom? (I am doing the dry-pailing thing when bubs gets here, so the Napisan soak will be a once-off)
firstly congratualtions :) how exiting!!! a fantastic colour!!! and a GREAT price!
I'd heard that napisan is bad for the elastic?? around the legs - but I dont think a one off soak would hurt ...
DO you know what it is lined with?? I dont know how hemp goes with napisan either - let me know and I will ask another cloth mummy off line for you- if no one here has the answers... :D
Jen
the_queen
13-02-2006, 13:07
Thanks! :D
See, I'm such a beginner at this, I didn't think about how it would affect the elastic etc....
It's flannel, 2 body layers and 4 sewn inside as a soaker, with a PUL outer.
Maybe if I just wash it in the machine, and chuck some Napisan in-wash or something similar in there with it? Rather than soak it, I mean.
I can't believe how insy-teeny-weeny it is, it's soooo coot and widdle and boodifull....:rolleyes: :rolleyes: (This bubs is measuring ahead of my weeks, so knowing my luck it will come out as a 5kg baby and won't fit into this cute little nappy!!)
I'm just so excited (still LOL) I want to go try it on one of Vallerie's dolls:rolleyes: !!!
jarrahsmumma
13-02-2006, 13:09
i wouldn't worry with the Napisan at all, i am pretty sure it eats away at the PUL then lets wee out....just give it a few normal washes before bub arrives
Just out of interest how many nappies do you have or plan on getting for bub?
natalie
the_queen
13-02-2006, 13:25
Thanks Natalie, yeah see that's what I wanted to know, if Napisan would damage it in any way - thank you for your wisdom!!
So far, I have ONE :D but I've got 2 brand new home-made fitted nappies coming, also 2 brand new Enviro Nappies (which say "waterproof outer" so I assume they're AIO's) plus I've got a Motherease cover coming and a Totbots PUL wrap.
I'm going to get probably 15 newborn size (I'm going to try to get AIO's, to make it all a bit simpler in those first few mind-numbing weeks;) ) and once bubs gets here (and I know what actual size s/he is) I'm probably going to get a bulk pack of brand-new newborn ones from Green Bums. I have a heap of the old fashioned style flats, so I've got them for back up..... I plan on buying at least 2 or 3 new nappies a month for the first few months, in the next-size-up. Then once the Baby Bonus comes in I'll be buying a few bulk packs in each size.
I'll probably keep looking on eBay for cheap ones too, I'm even thinking of sewing some of my own :rolleyes: (of course, I haven't used a sewing machine since year 10 home ec, so I might have to rethink that idea!!!!)
So yes, I'm a little bit excited!!!!!:D
I can't help but recommend doing a little more research/asking around before ebay bidding (unless you've money to burn of course :)
Enviro nappies, for example, are one very thin pilly layer of flannelette, one thin layer of synthetic cushion wadding, and an outer of some sort of cheap-feeling laminated fabric with dye that runs badly for many washes. Really not worth the postage, in my experience, even if you win them for a cent.
the_queen
13-02-2006, 16:44
Thanks, the enviro nappies cost me $1 each plus postage and I got them just to see what they're like. That's what I'm doing, getting some cheapy nappies of all different kinds, before I start shelling out for big nappy packages.
rebeccamum
13-02-2006, 17:14
Regarding "sanitise" the used nappy, maybe prewash with cold water and wash with hot water then dry it on a clothes line. The sun will certainly kill all the germs and stain (not that I think there's plenty of them on the nappy you bought). I understand where you're coming from. If I were you, I'd want to make sure the nappy is completely hygenic.
I have been using cloth nappies with my first daughter since day one (she's 5 months now) and I'd recommend you to skip newborn size if you plan to use cloth full time with your new bub because he/she will grow out of it pretty fast. Tots Bots are really excellent size wise, you can use size 2 on a newborn if you don't mind a bulky bum ;) My DD fits in size 2 easily when she's about 3-4 months old.
You're right not to buy a big bulk because you never know what works for you and bub until you try it (although I did buy a whole package of Tots Bots before bub arrived, luckily they are great nappies!).
Happy Nappying! :D
Congrats Queenie. Don't ya just love that fluffy mail? :D Very addictive!
The cloth bug has struck again :D
I would definitely avoid Napisan with anything PUL because it will damage it.
Honestly, I think to save money in the long run (and make it easier on you), it's best to invest in some size 1 snappi-able Tots Bots initially. In my experience, they are the best fitted nappy for a broad range of body shapes. They are practically poo proof. Newborns can do the most explosive poos so it is advisable to use a two barrier system (fitted plus cover) rather than just an AIO or pocket. In those early days, the most important thing is to have a reliable nappy system so that you can focus on other things not changing bub and clothes and sheets etc. Then, once you get yourself into a routine, you can start experimenting with some of the other fabulous WAHM nappies available.
Also a word of caution, there are some rather unscrupulous nappy sellers out there so before buying, I would seriously recommend checking out www.ozclothnappies.org for their list of WAHM because they are all well known and highly regarded within the cloth community. It would be a shame to invest so much money then get dissappointed by some shonky nappies and switch to disposables.
Lucy,
I have:
4 x pockets (2 x fuzzibunz and 2 from a WAHM), and a load of boosters
2 x baby beehinds (obviously 1 size fits all)
1 x Erica hemp blend (thank you Ying :D) in Medium
And some covers
I have an order in for 4 x size 1 Totsbots and 2 x size 2s.
I was also going to get a couple more baby beehinds since they are one size fits all and I'll get longer wear out of them.
Can I ask your opinion on that? Do you think I should get more Tots? More size 1's?
I'm aiming to have about 15-20 nappies all up but preferably not all small sizes as I don't want bub to outgrow them all at once. I also have flat squares for emergencies or around the house. What else would you recommend?
Thanks. :)
the_queen
14-02-2006, 09:08
Thanks Lucy, your wisdom is very greatly appreciated :) I figured the AIO's would save me money and be easier but I sort of forgot about that explosive newborn poo LOL and now that I think about it, I did spend a couple of days scrubbing crap out of cot sheets... There's something I don't want to be doing again.....
I really hate those snappi things though [insert toddler-like whingey tone here] I hurt myself on them so many times in the few weeks I was using flat clothies with Vally. I guess I'm just unco, but I managed to scratch and gouge myself with them.
And IMO the aplix looks so much nicer.....
I'll just have to be a big girl about it, won't I :p
On Darlings Downunder, the totsbots part shows some nappies with aplix fastenings, but it says they're only snappi fastenings now. Did they used to be aplix, and changed their design? Or could I get aplix fastening ones somewhere else?? (LOL yes yes I know, i need to just deal with my snappi-issues and grow up:rolleyes: )
lovemybub
14-02-2006, 09:31
Try www.cleverpants.com.au - they have totsbots available for either snappi or aplix. Can't say I've had trouble with the snappi - I think it's a Godsend compared to pins! Now there's something that nearly made me give up on cloth altogether in the beginning...
the_queen
14-02-2006, 09:41
thanks darl! I just then went looking at all my "nappy site bookmarks" and did find the tot bots on cleverpants. I'm loving the spotty covers too!!!:D
Yeah I didn't even try pins, I knew I'd end up stabbing myself in the jugular or something (i am REALLY unco:p )
I think I'll get the aplix fastening for size 1, and the snappi for size 2. That way I can use the size 2's in the early days when extra absorbency is required, and then when bubs is a toddler s/he won't be able to pull the snappi off (hopefully!!!)
We really should ask Hilary for a "cloth nappies" section, separate from "nappy topics and nappy rash". Anyone second my motion??:D
lovemybub
14-02-2006, 10:08
Absolutely - although it means I would probably waste even more of my day sitting at this computer... :p
the_queen
14-02-2006, 10:12
oh I totally know what you mean..... I can literally hear my dirty-clothes-pile calling me.....:rolleyes:
Yes I third the cloth nappy section!
Queenie, I bought some strawberry covers. Too cute! :p Haven't paid for them yet, but can't wait to see them.
And I got aplix in the Size 1's mainly because I bought the rainbow bots (pink and lavender) which don't come in snappiable, but I got snappiable size 2's. Now you've got me scared of jabbing myself!
SugarBlossom
14-02-2006, 11:37
Tots bots are great, and the new bamboozles are even better, so much trimmer.
Have also ordered a few of their fleece wraps.
H&B'sMum
14-02-2006, 17:35
Cosmic your stash sounds great. If you get in now you can pre-order some bamboo baby beehinds. Bamboo is the "next big thing" in cloth nappies it's as absorbant as hemp and still anti-bactrial and quick drying to. The baby beehinds bamboo ones will be coming in the one size fits all so check out the website.
Karena, I keep hearing about bamboo and I really want to get some! Maybe that's what I need to do. Get a few of them to top up my collection. :)
the_queen
I personally didn't like the aplix Tots at all. They didn't give a snug a fit as the snappi-able ones and as DS grew you couldn't use the largest setting of the aplix nappies because the aplix would rub on his hips. It's also a bit of a hassle to make sure you always have the tabs folded back before washing otherwise you end up with long nappy chains.
Re snappis, it could just be a cloth nappy wives tale LOL but some people swear that certain colour snappis are just evil. I think the consensus is that the mint green and white ones are good but the red is a definite baddy :p I found giving them a really good stretching before use helped because they then had a bit of elastic 'give' to them. Also, the type of fabric you are snappi-ing makes a difference. Some terry fabrics don't have enough of a 'loop' to them so the snappi is a PIA to hook but I've found the Tots to be pretty good.
Cosmic
I remember DS needing 12-16 nappy changes per day during the first 3 months. He was a poo-ing machine :eek: So, I would aim to have enough for at least 2 days (even if you plan on washing daily) so that you don't have the extra pressure on you or if you have wet weather.
I don't usually recommend pockets for newborns because I haven't heard many success stories with them. Most don't fit well enough in the small sizes to hold explosive poos but there are always exceptions.
Do you plan on using these nappies on another child? If so, I'd recommend buying more sized nappies so that each one gets used less and will be in a better condition next time 'round. If not, then the one size fits all is a good option. The main problem with one size fits all nappies is that they generally are not that great a fit at either end of the spectrum (eg. really small or really large). You compromise on that for cost effectiveness
How do you feel about 'bulk'? If you don't like the bubblebutt look, then the size 2 Tots will be huge and probably not to your tastes. I like trim nappies but accepted the bulk with Tots because they are just so fantastic in all other respects. I've got some bamboozles coming because they are supposed to be trimmer yet are still the same style. We've practically stopped using fitted nappies since DS was around 11 months old. I prefer pockets because they are easy to use, trim, and dry in no time. So, maybe getting small sized fitted for the early days and then switching to pockets later on.
Weather you go for more Tots or Baby Beehinds is really personal choice. I'd wait til the Tots arrives and you see which ones you prefer. For me, I love the Erica hemp blends with the cotton knit on the outside and cotton velour inside. They are a wonderful fit on DS, look super cute and are soooo soft. I'm planning on order some of her bamboo blends in a newborn/small size for our next bub :D
Sorry, I don't think I've actually helped you but have given you more to think about.
Harry'smum
I've read that bamboo is rather slow drying because it is so absorbant. I've also read comparisons that show bamboo is 6 times more absorbant than cotton and since hemp is 3 times more absorbant to cotton, bamboo would therefore be twice as absorbant than hemp. Did that make sense ;)
the_queen
15-02-2006, 09:18
Lucy, what you're saying makes sense. Re: snappi's I mean. I only ever used them on the terry flats, and I only had white ones (maybe white is my "evil" colour LOL) And I never stretched them first or anything. Plus, last time I kinda used cloth just to prove to others that I wasn't lazy (ie my Granny and my DH) whereas this time I've become addicted and am actually passionate about the clothie cause (thanks again Cosmic:p )
And you make good points about the aplix, and knowing me I would forget to fold back the flaps every time :rolleyes:
So I'm thinking yes I will give the snappi-able tots a go.
Just another question, oh wise Lucy :) ........ about washing nappies. I've read on the sites about how to wash, etc etc. And I'm planning on dry-pailing. But from what I've been told about that, I need 2 of either heat, detergent or sunlight....? My washing line is under the verandah (*grumble grumble* stupid cheapo landlord won't agree to putting in a rotary one in our expansive back yard) and I wash with cold water. Then I read on another nappy site (or it might have been someone here on bubhub that told me) that if I hang the nappies out last thing at night, they dry slower which is better for them? :confused:
So, should I switch to washing with hot water? I use the enzyme powered laundry powder anyway (which I'm told is the best for nappies?) and then I'll hang them out last thing at night to allow them to dry slowly? Seeing as I can't hang them in the sun anyway, I may as well dry them overnight. Or I have a clothes-dryer, which I only use in winter - if I plan on tumble-drying them, can I wash them in cold?
LOL Lucy I'm sorry for asking so many (possibly stupid) questions!! But thank you so much for your help!!
Cosmic: Those strawberry covers do look gorgeous!!! Your little girl will be so cute in them!!! I'm definately thinking of getting some of them. Chomper is never going to wear pants LOL I want to show off those cute covers!!! (Do they make butt-less chaps for babies I wonder......)
lovemybub
15-02-2006, 13:04
Hurrah for LucyE, Queen of the Cloth Nappy :D
Is there anyone she hasn't helped? Queenie, if we start this cloth nappy thread, I think we have to let LucyE borrow your 'name'... :p
lovemybub
15-02-2006, 13:08
Chomper is never going to wear pants LOL I want to show off those cute covers!!! (Do they make butt-less chaps for babies I wonder......)
I'm very disappointed that it will be winter soon and my cute nappies will be all covered up.
If anyone has any ideas about how to keep showing off those cute clothies during winter, start another thread and let us all know about it :D
Ohh, you're making me blush :o I'm just a self confessed cloth nappy addict! They have worked really well for us and I hate hearing all the myths and misconceptions about cloth nappies so this is my little part to help change societies perceptions :)
Re washing...this is just my opinion...most of the normal detergents wash well in cold water too so I wouldn't bother changing your routine unless there is a problem. It should clean your nappies well enough for a domestic situation (ie. nappies only used on the same child or within the one family). It's generally not recommended to wash modern cloth nappies in hot water regularly because it will damage the elastic. Some people find the occasional hot wash is good to help get rid of smells but others use cold water without a problem.
With the sunlight, it's the uv rays that does the 'sanitising' so even if the nappies are in the shade, they may get enough uv light to do their job. I wouldn't tumble dry on a regular basis because it will damage elastic too. I find in winter/wet weather, I line dry for as long as possible and only finish the nappies off in the dryer. They don't smell as good being tumble dried compared to line drying. Re line drying at night, it's probably my own phobia LOL but I don't like it because I find spiders more active at night and I hate the thought of cobwebs on my washing :eek:
Some babies are sensitive to certain washing detergents and the 'enzyme' in the powders is usually the culprit. We use ordinary OMOmatic without a problem though...
It really is a case of trial and error to find what works best for you. I'd start off continuing with whatever your normal routine is and only change/adjust it if there is a problem.
I love summer because DS can run around showing off his gorgeous nappies! I've got beautiful embroided (sp?) wool cover from New England Nappies which is aqua in colour and has little fish swimming around seagrasses. Really too cute! I'm now trying to decide if I should order some wool longies for winter because DS is showing signs of TT so I don't know if he will still be in nappies this winter. Gotta have another baby so I can keep up my cloth addiction :p
Thanks Lucy! LOTS more to think about but that is really helpful to know what else to get. While we haven't confirmed baby number 2 just yet, I'm quietly confident there will be another one to share the nappy collection... which means I should probably stop buying girly pink patterns. :p
the_queen
15-02-2006, 14:59
I'm pretty sure I'm having a boy (scan in 2-4 weeks will confirm!) but to involve Vallerie in the whole process I've let her choose the colours for the Tots Bots.... (I'm getting one colour for the size 1's and a different colour for size 2's)
:rolleyes: so we have pink and purple nappies coming LOL !!!!! She does keep correcting me when I say "your baby brother" ... "OR SISTER, MUMMY!!" LOL :D
the_queen
15-02-2006, 16:37
LOL Amen!!!:p