View Full Version : Help...Massive Belly with First Baby

MrsO
07-09-2007, 11:00 AM
Alright ladies...need your expert opinions on something!

My stomach is rather large, bigger than I thought it would be. I have got strangers asking me in the shops when I'm due, everyone who has had a baby is shocked at how big I am for how many weeks I am, and my belly button is getting rather shallow. Oh, and I haven't put on any weight.

This is a piccie I took on Wednesday, which would make me 15.3wks. It doesn't perfectly describe how big I am but it gives you an idea.
http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee7/MrsO_photo/P1020882.jpg

A few people have told me to be grateful because I didn't really have that 'podgy belly' stage, but I'm a little worried that there could be two in there :eek: !!!

What do you reckon, is it as bad as I think it is or have others been as big at 15 weeks with their first?

Hels*Bels
07-09-2007, 11:06 AM
Have you had a scan yet to confirm if it's 1 or 2?
It could just be alot of fluid. I know a few people who carried big and yet their babies weren't that huge. Or maybe your baby is growing quickly and will slow down, and everyone else will catch up.
If you're worried, get your OB or midwives to check you over.

Grizabella
07-09-2007, 11:07 AM
I was about that size with my first at the same stage. This time round I am bigger now - but smaller at 16 weeks then I was the first time if that makes sense.

prideNJoy
07-09-2007, 11:11 AM
I wouldn't worry too much, i was the same. Im failry petite so showed early. I never got the podgy belly stage either, ,my belly was roughly the same size as yours if not bigger at that stage.:yes:

2SPUNKRATZ
07-09-2007, 11:16 AM
with DS, everyone was asking if i was having twins. i started beleiveing maybe i was. but i wasnt.i was just having a big boy. 9lb 9.i was about that size around the same time. im a little smaller than that now i think. so hopefullt this bub wont be so humungous. lol.

mahna mahna
07-09-2007, 12:14 PM
You've got a lovely tum Mrs O! TBH, mine's only a wee bit smaller, so I'm sure it's perfectly normal. :)

Will post a photo when DH gets home from work & can take one - I can't get it to focus properly myself.

Duchessa
07-09-2007, 03:12 PM
Mine is very similar to yours, but it is my second after twins. With the twins I was actually smaller than I am now. If you are genuinely worried, get a scan as it isn't worth the worry and if you are organising a homebirth, you want to make sure your midwife knows and is happy to birth the type of twins you have (fraternal twins are much lower risk than identicals and some middies will do frats but not ids).

Just out of curiosity, what is your circumference at the largest bulgy bit? I'll measure mine if you measure yours ;)

MrsO
07-09-2007, 05:38 PM
Thanks ladies, you have definately made me feel better about the tum tum.

I am just glad to hear that there are other women out there who showed early with their first bub, you always hear "I didn't start showing until 20-something weeks with my first" and when you have a noticable belly it makes you wonder.

I am sure there is only one bub, surely they would have picked it up at the 12 week scan. Either way it wouldn't be a problem, but I think I'm just showing early, nothing more.

Mahna, would love to see your belly if you're similar to me, seeing as we're both first timers and due within a day of each other.

Duchessa - Oh thats a bit nerve racking...:laughing:

Nah, I measured the tummy and I got...:eek: 102cm :eek: . What did you get?

mumx3littlies
07-09-2007, 05:44 PM
Does your tum measure 102cm now at 15 weeks? Just a question cos my tum was only 102cm at 40 weeks with my 3rd baby:eek:

MrsO
07-09-2007, 06:05 PM
Does your tum measure 102cm now at 15 weeks? Just a question cos my tum was only 102cm at 40 weeks with my 3rd baby:eek:

Oh ****!

I think I did it right, i just measured with a piece of string from the point at the top of my belly button, which is the largest point.

Duchessa - what did you get?

MrsO
07-09-2007, 06:15 PM
Right, I measured again in case I miscalculated (maths is not a strong point :laughing: ) and came up with the same figure, 102cm.

mumx3littlies - Are you very petite?

I'm not tiny, just average, size 12-14 and haven't put on any weight during the pregnancy yet.

I've just developed a really large tum tum...:rolleyes:

Duchessa
07-09-2007, 06:24 PM
I got 94cm so I don't know that it is going to reassure you! You must just have a lot of amniotic fluid. Don't despair, I thought your bump was lovely - nicely rounded and symmetrical, its any wonder no one can keep their hands off it :D

MrsO
07-09-2007, 06:36 PM
I got 94cm so I don't know that it is going to reassure you!

:laughing: Well that settles it then!

I am having the worlds most gigantic child!!! LOL

Oh well, it is something completely out of my control so there is no need worrying. It could be excess amniotic fluid, it could be two, it could be my posture (although that wouldn't really effect the measurement would it...hmmm)

Thanks for telling me I've got a cute belly, if we're going to massive we may as well be cute at the same time...:thumbsup:

mahna mahna
07-09-2007, 07:06 PM
102cm! :eek: Well, I'm not quite as big as that, but then, I'm normally a size 8-10, so that would make a difference. I'm measuring 85cm around.

Here's some pics of me tonight at 15 weeks, 6 days.

16 weeks.1 (http://picasaweb.google.com/lichen44/TiaSBellyPics/photo?authkey=aJlmHgrRZr0#5107399069255277714)

MrsO
07-09-2007, 07:39 PM
Gorgeous tummy Mahna!!!

I reckon proportion wise we would be quite similar, the difference in dress size would make the measurements different.

Like I said, nothing I can do to change it.

Perhaps it'll even out as the weeks go on, who knows. :D

2SPUNKRATZ
07-09-2007, 07:40 PM
http://s208.photobucket.com/albums/bb17/jab030207/?action=view&current=100_0765.jpg

theres my porka belly. 15wks.

mumx3littlies
07-09-2007, 07:48 PM
Mrs O - yep I am smallish i guess at size 10. Was an 8 before bub #1.

With #1 was 100cm - born at 38wks 7lb2.5oz
With #2 was 101cm - born at 40wks 7lb4oz
With #3 was 102cm - born at 41wks 8lb1oz

Everyone is different tho and I was always told I carried very 'tidy packages':laughing: but trust me I was sooooo uncomfortable still

MrsO
07-09-2007, 07:50 PM
Oh Jess that is a gorgeous little bump, so round! :smiliedance:

Thanks ladies for posting piccies too, makes me feel better knowing I'm not the only one exposing my tum tum to the world...hehehe.

MrsO
07-09-2007, 07:54 PM
Everyone is different tho and I was always told I carried very 'tidy packages':laughing: but trust me I was sooooo uncomfortable still

Yeah...something tells me I'm not going to be one to 'carry small'...:D

It is pretty funny to think your belly was the same size as mine at full term, just on a smaller body...:laughing: Like you said though, still uncomfortable for you!!! Everyone is different.

I really must make sure there isn't two in there though...I've got my ultrasound coming up soon.

07-09-2007, 07:55 PM
With my first i was the same size you are now and i was 14 weeks,i had ALOT of fluid though.

With #2 i showed quite early but wasn't as big as #1 i think cause i was more out front than anything with #2 number 1 was like an oversized basketball :laughing:

MrsO
07-09-2007, 07:58 PM
With my first i was the same size you are now and i was 14 weeks,i had ALOT of fluid though.

With #2 i showed quite early but wasn't as big as #1 i think cause i was more out front than anything with #2 number 1 was like an oversized basketball :laughing:

Oh that's good to know.

Thanks!!!

By the way, how big was your first?

07-09-2007, 08:17 PM
Oh that's good to know.

Thanks!!!

By the way, how big was your first?

My first was 7lbs 14oz second was 1 oz bigger

07-09-2007, 08:28 PM
#1 baby (http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n315/Bellamumma/DSC02336j.jpg)

#2 baby (http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n315/Bellamumma/DSC02336.jpg)

these were taken at 14 weeks ,at 16 weeks i was way bigger i looked like i was 6 months pregnant lol.

#1 38 weeks (http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n315/Bellamumma/38weeksSe.jpg)

#2 39 weeks (http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n315/Bellamumma/39weeksSa.jpg)

07-09-2007, 08:29 PM
Hope that eases your mind a bit

MrsO
07-09-2007, 08:40 PM
Hope that eases your mind a bit

Absolutely!!!

Your bubs weren't that big at all!

Thank you so much, that makes me feel a lot better...

07-09-2007, 08:45 PM
Absolutely!!!

Your bubs weren't that big at all!

Thank you so much, that makes me feel a lot better...

Nop not that big considering i am diabetic,i was told to expect 9lbers but they looked so tiny to me.

I think if i wasn't diabetic they would have been smaller.

MrsO
07-09-2007, 09:21 PM
Thanks for your help!!!

Chub Chub
07-09-2007, 09:39 PM
Mrs O...PLEASE don't listen to any one regarding the size of your belly!

Apparently I was huge....I didn't think so! I was soo petrified of having a Gigantor Child due to lots of comments regarding my belly. I carried so much out front it wasn't funny! In total I gained 19 kilos. My OB suggested at my final visit that bub would be 9-10lbs:eek: .I seriously cried for hours wondering how I would get this HUGE baby out!

In labour...my waters broke and the gush kept coming and coming and coming! My gorgeous girl entered the world at an average weight of 7lbs 8oz and 48cms long....not the GIANT I was expecting! 8 weeks after her birth I was only 6ish kgs heavier than prepregnancy which I was fine with! I have since lost the lot!

Your belly is the perfect size.....perfect!;)

ETA: Here is a pic of my belly 3 days before DD was born...hardly huge!
http://s118.photobucket.com/albums/o91/ChubChub_05/?action=view&current=bellybw.jpg

Chub Chub
07-09-2007, 09:48 PM
:o PS Sorry for barging into your Feb thread....didn't realise:o

crazykidz
07-09-2007, 09:50 PM
When I was pregnant with the last one, I looked huge at the end; but she ended up being my smallest bub at 6lb10oz.
Here's my 17 wk shot I took a few days ago (this is bub #4):
http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o136/kosimik/17wks8.jpg

MrsO
07-09-2007, 09:53 PM
Mrs O...PLEASE don't listen to any one regarding the size of your belly!

Apparently I was huge....I didn't think so! I was soo petrified of having a Gigantor Child due to lots of comments regarding my belly. I carried so much out front it wasn't funny! In total I gained 19 kilos. My OB suggested at my final visit that bub would be 9-10lbs:eek: .I seriously cried for hours wondering how I would get this HUGE baby out!

In labour...my waters broke and the gush kept coming and coming and coming! My gorgeous girl entered the world at an average weight of 7lbs 8oz and 48cms long....not the GIANT I was expecting! 8 weeks after her birth I was only 6ish kgs heavier than prepregnancy which I was fine with! I have since lost the lot!

Your belly is the perfect size.....perfect!;)

ETA: Here is a pic of my belly 3 days before DD was born...hardly huge!
http://s118.photobucket.com/albums/o91/ChubChub_05/?action=view&current=bellybw.jpg

Oh thank you Chub Chub, that is really good to hear. It sounds like large amounts of amniotic fluid really have an impact on the size of the belly.

Honestly I'm not concerned about the size as such, because like I said, having a pregnant belly when you're pregnant isn't a bad thing, I was just thinking it was all a little too soon :rolleyes:

But I can easily deal with having a huge tummy for the entire pregnancy, doesn't bother me.

And it's good to know I'm not guaranteed to have a Gigantor Child...:laughing:

Thanks again, I really appriciate it!

MrsO
07-09-2007, 09:54 PM
:o PS Sorry for barging into your Feb thread....didn't realise:o

Don't be silly! I'm open to suggestions/advise from ANYONE!!!

MrsO
07-09-2007, 09:55 PM
When I was pregnant with the last one, I looked huge at the end; but she ended up being my smallest bub at 6lb10oz.
Here's my 17 wk shot I took a few days ago (this is bub #4):
http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o136/kosimik/17wks8.jpg

That looks really similar to mine!

JaidevsMum
08-09-2007, 11:04 AM
I'm so jealous of all your lovely preggy bellies - mine isnt even worth taking a photo of cause I dont even look pregnant yet. I'm worried for the opposite reason ie is there really a baby in there? where's it hiding?

MrsO
08-09-2007, 02:28 PM
I'm so jealous of all your lovely preggy bellies - mine isnt even worth taking a photo of cause I dont even look pregnant yet. I'm worried for the opposite reason ie is there really a baby in there? where's it hiding?

HeHeHe - I'm sure there is a baby in there!!!

I'm happy to transfer some of my 102cm's over to you, how does 10cm sound??? :D

JaidevsMum
09-09-2007, 09:27 AM
I'm happy to transfer some of my 102cm's over to you, how does 10cm sound??? :D

Oooh that sounds perfect - just enough to give my a nice little bump - thanks MrsO, you're such a sharing person:D :laughing:

MrsO
09-09-2007, 10:11 AM
Oooh that sounds perfect - just enough to give my a nice little bump - thanks MrsO, you're such a sharing person:D :laughing:

:laughing: :laughing: You're very welcome!

Mumof6
10-09-2007, 04:04 PM
http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d192/Leeanne1114/16.5weeks001.jpg

This was taken at 16 weeks 5 days .. Because Ive been so sick.. I'm not showing heaps yet... but I am a bit more solid :)

Duchessa
11-09-2007, 11:44 AM
OMG Mumof6! You have no belly! Unbelievable. I had a bigger belly than you at 6 weeks - forget 16 and I've only got two kids :laughing:

ShadyCharacter
11-09-2007, 01:15 PM
Unfortunately I believe that big tummies early just means shagged tummy muscles. Mine is huge atm (I honestly look several months more pregnant than I am :() and I truly think that my tummy muscles just decided early on to give up a worthless fight and let it all hang out. All babes are about the same size, some just sit differently, but I think those of us that 'hang out' early could possibly just do with a bit more, er.... abdominal toning than our flatter counterparts ;)

On a funny note, because I am sticking out so far, everyone wants to touch already. The other day my boss stuck her hand on my tummy (above my belly button) and was waiting for the baby to kick.

I was like um.... "You're feeling my intestines" :laughing:

Duchessa
11-09-2007, 01:32 PM
but I think those of us that 'hang out' early could possibly just do with a bit more, er.... abdominal toning than our flatter counterparts ;)

*birdie emoticon in ShadyCharacter's general direction*

Mine are actually quite toned, but my excuse is a very bad diastasis from the twins. What's your excuse? :p

ShadyCharacter
11-09-2007, 01:48 PM
Considering I don't even know what diastasis is, I will have to believe you.

Not sure what my excuse is.... perhaps giving birth to a giant 3 years ago and being too lazy to tone my tummy up again :p

But seriously Duchessa, you saw a photo of me earlier this year, no tummy at all. I would honestly say I look about 6 months (or more) gone already now.

Oh, and my middy from last pregnancy said to me "If you can suck it in to look flatter, its just that your muscles aren't tight enough to hold everything in" :rolleyes:

Duchessa
11-09-2007, 02:06 PM
That actually makes me feel better - I can't suck mine in :eek: So does that mean I am gestating a cow, or are my muscles are in superb condition? Hmmmmm... each option seems equally likely :detective:

ShadyCharacter
11-09-2007, 02:12 PM
I would say you are a cow. I mean, like a cow :p

I can suck mine in some. Definitely not till flat, but to a normal 17 week pregnant size rather than a Goodyear blimp kind of size. So yep, crappy tummy muscles are my self-diagnosis :o

Mrs J
12-09-2007, 07:34 AM
i am 20 weeks with my second and this is my pic.

http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r187/ash_n_tim/Belly%20Pictures/Lj124.jpg

and this is what's inside the belly

http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r187/ash_n_tim/Belly%20Pictures/JACKSONASHLEA20070911101758246.jpg

Bump
12-09-2007, 08:04 AM
Wow, I kept thinking I was showing alot for 15/16 weeks, but I've got nothing on you guys! Mahna Mahna, my belly is only about the size of yours in your 10 week photo. I can't wait to get a proper bump though. I am sick and tired of being in this in-between stage where I just look thick through the middle and feel frumpy and fat. Can't wait to have a lovely bump like you lot! They are beautiful.

MrsO
12-09-2007, 07:09 PM
Everyones belly pics are gorgeous!

Don't worry B2B, it'll happen soon!

Mumof6 - I have to say how awesome you look for being on your 7th kid, my god!

I'm measuring 20 weeks but all looks good in the scan, no problematic reason for it, which i am so pleased about. Definately only one too...YAY!!! I don't care if I have a big belly, just as long as bub is happy and healthy.

I've also lost weight...:confused: Strange seeing as my stomach is the size it is and I haven't been sick at all during the pregnancy.

Typical...the only time I can lose weight is when I'm pregnant :rolleyes:

HoneyBlossom
13-09-2007, 08:18 AM
I'm glad everything is okay. The baby just wants heaps of room to move around.

I am pretty big to... but this is my third.

Here is a shot that was taken today, at 20 weeks

http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o275/melissawetherell/BellyShot20weeks.jpg

Mumof6
13-09-2007, 01:25 PM
Shady Character and Duchessa... you both have had me giggling... :)

Mrs J... you look fantastic! great belly, and a cute bub as well. I love the 3 or 4 D ultra scans. We cant get them where I live, so looking at yours are amazing!

B2B... I'm sure it will POP when you least expect it...

I know mine will. Ive been big with the last couple and the last bub I had was 9 pound 10 or something... (cant 100% remember lol... had too many) but they get bigger for me... so I'm guessing a 10 pound monster haha

Mrs O.. thankyou *blush* Running about after them is the only thing I do... don't know what exercise is rofl... (not a fan of exhausting myself when I don't have to ;) )
LOL @ you loosing weight! Well done... now you have more to play with in the 2nd half haha

mummyof2... another beautiful tummy... you look all baby :)

Thanks everyone for sharing.

HoneyBlossom
13-09-2007, 01:46 PM
mummyof2... another beautiful tummy... you look all baby :)

Thank you. I only said that to my sister today, i look pregnant now, not fat...

MrsO
13-09-2007, 02:12 PM
I'm glad everything is okay. The baby just wants heaps of room to move around.

I am pretty big to... but this is my third.

Here is a shot that was taken today, at 20 weeks

http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o275/melissawetherell/BellyShot20weeks.jpg

Just gorgeous!!! :babydust2:

Like you said, I think mine just likes the finer things in life and wasn't content with a one bedroom apartment, wanted a 6 bedroom mansion! Typical...just like it's mummy...hehehe

MrsO
13-09-2007, 02:17 PM
[quote=Mumof6;1901044]
LOL @ you loosing weight! Well done... now you have more to play with in the 2nd half haha
quote]

Good point, I hadn't thought about it like that :laughing:

Don't want to lose much more though...particularly because there isn't a reason for me losing (eg, I'm not sick like some of my fellow Feb mammas...:o )

Oh well, as long as everyone involved is healthy, that is all that matters!

I'll post my 17 week shot soon...anyone else going to share their belly pic???

Cheekyness
22-09-2007, 09:40 AM
Your tum looks fine very neat i wish i was that small

our little treasures
22-09-2007, 10:16 AM
Looks normal too me. I carried large and also always had lots of fluid. The reason you didn't go through the floppy tummy stage is because it's your first so your belly has never stretched before.:)

Mumof6
22-09-2007, 12:29 PM
Ill post another at 20 weeks... Ive popped a fair bit in the last week :)

daisy4300
08-10-2007, 02:05 PM

I'm preggers with number 4 and i'm 21 wks now and same size as you are in that pic. I showed early with every one of my babies and everyone always asked whether it was twins but I just showed early and got big quick then between 20-30 wks would plateau till i grew a bit bigger in the last month or two. I show and have a noticeable tum by 8-9wks, quite noticeable, lol. My 2nd and 3rd were girls and were born both 7 pound which was about 3.5kg i think so they weren't very big either, just normal. 1st was just over 8p so he was about 4kg.

mumwiththree
12-11-2007, 09:18 PM
I popped really early. As I did with my other two pregnancies. My doctor told me last time taht the reason I show so early is because I am only 5ft 3, with not much room in the tummy reason, so there's no where for the baby to go except out.
I am huge now and am only nearly 27 weeks. When people ask when I'm due, they are surprised that I still have a way to go. But I'm not as big this time as I was with my 2nd pregnancy which was a girl. I seem to carry neater tummies with boys as I had a boy my first pregnancy and am having a boy with this one. I'm carrying the same as the first.