View Full Version : Feb mummas - Melb meet thread

Pages : 1 2 [3]

JoJoMart
18-12-2007, 13:34
I don't mind travelling to Sandy's or Lauren's place.......like I said still happy to host it at my place but if the majority find it easier to go to Sandy's or Lauren's place then I will go with the flow and I can always host it next near. Hopefully we will all keep in touch :flowerz:

*Sparkles*
18-12-2007, 14:31
Ok, if Sandy is happy to host then let's make it at Sandy's place.
(Jo, thanks so much for offering to host and we can do your's next after chrissy :))

Sandy - Can you PM your address to those on the list please and we'll say from 10am if that suits you?

I'll try to get there for 12pm as I will have to leave by 3.30pm because of the traffic.

Just bumping up the food list for those who are (hopefully) coming;

Jo -
Hels - Vol-au-vents and shortbread cookies.
Sandy -
Mon - Infamous BubHub dip and cob loaf!
Penny - Unsure
Lauren - Unsure
Juz - Unsure

LMenz
18-12-2007, 14:35
I can do Sandy's place. She is only 10 minutes from my house.

Jo -
Sandy -
Penny - Unsure
Lauren - Fruit Platter + Soft Drink
Juz - Unsure

SuperFrog
18-12-2007, 14:40
I'm good to go to Sandy's. Will bring dip and cob, unless everyone is sick of it.

Sandy - Clear your inbox!

harleyq
18-12-2007, 15:00
I have dutifully done as l was told and cleared my inbox...

Would it be incredibly lazy of me to suggest we get into the Christmas spirit and just get Pizza?

A couple of people can bring a bottle of softdrink, Mon's dip and one or two can bring something sweet...

What do you think?

LMenz
18-12-2007, 16:11
:laughing::laughing: Sounds like a plan to me!

I can bring some fruit if someone else wants to do the drinks?

*Sparkles*
18-12-2007, 23:33
I'll still bring the vol au vents and shortbread as I have already bought them and the fillings.

Consider them the entree and dessert :D

I would still love your cob loaf too Mon.

Is it ok if we bring the above and everyone else chips in for pizza? I'm not that fussed on pizza so I'll probably only have 1 slice anyway.

harleyq
19-12-2007, 08:09
We don't have to do Pizza - l was just being lazy :o... we can go back to the old plan and every one bring something else... I can see about making some sausage rolls today.... mum will be here so l will do all my prep cooking for tomorrow today in any case...

harleyq
19-12-2007, 08:16
Quick thought... to those coming to my place tomorrow - do you want to bring your secret Santa gifts here and do a grand opening together????

Or do you think that will just be bedlam?

juzzy
19-12-2007, 08:37
Oh bugger i was going to do sausage rolls! Thats ok, ill have to put the thinking cap back on

ETA: i think we could manage doing the grand opening at your place Sandy, thats a good idea

JoJoMart
19-12-2007, 09:00
Ok, if Sandy is happy to host then let's make it at Sandy's place.
(Jo, thanks so much for offering to host and we can do your's next after chrissy :))

Sandy - Can you PM your address to those on the list please and we'll say from 10am if that suits you?

I'll try to get there for 12pm as I will have to leave by 3.30pm because of the traffic.

Just bumping up the food list for those who are (hopefully) coming;

Jo - Drinks
Sandy -
Penny - Unsure
Lauren - Unsure
Juz - Unsure

Sandy, I'm happy with the pizza idea :yes:. If we don't decide on pizza I can bring something else other than drinks. I love the idea of opening our Secret Santa gifts at your place.........yes, it might be bedlam but it would still be fun otherwise we are just opening them at home by ourselves.

LMenz
19-12-2007, 09:49
Quick thought... to those coming to my place tomorrow - do you want to bring your secret Santa gifts here and do a grand opening together????

Or do you think that will just be bedlam?

We did ours this morning....I'm sure Jack will help someone else open their present :D

RE Food - What was the final decision? I will be going to the supermarket soon

juzzy
19-12-2007, 10:25
I need to know if you re doing sausage rolls or not Sandy, cause i will make some if you dont.

Otherwise im out of ideas.

Suggestions please, im going out soon.

*Sparkles*
19-12-2007, 11:16
Well let's go back to plan A and all bring a plate, and then if we feel really piggish we can get pizza too :D

Juz - How about one of your yummy cheesecakes/desserts? we seem to be lacking a dessert so far.

My SS pressie is with Penny, so if Penny and Kaelan do come tomorrow then we will be happy to open it with everyone.

juzzy
19-12-2007, 11:41
Well let's go back to plan A and all bring a plate, and then if we feel really piggish we can get pizza too :D

Juz - How about one of your yummy cheesecakes/desserts? we seem to be lacking a dessert so far.

My SS pressie is with Penny, so if Penny and Kaelan do come tomorrow then we will be happy to open it with everyone.

Oh bugger, i just went and got some party pies and a box of celebrations from the supermarket.

I can do the cheesecake tonight if everyone still wants it

icugal
19-12-2007, 12:15
If I make it to your place Sandy... I think Pizza is a great idea..

harleyq
19-12-2007, 12:51
Jo -
Sandy - Sausage rolls (just made and doing the pre-cook as l type)
Penny - Unsure
Juz - Unsure

harleyq
19-12-2007, 12:56
Sorry l wasn't up to date when l posted...

Happy to go with the majority... Hels called plan A - which is everyone bring something...

I've made the sausage rolls now but happy to freeze them if everyone has their heart set on pizza...

Juzzy - just bring what ever you have in the house - we always have heaps of food anyway... a packet of lollies /munchies always goes down well (and will cater to Lauren's sweet tooth ;))

LMenz
19-12-2007, 15:26
(and will cater to Lauren's sweet tooth ;))

Awww thanks! :D

LMenz
19-12-2007, 19:39
Mon - Just a reminder to bring my camera case along with you tomorrow. Thanks :wave:

JoJoMart
19-12-2007, 20:04
Jo -
Sandy - Sausage rolls (just made and doing the pre-cook as l type)
Penny - Unsure
Juz - Unsure

Sandy - I bought three bottles of soft drink today but I think Lauren is also bringing drinks. Lauren, do you mind if I bring the drinks and you keep yours? I doubt I will have time to make anything before tomorrow. Sorry about that. Unless anyone wants chocolate or something? :thumbsup:

harleyq
19-12-2007, 21:14
A room full of chicks... who won't want chocolate is probably the better question...
As long as everyone is okay w sausage rolls l have enough to fill us all up... so we really don't need that much else... everyone just bring what ever you have in you cupboard... worst comes to worst.. we raid my cupboard... l can always dig up something...

juzzy
19-12-2007, 21:18
I meant to add earlier that i will be there, i am going with Hels. :yes:

I have some party pies and a box of celebration choccies to bring.

Not very original on part my but was too busy to cook today!

LMenz
19-12-2007, 21:29
Lauren, do you mind if I bring the drinks and you keep yours? I doubt I will have time to make anything before tomorrow. Sorry about that. Unless anyone wants chocolate or something? :thumbsup:

Not a problem Jo :D

Shajbm
19-12-2007, 21:31
I'm sorry that we won't be there. I was looking forward to seeing you guys again before the new year.

If we're in the area we may pop in for a quick hello.

icugal
19-12-2007, 22:03
Do you know what occurred to me tonight???

Because of my pregnancy and the whole Listeria thing hanging over my head... I can't have any of Mon's famous dip !!!

:hissy::hissy: NNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO !!!!! :hissy::hissy:

*insert full-blown tanty here*

I'm devastated... I love that dip and was so looking forward to it.

At this stage... I'm saying that I'm coming, but ultimately the decision will be made in the morning when I see how bad the nausea is.

*Sparkles*
19-12-2007, 22:39
I hope you can make it tomorrow Penny :fingerscrossed: :)

How awful missing out on the yummy dip! I'm so glad that I'm not in the 2WW right now lol.

Sharon - Hope to see you too tomorrow! and we will have to go with your park idea when the silly season is over.

Shajbm
19-12-2007, 23:24
We'll see, I have all 3 kids till the end of Jan so it's a wee bit busy and Jake gets bored. But if we can we'll pop in, then you can meet Jake.

Have been thinking about a park. Where is central to all of us?

LMenz
20-12-2007, 07:36
I'm going to be a bit late today....Jack slept until after 8 so he's due to go down again at 11. I'll try and tire him out and put him down earlier.

Mon - We can have a chat about Liam's feeding today :)

See you all soon :wave:

LMenz
20-12-2007, 07:38
Have been thinking about a park. Where is central to all of us?

The botanical gardens was good. I think it's pretty central for everyone.

We would need to get there early though for the 4 hour parking

SuperFrog
20-12-2007, 07:44
Thanks Lauren.

Scrubs DVDs, camera case and bottle lid are all packed. Anything else need something that I've got??

SuperFrog
20-12-2007, 07:46
AnyONE else need me to bring something? Geez, I'm tired. Not a good start.

SuperFrog
20-12-2007, 09:01
Just checked the vic roads website, and freeways look busy. Leaving shortly... hope it's not too bad. It's like everyone has forgotten how to drive in wet weather.

*Sparkles*
20-12-2007, 09:17
Storms are rolling through here so we could be late if we have to wait for them to pass.
I hope the power doesn't go off... I've got food to cook!!

See you all soon :)

icugal
20-12-2007, 09:24
My nausea is not too bad today... though I've not long had breakfast so that is helping. I could be in trouble if my body decides it's getting hungry again (even though the last thing I feel like doing at the moment is eating)...

So in other words... I'll be there :)

harleyq
20-12-2007, 09:33
Can't wait to see you all - hurry up and get here! :D...

LMenz
20-12-2007, 16:29
I'm home! DH wasn't far behind me.......he's looking after Jack so I can get glammed up for my dinner.

Thanks for hosting Sandy :) Another great meet!

Hope the clean up isn't too bad and your dinner goes well with the in-laws

I took a few pics which I will post tomorrow at some stage.

icugal
20-12-2007, 16:39
What wild weather we faced on the way home... but we survived !!

Thanks Sandy for hosting today. I had a great time catching up with everyone again... not too sure about Kaelan though :D He seemed to whinge and whine throughout the whole day and was so clingy which is not normal for him.

I must also say a very special thanks to Mon who made me my own 'pregnancy-safe' version of her famous dip. I couldn't taste any difference to the normal version... so I was very happy (is there a drooling smiley?? *LOL*).

I can't wait to see some piccies from today.

Oh no... our Foxtel just went down with the storms... what am I going to do???? "I'm a celebrity... get me out of here" is on in less than 90 minutes... and I can't miss it !!!!!!

Deep breath Penny... deep breath....

;)

SuperFrog
20-12-2007, 16:44
Man, that is the worst drive I have ever done. Traffic was shocking, weather was worse! Drove through hail, flooded roads, and stupid trucks. Ended up being in the wrong lanes and going home via CityLink, which wasn't too bad until I hit Westgate Bridge. Probably a good thing I went that way as I heard that the Ring Road was flooded even worse. Have stopped in at the IL's as Liam was crying, so I'll give him dinner here and mosey off again.

Thanks for hosting Sandy. Sorry again that I kinda threw you into it at the last minute. Probably won't get a chance to post the pics until tomorrow. Hopefully there are some half-decent ones in there.

SuperFrog
20-12-2007, 16:45
I'm glad you enjoyed it Penny. :)

*Sparkles*
20-12-2007, 18:01
I didn't realise the dip was preggie friendly, how sweet of you Mon (not that I needed it that way lol). It tasted as yummy as always.

Thanks again to Sandy for hosting, I hope there wasn't too much to clean up. Enjoy your dinner tonight with the inlaws!

Lauren - Have fun tonight with the MG girls!!

Took us about an hour and a half to get home and the freeway was flooded in some part with a few cars broken down. Not a very nice drive home in the bad weather but we got back safely :)

It must have rained really hard here as our garage had water come in under the door. That's a pretty hard feat when you live on a hill with a driveway that slopes towards the road lol.

We had a lovely day today, it was nice to catch up with you all and Merry Christmas to everyone :xmastree:

harleyq
20-12-2007, 21:26
I had so much fun today - thank you all for coming over - Coen had a wonderful time, especially playing chasey (sp?) with Jack and Liam...

I also want to say that l really appreciate you all making the effort to come to me given that l had this dinner to prepare for - cleaning up was really easy - especially with a boy who was so exhausted he went straight to sleep...

I'm sorry you all hit bad weather on the way home...

Dinner with the inlaws went really well - l even got a heartfelt thank-you this year - which was nice.

harleyq
21-12-2007, 12:16
When l couldn't sleep last night l was thinking about the day - i would just like to say thank you so much for all your support and friendship throughout the last 18 or so months... I would never have thought that l could feel so close to people l met over the internet!

I had such a wonderful time yesterday and looking back l think it was because l just feel so comfortable with all of you... I love seeing all the bubs (and giving them cuddles -thank you for letting me) and l love seeing all the mum's too (ooh getting teary).... Thank-you (gotta go now before l start blubbering)

JoJoMart
21-12-2007, 12:56
Sandy - thanks so much for hosting yesterday.......I had a great time yesterday and so did Liam :yes:. We got caught in a bit of rain but it wasn't too bad.....not as bad as the others by the sounds of things!

I have some photos I will post soon............I'm a bit :mad: at myself because I started downloading them then accidentally closed the application.

Liam didn't have a morning nap at all today and at 1pm went down but unfortunately the major downpour that just swept over our house woke him up. I'm so crossing my fingers he resettles as he needs the sleep badly :sleeping:

JoJoMart
21-12-2007, 13:25
Here are the photos from yesterdays meet. Sorry if some are a bit blurred.

http://s180.photobucket.com/albums/x174/JoJoMart_photos/Melb%20meet%20Dec%2007/

23-12-2007, 17:13
New thread here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=143700)ladies :D