View Full Version : Do u think it's right-baby girl circumcision

Janelle
01-09-2007, 14:10
I am so upset today when i found out my 40days old niece will have a female circumcision on Monday. It's also known as Clitoridectomy or Female Genital Mutilation. My sister married a muslim that's is why they are having their baby girl to do the procedure.

I am not trying to criticize the religion but more concern of the baby's welfare which is why i posted this thread here. Apparently this is a common practise among the muslims in the south east asia region (not sure about the middle east countries). Although my sister didnt want to do it but she's under pressure from her in laws to have it done as it's part of their culture.

They believe that the removal or partial removal of the clitoris is beneficial to marriage because a woman would be more likely to remain faithful to her husband if she had no sexual drive. I told her that's a really stupid reason to put a baby under such pain.

Although the procedure is going to be performed by a doctor and it's only a tiny cut to the clitoris, i still think the reason for this practice is stupid and should be abolish as it impede women's right as well as putting babies in pain for a very stupid reason. Poor baby, cant even have a say in this.

punkbaby
01-09-2007, 14:11
OMG thats disgusting i am sorry but that is just wrong wrong wrong!!

greengables
01-09-2007, 14:11
This is child abuse and I would have thought was illegal in Australia.

TwoBlue
01-09-2007, 14:12
Poor little girl :crying:

I dont know what to say.. I really feel for your sister but also feel that maybe she needs to stand up for what SHE feels is right too....

Do they live in Australia?

Noah_and_Elijah
01-09-2007, 14:13
That is the most disgusting, horrific thing I have ever heard in my life and it breaks my heart reading about it.

That poor, poor child. :crying:

ButterflyMama
01-09-2007, 14:15
Tell her to say NO.

biscotti
I would have thought that was illegal here. Seriously.

And i'm amazed they could find a Dr to perform it.

It has to be illegal surely. :no: :no: :no:

veve
Do they live in Australia?

that was my first question too ... (deep sigh)

that makes me really sad - they are making a choice for that baby - that will be with her for life. If she IS in australia - how will she feel being a teenager in australia??? how will she tell her first sexual partner??

I guess I've never really thought about this before - now I wonder how many australian (muslim) girls have had this done??

Jen

greengables
01-09-2007, 14:17
I just wanna say again:

that is DISGUSTING

Janelle
01-09-2007, 14:18
sorry forgot to mention my sister is in Malaysia, but i think it's a common practise in Indonesia too.

I am wondering if any muslim girl babies have done it in Australia too

veve
01-09-2007, 14:19
note - I know that hubbers will find this topic confronting .. HOWEVER you MUST remember that this is a open, public forum.

There may be members of bubhub - who follow this religion, and its teachings. Please word your posts carefully, and constructively- or they will be removed.

Jenny

Gumby
01-09-2007, 14:19
I have actually read into this sugject alot and the reason for it is to take pleasure away from sex and to make them look nicer. I think it is discusting.

punkbaby
01-09-2007, 14:23
I might mention to you as well one of my close freinds is married to a muslim, shes had 2 girls and he told her he wanted the same, she told him as she is in australia she will not do that and she will come half way with his religion but that female circumcism is something that she will not follow through with, perhaps she can say something like this to him? if shes in australia that is

Noah_and_Elijah
01-09-2007, 14:23
I just rang a friend of my Mum's who is Muslim and asked her whether this was common practice in their religion and she said that unfortunately it is and no Doctor that she knows of will perform the procedure in Australia, usually the babies are taken overseas for the procedures to be performed and then are brought back to Australia afterwards.

FYI :(

FishFace
01-09-2007, 14:26
That just made me cry.

I really hope your sister can get some strength to stand up and say NO.

01-09-2007, 14:27
Any form of circumcision makes me feel sick.

I told her that's a really stupid reason to put a baby under such pain.

I agree

Freya
01-09-2007, 14:28
There is not a single muslim man I know that would do that to their daughter. If I had of had a girl my ex wouldn't have wanted that and I am sure all the other muslims on here would never have their daughters done. Its wrong and yes illegal here probally not in malaysia but that is discusting that they would their daughter through that. Makes me sick.

Janelle
01-09-2007, 14:29
It's hard when it's a part of a culture/religion. It will take something like a reform or government intervention to abolish such practise. All i can do for my poor niece is pray for a speedy recovery and nothing go wrong during the procedure.

Beany
01-09-2007, 14:29
I believe it is illegal to take an infant out of the country in order to get the procedure done, too.

It is not part of the religion and is in fact relatively rare (compared with male circumcision rates). It is only endorsed in one Hadith and that particularly Hadith has been repeatedly declared rejected and/or weak.

It is a cultural practice rather than a religious one. Don't let your sister stand for it - her cultural heritage of being intact is just as valid (more so!) as theirs.

ShadyCharacter
01-09-2007, 14:30
I've made it pretty clear what I think of male circumcision, and female circumcision is even worse :crying:

And it IS illegal in Australia (and legally considered child abuse).

mishlc
01-09-2007, 14:31
This is child abuse and I would have thought was illegal in Australia.

I completely agree!

What Dr in Australia would do that????

punkbaby
01-09-2007, 14:33
werent they trying to stop this though in other countries as well i remember reading it on the news a while back that all

01-09-2007, 14:34
So SO sad!!! :crying: SO wrong :no:

Poor little girl. That's so disgusting. Does your sister actually WANT it done or is she only getting it done because her husband is saying so??

TELL HER TO SAY NOOOOOOOO! :(

westerner
01-09-2007, 14:37
To the OP.. Your niece is in my thoughts.. Poor little angel.. :angel: :hugs:

mishlc
01-09-2007, 14:37
I just read the whole thread and saw it is illegal here.

Can't believe it! They wouldn't be able to police it if they tried to stop people going out of the country to have it done.
I read in a Cosmo sealed section once years ago about all this. It showed pics of women laying in the street and some guy with dirty needles and scissors etc going along cutting off their "bits". It was horrific and disgusting and I cannot believe that it is being done.
It isn't a religious thing it is a cultural thing.

What person has any right to that to someone?

I would go over there and kidnap my niece if it was me, and go into hiding with her.....To the OP...Ask your sister if her husband wants this done to her daughter could she really love him? If my DH wanted this done for his religious reasons I would leave him. No-way would I do it to satisfy his family.
Amazing this wasn't discussed before they had children though?

Jax Tellers Old Lady
01-09-2007, 14:43
I am so astounded that any parent would even consider having this procedure done on their daughters.

I feel ill at the thought.:no:

westerner
01-09-2007, 14:51
Perhaps your sister should put a few questions to her DH.. Ask him how he would feel if it had been done to her and as a result she felt uncomfortable with herself and had no sexual drive or desire towards him in any way shape and form.. ??

Wonder how he would like the procedure if that was the case..

Also, tell the inlaws to bug off.. Its a parents sole decision and there wishes should not even be taken into consideration...

veve
01-09-2007, 14:54
Perhaps your sister should put a few questions to her DH.. Ask him how he would feel if it had been done to her and as a result she felt uncomfortable with herself and had no sexual drive or desire towards him in any way shape and form.. ??

oooh interesting approach - how would he feel if it was HIS sex life it effected??

sexual pleasure has little to do with cheating (imo) you have to have other relationship issues .. (technically if we removed all testicles at birth .. I think the rate of spousal (sp?) cheating would plummet .. but it wouldn't be a very good solution either)

Jen

bambino
01-09-2007, 15:06
How very sad.

There is a book all about this that I have read.

"Desert Flower" by Waris Dirie. It's an autobiography.

Very very sad but yes unfortunately it does happen. Perhaps if you read that book you may get a better understanding of it and why they do it.
I still don't accept this even after reading the book though.

cmd'smum
01-09-2007, 15:06
:eek: that is child abuse! I can't believe that it still happens!! surely it isn't a religious thing, but more cultural?poor baby :crying: What a st***d reason for doing it, to remain "faithful" :rolleyes: things like this remind me of what a great world we live in :rolleyes:

cmd'smum
01-09-2007, 15:08
I completely agree!

What Dr in Australia would do that????

It is illegal in this country, I'd report the Dr who intends to perform the "procedure".

TyBean
01-09-2007, 15:08
OMG it is so WRONG!!!:crying: The poor little girl has no say... and niether does the mother for that matter by the sounds..... it is disgusting....

I hope she is able to stand up for her daughter and put her foot down and say NOOO!!!!:( :crying:

Nowhere
01-09-2007, 15:12
Poor baby, actually read the post where you said they live in Malaysia so I'm assuming that is why they are able to find a Dr that Will do it, Is your sister able to talk to hr husband about it and voice her concerns, Poor baby girl

Janelle
01-09-2007, 15:21
I actually told her to bribe the doctor n lied tht the procedure has been done although it's not. Unfortunately the Dr. is her mum in law's friend.

LittleBoysRock
01-09-2007, 15:24
I TOTALLY disagree with this... poor little angel.

subaruforestermum
01-09-2007, 15:28
I actually told her to bribe the doctor n lied tht the procedure has been done although it's not. Unfortunately the Dr. is her mum in law's friend.

Even if it is a friend of the family (the doctor), I'm pretty sure there would be doctor patient confidentiality over there too, and the doctor could lose her license if they talk about a patient to an unauthorised person..... If not they need to ammend there laws...

I dont think this is right at all!!!!!

Janelle
01-09-2007, 15:32
Female circumcision is performed supposedly to reduce female's sex drive but fr. what i saw that's not really the case as i have many muslim friends n I cant see female circumcision reduce their sexual need. The point is thr is no medical research on this issue n why is it still being practised to support the theory. Most importantly women have equal right to men these days and a lot of muslim women hold important roles in big companies and in politics in Malaysia. Why is this practise not abolish yet???

Pippi Longstocking
01-09-2007, 15:33
I don't know what to say. I feel sick.
That poor wee girl is about to have brutally removed something that is so personal, so intimate and so much a part of her. My heart breaks for her and all other little babies that get cut for such a horrible reason.
I like that my parents always assumed that I could be trusted to remain faithful to my husband rather than hacking off my clitoris to make sure.

bambino
01-09-2007, 15:34
Again I suggest you get a copy of the book I mentioned a few posts back..........it will explain a whole lot to everyone.

bAaM
01-09-2007, 15:51
I believe it is a parent both mother and fathers responsibility to protect our children against things that they can not control them selfs and it doesn't matter where they live there are always choices. As a mother i would think that should would NOT allow this to be done to someone so innocent let alone her own child i would be on the next flight out of there.
That is one of the most horrific thing i have ever heard that poor baby has got no voice and needs some one to speak for her.

I realize it may be hard for your sister but is this something she want as well? Does she no her options?

punkbaby
01-09-2007, 15:55
Female circumcision is performed supposedly to reduce female's sex drive but fr. what i saw that's not really the case as i have many muslim friends n I cant see female circumcision reduce their sexual need. The point is thr is no medical research on this issue n why is it still being practised to support the theory. Most importantly women have equal right to men these days and a lot of muslim women hold important roles in big companies and in politics in Malaysia. Why is this practise not abolish yet???
TMI i know but i can still enjoy sex without clitoral stimulation, i know thats far TMI sorry but its true :o

talia11
01-09-2007, 16:01
It is most definitely illegal in Oz - not much help for the poor child O/S though - I remember a few years back wehn i was still in the Police i went to an international police conference and one of the guest speakers was the Police Comissioner in Africa and she was campaigning against female circumcision.... a burtal practice and she had some quite horrifc stories of girls having everything cut off - all in the name of pleasing piossible suitors......

Mamalicious
01-09-2007, 16:07
I just asked my DH and he said "NO" it's not common practice to do it to girls, just boys.

SAY NO!!!!!!!!!!

I wish I had, she'll regret it and blame herself forever if she doesn't.

Bewitched
01-09-2007, 16:09
That poor child :crying: . I am respectful of others people's religions, truly i am, but my opinion is UNNECESSARY and WRONG.

Beany
01-09-2007, 16:12
I just asked my DH and he said "NO" it's not common practice to do it to girls, just boys.

SAY NO!!!!!!!!!!

I wish I had, she'll regret it and blame herself forever if she doesn't.

It is common practice in certain countries to do it to both boys and girls.

Mamalicious
01-09-2007, 16:13
How very sad.

There is a book all about this that I have read.

"Desert Flower" by Waris Dirie. It's an autobiography.

Very very sad but yes unfortunately it does happen. Perhaps if you read that book you may get a better understanding of it and why they do it.
I still don't accept this even after reading the book though.

Yeah I've read that book, she is incredible.

Mamalicious
01-09-2007, 16:14
It is common practice in certain countries to do it to both boys and girls.

It shouldn't be...it should be illegal everywhere.

Beany
01-09-2007, 16:22
It shouldn't be...it should be illegal everywhere.

I absolutely agree.

I did read recently that female circumcision in many places is tending towards the symbolic rather than actual: there is just a needle pr!ck symbolising the act rather than the removal of the clitoral hood.

Lets hope that if the child can't be bundled up and run off with, this is all she has to endure.

Pippi Longstocking
01-09-2007, 16:22
From source (http://www.minaret.org/fgm-pamphlet.htm)

For Muslims, cliterodectomy and infibulation should be considered harām (prohibited) practices and opposition to it should be part of our ongoing mandate to fight against superstition and oppression. As to the mildest form of female circumcision, the risks to the girl's future ability to enjoy sexual relations with her husband must place it at best in the category of makrūh (disliked) practices. Since it has neither hygienic nor religious value, there is no justification for Muslims to engage in this painful and potentially harmful practice and it would be best to avoid it completely.

Wa Allahu a`lam. (And God knows best.)

Harlequin
01-09-2007, 17:11
I think I would be very angry with my parents if they did that to me when I was a baby. :(

Janelle
01-09-2007, 20:19
I absolutely agree.

I did read recently that female circumcision in many places is tending towards the symbolic rather than actual: there is just a needle pr!ck symbolising the act rather than the removal of the clitoral hood.

Lets hope that if the child can't be bundled up and run off with, this is all she has to endure.

Spoke to my sis, her mum in law assure her it's just a small cut symbolising the act n not total removal. when my sis converted to islam they cut her skirt as a symbol...but still pricking a bub genital is no fun.. like u said hope it's over n done with quickly n safely.

canberramomma
01-09-2007, 20:33
Should not be allowed in any country. This is much more damaging than male circumcision. It means that because she can't enjoy sexual intercourse, she is less likely to stray and be unfaithful, but how much of our own relationships are built on our mutual enjoyment of our partners?

Female circumcision can range from cutting the end of the clit to cutting the whole labia. It is cultural rather than religious. You should approach your relatives Imam or highest religious leader (regional/national/international) to try to stop this. It will affect that poor baby for the rest of her life, and like many forms of child abuse, may well continue into future generations. I say this as an athiest (small 'a'), not as a Christian.

canberramomma
01-09-2007, 20:35
here is an interesting link. If you feel strongly enough, as I personally would, maybe you can contact the World Health Organization. http://www.guttmacher.org/pubs/journals/2313097.html

SugarBlossom
01-09-2007, 20:48
Nup, very wrong!

FYI...I am against all circ.

veve
01-09-2007, 20:53
Spoke to my sis, her mum in law assure her it's just a small cut symbolising the act n not total removal. when my sis converted to islam they cut her skirt as a symbol...but still pricking a bub genital is no fun.. like u said hope it's over n done with quickly n safely.

sigh - offer to cut the babies clothing too???

its hard - when you are trying to convince people that something they believe to be part of their culture/ religion is - at least in your opinion - wrong ...

I know that in many cultures around the world young men are inflicted with wounds .. to test their manhood etc when they reach their teenage years - I too think its unnecessary ... but its part of their lives??

do your best - its all you can do for your niece .. :hugs:

JEn

SugarBlossom
01-09-2007, 20:57
I too feel very sorry for your neice :(

01-09-2007, 21:33
Your poor niece :crying: I hate the act of circumcision on any child...

I just worry that your SIL (and you) are possible being fed with talk of it "only being a tiny cut as a symbol" when in fact they are really going ahead with the full destruction of that baby girl's clitoris. I would freak and leave my husband and the country in a heartbeat if I were your sister...

Beany
01-09-2007, 21:53

It's such a completely unnecessary thing to do. Even that small amount of pain can be avoided if they just did the research, realised that it's outmoded superstition.

I hope your sister and niece get through. Hopefully unscathed.

hayleysmummy
01-09-2007, 22:00
That thought makes me cringe Its so sad :crying: OMG that poor baby girl My heart goes out to her. Your sis should stand up for herself and say NO I'm sorry but I'm really upset about it that poor innocent baby girl religion is so rediculous sometimes

Motherov2
03-09-2007, 02:25
:shame:I have read everyones reply, my heart just shivers at the cruel and some what ******** customs of some cultures. I am a Muslim, there is no mention in our teachings that a baby girl, or girl of any age is required by Islamic law to have this procedure done! Boys on the other hand are required to be circumcised!

candiee
03-09-2007, 08:53
i would tell her to go out and buy a book called "desert flower" by waris dirie, tell her to read the two books that follow "desert dawn" and "desert children", that should soon change her mind about doing it!
i am totally against this i think it is child abuse, and i also think it is mutilation, all countries should ban this, why can't women enjoy sex too????

this is so wrong!

mishlc
03-09-2007, 09:10
Sending Hugs to you and your fam today! :hugs:

Hope it's not too bad a day for you knowing what is happening over there :fingerscrossed:

mummybunny
03-09-2007, 09:38
from what i know about this (from an ex who was muslim) this is a big thing in Lebanon (sorry if i spelt it wrong) and they usually preform this once the woman is married and if they do it as a baby it is more to stop her from "sleeping around" as she gets older purely because she gets no pleasure from sex so she will not want to have it (silly i know) my ex always used to tell me "in my country" women couldnt cheat they wouldnt cause of this la la la and so on he used to tell me that when we moved over there(not that i had any intention of going or staying with him) that myself and if we had a daughter she would be done aswell as you can imagine that is why he is now my ex.. to the point i think its totally wrong and its just not right that they are pressuring her so much do to something she feels is not right to her daughter... why doesnt she get a say? after all she was the one that gave birth to her...

*babygirl*
03-09-2007, 09:45
guv, you always seem to sum up exactly how i feel.... i feel sick, and grateful that my society values didnt include the removal of somethiung so intimtate, so integral to my being.... i feel sadness and deep pain for this little girl and rage against her parents and her society. she has no freedom.... and no matter how she works to liberate herself.... she will die a slave to disgusting values:crying:

my heart breaks. ill hug DD a little closer today.:crying:

jorey
03-09-2007, 11:02
Hi, I'm sad to hear about this. I'm originally from Malaysia but I'm not a Muslim. Malaysia is a Muslim country, it upholds Muslim laws. I grew up there but I have never heard of female circumcision only Muslim boys when they are 12 y.o I think. Hopefully the baby girl will be spared from it!

carls
03-09-2007, 11:14
That is disgusting, cruel and wrong. I would have called the authorities (if it is indeed illegal) before today and done my best to make sure the procedure didnt go ahead.

Lollie86
03-09-2007, 13:27
I find it totally unecessary to do that to a poor little baby girl :no:

Surely your sister would have known by converting to Islam she would have to adhere to their culture....and basically she sounds outnumbered even if she did want to say anything about it.

If she has converted, and moved to Malaysia with her husband and if his family are all there then it sounds like she wont even be heard if she tried to speak up.

Sorry if this comes across a bit mean, but when your sister married her husband im sure they would have spoken about having kids and their future etc and maybe he did tell her his wishes if they had a little girl? Perhaps your sister is okay with this after all?

Hopefully, your little niece can be spared from this horrific mutilation and if not, my thoughts are with her and your whole family and i pray that she wont be in too much pain. :hugs:

Beany
03-09-2007, 13:35
FGM isn't a standard practice amongst Muslims so it's quite likely that her sister didn't know it would come to this - particularly as her ritual involved nothing more invasive than the cutting of a skirt.

It is a cultural practice amongst some (a minority) within the region and was probably not discussed as it was considered (by her) to be absurd and a non-issue.

Mumma2Jack
03-09-2007, 21:29
The whole thing makes me feel very very sick.
That poor little girl..

My heart goes out to every female having to go through that..
How wrong:crying:

hayleysmummy
03-09-2007, 22:32
[quote=Janelle;1856216]Female Genital Mutilation.
quote]

Its exactly that have you said that to your sister

I still cant believ someone would want to mutialte a tiny baby Shame n them :thumbsdown: it makes me so sad

perthmum2007
04-09-2007, 09:34
Thats so sad

grass is always greener
04-09-2007, 10:45
My thoughts and prayers are with your sister and your neice.
She should stand up for what she believes in as a women. If she feels that this is wrong then she should say something.
:hugs: to you and your family.

OJandMe
04-09-2007, 13:01
If my DH wanted this done for his religious reasons I would leave him.

ditto

I couldn't stay with someone who would do that to their own child!

lovingmotheract
04-09-2007, 21:13
i have to say i make me :crying: and as i can see you and your sis talk heaps so i have to say tell her if she can't talk to him about it and if what he said go's well it's time for her to get out of there now if she really does not want her child to go throw so much pain (no mum does) then she need to leave has she soe where to go? hope she does what she feels is right.

Kadwil
04-09-2007, 21:22
I like that my parents always assumed that I could be trusted to remain faithful to my husband rather than hacking off my clitoris to make sure.

Well said.

moonblossom
04-09-2007, 21:37
Sad, very sad. And thats all I have to say about that :crying:

kristi001
04-09-2007, 21:52
If that was My neice I would Kidnap Her and bring her back to Australia!

Poor Soul :crying:

GraceUnhearing
04-09-2007, 23:24
that poor poor little girl!
so so so sad!

but when it all comes down to it
how is it any different from circumcision on a boy?

Verdi
11-09-2007, 18:50
that poor poor little girl!
so so so sad!

but when it all comes down to it
how is it any different from circumcision on a boy?

The difference is that male circumcision does not take away your sexual urge it is merely done for the Penis to be clean.

The only benefit for a female circumcision is that there is none. It is for the girl to not feel any pleasure from sex, so they do not orgasm.

The pleasure is only for the Men of course:rolleyes:

Beany
11-09-2007, 19:01
Candyn: Type I FGM is exactly the same as the common form of male circumcision: the clitoral hood (foreskin equivalent) is removed and sexual sensation is not lost. Lessened but not lost.

pinkishbunny
11-09-2007, 19:34
OMG! how STUPID!!!!~ that's all I can say!
Poor little girl! - thats so wrong:no: :thumbsdown: and should not be allowed!!!!!!!

Verdi
11-09-2007, 19:49
Candyn: Type I FGM is exactly the same as the common form of male circumcision: the clitoral hood (foreskin equivalent) is removed and sexual sensation is not lost. Lessened but not lost.
really?

I just only know 1 male apart from my father(who got it done when he was 19 years old, ouch) who is circumcised and they reckon they have the best sex life:confused: his wife raves on about it.

I personally think they are two different situations, as i said for males it can have medical benefits, but there is no reason medicall for a woman.

Beany you are so informative!

forbetoel
11-09-2007, 19:52
The difference is that male circumcision does not take away your sexual urge it is merely done for the Penis to be clean.

The only benefit for a female circumcision is that there is none. It is for the girl to not feel any pleasure from sex, so they do not orgasm.

The pleasure is only for the Men of course:rolleyes:

I agree! :thumbsup:

11-09-2007, 19:53
Candyn this thread (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=118264) might explain a few things.

purplefairy
12-09-2007, 19:06
I am so upset today when i found out my 40days old niece will have a female circumcision on Monday. It's also known as Clitoridectomy or Female Genital Mutilation. My sister married a muslim that's is why they are having their baby girl to do the procedure.

I am not trying to criticize the religion but more concern of the baby's welfare which is why i posted this thread here. Apparently this is a common practise among the muslims in the south east asia region (not sure about the middle east countries). Although my sister didnt want to do it but she's under pressure from her in laws to have it done as it's part of their culture.

They believe that the removal or partial removal of the clitoris is beneficial to marriage because a woman would be more likely to remain faithful to her husband if she had no sexual drive. I told her that's a really stupid reason to put a baby under such pain.

Although the procedure is going to be performed by a doctor and it's only a tiny cut to the clitoris, i still think the reason for this practice is stupid and should be abolish as it impede women's right as well as putting babies in pain for a very stupid reason. Poor baby, cant even have a say in this.

If this is in Ausrtalia this is Illegal. Call the police. This is Child Abuse. Please dont stand by and have no say. This will ruin your nieces life. Don't let that happen. Please.

GraceUnhearing
12-09-2007, 20:02
[

exactly beany :D
i was just going to type that but you had beat me to it!

It is exactly the same thing!
both procedures should be banned unless 100% medically needed!

Gabrielle
13-09-2007, 11:31
i read a book called slave and it was a story of a young mulism girl kiddnaped to be a slave in pakisatin and she write of that same procedure of when she was 7 yrs old what they do is they cut of the cilerilous and the 2 side pieces of the virgina and sew them together and when she has sex that is torn, when they have childern they most ofthen have to have a c section as the healed flesh will ripe open in a way that may cause their death.

i would research it and find out more cause i tell you it mutilates them for life.:mad:

Beany
13-09-2007, 12:39
i read a book called slave and it was a story of a young mulism girl kiddnaped to be a slave in pakisatin and she write of that same procedure of when she was 7 yrs old what they do is they cut of the cilerilous and the 2 side pieces of the virgina and sew them together and when she has sex that is torn, when they have childern they most ofthen have to have a c section as the healed flesh will ripe open in a way that may cause their death.

i would research it and find out more cause i tell you it mutilates them for life.:mad:

What you are talking about is infibulation: the severest form of female circumcision. The OP is referring to clitoridectomy which is a milder form. Abhorrent in itself, too, but milder.

erinjacob
25-09-2007, 19:01
i am totaly against it it is so sad but how many of you have sons that you have circumcised an think it is ok for boys? isnt it the same?

mum1983
06-10-2007, 07:51
In Islam (Muslims people!), this only applies to boys (and I'm against it as well!)....the circumcision that is...
It may just be due to his cultural background.

Apparently this is a common practise among the muslims in the south east asia region

but i think it's a common practise in Indonesia too.
Really?? I didn't know that and I'm from there.

XandersMummy
06-10-2007, 09:01
Circumcision in males would be a lot different. Generally it's done when they are newborns, and they now use anesthetic cream. I've had all of my sons circumcised, and now that 2 are teens they're thankful!

My decision had nothing to do with religion, just cleanliness and circumcision in males reduces the risk of penile cancer (though it's a small risk to start with).

nikkie
07-10-2007, 10:40
This is an ILLEGAL practice in Australia and you should report it immediately! You can contact the department of community services in your state. Being family, this is very sensitive but it is an abhorent practice that continues in other parts of the world.:no: