View Full Version : feb mummas SEPTEMBER chat

my_lot
31-08-2007, 08:44 PM
woo hoo SPRING!!!

our babies are 6-7 months old!

eating, sitting, rolling, crawling, bottle feeding, breastfeeding, laughing crying little munchkins!

did i mention its spring?? i LOVE spring!!

16 weeks til Christmas!!!

juzzy
31-08-2007, 08:46 PM
geez you dont waste time there Kay!! LOL September hasnt started yet!!

my_lot
31-08-2007, 08:48 PM
ah ...i guess its jitters about how close i am to...

getting hitched!

its a big fat reminder on how close it is...

Roopee
31-08-2007, 08:51 PM
Wow! Your keen Kay!

I love spring too!! Not too hot- not too cold! LOVE it!

Oh and Kay? You must have your hands full.....:laughing::laughing:

Sorry- had to say it:cool:

my_lot
31-08-2007, 09:04 PM
ha ha. im sure you get it too!!

juzzy
31-08-2007, 09:10 PM
hmmm since it is spring.... reminds me of hay fever, runny, clogged up nose and sinuses.... headaches and muscle pain.... hmmm yeah i love spring!?!

LOL

What is it with men thinking it is ok to stir up a baby right on bed time? Especially when they are already clearly very tired and its time for a bit of quiet time?

DP does this to Cassidy almost every night when he is home. She is so much harder to settle and he just doesnt get it. Took me ages to get her to bed tonight.

B!oody men...

my_lot
31-08-2007, 09:16 PM
let him put her to bed.

hey lets have a comp on how many '0' posts we can get each by the end of september.

icugal
31-08-2007, 09:18 PM
September thread already !! :smiliedance:

I love Spring too... can't wait for more great weather !!

Means only a couple of weeks until my birthday though :eek: Geez, that's come around quickly !! I don't want to get any older now..

juzzy
31-08-2007, 09:19 PM
Yeah but if i let him put her to bed she would never sleep. Or would be up a lot during the night. For some reason she wont settle for him

juzzy
31-08-2007, 09:23 PM
Means only a couple of weeks until my birthday though :eek: Geez, that's come around quickly !! I don't want to get any older now..

Yep, i hear ya, a month until my birthday.... i feel old :laughing:

my_lot
31-08-2007, 09:23 PM
and just so i can get the first 0 count....

my_lot
31-08-2007, 09:26 PM
oh BUGGER you juz :laughing:

Roopee
31-08-2007, 09:33 PM
ha ha. im sure you get it too!!

Oh yes! And the "dontcha have a TV" (yer, its broken)
AND
Dontcha know what causes it yet? (yer, just cant keep our hands off each other)

AND

Are they all to the same father? (:eek: Yer, i think so, just waiting on the D&A results for this one):laughing:)

Anymore??? Hehehe im such a sarcastic b!tch.

icugal
31-08-2007, 09:33 PM
Yep, i hear ya, a month until my birthday.... i feel old :laughing:

Hun.. if I were as 'old' as you... I'd be a happy girl :D

juzzy
31-08-2007, 09:34 PM
Oh yes! And the "dontcha have a TV" (yer, its broken)
AND
Dontcha know what causes it yet? (yer, just cant keep our hands off each other)

AND

Are they all to the same father? (:eek: Yer, i think so, just waiting on the D&A results for this one):laughing:)

Anymore??? Hehehe im such a sarcastic b!tch.

LOL but so incredibly funny!

Roopee
31-08-2007, 09:36 PM
Oops i forgot this one...

OMG You have FOUR kids? (nope actually- i left the quads at home):laughing:

juzzy
31-08-2007, 09:36 PM
Hun.. if I were as 'old' as you... I'd be a happy girl :D

Oh come on your not that old honestly!!

I guess at least you can say "Back in my day...." with a bit of conviction!

*Runs and hides*

LOL

im joking i swear, please dont hurt me!

icugal
31-08-2007, 09:45 PM
You know you're old when songs that were released when you were a child make a second coming with a newer cover-version !!!

Oh.. and lets not forget the fact that I actually own vinyl records...

Vinyl... what?? I hear you say... ;)

Roopee
31-08-2007, 09:48 PM
Oh come on your not that old honestly!!

I guess at least you can say "Back in my day...." with a bit of conviction!

*Runs and hides*

LOL

im joking i swear, please dont hurt me!

Hey you youngen! Im almost as old as Penny (well not quite but close LOL)

* shakes fist while bent over walking frame*

juzzy
31-08-2007, 09:49 PM
You know you're old when songs that were released when you were a child make a second coming with a newer cover-version !!!

LOL now i feel young!! But kinda old at the same time.... Eeeeekkk im in no mans land! :laughing:

Geez i feel queasy, time for me to go to bed. :barf:

icugal
31-08-2007, 09:50 PM
*LOL* Tan !!

I do take some comfort in knowing that I'm not the oldest Feb mum though... phew !!! There are a couple older than me (but not many :D )

And just because I have nothing better to do... here is a photo of Kaelan that I took today..

http://www.penny-clark.com/kaelan/aug07_20.jpg

juzzy
31-08-2007, 09:51 PM
Hey you youngen! Im almost as old as Penny (well not quite but close LOL)

* shakes fist while bent over walking frame*

PMSL

juzzy
31-08-2007, 09:52 PM
Penny K is such a little spunk, yet he is so serious in that photo! What a cool top tho! Is that from Cotton On Kids?

Who is the youngest of the Feb mummas?

icugal
31-08-2007, 09:55 PM
Yep.. Cotton On Kids...

And if you think that face expression was serious... you haven't seen this one...

http://www.penny-clark.com/kaelan/aug07_19.jpg

Not his most flattering photo :D

Edited to say... I think you might be the youngest Feb mum Juz

Roopee
31-08-2007, 09:56 PM
Who is the oldest??

juzzy
31-08-2007, 09:58 PM
Now that is what i call a serious face!

I think you will be beating the ladies off with a stick when hes a bit older Pen

ETA: Just checked the list of posters thread and out of those that still post regularly in our thread i am the youngest.

blubber
31-08-2007, 10:08 PM
What is it with men thinking it is ok to stir up a baby right on bed time? Especially when they are already clearly very tired and its time for a bit of quiet time?

DP does this to Cassidy almost every night when he is home. She is so much harder to settle and he just doesnt get it. Took me ages to get her to bed tonight.

B!oody men...

I have come to the conclusion that because "generally" they have less waking hours with them they are trying to fit a days time into an few hours. Subcontiously probably!
It's hard when you spend a day, also subcontiously probably working to a pattern for that nigth time and it can be ruined in 20minutes!!

Spring: We have about 9 weeks of winter and spring weather for ages..love it but this place in the desert needs water.

Kay: enjoy the pre wedding chaos, i eould love to have my girls in our wedding.

Busy weekend with family here and Dads day...any exuse for a gathering and a quiet melow sip or two with our extended family...

blubber
31-08-2007, 10:19 PM

Plenty of vinyl and 12" records..will never part with them

And if you think that face expression was serious... you haven't seen this one...

http://www.penny-clark.com/kaelan/aug07_19.jpg

Not his most flattering photo :D

/quote]

That frown is serious

[quote=juzzy;1855098]
ETA: Just checked the list of posters thread and out of those that still post regularly in our thread i am the youngest.

.....but so wise Juz!!

KAY/TAN: i suspect it is like those with twins...
"oh arn't they beatiful, two hey? that must keep you busy?"

...no i just sit around all day and they feed and look after themselves....

blubber
31-08-2007, 10:23 PM
"that frown is serious"

Well of course is it, it wouldn't be a frown then!

SuperFrog
31-08-2007, 11:13 PM
I'm away for a day and the fab feb mummas go on a posting spree!

Not much to report here. Painting looks good. Half our old flooring has been ripped up, ready for the new one tomorrow. Yippee!

Must go sleep now. Oh so tired. Will try and catch up on thread(s) tomorrow, and hope that this is post #30. :sleeping:

mumslilspunks
01-09-2007, 07:44 AM
WOW you girls have been busy :laughing:
Love the photos Penny!
I think Tanya and myself are the same age? I turned 31 :o In may.........
Yep an old fart here.:smiliedance:

ziggy29
01-09-2007, 08:05 AM
Ren - you are so old!! i dont turn 31 for 21 days!

i have a wedding today - get to dress up etc. i think i will take lily to the ceremony and then after an early breastfeed she will stay with my mil and fil while me and dh go to the reception. should be a good night as it is the wedding of some long term friends.

might go have a rest now so i can party on tonight!

happy spring.

ziggy29
01-09-2007, 08:06 AM
forgot to mention that a girl in my mothers group (with a feb bub) is pregnant again with TWINS (due march 08)!!!

mumslilspunks
01-09-2007, 08:20 AM
Sharon- Hope you have a great time at the wedding.
I love getting dressed up. Its been ages....:party:

mandi24
01-09-2007, 08:32 AM
Morning all

Well Lochlain had a bad nite last nite just kept waking up all the time. I am so tired this morning.

Its such a lovely day here today mite go to the park later on.

Well better get going got a bit of ironing to do first before i do or go anywhere.

Roopee
01-09-2007, 09:08 AM
Ren- hmm i'm actually 32- turned that in May- i just havent changed my sig yet!
Perhaps im secretly fighting the whole getting older thing???:o:laughing:

icugal
01-09-2007, 09:09 AM
What a beautiful day we have woken up to here in Melbourne... man, I love Spring !!!

I'm feeling quite domesticated today so dinner for tonight is already cooking in the slow cooker (we're having tender lamb shank casserole - yum !!)... and being as it is nice and sunny outside, I think I'll try to get all my washing done and save some money from not having to use the dryer.

Kaelan is being a bit of a drama queen this morning... I sit him up and then he rolls onto his tummy and starts screaming to be picked up... so I go and sit him up and again.. and with two minutes he's back on his tummy again... there is no pleasing some babies !! :D

Sharon - Have fun at the wedding !!

Mon - Bet you'll be glad when this reno is over !!

Oh dear... got to go.. screaming, unhappy baby. Must be time for some morning breaky :)

juzzy
01-09-2007, 09:10 AM
LOL wow i do feel young.... im 22, i turn 23 early october!

Nothing going on here, DP going to work at a customers for a few hours so i am not doing much. Probably some housework and what not.

Nice and sunny outside, so need to go hang my nappies out.

Time for brekky!

SuperFrog
01-09-2007, 11:24 AM
I've had a busy morning. Bunch of people arrived at 7.30am to help start laying the flooring. Cleaned up the kitchen from the painting/plastering mess (big job) and made all the coffees. Fed Liam amongst all the sawing and concrete grinding noises. SIL arrived at 9.30am to drop off BIL to help too, so she stayed and chatted for a while.

Packed up the car for the day and headed off to MIL's house. Had a late breakfast then helped her with the washing. Then we took her dog to the bath washing facility at the vets in Williamstown and walked back to Newport with Liam in the pram.

Checked my email and bubhub, and here we are!

Geez... before I had a baby I used to sleep in on Saturdays.

Twins! Goodness gracious... that'd keep you busy. I'm sure I've mentioned my cousin before who had 3 young kids and decided to go for number 4, and ended up with triplets. So she had 6 kids under 6!!! Triplets are 3 years old now. They live in Sydney so I haven't seen them for ages, but I've heard it is a chaotic household.

I'm off to feed L and then enjoy the sunshine with him.

SuperFrog
01-09-2007, 11:26 AM
Oh, and I turn 31 in a month, so it sounds like many of us are around the same age. Unlike some of you though I don't feel old at all.

SuperFrog
01-09-2007, 11:27 AM
Although I do own a Billy Joel vinyl record. :D

Purplebird
01-09-2007, 11:34 AM
Yay for spring!! I'm not feeling very sprung today though - I've just put my back and neck out. I think it was the result of doing 'pick up/put down' for 2 hours on and off last night :hair: :banghead: BlOody Baby Whisperer - now I can't move!! And it didn't work...Why does it have to be today? I've got soo much to do - cleaning, tidying, washing, beach walk, friends for dinner. Aaaaarrgghhh!!!! DH looked after E this morning so I could try and rest - he gave her 2 weetbix and a slice of marmite toast for brekkie :eek: I can't believe she ate most of it! I suppose I should just be thankful he didn't give her a full cooked English breakfast. BlOody pick-up/put down, now I can't pick her up at all! GGrrrr...

OK, rant over - I'm going to take some painkillers and soak in a bath of boiling water in the hope that I can move sometime this weekend.

I'm old too by the way- just turned 33, but today I do actually look like I'm 83 as I'm all bent over and hobbling around.

OK..I'm waffling now and sounding slightly demented :o

Have a lovely spring day everyone!!

my_lot
01-09-2007, 12:18 PM
um penny i thought you ARE the oldest here but come to think of it i think its a race between you and HELS :laughing:

****backs out of race and runs the other way dragging catheter bag and walking frame behind me*****

M- the wedding chaos has been fun, im not the slightest bit stressed about it pulling together...YET!

my hairdresser has just said she cant make it and ive got more bums for the hire bus than seats.

ive got one very nice flower girls dress that needs taking in and i dont want to stuff it so i have to wait til the night before for mother dearest to do it!

dp's brother has said hes got a black suit and he doesnt blo0dy need another one so hes bringing his own black suit! (((WTF- we are paying for it so just wear it)))

but hey they are not biggys....

mandi- what kept L up? teeth? does he always wake (like mine!) or do you know what its like to feel normal in the mornings and this is a one off. does he have any teeth?

talking of teeth- we are now onto the 6th tooth
no.5 the right top eye tooth is out and the left is on the way! looks like the bottom eye teeth are coming through now too.

anyone got ideas for novelty games at a wedding? my friends has suggested drunken limbo! i think not!

Roopee
01-09-2007, 02:11 PM
Kay- i had a google of "wedding games" the other night! I dont think i can post the sistes here though?
I think it was the 3rd site down (pick "web" not just aust")- they had HEAPS!

Not sure if they are suitable or not but worth a look!:cool:

harleyq
01-09-2007, 02:22 PM
I'm with you Mon, l don't feel old, l am 30, not 31 until Jan (you should know that) :-) the only time l feel old is when l think of the next milestone birthday as 40 -- that is massive... you have your 13, 16, 18, 21, 25 & 30ths which are all kinda worth celebrating and then there is a big gap and suddenly you are 40.... Wow!!!!

Coen woke up again during the night last night he has done a wake between 1-2am now a few nights in a row, and also about 10pm... but l felt his gums and he has two teeth coming up that have just broken the skin... my poor little booba!!! Are other bubs doing this? Its bl00dy hard work waking up during the night again isn't it? He wakes up screaming and only feeding seems to settle him, but l am worried of forming a pattern here... any thoughts? (l don't feed him to sleep during the night... although l am guilty of feeding him to sleep on his last sleep... l just had to disturb him.... must stop though, have a feeling this is why he is waking up at 10pm cos he is not getting enough before falling asleep...)

We had a bit of a drama today - it was horrible really but let me assure you it was all fine in the end... we went down to the Studley Park boathouse cafe (Kew) and there were all these stairs to get up and down - we had prams ofcourse so us two mummies were carrying the prams up and down the stairs... on the final set of stairs some men offered to help us out, one of the men lifted the pram too high, my friends bubby slipped out of the pram onto bluestones - honestly every time l close my eyes l see it happen again - at first l thought it was a blanket that had fallen - but l could tell by my friends face and after a few seconds delay, the crying, that it was the baby... Ladies - just as a warning - always always always strap your bubs into their pram.... in this case bubs was asleep so rather than arouse her, mum let her sleep... which l know l have been guilty of doing, only once, but once is all it takes l guess...
Bubs is okay - but gee did we get the fright of our lives, poor mum, you can imagine the hell that she went through (and is probably still going through a bit)- luckily Coen just sat there and took in the sights whilst we fussed over bubs, called the hospital and nurses on call... oh Nurses on Call were just brilliant... the first thing they asked me for was all my details, but l just asked them to just help me check that l had done all the right things first... and she did, then l gave her our details, and she took us through a thorough check to make sure bubs was okay... and she was... probably won't even have a mark on her cos we were very quick to act... l am going to put the Nurse on Call number in a very prominent place on my fridge as a just in case.... oh one last thing, l rang the ambulance first just to get some reassurance, but they didn't have a medical person answering the phones... but seriously it took them about 90-120 seconds to answer the phone, I thought it would be instantaneous, and l thought that once 000 put you through to the ambulance that you would be speaking to a trained medical professional - my worry here is that if it took 30 seconds to get through to 000, 90 seconds to the ambulance and then you had to wait for a medical professional...:eek:

Sorry gals, l just needed to get that off my chest! Extra special hugs to all our bubs!:hugs:

bAaM
01-09-2007, 02:24 PM
My god you guys can talk. takes me an hour to catch up on two days.

Hannah U must of had fun cleaning up after spag bog. Thats amazing with the chicken marissa would just through it at me.

Juz Don't worry about Cass not rolling she will do it one day. Live it up while she can't get around cause you will never have it back again.

Hels Can we get a hot pink one as well with Spit happens on it.

Hey i just realized Kay is getting married on Sharons b-day.

I think its time to get some more MCN's can everyone tell me there favs so i can decide what to go with.

Lauren where are you and how is Jack I hope he is getting better for you.

Both my babys are sick Andrew has caught the flu from school and given it to bub and now i think i'm getting it. Marissa is harley sleeping at night and Anrew has been in and out of our bed for 3 nights so I'm having a lazy weekend . I went and got my hair done this morning and now i'm about to sit down and watch "wild hogs"

Kay do u still have the measurment for the trolley thing you where making.

Whats every one doing for fathers day I'm cooking breaky for my dad and DP and then we are going up to a friends for a bbq in the arvo.

Will come back later to see whats happening

Alicia
xxxxx

bAaM
01-09-2007, 02:33 PM
Wow sandy thats horrible i will defenetly be stapping marissa in all the time now.
I'm glad that she is ok.

bAaM
01-09-2007, 02:55 PM
I just found this thread in the new posts it is so sad and horrible

Baby girl circumcision (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=117976)

juzzy
01-09-2007, 04:08 PM
Must be something in the air, i have been cleaning like a mad woman today too. Did the kitchen and lounge and just did a few other bits as well. Feel better for it as there were parts of my house that were just getting to me bad. All done now, i can relax again! LOL

As for fathers day, um dont actually know what we are doing. I guess going down to Rye to see DPs dad and i had been meaning to organise going out to dinner or something tomorrow night but that hasnt happened as i cant get DPs family to commit to anything :banghead:

I havent spoken to my Dad for about 5 years so dont need to worry about my side of the family!

JoJoMart
01-09-2007, 04:34 PM

Well everyone sounds like they are in a pretty good mood........must be this great weather we're having (well in Melbourne anyway)!!

I haven't done any housework this weekend so will be getting back into it next week :shame: . Hels - I was thinking of doing one room a day also. I can see this taking me at least a few weeks!

Sandy - that was a horrible scare for your poor friend. I remember my MCHN saying to always strap bubs in the pram......her baby fell out once so I always do this.....I also now need to childproof my home as Liam is into everything. I had my digital camera sitting on the coffee table and the strap was dangling over the edge an incy bit and Liam managed to stretch his arm up and pull it down to the floor. I was in the kitchen at the time and I heard the thud and luckily it landed next to him. It's not one of those lightweight ones its quite heavy and bulky so he would have got a nasty gash from it if it had landed on his head.

Fathers Day - my FIL has invited us down to Somerville but I'm not 100% sure I will be going because of my cold. Bought DH 3 cards, one from me, one from Liam and one from the dog! Also bought him a gardening book, slippers and some dark chocolate. Is everyone cooking brekky for their partners???

Lauren - like Leashie said 'Where are you'? I hope you are okay and Jack is getting better?

Leashie - I won't read about that female circumcision as it will be too distressing. How horrible.

Have a great evening ladies

mandi24
01-09-2007, 05:39 PM
Evening all

Well today was a pretty good day. Went to a spring festival which was pretty good then went to a lovely cafe for lunch.

my_lot-L used to sleep through the night but then he got really sick and stopped doing it. He now wakes up once sometimes twice through the night and the odd time has a bad night and just constantly wakes up. I love it when we have a big day as he gets really worn out and sleeps a lot better through the night.
He is teething atm very hard gums but no sign of teeth yet. Bites on anything and everything.

Fathers Day-Not doing anything for fathers day. My dad is a huge footy fanatic so he'll be at footy tomorrow and dp works. Will probably be going out for lunch with mum and her friend.

my_lot
01-09-2007, 06:34 PM
hi everyone

i want to run something past you all..about the wedding.

i spoke to all our guests with children long before invites were sent out and asked them to keep the date free and try to get their own babysitters and to get back to me when invites went out and let me know if theyd need our babysitter we were using for interstate kids....

i have a friend with an on again off again kinda relationship so i asked her a few times if her dp was coming..after a few yes he is no he isnt i said id keep the spot for him and would just need to confirn it soon for table settings and seats on the bus ect..

so in one breath she tells me he cant and she will ask her friend insted is that ok seen as though ive kept two spots for her..she wouldnt feel ok going on her own bla bla

being me i said ok sure... only thing i was p!ssed about was her saying "well now im coming with "friend" i wont be able to help on the night. (id asked her to do something with dd)

so she starts to organise it with "friend" as she will also need a babysitter (she was the babysitter for my friends kids!) in conversation she tells me shed rather go with someone than on her own, she just wouldnt like going without her dp and this was good as "friend" and her are going out on the town straight after it as they will be close by to where they never go because of transport, and shes so looking forward to a big night out with no kids, hitting the clubs.

you know, i normaly never feel like this, dp is even surprised at my attitude with this...

Dp says its fine he doesnt mind her bringing a friend neither do i really, if that will make her more comfy when shes around couples then i understand but really its not like shed know no-one on the night she will actually know quite a few. i am really hurt that shes talking about this like its food and drinks (she asked if we were having a bar tab) before a big night out..she doesnt even talk to me about the actual wedding, the planning nothing. just how excited she is about her night out...i dont even know this chick shes invited.

thoughts please...

juzzy
01-09-2007, 06:42 PM
Kay i guess i would feel kinda put out that she is more thinking about herself and how she can benefit from your big day rather than being excited for you and everything seeing as it is your wedding.

Personally dont know how i would deal with it... so really i guess i havent been very helpful at all. :o

Id still ask her to keep her commitment to your DD however, especially if it was something to do with the wedding that needed to be done. Just because she is having a friend to the wedding doesnt mean she cant help out.

Am i making any sense at all or am i rambling?

If she is a close friend you could always tell her that you are a little bit annoyed at her casual attitude towards your big day?

Purplebird
01-09-2007, 08:55 PM
Kay I would be p!ssed off and hurt if a friend did that to me. Fair enough to ask to bring someone else instead of her DP, I suppose, but as you say it's not as if she won't know anyone there. But to let you down on what she promised to do and to treat the whole thing so lightly? Your wedding is all about you and your family, not her having a big night out. Sorry, don't have any advice but I feel indignant on your behalf!

Leashie - that spag bol vid is amazing huh? I can't claim the credit for it though - I haven't been brave enough to try that yet. It's someone else's blog. I think we'd have to redecorate if we did that, lol. On a completely different topic.. the female circumcision subject makes me sooo angry...

Hope everyone's having a good weekend :D

Roopee
01-09-2007, 10:29 PM
Kay- i would be more than p!ssed! How rude!!!

So what? YOU get to fund her "pre- night out" with her friend before she heads off for some "real" fun?? WTF?
Its a wedding she's going to- YOUR wedding. I would tell her that a wedding is a time to celebrate with family and friends and seeing as you dont know her friend, then he's not invited.
Just because the person that the invite was intended for isn't able to go- doesn't mean she needs to bring a substitute. Thats incredibly rude and i think your feeling s are valid as h3ll.

Not doing much tomorrow. Might head down t the beach for some surfing and sandboarding and picnic lunch hen come home for an afternoon siesta!:yelclap:

mumslilspunks
02-09-2007, 09:38 AM
Kay- how rude!! I would be pi**ed off aswell.
Fathers day- Well DH (not dear) came home yesterday all hungover and with a case of the sh*ts so yesterday was cr@p. After being away all week i thought he might be a little excited to see the boys but no. He spends the afternoon in bed... WTF
This morning he cracks it ( because after me getting up to both boys last night and all week) i asked him to get up to put Billys dummy in. MY GOd it was like i was asking him to scrub the toilet. I got the biggest lecture on how he's been working all week......
So now he's gone for a ride on his Harley and im home with the boys, alone, fior "fathers day"
Sorry ladies im just so furious at how selfish this man is..........:banghead: :banghead:
Hope everyone elese is enjoying there fathers day :o :)

mandi24
02-09-2007, 11:17 AM

Well its a beautiful sunny day here just been out for a long walk with the dogs. Going out for lunch with mum and her friend soon.

Dp is at work all day won't be home till about 5. Dp used to do night shifts but has just recently started doing days as he got a promotion so i'm still trying to get used to him being at work through the day and at home at night.

Having roast chicken for dinner tonight yummy.

Well better get going need to get lochy ready to go out.

my_lot
02-09-2007, 06:22 PM
hi everyone, had a good fathers day?

oh and a BIG happy fathers day to Teagan!

we had a good day, the kids lost at hockey but it was a lot of fun!

the ice skating was a lot of fun for everyone on the rink (say no more, TAN, i know you know what i mean!)

then the kids went to the beach with Dp while i did some more crafty things for the wedding.

what did everyone else do?

juzzy
02-09-2007, 06:32 PM
for fathers day today DP, Cassidy and i went out for breakfast (well more like lunch it was midday when we ended up eating).

Then DPs parents came over, Cassidy cried whenever his mum or dad got anywhere near her. So she spent the whole time with me.

When they left and Cassidy had gone down for a nap, DP watched dvds on the couch in the lounge while i went and slept all afternoon! LOL i have only been awake for about 10 mins now.

i dunno what is wrong with me but i feel totally buggered and all i wanna do is sleep! :sleeping:

Anyway time for some dinner im hungry!

TysonsMummy
02-09-2007, 06:45 PM
Hi girls! Just thought I'd introduce myself, I'm a Feb mum too! DS was born on the 8th and we live in Melbourne. :wave:

blubber
02-09-2007, 07:27 PM
I can't believe we played scrabble here last night!!

Good Fathers day, lunch with family, Dh stayed in bed, (because he usually gets up first).

SuperFrog
02-09-2007, 08:16 PM
Hiya LibbyG! Welcome aboard the craziness that is the Fab Feb Mummas!

We've had a busy few days and most of our new floor has been laid, and I am currently sitting on the couch in our new lounge room! :smiliedance:

Here is a pic of our new lounge room (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/House%20pics/IMGP2045.jpg) taken this morning (ignore the mess outside that you can see out the windows). Isn't quite finished yet and still need to move some things into it. Yes, that is me in my dressing gown on the couch (lucky you can only see the back of my head), and I do believe that is Bub Hub on my laptop. :D

And of course I had to take a pic of Liam (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Liam/September%2007/IMGP2033.jpg) while the camera was out.

It is so nice to have some space again. Now I need to start tidying up our old lounge room and our spare room... so much stuff has accumulated in there over the past few weeks.

Blubber - Must be something wordy in the air... I was playing Scrabble with my family on Friday night, and on-line Scrabble last night with Penny. Party hard! :thumbsup:

Roopee
02-09-2007, 09:07 PM
LibbyG- big welcome to you:wave:. Glad you could join us!!

Kay- lol- i know what you are talking about- bummer the kids lost the game though.

Our day today was great! Such a nice day, weather wise, so took off to the beach, came home fed the kids dinner and put them to bed at 6.30:eek: where they fell asleep within 5 mins. BLISS!

Mon- your lounge room looks great!

juz- are you sure your not preggers? Hmm sounds like it to me mate!!

ren- your dh sounds like he could be in big trouble with you- and rightfully so!
Have a great night everyone!!

juzzy
02-09-2007, 09:27 PM
juz- are you sure your not preggers? Hmm sounds like it to me mate!!

LOL i am damn sure! Would make sense however.

Mon love the pic of your lounge!

Ren Men totally suck. Enough said.

LibbyG Welcome! :wave:

Anyway, time for bed for me.

my_lot
02-09-2007, 09:34 PM
ive uploaded the pics and videos from today...i wont bore you with 100 pics of my kids at hockey...

Eli showed signs of a star (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/100_5879.jpg) in the making...

checking out the glove (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/100_5877.jpg) with interest...

but no.... it was just the tags he wanted! (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/100_5878.jpg)

daddy is keen to get the skates on him as soon as he can walk... heres the other little guy (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/100_5871.jpg) strutin' his stuff.

cant believe i can wrap pics now...after so long!

my_lot
02-09-2007, 09:46 PM
tans been looking up wedding games for me and ive just had a look..

Human Musical Chairs

This game is lots of fun. The men line up side by side and kneel on one leg and the women walk around them.

Just like musical chairs, when the music stops, the women find the nearest knee on a man and sit. The winner of course is the last man and woman on his knee. This is fun. Think of a very full figured woman flopping on the knee of a 140lb man. Also, if a man drops the woman during the game or if she falls on her own, both are out.

OMG can you imagine a whole buncha drunks doing this one!! too funnt. i love it! :devil6:

mummybunny
03-09-2007, 07:53 AM
hello girls,sorry i havent been around we have had so much on our plate atm... Riley is crawling and he is getting into everything so we are trying really hard to keep him out of things while we get all set up (boy i wish we had done this earlier ) well he has been going for almost 2 weeks now its so great to see him going, and now he is trying to pull himself up on things to OMG what am i going to do he will be walking in no time at all...who else has crawling babies??and we have also been organising our wedding... we are getting married september next year and omg i never realised how much you have to do to get a wedding ready lol here i am thinking ow we have plenty of time ha yeah right...so how is everyone?? ive missed to much i bet, im sorry ill try pop in a lot more...anyways Riley is off again so i better go catch him.. have a great day all...xox :) Kim

my_lot
03-09-2007, 08:48 AM
hi kim- im getting married in 3 weeks!:eek:

eli isnt crawling and Thank gawd for that! we still have to put in some more of those metal gates and fix the balcony door and railings.

juz you are winning my little race!

so far...

juz
juz
mon
mon
juz
juz

juzzy
03-09-2007, 09:16 AM
LOL well now you can add another one to that race Kay!

Big thanks to Tan received my nappies this morning, i will take some photos later!! Ohhhh im so excited!

Not much happening here.... going to do the grocery shopping a little later but not much else after that!

Must go Cassidy is cranky

mandi24
03-09-2007, 09:30 AM
Good morning girls

Welcome to our group LibbyG

Well my little man said his first word yesterday (well actually 2 words). He said mum ma and bub bub. It was so exciting. Now he says it non stop.

Well i just made an appointment for Lochy's 6-8 checkup which will be at the start of October so i'll have some stats then. He is a big boy so i think he'll outdo all the bubs on here.

Mon - your lounge room looks really good

Well the day isn't as nice as what it has been still not to bad. Got a bit of ironing to do. Hopefully will get out for a walk sometime today.

Purplebird
03-09-2007, 10:23 AM
Hey all,

Kim Go Riley! No crawling here yet thank goodness but we have had the up on all fours rocking back and forth thing, so it won't be long now. We also have heaps of babyproofing left to do...better get a move on I guess! Good luck with your wedding organising, I remember what hard work it is.

Kay - great piccies as ever. Love the sound of the human musical chairs game! :thumbsup: You so have to take loads of video footage of everything!

Ren - I hope DH has at least made some ammends for his behaviour.

Mon - your lounge looks fab. I'm also a fan of scrabble and admit to playing it quite often!! Oooh wild and crazy times! :)

We had a great Father's Day (well DH did anyway!). He got a huge fry up brekkie in bed and then we went out for the day to the Dandenongs. Very nice and relaxing. My back and neck are still really sore so I'm off to the osteopath tonight.

I got loads of scrapbooking done at the weekend so I'm rather pleased with myself. I'm off to buy more supplies today. This, along with the cloth nappy obsession, is becoming another expensive hobby!

Eloise only woke once last night at 2 am - that is her absolute all time record so I think DH's and my hard work is paying off now, we must finally be doing something right, thanks to the Baby Whisperer book. I had to get up at 5.30 though as my boobs were gushing!! I have also put her down for a sleep in her cot this morning and she's still asleep 1.5 hours later - this is another absolute world record from the baby who usually takes 30-40 minute naps after I've fed her off. Not sure what to do with myself...I'm not used to having so much 'me' time during the day. Can't be bothered with the housework and I can't ramble here all day (well I could but you'll all loose the will to live!)sooo I guess it's more internet shopping :laughing:

Anyone know where to get the embroidered Berry Plushes??????

Purplebird
03-09-2007, 10:24 AM
Sorry LibbyG - welcome!! :wave:

SuperFrog
03-09-2007, 12:32 PM
juz you are winning my little race!

so far...

juz
juz
mon
mon
juz
juz

Wait, I am so lost. I'm part of a race and I have no idea what on Earth it is!

Your wedding is getting close now! Anything we can do for you?

Hannah - Yay for Eloise! Liam is having longer sleeps during the day now. I'm letting him cry if he wakes during the night, and he usually falls asleep in 10 minutes or less. Not sure if that's what made the difference.

Aaaahhhhhh, gotta go rescue my washing from the rain!

TysonsMummy
03-09-2007, 01:26 PM
Thanks for being so welcoming everyone! I'll pop in to say hi when ever I get the chance. I'm doing my DH's filing for tax time (well, I'm supposed to be doing it when DS has his naps, but as you can see I'm being naughty now and not doing it.... but I will just as soon as I've posted....I promise)

Mummybunny - yes, we have a crawler here, started last Thursday (damn, now we have to baby proof the apartment!). He has been doing a commando crawl for at least a month already, dragging himself by his forearms, but the proper crawl is what he started Thursday. He also woke only once for a feed the last two nights :smiliedance: (as opposed to every 2 hours for the last few weeks :eek:). I wonder if the frequent waking was due to the fact that he was about to crawl :detective:. I remember reading on a Dr Sears website that they start waking often in the night when they are about to do something big developmentally. Whatever the case I was very happy to get a few hours sleep in a row for a change :yes:

bAaM
03-09-2007, 01:27 PM
Hello Ladies,

We had a great day yesterday I cooked DP and my dad breaky which we didn't have till about 10:30 then We had friends come over for a BBQ and few drinks last night it was alot of fun and i got a little p!ssed and passed out on DP.

I have some pics
Marissa helping daddy open his presents (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/Photos041.jpg)
And another (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/Photos042.jpg)

Marissa jumping on the tramp with andrew (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/Photos043.jpg)

sitting nudie (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/Photos033.jpg)

Do you guys remember my friend that had her little boy that was three months younger then marissa we
look at this.... (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/Photos015.jpg)
he weighs 8.6kgs

And while i'm doing pics
Marissa loving the sippy cup (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/Photos027.jpg)
My babys (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/Photos001.jpg)
Andrew loves his sis (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/Photos006.jpg)

If you got through all them than congrats and thanks for looking.

I have put bub in the high chair next to me cause she wouldn't sleep up stairs and look....... (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/Photos.jpg)

Ok enough pics from me hehehehe

SuperFrog
03-09-2007, 01:40 PM
I got through all of them! Marissa and Andrew hugging... sooooooo cute!

bAaM
03-09-2007, 01:44 PM
Got so rapped up in pics forgot the personals.

Ren men can real a$$ holes sometimes:hugs:

Kay love the pics and of cause he was looking for the tags there so much more exciting and prob taste better.

Juz i was thinking the same as Tan, are u 100% sure your not?:detective:

Welcome Libby
Another one from Melbourne where are all the Brissy mums there can't only be 3 or 4 of us.

Has any one heard from Lauren I hope she and Jack are OK. It's not like her to stay away so long getting a little worried.

Anyway off to do some house work after the cyclone hit yesterday.

Have a good one girls, talk later

Alicia
xxxxx

juzzy
03-09-2007, 01:51 PM
Juz i was thinking the same as Tan, are u 100% sure your not?:detective:

Well i am about 99.99% sure that i am not. Meant to pick up a test while i was out shopping but it slipped my mind cause Cassidy was crying at everyone that came within 10 feet of her.

Its highly unlikely however. AF hasnt returned or anything yet so unless i fluked it, got the timing absolutely perfect and got it on the first cycle, i doubt that i am.

Would explain me being dead on my feet all the time. And the headaches. But not having the same symptoms as i did with Cassidy....

Anyway, i tested about a month ago now and it was negative.

Oh and leashie i think there is something wrong with the links for your pics now as i cant view them :detective:

juzzy
03-09-2007, 01:52 PM
Oh and welcome back kim :wave:

I hope Riley is well

bAaM
03-09-2007, 02:04 PM
There you go Juz it was cause i mover them to a different album in photo bucket

juzzy
03-09-2007, 02:13 PM
:thumbsup: thanks!!

Awwwww Marissa is such a cutie!

I put Cassidy in the highchair during the day as she likes to watch what i am doing and she often falls asleep in it! So cute! But then the poor bugger wakes up and if im not nearby will start crying!

SuperFrog
03-09-2007, 02:50 PM
Hey Juz, your last post was #1500!

I heard from Lauren over the weekend. Jack is still sick and I think she is really tired, but okay... she's taking a mini-break from bubhub for a little bit and concentrating on her family I think.

Where did the warm sunny Melbourne weather go? :snow:

juzzy
03-09-2007, 04:38 PM
Hey Juz, your last post was #1500!

See now that is proof that i have no life!!

Going down to Rye tonight to have dinner with DPs sister. Should be getting ready to go but cant really be bothered. Feel like going to bed for a nanna nap... hehe

Here (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000851.jpg)is a pic in the Berry Plush MCN that Tan sent down for me... :hugs:

mummybunny
03-09-2007, 06:22 PM
All these phots girls are great im loving it i wish i could work it all out... Riley and his crawling omg i wish we had of though of the baby proofing sooner... its amazing how quickly they start getting into things isnt it...thanks for the wedding wishes and good luck with yours my_lot its so exciting isnt it, have you got everything you need ??Riley is saying mum and bub now too and its so cute...oh girls i wish i could stay but Riley has decided he wants to stay up and be naughty and break my house...anyways ill be back i promise...

LMenz
03-09-2007, 06:53 PM
Hi Ladies :wave:

Hope everyone is well?

We're ok here....just needed a bit of a break. Thanks to everyone for thinking of me and little Jack. He's still sick but seemed a bit better today. Were off to the doc's again tomorrow for another check up (his ears)

I caught Jack's boy germs and I'm feeling pretty crapola tonight.

My big news is my best friend had her baby last Thursday night at 8.08pm:smiliedance: Baby Girl Ella 7lbs 14oz. She's gorgeous! Check her out here (http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u299/lmenz/IMG_0003.jpg)...only 2 days old.

Both mum and bub are doing well and leaving hospital in the morning. I'm so so happy for them all. It brought back alot of wonderful memories from Jack's birth and dare I say it I even got a bit clucky when I was having a cuddle. I can't wait for Jack to meet her - he had to stay home as he is so sick.

I'll try and catch up on everything in the morning ...off to bed now. Night All

LMenz
03-09-2007, 07:18 PM
Lauren - Please send my congrats to Jacinta, I hope she remembers me. Did she end up going early? and did she have a straight forward VB?

I will..thanks Hels. She does remember you! She's always asking after Reece and Coen.

She started having some very mild contractions on and off on Wednesday. Thursday they had gotten a bit stronger so she went in for a check up in the morning. She was 1cm so they broke her waters hoping it would speed things up - it didn't so they put her on the syntocin drip. She eventually had an epidural but it didn't work :eek: She got to 8cm and bub turned posterior..OB decided a c-section would be the best outcome. I visited her on Saturday and she was doing great, walking around lots (I believe the painkillers she's on are excellent!)

All the best for your appointment tomorrow :)

ETA: She went 4 days early...I hope she doesn't mind me telling her birth story on here lol

bAaM
03-09-2007, 07:20 PM
oooohhh Lauren she is so cute

*you don't want another Alicia So keep your legs closed*

Good to hear you and Jack are ok i was getting a little worried.

Good luck tomorrow hels

my_lot
03-09-2007, 09:06 PM
i just want to win one point

haha juz

bAaM
03-09-2007, 09:18 PM
????????
what are you on about Kay? Did i miss something:o

ziggy29
03-09-2007, 09:37 PM
I think the game is - anyone who gets a post ending in zero gets a point. is that right kay?

mummybunny - you have really got me thinking about baby proofing the house asap. lily is still a long way of crawling yet - but it could all happen much quicker that i expect.

what baby proofing has everyone done or plan to do?

does anyone use a bath seat (for bub) ? are they good? will it be something that i will get good use out of or will lily be too old for one soon anyway?

we had good fun at the wedding. drank quite a bit and stayed out dancing till 3am. we therefore had quite a quite fathers day (as quiet as you can with a baby that is). so its back on the wagon for me now.

bAaM
03-09-2007, 09:49 PM
ahhhhh thanks sharon i'm a little slow these days lol i just missed it by one post

Check out my new avater :D Thanks Penny

my_lot
03-09-2007, 09:59 PM
Eli on the move!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3oGXGuvfaS4

bAaM
03-09-2007, 10:13 PM
hahahahahahhahahahahhahahaha

That hilarious love the way he just casually fell over.

How long is Eli he looks like he will be tall?

my_lot
03-09-2007, 10:28 PM
i wouldnt have a clue how tall he is but that outfit he has on is a bond from big w.

i just got the other day and its a size 1. either its not very long in the body or hes very tall- his nappy (sposie) was hanging out one side when we put him down after getting home. in the vid he has no nappy on so it looks a better fit.

yeah fancy getting pushed over by a little puppy! Eli might just get his back by the end of the week..poor little puppy is getting his bits cut...another male in my house to get desexed!! i was explaining to ds5yr old about the pups operation.

i said- "they will cut his testicles open and cut a little tube and then put it back in and put a little stitch in the skin its alright no big deal" "would you like to come to the vets with me to drop him off?"

he looked at me like this :eek: :eek: bending over holding his front he said "no way! they are not going to cut my penis off!" :laughing:

what is it with males? they dont listen and anything to do with their bits is off limits, cant even think about it or hear whats being said :laughing:

bAaM
03-09-2007, 10:35 PM
:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

bAaM
03-09-2007, 11:40 PM
PMSL tell your boy they only do that to boys that use it before there married.
Hasn't your puppy grow since you got him.
I will have to try a figure out the Utube thing.

Can u do it without a sound card in your comp?

bAaM
03-09-2007, 11:41 PM
multiple post coming .......... cause i want to win

bAaM
03-09-2007, 11:41 PM
hehehe I win the 100th post :yes: :yelclap: :smiliedance:

ziggy29
04-09-2007, 08:46 AM
we have a toooooooth!!

bAaM
04-09-2007, 10:31 AM
:smiliedance: yay for Lily.
How is she, is she unsettled?

mummybunny
04-09-2007, 11:24 AM
ziggy29 we have a toooooooth!! oh how exciting i remember Rileys first theeth (he got 2 at once) they split threw the gum on my mums birthday... its so exciting...

harleyq
04-09-2007, 11:58 AM
Mon - the room has come up fantastically... it has come such a long way since l saw it - you and DH must be wrapped with it!

Online scrabble???? where where... tell me more! I have been playing a bit of scrabble lately too... but l need more... give me give me!!!
Sharon - l haven't done any baby proofing yet, but really had better get a move on - Coen is starting to get around a bit now... oh and as for the bath seat... l had one that l used to use when he was younger... the bath that l have now has a moulded place for him to sit... l wouldn't think it would be worth investing in one at this stage though...

Coen rarely sleeps longer than 40 minutes, and now because we have mothers group to go too he is asleep... almost an hour now... he could be going in for one of his 2 hour marathons... but l won't wake him - l'd rather he sleep frankly!!!

I'm all ready to go when he wakes up!

Oh big news... Coen's two bottom teeth have come through - they look funny there... they take up more than half of his bottom gum l reckon!!!

Coen has been waking once during the night this last week or so... (maybe two???) l'm not sure if it is hunger, teething or cos he still has a bit of a blocked nose... or as somebody else mentioned because of some developmental leap he is about to make... in either case now that the teeth have popped through, l am feeding him more solids and l will try a dream feed tonight (it worked two nights ago) - hopefully we can go back to sleeping through again!

Other than that everything is going well here... I am feeling a bit under the weather, but nothing too serious... hope everyone is doing well!

SuperFrog
04-09-2007, 03:17 PM
Sounds like there are lots of bubs crawling around with teeth. None of that here yet!

Liam, the predictable 40-minute napper, is starting to nap for longer! :smiliedance: His cold has gone now and last night was the first night in ages that he slept all the way through without waking up once. (Me on the other hand was worried by the silence and had to check him a few times!) This morning he slept for 2.5 hours, and he is now down for another nap. I'd much prefer two long sleeps than three or four short naps.

Well, must keep tidying up stuff. Who knows how long he will sleep for.

juzzy
04-09-2007, 03:30 PM
No teeth or crawling yet with Cassi either. Congrats to those who are reaching those milestones however, every exciting.

Cassi has cried for most of today, not too sure what the real problem is though. Her cheeks were red hot all morning so could be teething. Some panadol solved that.

We had to cut her nap short yesterday afternoon to take her down to DPs parents for dinner. Maybe that has something to do with it. She only had 2 hours sleep rather than 4.

Poor girl. Here is a photo of her asleep on the couch.

Snoozin' (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000853.jpg)

Received my snapfish book today and am very happy with how it turned out. Looks like i have found a present for the grandparents for this christmas.

Anyway, best be off, have some more housework to do and might get a head start on dinner.

juzzy
04-09-2007, 03:31 PM
Great news Hels!! How exciting!

harleyq
04-09-2007, 03:47 PM
I crept into Coen's room before and made a little bit of noise, as soon as he stirred l got him up - probably not the best of things to do - but l wanted to go to mothers group... any other time l would have happily let him sleep...
He is asleep again now though... for some reason he has been really easy to put down today (touch wood touch wood) but l am guessing it is just a fluke - l would love to think he is returning to his old self but l dare not hope for that! (I forgot to mention that two out of the three times l have put him to sleep today l have put him to sleep on his tummy - l think this will be our new thing!!! He seems to sleep longer on his tummy - and l am getting over my phobia about it now).

Great news about the appointment today Hels.
I just pigged out on BBQ shapes and now l feel :barf:! Hope everyone is having a good day!

Lastly, l am going to either order some things from Mothers Direct (ABA website) or go pick them up - if anybody wants anything PM me and l will get them for you (l can post them to you if your not in Melb.) - there are some great all over bibs (like smocks) which would be very handy for the bubs who are feeding themselves (see puddlewear on the website)... they charge a bit for postage so its probably better if we consolidate - and l get a 10% discount as a member!

SuperFrog
04-09-2007, 03:48 PM
Great news Hels! If you guys can't conceive, can I assume that you are on the pill for non-baby-related reasons?

I can understand how that would have made you feel awkward in the waiting room. I know how jealous I felt when I was in the maternity ward for a week for my gestational diabetes. All these mums and babies, but no baby for me yet. But I knew mine was coming in a few weeks, so it isn't even comparable really.

Okay, I got side-tracked and am not utilising Liam's sleep time effectively. Should get moving... he'll be awake in minutes I reckon!

SuperFrog
04-09-2007, 03:50 PM
I just pigged out on BBQ shapes and now l feel :barf:! Hope everyone is having a good day!

BBQ Shapes blah is probably better than the Cheetos Cheese and Bacon Balls blah that I am currently feeling. I should have eaten a tub of yoghurt instead, but they were just sitting there begging me to eat them.

harleyq
04-09-2007, 04:03 PM
I tried to have some yoghurt yesterday
when l was hungry... and it was off!!!! Talk about :barf:... LOL, l am laughing cos l made my DH taste it too just in case.... PMSL - he wasn't impressed!!! I am evil aren't l??? It was within its use by date -so l sent them an e-mail and had a whine about it!!!!

Oops l have been doing everything but what l am supposed to be doing... and now my munchkin is stirring

mumofmonkey
04-09-2007, 06:06 PM
:wave: hi all, hope you are all well.
here is an update on Eliza: wont be long and she will be crawling she is doing the bum up in the air thing and trying to move, she can get backwards so shouldn't be long before she can move forward, i cant keep her socks on (little ratbag likes to eat her toes)
i also think she is cutting teeth she has been dribbling so much the last couple of days, chewing on everything and isnt drinking as much as she normally does and she also had a bit of nappy rash.
have to go she is crying, talk soon :hugs:

icugal
04-09-2007, 06:21 PM
Kaelan is cutting his second tooth already !! It's only a week since the first tooth made it's appearance. He was really chompy today like he was before his first tooth came through, so I had a look in his mouth, and lo and behold, there was another one... so excited !!

Hels - a big yay for the outcome of your appointment... and I wouldn't worry about taking Reece into the waiting room... if anything, you've probably provided these other couples some hope that they too can have a baby !!

No other personals at the moment, I have to get a certain red-headed terror ready for bed :D

Purplebird
04-09-2007, 07:22 PM
hello, hello :wave:

Welcome back Lauren, glad you're ok apart from your cold, hope you feel better soon. Ella is absolutely gorgeous. Oh my gosh I'm so clucky!

Hels - how exciting for you - best of luck with the ivf.

Lovely pics everyone - am I the only one who hasn't worked out how to change the photobucket link into a different word? :laughing:

We're still improving on the sleep front at night - E is waking up only twice now and last night I dropped one of her feeds (the 4 am one) which was just a quick suck anyway! It took ages to settle her but i did it :smiliedance: Small triumphs huh?!

bAaM
04-09-2007, 07:48 PM
Chats open......

blubber
04-09-2007, 08:31 PM
I am being asked to put my password in to even enter chat?

Can't remember it!!!!...oops

bAaM
04-09-2007, 08:39 PM
Brissy "BH Girls night in" have a look and come for a meet up.

Girls night (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=117257)

ziggy29
04-09-2007, 08:40 PM
looks like chat is a no go for me. the rain is interfereing with the internet connection i think. talk soon

bAaM
04-09-2007, 08:47 PM
I tried to make a fitted nappie today as a test cause i have brought a DIY kit from hels (Thanks hels) and don't want to stuff it up.

Its not the best but i only learnt how to sew 2 weeks ago so its a

learner nappy (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/DIY001.jpg)
Dodgy home made nappy (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/DIY002.jpg)

I mad it with 2 terry flats and made a booster that i have sewn in.

Let me no what you think and be honest:p

harleyq
05-09-2007, 06:54 AM
Morning everyone... when will Coen's runny nose end??? I am convinced it is waking him up, he sounds terrible, and l have snot everywhere (including on me during feeds (thanks for the heads up))!
Other than that everything is going fine.
How much is everybody's bubs eating? Coen is getting through 1/2 a cup at each meal (3 a day) quite easily now - l am loathe to increase it though as l don't want his breastfeeds to go down any more than they have already...

my_lot
05-09-2007, 06:55 AM
morning everyone!

my little bubba slept through the night!!
he is getting better, cold is almost gone. im worried sick to get him vaxd again! we will be waiting another two weeks at least so may as well wait til after the wedding.

oh the fun of the wedding..

**wedding vent coming**

dp and i are at each other over where people will stay/sleep. we have booked 2 cabins (5 beds each) and also have 2 queen beds, one double fouton lounge and 4 single beds (and a trundle) and a toddler bed and the cot!! youd think we could work it out ? but no... dp thinks his brother should have the downstairs room (lounge, bedroom, bathroom, queen bed, single & trundle) to himself. my suggestion was he sleep in the single bed for one night so my relatives (couple) could sleep in the queen bed. he says thats not the right way to do things, it should be blokes in one room WTF. we are having his brother here for four (looong) weeks youd think itd be ok for one night!

thanks tan for those PMs. i will use those ideas! i think the poem is a great one.

anyone else got any ideas to get the guests involved in the wedding?

leashie- fantastic!! good on you!! what does it do up with? velcro?

Eli on the move! (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OZURjLoDEMk)

Puppy and Eli (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0yM1GK9HF-s)

harleyq
05-09-2007, 07:37 AM
Go Eli!!! Wow Kay he is getting around really well - is Eli tall? He looks really long in that video.

JoJoMart
05-09-2007, 08:28 AM
Kay - I remember all of those 'wedding dramas'! Good luck. It all works out in the end and I agree with you, your DP's brother doesn't need all that room to himself!

Sandy - Liam's had a cold and has also had a runny nose.....I've used the Fess drops a few times and he's getting better, but what a pain! When he's on his tum it dribbles out everywhere. You are doing really well with solids for Coen! Liam barely opens his mouth. Any tips on how to get him interested? I've tried half an hour after a feed or an hour after a feed......tried morning and afternoon feeds and tried Farex, pumpkin and pear........he ate some of the Farex originally, tasted a bit of pumpkin and pear but no more than one taste and barely half a teaspoon.

Our Mothers Group are having a BBQ today so better go and get organised. I have no idea who's bringing what!

Roopee
05-09-2007, 10:05 AM
leashie- that nappy looks great! you did a good job!

Harley- i hope Coen's nose clears up soon- its not nice is it! Cody has one too and i am feeling a lot like the human tissue.:yes:

Kay- Those vids are fantastic! Eli is off and flying!
I loved the dog one! Cracked me right up! Cody was sitting on my lap cracking up too!
Re the wedding dramas! If your BIL needs all that room to himself-point him in the direction of the nearest hotel! Im sorry but thats absurd to put him in with all that space when he doesn't need it!
No worries re- the games! There were literally thousands and thousands to trawl thru- if you need anymore let me know!
ETA- yay to Eli for thesleep- you must feel great!

I have a girls nite out on Saturday night- drinks and dinner and i cant wait!:smiliedance:I'll probably be under the table before 9pm- its been so long!:laughing:

LMenz
05-09-2007, 10:59 AM
Jack ended up in my bed again last night :hair: I've finally bitten the bullet and called a sleep consultant to come to the house. I am praying she can help :fingerscrossed: I've reached breaking point..it took 2 hours this morning to get him down - I must be doing something wrong

Great news Kay, that Eli slept thru! You certainly deserve the break

juzzy
05-09-2007, 11:02 AM
hmmm its midday and i am still in my pyjamas! LOL nice day i should go out and do something.

Cassi is asleep in the highchair so maybe not.

She woke up at 5am this morning, so not impressed, but she doesnt do it very much so i cant complain. She was then asleep from 6am until 9am so at least i got to go back to bed.

I have no idea why but Cassi has been an incredible grump for the last few days. She wont let me out of her sight when she is awake and will cry at the drop of a hat. She usually is ok with strangers as well, or even members of the extended family that she doesnt see all the time (once a week or something) but lately, anyone besides myself or DP goes near her and she starts to cry. Strange baby.

Anyway need to go hang my washing out and its time for some lunch.

Roopee
05-09-2007, 11:02 AM
Here's some pics of the kids.

Cody- asleep at the beach.

http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w80/roo_pee/DSCN2482.jpg

Baylee- a terror- late night and no day sleep.

http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w80/roo_pee/DSCN2493.jpg

Riley- my sweet little man.

http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w80/roo_pee/DSCN2490.jpg

Cooper- my grown up big boy.

http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w80/roo_pee/DSCN2480.jpg

enjoy!..................

my_lot
05-09-2007, 01:31 PM
funny video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qVdGscojEx0)

mandi24
05-09-2007, 02:01 PM

Well i started wrapping Lochlain of a nite and Monday nite he slept alot longer from 9pm till 4am but last nite he went to bed at 9pm but was up at 12am then 4am then 7am. I didn't think he'd like to be wrapped as he hates having his hands tucked up but he was good. I even put him down in the cot on the first night while he was still awake and he fell asleep by himself. Normally i have to settle him.

Today has been a horrible day. Really windy and raining on and off. Haven't been able to go out for a walk today.

Well anyways got a bit to do this afternoon so better get going.

LMenz
06-09-2007, 06:45 AM
Morning!

Quiet here...what was everyone doing last night? I myself was in bed at 8.30 fast asleep...still feeling quiet sick :gloomy:

Well yesterday after I called the sleep lady Jack settled really well and slept for 1.5 hours :rolleyes: It's always the way.... no doubt he'll be back to his usual tricks soon enough.

He also rolled over to the CD tower yesterday....I had visions of him pulling it on top of himself. My lounge room will never look the same again. He's started getting up on his knees more too so I guess it won't be too much longer and he'll be off

Father's Day went well here. DH liked the calender (http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u299/lmenz/IMG_0016-1.jpg).....

Jack helps with the unwrapping (http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u299/lmenz/IMG_0010.jpg)

The box is always the best bit (http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u299/lmenz/IMG_0016.4.jpg)

Jack's latest party trick (http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u299/lmenz/IMG_0042.12.jpg) :p

Well not much doing today...we have an inspection tomorrow so I guess I better clean up a bit..the house looks like hurrican Jack hit

Hope everyone has a great day!

SuperFrog
06-09-2007, 07:41 AM
Geez, it was quiet here! My parents were over yesterday and stayed for dinner.

Love Jack's latest trick... Liam is working on perfecting that one too :)

Liam is having his belated six-month injections today. Hope it all goes smoothly.

Bought some cushion inserts and some material to make some unique couch cushions as a wedding for next Friday. Apparently their colour-scheme is black & white, so I hope the materials I have chosen are to their liking.

LMenz
06-09-2007, 08:47 AM
Bought some cushion inserts and some material to make some unique couch cushions

I've had this piece of material for ages that I thought would look great as a cushion...hint hint :laughing:

harleyq
06-09-2007, 09:03 AM
What a surprise, l am off for a day and l can catch up quickly Yeah!!!!

Love Jack's new trick, Coen has started doing that too... he actually sucks his big toe just like he does his thumb, its quite funny really!

Liam barely opens his mouth. Any tips on how to get him interested? I've tried half an hour after a feed or an hour after a feed......tried morning and afternoon feeds and tried Farex, pumpkin and pear........he ate some of the Farex originally, tasted a bit of pumpkin and pear but no more than one taste and barely half a teaspoon.
Jo - this isn't the recommended way, but this is how l got Coen interested... l would give him his first dose of booby juice, then first thing after his nap l would give him solids... it would mean a delay in his next booby juice, but l found that that way he was hungry enough to really be intersted... l have only just now changed the routine round where l give him booby juice and an hour or so later solids... the trick is that l wouldn't keep giving him solids until he couldn't eat any more, l'd give him enough so he had a good amount, but so that he would still take more if l offerred it so that he would have a milk meal in an hour or so - does that make sense? Oh and BTW - my son is just a little piggy so don't feel like you are doing anything wrong...

Kay - l loved that video - thanks for sharing. Any ideas on how to convince my hubby that we need a pet???? I sooooooooo miss having animals around - especially dogs

Well yesterday after I called the sleep lady Jack settled really well and slept for 1.5 hours :rolleyes: It's always the way.... no doubt he'll be back to his usual tricks soon enough. So what's the go Lauren - did she make a time to come round??? You watch Jack will be the perfect sleeping little Mr. from now on :D Hope you and Jack are doing better!

JoJoMart
06-09-2007, 09:38 AM
Jo - this isn't the recommended way, but this is how l got Coen interested... l would give him his first dose of booby juice, then first thing after his nap l would give him solids... it would mean a delay in his next booby juice, but l found that that way he was hungry enough to really be intersted... l have only just now changed the routine round where l give him booby juice and an hour or so later solids... the trick is that l wouldn't keep giving him solids until he couldn't eat any more, l'd give him enough so he had a good amount, but so that he would still take more if l offerred it so that he would have a milk meal in an hour or so - does that make sense? Oh and BTW - my son is just a little piggy so don't feel like you are doing anything wrong...

Sandy - thanks heaps for the tips......I might give this a go......after his morning nap (before his 11am feed) try him with some solids then feel him his milk feed. This morning after his 7:30am feed I gave him some pureed pear approx half an hour after he finished his bottle. He seemed more interested than usual......ate approx a tsp but hard to tell as most of it was dripping down his chin! Most of the bubs in my mothers group are howing into their solids so I was wondering what's wrong with Liam! Especially since both DH and I have big appetites!

Lauren - you sound better and that things have improved........I hope Jack sleeps better for you from now on. Liam can be similar to Jack and take ages to settle........sometimes over an hour and then only sleep for half an hour but he's got a bit better lately. I reckon at this age they fight sleep more.

Me - Liam is also rolling all over the place.......is getting up onto his hands and knees :eek: like he's ready to crawl. Will roll himself from one side of the room to the other literally! It's so cute to see him manoevure himself but also means I'm constantly watching him.........have a play pen to place over his play mat when I'm out of the room just in case, but he hates the 'cage'. Our Mothers Group BBQ went well yesterday but only 5 showed up. Had delicious chargrilled vegies, chicken wings and muffins for dessert.........the diet is just not happening at the moment unfortunately. Too many temptations around :shame:

my_lot
06-09-2007, 10:01 AM
jo thants a really sweet pic of liam in your av. he looks very fair haired.

lauren love that toe sucker! love his rolls OMG how cute is that! i have the best pics of dd2 sitting like a buddha at 8 months. her boobs are hanging over her belly and her belly hanging over her legs! she was huge tho. jack and eli have equal rolls i think.

sandy my little pup us breaking the bank, are you sure you want one? we just got him desexed, no big deal i say....he chewed the stitches, lost blood and had to stay in over night!. so $300 odd dollars later he is now on daily drops and is wearing a plastic hood around his head and now hes done i have to get him registered so another $40. hes now shut in the laundry where weve been told he should stay for the next five days as everytime he moves he is making it bleed. he has to go back to the vet at the first sign of major blood loss, day or night, and they will do a blood test as they think his blood condition where it doesnt clot well -first sign of this was his blue balls!! they are swollen, filled with blood. the vet said its the second case of this hes ever seen. just my luck!

eli slept through the night again!

im off to finish up the "wedding day notes" im sending everyone. has, menu, reception and ceremony seating, cameras (weve got a dozen disposable cameras for the tables) guest book and transport details on it. printed onprinted scrapbooking paper with a photo of eli in his tux...only have about 30 to make!

SuperFrog
06-09-2007, 10:06 AM
I've had this piece of material for ages that I thought would look great as a cushion...hint hint :laughing:

Bring it along to the next meet... I'm sure I can do something about that for you :D Cushion covers are easy, although it depends on how you want them to close. I'm going to put some zips in the ones I'm making... haven't done zips for ages though. Will have to research it and refresh my memory. Can't be that hard though... I've done it before so I can do it again!

Jo - Kind of like Sandy said, maybe Liam needs longer after a milk feed before giving him solids. I used to give my Liam solids about half-way between feeds sometimes and it didn't seem to affect his milk appetite.

I've had one of those mornings. Went to lock our new folding doors and realised that the builders have accidentally taken the key with them, and DH has the other one with him at work.

Then I was giving Liam some panadol ready for the vaccinations and he hooked the tablecloth over his foot and pulled the open bottle over. Ended up trying to suck it back up as there wasn't much left in the bottle. :rolleyes:

Went to put the pram in the car and found my cat asleep in it. Kicked him out and loaded it in the car, only to come back and find Astro curled up on Liam's playmat.

And just now, I look across to the coffee table and find my cat with his whole head in my tall glass of milk, trying to get to the milk at the bottom.

Liam is just waking up. That was a micro nap. Hope he sleeps longer this afternoon.

LMenz
06-09-2007, 11:17 AM
So what's the go Lauren - did she make a time to come round??? You watch Jack will be the perfect sleeping little Mr. from now on :D

Yes, tomorrow! and he has been perfect again this morning. Settled on his own and slept for 1.5 hours.....she's going to think I'm a maniac

find my cat with his whole head in my tall glass of milk, trying to get to the milk at the bottom.

:laughing: I can picture it now

lauren love that toe sucker! love his rolls OMG how cute is that!

He is a real chubba....he has man boobs!

I finally got around to uploading a video....click HERE (http://s171.photobucket.com/albums/u299/lmenz/?action=view&current=Jack6.5Months.flv) to see my giggling gertie! (he's laughing at our dog)

juzzy
06-09-2007, 11:44 AM
LOL Lauren that is the cutest video!! I love his laugh!

Cassidy has a fascination with out cats she will start smiling and laughing at them when they come near her! Our younger cat is very friendly and even tolerates Cassi "patting" (grabbing fistfuls of fur) her.

Speaking of cats doing weird things, my younger one is currently curled up in the carseat which is near the front door (had to take it out of DPs car before he went to work this morning). Everytime i go near her she gets out and walks away like she wasnt doing anything wrong... i turn my back and she curls up in there again...

harleyq
06-09-2007, 02:55 PM
What a gorgeous day - caught up with my very pregnant friend (due in 10 days) -- l saw her tummy wobble - God l miss that - l could so be pregnant again (l'm not BTW but l would love the pregnant bit - just not quite ready for the child at the end of it yet)....

It was fun today... although l was supposed to do a heap of stuff and have done....hmmmm about zero of it .... and well l am really busy at the moment... doing ummmm bubhub... well its very important you know!!!

Good luck with the sleeping consultant Lauren!
Mon - loved your day - cracked me up!

Kay - :eek: what drama's, maybe l am not ready for a pet afterall.... but then l see Lauren's video with Jack - and l think Coen is really missing out on that... don't you think that pets give kids a real appreciation for care - by that l mean being careful with other creatures, sharing etc.????

LMenz
06-09-2007, 04:05 PM
Hmmm...Jack slept for almost 2 hours this afternoon. What is going on????? :confused: I bet he does it tomorrow too when the sleep consultant comes. I started wrapping him differently two days ago - like the way Kay demonstrated - I wonder if that's it?

Sandy - I've been meaning to ask you....How did you get on with your boss on Friday? Any good news on the returning to work front?

Juzzy - Jack loves our cats too. He also "pats" by grabbing big fist fulls of fur..so far they are tolerating it quiet well. Perhaps it's because they dont get much attention these days

DH will be home late yet again....I still have lots of cleaning to do :thumbsdown:

mandi24
06-09-2007, 04:12 PM
Good afternoon all

Went to a mothers group this morning. Wasn't to bad the ladies were very nice. Its good to be able to talk to other mums.

The weather is miserable here. Its wet and cold. I hate it :gloomy:

harleyq
06-09-2007, 06:43 PM
thanks for asking Lauren, the meeting got cancelled - l wasn't very happy - it was end of month (so poor timing on my behalf) - but l was still a bit annoyed - l had worked myself up - and DH had taken the day off to look after Coen - only to have him cancel at around 9am - lucky l got the e-mail before l left - l was just walking out the door and thought l had better check before l leave...

Coen slept a total of 90 minutes today - he was pretty good considering - but l hope that doesn't mean he is going to have a fretful night sleep...

Went to rhyme time at the local library today - it was really good - Coen really liked it!

my_lot
06-09-2007, 08:02 PM
where is everyone

blubber
06-09-2007, 08:25 PM
Short but sweet sorry..

KAY can you post how you wrap again...

Going to chat now..

juzzy
06-09-2007, 08:33 PM
hmm guessing its going to be a quiet night in chat

blubber
06-09-2007, 08:36 PM
Don't want to ignore eveyone but feel like i need to post about what Elly is up too in the event there is some advice.

She slept for 5 nights, no dummy going to bed awake to waking 4-5 times a night.
She as a not so marvelous ritual of waking at 5am..

The otherthing is she so does not want her bottle after her arvo sleep. I think we are down to 3 feeds a day. Is that nornal?, common.

It is really the night time waking that is causing the sh*t ATM.

Took the girls for photos today, it was heaps of fun and they will surely win the best bub/toddler competition.

MA & PA have been here for two weeks but that is an essay in itself!!!

Purplebird
06-09-2007, 09:19 PM
Hey Blubber - I don't know much, but my only thought is teething? Sorry - probably not very helpful :)

Lauren - good luck with the sleep consultant, it will be really interesting to know how you go.

Juzzy - Eloise also loves to 'pat' our cats (grab their fur), it's so cute.

We've had a very nice day today. DH took another sickie so I got to have 'me' time - blissful!

I'm not going into chat as I've just got home from a 'craft night'. It was good - very relaxing and I got to try my hand at felting..very therapeutic especially as you use a sharp needle and do lots of stabbing :laughing:

I wonder if we will get the usual wake up time of 4 am :rolleyes:

icugal
06-09-2007, 11:03 PM
Oh sh!t... I completely forgot about the chat tonight.

At the moment, I'm in Wodonga staying with my parents for a couple of days.. but heading back to Melbourne tomorrow afternoon. This is the first time that I've been away with Kaelan by myself as DF had to stay home to work... but I guess it's been pretty good really, because my mother has been looking after K most of the time so it's given me the opportunity to catch up with friends.

Today I went to my old hairdressers and got my hair cut and coloured. My hair is now considerably shorter than what it was and I got some blonde foils done. I also got some bright red/purple foils done underneath at the back (nape area)... so you can only see them if I turn my head or put put my hair up... I always wanted purple in my hair... a dream come true !!! I *so* needed a makeover (been looking pretty bloody frumpy since K made his arrival).. so it feels really nice to look half-decent again.

Tonight I went out cruising with an old friend of mine (K was at home asleep with my mother)... he took me around to all the new development areas in Albury-Wodonga (and there are HEAPS... this place is changing so much).. we also took a drive along the length of the new Albury By-Pass (which I had previously only walked along during the opening ceremony, five weeks after my caesar... but had never driven on). We also went out for coffee and while ordering a muffin, my friend said something to me about my birthday (which isn't for another week or so)... the waitress obviously heard this, so when she brought the muffin to our table, she had written "Happy B'Day" in chocolate sauce on the plate... it was so cool !! I took a photo of it with my phone, but I don't have the means to show you guys until after I get back to Melbourne. Driving around Albury with my friend and without Kaelan in the car made me almost feel like I was 18 again... ah, those were the days !!!

Lauren - Love the pics and the video of Jack. I still can't get over how much he looks like you !! Good luck with the sleeping consultant.

Mon - Hope Liam's needles went ok. Is it my turn at Scrabble yet?? I haven't been to Facebook today (you're kicking my a$$ anyway, not sure why I'm bothering :) ).

Hannah - They did a segment on the the Martha Stewart show about felting the other day... it looks interesting. Wish I had a craft group to go to !!

To everyone else that I've missed... I hope you've all had a lovely day and that your babies are well :)

JoJoMart
07-09-2007, 08:34 AM
Penny - sounds like you've had fun in Wadonga. We are going to Albury early in the new year for a few days with some friends. Should be good and will probably stop at Rutherglen on the way.......might need to stock up on more wine after Christmas.

Blubber - it's so hard to know why your bub is waking in the night........did she used to feed at 5am then drop the feed and now waking by habit? if she's not hungry then maybe teething or missing the dummy. It's a process of elimination!

Hannah - felting sounds like fun. What did you make? Did you just hand sew on the felt? I'm starting my painting classes at the art group on a Thursday night. It's a mixed media/sketching class so I will probably do oil painting like before. Can't wait, just hope I'm not too tired to do it as I'm usually stuffed at night time.

Sandy - that's bad that you got an email that morning cancelling the meeting..........that's crappy notice to give someone, I'd be really p***ed off.

US - Having a quiet day today other than doing a bit of housework and walking up the shops when Liam wakes up......went to bed late last night so I'm a tad tired :sleeping: . Tomorrow going to a friends place......her little girl turns 2.

Have a great day everyone.

SuperFrog
07-09-2007, 08:47 AM
Morning!

Decided to have an early night last night. First chat I have missed for ages!

Kay - We must have posted about the same time yesterday as I missed your post about your puppy being sick. Hope it isn't anything really serious (or expensive).

Cassidy has a fascination with out cats she will start smiling and laughing at them when they come near her! Our younger cat is very friendly and even tolerates Cassi "patting" (grabbing fistfuls of fur) her.

Astro, our cat, is also tolerating the fistfuls of fur grabbing... not sure for how long though. He is driving me nuts at the moment... very jealous and wanting attention all the time. i.e. climbing all over the furniture when he knows he isn't allowed to. Grrrrr.

What a gorgeous day - caught up with my very pregnant friend (due in 10 days) -- l saw her tummy wobble - God l miss that - l could so be pregnant again (l'm not BTW but l would love the pregnant bit - just not quite ready for the child at the end of it yet)....

Hmm... I know I'm not ready for another baby yet. But I know what you mean about missing being pregnant. Although, I mentioned this the other day to one of my work friends and she reminded me about how I complained about every stage. Yeah, I'd forgotten all of that.

Had a lovely lunch out and R slept in the car on the way home. I changed him when we got home and popped him back into bed so I expect he will sleep for a while now. Gives me chance to catch up on a few things.

Reece always seems to be sleeping! He's going to be one of those teenagers that sleeps until 2pm.

Hmmm...Jack slept for almost 2 hours this afternoon. What is going on????? I bet he does it tomorrow too when the sleep consultant comes. I started wrapping him differently two days ago - like the way Kay demonstrated - I wonder if that's it?

Hope things work out with the sleep consultant, and that Jack behaves himself (or doesn't behave if that is the norm!).

The weather is miserable here. Its wet and cold. I hate it

Summer will be here before you know it and you'll be wishing for some cooler weather!

the meeting got cancelled - l wasn't very happy -

Have you rescheduled? I'm debating the idea of going back to work earlier than anticipated... financial reasons.

Took the girls for photos today, it was heaps of fun and they will surely win the best bub/toddler competition.

Are you entering their pics in a competition? Or was it just a general statement... I'm sure every mum thinks this about their kids!

I'm not going into chat as I've just got home from a 'craft night'. It was good - very relaxing and I got to try my hand at felting..very therapeutic especially as you use a sharp needle and do lots of stabbing :laughing:

What did you make? Do we get to see some pics? There is a craft board in the forum somewhere... maybe we should make ourselves a craft thread over there so the crafty people can show off their projects

I always wanted purple in my hair... a dream come true !!!

This I've got to see! I've always wanted to do something way-out with my hair, but I'm too much of a wuss.

Mon - Hope Liam's needles went ok. Is it my turn at Scrabble yet?? I haven't been to Facebook today (you're kicking my a$$ anyway, not sure why I'm bothering :) ).

I gave L panadol beforehand and everything went swimmingly. No fever this time and he slept through the night too.

Yes, it is your turn at Scrabble... as always! :) It's not about who wins... it is all about having fun! You are enjoying it, right? Or are you a sore loser??? :laughing:

Well, nothing much happening here today. Electrician is coming to hook up some lights, so I'll be hanging around. Ho hum.

Purplebird
07-09-2007, 09:02 AM
What did you make? Do we get to see some pics? There is a craft board in the forum somewhere... maybe we should make ourselves a craft thread over there so the crafty people can show off their projects

I made a butterfly and it's definitely not worth showing off in pictures! :o

Hope your day is not too dull whilst you wait for the electrician :) I'm off to the gym which should be entertaining..better get ready.

my_lot
07-09-2007, 09:32 AM
mon- my pup got desexed but he ate his stitches and had to stay in over night because of blood loss. he came home with a bucket on his head but could still reach the stitches so we went back to the vet for a bigger bucket. the vet nurse said he couldnt reach with the smaller one and it was just the edge of the bucket making him bleed (the blood was around his mouth and inside the bucket tho)

anyway last night i saw him and he was able to get at it alright so i put the bigger bucket over the smaller one.

bucket head puppy (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/100_5941.jpg)

my cat is hissing and hair sticking up at the puppy with the bucket head. its so funny! shes scared sh!tless of him:laughing:

warning TMI shot coming up!
shot puppys sore bits! (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/100_5938.jpg)

have you got pics of liam attacking astro?

Eli pushing limits (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/eliandboss.jpg)

my baby is crawling everywhere! hes pulling all my plugs, hes tipped a lego box on himself, pulled all the fruit and veg out the maccas kitchen (ds is going to have a cow when he gets home) and ripped up my scrapbooking papers!!

the kids tv is now IN the playpen in the playroom!

oh the joys of a crawling baby!!

SuperFrog
07-09-2007, 09:59 AM
Poor puppy... but it is for long-term good.

I'm so not ready for a crawling baby. DH has decided he is putting a gate across the study doorway. Easier than trying to get rid of all the cables and miscellaneous non-baby-friendly stuff in there. And my response? What about the rest of the house! Apparently that is my department. As long as the study is off limits DH is happy. :rolleyes: We will be having words.

Mini rant

I'm so sick of people comparing their animal's behaviours to Liam's behaviours.

Me: "I hope Liam isn't allergic to any foods... he has a weird rash at the moment"
Dog Lover: "Oh I know what you mean. My puppy Bella has a rash and I think it is from chicken. Does Liam's rash look like Bella's rash? Maybe you shouldn't give him chicken."

I'm sure I used to be like this before having kids, but it is really irritating me at the moment. I think because there are so many people in our family with new puppies (which are very cute). No offence to the animal lovers out there, but animals and people are DIFFERENT!

/rant

my_lot
07-09-2007, 10:03 AM
ha ha, sorry mon, that reminds me of that child leash thread the other day.

i said i walk my dog on a lead and my child by the hand.

um yeah people dont like dogs being compared to kids... but thats a whole lot different to a rash on a dog and a rash on a baby. i didnt know dogs even got rashes!

SuperFrog
07-09-2007, 10:05 AM
have you got pics of liam attacking astro?

Liam pushing the limits (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Liam/August%2007/IMGP1881.jpg)

juzzy
07-09-2007, 10:09 AM
Hmm i will have to see if i can get photos of Cassi attempting to pat Kaos.

The cats are staying away from Cassi today as all she has done is sook. I cant even put her down long enough to go to the toilet. She is sitting on my lap at the moment and shes still not happy....

SuperFrog
07-09-2007, 10:32 AM
I cant even put her down long enough to go to the toilet. She is sitting on my lap at the moment and shes still not happy....

Put her down and let her scream. Your bladder needs are very important. You don't want any urinary tract infections. Trust me on this one.

juzzy
07-09-2007, 10:39 AM
Put her down and let her scream. Your bladder needs are very important. You don't want any urinary tract infections. Trust me on this one.

I have since managed to go to the bathroom LOL she wasnt happy about it but sat on the floor in the lounge and grizzled until i came back. I have since put her in the highchair and am taking her around the house in that as she is more than happy to sit there and watch me do things....

SuperFrog
07-09-2007, 10:47 AM
Tomorrow, one of my family friends is having an open day for her new Gymbaroo. Seeings that we are having builders here at 7.30am tomorrow, I will be heading off early to check it out. Not sure what kind of stuff they do. I can't afford to join Liam up so you gotta love a free open day!

Sunday DH and I will be doing a big clean up. We have two rooms filled with random **** at the moment. Things have been shuffled around over the past few months, but finally I think we can return everything to its rightful place. Also hoping to do some crafty stuff tonight and Sunday. I have a big to-do list now!

And everyone else?

juzzy
07-09-2007, 10:50 AM
umm not much here i think. DP is complaining about a wisdom tooth that is coming through on the bottom right. So i imagine he will be pill popping all weekend to make himself feel better.

Im planning to clean out the bedrooms as there is still a few boxes stuffed away in the wardrobes from when we moved in last december.

Also if it is a nice weekend i might start weeding the garden as it is still a bit overgrown from winter.

juzzy
07-09-2007, 12:50 PM
well Cassi is having a nap now and i am bored. Managed to do most of my housework last night so very little to do at the moment.

Here is Cassi's day so far in pics :p (cept for the eating parts)

Early morning tv with mummy, mmmm remote control tastes yummy (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000861.jpg)

Got bored, decided to make as much noise as possible with loud Ball toy (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000885.jpg)

After a snack, hysterical crying fit, a nappy and top chance (socks were grotty too) it was time to pull the playmat to pieces (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000913.jpg)

Then after another crying fit cause mummy needed to pee and do a few other things it was time for quiet contemplation in the highchair (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000916.jpg)

Started to get a bit tired so kept staring at the birds out the window (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000915.jpg)

And then finally decided to have a nap (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000918.jpg)

Geez babies have such a tough life. :laughing:

LMenz
07-09-2007, 02:05 PM
Wow I can't believe Cassi fell asleep in the high chair like that...Jack would never do that!

The sleep consultant has been. I'm still in two minds about it....it's basically controlled crying. It's very strict. No dummy, no music (she made me take his aquarium down) no rocking, patting, no picking up, no feeding after 10pm.

Jack slept for 1.15 while she was here. She said he should be having 1.30..so pretty close. It's really the nights I'd like to get under control...I need more than 4 hours in a row of sleep and not having him come into our bed.

DH and I will discuss it tonight and see what we'll do. I think if we commit we really have to stick to it to see some results.

I'm still feeling sick..I'm guessing the constant night waking from Jack isn't helping me feel better.

I'm so glad it's the weekend.....I think my SIL is visiting from Sydney and possibly PIL are coming too (again!!) I'd like to try and get out on my own for a bit at some stage. I have cabin fever!

harleyq
07-09-2007, 02:36 PM
The other day the more friendly cat (Ben) was sitting at the door which leads to the bedrooms and meowing constantly. I kept telling him to be quiet but he wouldn't. In the end I went to investigate and I could hear Reece crying from the other side of the doors. He had obviously woken up and I didn't hear him, so the cat was letting me know.
How cute!!!

Lauren - I hope you manage some me time on the weekend - and some sleep!!!

We had a busy day today, checking out another child care centre, and then off to the airport to see my auntie and uncle off (Olivia's grandparents)... now back home and trying to get bubby to sleep -- oops perhaps l should have fed him first... bugger, off l go!

ziggy29
07-09-2007, 03:20 PM
purplebird - could she be waking up because she is cold. what is the temperature of the nursery and what does she sleep in and how many blankets?

lmenz - good luck with jack. make sure you are happy with any decision you make about controlled crying. i have let lily settle herself even if she cries a bit - and i think that this has made her sleep much better. but you have to be ok with it and have a glass of wine handy as the first few times will be pretty trying.

i bought a new travel cot by phil and teds - it only weight 2.5kg. should be good for the road trip we are going on next week.

my_lot
07-09-2007, 03:25 PM
i bought a new travel cot by phil and teds - it only weight 2.5kg. should be good for the road trip we are going on next week.

oooh where di you get it and how much?

where are you going...

LMenz
07-09-2007, 03:53 PM
I put Jack down for his afternoon sleep and he went off with just a few cries. He woke after 20 minutes BUT re-settled himself. I didn't even have to go in. I wanted to but resisted the urge. So today he has had 3 sleeps and they have all been over an hour...he is much, much happier this arvo too.

I'm dreading tonight though....:(

blubber
07-09-2007, 04:30 PM
Got a rotten head cold and feel like sh*t...alas life goes on with children..

Night home tonight, out tomorrow night, (whoa) and Sunday should be a beautiful day so we think we may do a picnic out the bush.

Thanx for the advice on Elly's waking. I think everything that complicates a childs life is a matter of process of elimination..i'm with you Jo-Jo..We have had her in bed the past two mornings around 5 becasue we don't want Mia waking any earllier than she already does. So don't want her in our bed though.
Hannah - teeth maybe but why would they wake at the same time? who knows.

PETS: Elly is so loving our dogs, Jess the Border Collie and Oscar the Kelpie. They are outside dogs but she will do her best excorsist (sp) impersonation to follow them.

Lauren: get some well deserved rest and time our dear. What ever you take out of having the sleep chick there will be a benefit.

Mon: of course we all think our bubs/toddlers are the cutest thing on earth, we wouldn't be mothers if we didn't. They had their pics done and got put in the competition.

Kay: Eli seems to be taking the trophy for "Captain Destroyer" in these early stages. Elly still won't roll.

Well Ma & Pa have left, it was good having them here but 2 weeks is LONG...Shouldn't complain, they don't stop when they are here. Dad has contructd the best vegie garden here and Jamie has never had ALL his work shirts ironed at the same time!!:laughing:.

Better stop getting a bit long here.

Friday beer o'clock time...despite the head cold, feed a cold starve a fever!!!

Was going to talk about solids but will keep it for another time.

harleyq
07-09-2007, 05:47 PM
Hannah - teeth maybe but why would they wake at the same time? who knows.
Coen started waking at 1-2 about 2 weeks ago and kept doing it - l think it was a combination of teeth and hunger, his teeth cut through a couple of days ago (he looks so weird with these teeth) and l have started giving him a dreamfeed to see him through the night... l have a feeling he is going through a growth spurt!!
Hope your feeling better soon Marianne!!!

Lauren - we have our good days and our bad days for day sleeps - so if you have any tips please share!!!

Have a great night everyone! Hmmm l think a glass of wine might go down well tonight... gotta work out the logistics with the 10pm feed though!!!

ziggy29
07-09-2007, 05:58 PM
Don't want to ignore eveyone but feel like i need to post about what Elly is up too in the event there is some advice.

She slept for 5 nights, no dummy going to bed awake to waking 4-5 times a night.
She as a not so marvelous ritual of waking at 5am..

The otherthing is she so does not want her bottle after her arvo sleep. I think we are down to 3 feeds a day. Is that nornal?, common.

It is really the night time waking that is causing the sh*t ATM.

MA & PA have been here for two weeks but that is an essay in itself!!!

Blubber - i think i got confused before and replied to purplebird instaed. i will repeat it in case you missed it. could it be that she is just a bit too cold to go back to sleep by herself? what does she sleep in and what is the temp in the room?

sounds like you are doine well putting her down by herself. did you give her a comforter in the end? tell your bedtime ritual in particular what you do the last 15 mins before you put her down - you may be inadvertantly assisting her to sleep.

i think i stopped lily waking early by not feeding her before 7am and keeping her up later before her first morning sleep. she soon worked out the new plan.

ziggy29
07-09-2007, 06:02 PM
oooh where di you get it and how much?

where are you going...

just at a local baby shop. it was $219 but i got 10% off with a voucher. i have just put it together - it looks like cross between a tent and a portacot. i will try it out tomorrow night.

re: holiday - not exactily sure where we are going - in the car and off we go!!!

LMenz
07-09-2007, 06:25 PM
Lauren - we have our good days and our bad days for day sleeps - so if you have any tips please share!!!

The things she really stressed were concistency, persitance, picking up on tired signs and no assisting to sleep.

She said bubs our age should still only be up for 1.5-2 hours. I've been having really full on play times with Jack now. He's really active on the floor and we do the jolly jumper too. If he's not tired enough he will only nap.

I think I was still missing his tired signs :banghead: too. I can't believe after 6 months I still don't know when he's tired...feel like a bit of an idiot but I guess you live and learn

I think the nights are going to be hard. I've relied on the boob as my "fix all" problems :laughing: I'm going to give it a try though....Jack is much happier when he's not so tired so I owe it to him to try and help him sleep longer. Some of the things she suggests are a bit OTT for me like not looking at him so I might modify it a bit

She gave me a booket if anyone is interested..

LMenz
07-09-2007, 06:26 PM
re: holiday - not exactily sure where we are going - in the car and off we go!!!

That sounds like a lot of fun!!!!

icugal
07-09-2007, 09:33 PM
This is so very hard to say right now...

My beautiful beloved dog Mollie unexpectantly went to pet heaven at 7:37pm tonight. She was 9.5 years old.

RIP my beautiful girl !! :crying:
(27/02/1998 - 07/09/2007)

Photo of Mollie (http://www.penny-clark.com/temp/mollie_edit.jpg)

my_lot
08-09-2007, 06:26 AM
oh penny! :hugs:

sorry for your loss.
what did she die from? will you burry her at home?

juzzy
08-09-2007, 07:14 AM

My beautiful beloved dog Mollie unexpectantly went to pet heaven at 7:37pm tonight. She was 9.5 years old.

Oh Penny :hugs:

Like Hels said, they become a part of the family and it is so sad when it is their time to go.

:gloomy:

Will you be getting another furry addition?

blubber
08-09-2007, 08:50 AM
Blubber - i think i got confused before and replied to purplebird instaed. i will repeat it in case you missed it. could it be that she is just a bit too cold to go back to sleep by herself? what does she sleep in and what is the temp in the room?

sounds like you are doine well putting her down by herself. did you give her a comforter in the end? tell your bedtime ritual in particular what you do the last 15 mins before you put her down - you may be inadvertantly assisting her to sleep.

i think i stopped lily waking early by not feeding her before 7am and keeping her up later before her first morning sleep. she soon worked out the new plan.

Sharon, thanx for your thoughts. I don't think she is cold, she is in a singlet and all in one, she is still wrapped for her night sleep. Flanny sheets and a couple of blankets. She is not hot either.

Her dummy habits are strange she looks for it during the day but as i said she seems much more relaxed at night to more often than not go to sleep without it. We really havn't tried letting her scream without it since she was sick.

She is now down to three feeds a day and two good sleeps...mostly. After her arvo sleep she doesn't wanrt her bottle so we have opted for some food. We play/walk etc, have tea around 5.30ish. Another play a bath and depending on what time she got up in the arvo we have to either try and feed her straight away beofre she goes to sleep or she may be happy to be awake for a bit. Bed time is aimed at 7.00pm.

The mornings she has never had feed at 5.00am and even when she gets up around 6.30-7am she is not screaming for her bottle.

She has her morning sleep around 9.30-10. If i don't wrap her it last about 1.5hours.
If i wrap for the arvo sleep she will have at last 2.5hours.

Not sure if that generates any clues but thanx for the tips.

Penny: RIP, Mollie. We love our dogs that's why it's so hard loosing them. ope your day is ok.

mandi24
08-09-2007, 09:03 AM
Good morning all

Penny - sorry for your loss :hugs: I lost my cat a little while ago. Run over by a car just outside our house. Its hard.

Well my sister and her boyfriend moved out yesterday to manly so last night me and my mum and dad helped move a lot of their stuff. They live on a busy street so wasn't able to get a park near their place had to park around the corner and lug everything around (in the rain). Not fun.

Well today me and dp are going out looking at furniture shops. We need a new tallboy our old one is starting to fall apart. Might leave Lochlain with mum as its raining on and off and don't want to drag him from shop to shop in it.

Better get going and have a shower and get dressed.

ziggy29
08-09-2007, 09:52 AM
Sharon, thanx for your thoughts. I don't think she is cold, she is in a singlet and all in one, she is still wrapped for her night sleep. Flanny sheets and a couple of blankets. She is not hot either.

Her dummy habits are strange she looks for it during the day but as i said she seems much more relaxed at night to more often than not go to sleep without it. We really havn't tried letting her scream without it since she was sick.

She is now down to three feeds a day and two good sleeps...mostly. After her arvo sleep she doesn't wanrt her bottle so we have opted for some food. We play/walk etc, have tea around 5.30ish. Another play a bath and depending on what time she got up in the arvo we have to either try and feed her straight away beofre she goes to sleep or she may be happy to be awake for a bit. Bed time is aimed at 7.00pm.

The mornings she has never had feed at 5.00am and even when she gets up around 6.30-7am she is not screaming for her bottle.

She has her morning sleep around 9.30-10. If i don't wrap her it last about 1.5hours.
If i wrap for the arvo sleep she will have at last 2.5hours.

Not sure if that generates any clues but thanx for the tips.

Penny: RIP, Mollie. We love our dogs that's why it's so hard loosing them. ope your day is ok.

Here are my thought - please feel free to ignore anything i say.

re:dummy - if she doesnt need it at night why not get rid of it during the day. she may be waking up in the night looking for it????

re:cold - lily needs to be really rugged up or she wakes up - this is what she has (wait for it - it is quite a big list)- long sleeve undershirt, all in one, 2.5tog growbag, muslin wrap and 7 layers of cotton open weave blankey. i use the cotton blankets as they are warm but still breathe so she doesnt sweat. her room is about 18 degrees. i know it sounds like a lot but she never feels overheated - just toasty. maybe elly sleeps better in the day as she is warmer????

re: night time routine - i try to keep lily up for 15 minutes after her last feed. we really try to do lots of loud play to make sure she is completely awake when she is put down. if her eyes are getting droopey she could be being asssited to sleep and will wake up looking for you later.

hope it doesnt sound harsh girls. it is just what has worked for us - lily is still sleeping through at night (despite teeth appearing this week).. the days are a different matter though....

Purplebird
08-09-2007, 10:22 AM
:hugs: Penny - So sorry to hear about Mollie - it's awful loosing a furry family member.

Sharon - I don't think your routine sounds harsh - sounds to me like you're very organised and have found things that work! Eloise's sleep only improved when I stopped feeding her to sleep all the time. Just got to get rid of the 4 am wake up - i might try some more layers though as it sounds like you have Lily quite rugged up.

Lauren - good luck with the sleep stuff - I'm sure you'll find something that works for you.

Er, well having said that Eloise's sleep had improved last night was quite bad...but we have tooth number 3 through today and also another cold so I'll let her off!

We got our new fluffy Blueberry mail yesterday from the US - just a cover for some other nappies. I'm glad I didn't spend much as just after I ordered it I found out that I could buy them in Australia soon!

We might take it easy today as Eloise is under the weather.

ziggy29
08-09-2007, 10:22 AM
penny - big hugs to you :hugs:. poor mollie.

our weekend should be fun. it has stopped raining today so i am doing the washing and gardening. tonight we are going to a friends house to have dinner and play settlers of catan. tomorrow i hope to go see nina get married and then my nephews birthday party.

we will leave for our holiday on wednesday.

LMenz
08-09-2007, 12:23 PM
Penny :hugs: I'm so sorry about your dog. It's very sad. Hope your doing ok today :)

Last night wasn't too bad.....I expected much worse. He woke after an hour and I only had to go in once. I did the dream feed at 10pm. He woke again at 2.30. I re-wrapped and left...he screamed when I left but then just grizzled a bit. I had to go in again after about 15 minutes and then that was it til 6am. He was awake for an hour mostly just grizzling. Today hasn't gone as well so far but I'd really like the nights to be better first. I'm glad I did the dreamfeed otherwise I would have been wondering if he was hungry at 2.30am

Have done a bit of shopping this morning and am now cooking up Jack's vegies for the week... :chef:

It is the most gorgeous day in Melbourne. Jack looked so cute this morning in his shorts and polo shirt. Check him out HERE (http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u299/lmenz/IMG_0095.jpg)

harleyq
08-09-2007, 12:45 PM
Penny - I am so sorry for your loss - pets become part of the family - and sometimes grab even more of your heart than expected cos they give unconditional love - don't talk back & don't give you advice!!! and they make you laugh soooooo much - l mean, remember when Mollie (and her counterpart) blessed Kaelan's letters???? making sure that they were marking his territory so no other nasty babies would go on them...:D

Hi to everyone else.... having a good and bad day here, was feeling good, but did some stuff ;) which has made my pelvic floor area feel not so good, so gotta try and keep my feet up for a little while... gave Coen his first rusk today... loves it ofcourse... gee what a mess!!! Oh well - at least he is enjoying it - oh isn't it just fab to be able to show some baby skin??? warm days so we don't have to rug them up so much!!! - Cute photo of Jack by the way Lauren!

icugal
08-09-2007, 05:52 PM
Hi girls...

Thanks for your condolences regarding Mollie. It's been a pretty rough day for me today but I am almost at the point of being able to say her name without getting upset (though writing this is making me teary again..).

Prior to Kaelan coming along, Mollie and her older 'sister' dog Charlotte were my children... they've been with me through the good and the bad times, so this loss is especially hard because these dogs have been my life for close for 10 years. I honestly cannot imagine what my life is going to be like now without her (Charlotte will be even harder to lose in the future I think).

Because of how much she meant to us, we have decided to get her cremated and have her ashes returned to us and kept in an urn. It would break my heart if we buried her in the garden and then had to leave her behind if we moved, so this seemed like the logical thing to do.. The people from the pet cremations came to pick her up today but I had to let Tony organise everything because I simply could not deal with it. They were going to return her ashes late next week, but being as it is my birthday next weekend, I've asked that they delay it for a few days because I don't want to be reminded of my loss on that day.

For whoever asked (Kay, I think), Mollie succumbed to acute pulmonary oedema as a result of congestive heart failure (basically the heart doesn't pump properly so the fluid backs up in the lungs and the person (or animal) effectively drowns in their own fluids.

Mollie had developed a bit of a cough over the past couple of months which was a bit suss. Then yesterday as I was driving back from Wodonga, I noticed that she was breathing quite fast and was a bit lethargic. We got home at 4:30pm... and at 5:30pm she hadn't got any better so I took her up to the vet. They gave her a diuretic to try to shift from fluid from her lungs and an anti-biotic, plus they gave her some oxygen for her hypoxia. They were closing at 7:30pm, so they kicked me out at about 7pm and told me that if she didn't get better, to take her to the 24 hour animal hospital some 30kms away.

I brought her home and of course, as soon as we walked through the door, her condition starting deteriorating quite quickly. She was obviously already in kidney failure because the diuretics never worked (which therefore never relieved the pulmonary oedema). I knew that I would never make it to Bundoora to take her to 24 hour vet. Just before 7:30pm she suddenly went into cardiac arrest and just a few short minutes after that (at 7:37pm), she took her final breath.

Being me, I set about trying to get some little reminders of Mollie... so I snipped off a little bit of hair to keep. I also did her paw print in ink and I also did a paw print into clay (it was one of the first times I could ever do her paw print... she hated having her feet touched !!)... I'm sure Tony would probably joke that it would be typical of me to try to scrapbook my dead dog :)

Anyways... that's Mollie's story... I'm sorry to bore you with my grief.

Hope you've all had a better day than me..

harleyq
08-09-2007, 06:49 PM
Penny - sounds like you and Mollie had some wonderful times together - thank you for sharing.

SuperFrog
08-09-2007, 07:01 PM
Penny - Giant :hugs:

I'm so jealous of you Sharon... Settlers of Cataan is one of my favourite games!

Should be cleaning up more stuff around the house but am going to start sewing these wedding presents instead... and maybe attach some sock monkey appendages. Sock monkey looks a bit freaky when it is in bits.

juzzy
08-09-2007, 07:26 PM
Penny thankyou for sharing your thoughts about Mollie. What you said in your last post just shows how much she meant to you. She was clearly a well loved dog and was very lucky to have such a loving owner. :hugs:

my_lot
09-09-2007, 07:25 AM
oh bugger another sunday morning early wake up!

my kids are off to another competition game (rto get their @sses kicked again) we have to travel 2 hours to get to it!

penny- cremating is a good idea, my cousin also did this with her little poodle- she had him for 13 years. we will do the same for boss. we lost a cat a few years back to feline aids. but we didnt know it at the time and he had a few toes removed before the vet clued on and did a blood test. he was going down hill quickly so we decided to let him go to sleep. he was loved by all the family as they used to mind him while i went back and forth on interstate trips and id take him over for the weekend and hed just come and go like he owned the place. so he now rests at my family home with some short palms and a black cat above him. the cat has marble eyes so whenever a car pulls in in the night they flash and glow. its a nice reminder of my dear little cat.

my puppy is on the mend. hes a funny sight. i walked him yesterday (so much for 5 days bed rest) and we got stopped by so many people wanting to know why he had a bucket on his head. dd loved to tell the story of him eating his stitches. puppy enjoyed the attention.

well im off. got to make sure we have all the gear, helmets, pads and sticks and elis bags packed, enough food and drinks and then dress four kids and then myself while dp does his normal "get ready routine"... dresses himself!

JoJoMart
09-09-2007, 03:40 PM

Penny - so sorry to hear of your loss of your dog Mollie. We have a dog so I know how hard it must be. We cremated our family dog who died in 2000 and even though it was expensive we split the costs with our parents to get it done.

Lauren - I know what you mean about missing the tired signs. I was thinking about this the other day, because I used to get it right most of the time and lately I totally miss the tired signs. I have to say Liam used to be obviously tired as he would yawn etc but now I seem to miss the signs except when I put him down and he starts really crying, rubbing his eyes etc. He seems to go for 2.5 to 3 hours between sleeps but it sounds like this is too long awake time? Let me know how you go.

Well the weather has been great today........another beautiful day in Melbourne. Went to a friend's party yesterday....her little girl turned 2 and Liam stayed awake the whole time we were there........he hardly slept at all yesterday during the day. Strangely enough he wasn't that cranky and the only indication he was really tired was when we got home he fell asleep straight after his 6:30pm bottle. We've had some progress with the solids........Liam likes pear puree so I've been feeding him that and DH fed him this morning half way through his bottle feed and he ate a few teaspoons of the stuff. I'm going to try and mix it with Farex tomorrow and see how he goes with that.

I'm so buggered today so I'm off for a nap :sleeping: DH is out walking the dog with Liam so I should take advantage of it while I can. Don't get this opportunity much believe me!

Roopee
09-09-2007, 03:44 PM
Penny- Im so sorry about your dog. I know when we lost our dog a few years back it was horrendous! He was also our child before the kids came along so it was very difficult. I had 3 year old Cooper, screaming at the sky- telling God (were not even religious so no idea where he got it from) "GIVE ME MY DOG BACK PLEASE" Saying things like how he wanted the dog back and he wanted god to bring him back so god could go to the "naughty corner" for taking his puppy away. It was heartbreaking but i can laugh now.:hugs: It sounds like you have some great memories of Mollie.

well i went out with some g/f last night and dragged my drunk butt home this morning at 3.40am. It has been YEARS since i done that but boy am i paying for it now! The kids have been good and DH has been great too but i still have to function when all i wanna do is sleep and possibly suffocate myself. Im not a well mumma today- BUT- no sympathy please- i did it to myself- drinking copious amounts of champagne for hours on end will do that to you.:o

Hope everyone has had a good weekend!

SuperFrog
09-09-2007, 04:24 PM
Penny - How are you doing today?

Jo - Hope you had a lovely nap! My DH snores so I always try to fall asleep before he does, but if I have a nap during the day I can't fall asleep at night as quickly.

Tanya - You didn't really say on your post, but can I assume that the copious drinking meant that you also had a good time?

Finished the wedding present cushions (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Craft/cushionsforDB2.jpg) today. I might be biased but I think they turned out really well. Also tried to do an arty farty shot (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Craft/cushionpattern.jpg).

And when the camera is out I can't help but take extra pics!

Liam's spikey hair (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Liam/September%2007/IMGP2105.jpg)

Big kisses from Dad (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Liam/September%2007/IMGP2106.jpg) (or possibly eating his ear)

juzzy
09-09-2007, 04:56 PM
Nothing going on here. Been helping DP with his business' website for the most part of the day... very un-exciting if you ask me, but someone has to do it!

Got up early and did the grocery shopping. DP mowed the lawns and cleaned up the backyard a bit so it now looks a bit more respectable. Much happier now that it is tidier. Dont feel like such a bum! LOL

Cassidy has been good this weekend. Been a bit less grumpy which has made her easier to deal with. Woke up screaming before as she was getting too hot. Perhaps time to use a lighter blanket and take the flanelette sheets off her cot.

DP is still complaining about his wisdom teeth. Made him use bonjela before to see if that makes any difference and he isnt complaining at the moment so it must have done something! :laughing:

Penny Hope you are feeling better big :hugs: Come to the meet this week and we will cheer you up :hugs:

Mon Love the cushions, very pretty.

Tan Sounds like you had a great night! Cant wait to do that again! Dont think DP would manage a night with Cassidy without me however.

Anyway best be off. Need to find something for DP and i for dinner, dont know what it will be considering DP cant open his mouth

SuperFrog
09-09-2007, 05:14 PM
Anyway best be off. Need to find something for DP and i for dinner, dont know what it will be considering DP cant open his mouth

Soup through a straw, served with milkshakes, through a straw.

mandi24
09-09-2007, 05:19 PM

Mon - The cushions look great

Tan - Sounds like you had a good night out

Last night i went out for dinner with a girlfriend and then to a movie.
Today went to manly to take a few more of my sisters things to her. Was a really nice day went for a walk along the beach.
Hopefully Lochlain will be good tonight and go to bed early as i am really tired.

Well better get going dinner is ready.

juzzy
09-09-2007, 05:30 PM
Soup through a straw, served with milkshakes, through a straw.

i was thinking that, he wanted to know if he could have steak..... through a straw. :rolleyes: :laughing:

LMenz
09-09-2007, 06:13 PM
I can't believe the weekend is over :thumbsdown: Yesterday we went to the park...Jack really loved watching all the other kids run around and then today some friends came over. They have a 7yr old and a 4 yr old. They love seeing Jack. Was very cute to watch them all playing together.

Last night was horrendous. He woke at 3.45am and pretty much cried until 5.30am. DH and I tag teamed in and out. I was just about to pick him up when he finally nodded off. Hopefully tonight will be better. He's definately getting the hang of the longer day sleeps though. Both sleeps today he woke and re-settled. He ended up having 2 hours this afternoon..Bliss!!

He's going down much easier too. Only a tiny cry and then he's alseep. I'm finding my mood has lifted now he's settling easier and sleeping a bit longer....makes such a difference

Mon - Cushions look fantastic :thumbsup: They look great on your couch too. I love the look on Liam's face in the pic with your DH..cute!

I'm off to watch Australian Idol :cool: Nighty Nite

my_lot
09-09-2007, 06:26 PM
mon the cushions look great!!

tan- sounds like a good time....wish you were coming for the wedding...id like someone from my side to drink some of the bartab! i can i dont want to :barf: on my wedding night..its not what i have planned for the flashy hotel dp has booked.

i plan on getting a full night child free sleep :laughing:

Roopee
09-09-2007, 07:18 PM
LOL Kay! My drinking days are so far behind me now- last night reinforced that! Im too old:laughing:.
I had a great time though- was the best! I think that last time i had a night like that Baylee was concieved:o .
We went for pre dinner drinks, dinner (more drinks), to the Brewery for more drinking and then off to a nite club for more drinking.
I seriously doubt i will be doing that again any time soon.

The wedding sounds great though- i guess, at a push, i could come help you out:laughing::laughing:

icugal
09-09-2007, 08:51 PM
Well I'm having a slightly better day today... I've managed to get through the day without getting upset about Mollie, though I seem to keep torturing myself with thoughts like "if she were here, she'd be at my feet trying to scab food" or "if she were here, she'd be sitting next to me on the couch" etc etc. I keep trying to imagine where she would be if she were here and sometimes I even close my eyes and actually picture her in that spot.

I sound like a complete fruitcake don't I ??

I just can't believe how hard this is to deal with. It almost makes me never want to own another pet again. The thought of losing my remaining dog (Charlotte) in the future is almost unbearable... she is the dominant and louder dog, so her absence will definately be noticed when she is gone. Mollie on the other hand was the quiet, submissive and affectionate dog, so she often just blended into the background. I will miss every little thing about her :gloomy:

Other than posting here, I've basically withdrawn myself from all friends and family... I don't want to talk to anybody incase they ask me about losing Mollie... I just can't bring myself to talk about it at the moment... at least posting here allows me to get things off my chest and I'm able to do it at my own pace (I really do apologise for my ramblings). I've called in sick at work this entire weekend (which is why I'm posting at this time of night) and I think I might give my mothers group a miss on Tuesday. I'm still up in the air about our Melb Meet on Thursday... it will depend on how I feel.

I just want to know when this pain will start to subside??

If there is one good thing to come out of this terrible event it's that my appetite has been non-existent the past few days so weight loss has been easy :)

And this concludes another grief-stricken post...

icugal
09-09-2007, 09:49 PM
And now an attempt at a normal post...

Kay - I received the MCN on Friday afternoon (thankyou, thankyou, thankyou !!) when I got back to Melbourne. I actually put it on Kaelan as soon as I opened the package because K was due for a nappy change after being in the car for 3 hours. He ended up being in it for several hours (because of a rushed trip to the vet and subsequent death of Mollie)... and I'm happy to report that it worked really well... I'm impressed. I washed it tonight in the normal wash and I left out the fabric softener because I think I read somewhere not to use it because it might affect the liners... would that be right?? Anyways, looking forward to trying it out again.

Mon - The cushion covers look fantastic... you are such a clever girl !!

Tan - Yay for you going out and having a great time... with four littlies at home, you definately deserve it.

In order to distract me from my current sad state, DF and I have spent some of our weekend looking through display homes. Last week, we started getting some crazy ideas of possibly buying/building another house (keep in mind that we only moved into this house - that we built - just over a year ago). The thing is, we have an investment property (the unit that we used to live in) and our tax agent has told us that we should probably offload it as we will probably make a profit on it next year which means that it wont be negatively geared (and would have to pay tax on it). As it is, we will have to sell it in the next four years anyway, otherwise we'll have to pay capital gains tax.

Anyways, we have kinda tossed around the idea of selling both places and putting the money together so that we could build/buy our 'dream' home in a nicer location. We are quite happy with the house we live in at the moment, but the greedy meterialistic side of us really, really wants a rumpus room and an outside alfresco area. Our current house is squeezed onto the smallest block possible (as is the way of alot of developers these days), so we'd never have room to extend it for what we want.

At least having built before, we are now wiser to all the hidden costs and are aware of all the do's and dont's that come with building a house. It also gives us the opportunity to rectify mistakes that we made with this place (ie colour scheme).

I don't know, maybe we are just kidding ourselves that we can even do this. Oh well... even if nothing comes of it, it's still fun (and very inspiring) to look through all the various display homes.

For the record, the Hayman 34 (http://www.porterdavis.com.au/#homeviewer/Hayman/35) from Porter-Davis is our current favourite (God knows if we could ever afford it though).

juzzy
10-09-2007, 07:14 AM
You know, it's probably best if you try to force yourself to carry on as normal and go to your MG and the meet at Juz's this week. Of course it doesn't mean you can't still grieve, but it's recommended to try and carry on as it will help you feel some kind of normality.
And we all want to see you and K at the meet too :hugs: So think about it, please?

Yep Penny we would love to see you and K. :hugs:

Not much happening here today. Its raining and a little cold, such a different day to those lovely sunny days we had over the weekend. Going to clean my house from top to bottom today, if Cassidy will allow, as i have only been doing little bits and really feel like having a spring clean out.

DP is going to work soon and Cassi is sitting on the floor playing in hertigger pjs (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000934.jpg). Excuse the sleepy face and bed hair...

Purplebird
10-09-2007, 07:32 AM
Awww Juz, those pjs are so cute. I love the dazed, sleepy look on Cassi's face!

Penny - glad you can post here about your feelings - hope you start to feel a bit better very soon.

Tan - has the hangover gone yet?! Sounds like it was worth it :)

We had a quiet weekend - too lazy to do much. Finally got round to finishing Eloise's room :o I do have to point out that she only moved into it 3 weeks ago! She now has some pictures on the wall, some new fancy drawer handles and clothes hooks. It's a proper girls' room now!

She did really well last night and slept from 6.30pm til 3.45am and then settled without a feed til 7 am, so I'm pretty pleased with her.

Don't think I'll do much today - might go to the shops later as I fancy doing a bit more felting and I need some more wool.

Must go as E has ended up stuck behind the sofa again - the sooner that baby can crawl forwards the better!

SuperFrog
10-09-2007, 08:08 AM
I'm at my wit's end. I cannot get Liam to have a decent drink from anything except a boob. As much as I'm all for breast feeding, I'm feeling really tied down and can't see it changing anytime soon.

He won't drink from a bottle... whether it be EBM, formula or water. He chews on the teat and liquid runs all over his face. He might get a mouthful here and there, but only because it has filled his mouth and he happens to be swallowing.

Similar thing with the sippy cup. The straw was showing great promise, but he takes about two sips and then just wants to play with it. I've also tried diluted apple juice in a cup, but still no go.

Liam is also refusing an afternoon breast feed these days, so he is going from midday until around 5.30pm with only a few sips of water (as well as his lunch, and sometimes a snack). Not too much of a worry now, but it will be in the warmer weather.

He loves his solids, so if it was absolutely desperate I could give him liquids via a spoon, but that is a LOT of effort.

Anyone got any marvellous brain waves on this one???

my_lot
10-09-2007, 08:10 AM
Must go as E has ended up stuck behind the sofa again - the sooner that baby can crawl forwards the better!

forwards = distructo mode and a lot of :shame: "ah ah" and relocating!

LMenz
10-09-2007, 08:22 AM
Jack slept thru the night :D I of course woke in a panic thinking something had happened to him. I heard him cry out once and then re-settle himself.

I have Mother's Group today...I also have to get started on my tax :(

Penny - Our family dog died when I was 19. I sobbed for days and days. She was 13 years old. It's so so sad to lose a pet. It took me ages to get over her dying. I still have a photo of her up in the house. Hope the next few days get easier for you :hugs:

LMenz
10-09-2007, 08:33 AM
Mon, this will sound harsh but if you want him to drink from a bottle it may have to come down to he either has a bottle or he goes hungry. I friend of mine used this method. Not sure how you would feel about doing it though?

It took ages (over 6 weeks) for Jack to actually drink water from a bottle. For weeks he would just muck around with it. Eventually he started having 10-20 mls. Yesterday he drank 50mls. I leave his bottle laying around on his playmat now and he will grab it if he's thirsty. Also whenever we are out in the pram I will give it to him.

Jack still won't take a bottle of EBM or formula from me but he will from DH when I'm not there. I hope you can find a solution :)

ziggy29
10-09-2007, 08:59 AM
I'm at my wit's end. I cannot get Liam to have a decent drink from anything except a boob. As much as I'm all for breast feeding, I'm feeling really tied down and can't see it changing anytime soon.

He won't drink from a bottle... whether it be EBM, formula or water. He chews on the teat and liquid runs all over his face. He might get a mouthful here and there, but only because it has filled his mouth and he happens to be swallowing.

Similar thing with the sippy cup. The straw was showing great promise, but he takes about two sips and then just wants to play with it. I've also tried diluted apple juice in a cup, but still no go.

Liam is also refusing an afternoon breast feed these days, so he is going from midday until around 5.30pm with only a few sips of water (as well as his lunch, and sometimes a snack). Not too much of a worry now, but it will be in the warmer weather.

He loves his solids, so if it was absolutely desperate I could give him liquids via a spoon, but that is a LOT of effort.

Anyone got any marvellous brain waves on this one???

You could always mix formula in with his solids?? not too much hassle and you could easily mix in 50ml in the afternoon stretch. also i just went to the gp and she said that i should start to think about lily moving gradually to 3 feeds a day!! omg that sounds like so little. she is currently having 4 bf in day and the dream feed bottle at night. how many feeds are other bubs doing?

Jack slept thru the night :D I of course woke in a panic thinking something had happened to him. I heard him cry out once and then re-settle himself.

I have Mother's Group today...I also have to get started on my tax :(

Penny - Our family dog died when I was 19. I sobbed for days and days. She was 13 years old. It's so so sad to lose a pet. It took me ages to get over her dying. I still have a photo of her up in the house. Hope the next few days get easier for you :hugs:

CONGRATULATIONS LAUREN!!!!! i knew you could do it!!

LMenz
10-09-2007, 09:35 AM
CONGRATULATIONS LAUREN!!!!! i knew you could do it!!

Thanks :) I still think we have a bit of work ahead but definately moving in the right direction. You should see how happy he is today too having a full night of non interrupted sleep

Jack having about 4 b/f during the day but is now only taking one side per feed except at night. We are doing a dream feed now too between 9-10pm. I feel a bit rejected actually now that he's weaning off the boob a bit. I'm sure I'll get over it - maybe when he's 18 :laughing:

Here's a few pics just to finish off

Where's Jack? (http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u299/lmenz/IMG_0087.jpg)

Daisy makes a run for it (http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u299/lmenz/IMG_0091.jpg)

mandi24
10-09-2007, 09:46 AM
Morning all

Well i'm so tired today Lochlain woke up at 4am and decided not to go back to sleep. He wanted to sit up and play. Not impressed.

Today i might be meeting up with a friend for lunch but not sure yet.
It's a lovely day so might go out for a walk later or to the park

blubber
10-09-2007, 02:35 PM
Sharon: Elly is down to three bottle feeds a day.

Morning before solids, after her morning slepp then she refuses the one after her arvo sleep. So we have some water, something to snack and her last feed is before bed around 7-7.30pm.

Today she only had half her late morning one while we were out. I tried again before her sleep and she still only wanted half.
I wouldn'y say she is devouring her solids but she is enjoying and experimenting with everything.

SuperFrog
10-09-2007, 03:51 PM
Thanks for the advice everyone.

Liam is on 3 solids feeds a day (breakfast, lunch and dinner) and 4 boob feeds (before each meal and one after bath before bed).

Have been sorting through clothes today trying to find something to wear to this wedding. I think my hips are wider than they used to be... some of those clothes are never going to fit me ever again. I've bundled up a whole bunch to give away already. I had to say goodbye to my old favourite red-stitch flared jeans. Probably not the most fashionable item ever, but I loved them. Also found a bunch of my pre-pregnancy bras... really pretty ones and some matching sets. Not sure what to do with them... they are all 12C, and I'm now a 14DD! :laughing:

When I stop breast feeding, will my boobs deflate and go back a few sizes? Or should I just get used to the sexy plain white and beige bras?

SuperFrog
10-09-2007, 03:58 PM
Lauren - That pic of Jack playing hide and seek under the couch cracked me up! Glad to hear his sleeping has improved. Are you managing to get some sleep too?

LMenz
10-09-2007, 04:21 PM
Lauren - That pic of Jack playing hide and seek under the couch cracked me up! Glad to hear his sleeping has improved. Are you managing to get some sleep too?

I couldn't stop laughing when I found him like that..no idea how he managed it

I slept really well last night until 4am.... and then just dosed until he woke at 6.15am. If he can sleep thru a few nights in a row I think I could break the cycle. If his day sleeps keep up too I might even be able to have a nana nap :)

JoJoMart
10-09-2007, 04:34 PM
Penny - I'm glad you are feeling a bit better about Mollie but these things take time. Like Lauren said, it can take a long time to really forget losing a pet and I took ages to get over losing our family dog...they are part of the family. On a brighter side, like Hels said, move out our way! You could build a nice big house in the southern suburbs!

Lauren - are you using the controlled crying technique? Sounds like whatever the sleep consultant said to do is working so far:fingerscrossed: I might have to consider something like that eventually as Liam is a bugger to settle these days.

Hannah - I still need to finish off Liam's room but probably won't get around to it the way I'm going! Glad you've done some decorating of Eloise's room.

Went out for a couple of hours today while my Mum looked after Liam......he was pretty well behaved but took a while for her to get him to sleep. Liam's more interested in his solids too which is good. He's still on 5 bottles a day but doesn't drink all 230mls of formula.......probably has approx 900-1000mls per day.

I'm hoping to paint my mum a tissue box this week or at least get started. I need some 'me' time. That was supposed to happen yesterday but it didn't eventuate as DH needed to apply for a job........will pay more $$$ so I couldn't really complain.

Have a great evening ladies.

LMenz
10-09-2007, 06:35 PM
Lauren - are you using the controlled crying technique?

Yes we are. It's taken me ages to feel ok with doing it. It's definately working though. I have some notes she gave me if your interested in them. It's really teaching him to self settle so I don't have to help him back to sleep when he wakes

I've been paying extra attention to his tired signs too this week and I think that helps heaps. If I can put him down before he's overtired then he will go off very easily

icugal
10-09-2007, 07:30 PM
Well I've had a much better day today.. I've even been able to look at photos of Mollie and smile... which is a big step for me. I'll admit that she has been on my mind most of the day, but there have been no tears accompanying my thoughts of her.

DF and I are still exploring the option of building another house but realistically I'm not sure if we'll be able to do it. Today I finally confessed to him that I don't like living in the Northern suburbs and that if I had my way, we would be in the Eastern Suburbs... (which is where I was living before I originally moved in with him). I kinda feel like I'm the one who has had to sacrifice everything to be on this side of town (and is why I have to drive an hour to work and back).

The northern suburbs are a little more... er... multicultural.. than I'm used to. I really, really don't want to sound racist here (because it is not my intent).. but it kinda does my head in when I go to a shopping center and I'm one of only a handful of people in that place that can actually speak english. Where I live (Craigieburn) isn't too bad in that respect really... but we are located nearby to certain suburbs that have very bad reputations. In all honesty, it kinda concerns me what school would be like for Kaelan around this area.

Anyways, I'm trying to get DF to open up his mind about moving to another area. Unfortunately, there are no new estates being built in the outer east, but there are a lot in the south-east suburbs. He really does not want to go to the south-east... and he said that I'd have to come up with a very good reason for him to even consider it (he thinks I only want to go there to be closer to my Bubhub girls :D ). It would also mean that he would have to change jobs... thankfully he is quite open to that possibility anyway because he hates his current employer.

So you girls in the SE suburbs of Melbourne... I need your help to woo DF with reasons as to why we should move down your way !! What are the nice areas? bad areas? general demographics? facilities? etc etc.

Any help appreciated :)

SuperFrog
10-09-2007, 08:35 PM
Anyways, I'm trying to get DF to open up his mind about moving to another area.

GO WEST!

(Together) We will go our way
(Together) We will leave someday
(Together) Your hand in my hands
(Together) We will make our plans

(Together) We will fly so high
(Together) Tell all our friends goodbye
(Together) We will start life new
(Together) This is what we'll do

(Go West) Life is peaceful there
(Go West) In the open air
(Go West) Where the skies are blue
(Go West) This is what we're gonna do

bAaM
10-09-2007, 10:12 PM
Hi girls we have had a so-so weekend. I had to work on Sunday:thumbsdown: and didn't get home till late.

I got a phone call today from a very good friend of mine that finally fell pregnant with twins after going through IVF for a number of years she was 24 weeks on Saturday just gone and gave birth on Sunday morning to one of the twins on the bathroom floor of the hospital. They told her if she needed to do #2 to call for a nurse and when she did the nurse told here she would be fine and just as she sat down she felt a bulge and when she put her hand there bubs was half out so she called the nurse and was told to get on the ground and out came Lillian still in her sack which the doctors told her is what saved her.
Her beautiful little girl is fighting for her life but doing well for now.
She was 550grams born. My friend is still pregnant with the other twin which is a boy and they are hoping he stays in for a little longer.
It was one of the hardest things i have seen but she is just beautiful and really hope she pulls through.
Her is a pic
Lillian Elisabeth (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/August%20pics/Pics004.jpg)

Penny I'm so sorry for your loss and i agree that you should go to the meet cause I'm sure the Feb girls can cheer you up.
I see you have been MCN converted Kay you are on a roll. You should tell the MCN company's you want some profits.

Sharon how was Ninas wedding did you get any pics.

icugal
10-09-2007, 10:17 PM
Mon... Hehehe.... I love the Pet Shop Boys version of that song.

Oh... and BTW, not a chance in hell :)

Leashie - Prayers for little Lillian (one of the bubs in my mothers group is a Lillian.. you don't hear that name much these days). :fingerscrossed: that she wins the battle to survive... and also that her brother stays put for as long as possible.

bAaM
10-09-2007, 10:24 PM
Our routine
Up at 7:30 has breaky then play till 9ish then a bottle and more play till 11ish then a sleep till 12-12;30 then up for lunch and play till 3 another bottle and sleep till 4-5 then up and play till 6 then dinner, bath and play till 7:30 -8 then bottle and bed.
And water in between if she is wingy.

this is still being established so some mornings is she wakes at 6 she has a bottle.

Oh and i notice that alot of you have cats well as embarrassing as it is to admit it i actually have a phobia to cats. :laughing: I no silly hey

her are some pics of bub having dinner

hmmmm garlic bread (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/August%20pics/Pics001.jpg)

broccoli yucky (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/August%20pics/Pics003.jpg)

making a mess (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/August%20pics/Pics002.jpg)

juzzy
10-09-2007, 10:38 PM
Penny Glad to hear that you are feeling better! As for reasons for you to move over this way.... well besides us bubhub girls.... ummm there are some lovely places to visit.... like a drive down the Mornington Peninsula is well worth it for one. The view from Arthurs Seat is great, as is the restaurant.
There are some great and well respected schools out this way as well.
Ohhhh and the shopping is GREAT! Chadstone, Southland.... the list goes on....

Anyway, we will discuss this another time.... LOL

Leashie My thoughts are with little Lillian, what a trooper and a tough road she has ahead. :fingerscrossed: her brother stays put for a little while longer.

As for us, have been in Dromana for the night watching DPs 2 sisters play their basketball grand final. They lost 31-30. Cassidy had a good time, lots of noise to keep her entertained.

She is however, starting to become a little clingy to me. She doesnt like it when we go visit DPs family. She cries whenever they go near her. And wont go to anyone but me. Dont know if this is a phase or if this is a permanent part of her behaviour.

Anyway, time for bed for me... :sleeping:

Purplebird
11-09-2007, 07:31 AM
So you girls in the SE suburbs of Melbourne... I need your help to woo DF with reasons as to why we should move down your way !! What are the nice areas? bad areas? general demographics? facilities? etc etc.

Any help appreciated :)

Well, there are more shopping centres :D But for DF you could tell him that the schools are better (I have no idea if they are!) and that Kaelan needs to grow up near the beach. As for bad areas - there are definitely none in the SE suburbs! :)

Leashie - :fingerscrossed: for little Lillian and her brother.

We had a bit of a bad night last night as Eloise has a horrible cough still. I ended up bringing her to bed as she just wasn't settling. Every time she fell asleep she woke herself up coughing poor thing. To be honest I was quite glad to have the excuse to snuggle up with her again at night! We'll get back to the good sleep habits when she's better I guess. I want to go to Mother's Group today but it feels a bit unfair to take a sniffly baby. Maybe if I keep her quiet they won't notice :laughing:

harleyq
11-09-2007, 08:12 AM
Oh that photo of little lillian just broke my heart... poor little thing... l hope all goes well for your friend Leashie and both of her children!

Coen has now been waking through the night for a few weeks - geez its hard to get used to again.... he is waking up cos he gets onto his stomach and is too tired to know what to do - and cos he needs a feed... l think l need to squeeze in another milk feed during the day -- but where???

I've asked this a few times now - and no one has responded - so l'll give it one more shot - how much (quantities) are people feeding bubs (solids) and how many milk drinks?
Coen is eating roughly 3 x 1/2 cup servings per day and 4-5 milk drinks - but his milk drinks are very very short, sometimes only a couple of minutes... this is my problem l think...

Oh we started Coen on the finger food yesterday - carrots... l was a bit nervous that l didn't cook them quite enough... Hannah - how long do you normally give them?

Well here is to hoping Coen realises his mummy and daddy are in better moods when he sleeps the night through...

SuperFrog
11-09-2007, 08:32 AM
I've asked this a few times now - and no one has responded - so l'll give it one more shot - how much (quantities) are people feeding bubs (solids) and how many milk drinks?
Coen is eating roughly 3 x 1/2 cup servings per day and 4-5 milk drinks - but his milk drinks are very very short, sometimes only a couple of minutes... this is my problem l think...

A few people answered this one, but it probably got lost in between the copious posts! Oh we are a chatty lot!

If you recall, Liam started solids early and went straight to 3 largish meals a day, so I'm probably not the best one for quantities comparison.

Regarding the milk feeds, Liam has become really quick and efficient at sucking. I do both sides each feed and we can be done in under 10 minutes easy. Once he has finished one side he will cry and refuse it, but then take the other side no probs. So he lets me know when he is done. I wouldn't worry about the length of each feed so much as how many. We only do 4 milk feeds a day, but he takes both sides as I mentioned, which might equate to more... I'm not sure.

Hope this helps you!

Leashie... she is so tiny. Heartbreaking. I hope everything is okay.

Kay - Not long now!

Hannah - If your sniffly coughy Eloise gives her bug to the other bubs in your Mother's Group you might not be popular!

Sandy - I wonder if Coen will eventually be able to sleep on his tummy?

Penny - If neither of you are driving to the city during peak hour then the East side of town would be great! Plus, there seems to be more train/tram options than the North or West, but I guess it depends on how far out you are thinking.

Juz - Did Cassie's nappy rash clear up?

Lauren - We do the controlled crying (to a degree) here too and I think it works too. Can be hard for you the first few times... definitely helps to have a distraction at hand.

And a big hello to everyone else. I never seem to have enough time for personals.

Liam loves to throw all his toys just out of reach, and then start crying. A great invention would be a bunch of toys that, after 5 minutes, automatically move about half a metre closer to the baby.

Well I'm off today to try and find something to wear to this wedding. I hate clothes shopping when you have to find something. I'd much rather amble along and be enticed by something random.

Purplebird
11-09-2007, 08:39 AM
Hiya Sandy :wave: - not really sure on the carrots timing - sorry! I just sort of do them until they're soft but still hold together if that makes sense? I must say that they're not one of the best finger foods - zuchini or banana is a bit easier I think. As for the solids amount, again, I'm not really sure. Not much help am I? :D I've never measured the amounts that Eloise eats, but it's definitely not much. As an example -maybe 3/4 banana for brekkie or two fingers of toast, some small pieces of fruit for lunch and for tea some veg sticks (2/3) and a nibble on some chicken or something. She still has lots more milk than solids - I don't know if that's right but it works for us and she goes all night without a feed now. Some days I skip the lunch too. HTH a bit!

juzzy
11-09-2007, 08:48 AM

Yep i answered this one as well.

Cassidy is still having 4 milk feeds a day, they are generally very quick and she gets both sides. She is also having 2 bottles a day of between 100-150mls. They generally come later in the afternoon after feeds. She is having 2 solid meals a day. Am thinking of upping this to 3. She has anywhere between 1/2 cup to 3/4 a cup.

Juz - Did Cassie's nappy rash clear up?

Yes. No more nappy rash for Cassi!:smiliedance: A bit of persistence with nappy free time and some good quality nappy rash cream solved the problem. Means she can wear all the pretty MCNs i have now!

Looks like today could be an indoor day, its cold and raining outside. Still trying to do some spring cleaning as i didnt get as much done yesterday as i would have hoped.

Looks like i will be getting my BMW back on the weekend. :fingerscrossed:

Anyway, time for a shower and some breakfast!

harleyq
11-09-2007, 09:10 AM
Perfect -- sorry - l should have been clearer in my original question... l was looking for specifics - and you've all given me some great info...
Hannah - l think what you are doing is exactly correct - milk is still the most important thing in their diet - which is what has me concerned - Coen is not hungry enough during the day to have more milk - but he is looking for it at night... Oh and thanks for the tip on finger foods... l did try a banana but l think l cut the chunk too small cos he was struggling to hold on to it.. l might try it again today... and l might try and give him less mashed food and more finger food... he will probably eat less in quantity but my little chubba bubba isn't really starving himself so l don't think it will be a problem...
Do you keep the skin on zucchini when you have it as a finger food? I usually take it off to mash... (l bought a smock for Coen to eat in - it works a treat... will post a piccie later)

Oh Mon - do you have any idea how much a largish meal is? I guess its hard to tell, l only know cos l know the containers l use hold about 1/2 a cup and that is the most he will get at least for now...

Did l mention that l took a look at child care centre last week? It is amazing the variation in quality - l was really surprised...:eek: I took my sister in law along (who manages a child care centre) so she gave me her opinion - but we were in sync all along anyway - l went on instinct... she went on technical knowledge... I am pretty sure Coen has one day next year... how is everybody else going?

Oh and by the way - l still haven't had my meeting with my boss... and he hasn't returned my call of a week ago - so l am a bit ****ed off!

Hope all is going well!

bAaM
11-09-2007, 10:34 AM
Hi guys I just spoke to Annette ans Lillian is doing great she breathed on her own for half an hour last night. It is day 3 now and no hiccups she is a fighter and will be home for Xmas :fingerscrossed:

Thank you all for your support and she thanks you as well. I didn't think it would affect me as much as it has, and its not even my baby, but to see some one you care about have such a hard time trying to have a baby then this happens i just feel hopeless and wish i can do more for them but all i can do is support her and pray for Lilly.

I'm not doing much today just made some choc chip cookies mmmmm.

Does anyone Else's bub try and take there nappy off? Marissa is getting so hard to dress now.

Sandy Marissa has 1 weetbix for breaky, a jar of fruit, custard or yogurt for lunch some fresh fruit or veg finger food for afternoon tea and normally she has what we have for dinner about 1 cup. She has 3-4 200ml bottles a day plus water. I'm slowly bringing her off the teat she has one of those sippy things you stick in the avent bottles with her water and her morning bottle.

LMenz
11-09-2007, 11:04 AM
Sandy, this is Jack's typical day food wise

6am - Boob (both sides mostly)
9ish - Breakfast of 3/4 banana with 2 tablespoons of farax all mixed together
11ish - Boob (one side)
2-3ish - Boob (one side)
4.30 - Dinner of 3 tablesppons of vegies plus a tablespoon of farax mixed in
6ish - Boob (both sides)
9-10ish - Boob (one side - dreamfeed)

I think I'll be adding lunch soon and dropping the dreamfeed - he cried last night when I picked him up for it

Jack's super quick at draining the breast now too. Maybe you could offer Coen both sides during the day?

Well last night wasn't as good.....he woke at 4.30am and cried on and off until 6am. Went back to sleep until 8am. He's had 1.5 hours for his first sleep this morning though. Hopefully last night he was just testing us. His tooth is about to come thru too I think - the white dot is like a matchstick head now

My PIL are dropping by for a visit today I think....I'm not going anywhere today the weather is terrible. It's just started raining :rain:

Leashie - All the best to your friend and her wee bub :hugs:

Better go Jack has manouvered his way over to my craft table and is biting the leg

LMenz
11-09-2007, 11:15 AM
I just had a thought :idea: (I've never used this smiley before hehehe)

Sandy, maybe you could add some meat to Coen's vegies at night. I remember Pinky McKay saying at the sleeping sminar we went to that protein at night is meant to help bubs sleep longer

I think I'll try this myself....I have some lamb shanks in the freezer. Is anyone else giving meat? If so, what sort?

Oh and Hannah you said Eloise is having toast..Is it white or wholemeal?

Hmmm I have so many questions about food. Can't remember if I said it before but Jack is definately having a reaction to apple and pear :thumbsdown: It sucks! I feel really limited in what fruit I give him for breakfast. Maybe once all the summer fruit is in season he can have some peaches

OK enough of my ramblings :ecomcity:

juzzy
11-09-2007, 11:19 AM
Lauren i have been having peaches from those plastic containers you can buy at the supermarket. Cassidy was giving me dirty looks the other day when i was eating mine so i gave her some. She loved it. Probably bad of me to do that but she was happy enough to take it and didnt have any reaction to it. I wouldnt do it every day.

As for bread, the last few days i have been giving Cassidy the crusts off my bread, its multigrain as that is the only bread we buy and so far no issues with giving her that. Havent tried toast yet. But she likes the crusts.

JoJoMart
11-09-2007, 12:36 PM
Leashie - my heart goes out to your poor friend. I hope Lillian makes it.......they can do wonders these days with prem babies so :fingerscrossed: for your friend.

Sandy - I'm no help regarding solids as I've only just started. Liam gets 5 bottles per day of approx 230mls each but he doesn't drink them all so gets around 900-1000mls per day. He has a taste of solids half way through his 11am feed......you probably already know this but I've read at that until 1 year old bubs should still be getting plenty of milk.......at least 600mls once established on solids (at least 800mls when just starting out). Of course you can't measure that easily with BF bubs but that would be a full breast feed I assume each time. I have read if you're not careful bubs can replace milk too quickly with solids so they don't get enough milk but I would check with your MCHN or unsure if that's what's happening with Coen.

Penny - the southern suburbs have loads of shops (Chadstone & Southland, DFO etc), the beach and wineries down the Mornington Peninsula. My sis lives in Kew so I also think the Eastern suburbs are good but I find the traffic chaotic out her way. I hope you're feeling better today.

US - Liam usually has a feed at 7am but slept in until 8:30am this morning so all his feeds are out of wack! I had a sleep in when Liam went down at 10:40am which was much needed! Liam is being little bugger at the moment whenever I change his nappy he flips over onto his tummy and does it again when I flip him back. It's making nappy change time (or dressing) a pain in the **** and takes ages :mad:

my_lot
11-09-2007, 12:41 PM
leashi- your poor friend. shed be now on complete bedrest and unable to get to her just born twin? the dear little thing. my ds was 1500gms heavier and that was hard. looking at that nappy had the memories flooding back! all the best to the family.

penny- how are you going?

sandy- i hate answering any questions on routine. eli has no set routine :o i put him to bed when hes tired and feed him when hes hungry...hes worked out his own routine as we do much the same thing each day, its just that its never at the same time.

breastfeed on waking
bottle while kids have breakfast (he drinks about 100 to 150ml)
sleep when we get home from school run

sometimes, but not very often i offer food here before his morning sleep.

breastfeed (or bottle)
tin food (fruit custard, apple custard, banana and custard ect)

sleep
breastfeed
tin food (this always seems to be 4-5pm
finger foods (vegies and sometimes some chicken) at the table with us 6-6-30pm

breastfeed about 7pm

daddy give bottle and we try to aim for bed at 7:30-8pm when the others are going to bed.

breastfeed over night if :laughing: if??when he wakes.

we got eli a really low toy box (like the "under the bed" sliding boxes) the otehr day and he can crawl over to it and pull himself up to the edge and empty it one by one.

blubber
11-09-2007, 03:12 PM
I have some lamb shanks in the freezer. Is anyone else giving meat? If so, what sort?

..mmm lamb shanks, that's on the menu here tonight. Gotta love being in the agricultural industry...free lamb and beef.

Liam is being little bugger at the moment whenever I change his nappy he flips over onto his tummy and does it again when I flip him back. It's making nappy change time (or dressing) a pain in the **** and takes ages :mad:

Ah Jo, welcome to the world of babies growing up. Nothing wrong with a good dig in the ribs with your elbow to hold him there....nicely of course. I don't think there is anything that will stop them, it's just part of discovering their "talents"

Food/Feeds: I'm really happy that Elly has not turned her nose up at anything we have tried as Mia is a shocking eater. She wasn't too bad in the early days but there were obviously things we didn't do. Not right or wrong just lack of experimenting and "going by the book" a little too much. Too much mush for too long.

We have just gone from an AR formula to next stage and so far so good. Elly hasn't wanted her arvo botte for awhile but might try today with the different formula. She only ever drinks around 200mls at a time.

She is having fruit/yoghurt and toast for brekky, banana (whole), yoghurt, veg or similar for lunch and tea is veg and a bit of what's on our plate.
She is munching on rice crackers as well.

Is there something wrong with giving peaches at this age?

Leashie: best wishes to your mate and her daughter. Sounds like she is a little fighter.

So all we have to work out now is the dam dummy and why she still stirs around 5am...mmph

bAaM
11-09-2007, 03:16 PM
leashi- your poor friend. shed be now on complete bed rest and unable to get to her just born twin? the dear little thing. my ds was 1500gms heavier and that was hard. looking at that nappy had the memories flooding back! all the best to the family.

She is on total bed rest and has to stay in hospital till little Jace comes along mind you she has 2 older girls at home one is 9 the other is 7 and has to wheel chair it down to bub so she is only getting to see her 1-2 times a day for short periods but under the circumstances she is doing well and staying positive the only thing i am worried about is that she won't speak to any one about the if things go down hill. I mean she believes that nothing will go wrong and she will take her baby home when the other twin is born, it could happen but her mum and i where trying to get her to talk to some one about to cope if things go down hill. they have told her with premmies its 1 step forward 3 steps back but she won't believe it. I'm glad she is being so positive but am worried how she will cope if something does go wrong.

Hels yes they will be twins with different b-days when i spoke to her before she said that it was a sibling thing that he booted her out so he has more room:laughing: Typical boy.

Dummies I need help with the whole dummy thing should i even worry about trying to get her off it yet cause she is REALLY attached to it.
I'm just worried now she has teeth that it can stuff them up cause she always wants it.

mandi24
11-09-2007, 03:18 PM
Good afternoon all

Sandy - I have no set routine on feeds. Some days Lochlain can hold off longer between feed than others. He roughly has about 4 200ml bottles a day and 3 solid feeds breakfast lunch and dinner. So far he likes tin food more than anything. He's getting used to mash potato although he still pulls a face with every mouthful. He loves apples.

Well last night my cat had kittens. A while back we thought she was pregnant but wasn't 100% sure but lately she has started to get bigger and there was movement. Early yesterday evening she was trying to get into the cupboard and was acting real strange. i put some old towels down and put her on them and sat with her for awhile. She then got up and went behind the lounge. I went out into the kitchen and was watching her from there she was busy cleaning herself (well so i thought) but when mum went back in there she'd had one her babies. Not long after that she had another. It then took nearly 1 hour to have the next. She had 3 of them. They are so cute.

Well anyway got to get going now as i'm going out for dinner soon.

harleyq
11-09-2007, 04:16 PM
I'm sorry if l came across a bit short with everyone before.... it is getting so that l am getting stressed every time l need to put Coen down for a nap... what happened??? He used to be soooooooooooooo good - l have just put him down to sleep - guess how long it took...

90 minutes - honestly if somebody had of offerred me full time employments just now l would have jumped at the chance.... some times motherhood is bloody hard work!

US - Liam usually has a feed at 7am but slept in until 8:30am this morning so all his feeds are out of wack! I had a sleep in when Liam went down at 10:40am which was much needed! Liam is being little bugger at the moment whenever I change his nappy he flips over onto his tummy and does it again when I flip him back. It's making nappy change time (or dressing) a pain in the **** and takes ages :mad:Coen does this too Jo - in fact a major part of our problem getting him to sleep is that he also does this in his cot, sometimes he is happy sleeping on his tummy - sometimes he just can't figure out how to turn his head!

Bad afternoon here today... I definitely need to squeeze another breastfeed in during the day... the problem is he needs all his breastfeeds and his solids - so he needs the same quantity l just need to somehow fit in during the day and not have to do the 10pm &/or 1am feeds... but how??? (Thinking aloud here, but if anybody has any suggestions l am ALL ears!)

bAaM
11-09-2007, 04:55 PM
Yes hels sorry i forgot to email you.Its been a big week I can't make it yet cause my sewing machine has **** itself i am taking it to get fixed on thursday

icugal
11-09-2007, 05:24 PM
When you and Tony come to visit us , why don't you have a drive around the areas and visit a few display villages? There are heaps of new estates so I can point you in the right direction. I think the best way to convince him is for him to see it for himself. Infact, if you do it on a sunday we will come with you and give you a tour, I love looking at new houses too

We were planning on visiting all your display homes (moreso the Porter Davis ones) when we come down on the 22nd. You, Greg and Reece are more than welcome to join us (we can pretend we're all one big hippy, communal family or something ;) ).

My sis lives in Kew so I also think the Eastern suburbs are good but I find the traffic chaotic out her way. I hope you're feeling better today.

When I say Eastern suburbs... I'm talking about outer East... like Ringwood, Croydon, Lilydale etc. I'd never have enough money to live somewhere like Balwyn or Kew... though I wish !!! :D And I'm feeling much better today, thankyou.

sandy- i hate answering any questions on routine. eli has no set routine i put him to bed when hes tired and feed him when hes hungry...hes worked out his own routine as we do much the same thing each day, its just that its never at the same time.

We're the same here... Kaelan determines his own routine. He has anywhere from 1-3 lots of solids per day.. plus he has maybe 5-6 bottles per day. As bad as it sounds, it depends entirely on what DF and I are doing. Lately, we've been away from the house most mornings.. so any type of 'routine' has well and truly gone out the window. Basically, he gets a bottle and/or solids only when we sit down long enough to give it to him (don't worry, he doesn't go hungry... it always makes for a good excuse to sit down and have a coffee !!).

Well, Kaelan is currently wearing the MCN that Kay sent me and once again, it is working very well. I did have a complete blonde moment though. The first time I put K in the MCN (on Friday afternoon, just before Mollie went to God), I just laid the liner on the inside of the nappy and put it on him. Today I discovered that there is a pocket in the actual nappy to put the liner in... Der !!! Anyways having now mastered the MCN (yeah right !!), I've taken the big step today to order the sample pack from the Greenkids web-site. I don't know if I would ever go to MCN's full-time (though I'll admit that I am impressed), but I'm definately interested in using them in conjunction with disposables. Maybe somewhere along the way, I might even save some money (though given the costs of these nappies, it might take a while).

Just because I wanted to keep Kaelan occupied for a while (he wants my attention 100% of the time lately), I decided to try giving him a couple florets of steamed brocoli to play with and eat (a la Hannah)... well needless to say, he loved the texture of the brocoli and squished it everywhere.. but not one single part of the vegetable actually made it to his mouth. Hmmm....

I'd better end this here.. I have a wriggly, crying baby sitting next to me on the couch... he is not appreciative of the fact that I'm typing my post to you girls, instead of giving him all the attention.

Typical bloody male !!

LMenz
11-09-2007, 05:48 PM
in fact a major part of our problem getting him to sleep is that he also does this in his cot, sometimes he is happy sleeping on his tummy - sometimes he just can't figure out how to turn his head!

Sandy...what of you tucked him in really tight on his back?

The sleep consultant showed me a trick for making Jack's sheet's really tight. You need 2 bunny rugs. Roll them up and weave them thru either side of the cot where the sheet goes over the mattress. You then pull then down tight..kinda like they are stuck between the rails and the side of the mattress IYKWIM??

I'll show you Jack's cot next time your over...definately helps keep him and his hands in place.

I hope your day got better...I know exactly how you feel :hugs:

Mandi - How exciting! I love kittens! Can you post some pics? What does Lochlain think of them?

Jo - Jack is rolling over all the time...he screams when I lay him on his back. He tries to roll over in the bath too :hair: Nappy changes are the worst..can't even imagine what will happen once he starts crawling...

harleyq
11-09-2007, 06:18 PM
Just because I wanted to keep Kaelan occupied for a while (he wants my attention 100% of the time lately), I decided to try giving him a couple florets of steamed brocoli to play with and eat (a la Hannah)... well needless to say, he loved the texture of the brocoli and squished it everywhere.. but not one single part of the vegetable actually made it to his mouth. Hmmm.... We did the same with cauliflower today... and the same results... but it did keep him occupied whilst we ate... and forced me to mop that part of the kitchen... what a messy boy!!!

Sandy...what of you tucked him in really tight on his back?

The sleep consultant showed me a trick for making Jack's sheet's really tight. You need 2 bunny rugs. Roll them up and weave them thru either side of the cot where the sheet goes over the mattress. You then pull then down tight..kinda like they are stuck between the rails and the side of the mattress IYKWIM??
I have absolutely no idea what you mean - but will definitely be interested in seeing what you mean next time l see you... I have tried tucking him in really tight myself, it worked for a few days but now he just keeps kicking and kicking until he gets himself out... the other day he wriggled out of the blankets and was at the other end of the cot - leaving the blankets firmly tucked in... oh and thanks for the protein reminder... l am seriously going to consider adding meat or chicken into his repertoire....

did l mention that my 90 minutes of trying to get Coen to sleep resulted in a 30 minute sleep... l felt that was a good use of my time..... NOT!!! I am going to go back to that book that l had such good results with last time and start again... better go put my little monster to sleep...

SuperFrog
11-09-2007, 07:12 PM
Oh Mon - do you have any idea how much a largish meal is? I guess its hard to tell, l only know cos l know the containers l use hold about 1/2 a cup and that is the most he will get at least for now...

According to Donna Hay, 1 cup = 250 ml. I've got two container sizes: 175 ml and 275 ml. Yesterday for dinner Liam ate one of the small ones of veggies and rice (3/4 full) and then one of the big ones of mushed apples (also 3/4 full). So I'd say that's about 1 1/4 cups all up? It feels like more than that when he's eating it. I have no idea how he fits it all in!

Breakfast he eats 1 or 2 weet-bix with boiled water and milk, with about 2 tablespoons of apple for interest.

For dinner tonight he ate about 1/2 cup of veggies and rice, 1 tub of baby yoghurt, and 4 slices of peach.

Lauren i have been having peaches from those plastic containers you can buy at the supermarket. Cassidy was giving me dirty looks the other day when i was eating mine so i gave her some. She loved it. Probably bad of me to do that but she was happy enough to take it and didnt have any reaction to it. I wouldnt do it every day.

As for bread, the last few days i have been giving Cassidy the crusts off my bread, its multigrain as that is the only bread we buy and so far no issues with giving her that. Havent tried toast yet. But she likes the crusts.

I give Liam peaches in natural juice... the ones from a tin. I happened to have peach slices in the pantry so I roughly chop them.

I've given Liam toast with margarine and vegemite before. I cut it into soldier fingers and took off the crusts. He sucked on it like a rusk but ate most of it eventually.

mandi24
11-09-2007, 07:25 PM
Hels - The kittens are ginger. 2 are darker than the other one. Yes we do have to find homes for them. My friend is going to have one and my sisters friend is having one so that means we only have to find a home for 1.

Lauren - I have no idea how to send pics i'm hopeless with those sorts of things. Lochlain tried to grab at them like he does with all the other animals. He's fascinated with them. One grab of them and he'd squash them. Its so cute though.

SuperFrog
11-09-2007, 07:30 PM
Geez... it wasn't until I posted that I realised there is a whole other page of posts that I hadn't read yet! You guys were chatty today huh???!

blubber
11-09-2007, 07:35 PM
I really should get my sh*t together and learn how to post photo's...

Perfect shot of Elly muching on a lamb shank bone...priceless.

ziggy29
11-09-2007, 07:53 PM
hi all.

we are hopefully off on holidays tomorrow to the beach. i say hopefully as poor dh is sick again.

as i might not be back before then best of luck for your wedding kay!

and speaking of weddings i saw nina get married on saturday - she looked beautiful. here is a picture of her http://i92.photobucket.com/albums/l2/ziggy29/IMG_0163.jpg

regarding food. i dont give lily a specific amount of food - i just feed her until she turns her head away and keeps her mouth closed. always milk first and solids an hour later. her day milk feeds are dropping off heaps but i think this is natural. she often has about 150g-200g of solids for 3 meals a day. we do yogurt, fruit and baby oats for breakfast; protien for lunch ( eg. mashed up spag bog, tuna and avo etc) and vegetables and farex for dinner.

sandy - how do you know that it isnt more solids that coen needs? i know milk is very, very important but i think that bubs can get so excited about solids that they want more and more. maybe you could consider seeing how much coen would actually eat of solids rather that you setting how much he has (and see if helps his sleeping). i have been looking in my baby bible and it suggests that by around this age a lots of bubs will drop down to 3 milk feeds in 24hrs (or 2 bid feeds and 2 little ones).

Lily flatly refused her 3pm feed today and went through till 6pm! if this keeps up i think i will start mixing formula in with her solids and resign myself to weaning her to the bottle for her day feeds and keep doing the 7am and 7pm breastfeed.

Last of all here a few more photos:

my geeky baby
http://i92.photobucket.com/albums/l2/ziggy29/IMG_0225.jpg

the pixie photoes i had done
http://i92.photobucket.com/albums/l2/ziggy29/IMG_0149.jpg

chat to you all when we get back. hopefully i will make it to chat tonight - if i have finished packing

blubber
11-09-2007, 09:28 PM
Have a fantastic trip away SHARON...

I also wanted to post to see if my avatar worked!!

LMenz
12-09-2007, 07:02 AM
Sharon - have a wonderful holiday :wave: Thanks for the photo of Nina..she looked beautiful!

Blubber - Looks like the lamb shanks went down a treat!

Well Jack slept thru again last night :D :yes: I think I'll have to try without the dreamfeed though..last night he completely woke up and was gorking around his room and laughing at me. Didn't really have a proper feed. Don't want him getting into the habit of waking at 10pm again

Nothing doing here today.....the weather is still crapola. Jack just banged his rattle down hard on the floor boards then laughed his head off :laughing:

Purplebird
12-09-2007, 07:24 AM
Eloise slept all night - yay! Only took 7 months :rolleyes:

Enjoy your holiday Sharon.

JoJoMart
12-09-2007, 09:37 AM

Lauren - does the sleep consultant say that Jack should still be sleeping on his back? Liam rolls onto his side or tummy when asleep but if tucked in tightly he wouldn't be able to do this as easily, and I still worry about the whole SIDS thing.

Sandy - It must be the age our bubs are at re: settling to sleep taking ages. It takes me a while to settle Liam every time now........sometimes up to or over an hour if having a bad day :no: . He tries to roll onto his tummy, crawl up the cot, anything to avoid being put to sleep. He's easier to get to sleep in the morning than in the avo.

Hannah - congrats on a full night's sleep! :fingerscrossed: Eloise keeps this up for good. We tried to drop the 10:30pm dream feed last night but Liam woke at 3am starving so I guess I will have to wait until he's established on solids before dropping this feed.....

Sharon - have a great trip. Hope DH is well enough to go.

Well, today is my housework day so better get on with it :rolleyes: . Got mothers group this avo and hoping to bake a cake at some stage but this will get bumped to another day I bet.

How's everyone with giving themselves some 'ME' time?? I realise that every day revolves totally around Liam.......I don't do anything for myself other than watch some boring daytime t.v. on the box.......maybe I should start reading a good book (fiction, not a baby book!). Still haven't managed to start painting my tissue box for my mum. Will post a pic when it's finally done.

mandi24
12-09-2007, 09:51 AM
Good morning all

Not feeling the greatest today think i'm coming down with a cold again.

Well today i'm off to manly with mum and Lochlain to take a few things to my sister that have been left behind.

Hannah - Congratulations on Eloise sleeping through the night :fingerscrossed: it stays like this. I wish Lochlain would sleep through.

harleyq
12-09-2007, 10:51 AM
sandy - how do you know that it isnt more solids that coen needs? i know milk is very, very important but i think that bubs can get so excited about solids that they want more and more. maybe you could consider seeing how much coen would actually eat of solids rather that you setting how much he has (and see if helps his sleeping). i have been looking in my baby bible and it suggests that by around this age a lots of bubs will drop down to 3 milk feeds in 24hrs (or 2 bid feeds and 2 little ones). Have fun on your holidays Sharon... hope DP is feeling better...
Good point here, but l think it is milk that he needs more of... l am not getting many full nappies... the poo is coming in bucketloads... its the fluids that l am not that happy with... I am trying a different technique today... usually l give him his first milk drink after about 2 hours he goes for a nap and then has his first solids... today l gave him his first solids about an hour after his milk and he had a better b/f when he woke up... l think l will be able to fit in more milk this way....
Oh and he went down to sleep twice easily this morning -- Gee l hope l am not jinxing myself... although l invited the inlaws around.... they said they'd be here around 11... at 11.50 l had to put him down for a nap - and l called my inlaws to tell them he was asleep... l am not being unreasonable am l??? I can't keep my son up when he is tired for them???

I feel that l am a bit hard on them sometimes - but l guess l still have a lot of pent up anger at my MIL's questioning of my mothering skills... I really want to get over it... but l am struggling... they really are nice people... and l really just have to accept that my MIL has no tact - she means well - she just goes about things in the wrong way...

Great news Hannah!!!
Coen got his dream feed at 10 last night and didn't wake for another feed, but he did wake us when he rolled over on his tummy - in the end we just left him on his tummy (after many futile attempts to turn him over)... l am going to try getting him to sleep on his tummy during the day so that when he rolls over during the night he remembers to turn his head... (that is his problem)... he semes to prefer sleeping on his tummy these days....
Mandi - :fingerscrossed: that its not a cold... try and rest up a bit... :hugs:

harleyq
12-09-2007, 11:26 AM
BTW, I think it's time you changed the text next to your avatar lol
Thanks for the reminder Hels -- name 'em and shame 'em!!! I needed it - been meaning to get off my butt and do something about that for awhile now - you shamed me into it!!! :D

So while l am here (and my bub is asleep :smiliedance:) l will add the pics l promised...

Coen in his new smock, (http://s149.photobucket.com/albums/s49/harleyq_album/?action=view&current=IMG_2698.jpg) a bit happier (http://s149.photobucket.com/albums/s49/harleyq_album/?action=view&current=IMG_2697.jpg)

Mum - l'm tired (http://s149.photobucket.com/albums/s49/harleyq_album/?action=view&current=IMG_2707.jpg)

This smock is great for finger foods... well so far so good any way...