View Full Version : Breast Pumps???

imisschampagne
28-08-2007, 09:55
Hi girls :wave:

What does everyone have?

Manual?
Electric?
Brand?

I have been looking at the Medela Swing Electric...its quite expensive $280 + bottles $30 + freezer bags $30

but thinking it would be more convenient than a manual

any feedback would be much appreciated...

ps - sorry i have been a big snob...will try and get on soon, it's been so hard with visitors, feeding, pooing, washing, sleeping, etc :laughing:

im missing you all :hugs: hope you are all well

:babydust2: to those still waiting...not long now x

mom2jake
28-08-2007, 10:04
morning love:wave:

I have a manual tommee tippee and I find it fine...

Did 110ml in 10mins today:smiliedance: :smiliedance:

Lucky Jake has a full milky-bar:D

imisschampagne
28-08-2007, 10:12
Did 110ml in 10mins today:smiliedance: :smiliedance:

:eek: wow thats great!!! it takes so long by hand 30 mins for 50ml yesterday...

can you overfeed them by bottle?
How much do they normally drink in one hit?

I sense im slightly confused right now :laughing:
mum & i watched Team America last week...

mom2jake
28-08-2007, 11:12
I'm not sure on that one:confused:

Will ask community health nurse tomorrow...

Kev has fed Jake with the bottle once and it was just a top up to see if He would take it....NO PROBLEMS THERE:D

MammyMammy
28-08-2007, 11:38
good one nic

i have a medala harmony - think thats the manual one right? it was $90. wish i'd got the electric b/c i dont like the whole pump pump pump biso

when i first expressed i got 30 mls in about 20 mins....i was so shattered....

next time i got 60 mls in 20 mins

then 100 mls in 20 mins

now my milk just freaken pours out (on the carpet, into my stinky breastpads, on the bed, on poor Hunter, and luckily, also into the container.

but since Mark has decided that he doesnt want to feed him at night (he wants to when he is awake, but once its the middle of the night, he is compus mentis (?) and cant do anything, not feed him, not even do one of his prized farts.....he is useless when he's been asleep :no: .....(however points where points are due - he does do some wonderful dinners for us these days, and helps me out with settling Hunter etc) ...so anyhoo, i havent expressed in a few days - what is the point? all i end up doing is mashing up my boobs and upsetting Hunter because he always wants a feed right after i express.....so

....it depends what u want it 4 - if its for the odd occasion the manual is great, otherwise if Matt is a super-night-dad then maybe the electric is better

you can even go to super extremes and hire the super electric ones???

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

MammyMammy
28-08-2007, 11:41
oh and i meant to say, i have no idea what is enough...

there is a rule of thumb about roughly 3x the mls for body weight

ie (hunter being 3kgs+ then he should need 30 mls x 3 = 90 mls)

HOWEVER IT WAS NOT ENOUGH SO DONT ASK ME HAHAHAHA

OH AND THEY SEEM TO NECK IT much faster....i'm talking 1/4 of the time...and there are these horrible gurgle sounds like its going straight down a gutter like a big shower of rain!!!!

bottles freak me out!:eek: :eek:

Areca
28-08-2007, 11:51
Mammy do you have a newborn teat on the bottle? Check that it's not for bigger bubs...the bottles usually come with teats for babies from 3 months or so and the hold is bigger so they can guzzle it.

Nic I have the Avent isis.....manual. I loved it. I'd get an electric if I was pumping all the time but I don't mind the manual.

MammyMammy
28-08-2007, 13:02
yep - its the first thing i checked as i thought the same. its def newborn/slow teat. i even replaced the teat just in case we had a dodgy one....but i just feel its sooooo fast compared to the way a baby sucks on the breast....anyhoo

Areca
28-08-2007, 13:06
yep - its the first thing i checked as i thought the same. its def newborn/slow teat. i even replaced the teat just in case we had a dodgy one....but i just feel its sooooo fast compared to the way a baby sucks on the breast....anyhoo

Ok! That is why they say to not introduce a bottle too early, cause it's so much easier for baby to get fed from a bottle than the breast and then they get lazy and don't want to put the work in to breastfeed anymore! It's why breastfeeding is so great for jaw development!

MammyMammy
28-08-2007, 13:19
yeah. bugger it

i am putting my expressing off now until after 6 weeks.....

Besides, one day he will be all grown up and I'll miss our little b/feeds.....

when we feed at night i love to sniff his hair and stroke his hands! love him!

mom2jake
28-08-2007, 13:42
I've read also the odd bottle is good, so bubs doesn't become to fussy and only take the breast:confused:

I like the fact that Kev gets a feed every now and then...and he has been begging to do another feed since feeding him for the first time the other night:yes:

I need to express also because I have truckloads of milk:D

westerner
28-08-2007, 14:01

The more you express the more you will make and your boobies will always be hard and sore unless you express..
If you are expressing so you have milk for bottles then that is good but i wouldnt express large amounts simply cos your making too much cos then you will just make more iykwim..
Just ease the pressure by relieving a small amount of milk not heaps..

Then your body will start producing just what you need and you wont get sore or have truckloads of milk.. :)

mom2jake
28-08-2007, 14:13
I've only expressed twice since having Jake, 12 days ago:yes:
I expressed for 10mins this morning, as last night he wasn't feeding very well and my boobies were sore and full..He seems to be back on track today:thumbsup:

westerner
28-08-2007, 14:18
Oh thats good.. Glad hes better today.. :thumbsup:

I didnt mean to butt in..:o Just wanted to check if you were expressing all the time cos that truckloads of milk comment threw me.. Didnt want you to be pumping all the time cos you have too much and not realise you would make more and more..:)

mom2jake
28-08-2007, 14:24
All the advice is appreciated as a first time mummy:D :yes:

xpress2
28-08-2007, 14:45
I've expressed a few times now.... I aso did it because if I don't, I end up with leakage from here to who knows where....

I like breastfeeding, its great, but its good to be able to express from time to time as well...

I don't know how much I should be expressing either..... :confused: Will have to ask when I see the health nurse...

But I have the Advent Isis Breat Pump too - Manual... It's great, doesn't take too long at all... Aston takes the bottle just fine too, which is fantastic...

deb1234
28-08-2007, 15:27
i have the tommee tippee manual and its great. it kind of scares me to be hooked up to an electric! :yes:

i pumped for a few days from one side because it was so ouchy and i wanted the nipple to heal. i'll probably pump a feed a day eventually...if someone else feeds him though, do you still have to pump as well anyway or do you just go twice as long with big balloons out front? sheesh i have a lot to learn! :)

isaac has been awake all afternoon....my eyes are so tired :sleeping: :sleeping:

MammyMammy
28-08-2007, 15:47
Deb (1234, not me just talking 2 myself LOL)

you are doing an amazing job by just keeping on going, hugs to you...hope you nips are better soon babe xxx (and hope your lil man gets some zzzs soon so u can2)

deb1234
28-08-2007, 15:56
thanks deb, i think we are all doing an amazing job - go the august mums!!! :D
i'm hanging out for the magical 6 week mark when this bf thing is supposed to fall into place! the worst for me is the leaking...so annoying but i know if i pump it out before it leaks i'll make more...its a vicious circle! :laughing:

Livy
28-08-2007, 15:58
I have the Avent Isis Manual and I haven't tried it out yet.

I am thinking of giving it a shot tonight - I reckon expressing will come in very handy for outings .... where it's sometimes too difficult to find somewhere comfortable to feed.

Areca
28-08-2007, 15:59
I've read also the odd bottle is good, so bubs doesn't become to fussy and only take the breast:confused:

I like the fact that Kev gets a feed every now and then...and he has been begging to do another feed since feeding him for the first time the other night:yes:

Once you have breastfeeding established absolutely! It's just not recommended while you and bubs are still learning. I think the recommendation is not until bubs is 6 weeks old but I introduced a bottle to Emily at 3 weeks old and we had no dramas with breast refusal. If you do start to have problems give up on the bottles until you are re-sorted and re-established.
In saying all of that...Emily took a bottle happily when I needed her to until she was 9 months old and then she refused them altogether and would only have milk if it was from the source!

Alex liked being able to feed Emily too Kel, but I didn't want to express a feed every day so bath time became their thing and they both love that time together. So much so that Emily won't play in the bath if I bath her more than one night in a row and she asks for daddy!

xpress2
28-08-2007, 16:15
Yep... I'm the same Carmen - I breastfeed Aston and Mark baths Aston.... :yes: That way we both get quality time with him....

MammyMammy
28-08-2007, 16:17
i leak lots too. i dont mind leaking....

i think its`crazy how let down happens on both sides....what a waste!!!!

OverTheMoon
29-08-2007, 18:03
Deb, i use the same one as you, and yeah, i get sick of having to pump. It's on the list to get an electric.

I express 'cos i've been back at work for a couple of weeks, and i also had sore boobas that just wanted a one-feed break, so had to express.

I think someone asked about if you skip a feed do you need to express? From what i understand (and the blocked duct i got after skipping a feed for sleep and not expressing to compensate),yes you do. I think if you don't, the supply/demand thing can be affected, and also you can risk engorgement or blocked ducts. Correct me if i'm wrong, anyone, but these are the answers i've got from my child health nurse and aba counsellor when i asked same thing. Hope it helps.

MammyMammy
29-08-2007, 19:20
BACK AT WORK????????????????????????????

OMG YOU SUPERWOMAN

WOW

OverTheMoon
31-08-2007, 19:13
LOL! Someone's gotta do it - gotta build from my 'team' who thought me having a baby meant they could have a holiday! At least it's work i can do (by and large) when suits me.

Anywho, back to subject at hand - i see that Toys R Us has pumps (2 electric one's, Avent & Medela) on special. Hmmm... do i need to upgrade to the electric? I'm sick of this manual bizzo. I feel like a cow.

Moo

Janelle
31-08-2007, 19:49
a fren lent me her Medela electric breast pump but i didnt like it coz i find it too noisy. Bought an avent isis manual n medela symphony. like them both. i think they did the same job elec or manual..just depends on ur preference :)

imisschampagne
31-08-2007, 23:35
ok i bought the swing...it's good, i didnt find it too noisy either...

MammyMammy
01-09-2007, 00:10
hey big spender! nic - you love your spend ups!

no returning your medela tho....not after use!:laughing: :laughing:

oh whoops, just sprayed a fountain into hunters fore head...poor kid!

Motherov2
02-09-2007, 23:53
Hi there everyone!!!Thank you all for your trusted and most appreciated experiences, I wasn't sure which pump I would like to purchase, I don't think I would like to be hooked up (LOL) to the electric pump, I'm thinking of using the ISIS Avent manual pump, I hope it suitable!!!!:sleeping:

Baby Omar 18/04/07
Muhammad 2.7 years
Good night all!!!!
Look forward to reading more from you all!!!!

mysweetpea
03-09-2007, 00:09
i have the Avent Isis manual and i've found it great. i can get 125mls from just one side in 5 minutes!!! (but my ds is 9 months old, i don't know if that makes a difference) in the beginning i hired an electric medela pump from the chemist because my milk hadn't come in yet and it was great but they are v. expensive

Motherov2
03-09-2007, 16:55
i have the Avent Isis manual and i've found it great. i can get 125mls from just one side in 5 minutes!!! (but my ds is 9 months old, i don't know if that makes a difference) in the beginning i hired an electric medela pump from the chemist because my milk hadn't come in yet and it was great but they are v. expensive

I was considering it for my first son, but then decided that breastfeeding as long as possible was better for him (his 2.7yrs), But now with little Umar (4.5months), I'd like to try a breast pump. Leackage seems to me as such a waste!:p
Thanks alot, its much appreciated, there is so much products out there, that making a right choice can be at best of times quite confusing:confused:
Take care!!!
Hows your little angel?

pkbub
15-09-2007, 14:16
My LC said that Avent are a waste of $ because you can spend much less on the Medela brand and not have to specifically buy all the matching bottles etc. like you have to do with the Avent brand stuff.

So, I bought a $25 Manual Medela and will go to Woolies to get cheapo bottles this week as per the LC recommendations. And will give expressing a try! I think I'll just do it very occasionally. It will be good to have some in the freezer if needed for any reason.