View Full Version : What's it like living in Toowoomba?
LovingMumOf3
22-08-2007, 22:28
Hi ladies.Just wondering if anyone could tell me a bit about what it's like living in Toowoomba? My DF and I are moving to Qld next April (from Phillip Island)and are considering moving to your area.We had decided on Caloundra but this weekend we went to an expo on living and working in Qld.DF was offered a job there and then which would be Toowoomba based.We cant move before April due to work commitments but he has been guaranteed a position when we arrive.It's such a big decision as it not only affects us but also our 2 small children.I figure the best way to find out what it's like there is to ask people who live there already.I'm after as much info as you can give me girls.is it a friendly and welcoming community?What are the education facilities like and are there long waiting lists?How's the weather and water supply?Are there lots of activities for children?Is it a good place to raise our littlies?How's the shopping?And anything else that you can tell me would be sensational.I hope to hear from you soon.Have a great nights sleep all.much love,Deb x :wave:
I don't live there but my friends do. The weather can get very very cold. I think there water supply is next to nothing, it has come a long way though and it's quite a good place to raise a family apparantly. Hope there are some others that can give you more info.
I have lived here for four years and have been around this area for ages as i grew up about an hour and a half away. Toowoomba is cold but its just over winter and that is what heaters are for and well warm clothing. We are expecting our first and compared to brissie etc.. its a great place for kids we live in a really nice street which helps.
Ummmmm it gets really pretty around this time as the carnival of flower is coming up.
Let me know if you need to know anything else!!
LovingMumOf3
05-09-2007, 08:14
:wave: Hey there saremc.Thanks for posting.I was beginning to think that I wouldn't get any replies. I have heaps of questions about the area and what's around for littlies etc but the major one is,...What's the water supply like? I have family near Brissie and as of December they will be going onto stage 6 water restrictions (EEK!). Being pretty much inland of Bris I'm assuming that you guys are going through the same thing?! As far as it being cold in winter,I'm used to wearing the winter woolies and cranking up the heater.We're in Philip Island(penguin central) where it gets mighty cold in winter. I have to say a B I G Congratulations on the upcoming arrival or your first bubby:babydust2: .I wish you all the best and I look forward to hearing from you again soon. take care. Cheers Deb x
crazychik
12-09-2007, 09:38
hi, we moved from brissy last july and wasnt as cold but we had cold winter, summer is great, we dont live in town and have only got 2 rain water tanks which were both over filling last week, its a nice place not too busy, if u wanna know more u can msn me on sammy78au@hotmail.com
Hey
The water here is good you dont even notice the water restictions i havnt washed my can in soooo long lol.
We have had some rain which has made it lovely for the carnival of flowers looking foward to having a picnic in the park this weekend!!!
Things for little ones there is heaps i will ask my friend if she has any ideas for you!!
Hope that helps thanks for the congrats!
SmileyBJ
25-09-2007, 13:25
In my opinion Toowoomba is beautiful!
Like all cities it has the good and the bad...but the gardens and tree lined streets are wonderful, cold and windy in winter but summers are lovely! :yes:
Pity my bf hates toowoomba (just not his type of city) otherwise I would move up there myself... (currently living about 1/2 hour away)
Miss_Vicki
25-09-2007, 13:39
Im my opion , i dont this is as nice as it used to be , mabie cause im a country girl at heart , i prefect the Northern outskirts of tmba (highfields ,meringidan)
the rent used to be Heap low but now its kinda middle to upper class when come to prices , for a NICE 3 brm home in a nice area your lookin at about 200-250 a wk (to me thats alot compaired to jsut a few yrs back)
Tmba have a Heaps of great parks thou , an a few Great schools . shopping wise is ok when they get stock in.
i would really recoment that u would have to come here for a weekend to sus it out , Nite life is pretty dead thou nuffin open,
we dont have late nite chemists (well one thats open to 10pm) an only One public hospital which some times has lack of spaces (make liek most?)
the good thing about here is about 2 hrs in any direction there is always somewhere nice to drive or visit.
things for kids ? hmm they have 1 indoor playcenter but its not the best but its the only one.
Loads of parks One pool in town , most ppl go to oakey or highfiields for a swim to get away from the over crowding in summer.
are you havin any more kids here ?
not sure if that helped , feel free to pm me to ask anything eles ,, Its always good to get a variaty of opions from diffrent ppl :)
LovingMumOf3
25-09-2007, 19:11
Hi all. I just want to let you know that I really appreciate the info about Toowoomba and anything else that comes to mind,please post it here.The more information that I can get the beter.Cheers girls.Have a great night.
I've lived in Toowoomba for over ten years and having moved every two or so years during my childhood I have a little bit to compare it with - but not as a mum?! (No. 1 due in 6-8 weeks)
I think though it's like anywhere you go - it is what you make of it. It is ultimately a small town - if you're in a particular work sector you tend to either know - or know of someone else. However - it's also big enough that you can "just be" when you need to.
There are 5 shopping centres - 2 in the centre of town although one is supposed to be a wharehouse outlet (bit ordinary if you ask me...) and 3 spread around the place.
As has been said - the parks are gorgeous - and there are enough schools int he place for you to choose depending upon your families needs and values.
And as someone else said - you are less than 2 hours from Brisbane and if you want to explore the West it's a great base...
Anyways - best of luck in making your decision...:thumbsup:
Nates_Mumma
01-10-2007, 08:05
I lived in toowoomba on and off for 12 years and I actually think its an ideal place to raise a family in. There is so much to see and do in tmba and in the surrounding areas... your not overly far from the coast. Great schools to choose from - fanstastic shopping - i miss toowoomba
Hi there...i too am considering moving to Toowoomba in there near future. I am 24 and have 2 under the age of 2. Has anyone in Toowoomba lived in Mount Isa before? And how do they compare it. I have lived in Mount Isa my whole life and am very scared about moving. Is there also anything else bad about the place apart from the lack of water? I can see that housing prices are great at the moment...are they tipped to rise in the near future. Any info would be good.
Busymumof3
02-12-2007, 18:02
I've heard the hosue prices will rise dramatically once it rains decently :fingerscrossed: ...and our water restirctions are tougher than Brissie but dont' bother us at all as we have a big tank so can water etc with that...you adapt!
We have been in Toowoomba for about 9yrs now...before that we were Townsville...and boy how I much prefer it here! I hate hot weather!!
I have no idea about Mt Isa...a cousin lived there before moving here and she said it was so so so much better here, but that's her opinion ;) I have no idea...
I find it relaxing here compared to the bigger cities...so much rush rush in the cities..but that also depends on the individual as some like that.
I'm just a home body so the night life doesn't worry me...I jsut like the parks, heaps of schools to choose from, enough big shops to have pretty much all you need, and nothing too far away.