View Full Version : Magic May Babies!!!

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

Rachel87
22-10-2007, 05:44 PM
Shopping for bub - we will probably start after our next scan when we know the gender. We kept all of the really good clothes from when Michael was a new born so if bubs is a boy we wont have to buy as much. As for prams etc we are spending a lot on our next pram. I was given a second hand pram for Michael and while it is strong and still in pretty good nick I want a new one. The one we want is probably going to cost us around $650 including all the attachments. We are getting one that will take a newborn and a toddler or 2 toddlers and the weight limits are 25kgs in the toddler seat and there is no limit in the newborn part but it is designed for up to 6months. After that we will have 2 toddler seats and one holds up to 25kgs and the other holds up to 15kgs. By the time the new baby hits 15kgs our eldest wont need a pram so this will be perfect for us.

Kayangel
22-10-2007, 05:54 PM
catalytic- your doctor sounds rude, are you going to stick with him or change? i would be changing.

as for trying to discourage scans that doesnt seem right at all my doctor offered me a early scan at 8 weeks and is giving me another at 12 weeks.

as hard as it is your doctor needs to be put in his place he is there too look after you and meet your needs not bully you.

I have also done alot of reading about water births as i did want one! they sound great. im like you always reading :) my bubs is the only thing on my mind.

Pixie
22-10-2007, 05:55 PM
:wave: Girls,
Mel good luck for you scan! I look forward to hearing all about it.

Katie here in the UK we have the high chair and the cot in the stores the Highchair is really funky I like it. But not enough to buy one lol we have this one
http://www.kiddicare.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?storeId=10001&catalogId=10751&langId=-1&productId=4395&source=shopzilla&cm_mmc=Kiddicare-_-Shopping%20Sites-_-CPC-_-Shopzilla
I bought it at DJ's it was nearly $400 I think but we love it. Eliza I am sure doesn't give two hoots where she sits lol

I never had a cot but we did buy the boori Matilda rocker for her and that was great used it until she was 9 months and we will use it for the next baby as well.

Catalyic I am the same I am reading and reading as much as possible all avenues as well mostly on homebirth and mental preparation. I have started the breathing exercises and mental calming. I have to say they may be useful in labour but they are also really helpful when Eliza is driving me nucking futs and I take time out lol really calming me down :D

So you know those huge space bag thingos but they come in a canvas bag you can zip up? hmm here's picture
http://www.amazon.co.uk/JUMBO-BAG-SOFT-TOUCH-91X53X47CM/dp/B000TAWHQ6/ref=pd_bbs_sr_9/202-2188189-8918260?ie=UTF8&s=kitchen&qid=1193039814&sr=8-9

Well I have two of those filled with clothes from Eliza all under 12 months lol...DH is hoping this ones a girl as he has visions of two more of those filled with boys clothes, I think it will be worse as the there is much more choice here in the UK :laughing:

I was looking at my preggy pictures of when I was preg with Eliza. Worrying I got huge with her you forget how debilitating it becomes!!!

mirandaj
22-10-2007, 06:05 PM
Kayangel - to see the pics you view on my name and click on Zolts profile.

Emsmum - good luck with the scan tomorrow. It is fun you will enjoy it!!

Hope everyone has lots of 12 week scan pics to put on here soon.

Don't worry that you are having twins because yuou are big. I am HUGE (people at work think I look 6 months pregnant) and I only have one baby in there. I thought I had twins as well. Would be alright from the perspective that only one pregnancy for two beutiful babies but a lot of hard work.

I have got a few things already (bath, cot, change table, bouncer, nappy bag, winnie the pooh theme stuff for room) but will wait til I know the sex before buying clothes. I bought the big stuff in generic colours as hope to use it all for a second baby down the track (including the nursary).

Kayangel
22-10-2007, 06:12 PM
miranda- :D thanks! i got to see your pics! they are great, i love looking at u/s pics, your bubba is very cute looks happy in there.

PrincessJasmine
22-10-2007, 06:13 PM
So much for having a nap, the sickness hits me more laying down. Ive got DP stopping at the chemist on the way home to get something else for nausea.

Kayangel- I'm looking for a new GP, I thought he was quite good initially, as he figured out I had glandular fever, when every other doctor thought I was just tired due to being a mother! :banghead:

I've gone through at least 4 GP's in the last couple of years, they all have the same problem. They don't listen and are in a hurry to get you out of the room. Anyone recommend a good doctor in the Clayton, Mulgrave, Dandenong area?

I think there is a doctor at the same clinic, who deals with pregnant women. I saw two in there the other day waiting to see her. I assume she's popular then.

Kayangel
22-10-2007, 06:20 PM
catalytic- oh wow your in kinda the same area as me im in Cranbourne.

Your GP sounds good finding that out, i guess he has his good and bad points, look around tho and see who else is out there. Try and get into see the lady doctor at the same place.

Are you having your bubs at Dandenong? if your not having a home birth.

mirandaj
22-10-2007, 06:32 PM
Thanks Kayangel, the headstand was just sooo cute

Kayangel
22-10-2007, 06:34 PM
Thanks Kayangel, the headstand was just sooo cute

:laughing: yeh it is cute! make me laugh. looks like you have a little active bubs there.

PrincessJasmine
23-10-2007, 07:18 AM
I'm really worried....I've been awake since 4am with really bad stomach cramps. I've thrown up twice. I'm not in a good state right now. I've had a hot water bottle on but that hasn't helped. I can't tell if it is my stomach straetching, my bowels being distended or a m/c.

I'm calling the doctor's as soon as they open. I have no bleeding, and the pain seems to be in the middle of my stomach, I keep feeling like I need to poo. Any advice on to what it could be?

rynosmum
23-10-2007, 07:39 AM
I'm really worried....I've been awake since 4am with really bad stomach cramps. I've thrown up twice. I'm not in a good state right now. I've had a hot water bottle on but that hasn't helped. I can't tell if it is my stomach straetching, my bowels being distended or a m/c.

I'm calling the doctor's as soon as they open. I have no bleeding, and the pain seems to be in the middle of my stomach, I keep feeling like I need to poo. Any advice on to what it could be?

If it's any consolation, when I had major M/C cramps with my last, they were along the base of my tummy, where you'd expect a C/S scar to be. They were constant, regardless of whether I lay down, rolled over or stood up. They wouldn't ease with bowel movement. With another M/C (16 weeks) they were the same but timed just like contractions.

There is a lot of gastro going around at the moment so there's a good chance that it could be that, esp if you haven't had any bleeding at this stage and you've beene throwing up. I had it myself last week and the Dr said that it was everywhere.

Do get it checked for your own piece of mind though. :fingerscrossed: that they can put your mind at ease.

You must be so worried. I know it's hard but try to be calm - you don't know what it is yet, it could just be a bug.:hugs:

sammum
23-10-2007, 10:17 AM

You poor thing. When I was in my first trimester with my daughter I had the most dreadful constipation. The symptoms seemed similar to what you described. I ended up having to have a small glass of prune juice everyday throughout that pregnancy to make it thru.

Hope you start to feel better soon.

Bellas_mummy
23-10-2007, 11:25 AM
catalytic sweetie, i have had what you are experienceing and when i finally can do a poo it goes away. But until then it is horrible. Have you been to the toilet yet? Lets hope that is what it is and maybe have some dried apricots or something. But if you can get into your doctor today i would for peace of mind.

I hope you are starting to feel better and a little more relaxed. Big :hugs:

sammum
23-10-2007, 12:10 PM
Someone told me apricot juice is also good for this. Prune juice worked for me so I never tried the apricot juice. Perhaps worth a try.

EmsMum72
23-10-2007, 01:08 PM
Catalytic, I hope you've been to the doctor and your tummy pain was only bowel related. I swore by metamucil during my last pregnancy, hope you're feeling better!

Well I had my scan and I was so relieved to see the heart beat :smiliedance: . I am exactly 9 weeks today, which is what I thought I was, and there is only 1 baby :yes: which I'm kinda relieved about (twins would have been nice, but SUCH a handful), and the heart beat was 164. Couldn't really make out much on the scan at this stage, but the heart beat was the thing I was hanging out to see so I'm very happy. I've made it past that dreaded 8 week mark, now for the 12 week mark (small baby steps ;) ).

Kayangel
23-10-2007, 02:14 PM
EmsMum aka mel- Im so gald to hear everything is going well :smiliedance: and that your bub has a good strong heart beat you must feel happy!

catalytic- big hugs hun :hugs: :hugs: did you get into the doctors? im really worried about you please let us all no whats happening.... when i had a m/c i have bleeding and cramps normally its nothing to worry about unless you have both but checked for peace of mind if you havent already.

Me- I had my second doctors appointment today, got my blood tests back everything is fine and i got to hear bubs heart beat its gone up to 180 :D

today at my doctors appointment i said no to my pap smear and internal... has everyone else had the internal or going to have it???

Bellas_mummy
23-10-2007, 03:23 PM
Mel - yay, great news and i know exactly how relieved you would be feeling now. That is wonderful news!!

kayla - you lucky duck getting to hear the heart beat again. I was already up to date with my Pap smears so cant answer that one for you. What do you mean about an internal?? I havent had one yet but i have read it is quite normal at your 12 week appointment.

Catalytic - hope you are okay sweetie, thinking of you.

Kayangel
23-10-2007, 03:29 PM
ttcin2007- A internal is where they check that there is enough room for bubs and to check where the overious (sp?) are etc. this is very normal most women have it done but i said no to having it done as i didnt see a point in having it done. so was just wondering who has had it and who has said no to having it done.

TheEmpress
23-10-2007, 03:31 PM
Catalytic- :hugs::hugs: Oh you poor thing being up since 4 ! I hope your ok , How did your doctors appointment go ? :fingerscrossed: all is well but I don't think you are m/c because I'm sure you would have bleeding and your body does funny things whilst pregnant . Hope all is well thou and that your feeling better soon xx

Emsmum- So glad your u/s went well, I am soooo happy for you !!!:)

Hope everyone else is going well .
I'm really happy cause this is the 1st day that I've felt soooo much better , I have even put on makeup and straightened my hair (have felt too sick to do makeup and hair for weeks but I usually like to do that everyday) Also had energy today first time in ages !! 2nd trimester here we come !! YAY !:smiliedance:

V8
23-10-2007, 03:51 PM
Hey Ladies

Emsmum - what a relief, glad your scan went well hun! Hooray! And nearly 12 weeks too, that's great.

Catalytic - Are you ok, did you see the doc, i hope all is ok. And yeah, studying is such a pain, i think i'll take at least 12 months off. I have now finished for the semester though after handing my assignment in today! yay!

Persephone - yay for 12 weeks and feeling better!:smiliedance:

Miranda - cute scan pics, i'd love to see bubby right now but will probably just wait till the 20 week scan.

Feeling dreadfully hungry a lot and still tired and getting bad headaches, which is annoying. But i just have an arvo nap and that feels better! lol Will have to take a pic of my tummy again soon, i am so big already it's not funny!

Rachel87
23-10-2007, 04:10 PM
catalytic - Hope everything is ok hun

EmsMum72 - Congrats on 9 weeks :)

Kayangel - I didn't have an internal with DS and I don't think I will this time either.

Persephone - I know what you mean about having energy. The last 2 days I have actually managed to do cleaning without having to have hourly breaks lol. I have done so much today :)

V8 - Hope you got to have a nap and are feeling better. I have been really hungry too :)

Kayangel
23-10-2007, 04:13 PM
Persephone- Good to hear you are getting your energy back! you are 10 weeks so should be feeling better everyday :thumbsup:

Rachel- Why do you decide to say no to the internal?

V8- sorry to hear you arent feeling the best, get lots of rest.... look forward to seeing tummy pics!

EmsMum72
23-10-2007, 04:21 PM
Pretty much all of my friends have had internals early on in their pregnancy. I have with 2 of my pregnancies, the sonographer did my belly first today but couldn't get accurate measurements so did an internal. I can understand why, the baby is so small and especially for dating purposes I think it really is needed. TBH and trying to put this the nicest way, when I have sex with my hubby his 'prober' is 'up there' :o so there really isn't much difference to having the internal probe 'up there' :laughing: . It was really interesting seeing the ovaries, and she pointed out the uterus and that there was no blood in there, absolutely fascinating! :yes:

Kayangel
23-10-2007, 04:29 PM
mel- call me dumb lol but whats 'prober' :o :o and yeh most women do have the internal i just didnt want it as its different but also similar to the pap smear so saying yes to one is like saying yes to the other.

Im surpised they had to do an internal at 7 weeks 6 days everything was very clear at my scan, i guess everyone is different tho

katiemaree
23-10-2007, 04:31 PM
I agree about buying quality stuff so you don't just have to replace it later, however after checking out prams and stuff, we decided the Bugaboo was the best, but were really not into the price tag, so we got on eBay and got one for half price!! it is second hand but she had it for a year and has opted for a jogger instead!

The other thing we have bought (actually, hubby bought out of sheer excitement) was a MacPac thing because he likes hiking and wants to take baby hiking too....:kiss:

My mum said she would buy us a cot... I wonder if she would buy the Leander one. It does transform into a junior bed wihtout having to buy extra parts (which you have to buy extra with out growing beds).

I just wanna go get all that stuff now!!! But I know i should wait.:)

EmsMum72
23-10-2007, 04:40 PM
whats 'prober' :o :o

Im surpised they had to do an internal at 7 weeks 6 days everything was very clear at my scan, i guess everyone is different tho

'prober' (didn't know what else to call it without getting a warning) = willy :laughing:

You're lucky that your scan was clear, even with the internal my baby just looked like a gorgeous little 'blob' with a heartbeat, it was only 2.5cms! I was talking to my girlfriend today and she had 2 internals at 12 weeks.

Anyhoo, each to their own. If you didn't want to have an internal that's your perogative. Some women don't mind, others do! :D

Kayangel
23-10-2007, 04:52 PM
mel- :o silly me i re read your post and relised what you meant, sorry one of these days.

did you get u/s pics i got mine 2 weeks later :laughing: at my doctors appointment they are great! i can see the little head and everything in them.

are you getting a 12 week scan??

and yeh thats right everyone is different and will pick to do and have different things. :)

EmsMum72
23-10-2007, 04:58 PM
Yep Kayla I will be having an NT scan done at 12-14 weeks because I'm such an old nanna and it will be recommended. Good chance to see the baby again, hopefully it won't look so 'blobbish' by then. I can't believe you can make out a head and everything, I can't at all. Yep, I got a scan, one of the baby and one of the baby's heart rate :thumbsup: . We'll have to start up a thread for ultrasound pics!

Kayangel
23-10-2007, 05:06 PM
mel- i was surpised i could see a head and body :D but its there my mum and sister can see it too.

good to hear you will be getting another scan at 12 to 14weeks ... i love scans its great seeing bubs soooo amazing.

your not a old nanna.

yeh we will have to start a thread for u/s pics! i just need to work out how to use the scanner i just relised we do have one its a scanner fax and printer just dunno how to use the scanner on it. never needed too. :confused:

EmsMum72
23-10-2007, 05:15 PM
It should just be as easy as pressing the 'scan' button Kayla. My printer is a printer/copier/scanner and that's all I do :yes:

I know I'm not an old nanna, just hanging sh!t on myself :laughing:

Kayangel
23-10-2007, 05:27 PM
mel- i will have a try now... thanks! :thumbsup:

Kayangel
23-10-2007, 05:30 PM
is there any program i would have to open?? i pushed scan and it said refer to troubleshoot doc.

happybunnypony
23-10-2007, 05:52 PM
hey all
went to the doctors today too.... had to get a papsmear! it was actually my first ever!!!! I know i'm so bad for not getting one earlier!
I couldn't believe how tense i was. I was also a bit annoyed the doctor wasn't very compassionate with me and i think she was getting ****ed off... which didn't make me feel any better at all! She sounded really cranky and was going to give up, but i said to keep going and she said she got a tiny sample that might not be any good, but least it was something! I was really upset afterwards...
ohwell maybe it was the pregnancy hormones in overdrive... not sure! :P

Got the day off work so that was a good thing.

Emsmum: about telling my parents, they actually have about 8 grankids, but this is the first time one of their daughters is having a baby... mum says it just means soo much more! hehehe Plus i'm the baby of a big family so she's super excited!!

Going to start thinking about nappies and that kind of stuff... anyone got any preferences/information ideas etc?? cloth or best kind of disposable. I know there are probably other forums on this, but i like this one! hehe

Ok i'm off to veg in the couch!
oxxo

gillybilly
23-10-2007, 06:11 PM
Hi all just thought I would join in if that's ok.

My 3rd bub is due end of May and I have my ob appt this Thurs. It came as a surprise to us as I have a 8 month old and wasnt trying to get pregnant so soon. That means there will be a gap of 15 months between them kinda cool. My 3yo daughter is very excited to have another baby on the way as she is a great big sister. Hope everyone is feeling well and hope to chat to you all soon.

Kayangel
23-10-2007, 06:28 PM
gillybilly- Welcome to magic may mummys and Congrats on another pregnancy!!!

I look forward to getting to no you over the coming mths.

happybunnypony- Im sorry to hear your first pap smear went so bad, i too havent yet had a pap smear im getting mine done after bubs is born.

I am going to use disposable nappies i hate the idea of using cloth nappies :eek: i think huggies is one of the best brands out there.

Sheena2
23-10-2007, 06:28 PM
needing to vent! Went to the ob today for my second visit, he ask how I was and I told him about how **** I had been with m/s and then told him I had been having severe cramping. He said take ur pants off I better have a feel around. Im like "what? cant you send me for an ultrasound to see if it's ok?" he said down be silly and just lie on the bed.
so yeah did that. and he said everything is fine don't worry about it.
So I said" Well I want a dates scan anyway to see where I am at and whether I was pregnant or not when I had the xray"
He's like "no, legally I can't give you one this early as you can only have a couple of u/s during pregnancy as it puts baby at risk.
Im ,like bullsh#t, I had a 6 wk,12wk,18wk & 34wk scan with my other 2 pregnancies, so don't tell me that"
He's like "come back and see me in 2 weeks u will be about 12wks then and u can have a scan then"
Me-" I won't be coming back to see you in 2 wks, I won't be coming back at all, I WILL go and get a second opion and early scan referral!!"

Then I stormed out. I have been so angry and upset all day.
Bloody hormones.

Does any1 think I shouldn't be upset about this.

sorry bout the negative post.:rain:

mirandaj
23-10-2007, 06:40 PM
I think you sould be upset about that Sheena! Go and get a second opinion. You have a right to be concerned about your baby. I had an 8 week and 12 week scan. My ob has an ultrasound machine in his office and did the 8 week one.

Also your comfort is also important, not just the baby's safety and development, so if you don't feel comfortable with the OB get another one that has the same philosophy as you! Your doctor doesn't seem like he has a very good bedside manner.

Sorry but that is my two cents worth.

happybunnypony
23-10-2007, 06:43 PM
welcome Gillybilly! nice to meet another magic may baby mummy!!

Kayangel: thanks, yeah i was surprised at how bad i handled being fondled down there, i got quite emotional. It's weird, i've had doctors check down there when i had thrush and was okay, but there was something cold about her that really turned me off :(

Sheena: i think you are right to get a second opinion.

After my visit to the doctor today i was almost thinking of going to see someone else.
I think she got cold at me when i suggested i was interested in a water birth, she immediately turned me off saying there is nowhere in brisbane to get that done and i would have to do it at home and midwifes are hard to get and it will cost me heaps blah blah...
All i wanted was some information really, so i backed away. Then i got the papsmear and she was cold towards me, so maybe that turned her into nasty mode! i don't know!
She also thinks i don't need an ultrasound until 18 weeks!!! that's 6 weeks away! i don't know if i can wait that long! hehe

ok that's my vent too!!!

Kayangel
23-10-2007, 06:44 PM
Sheena2- what a terrible horrible doctor you have he should have sent you for a scan they cant tell if the baby is ok by just having a feel (im sure thing are fine:hugs: ) the way he treated you is not right go on you for having a go at him and i wouldnt be going back.

go see another doctor asap and forgot about the other ***hole one.

you have every reason to be upset i would be very upset.

on a positive note- sheena im guessing is your daughters name is that pronenced (sp?) like c-enna. and can also spell it sienna?? i am right? if i am why did you decide to spell it that way did you like ot or find it easyer for people to pronence (sp?)

lillipilli
23-10-2007, 08:05 PM
I am going cloth nappies all the way this time. Im very excited about making some tiny fitteds for a newborn, only started wth modern cloth at 6 months for Eden, and before that my other babies started in terrry flats, quickly went to disposables. If anyone is interested in the new cloth nappies that are available now you should check out the nappy section of bub hub. They are so cute and so much better for the environment, and definately not as much work as white terry squares used to be. The MCN super swap is on at the moment, lots of cute nappies and soakers being shown off in that thread.

amandaw
23-10-2007, 08:46 PM
I'm soooooo glad we used disposible for the first 6 months....there are so many wet nappy changes, and b/f poohs are just revolting. Also with a new born, I could have imagined nothing worse than having to wash them too! Now we use a combination of cloth (terry flats and a couple of made ones) and disposible (mostly overnight and when we're out) ....was actually DH's suggestion, because it meant that in our budget (since we'd gone down to 1 wage) he could take extra money from bub's 'spending' and put it to getting broadband :laughing: :laughing: whatever ffloats his boat!!! He's been really good with it though, and it does save a fortune...

Me - really busy at this end - have our schools annual Dance Night tomorrow night (which is just huge...but nearly over) then a school camp next week. Still haven't had any 'queries' so must be hiding the belly well because I certainly know it's there!! Don't feel huge though, but I'm quite tall so it has lots of room to spread out! Have a bit of a cold (how can I manage to survive all winter without getting sick????) but otherwise feeling good

Anyway, early night for me :wave:

EmsMum72
23-10-2007, 09:09 PM
I would love to go cloth, but don't have the time or the patience. I will be sticking to huggies at first, then Mamia from Aldi (heaps cheaper and just as good, stopping leakage etc, as Huggies but the Mamia ones are too big for newborns).

hbp, you poor love :hugs: . What an awful experience you had today. Having a pap smear at the best of times isn't very pleasant, but sounds like you had the doctor from hell. I can understand you being tense, you had never had one before and the first one is always a bit scary - fear of the unknown etc. I really think you need to find a more supportive doctor, sounds like she turned into a b!tch as soon as you mentioned having a water birth. It's your body, your baby, your choice!

Hi gillybilly :wave: welcome to this thread. Congratulations on your pregnancy, and I'm looking forward to chatting to you more over the coming months.

Sheena, bludy he!! no wonder you needed to vent. That doctor certainly didn't need to do what he did. He should have referred you for an ultrasound. I'd be making a formal complaint. Sounds a bit creepy to me. I'm glad you said you wouldn't be coming back, and definately find yourself a new doctor. It makes the world of difference if you have a doctor that you like, who is supportive of what you want to do. I normally see a lady doctor and one day she was away so I saw her colleague. The female doctor is good, but sometimes I feel like she is always in a rush and we have to speed through whatever issue I have, but her colleague is absolutely awesome and I think I will see him all the time now. He remembered me from months ago, remembered that I had PCOS when I walked in, really took the time to sit down and chat with me about this pregnancy and that made me feel so good, confident and like he actually cared about me.

Kayla, all we did with our printer was load the software, choose the right printer from 'chooser' and bob's your uncle!! Not much help am I :laughing: Hope you sorted it out!! I noticed you've started another thread about scans, I'll have to go and check it out.

Has anyone been having little emotional outbursts. I've been so grumpy at hubby the past couple of days. He just has to look at me the wrong way and I crack it, then feel like hugging him and crying 5 mins later. I was a bit disappointed about his reaction today (very blaise) but he's scared of miscarriage again and wants to stay strong in case I need him. The thing is it makes me feel like he doesn't care when he doesn't show any excitement about the scan. He said he'll be happy when we get to the 13-14wk mark. I understand where he's coming from and I'm scared of getting attached and then suffering a loss, but it's hard not to be excited and part of me feels like by not telling anyone about the baby we're not acknowledging it - guess we're only trying to protect ourselves. Talk about hormone overloads, I think I need to take myself off to bed.

Catalytic, I really hope you're ok. Let us know how you are as soon as you can cause we're all worried about you!

Yep, totally normal these days to only have a scan at 12 weeks if you are young, first child, had an easy first pregnancy etc. That's why it's always good to say you have no idea when your last period was, or when you think you conceived because then they normally recommend a dating scan!

Hi to everyone else :wave: , enough :ecomcity: ing from me. Ninies!!

V8
23-10-2007, 09:09 PM

Sheena - that's interesting to hear an OB saying that not to get too many scans, i have actually heard this a few times now, so it seems they are really trying to discourage too many scans early on. I am only going to have the 20 week scan and that's it.

Lillipilli - Cloth nappies will be used here too, DS is in cloth nappies most of the time but didnt start till he was about 13 months old i think, will be interesting to have a newborn in cloth.

Congrats Gillybilly on becoming a May mummy.

Rachel87
24-10-2007, 07:22 AM
Kayangel - I wasn't offered any internals with DS and honestly I don't see the point in having them. Am curious as to what exactly they do and why internals are important????

Gillybilly - Welcome to our thread :)

EmsMum72 - Yes I have been very emotional this pregnancy. It's not good! lol Big hugs too.

Bel1978
24-10-2007, 08:25 AM
HI all just a quick one.. sorry i havent been on in days... ive been soo sick.. not a pregnant sick.. i think some thing is going around as i know a few people that have been sick..

Will be back after i feel better....

Kayangel
24-10-2007, 09:45 AM
bel- i am also sick, there is something going around my whole family is sick and so many of there friends and my friends. EVERYONE is sick :eek: :eek: :eek: have you taken anything??

Rachel- I also said no to mine as i didnt see any point. A internal is to check if there is plenty of room for bubs and also to check where the overious are, most ladies do have it done but i said no as bubs heart is strong so seems to be a good healthy pregnany and also cause they cant do anything if something was wrong.

mel- i havent yet worked it out :o so annoyed! lol.

gotta rush off be back later.

Bel1978
24-10-2007, 11:39 AM
KayAngel... im soo light headed and i had to changed a dirty nappy so then i was sick lucky i had the spare nappy in my hand...

As for taking some thing.. My Ob this time said i wasnt aloud tooo take any thing when i had my cold.. last time i was but they dont want t risk any thing i guess.... BY the sounds of it what is going around goes in a couple of days... problem is i have a 5 month old to look after

PrincessJasmine
24-10-2007, 12:09 PM
Thanks for the concern guys! It makes me :)

All is apparently ok. Yesterday was pretty bad...I went to the doctor at 8:15am, he said go to emergency at Monash Clayton. Gave me a shot of Buscopan and Stematil, apparently it was meant to kick in within 40 minutes, it didn't start to work for 3 hours....
Anyway my partner had to take another day off work to rush me to the hospital. Got taken in just before 11am. I was retching pretty bad by this stage and feeling really sick. The stematil did not work at all!

Anyway, they hooked me to a drip, gave me maxalon and panadol forte for the pain. I was there 6 hours, and they couldn't tell me what it was. No bleeding, and my stomach magically stopped cramping by the time the doctor was seeing to me. So they didn't bother doing an u/s, just told me to arrange one for next week. I came home, still in pain, but only when I moved. Late last night I let some wind go, and felt so much better!

I'm pretty sure it was gas, saw my GP earlier he thinks everything is fine, that it probably was just gas. It would explain the bloating. I also asked the nurse yesterday if it was possible to feel 'movements' so early, she just said it could be my bowels. These flutters don't feel like bowel movements to me...I hope they are though, the thought of having 2 scares the hell out of me (goodbye home birth, hello c/s!).

I just booked my scan for next Tuesday morning. I'll be 11 weeks. No 12 week scan for me! I just want to make sure baby is still alive and that there isn't two. I'm debating not having the 20 week scan, but now my partner wants to know the sex. He's gotten a lot better about it all in the last week. So I'm happy about that :thumbsup:

I still feel really tired, but finally got a decent night's sleep last night. I feel better today than I have so far. Maxolon is fantastic! (for me anyway). No sickness today, just feeling iffy cos I'm hungry.

Long story but I HATE RENTING!! Darn agent thinks we owe them $400 when I know I only owe $125, I sent DP to sort it all out. This agent refuses to call us to talk about things, instead sends these emails, but doesn't read my replies properly :banghead:

Glad to hear all went well for those of you that have had their scans in the last week!
I'm looking forward to mine too, but a little apprehensive about it as well. BTW, the lady at MIA asked me if it was for a foetal something scan, but mine is just a plain obstetric ultrasound. What's the difference? What else are they testing other than size and heartbeat at that stage anyway? I decided this time I'm not having any of the tests, I'm guessing any heart defects or birth defects could be picked up at the 20 week scan, is this right? Are there any tests I should consider?

LOL sorry for the really long posts, I can type nearly as quick as I can talk, so imagine me in real life! it's pretty hard to shut me up sometimes!

PrincessJasmine
24-10-2007, 12:21 PM
Then i got the papsmear and she was cold towards me, so maybe that turned her into nasty mode! i don't know!
She also thinks i don't need an ultrasound until 18 weeks!!! that's 6 weeks away! i don't know if i can wait that long! hehe

ok that's my vent too!!!

Find another OB, it sounds like she's not the right one for you. You should be able to have a 12 week ultrasound, what a joke! If you want to have a waterbirth no one should try and discourage you from that. I'm planning on a home water birth and I'm not taking no for an answer! (providing I'm not having twins of course)

He's like "no, legally I can't give you one this early as you can only have a couple of u/s during pregnancy as it puts baby at risk.
Im ,like bullsh#t, I had a 6 wk,12wk,18wk & 34wk scan with my other 2 pregnancies, so don't tell me that"
He's like "come back and see me in 2 weeks u will be about 12wks then and u can have a scan then"
Me-" I won't be coming back to see you in 2 wks, I won't be coming back at all, I WILL go and get a second opion and early scan referral!!"

My GP told me something similar, although he didn't say anything about it being law now. They are trying to discourage woman from having more than is necessary. Which is fair enough in a way, but the choice should still be there for those that want them. Good on you for storming out, I wouldn't have had the guts, but I'd wish afterwards that I had!

sammum
24-10-2007, 12:28 PM

catalytic - so pleased all is ok! Bummer about the real estate agent, though.

Sheena2 - I can't believe that dr. I hadn't heard they were trying to reduce the number of scans. My obs did the 9wk scan and gave me the option to go for a 12wk scan. I can't imagine what the problem was!

HBP - You poor thing! To be treated like that for your first papsmear is just awful. No wonder you felt invaded! Until recently, I used to go to the family planning clinic in Fortitude Valley for my smears - they are just lovely and explain exactly what is going to happen. Mostly female practitioners and they generally warm up the equipment before using it. Only costs around $5-$10. This is NOT how you should be treated and NOT how all smears are done.

As for nappies - I have to admit to using disposables. I used to beat myself up for it. But I started using reusable and then nappies made from biodegradable materials and my DD invariably ended up with nappy rash. Huggies are the only ones that she doesn't react to. Given that I am a bit of an environmental-vandal with the nappies, I try to do my bit in other areas to give myself some psych-relief(e.g. biodegradable bags to wrap nappies in, enviro friendly washing powder/soap/shampoo, plumbed in tanks, grey water usage, reduce car trips by walking, etc.). I also tried to toilet train my DD earlier to reduce the waste, but it didn't work.

happybunnypony
24-10-2007, 01:33 PM
hey sammum,
yes i had always meant to go to fortitude valley and get it there, but life just got in the way! haha
Next time i will probably try for that!

i know what you mean about feeling bad about the environment by using disposable nappies, but i too would probably make up for it in other areas where i can... i love the environment, but i need my sanity too!! :P
I see your due a day after me.... are you going to Royal Brissy or trying for the Birthing Centre? Again my doc tried to steer me clear of the Birthing Centre mostly because she said they try to boot you out after 24 hours... ??

Rachel87
24-10-2007, 01:37 PM
catalytic - So glad things are ok and you are feeling better :)

cindye
24-10-2007, 01:55 PM
Good Afternoon Girls!

catalytic - It sounds like you've had a bad run. :hugs: Hope you feel better soon. BTW- maybe they were asking if it was a nuchal translucency scan? It's the 11-13 week one where they check for chromosomal abnormalities like Downs syndrome.

Bel1978 & Kayangel - hope you're both feeling better before too long. There's nothing worse than not being able to take something.

EmsMum & Rachel - I've been a little more emotional than usual - not snappy, but more likely to get teary if there's something heart-tugging on TV (Damn Oprah!) :laughing:

We're planning to use disposables first up (we actually bought 4 big boxes of newborn Huggies from Woolies when they were on special a couple of weeks ago) and then start using the fitted cloth nappies during the daytime, and disposables at night and for trips out. My sister wanted to use cloth nappies for her twins when they were born in March, but she's been back at work since July and has found it to be too hard - which is good for me, because I've inherited 20 fitted cloth nappies. And my mum has everything to make more too, so we should be set.

Now, on another matter - if you're a bit constipated, I've got a cure for you...
I made this apricot loaf yesterday and it works wonders! Give it a try.
Mix together 1 cup milk, 1 cup wholemeal SR flour, 1 cup shredded coconut, 1 cup chopped dried apricots, 1 cup brown sugar and 1/3 cup all bran. Put into greased loaf tin (20cm x 11cm) and bake for 55-60mins in a moderate oven. Check with skewer to see if it's cooked.

There you go girls. And it's yummy too. Keep it in the fridge.

Hello to everyone else out there! And welcome to Gillybilly!:wave:

katiemaree
24-10-2007, 02:01 PM
I have been debating cloth nappies and disposable. I think the biodegradable nappies are the way to go. In theory, cloth nappies are great, but think about all the water you use to wash them, and then all the chemicals you use in that water to actually get all the muck off! Sort of a false economy, really. (and I know it seems like we have had a lot of rain lately, but the reality is that our resevoir in Melbs is at half what it was this time last year!!!).:no:
I did see in my supermarket the other day some white soak and washing powder that was apparently ok in grey water (our washing machine is hooked up to tank to collect the grey water for our garden). But I worry a lot of people aren't using re-using their washing water.....

Just something to think about.... (or perhaps another thing to confuse you!!)

lillipilli
24-10-2007, 02:41 PM
Think about all the water used to make a disposable, and MCNs dont use that much water, you can do a full load every few days. You dont need to soak them in napisan anymore, and they use less detergent then washing your clothes. Hanging them in the sun sanitises them and removes any stains. There is heaps of info in the nappy section about it, people dont realise how much nappies have changed since we were using the white terry squares. Please dont make decisions based on what your mum used to do with nappies because it has all changed so much.
By the way i am the laziest person in the world, and i dont mind washing and looking after Edens nappies, they make me quite happy. So it isnt that much extra work.

sammum
24-10-2007, 02:49 PM
hey
I see your due a day after me.... are you going to Royal Brissy or trying for the Birthing Centre? Again my doc tried to steer me clear of the Birthing Centre mostly because she said they try to boot you out after 24 hours... ??

I'm going to the Wesley - had my DD there and they were fabulous. I've heard wonderful things about the birthing centre - but know I wouldn't handle being kicked out after 24 hours. Was in for 5 nights last time (had c-sect) and it was fabulous, time for my milk to come in & get some basic 'operating instructions' for motherhood before heading home.

I have been debating cloth nappies and disposable. I think the biodegradable nappies are the way to go.

I think it's a fabulous idea! And I am 100% with you on the use of grey water/recycled water. But remember not to beat yourself up if at a later date that some of the best laid plans don't work out. The one guarantee of parenthood is that it turns your life upside down:) .

Bel1978
24-10-2007, 04:54 PM
At Nepean private you stay 5 nights for a natural birth or 7 for a c-cection....

Bel1978
24-10-2007, 04:56 PM
We're planning to use disposables first up (we actually bought 4 big boxes of newborn Huggies from Woolies

I have never known any baby to be in newborns for 4 boxes worth... are you sure.... I think sienna was in 2 boxes and she was 6lb5oz

EmsMum72
24-10-2007, 05:02 PM
I'm already dreading being away from my DD for 5 nights when I have the baby. From what I've heard you pretty much get left alone by the nurses if it's not your 1st baby anyway, in a public hospital you're normally in a shared room and if it's not your own baby keeping you awake, it's the other persons :banghead: . I got a really b!tchy night nurse who told me I obviously had no idea what I was doing when it came to breastfeeding (derrrrrr, my baby was 1 day old) because I was trying to feed, my milk hadn't come in properly and my daughter was hysterical because she was hungry. That nurse made me so upset. She took my daughter away for about 30 mins so we could all 'calm down'. I went looking for her (my daughter) cause I was fretting, and overheard her saying to another nurse 'the poor little baby, the mother has no clue!!'. I was devastated and angry. I wrote a letter complaining to the hospital, and found out though a friend I made (one of the 'nice' nurses in hospital who looked after me) that she got sacked because of all the complaints about her. So yeah, hope this experience is better but not looking forward to being away from home.

As you can see I'm in a wonderful mood today, NOT!! :mad: :( :D

gillybilly
24-10-2007, 06:35 PM
Hi everyone thanks for the warm welcome.
I just wanted to say that after reading Sheena2's post I would have walked out also. I am on my 3rd pregnancy and have never heard anything about cutting down on ultrasounds what a load of s***. I hope you find a ob you are happy with and that isnt such a twit.
Also wanted to say that I use disposables and find that Huggies are the best, get what you pay for I suppose. I tried a few different types but found they are the only ones that dont give a rash and that last a night with no leaks.
And on last note Emsmum72 thank god the nurse was sacked thats no way to treat a new mum what a b####.
Hope everyone is feeling good, chat to you soon.

zera06
25-10-2007, 07:44 AM
Am i the only one going through this problem at the moment but im just not hungry. Last preg i was starving and this time im not that hungry.

You got to love hubbys mine has decided i need my licence so he went and bought me the learners book and he wants me to have my learners by the last week of november. Like i dont have other things on my mind.

Is anyone in here going to the hi five concert in Jan ?

Kayangel
25-10-2007, 08:33 AM
mel- What a terrible experince i would have seriouly been in tears and felt so down on myself if i heard a nurse say that, how dare they say that to anyone let alone a first time mum with a one day old baby :mad:

are you going back to the same place??

I am a first time mum as you no and im hoping to leave 8 to 12 hours after the birth, if everything goes fine they can only keep you in for 8 hours if you dont want to stay, i would rather get home and i have my mums help.

zera06- aww your hubby is a sweetie! i am booked into get my ps on the 12th december :D

Bel- i will be sick a week 2morrow, i hope your feeling better must be very hard with a 5 mth old.

sounds like most of you ladies are going cloth nappies maybe i should read up about them and re think.

Rachel87
25-10-2007, 08:56 AM
EmsMum72 - I had a nurse just like this. She was a down right cow. She tried to tell me to wake my sleeping few hour old baby to feed him because he "had to be fed every 4hrs". I didn't wake him and she got the sh*ts with me. Next time a nurse came in was after change of shift so I had a nice one :)

zera06 - I wish I had your problem! I can't stop eating atm lol

Kayangel - Is it really only a minimum of 8hrs after the birth you have to stay? We left the hospital after about 36hrs because I just wanted to get home and start a routine, without other babies waking mine. We had a midwife from the hospital come and visit us for the first few days we were home to make sure feeding was going well and to do the prick test. I'm hoping this time we can be out in about the same time.

Kayangel
25-10-2007, 09:04 AM
Rachel- :yes: its 8 hours if there are no problems and baby is healthy.

well i better rush off got to go to tafe for 9:30 to 12:30 :wave: be back later!

PrincessJasmine
25-10-2007, 10:07 AM
Good Afternoon Girls!

catalytic - It sounds like you've had a bad run. :hugs: Hope you feel better soon. BTW- maybe they were asking if it was a nuchal translucency scan? It's the 11-13 week one where they check for chromosomal abnormalities like Downs syndrome.

Now, on another matter - if you're a bit constipated, I've got a cure for you...
I made this apricot loaf yesterday and it works wonders! Give it a try.
Mix together 1 cup milk, 1 cup wholemeal SR flour, 1 cup shredded coconut, 1 cup chopped dried apricots, 1 cup brown sugar and 1/3 cup all bran. Put into greased loaf tin (20cm x 11cm) and bake for 55-60mins in a moderate oven. Check with skewer to see if it's cooked.

There you go girls. And it's yummy too. Keep it in the fridge.

That's the scan I was thinking of, is anyone getting it done? I don't know if I should or not.

Thanks for the recipe I might give it a try. I got so hungry last night, I made DP go to Macca's. I really am having a bad run this week. DD went fishing with daddy yesterday evening. DP gave her a Hungry Jacks kids meal, and she has been throwing up most of the night. Luckily DP stayed up with her, but no more kids meals. Not impressed. :thumbsdown:

For once this morning I'm not feeling sick, just tired as usual, which I can handle. I hope to get some home work finally done today, I don't like my chances of passing one of my units. I'm a little worried about the u/s on Tuesday...The search for a midwife isn't going so well. All but one, so far, is either overseas in May or totally booked out. The list is getting smaller and smaller. There just doesn't seem to be anyone else close by me.

lillipilli
25-10-2007, 11:11 AM
Thats a bummer about the midwives catalytic, maybe you could freebirth if you really want the homebirth. I am thinking about freebirthing, this is my fourth so i think it will be pretty straightforward.

When Eden was born she slept for a solid 24 hours, and the nurses werent really worried about her to wake her up. She had a feed straight after she was born and then maybe one or two short ones when we tried to wake her up. But they said as long as she has at least one feed they arent worried. So it isnt necessary to wake them up every four hours.

EmsMum72
25-10-2007, 01:26 PM
I found out yesterday that the NT blood test will cost me $80 :eek: and I think the scan will be about $120. I don't think they're covered by medicare, could be wrong. When I had DD in Sydney all of my blood tests, scans etc were covered, but it's so different here in Melbourne. Apparently my GP might be able to tick a 'bulk bill' box and the bloods might be bulk billed, and if I was 35 (which I will be in Dec, but the scan/bloods need to be done early Nov) they would be free :banghead: .

Kayla, I had my DD at RPA in Sydney and they were awesome (apart from that one rude b!tch), but we've since moved to Melb so I'll be having this baby at Box Hill Hosp. :yes: I'd rather come home as quickly as possible after the birth too, definately better being at home. I hope TAFE was good today, was it your first day back??

catalytic, sorry that things don't seem to be falling into place for you. Hang in there, things will start to look up soon.

Hey does anyone know if I can eat cooked salmon (like salmon fillets??). I was planning on cooking them for dinner tonight!

Well, I'm off to do some housework so it looks like I've actually done something before DH gets home :D

katiemaree
25-10-2007, 01:34 PM
I think as long as you cook it all the way thru is should be fine. I don't think it is a fish that has a lot of heavy metals.

EmsMum72
25-10-2007, 01:49 PM
I think as long as you cook it all the way thru is should be fine. I don't think it is a fish that has a lot of heavy metals.

Thanks Katie :thumbsup:

Kayangel
25-10-2007, 01:54 PM
mel- what area do you live in?? im having my bubs at dandenong... i was also born there!

There seems to be one nurse / midwife who spoils a birth, at my sisters birth they took her prefectly normal baby girl into special care they said she had heart problems lol bull****! she didnt.

:yes: was my first day back at tafe today i only had to do 3 hours... next week ill be doing 8 hours 2 days a weeks and 3 hours for the other 3 days.

I have had salmon fillets as long as there cooked all the way though its fine.

EmsMum72
25-10-2007, 02:36 PM
Kayla, I'm in Croydon/Ringwood/Heathmont area.

I thought it was cool to have salmon fillets :D not that I really feel like eating them, the thought of them now makes me want to :barf: was a good idea at the time!!

Yep, you usually get 1 bad nurse to ruin your experience. Luckily I also had an awesome one and she was on 3/4 of my stay, she looked after me so well, she was so kind and nothing was too much. She even arranged for a private room for me because I was so tired, upset and wanting to leave after 2 nights (seeing as I'd had a c-section they wanted me to stay 5, but I ended up leaving after 3). We still keep in touch now, nearly 4 years later, which is lovely! :yes:

Glad to hear uni was ok!

zera06
25-10-2007, 03:00 PM
i think salmon is on the no no list cause i rember when i had my son i craved salmon and my doctor at the time said you cant eat it.

PrincessJasmine
25-10-2007, 03:13 PM
I wouldn't have a clue about fish, I can't stand the stuff. DP is probably cooking a trout later, and I'm trying to convince him to cook it outside in the rain...don't like my chances.

I just had to make a hard decision, and withdraw from one of my units. I've fallen so far behind, I just realised I have an assignment due next week that I haven't started and really can't finnish. I'll give it another go some time in the future. I just can't handle it at the moment, with all the other stress at the moment. I feel sort of relieved now.

EmsMum72
25-10-2007, 03:14 PM
i think salmon is on the no no list cause i rember when i had my son i craved salmon and my doctor at the time said you cant eat it.

bummer, i know you can't have smoked salmon but I thought cooked salmon fillets were ok :confused:

EmsMum72
25-10-2007, 03:20 PM
I just had to make a hard decision, and withdraw from one of my units. I've fallen so far behind, I just realised I have an assignment due next week that I haven't started and really can't finnish. I'll give it another go some time in the future. I just can't handle it at the moment, with all the other stress at the moment. I feel sort of relieved now.

Weren't you thinking of deferring for a year or so, or am I getting you mixed up with someone else? Wouldn't surprise me, I have severe preggo brain atm. If so, sounds like it might be a good idea, it's so hard trying to concentrate on anything other than your baby when you are pregnant. Mind you, studying with a newborn might be hard work too! Guess you have to weigh it all up and do whatever you're comfortable with.

Has anyone else been really forgetful lately? I put my daughter's hair brush in the fridge last night :banghead: prepared and started cooking 'chow mein' the other night only to realise I had no 'chow mein' mix when I went to add it to the mince, cabbage, carrots, rice etc. :laughing: and there's other stupid stuff I've been doing but I've forgotten what they are :(

PrincessJasmine
25-10-2007, 03:26 PM
Yeah that was me, I'll have to defer my next 2 as well. I've lost my mind :D All I seem to care about lately is baby stuff, and my daughter of course!

I'm finding it really hard to concentrate on anything. I've been putting things down and then wondering where I've put them too.

I went to Dimmeys today. I bought a Berlie sports bra (the wireless crop top kind) $15, wait for it...16DD!! I picked it up and thought oh that wont fit me, it will be too big. DP partner pointed out that it looked the right size to him. I should trust his judgement on my breasts in future. He was right...it fits, in fact I don't think I'll be able to wear it through the rest of my pregnancy. OMG I can't believe it 16DD!!!! No wonder why my back has been hurting, even when I was breastfeeding I didn't get this big. At least I found something I can sleep in.

sammum
25-10-2007, 04:15 PM
Just going back to the comments about the stay in hospital and being away from other children. I have to say I am worried about being away from my DD for 4-5 days, it'll be the longest I've ever been apart from her. But at the same time, I love not having to worry about cooking, cleaning or washing - I LOVED that I could just go to the hospital cupboard to pick up more clothes for the bub and put all the dirty ones in a bin that magically was emptied every day. Heaven!

gillybilly
25-10-2007, 04:51 PM
Hi all just wanted to say I had my first appt with my ob today and everything is going well. It was great to see my little bean up on the screen with its heart beating away so cool. They were a bit surprised to see me back so soon as my last bubs is only 8 months but really happy for me. They are soooo nice. Also scored a bonus as my ob said she will rebate this pregnancy again as she did my last just as a present for me isn't that awesome. The cost for private is never ending always helps to get my visits covered by her. Hope everyone is doing well. Till next time, ciao.

PrincessJasmine
25-10-2007, 04:59 PM
Avoidig a hospital stay is why I'm having a home birth. We can't afford for DP to take too much time off work. So I'm hoping my mum will help otherwise I'm gong to be pretty tired.
With my c/s I stayed only 3 days, they wanted me to stay for 5 but I insisted on coming home early. In hindsight I recommend staying in hospital as long as you can after a c/s. But...the three days I was in hospital I didn't sleep, yet I needed the morphine they were giving me for 2 days due to the pain. I wasn't in any shape to come home so soon, but at that time we were still living at my mums. I know with a vaginal birth the recovery was much quicker. This is all based on my personal experience though...

Kayangel
25-10-2007, 05:21 PM
catalytic- I also have a assignment due next week (wednesday) which i havent even started :eek: :eek: :eek: i have no idea how i am going to finishen it lol or even start it for that matter:banghead:

mel- I have been really forgetful lately i went food shopping yesturday and i forgot about 5 things :laughing: i also loose my train of thought alot, forget what i am meant to be doing, forget if i have done something or not and forget where things are.... i normally remember everything but i have a serious case of pregnancy brain.

gillybilly- your GP sounds lovely.

PrincessJasmine
25-10-2007, 05:27 PM
I've just managed to do some of the dishes, and I'm cooking chicken and corn soup tonight, hopefully DD will have some as she still hasn't eaten today. I think she's a little scared she'll be sick again... poor thing I hate throwing up too :no:

Kayangel
25-10-2007, 05:32 PM
catalytic- Soup will be good for your DD i hope you can get some into her.

gillybilly
25-10-2007, 05:34 PM
Hi all just a question.
My dd has got chicken pox is there any problems with me being pregnant. I have had blood test's in the past and they say I have an immunity to it. But she has also had the vaccination and has come down with it. I heard there can be problems in the first 3 and last 3 months. Should I be worried? She has been so ill poor thing and has had a fever off and on since Monday. She has now come out in spots all over body not face thankfully for her.

Kayangel
25-10-2007, 05:40 PM
gillybilly- If you have immunity to it then you should be fine. My doctor went though this with me on tuesday if you have full immunity then you shouldnt get it.

vaccination is different to immunity, vaccination helps prevent you from getting something but to have immunity from something you need to actually have had it.

gillybilly
25-10-2007, 05:53 PM
Thanks makes me a bit more relaxed. Just need her to get better now poor thing and hope that my 8mo dd doesnt get it. Otherwise I think I should just give up on sleep.:hair:

Kayangel
25-10-2007, 05:59 PM
your welcome! :fingerscrossed: fingers crossed your daughter gets better soon poor little thing. I hope your bubs doesnt get it.

Did your doctor give anything for you to bath your daughter in?? i no you can get this really good stuff that takes the itch away and works wonders.

gillybilly
25-10-2007, 06:05 PM
Nope he said to use calamine lotion but thankfully she isnt very itchy. She keeps scratching one on her leg but thats it. I keep covering it with the lotion and it works until it starts to wear off. :thumbsup: Her biggest problem is the fever she keeps getting, must take after my dh he always gets a fever when sick not me. Roll on a nights sleep I say.

lillipilli
25-10-2007, 06:28 PM
Pinetarsol is good for rashes and itching. Myabe try that if she starts scratching alot. It is a bit smelly but works wonders.

katiemaree
25-10-2007, 09:40 PM
You should take her to see a doc, then you can put your mind at ease about the chicken pox (what is the diff with chicken pox and ruebella?) and perhaps they will suggest something for the fevers (you can NEVER be too careful with fevers).

EmsMum72
26-10-2007, 08:33 AM
zera, meant to reply to your question about Hi5 yesterday but didn't get around to it. DD likes watching Hi5 on tv but isn't totally obsessed by them, if it was Dora we'd be going :D . I've taken her to concerts before and she gets bored 1/2 way through, doesn't jump up and down and get all excited, and the crowds at a Hi5 concert would sh!t me up the wall. Are you going??

Everyone must be starting to feel alot better now cause there's a few who have reached that 12 week milestone (or near enough)?? I had 2 shocking days this week with really bad nausea, the last 2 days I've hardly had any at all and my boobs aren't overly sore. :fingerscrossed: everything's ok!

zera06
26-10-2007, 08:51 AM
hey ems

yes im going with my little man he will be 15mnths and my mum :) i got seats towards the back so i didnt have to be near little over excited children lol :P

Kayangel
26-10-2007, 08:55 AM
Mel- I am very exciting about soon reaching the magic safe 12 week mark :smiliedance: i cant wait only 2 more weeks to go!!

Good to hear you are starting to feel better, my boobs are also not as sore anymore just a little and well i never had m/s so cant say if mine is going.

well... off to tafe be back later. :wave:

V8
26-10-2007, 11:03 AM
Hey guys

Catalytic - I had to drop 2 subjects earlier this semester too, i just couldn't handle it i was really sick at the time but also didn't know that i was pregnant just yet but quit anyway, im glad i did. I just finished all my assessments now thank goodness, it was so hard to find the energy and get motivated to do anything. I did manage 2 credits on my 2 exams so i was stoked about that. So at least i passed. Will have to find out about deferring for another 12 months though for sure. Also bummer about your list becoming smaller and smaller about homebirth. You tried ringing any doulas?? You may get lucky there?? I have found a great doula/student midwife, i wish she had her degree finished so she could attend my homebirth herself, she is fantastic. But i am having another registered midwife aswell.

Kaya - gosh you have a full study load aswell, i hope you get through it. It's hard to concentrate with so many better things to worry about (bubs) hehe.

Emsmum - I am forgetful and ditzy too, it's really frustrating.

We are also sick here, Joshy's had a runny nose for a couple of days and slight temperature, i woke up with a sore throat too, so we will see the doc this arvy and i'll have a chat to her about the 12 week scan and if they still bulk bill it, i think i may as i have been a bit worried lately and just want to have some reassurance, another 8 weeks for the 20 week scan sounds like ages away. I have just been getting headaches, pains in my sides and chest pain. Now feeling sick is making me exhausted. Ahwell i'm 12 weeks tomorrow, so that's exciting stuff. :)

Take care ladies, chat soon.

PrincessJasmine
26-10-2007, 11:44 AM
I've got a student midwife arranged I just need a qualified midwife now. I'll see how I go on Tuesday, with my scan and then the appointement with a midwife. DP keeps joking I must be having twins, I don't know if the movement I'm feeling is my bowels or baby. My GP kind of grinned when I told him I think I'm feeling baby or babies move already. I'm sure it probably wont be. DP says, at least you wont have to have any more if you have twins, I won't make you go through that again. How considerate of him...LOL caught him looking at engagement rings yesterday :yelclap:

I'm about to go buy some maternity clothes from Kmart, I can't wear my pants without a belt, but I can't stand the restriction of a belt any longer. They have a sale on all Bub2B clothes at the moment. I thought I might get some pants and maybe a couple of singlets for summer.
I bought this nice skirt from Pumpkin Patch last time, I never got to wear it, as by the time summer ended I still wasn't big enough to fill maternity clothes. This time I think I may get some wear out of it. I swear I look like I'm 5 months, not 10 weeks and 5 days.

zera06
26-10-2007, 12:36 PM
there is a site where you can get a free belly belt if you join.

if you are intrested pm and i will give you the site :)

EmsMum72
26-10-2007, 01:08 PM
zera, have fun at Hi5 with your son.

Kayla, I spoke to soon about not feeling sick, nausea hit big time this morning. Didn't :barf: but felt like I wanted to, specially with that metallic taste in my mouth. We had salmon for dinner last night and the whole house still smells like it and that's also making me want to :barf: .

I woke up with a really sore throat too today V8, felt like I had razor blades in there, but is feeling alot better now. I've also had a dull ache in my abdomen, comes and goes for about an hour at a time. Stretching, I hope!

I don't know how anyone could wait 20 weeks before having their first ultra sound, I know I certainly couldn't. I spoke to a lady at medicare today and as far as she was concerned I should get money back from medicare for the Downs blood test & ultrasound, so that's good news :yelclap: .

catalytic, engagement rings 'ey? Woo hoo! That's exciting! I had a look at Kmart the other day and they had some quite decent maternity stuff. I saw a nice white skirt, and a top that went with it. Unfortunately DD decided to have a bit of a tanty so I didn't get to try anything on, but I hope to get back there in the next day or 2. Target didn't have much at all. It drives me crazy how they have so much size 8-14 stuff, but when it goes in to bigger stuff they're either really bold, loud prints or the clothes look like a mini tent :banghead: not very flattering! I need new clothes to take away with us to NZ, but also need to pay for DD's Christmas/birthday lay-by's before we go, and have these scans. Aaaarrrggghh, wish I had a money tree.

Hubby just bought me home a new chocolate. It's dairy milk with popping candy, so when you put it in your mouth it pops and crackles. I'm off to eat some of that and to vacuum the floors, what fun!!

p.s. I have had 2 really vivid dreams over the past 4 nights and on both occasions, in these dreams, I had a baby girl. Also, last night I was pashing Carl Riseley off Aus Idol, how embarassment! he he

V8
26-10-2007, 02:03 PM
Emsmum - Carl Reisling hey, i reckon he's a bit alright too! Also i agree i am a 16-18 and there is hardly any clothes that would fit me right now or look decent for maternity wear. I did get some decent stuff at Target though and also there is a new maternity shop opened at our local shop so that's exciting. But it is expensive though. And yeah Tanty's have been rampant in this household the last 2 days and i have totally lost it with DS a few times which i'm not very proud of. I have been a bad mummy. :crying: :gloomy:

I went to the doc before and she said that they don't really refer for 12 week scans unless it's necessary, so she'll just forward my referral to Caboolture hospital and they'll contact me to get my ultrasound through them at 18-20 weeks. So yeah, gotta wait which i'm cool about. I just worry about bubs when i'm carrying DS and he's chucking a tantrum he's so strong and hard to handle, then i'm stressed to the max, so worry then about bubs too. I have had stretching pains well i hope that's all it is, but otherwise i guess bubs is doing ok.

Catalytic - ooooh engagement rings, how exciting!! :) And cool glad you got a student middie, hope you get a registered IM too. I've probably asked but are you going to try and have a waterbirth? I am definately! I am just really stressed about the cost of it all, as i know we could use the money to pay for our mortgage or something, but thankfully we don't really need anything for bubs so i kinda guess paying for their birth at home is justifiable. It's just such a lot of money though! :(

lillipilli
26-10-2007, 02:09 PM
I had a dream the other night that i had the baby at my mums house, it didnt hurt at all and was really quick, DH wasnt there it was so quick, and it was a boy. I hope that part is true, I had a dream last pregnancy that it was a girl and it was.

EmsMum72
26-10-2007, 02:11 PM
I'm sure bubs will be fine V8, they're pretty resilient creatures and they're well protected in our tums. At least the baby will be well formed by the time you get to see it. At my 9 week scan it only looked like a pulsating blob, but it was cute all the same :D

I too have been flying off the handle at DD. I crack it at the drop of a hat these days, and tell myself to calm down - that it's not good for any of us. My poor DD. We got home from shopping today and I asked her so many times if she wanted to go to the toilet (because 2 days ago she had 3 accidents, even though she's been toilet trained for ages) and she said 'no mummy, I'm ok', then we got home and I asked her again 'no mummy, I don't need to go'. About 1 minute later she bolted to the toilet and stood there and had another little accident. I did what you're not supposed to do, go off. I'm supposed to be calm and say 'its ok honey, try harder next time' but I yelled at her and told her that she can start wearing nappies' and she was crying saying 'I am sorry mummy' and then I felt SO awful :crying: gave her a cuddle and said 'sorry for yelling at you, but it makes me very sad when you keep having accidents ... you're a big girl now and big girl's don't wet their undies'. She went off and played and I cried, :laughing: don't you just love the hormone rollercoaster at the moment!

The only thing with 'little maternity stores' is that the clothes are usually so expensive. I felt huge 2 weeks ago, but now I don't feel so huge anymore. Maybe I'm just getting used to looking huger (good English).

zera06
26-10-2007, 02:13 PM
all your dreams sound good. I dreamt last night my hubby left me for an 80 yr old lady.

and the night before i dreamt that my mother in law thought i was the devil and she didnt want to talk to me.

sammum
26-10-2007, 02:22 PM

Didn't realise there was a Hi-5 concert. Fortunately, DD is still into Wiggles, Playschool, and Angelina Ballerina. Although, she will watch Hi-5. I have to admit the perkiness of the Hi-5 people drives me completely nuts. I don't think I could sit thru one of their concerts. What a bad mother I am!!

Catalytic - engagement rings .... very exciting !!

EmsMum72 - aparently weird dreams are very normal for pregnant women. Whether it's sex dreams or labour or life after bub. With my DD I dreamt I'd put her in the cupboard and forgot to feed her and when I found her she was all shrivelled and dried. When my girlfriend was pregnant with her DD she dreamt that she'd accidently left her baby in a book and put the book in a shelf in a library but forgot which book. She then dreamt that she was all panicked looking thru all the books in the library trying to find her DD. Weird!!

V8 - you poor thing. Hopefully you are feeling better soon. It's not at all fair to be dealing with m/s on top of everything else!

Ebay has been a great source of maternity wear - new and 2nd hand. If you look carefully you can find some really lovely clothes in great condition on there for really good prices.

I had a client yesterday ask when I was due - I was so amazed by her question that I didn't answer her straight away - I think she then got worried that perhaps I wasn't pregnant - because I was so surprised that she noticed. I mean, I look fat not pregnant. Bless her, she made my day!

PrincessJasmine
26-10-2007, 06:20 PM
there is a site where you can get a free belly belt if you join.

QUOTE]
Thanks Zera, I found the one you were refering to while browsing the site yesterday.

[QUOTE=V8;2039157] so she'll just forward my referral to Caboolture hospital and they'll contact me to get my ultrasound through them at 18-20 weeks. (
So you're up a little further, I lived in Margate briefly when I was in Queensland. I think I went to Caboolture once to the shopping center there.

all your dreams sound good. I dreamt last night my hubby left me for an 80 yr old lady.

and the night before i dreamt that my mother in law thought i was the devil and she didnt want to talk to me.

LOL , sorry to laugh, but glad I'm not the only one having weird dreams. I dreamt the other week DP left me for an 18yo blonde bimbo. I wish I was having baby dreams.

I got some Bub2B stretchy black pants and a top today from Kmart, on top I'm a L and on bottom I opted for the M which fit perfect and room to grow (with the fold down waistband). I haven't looked at Target yet. Last time I remember the clothes being so ugly, so I was glad to find something a Kmart.
Have a look on ebay, there are plenty of 16-18 sizes. I'll probably buy a dress from there over summer.

Went to the Queen Vic market today. Poor DP, we walked through the meat section where they sell fish. Not a good idea, Jasmine threw up all over him. We had clothes for Jasmine, but DP was forced to walk around the market with wet pants, we had to buy him a T-shirt. At least I didn't feel so bad about making him stop off at Kmart on the way home :D

I find I'm a lot calmer with my daughter these days, I'm the opposite.

Kayangel
26-10-2007, 06:49 PM
catalytic- what have you got against 18 year old blondes??? :laughing: im 18 and blonde.

sammum- I would be too :o to ask someone if they were pregnant this early or atleast till they were showing enough.

V8- Im sure bubs is fine it would be different if you werent use to picking up your ds but you are so your body is used to it, things will be fine. Easyer said then done but try not to stress:hugs:

Mel- oh no you should have touched wood after saying you were feeling better :laughing: all jokes aside i am sorry to hear you are feeling :barf: i hope it goes soon.

lillipilli- sounds like everyone is having dreams, all mine are scarey. :thumbsdown:

Pixie
27-10-2007, 02:24 AM
:o I have no idea what's been happening in here sorry!!
I have been really busy with our friend from Sydney and now visiting my family!

Today I have spoken to a few doulas. One told me I would have a hard time finding a doula who will attend a home birth on their own without a midwife present. I am not sure how true this is for all doulas. That really ****ted me as I am being very negative and know I am probably up for a fight to get a midwife here in the UK to attend a home birth. I am almost getting to the stage where I am going to say F**k it I will freebirth :D

I have my 12 week appt at the hospital this coming week praying I get a scan I have really stopped feeling so utterly tired and no nausea and only slightly sore boobies!

I hope everyone is well and all is good!

zera06
27-10-2007, 06:23 PM
Im so happy :) i work for Myer and on thursaday when i wasnt at work we had a big clearnce on baby things going for $2

I work in baby wear and kids wear and the ladies put away or a big basket of clothes towels and things was worth $50 was only $2

and i got a couple of blankets a stuffed jemina puddle duck as well.

it was all worth over $100 dollars i got for $8

PrincessJasmine
27-10-2007, 06:30 PM
Lucky you, Zera! :)

I'm not buying a thing in clothing until I find out the sex. I've got so much girls stuff, I doubt I'll need anything if it's a girl.

I think my morning is passing, I'm looking forward to ,and dreading, the scan on Tuesday. I think I must have had gastro, as DD and DP today has been sick with it. Luckily DD is at Nanna's til tomorrow.

Anyone else getting the urge to do things they don't usually do? Such as, I'm finding I want to bake sweet things, even though I'm not craving them to eat. With DD I started knitting.

I want to eat all the time, I'm having 2 dinners and even eating breakfast for a change. I've got to start eating less junk and more healthy stuff though. I feel so huge already!

EmsMum72
28-10-2007, 09:12 AM
I dreamt last night my hubby left me for an 80 yr old lady.

:laughing: I don't think you need to worry about that!

I can't remember what I dreamt about last night, but the night before I saw my baby GIRL on the ultrasound and she was huge, so life like, it was awesome but I was only about 12 weeks. Hate to have seen how big she was when she was born, LOL! Sounds like you got some great bargains from Myer, lucky duck! :p

catalytic, I thought you were going to say that you vomited while walking through QVM. I nearly always vomit every time I walk past the fish section at Coles, I avoid it like the plague now. It's SO disgusting. I hope everyone is feeling better in your household, and that DD hasn't been too sick at grandmas. I haven't really had urges to bake, I've had urges to do absolutely nothing :D but that's about it. I went through a starving phase at about week 8, but don't seem to be as hungry atm. I usually feel a bit queasy from 9pm(ish) at night, I think I'm the hungriest at lunch time. I usually have 2 rolls :eek: or sandwiches.

Pixie, glad to hear you're feeling better and hopefully you get to have a scan soon.

Kayla, how you going?

ttcin, are you still sick? You had a scan last Thursday?? How did that go?? Hope everything's ok with you!

A huge hello to everyone I have missed. How are you all feeling??

I get the results of my blood tests tomorrow. I always get nervous about getting blood test results back, I had them done on Wednesday and I'm guessing they would have rang me and got me to come in earlier if there had been a problem???????? So :fingerscrossed: the tests are all good. After that I have my first appt at the hospital, it's with a nurse and she basically just takes down my history etc., and then I don't actually see a doctor at the hospital for another month. Next week or the week after I'll have to have the NT scan and bloods taken. Oh the joys!! DH is having tomorrow off to take DD to swimming lessons, so that's good - at least she won't be bored to death coming with me to the GP and the hospital.

Anyhoo, having a home day today (much to DD's disgust), it's a pretty blustery old day in Melbourne today and we might bake some cakes this afternoon and I'll possibly take DD for a walk later to the park but that's about it. Boring day, so I'll probably pop back online later! Have a good day girls!

Kayangel
28-10-2007, 03:01 PM
zera- Lucky you sounds like you got some good stuff real cheap. :thumbsup:

catalytic- Im with you, im not buying ANY clothes till i find out bubs sex.

Mel- :wave: Im fine just really hot :thumbsdown: dont worry about the blood tests results everything will be fine.

Lucky you getting a appointment at the hositpal already, The hositpal im going to hasnt called me yet my doctor said within 3 weeks... i cant wait till my hositpal appointment will be exciting.

me- I went to the beach yesturday it was sooo hot and today its hot again, i am soo tired.

my feet are killing me been on them all day.

Im so not looking forward to carrying in the summer pregnant women get so much hotter. :crying: and it stays not right up till april.

Kayangel
28-10-2007, 06:57 PM
Very quiet in here tonight!

Kayangel
29-10-2007, 07:40 AM
Its morning and still no :ecomcity: :ecomcity: :ecomcity:

This morning i was dry reaching for ages and finally :barf: it wasnt nice!

I better go get ready for TAFE!

I will be back later :wave:

zera06
29-10-2007, 08:45 AM
im 12 weeks today :)

Rachel87
29-10-2007, 08:55 AM
13 weeks today! Woohoo! I can't believe in 7 weeks I'll be half way and in 8 weeks it's Christmas! Scary stuff!!

Preg wise I'm good. Otherwise I'm ok. Michael isn't sleeping well. Yesterday he fell in the bath tub and banged his cheek and I think he has bitten the inside. It is bruised already :( my poor bubbi. So he didn't sleep well, he and I ended up in his single bed from 3am this morning until 6:30. I am so sore now!! My boobs are aching too, I swear they feel bigger and "fuller" iykwim. My mum rang this morning. My grandma is in hospital. She is ok just having issues with her blood pressure again but they finally think they have it figured out.

Hope you are all well :)

PrincessJasmine
29-10-2007, 12:04 PM
11 Weeks for me! I just hope bubs is still ok...

I was in hopital again last night, I got gastro really bad and couldn't stomach anything. I was so dehydrated I needed another drip. And of course the nurse couldn't find my vein again. The vein in my hand is very swollen and painful.

I've been told to stick to a liquid and soup diet for the next few days. The worst thing is my morning sickness was nearly over, now I'm starting to think something is wrong since I can't tell if symptoms are still there or not. Scan tomorrow mornning, I just have to try not to stress too much til then.

EmsMum72
29-10-2007, 12:39 PM
Kayla, I've been SO hot too! I'm not game enougho go to the beach, someone might roll me back into the ocean thinking I'm a beached whale :o . I'm not looking forward to being hugely pregnant over Christmas either, but I'm very lucky to actually BE pregnant so I won't complain :yes: .

Rachel, sorry to hear that Michael hurt his cheek. It's awful when our children hurt themselves or get sick. Congrats on reaching the 13 week mark. :yelclap:

Congrats to you too zera on reaching 12 weeks :yelclap:

11 weeks 'ey catalytic, congrats for you too :yelclap: . I'm sure you'll be fine, just try and stay positive today and hopefully your scan will reveal a healthy little pulsating peanut :D

I'm 10 weeks tomorrow. Well I got the results of my blood tests back today, ALL GOOD, YAY! I hate waiting for blood test results. Even though I've been a pretty good girl over the years, I always stress especially about HIV tests. They scare the cr@p outta me. Then I had my 1st hospital appt, which went well. I basically see a mixture of middies and doctors (mostly middies) at the hospital. I have to pay for the 11 week downs syndrome blood test, but luckily I can have the 11-13 week NT scan done at the hospital (through medicare) so that's a relief. So that's being done 13/11, then a doctors appt on 27/11 at the hospital and then a glucose test at 16 weeks (I have to have it done that early because I had GD with DD, and if that's ok I have to have another one at 28 weeks) so that's on 12/12 and then we go to NZ so don't have to go back until early Jan. So 15 more sleeps until I see my baby again, WAHOO!

katiemaree
29-10-2007, 01:24 PM
13 weeks! Hooray!

I have had th busiest week... I really know what they mean when people say "take it easy" during pregnancy..
Thursday night I was out till 9 looking at houses and doing errands with hubby, then when I got home i had to do baking for Friday night and Saturday. Straight after work on Friday I had to go over to a friends house for a birthday BBQ, which ended up being a late night. I still had some more baking to do when I got home. Then sat morning I finished thecooking stuff (iced the cakes, churned the icecream etc) and then went to my yoga class. Straight home form that I took cakes and icecream to hens afternoon/night do which I arrived home from at midnight! Sunday (after realising daylight savings had come into effect) I got up at midday and had to rush off to an Intimo underwear party which I had greed to before I realised how busy my weekend was!
When I got home at 5pm, I lay down on the bed and woke up at 9 feeling really ill because I hadn't drank or eaten enough that day.

So, struggling at work today!! I am really going to try and take it easy from now on!!! I am not super woman, after all!!!

Had my NT scan last Friday- the 3D one really did look like a vampire-alien!! I will post them later and you will agree! Speak to the doctor about the scan next week :fingerscrossed: everything is ok....

Take it easy, ladies!

Bellas_mummy
29-10-2007, 01:49 PM
Back again. 12 week scan went well and i am now 13 weeks, very exciting. Have now told family and will start telling friends which is a relief. Went straight to baby store after scan and i am soooooo excited we have picked everything out and now just going to wait till 20 weeks to buy it all.

You have all been very busy with posts i will catch up on them all now. Hope all are well.

zera06
29-10-2007, 02:22 PM
if anyone ever wants to chat

u can always find me on msn.

zera_2007@hotmail.com

Rachel87
29-10-2007, 03:31 PM
Well I WAS feeling ok preg wise. Have just had another :barf: Now I feel like **** and still have heaps to do before DP gets home. *sigh*

Kayangel
29-10-2007, 04:58 PM
well i just cleaned the whole house and im stuffed i could flake it right now:sleeping:

mel- Im not complaining either i feel very blessed to be pregnant even tho im going to nearly die in the heat :laughing: i cant handle summer even when im not pregnant.

Gald to hear your blood tests results are all fine.

Not long till you get another scan :thumbsup:

katiemaree- Sounds like you have been busy, im always been told to take it easy which i do most of the time but there are some days where you got to just go go go and no one can help that.

Rachel- Im sorry to hear about your poor DS i hope he gets a better nights sleep tonight, big hugs for him :hugs:

Dont do too much if you are sick.

catalytic- sorry to hear you have been so sick, are you drinking enough water?? Im sure bubs is fine... yay for scan 2morrow morning how exciting dont be scared, let us no how things go and we expect pics :D

ttcin2007- Gald to hear the 12 week scan went well... were you family happy? i bet they were over the moon, how exciting to be able to start telling friends!

wow you got all your stuff picked out i think thats one of the best parts of pregnancy getting to look and buy things, i am going shopping at 12 weeks to pick things but like you not buying till 20 weeks.

zera-congrats on reaching 12 weeks today! :smiliedance: i have a week a half to go till that magic 12 week mark.

PrincessJasmine
29-10-2007, 06:29 PM
I just attempted to make mac and cheese for DD, she didn't eat it, it tasted awful. I'm having a paddlepop for dinner it's all I can handle.

I found the rocker I want to buy, the Fisher and Price Newborn-to-toddler portable rocker. DD lover her babyco rocker but she outgrew it so fast, she insisted on sitting on it until it finaly broke under her weight. This one turns into a toddler chair.

I haven't done any housework for about 3 weeks now. DP has had to do most of it, all though the house is still a mess. I'm just taking it easy, I wish I could do more but I've been so sick lately and so tired.

zera06
29-10-2007, 07:22 PM
that rocker you are after try and pick it up in the christmas sales as it is mainly the only time things like that will go on sale again before bub is due :)

amandaw
29-10-2007, 07:23 PM
I can relate to this! Got home from work at 4, flaked on the bed at 4.30, woke 10 mins later to DH's startled cry to DD as she had climbed up on the rocker foot stool, onto a box of toys we have packed up and was standing fishing around on her dresser (all form the girl who can't/won't walk...little monkey she is!!)

Really don't know how i'm going to survive packing up and moving houses (our place we unconditional Thursday and we signed a contract yesterday) and the business end of school :hair: :hair: :hair:

amandaw
29-10-2007, 07:25 PM
:wave: Zera

zera06
30-10-2007, 07:11 AM
:wave: hi manda

has anyone else got mouth problems my right side of my mouth is aching but i havent lost a filling and i dont think i have any holes in my teeth i just have ulcers.

Great news hubby came home yesterday and said we are staying in brisbane for another 2years before his contract runs out :)

EmsMum72
30-10-2007, 08:02 AM
I don't have ulcers zera, but I have 2 sore teeth that need fillings. I wanna wait until at least 14 weeks, if I can, before getting any work done on them. I actually think they both might need root canals done, and if so I'll just be having them both yanked out - they're right at the back. The pain comes and goes, today not so bad so far. :fingerscrossed: That's good news about staying in Brissie!

I forgot to mention that at my hospital visit yesterday I got a bounty bag. It had heaps of stuff in it including brochures about baby stuff & clothes, a newborn huggies nappy, a packet of wipes, some pine-o-clean, some body butter, some sorbolene cream, a book about pregnancy, lots of pamphlets about raising bubby, 4D ultrasounds, photographers, donating cord blood, breast feeding etc., and a mother & baby magazine :thumbsup: Plenty of reading for me!

katie, it sounds like you have a very busy life. Hopefully you can find some time soon to take it easy.

ttcin, so glad to hear that your scan went well. Was it just a scan, or the NT one?? Must be nice telling everyone your happy news, and it also must have been very exciting going shopping. I remember I bought my DD's cot when I was about 24 weeks pregnant and washed the sheets for it at about 30 weeks and for the next 10 weeks I just put new sheets on the cot every week because I was just so excited. Hubby thought I was nuts. Luckily I won't have to buy too much, unless it's a boy and I'll buy new clothes obviously.

I might actually go and do some housework today. On Sunday I cleaned the bathroom from top to bottom, vacuumed and mopped the floors, washed the sheets, folded the washing but it looks like it could all be done again today :banghead: . DH has gone to work today :smiliedance: he's been driving me crazy only doing odd jobs here and there, or only working 1/2 days for the past week and when he lays on the couch and has a nanna nap in the arvo's (when it should be me having one because I'm the one growing another human in my belly, but NO I have to look after DD) I feel like pulling his hair out! :D MEN!!! Can't live with 'em, can't live without 'em (who would fix everything around the house??) :laughing:

zera06
30-10-2007, 08:42 AM
i love those bounty bags :) did you know you can order more off there website.

I dont read mother and baby mag anymore as they have stopped supporting breastfeeding.

sammum
30-10-2007, 08:56 AM
sammum- I would be too :o to ask someone if they were pregnant this early or atleast till they were showing enough.
I know what you mean. There's no way I would ever ask anyone if they are pregnant - if they say no, there's nothing you can say after that to make the question better.

Back again. 12 week scan went well and i am now 13 weeks, very exciting. Have now told family and will start telling friends which is a relief. Went straight to baby store after scan and i am soooooo excited we have picked everything out and now just going to wait till 20 weeks to buy it all.

Congrats! So exciting that you can now get the word out! Like you, we are going to wait until the 18/20 week scan because if it's a girl we're sorted, but I can go shopping if it's a boy (yahoo!).

:wave: Amandaw - I believe you've been chatting with my buddy Alli from the August 2006 group. Congrats on selling the house - but do not envy you with the move :no: - yuck, yuck, yuck!! We did it just a couple of months ago and I decided we weren't doing it again until we could afford packers and unpackers (which means we'll never move again!).

What's with this gastro bug? Catalytic, I had it too over the weekend. I spent my birthday with either end of me on the loo (sorry if too much info) - I've never felt so awful. Today I just feel ginger... just getting over the whole thing. But at least I didn't have to go to hospital - you poor thing!

So, I'm 12 weeks too - but this m/s doesn't seem to be going away. Off to have my NT blood tests today. Not normally good about these, but given that my stomach is v empty after the gastro, I'm hoping I won't be a mess. Scan is on Monday.

Ok that's enough of me! Have a great day lovely ladies!

EmsMum72
30-10-2007, 09:10 AM
i love those bounty bags :) did you know you can order more off there website.

I dont read mother and baby mag anymore as they have stopped supporting breastfeeding.

No I didn't know that zera. I might check their website out, not that I thought 'that much' of the bag - I guess I already know most of the stuff they have in there, already being a mum, but they'd be good for 1st time mum's, a wealth of information! :yes:

I didn't know that they don't support breastfeeding anymore! That's a bit silly. I thought most people/hospitals/companies were pro breastfeeding! I haven't bought the mag for ages, but might have a flick through seeing as it was for free :D

zera06
30-10-2007, 09:27 AM
sorry bottle feeding.

my mistake

EmsMum72
30-10-2007, 09:37 AM
sorry bottle feeding.

my mistake

OH :laughing: guess that makes more sense! You're pregnant, you're allowed to make mistakes :D

PrincessJasmine
30-10-2007, 11:03 AM
Just got back from my midwife appointment. The scan went well, it dated me as 9 weeks 4 days which is 10 days behind what I thought. Which puts my due date as 29th May. I think conception likely occured on the 31st of August which to my calculations makes the EDD 24th May. Making me 10 weeks today. Now I'm really confused as to which one is right. I'd say the 24th is a pretty good bet.

How accurate are the scans at dating anyway?
CRL was 3cm, hearbeat was 165 (hope this doesn't mean a girl!) and bubs was moving around heaps. I could just make out facial features.

I've chosen to have Andrea as my midwife, she seems really great, so I'm happy about that. I see her again around 16 weeks. So now I can really start preparing for my homebirth. I'm having a waterbirth too.

Everywhere I go someone tells me they've had gastro. So there must be a big outbreak at the moment. I'm feeling like I can eat something today. It's strange though, my m/s obviously hit early, and seems to be pretty much over already. Very different to my first pregnancy.

Oh BTW, I'll see if I can post the ultrasound pics when I get them back...probably next week.

EmsMum72
30-10-2007, 11:51 AM
Must be a bit of a bummer that you're not further along than you thought Catalytic, but awesome that the baby's healthy. I don't know how accurate those dating scans are, relatively so I think - give or take 5 days or so.

Your baby's heart beat was 1 beat faster per minute than mine was at 8 weeks so that's a nice, strong heart beat. I'm not sure whether the under 150 means a boy, or over 150 means a girl theory is really applicable at this young age, I think it only apply's a bit further down the track. I'm 10 weeks today and my EDD is 28/5/08. You are due 1 day after me :yelclap:

Your midwife sounds lovely. I'm glad you've found someone you're happy with, and that you can start preparing for your home water birth. That will be an amazing experience. I'm not gutsy enough to do something like that because knowing my luck I'll have GD and high blood pressure again (had it during pregnancy with DD) and wouldn't be allowed to have a home birth anyway.

Touch wood no-one in my family gets gastro, I don't know anyone who has had it recently (apart from you) but my DD's had her fair share of it during her short 3y9m on this earth. Glad to hear you're feeling a little better.

Well I'm off to safeway to get some brownie mix so DD and I can make brownies for mother's group tomorrow. Be back later!

zera06
30-10-2007, 12:40 PM
my son ate rat poison today god knows how he got it from the spot where it was , it was well hidden under a sofa chair that takes one strong man to lift.

the chair is flat on the ground.

rushed him to the doctor and we have 3 days before any signs will come out all he did was suck on it.

Belive me as soon i saw it i was on the phone to find out what to do.

Kayangel
30-10-2007, 12:58 PM
zera- I hope your sons going to be ok.

catalytic- Gald to hear your scan went well, my scan pushed my dates back 5 days which i hear most do but my doctor told me to stick with my u/s date.

Im guessing you are hoping for a boy, the heartbeat is a good guide but not always right, its always worked in my family. Im hoping my bubs heartbeat of 180 means girl.

Mel- I read pregnancy and birth mag its great! i cant wait to get my bounty bag.

me- I just got back from tafe and about to do some cleaning just gotta get myself our of this chair.

V8
30-10-2007, 03:42 PM
Hello Lovely ladies!

Had a busy weekend. Went to see Justin Timberlake on Sunday night and it was awesome! Me and my sister had heaps of fun. I am now 12 weeks pregnant too, yipee! I'm busy this week too my best mate is coming over from Perth for Joshy's 2nd birthday party on Sunday and i'll be busy with getting organised and hanging out with her. Also we will be going to Dreamworld on Friday so that will be heaps exciting!

Also have sorted out my care for my homebirth i'm really excited and relieved it's all good.

DS is driving me mental, he's been a little bit unwell, not much just runny nose really, but his behaviour is just shocking!! I am so over it! :hair: We have had a few meltdowns in the last week and he's just cracking it over anything, i'm really really sick of it. So yeah, have no idea what to do really and it's his birthday on the weekend, i keep saying to him, 'do you wanna make it to your 2nd birthday?' jokingly, but omg, he's really pushing the limits!

amandaw
30-10-2007, 04:07 PM
:wave: Amandaw - I believe you've been chatting with my buddy Alli from the August 2006 group. Congrats on selling the house - but do not envy you with the move :no: - yuck, yuck, yuck!! We did it just a couple of months ago and I decided we weren't doing it again until we could afford packers and unpackers (which means we'll never move again!).

Yep Alli's given you the thumbs up :laughing: was funny actually, because I saw that you were delivering at the Wes and I thought it would be a shame if it ended up like Alli and I .....I probably passed her 3 times in the hallways (when she came out of the presidential suite :laughing: ) but because we hadn't met in person we didn't know that we 'knew' each other...only clicked when I saw her webpage and then we had a Brissie meet up - sad really!

Charlotte was born about 12hrs before Teddy...would have been great if we actually lived anywhere near each other!!!

PrincessJasmine
30-10-2007, 04:33 PM
Sorry to hear about your son Zera. DP was a horror when he was a child, many times he got things he wasn't supposed to. My MIL says she was investigated by child services as he had several trips the the emergency room for ingesting things.

Yeah it is a bit of a bummer not being as far along, but oh well babies rarely come on their due date anyway. I was hoping this one would share my late grandfathers birthday, the 18th.

You can order the bounty bags online ($12 postage though), I'll probably do this as I don't intend on having a hospital appointment. I'm only making a stand by booking anyway. What to have for dinner no one feels like cooking. At least we did the dishes together.

katiemaree
30-10-2007, 05:10 PM
Vera, my brother at rat poison as a child, he actually ate it!!! He also drank shampoo and trued to wash his hands with one of those urinal de-odouriser cakes! I think your son will be fine- my brother seems to have grown up ok!

The heartbeat theory... I wish I knew if is was above 150 for girls or below. Babies heart beat was 170 both times I got scanned (10weeks and 12 weeks).

Very very exciting day! I have not been sick or felt queasey from smells all day! Could it be I have passed the wretched M/S period?!

katiemaree
30-10-2007, 05:11 PM
obviously, my M/S has passed but my typing skills have gone WAY downhill!!

Pixie
30-10-2007, 10:44 PM
Had my hospy appt and scan was excellent heard HB no idea how fast didn't ask nor did they write it down! I am only 10 weeks I thought I was 11 the baby wouldn't keep still! She basically pinned it down lol Eliza said ohh ohh ohh monkey when she saw it first very funny stuff it was thrilling I thought it would be not so exciting 2nd time around but it was! I said no to the NT scan and Asked for a HBAC and she said they have never done one through the hospital VBAC in hospital yes but no HBAC well I can be their first lol I have some meetings to set up with the home midwifes and DR's apparently it will be the midwifes I will need to convince. Good I know my stuff so they have a battle on their hands :D So my EDD is the 27...whatever I have learnt EDD are just that "whatever" lol

Zera Holy poo about the poison how frighting I hope he will be OK still scary stuff.

Kayla hope Tafe is going well!

Vee ohh lucky you I heard it's a good concert to see, and yeah for getting further with the homebirth planning lucky you!

Bounty bags $12 my gawd don't spend the money lol mine was **** heheh

QTB
31-10-2007, 09:57 AM
Hi everyone... im due on the 26th April... but im damn certain im gonna have this bub on the 5th may.... so thought id join you here too if you dont mind :D

JordansMummy
31-10-2007, 10:07 AM

Thought I would finally join you all and instead of reading all your posts finally come and say hi :wave:

Had my ultrasound yesterday for NT. Got really good odds 1:26,000. The doctor said only 1 in 80 get that so I was quite happy. But like you Pixie I have been pushed forward three days, due 16/05. I was a bit bummed, but then Jordan was ten days early so you never know whats going to happen anyway. I also asked if she could determine boy or girl yet, :D , like give me a 60 or 70% ratio, and she said it looks like a girl. I was so over the moon. So now we will wait until the 18/19 week mark and hopefully she was right.

I hope everyone is starting to feel better now we are all are or getting close to 12 weeks. I am still feeling very sick, ms is still hovering from when I wake up til when I go to bed.

Bellas_mummy
31-10-2007, 10:57 AM
Well girls thanks to QTB joining our group as well as her April Mummies group we have now hit 50 babies to be born in May!!!! How exciting.

Zera, how is your little one going? I hope all is okay. Did they have to pump his tummy?

Pixie, that is so cute that Eliza thought the buba looked like a little monkey. and it is nice to know it is just as exciting with the second one. I said that to DH when we were shopping last week, i really hope we are just as excited about all the babies we have in the future.

KatieMaree, lets hope we are both over the m/s, positive thinking girl:thumbsup: . Yesterday was the first day in 6 weeks i havent:barf: . I did take my tablet and still felt yucky at times but didnt actually be sick!!! SO happy.

Hi to everyone else!

katiemaree
31-10-2007, 11:16 AM
I am in search of the "Heart rate" theory. I found the following:

The heartbeat theory. "Fetal heart rates range between 110 and 160," explains Patricia Crane, MSN, CNM, director of the nurse-midwifery service with the University of Michigan Health Systems. "If your baby's heart rate averages in the 110 to low 130s range, the thought is that it's more likely a boy, and if it's in the mid 140s to 160 range, it's more likely a girl. Mid-130s to 140s is unpredictable -- and where a lot of heart rates fall."

A study done in 1993 at the University of Kentucky seemed to prove this theory right, finding that the fetal heartbeat could be used accurately to predict the sex of 91% of boys and 74% of girls. But subsequent studies all disagree. "I also tell my patients that there must be other atmospheric conditions that affect this because you have a run of babies where this theory tends to work, and then suddenly you can't get one right to save your life!" Crane says.

hmmm. Somehting to think about!

QTB
31-10-2007, 12:11 PM
[CENTER]Well girls thanks to QTB joining our group as well as her April Mummies group we have now hit 50 babies to be born in May!!!! How exciting.

wahooo for 50 :D :D

EmsMum72
31-10-2007, 12:51 PM
Firstly, welcome QTB and JordansMummy. Being due on the 28th I thought it was quite possible that I might end up in the June thread, but after talking to a midwife the other day she said if I wanted to have an elective caesarian I would more than likely have my baby on the 19th or the 22nd May.

JordansMummy, hopefully the sonographer was right about having a girl. Girl's are ace :D (and I'm sure boys are too). ;) Great results for your NT scan, you must feel relieved now.

Glad your scan went well Pixie.

I had to wear a jacket to mother's group today and it was quite warm because otherwise the other mum's would have cottoned on, and I still haven't told anyone about this baby. My g'friend was there with her 2 week old son and while I was holding him I thought to myself 'I'm going to have one of these in about 7 months. You forget how floppy and tiny babies actuall