View Full Version : Melbourne Mums March Meet
Hi all Melbourne girls (and any visitors) how about Friday 3rd March for our next park meeting. On the weekend I went to Halliday Park on Mitchum Road and thought it would be a great venue as there are lost of big, shady trees and tables. Alternatively we could just stick with Jells Park.
I should be good to come.... I'm free any day!
Damn I'm busy, but will ask Mum if she's interestedy
Mamaduke
08-02-2006, 12:52
Jesse, Lucas and I would love to come...I'll just keep and eye out for updates.
Stellaj...it would be great if you and Connor could come...Jesse's 4 too and would love to have a play with a fellow 'big kinder kid'...as he calls himself now!;)
could it be in the afternoon, we have kinder in the morning?
The friday is good for me but i promised Annabanana that i would make sure a park meet was organised for her next trip to Melbourne which is from Mon 6th March.
How about Tuesday the 7th or Friday 10th March ??
Which is better for the others?
Stellaj_79 - i think lots of the bubbas have arvo sleeps still which is why we generally have it in the morning? Ladies correct me if i am wrong ...
The park you suggested sounds good Megan, Its always good to have a change.
I am happy to go with whatever most people want
Megan you are the nominated organiser of this meet :D ... (is that ok?)
mummy sam
08-02-2006, 20:47
Hi guys i'm kinda still new to the hub and would love to meet you all, but on the 3rd i'm doing a day at the tweedle day clinic (help with sleep and feeding). would love it if it could be the 7th or 10th as sams mum suggested...
Hoping we'll be able to make it to this one:)
Ok I can make March the 10th in the morning. Either park is fine by me ladies.
Oops...Sorry Megan, i just posted a new thread in the Games section before i noticed this one.:o :o
I was hoping to meet on the 10th as Anna will be down then. What do you think?
Halliday Park is a good park. I am happy to go there too!!!
The friday is good for me but i promised Annabanana that i would make sure a park meet was organised for her next trip to Melbourne which is from Mon 6th March.
How about Tuesday the 7th or Friday 10th March ??
Which is better for the others?
Stellaj_79 - i think lots of the bubbas have arvo sleeps still which is why we generally have it in the morning? Ladies correct me if i am wrong ...
The park you suggested sounds good Megan, Its always good to have a change.
I am happy to go with whatever most people want
Megan you are the nominated organiser of this meet :D ... (is that ok?)
That's fine Tracey I'm happy to do that
I was hoping Anna could come and for some reason thought she was here on the the 3rd so lets say Friday the 10th March Halliday Park in Mitchum at 1030am?
Sorry Stella but I think Tracey's right about sleep times, maybe we could have an arvo meeting later in the month.
Melways ref for Halliday Park is Map 48 J7.
sounds great !! Cant wait to see you all again and hopefully some newies :D
Ana Gram
09-02-2006, 21:46
Would have loved to come but it is too far away for us!
nkenward
11-02-2006, 09:40
Yep the 10th of March will be fine for us too. Not only is it my birthday!!! But it's the long weekend - yippee!!!
Either park is fine too. Maybe Halliday Park will be good for something different.
nkenward
11-02-2006, 09:40
Oh forgot to ask - is there a chance of another dinner coming up as well. Maybe on a Friday or Sunday night instead of during the week????
Oh Natalie we will have to make sure we have a cake there for you !! :D
Tracey should we organise a dinner while Anna is here? I know she will have hubby and the kids so I' m not sure if she can get away at night?
Chickadee
11-02-2006, 13:35
Yay! whereis.com is telling me Halliday Park is only an 18 minute drive (not that I believe it), much better than the 45 min to Jells Park. But I work Fridays and Chloe is in daycare. So I can't make it unless it changes to a Tuesday or Thursday :(
Hope you have a lovely time.
I am going to be away from the 11th March so if you do have a dinner whilst Anna is here, i won't be able to make it.:( I will definitely be able to make it to one in April though!!!!
MrsScatterbrain
16-02-2006, 17:24
Thanks Tracey for letting me know about the Melb meets!
I'm a newie and would love to meet you all. I'm available any of the days in March, just need to negotiate a loan of the car with hubby!
I wanted to come but I think its a bit to far, I live in Clayton sth. I hope to make the next meet.
Hi I'm a newie, and would love to join in...How old are all the kids...My DS is almost 3...Is he too old?
Hi Shajake.
No 3 is not too old!! I believe Meshan's oldest DS is 3. And all the kids are all different ages but they all seem to get along well. It would be great to meet you so please come along.:D
Max, bump and I would love to come along....... I'm still a bit crook though. Hopefully by then I will be all better though. Will keep you posted. sounds like fun.
Yay Cathy!!!!:D
We all miss you and hope that you are feeling well enough to join us on the 10th!
Hi I'm a newie, and would love to join in...How old are all the kids...My DS is almost 3...Is he too old?
Shajake I would love you to come!!! My son Shannon is 3 and would love a friend to play with!!
Cathy I really hope you can make it ... we miss you and I can't wait to see this troublesome bump of yours!!
Joanne, Clayton South isn't that far is it?
Thanks girls, I'm hanging out to see you all again. I'm off to the homeopath this week, so fingers crossed he has a miracle cure and I'll be singing and swinging from the trees soon.
YoungFox
19-02-2006, 19:41
Hi 10th is good for Sarah and I, we should be able to make it. It will be good to meet some new faces, the last meet was good fun.
YoungFox
19-02-2006, 19:46
By the way how do I put the end notes on my messages like you guys have? Oh my goodness my number of posts is pathetic, I have a bad habit of reading on the site and then being too tired in the end to write I had better get my act together.
LOL Youngfox i know what you mean !!
To make a signature go to User control panel and choose Edit signature on the left.
I am looking forward to this meet especially all the newies expected !! :D
Bella i cant wait to meet you and Ben !!
Ethan is looking forward to meeting Ben too :)
Shajake my DS is 2 so dont feel that yours is too old !! Hope to see you there.
Joanne4 Clayton Sth isnt too far !! Hope to see you too !!
Cathy !! I CANT WAIT to see you and Max again !! We miss you so much !! Hope you feel 100% well soon
I'll chat to Anna about a dinner and get back to you all regarding a date.
nkenward
19-02-2006, 20:35
looking forward to the March meet. What time?
Also - Tracey - any news on a dinner with Anna? I haven't seen any posts lately from her?
Fairyfloss
20-02-2006, 01:06
Hi girls just found this post, glad we are organising another meeting, can we have the list made up like the previous one where, we had the different activities and dates, then people added their name, that list was so easy to read.(sorry for being a nag)
Anyway, I think from what I read the next park is on the 10th march, assuming they don't change my roster, I am off that day so looking forward to see you all there.:)
have fun
What time and where is the next meet? From what I'm reading it's at Halliday park but where is Halliday park and what time do you meet?
Shajake:confused:
Halliday Park is in Mitcham. It is on Mitcham Rd- Melway Ref: 48 K7
We meet at 10.30am.:D
great thanks...I look forward to meeting you all...Where at the park will you be meeting? I won't know anyone.
The park is not too big so just look for a bunch of prams somewhere near the playground. They have a couple of tables near there.
Also, there is a carpark behind the bowling club for those that don't know. On Mitcham Rd.
Hi girls just found this post, glad we are organising another meeting, can we have the list made up like the previous one where, we had the different activities and dates, then people added their name, that list was so easy to read.(sorry for being a nag)
Anyway, I think from what I read the next park is on the 10th march, assuming they don't change my roster, I am off that day so looking forward to see you all there.:)
have fun
At this stage there is only the one meet up organised for March so I don't think we really need a list at this stage. Until we get somthing else lined up that is.
How does everyone feel about bringinng some food to share. It doesn't have to be anything flash, just some chips or somthing?
I hear ya!!! I feel very bad about the fact that I read everyones posts and don't reply. Usually its because I have run out of my 'allocated computer time' which is exactly 1 episode of Postman Pat.
nkenward
21-02-2006, 21:13
all sounds good. its my birthday - so I think I might bring a cake.
Hey all!
Sorry to crash your thread but I saw my name had popped up and I was just so darn curious!
I can't believe you've organised your March meet with me in mind! I'm so jolly excited it's just not funny!:smiliedance:
I'm in Melb Sun 5th & leave late Sat 11th. Hubby is working the Mon, Tues, Wed and is off Thurs, Fri, Sat. I'm hiring a car (and braving the Melb traffic) so I can get around with 3 little darlings (boy is this going to be interesting!) A park meet early in the week is great, but later is ok too as hubby can just drop us off and I can tell him to go shopping or something!!
I'll have to get the details from Tracey and find where it is on the map - I don't even know the suburb!
Oh I just can't wait, I'm going to love coming to Melb to meet you all and I can't wait to meet the others who didn't make it to the Jan meet. My kids are going to have so much fun! See you all soon!!:yelclap: :smiliedance:
Riley's Mum
22-02-2006, 08:39
Halliday Park is in Mitcham. It is on Mitcham Rd- Melway Ref: 48 K7
We meet at 10.30am.:D
Hi, I don't know anyone on this thread, but would it be OK to come along?
Also, if it is OK my only problem is Riley has morning sleeps, so we probably wouldn't get there until 12.30 - would that still be OK or will it be all over by then?
Hi Nicky.
We normally meet at 10.30am and leave around about 12.30-1.00ish. If you could get there any earlier, you are so welcome to join us. We love to meet new Mum's.:smiliedance:
I hope you all have heaps of fun, i would love to come but we have kinder. Maybe in the kinder holidays I will be able to make it, or if not i will have a new baby to bring along soon. :smiliedance:
What do we bring in the way of nibblies?
Just something small. Last meet I brought a cake and we also had rum balls, chips, slice and biscuits :) and of course we could not finish all the food. I am really excited sounds like a few new faces and us regular girls of course are coming. It is two days before my mum gets here for a couple of weeks so it will be a good to have a good chat and relax. As much as I love my mum she can be anything but relaxing!
Riley's Mum
24-02-2006, 19:48
Hi Nicky.
We normally meet at 10.30am and leave around about 12.30-1.00ish. If you could get there any earlier, you are so welcome to join us. We love to meet new Mum's.:smiliedance:
Thank you for your response! Not sure how I will go with the early arrival, but if it's one of those days where Riley is not doing the morning sleep, then we'll be there.
Thanks again for the welcome! If I don't make it, hope you have a good one :)
Am hoping that Elysha and I will be able to make it this time (the 10th?) and catch up with those met at the Christmas meet:)
Hope you can make it Cathryn I can't wait to see how much Elysha has grown!
janellejori
05-03-2006, 10:27
hey i have just seen this thread and i have an 11 week old girl. Are there any young babies going on the 10th or are most of them older. IS it ok if we come to??:p
There are a couple of young babies and of course you are welcome. The weather report is saying that Friday will be a nice sunny day so fingers crossed it stays that way. My mum is coming to visit and wanted to know what to pack. I said it is Melbourne bring an assortment :)
Fairyfloss
06-03-2006, 23:44
Hi ladies, I just had to ask, , I should have asked this earlier, is it Ok if I come too, considering that I don't have any kids,(well except for the one I am carrying:D, please let me in, I don't bite (well most of the time)
and just confirming everything
it is 10 March, Halliday Park in Mitcham. Ref: 48 K7 at 10.30am.
hope to see you there :)
Of course you can come along Parisakamali!:D We would love to meet you.
And yes, those details are correct.
See you there.:smiliedance:
Really hope to see you there Parisakamali !!
Looking forward to it ladies :D
I'm going to *try* and make it too. Fridays at our house are a bit hectic!
MissBrightside
09-03-2006, 20:41
Is it ok if me and the boys come? I told my 3 yr old about it and he is excited! Where will we find everyone?
Hi Sarah!! The more the merrier!:D
I don't think you will have any problems finding us. Just look for the big group of prams.:p There are tables right near the playground so you won't be able to miss us.
Boomtish- I hope you can make it too!! It would be great to meet you.:D
Mamaduke
10-03-2006, 09:10
Hi girls...
I did say that we were coming today but I went to the docs yesterday and I'm on antibiotics for an infection in my throat....don't want to pass that on to any of the bubbas...or the mummas!
See you at the next meet though!
Have a great time!:thumbsup:
I was going to come but time got away from me (as usual)..... maybe next time!
Sorry you could not make it ladies. I must say the turnout today was excellant :yelclap: Myself and the girls had a great time. Sorry I did not get a chance to talk to everyone but there will be next time. Great choice of venue Megan and I think we definitely need name tags next time if we get the same turnout.
What an AWESOME meet we had today !
A great venue (top choice Megan) heaps of mums and bubs, lots of newies too :smiliedance:
Sorry you couldnt make it Boomtish and Mamaduke (hope you feel better soon Mamaduke) and hopefully we will catch you and Rach at the next meet ....
cant wait for the next meet already.... :hugs:
oh and Cathy (Wattle) we still miss you :crying:
Oh girls, I'm so sorry I missed it. I nearly managed to get it together to come, but I just wasn't well enough. :(
Oh well, it just makes me look forward to seeing you all next month all the more! :D It sounds like you had a wonderful time. OK.... when's the next one?
Oh Cathy !!! we miss you ...
we want to rub your baby belly :p and give max big cuddles !!
It was a great day today and lovely to see so many new Mums - we were so lucky with the weather.
Cathy we really miss you - I hope you get over this morning sickness before the actually birth!!!!
Hopefully it won't be to long 'til we meet up again.
newbiesmum
10-03-2006, 19:39
I'm a new mum to be in Southbank & would love to meet/chat with some of you. (Maybe pick the brains of some of the inner city dwellers if possible.)
I have only just joined bubhub today & Mamaduke had told me about this thread, but you would have already been at the park :(
How can I keep in touch with some & or all of you?
Hi Newbiesmum
Hope to catch you at a meet soon
Keep your eyes out for the thread organising the next meet
Also if you use msn messenger PM me your details and i'll put you in my list
we can chat then :thumbsup:
Hope you are feeling better soon Cathy :fingerscrossed:
Great to meet everyone yesterday, Elysha and I had a great time - Hope to be at the next one when date/time etc is decided:)
Here's a pic of EJ at the park:) http://www.hotkey.net.au/~cathyn/ej/haliday2.jpg
PS any chance maybe the venue could be a little more south if possible? If not, doesnt matter :cool:
newbiesmum
12-03-2006, 07:22
Thanks samsmumo4,
Sorry to say, I don't use msn, but will keep an eye out in this thread for any replies.
Do any of the get togethers happen in more central Melbourne? Reason being is I'm perminantly limited to public transport.
newbiesmum
Fairyfloss
12-03-2006, 15:33
Hi every one,
Just wanted t say I am so glad I could come:smiliedance:, and thank you for your warm welcome, it was a great day, (well except for the bit where I was talking to this lady for a good 15 min before finding out that she was not part of the group, and was there on her own:o, oops )
Also a big thank to all the mums, who did not freak out when I asked to hold their babies, (I was so scared, they will wiggle out of my arm or I will make them cry or something, but I think the kids pickedup on it, they were so good to me:yelclap: , I guess there is still hope for me making a half decent mum.:D).
Hope to see you all soon.
Newbiesmum, I work behind the Spancer st (southern cross) station, we can catch up for a coffe if you want. PS me.
parisakamali - you're a natural - you'll have no problems at all being a mum, I know Michael was impressed.
I know if I was at the park on my own and someone came up and started chatting I'd love it - so don't be embarressed there should be more of it.
Thanks all for a lovely morning on Friday...Jake still talks about it...
We can't wait for the next meet.
I too spoke to a lady who wasn't even part of the group...
Speak to you all soon.