View Full Version : Dec 05 Mum's Lucky 13!!!
Funkychicken
20-08-2007, 08:43
Well girls, here we are again. A brand new thread to chitter-chatter in. :wave:
Mummaof2
20-08-2007, 12:35
:wave: everybody.
How was everyones weekend?
I am so tired today. I went to bed early last night but then got kept awake by the rain. It was pouring all night. It must of kept the kids awake a bit too cause they both looked like they didnt get much sleep last night. Because the rain was terrential this morning I kept Steph home from school just in case we had another flood like on the june long weekend.
Anyway hope you all had a great weekend and are having a good day.
emilysmumma
20-08-2007, 15:11
Hi All. So another thread of ours bit the dust.
Can't wait to get out of number 13.......I don't like 13.
Anyway we are here in sunny Broome. I have a huge list of things to get. I need a chemist, newsagents, woolies, camping store, bottle shop, post office and hopefully a peek in Target while I'm there. This all is to be done once Miss Emily and DH wake from their arvo sleep. Thankfully the air con is on as it's HOT out there.
And of course we want to get the down to the sunset at Cable Beach where they have the camel rides in as well. Not that I'm going to go on one. I just read on the google home page that a lady was killed by her pet camel here in Australia. So I'm definetly not going near one.
I too think circus's (is that spelling right?) are old and outdated and unnecessary. It just seems so cruel that they aren't in an enviornment that's more natural like you get at seaworld or lone pine and places like that. They just get let out to preform and then straight back into a cage. :thumbsdown: Not right in my eyes.
Jackie- there would be no way that I would be getting close to that lion cage. My DH would try and do something like that too. I would of opened a can of whoop @rse on him though if he had Emily in his arms, which I'm sure you did as well.
Emma- it seems like the date went nicely. So when is the next one? And I'm always up for any pics of him you can show us too. All in the name of sussing him out for you (i.e. perve)
I like to bite the bullet too and throw things out with clean outs or moving Brooke. I don't think there is anything I've ever missed. I did do a boo boo once and threw out something of my mother's. She had some christmas decorations I was going through and it was a mess. So I was throwing out all the old and broken ones and threw out these plastic coloured bells on a string. Unknown to me they were over 50 years old and belonged to her baby brother that died at the age of 4. I still feel so guilty to this day about it as she kept it for sentimental value.
Good to see you Sal. Sounds like a good girls night out. I think we all need one of those in a while. And it's been a while for me. Good for you and I hope to see you around here more often again.
toodle loo :wave:
Mummaof2
20-08-2007, 15:49
Here you go Sarah just for you.
http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r187/Mummaof2_photos/The%20Forever%20Changing%20Me/Derek_edited.jpg
As i said his pic doesnt do him any justice, his pic makes him look bigger then he does and his hair isnt that dark anymore but he still has his cute dimples.
emilysmumma
20-08-2007, 15:57
Not too shabby!
hello girls...
well i swear i had mondayitis today... i had soo much to do and felt like i didnt get much work done but i did pay my bond, connect my gas and elec and changed over to green energy (im turning into a hippie hahahah) and changed over my home phone, internet and foxtel so thats done.. just need to organise carpet cleaning etc now.... so many things to think of!
mytwolilprinces
20-08-2007, 18:07
Emma - :thumbsup: re the pic of Derek!
Brooke - wow, you got so much done. You're way more organised than I would be!
Sarah - I really wish it was hot here .... it's cold, rainy and miserable. Can't wait for summer.
Well, I've either got another cold or my old one has flared up again. I feel like absolute cr*p. I've run out of cold and flu tablets. I've had that many colds that I worry that I'm going to start looking dodgy on the "pseudo watch register" (not sure if you have that in other states but here you need to show your licence when buying anything with pseudoephidrine in it!) I'm sure the cops will raid my house soon thinking I'm making drugs :laughing:
Better go, the boys are destroying the place (they both slept from 2 until 6pm so now they'll be up all night :rolleyes: )
Mummaof2
20-08-2007, 18:14
Thanks Sarah & Jackie. He just rang and gave me his home number and said i can call him anytime.
You gals might be able to help me out with something. How do I know how much to contact him...I dont want him to feel like im losing interest but I also dont want him to think ive attached myself to him straight away and am being to clingy and scare him off.
hmmm emma thats a million dollar question... if we knew the answer to that one we would be millionaires! hehe
I personally think the slow approach is better but i could be wrong... has he contacted you?
Jackie- Thats soooo funny! you crack me up i think we have something like that here.. im not sure! I hope your feeling better soon!
hi girls
i cant help but start my post of with saying thank you again, and before i get annoying about it ill leave it at that. im happy to be back reading all your posts.
Nats had a bit of time off at work so ive spent spare moments with him and havent had much chance to come on. But hes back at work tomorrow, and ill get a chance to get more things done. im sure he is turning me into a lazy thing. i dont feel like doing anything when hes around haha.
one thing i'll have to get on top of is some pics for u girls, as im just treasuring the ones you all sent me! i love them!!!
Talk to u lovely ladies tomorrow. take care
Mummaof2
20-08-2007, 20:38
Brooke - He rang me today while i was at work and then rang me before he went to see his daughter and gave me his home number and asked if i was comfortable giving him mine which i did and i have just gotten off the time to him after speaking to him for an hour...and he was the one that rang me. When he said goodbye he said i will talk to you tomorrow
emilysmumma
21-08-2007, 08:11
We had a good afternoon yesterday. I nixed the idea of shopping as the weather was just too nice spend it in a shopping centre. We'll do it this morning.
So we went down to Cable Beach and you can drive on it. So down we went and straight away there were four sets of camels with each set having about 10 camels each. So off we drive down to beach the same way the camels go and next thing I know there were naked people everywhere!!!!! We were on the nudie beach. Terry was in hysterics as I was so shocked to discover this and couldn't stop pointing and going "ooooohhhh" and " eeeeeuuuuuu" and "why would you" and so on. I swear they should have a warning sign up saying "Beware, clothing optional beach. May be 70 year old men with piercings in the nether regions and groups sitting, laying, sprawled baring all" And I mean all.
It was so funny, then we had to drive back through them.
After that episode I needed a drink so we went up to a restaurant that looks over the beach. As soon as we walked in I noticed these tv booms sitting around a table. I look up and there is DR Harry with his trademark cap on. I swear I nearly burst into song then and there. " He's out on the road, helping them out. If you have a pet with a problem, he'll sort it out". I love Dr Harry!!!!!
I'm kicking myself now that I didn't get an autograph for Emily but I felt embarrased to.
So we sat behind them and I tried to get Emily to take over her Sleepy Sheep (favourite toy) over to him to show him. We nearly got there but I tried to whisper it to her discreetly so they wouldn't hear, but she just couldn't work out which person to show him too.
Oh well. They left after half an hour to go shoot some more stuff, laughingly saying down at the nudie beach.
I then splurged and had a cocktail and a tapas plate. All in all a good evening with a beautiful sunset over the ocean.
emilysmumma
21-08-2007, 08:17
Emma- it sounds promising with him. I don't think I could give advice on the dating front. I've nearly actually been on a date. But if it feels right, go for it.
Mummaof2
21-08-2007, 08:56
:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: Oh Sarah that is hilarious.
I never actually "dated" before either. Out of the 3 serious relationships ive had since i was 18 ive never dated. Ive met the guy and the relationship pretty much went into overdrive straight away and look how they all ended. So i want to take my time and do it the right way. Derek made it clear from the start that he isnt looking for a fling or someone to tie him over till Ms Right comes along, he said he is looking for a life partner to spend the rest of his life with who will accept him and his daughter into their life.
Mummaof2
21-08-2007, 11:56
Ok im going crazy trying to hold myself back.
I want to give Derek a call just to say :wave: but I dont want to suffocate him even though he said I can call him anytime. I need someone to talk to to keep my mind of him.
Mummaof2
21-08-2007, 12:20
Last night sitting at the dinner table Steph asked me
Steph - "Mummy why isn't your last name M********n"
Me - "Because I didnt marry your dad"
Steph - "But why"
Me - "Because I didnt love him anymore"
Steph - "Well if you only marry people that you love why did Coopers' dad marry you when he doesnt love any of us":eek:
Me - "I think he did love us when he married mummy but then didnt love mummy anymore" (I didnt know what else to say)
Steph - "Its ok mummy you will find a new boyfriend that will love you heaps and heaps like me and Cooper and then you can marry him"
Me - "is that right"
Steph - "Yes because your beautiful and the best mum in the whole world cause you do everything for me & Coop and cook us dinner and read us stories"
I was touched but also had a chuckle at the same time. How do 6yo come up with stuff like this.
mytwolilprinces
21-08-2007, 12:31
Danni - how cute is that pic of Indy you have as your avatar! Love it! Can't wait to see more pics.
Sarah - I'm soooooo soo soooooooooooooooooooooo jealous of your time "on the road" especially now that you've seen Dr Harry - he's so cute, I wish I could adopt Grandpa's! Hmmm, not sure if I'm jealous of the nudie beach, I would have freaked out ... mens "bits" are not the prettiest thing to look at that's for sure!
Emma - sounds like Derek is a great guy. I would hold back a little just at first until you get a feel for things and see how often he calls etc. Call him tomorrow but tell him you wanted to call today but held yourself back ... that way he won't think you didn't want to call but you also won't be suffocating him at the same time!
Jess - hope you are doing ok?
Brooke - DH now has the cold too so I've just got another mention on the "pseudo watch register!" because I wasn't willing to share my drugs with him and bought him his own - no doubt the sniffer dogs will be here by tonight :laughing:
Mummaof2
21-08-2007, 12:46
Jackie - Thats what i was thinking. I will just hold back and see if he calls and if he doesnt I will call him tomorrow and let him know that I wanted to call but dont want to suffocate him at the same time.
ETA: Im an idiot i just repeated what you said. Its been one of those days
Danni - Love the new avatar - Indy is gorgeous!
Jackie - I'm sure you won't have the cops knocking your door down. And if they do, when they see your DH laying around whinging about his cold I'm sure they'll understand(that's assuming he's anything like my DH is when he's sick).
Em - I agree - call tomorrow.
Sarah - You sound like you're having an awesome time. I too wouldn't have handled the nudiest beach. I like my turtle necks and jeans(so long that they drag along the ground).
I've been feeling rather blah lately and have been munching down chocolate faster than I can buy it. Black forest is my fav atm. Was mint chips, but I'm over that now. Next week I'll probably be onto crunchie or something like that.:rolleyes:
Better go, chicken is awake.
So I was just saying in my last post that I've been feeling blah lately, well to make it worse, as soon as I finished my post I got Caydence up from her nap and she had completely pulled her room apart - there were nappies and wipes spread everywhere. As soon as we finished cleaning it up, I went to put on a dvd and my phone rang, it was my dad asking for a lift. Yeah no probs dad, then I found out I was giving him a lift to go get my dog put down:gloomy: Chewie wasn't the best dog in the world - far from it, he was aggressive, you couldn't pat him, let alone bath him or clip his nails, but he was my dog. I got him as my birthday pressie when I was in yr 8 after my brothers dog passed away from eating a toad. There was no way we could have taken him in here, not with Caydence, and Reebok hated him as well and would just jump the fence to get away from him. But still, I feel sad. I just wish that I could have given him a warm bath and clipped his nails so that he looked and smelt pretty for the end.
Anyway, I'm going to steer clear for a few days - no doubt this will take it's toll on me. I might make some baileys for DH and I to go with our dinner.
Mummaof2
21-08-2007, 15:30
Oh Jess Im so sorry to hear that. Its not like you need anything else to deal with on top of everything else. You know my number if you want someone to talk to.
Thanks Em. I'm doing ok, just was a bit of a surprise to me. Dad had mentioned that they needed to do something with him as they are moving to a flat, but I thought they were getting the RSPCA to come around and take him away. I certainly didn't know that he'd booked him in to get put down. Was mostly shock I think.
To top off an already crabby day, Caydence fell down the stairs tonight. Only 2 steps as I caught her, but still, I feel awful. She was so upset and Reebok was so worried about her, so when she calmed down we all sat together and patted him so that he knew she was ok.
It's been such a draining day. I've made some bailey's and it's sitting chilling in the fridge(couldn't drink it til after Caydence went to bed as she wants to have everything that we have:rolleyes: )
hello ladies
Jess.. you sound like you need a hug you poor thing what a day... just think you will go to sleep tonight and wake up tomorrow and it will be a BRAND NEW day.. a much better one! :hugs:
Jackie- :laughing: I think your keeping the drug companies in buisness by the sounds of it! hehe nothing worse than a sick hubby!
Sarah- :laughing: thats too funny about the beach... ewww naked people! and btw i love dr harry too! please tell me he wasnt visiting the naked beach.. ewww visuals.. hahahaha
emma- derek is sounding like a catch!
Lis... where are you??????
Yummo the Baileys was great!
:laughing: :barf: at Brookes visuals of Dr Harry!
Mummaof2
21-08-2007, 20:28
Evening ladies,
He rang me tonight and we spent 2hrs chatting on the phone and he told me that he really likes me.:yelclap: He is coming over tomorrow night once my kiddies are in bed to watch a movie.
Jess - I hope the baileys was good and that you wake up to a better and brand new day tomorrow.
brodiebunch
22-08-2007, 07:13
I havent forgotten you guys,I have just had a couple of spewey days :barf: .Oli and I are also recovering from a little cold.I will try read back later on today.
Mummaof2
22-08-2007, 08:34
Brodie sorry you and Oli havnt been well. Hope you feel better soon. Were you able to look at any houses on the weekend?
emilysmumma
22-08-2007, 08:53
BB- I hope you and Oli are feeling better real soon.
Loving the new avatar of Indy. She is a cutie!!!!
Sal- can't say the same about you though :laughing:
Jess- that was a bit insensitive of your dad to ask that of you. Keep chomping down on that chocolate, it's got to make you feel better. Don't feel guilty about Caydence's fall down two steps. I swear Emily is accident prone and gets that many conks on the head every day. It's very hard to avoid even when it's on your watch. So don't be too hard on yourself.
We had our first "poo" episode yesterday. So far we have managed to avoid any poo in the bath or any poo masterpieces. But yesterday during lunch, she had to obviously make room for the food so out it comes the other end. Next thing we know she has it all over both her hands and on her tummy. Thankfully she didn't have her shirt on at the time as she likes to dust or clean her hands off on her tummy anytime their dirty.
DH has just come back from taking Emily for a walk. She just came a cropper by rolling with a large ball and landing on her head, shoulder and arm. So accidents are always happening with Emily, and she has only been awake for less than 2 hours today so far.
And Dr Harry was fully covered and was going to stay that way thankfully by the looks of him.
mytwolilprinces
22-08-2007, 11:08
Jess - :hugs: hope you feel better soon - oh and don't feel bad about Caydences' fall - Blake falls daily. I'm not talking little falls, I'm talking head first off the dining table, lounge or wherever else he can climb up. He's very sneaky and does it when I'm not looking and always falls.
Tracey & Lis - where are you guys?
Sarah - yucky poo accident. I am yet to have one of those :fingerscrossed:
BB - hope you guys feel better soon.
Ummm, completely forgotten what I was going to say ..... oh well :o
brodiebunch
22-08-2007, 11:34
Must be the day for Poo!Oliver has been blocked up for the last 3 days,this morning he dropped the biggest smelliest thing in the world.I said lets go change your nappy and we toddled off to his room and he laid down.When I took off his pants it was right down his legs:eek: .I said wait there bubba I will run you a bath.While I started the bath he took off the nappy ,trod in it and walked all the way to the bathroom leaving little pooey footprints:eek: :eek: Lucky we have floor boards.
We haven't found a house yet.DP has 6 to go through with master O this sat.
emilysmumma
22-08-2007, 16:16
I forgot to say that we are staying at the oveflow park here in Broome run by the PCYC. In their stadium twice a week they have a playgym. We went yesterday and Emily had a ball. She has never been to a playgroup before and they even had a jumping castle. It went for 3 hours but we only managed 2 hours, plus they give fresh fruit for morning tea.
BB- thank goodness for floorboards.
I think Tracey must be out spinning her new wheels.
brodiebunch
22-08-2007, 17:06
Sarah-that sounds like an excellent playgroup.
I made Oli a treat this arvo.He has never liked frozen stuff and his teeth are playing up so I tried this...I have some of those tuppaware icecream maker things that you take out and the lid is a stick.I mixed his fav yoghurt with whole blueberries and chopped up some bannana.He loved it and has been pointing to the freezer ever scince saying Ta mum and yummy thank you.I only made one to see how it went so I guess I should whip up some more.
bb- that treat sounds good.. can i have some too?? hahaha
sarah- I sooo wish i was on such a great holiday!
Jackie- where have you been???? Im missing you!
Tracey- How is the new car????
well i get the keys to my new place tomorrow and then start moving over the weekend.. fingerscrossed they have the net connected asap or i WONT be happy
mytwolilprinces
22-08-2007, 17:50
Brooke - I'm right here :wave: that's great that you are getting the keys so soon. You must be so glad you've got a place so close to work.
Brodie - those ice-blocks sound pretty yum. No wonder Oli likes them.
Anyone know where Lis is?
Hi girls! Sorry :( I'm here, I'm just checking in and will read through all your posts properly as soon as I have time and get back into the swing of things.
Golden book version is that I'm tired, feel like I'm run off my feet. Will has been teething and clingy and won't leave me alone for 30sec.
I'm also dealing with some personal issues too, my old anxiety probs have reared their head again. Not as great as they used to be, but DH is helping me through them. I think the hormones have dragged up anything I hadn't laid to rest yet :( I think after 17 or so months of severe sleep deprivation I'm in crash mode too. The reality of it is that if I'd gone to see someone a year ago, I probably would have been diagnosed with PND, but the way I deal with things has always been to disconnect and detach from reality so I don't have to deal with it - so it just didn't affect me like it would have affected someone who was more in touch with their feelings.
It has affected some more practical aspects of our life, or so it's turning out, such as money and our health, so we're getting back to basics for awhile and trying to rebuild a little.
Wow. Not so golden book version I guess. Was a bit longer than I planned for it to be. Sorry to vent and be all me me me. But I feel I owe a bit of an explanation as to my absence.
I'll be back tomorrow, hopefully a bit more cheerful!
Jackie I am so in love with your new Avatar!
I am really looking forward to the whole moving thing to be over... Its hard packing a 4bedroom house all by yourself... But I almost feel like a kid moving out of home for the 1st time... is that weird???
Lis :hugs: Mate i hope your feeling better soon!
Hello everyone,
Didn't mean to be MIA for a while. I have been logging & to catch up with everyone's doings but I'm flat out getting 5 mins alone time atm to write anything. I'm only on here now as Ryan is still asleep, so it will be a quick one as I'm sure he's not far away. We have been so sick with this cold. Jackie, I loved your piece about the pseudo junkie! I had to read on in admiration, I tell you, one of the worst things while being preggo & breastfeeding is avoiding that miracle snot cure. I use to love it when I had a cold, now it just seems like a distant memory! I've really needed it this week too. We are going on well over a week, and still snotting & coughing etc. Now I have no voice either due to the coughing, so I can't even read to Ryan. It's really past annoying now :( . As a result, I've housebound ourselves & once again Ryan has turned into the child from he!!, defying everything I ask of him & really testing the boundaries. To add to that we've had this cr@p windy wet weather, so we can't even venture into our mudpit of a backyard to kill the hours, and he stands at the door & whines & whines. I am so jealous of your posts Sarah about the temps up in the tropics.
Anyway, surely things will pick up soon, I can't believe how much snot can be produced so constantly.
The new mobile is nice :yes: .Will take a bit to get use to though as expected. Picked it up yesterday arvo and took for a little drive last night, but not too far as this weather is really bad atm, and of course I'm extremely nervous driving a new car around - even at night :o when there's no one around. Had a go at parking :laughing: . Yep, I've resigned to the fact we won't be shopping anytime soom unless it's 8am & no one else is around!!!!!!! Ryan should be happy with this anyway.
Better go, must go have my caffeine - yep still able to stomach it, so at least there's something going my way.
Havn't pm'd you Jackie - but basically that sounds great to me as I am sure it did to the other guys. Look forward to it!
And Emma - congrats on your catch! Hope it all works out for you, he seems nice & sounds like he's making you happy so far. Least he didn't start by giving you the run around like Simon. Go for this one - Simon sounds like too high maintenance!
mytwolilprinces
23-08-2007, 06:35
Sorry to hear that the pregnant mummies are having a bit of a sh!tty time. Being pregnant is hard enough, let alone having to deal with all these other issues.
Lis - please don't feel like you can't talk about yourself - of course you can ( I do it all the time :D ) but seriously, we are hear for support and to listen to each other etc .... I really hope you start to feel a little better soon :hugs:
Tracey - :laughing: so I'm a pseudo junkie eh? Ahhh, you are probably right. I actually had my first drug free day yesterday and I tell you, it was a struggle. Back on them today though because the snot factory is back in business so it seems.
As for clingy children ...... Blake is in the clingy club that's for sure. He's taken to pulling on my arm (really forcefully) and saying "please, please, please" until I do what he wants - he doesn't let up EVER!
Brooke - you know I'd help you pack if I lived closer! Remember, if you haven't used it for 12 months - chuck it!
Better go, I've got two whingers in my ear driving me nuts :hair:
hello girls
Im going to have to make this quick cause i can hear Paige waking up!
Jackie- hahaha the snot factory.. that sounds like what Paige was like last week! I had never seen so much in my life... until i smothered her in vicks and now she is as good as gold!
Tracey- I would be scared driving such a nice new car as well! I hate trying to get used to all the blind spots and dimentions of the car etc!
well im taking Paige to her new childcare centre today to say hello to them and drop off our forms... fingers crossed she loves it there... and then im off to mothers group for a while, then i pick up the keys to my new place and then off to ikea to get a cheap wardrobe cause this new place wont have built ins! I have never really bought anything from ikea before... freedom is normally my style but think that will be out of my budget for a while hahaha
Morning Girls,
Sorry to hear so many are battling colds. We have been lucky so far :fingerscrossed: it stays this way for us. I had my flu shot earlier in the year so I think this has really helped me to fight it off.
I'll come back later on and post more - Caydence wants to have a shower.
brodiebunch
23-08-2007, 07:52
Brooke-some of the IKEA wardrobes are excellent.so many compartments for shoes etc.Have fun shopping.Good luck to PP.
Tracey-I find the worst part of being sick and pg is the longing for the drugs:laughing: .I am a bit of a natural therapies person normally but sometimes with a toddling torment the quick fix is life saving.
Oh!Can I add Oli to the clingy club?Also need to start a book worm club.All day I get books brought to me and pestered "up,up"
Lis-:hugs: :hugs: I hope you can get on top of you anxiety.It is a real horror to live with and really gets you down when pg and already exhausted:hugs: .
I will be back after playgroup.
brodiebunch
23-08-2007, 07:54
Oh I forgot
Reidy- thanks for the info on the S&S explorer vs the maxi rider:thumbsup: I could have just asked here.
OK, I'm back.
We ditched the shower and had morning tea instead. Seeing as it's just the 2 of us today I made pikelets. Yummy! Although we had scrambled eggs for breakfast so I'm really not hungry, but at least now they are there for me to have for afternoon tea.
I really need to get my housework done today. I've been neglecting it for a little while lately - just unmotivated and too busy with life in general. We found out last night that MIL has gone into hospital. She should be in for about a week or so. Hopefully we'll get a chance to go and see her tonight(as we've got a couple of really full on days coming up and wouldn't get there until monday).
Sarah - the playgroup you went to sounds great. I really need to get myself into a playgroup. I keep trying to get along to the library reading sessions but always seem to miss them:rolleyes:
Lis - :hugs: Take the time to get yourself well again. You are so lucky to have your DH there to help you though your issues. We are always here if you want to talk and remember, you are not alone.
Brooke - Good luck with the move. I know what you mean about Freedom being your style. Their furniture suits our house more than most Ikea stuff, probably because most of the hand me down stuff we got from my parents was from freedom - mum's worked there since I was in pre-school and gets some great bargains. :thumbsup: That said though, Ikea does have great storage solutions.
Tracey - Glad you like the new car. I'm sure you'll get used to it in no time. As for getting into carparks, I used to cheat sometimes when I was feeling tired and would go to Chermside and drive around til I found a baby park - 1 & 1/2 normal parks wide:thumbsup: Makes parking a breeze!
Better go get started on this housework...
mytwolilprinces
23-08-2007, 11:25
Brooke - Ikea is actually ok, good for cheapie bits and pieces that you need. Wouldn't recommend it for lounges or anything like that though! I love Freedom ..... I have one just down the road and often pop down there and walk around and dream about the loungeroom that I'd love ... yes, I know .. sad life I lead!
Jess - I always park in the "parents with prams" parking .... sometimes I'm a bit naughty and park there when the kids are not with me - who's going to know that I don't have them with me? :devil6:
Better go ... heaps of cleaning to get through whilst the boys are asleep.
brodiebunch
23-08-2007, 11:48
Furniture shopping....we need to go get lounges and a washing machine.We will probably just get elcheapo lounges as with a toddler and a new one on the way we think we will postpone our dream lounge.To much risk of food and texta accidents.We argue about the washing machine.I want a top loader as you can open them up after they have started and throw in that stray sock etc,Tim wants a front loader as they are more water/power efficient.I agree but he doesnt have to do all the washing.
Mummaof2
23-08-2007, 12:11
:wave: gals....ive been popping in and out all day but havnt had time to post till now.
Brooke - Goodluck with the moving this weekend. But like someone else said if you havnt used it for 12mths chuck it or donate it to the salvos. How did Caydence go at her new day care.
Brodie - I have a front loader and it is annoying when you find that stray sock and cant chuck it in especially when you are on your last load and you have that one piece of item that needs to be washed. As for lounges your making a smart move....Ive been wanting to get a new one but now that Coop has discovered textas and pens and knows how to get the lids off etc I will have to wait some time longer I think.
Jackie - I too sometimes park in the Parents with Prams when i dont have the kids with me especially now with the new car. I have a pram in the car and a car seat just no kids :laughing:
Lis - Sorry you havnt been feeling too well sending you some get well :hugs: .
Tracey - I have spoken to Simon this week and he asked how my date went on saturday and told him it was great blah blah and he said he was happy for me and he said I may need to set him up with one of my friends one day soon...I doubt it. I too was a bit iffy about where I drove the new car to start with and even now when i drive over fresh gravel i slow right down but still shudder when i hear the tyres kicking it all up under the car.
Sarah - Keep those travelling stories coming. have you got any recent pics of your travels.
Jess - How is that housework going? I hope you are feeling better today.
Ready - Where are you hiding?
On the man front....Derek came over last night and it was really nice. We talked and mucked around for a while (he started a cushion fight) then we watched a movie which i didnt like but was enjoying being cuddled by him so i wasnt complaining. When the movie finished we watched Viva La Bam on foxtel and talked some more and he left at 11:30pm. He gave me a cuddle goodbye and said I want to kiss you goodnight but I dont want to give you my cold. I woke up this morning and he had sent me a txt when he got home saying "Thank you for tonight it was great seeing you again. Call you tomorrow".
So far I dont intend on letting him go. At least I know no blonde bimbo will get his attention as he has already told me blondes do nothing for him...he likes brunette. Arent I lucky I died my hair a few months ago....lol
Ok enough of my dribble hope you are all having a great day xoxox
Just a really quick one from me - we just got the coolest birthday party invite! It's a lady bug and you move the wings out of the way and that's where all the party info is! It's so cute!
Em - Sounds like you had a great night! Is he coming over again tonight?
My housework is mostly done, but I've got to do a few things for DH and want to get out to see MIL later this arvo, plus dad is coming back over shortly with another load of stuff(he's moving his office in here with ours).
Mummaof2
23-08-2007, 15:46
Just a really quick one from me - we just got the coolest birthday party invite! It's a lady bug and you move the wings out of the way and that's where all the party info is! It's so cute!
Em - Sounds like you had a great night! Is he coming over again tonight?
My housework is mostly done, but I've got to do a few things for DH and want to get out to see MIL later this arvo, plus dad is coming back over shortly with another load of stuff(he's moving his office in here with ours).
The invite sounds soo cute.
No he isnt coming over tonight (i wish). He has his daughter tonight so he will be spending time with her.
I hope your MIL gets better soon.
emilysmumma
23-08-2007, 18:22
Emma- it sounded like a nice evening last night. I would of voiced my opinion about not liking the moving though.
Brooke- don't get to overwhelmed in Ikea. I love it but just never have the inclination to put it all together.
Jess- I hate housework so much. Just reading that you need to do it make me cringe. Oh how I wish for a maid.
Not much to report. I got new camping chair today. My other one had broken to bits. At least this new one has a side table that clicks up and has a cup holder. That's it on my news today.
Emily has been behaving wonderfully. So we treated her to an icecream sundae. Of course mummy had to give her a hand to finish it.
Shall come on later to cruise the hub and may catch up with someone.
MMMMmmmm icecream sundae's....... I had to pretend I wasn't pregnant last night and do the macca's soft serve sundae :shame: . It was the least of my worries after the day I had yesterday!!!!
hi girls,
im getting back in the swing of bubhub. ill be back on 100 times a day in no time at all!
hey lis hun, i hope u are feeling ok, i just wanted to let you know if u need to talk, just let me know, as i suffer from bad anxiety myself. getting worse over time i think! i spose my current life status isnt helping.
anyways, all us girls are here for a chat.
brroke, i hope your move is going ok, i have missed alot of whats going on around here. so im trying to catch up.
so much going on with everyone, new places, new cars, new boyfriends etc etc haha.
jess, little wonder mum u r. cooking eggs for breaky, piklets for morning tea. my kids would love u!haha
and dont worry bout caydence, if only u could see what Indy does on a daily basis :o
its so hard to keep the posts short when i want to be able to reply to everyone!
i have read up on u all as long as u know that much!
oh and em: sounds like u got yourself a nice new catch and you sound smitten ! hope it works out. take it slow he wont go anywhere. he's a lucky man :thumbsup:
emilysmumma
23-08-2007, 20:33
MMMMmmmm icecream sundae's....... I had to pretend I wasn't pregnant last night and do the macca's soft serve sundae :shame: . It was the least of my worries after the day I had yesterday!!!!
MMmmmmmhhhhh, Oreo Mcflurry!!!!!!!!!!!!
emilysmumma
23-08-2007, 20:33
Hi Dannii. Nice to see you around again.
so where are all you girls tonight? Nat is on nightshift so i have all night to myself, but its just so quiet!!
i shouldnt be complaining because my days have been so hectic.
Indy used to have her bad days of having massive tantrums, but i think she has decided that she likes that side of her personality and has murged that into everyday life!
How does a child her age make a grown adult look so stupid in public and be so in control of us all????
She put on such a huge performance the other day in town, i couldnt even get control of the situation. i had so many people starring at me!! i hope this doesnt last long.
not too much else has been happening with us. just getting over everything with mum. The hardest thing was that everyone left me in control of organising everything from the funeral and moving her stuff out of her place, etc..
i was so scared i would stuff it all up!
Although the funeral was horrible. and there really wasnt much i could do about it. but i was worried that if it was left up to me i would stuff it up.
anyways things are starting to return to normal. and the kids seem fine again.
ive also lost abit of weight, which is great, finally. so im really working hard towards my goal weight again. any miracles that u girls know of??? would be great!!
reidy? where are u? i hope your going to pop on for a LNL.
ok well hope to hear from u girls.
take care.
p.s sorry for rambling
emilysmumma
23-08-2007, 20:52
No miracles to losing weight that I know of barring not eating or cutting off a limb. And as I'm rather fond of my food and my limbs, neither of those are going to happen. So I better stick with no treats and only eating non fat food.....how boring but effective.
lmao
hmm i want to lose fat, however my limbs have been serving me well for the 27 years ive been living so i think ill continue using them for a while longer.
however do u think if i cut off a leg or 2 i would get out of doing housework for a while?
maybe even a hospital stay may be classed as a holiday for me. as i havent had one of those for quite some time.
ill give it some more thought though ;)
my good friend and i turned it into a competition to see who could lose the most weight. so that way we keep each other motivated! i managed to lose about 7 kilos but weve been really slack and cant seem to get the motivation to keep going.
i have a new incentive though, just between us dec mummies (and for the whole world to read on the www if they wish) but im going for plastic surgery :eek: actually cant wait lol
its my present. but i got to lose the weight first then i treat myself to some new body parts lol
sorry to those girls out there who dont agree with that sort of stuff.
each to their own though hey, and im living by the motto, "we only live once"
Mummaof2
23-08-2007, 21:12
Evening Dannii and Sarah
Dannii - Yes i am smitten but taking it slow. We both discussed that we dont want to rush into anything as we have both done that in the past and look where its ended us. But for someone who wears there heart on there sleeve it is a struggle at times not to just let myself fall. But I am getting better at it. Everynight we chat on the phone for nearly 2 hrs and he always says goodbye with Sweet Dreams Beautiful...I have to pinch myself everytime.
Im glad to hear things are starting to return to normal after everything you have been through I cant imagine how tough it must have been for you.
Cooper decided he didnt want to put his nappy on tonight and then he decided he would just sit on the lounge and play with his 'wee wee'. Boys why do they have to start playing with it at a young age.
Mummaof2
23-08-2007, 21:15
Danni i would love to have some plastic surgery and speed the weight loss up a bit. Although I am very proud of what I have accomplished so far which is a total loss of 52cm but have only lost 1kg as i have only been doing weights and very little cardio but in saying that since March I have lost 2 sizes:smiliedance:
I think i might start entering the lotto so i can win millions so i can get the plastic surgery done
Mummaof2
23-08-2007, 21:16
Im going to have to say goodnight as Derek is coming into work tomorrow to fix some lights and electrical wiring for me. Have a good night
that sounds awesome! good on you for losing all them cms!
im not going to get surgery to lose any weight, just gonna get my tummy tuck i always wanted but now really need more than ever. that skin is there to stay!! so im serving it , its very own eviction notice.
and as i say after having the kids, breastfeeding and gaining/losing weight several times that my boobs are looking more like golf balls in socks! i would like the perky DD's back that i once had haha.
so i think ill buy them back!
:wave: em: goodnight to you by the way.. chat again tomorrow
Reidymac
23-08-2007, 21:30
i have a new incentive though, just between us dec mummies (and for the whole world to read on the www if they wish) but im going for plastic surgery :eek: actually cant wait lol
its my present. but i got to lose the weight first then i treat myself to some new body parts lol
sorry to those girls out there who dont agree with that sort of stuff.
each to their own though hey, and im living by the motto, "we only live once"
:wave: hello, Oooo interesting converstation i have jumped into!! what kind of body parts.......some new limbs to go with the cool ones you've already got????? or some of those ones that you sis did :p ? I rember sjhe was very happy with her new bits?
lol reidy, yeah shes pretty happy with herself haha although she never had any in the 1st place. i was the only one out of 7 kids to get them, although i must have been a naughty girl during my life because in the last few years theyve been taken off me! and i want them back!!
ive just been feeling like **** lately so yesterday.. i went and dyed my hair, straightened / styled it, got my eyebrows waxed, eyelash tint , some new make up, fake tanning in a can lol , (damned fair skin!) new nail care and skin care stuff.
im feeling alot better at the moment.
eta: good to see u on reidy, was hoping u would jump on before i went to bed
Reidymac
23-08-2007, 21:36
ooop sorry, still on a slow computer, missed your last post.
Reidymac
23-08-2007, 21:39
Oh Danni, that sounds fantastic and god knows you deserve a treat. i'm sorry that you have been feeling so cr@p. Your so beautifiul but we all deserve a lift and a bit of pampering
thanks reidy. hope u have been feeling better yourself.
sorry to leave just when u got on but im just stuffed now!! i plan to come back on again tomorrow night while nats on night shift again. look forward to reading all your posts .
i really wish we could all meet up one day! would be so great.
anyways goodnight :wave:
emilysmumma
23-08-2007, 21:51
Damn tummy flab. And then Emily loves to poke and prod the soft bits and see how deep she could make her fingers dissapear. And it doesn't suck in when you try and still hangs there.
Dannii- at least with me being a member of the IBTC, I've never had any to miss in the first place. The only thing is they have become softer from pregnancy and breastfeeding. I'm very jealous of the likes of you with DD's....that's HUGE!!!!! That's porn star material :laughing:
I've probably missed everyone as I got caught up browsing the hub. So goodnight to everyone.
I think I will still hang around a little longer though.
Reidymac
23-08-2007, 21:53
I was attacked by a small boy this morning and have been feeling a bit sore and sorry ever since.
Liam woke a bit early this morning so I took him into my bed to give us both a chance for a little more sleep and time for me to come to grips with the wake up vomiting. I had my eyes closed and he was patting my face one minute and the next he was executing this awesome World Wrestling Federation style body slam from a great height and all 14kg of him came down fists first into my lower abdomen. After I'd writhed around in pain for a few minutes and managed to take a breath, he started patting my face again say "you OK, OK daddy" (hes so sweet:p)
Good god it hurt, and I have been too scared to take any pain killers because I want to feel the baby keep moving to make sure it's OK, but as the day has gone on I feel the pain right through my groin and around my into back. Liam has been extra cuddly all day and keep coming and sitting on my lap or in the crook of my arm and giving kisses (I think he knows his career in the WWF is over, or to start practicing on Lil G instead of mummy)
any way thats my day...............think I take my sorry self off to bed actually
ETA: Night Danni, Hi Sarah and Goodnight Sarah, sounds like your having a fantastic trip. And that new chair sounds perfect for balancing the obligatory night cap. how long will you be in broome
emilysmumma
23-08-2007, 22:01
Youch!!! Reidy. I just had Emily put her heel of her foot in my eye socket as she climbed over the pillows in bed tonight before she went to sleep. It's very cute though receiving lots of kisses better, but it's still tender. But thankfully no WWF from Emily, just rolling around on the bed is the most rough she gets.
Reidymac
23-08-2007, 22:10
Awww, Emily sound so sweet. Yeah, this was a little out of character from Liam, but i was a sitting duck i guess.
He has been doing this little thing lately where he says "5,4,3,2,1, blastoff" and then he dives on the couch, ottoman, passing sister, bed, anything soft really..............followed by "yaaaaay, hip hooray, hip hooray, hip hooray" very chuffed with himself. glad he has such high self esteem that he thinks he deserves 3 cheers for the act..........think this morning he just cut out the countdown and dived on to the big pillow like belly of the nearest soft thing.
emilysmumma
23-08-2007, 22:19
My new chair holds the sundowner drink quite well thankyou.
We actually left Broome this morning and are in Derby just for the night. We really enjoyed Broome, and it was a nice relaxing time.
We are now really heading out to the middle of nowhere. It is beautiful though, the Kimberleys with the huge Boab trees (Dh and my favourite tree) and the frontier feel about everything. We just did the touristy bit this afternoon and went and saw the old goal. It only closed in 1975 and it's just a tin roof and the walls are just the metal bars all the way to the roof. Open completley to the elements, and unbelievable that it was still in use only 30 or so years ago. Plus it was only the size of a double garage.
So that's what I mean about the frontier feel of it. It really is rough living and I'm glad to be tucked into our little van each night.
That is so cute about Liam. Wow, he has a vocab on him as well.
Funkychicken
23-08-2007, 22:30
Well now havan't you all been busy chatting in here tonight!
It is so lovely to see chit-chat amongst Danni and Reidy-it's like old times!:laughing:
Sarah, I have a friend who lives in Fitzroy Crossing, so not too far from you.
Reidy, I hope you poor tummy is OK and the enclosed cargo too. If this one is as tough as Liam sounds, then i am sure all will be fine. :thumbsup:
Reidymac
23-08-2007, 22:31
Wow, you have seen some amazing things! have you been to the kimberlys before? if you are heading further out into beyond does that mean that we are going to be loosing the pleasure of your company for a little while again?
Haha, was there every any doubt that my children would be a pretty talkative bunch?:P. Liam copies almost everything that Lil G says and follows her around like a puppy dog and god knows that girl hs been talking like a little old woman since she was about 1.5 :rolleyes:
ETA: hi Funky, hey this is like old times all the late night lingeres are back in action.
Funkychicken
23-08-2007, 22:37
:D Just like the days of middle of the night breastfeeds!
Hamish is also keen on the counting thing but counts up-1, 2, 3, Baboom. Mostly when we drive over the 7 speed humps on the road to school each day!:laughing:
Funkychicken
23-08-2007, 22:49
Ok, I really need to go to bed now. I would love to hang here and chat but I will be stoofed tomorrow if I don't get some sleep now (plus I have a new book and I want o make a start on it :D). I have been out all night at my knitting group and I am feeling all wound up but I do know I will flake once I get to bed.
Goodnight my lovely Dec mum friends. :wave::wave::sleeping:
emilysmumma
23-08-2007, 22:49
Yes, I will be MIA for a while I think. I just realised that, no wonder I'm up late cramming in my net time.
The furtherest we get with numbers is the sound of the words and one finger held up whether it's for 1 or 3 or she points at each of my fingers as I count.
Emily loves bumps and says "bump bump" everytime. And we have been on many bumpy roads recently.
Funkychicken
23-08-2007, 22:50
Oh, last thing-I love your avatar pic Sarah. Emily is such a cutie!
emilysmumma
23-08-2007, 22:51
What are you knitting Sal? And what actually do you do in a knitting group? All I can picture is clicking needles and murmurs of "knit one, pearl one".
emilysmumma
23-08-2007, 22:52
I must say Sal, your new avatar is an improvement of your last one, lol.
Funkychicken
23-08-2007, 22:55
What are you knitting Sal? And what actually do you do in a knitting group? All I can picture is clicking needles and murmurs of "knit one, pearl one".
:laughing: More like, Oh no, I've forgotten where I am up to! We all talk way too much and distract each other.:D I am working on a vest that was going to be for Hamish but looks way too big so at this stage it may be for Ella. I am such a learner at this knitting caper but very, very determined to master it. I have some great friends who actually do know what they are doing, so that helps.
I must say Sal, your new avatar is an improvement of your last one, lol.
Now that was Razzles fault! She changed our avatars to photos that were taken on our night out recently. Bad, naughty Razzle!
emilysmumma
23-08-2007, 22:59
Well you must of had a good night out then by the looks of it.
I shall stop asking you q's now and let you get to your book.
Night
Funkychicken
23-08-2007, 23:02
LOL, I am now stuck saying goodnight in three threads!:laughing:
Som I am off now. Really. Truly. I mean it....
Oh, and it was a good night out. I chauffeured so I remember every little aspect of the night-maybe not true for some others!:laughing:
Reidymac
23-08-2007, 23:04
Haha, I thought it was a great avatar! and when I saw a thread with a few of the mods in a row the avatars looked like they were talking to each other (doing the finger, poking out toungs etc)
You'll have to show us a pick of the finished vest sal.
I really am going off to bed this time!!
emilysmumma
23-08-2007, 23:13
It was a great avatar. Where do you find these dancing chooks though?
Funkychicken
24-08-2007, 08:31
It was a great avatar. Where do you find these dancing chooks though?
Oooo, I have a secret stash of them.:D
emilysmumma
24-08-2007, 09:03
Well he is a groover.
Morning.
I was so wrapt up chatting to a friend on msn last night that I missed all the chatter in here:rolleyes:
Lovely too see so much chatter and so many lights on - I was begining to think that the group was dwindling.
Danni - the tummy tuck sounds like a lovely pressie to yourself!
Nothing much to report. I was going to take Caydence to the library this morning, but it's still way too cold and windy outside that I think it's best we stay in here for a bit longer. I need to head out in about an hour anyway so will see if we get there then.
mytwolilprinces
24-08-2007, 11:09
Arrggghhh, the one night the Dec 05 thread GOES OFF and I miss it :banghead: :D
Danni - so great to see you chatting away in here just like old times and can I just say that I am green with envy of your plans to enhance your already lovely self.
Being a foundation member of the IBTC I have come to grips (not literally) with my itty bitty titty's but I would love to venture into the world of the "not so itty bitty titty" - although I would be happy with a small C cup.....
As for the weight loss - I find that being stressed out and chasing after two monster boys all day works for me. I have dropped a couple of kg over the last few weeks and am actually lighter than I have ever been - even lighter than I was prior to having kids!
Sarah - we'll miss you whilst your out of range!
Sal - fantastic to see you in here. I had to laugh at Sarah's comment about the knitting club chatter - that is what I was imagining too! Oh and I loved your avatar - bring it back I say!
Reidy - you poor thing coping the full force of a hefty child on your tummy. Blake thinks he is "superguys" (don't know why he says that and not super man but anyway) and put his arms out and flies into/onto anything that moves (or doesn't move). I hope your tummy and it's contents are fine.
Brooke - are you moving this weekend?
Em - sounds like this guy might be a keeper!
Tracey - never mind the chocolate sundae - I actually didn't know you weren't supposed to have soft serve when I was pregnant and I lived off the stuff and my kids turned out normal - well hmmmm maybe not come to think of it :laughing:
Better go, this post is getting mighty long!!!
Mummaof2
24-08-2007, 13:32
Sorry I had to leave our chit chatter last night but i was barely keeping my eyes opne. Dont you just hate it when your wide awake and then next minute bang your falling asleep at the computer.
Dannii - It definately is great seeing you back chatting in our thread.
Reidy - I knew as soon as we started asking where you were you would come out for a late night lurk. How is the MS going?
Sal - I wish I knew how to knit. My mum did try to teach me when i was younger but I just couldnt get the hang of it. Maybe i could get some lessons before I have another bub.
Jess - I was starting to worry a bit that our famous thread was starting to dwindle to but now Dannii is back we have a new lease of life on the thread.:yelclap:
Jackie - Are you and the boys all better now? And yes I think he is a keeper too.
Well Derek came and fixed my lights at work today and a few power points were like 50yrs old so he changed them too and he kept sneaking up and giving me kisses when no one else was around. I am feeling a little confused at the moment but I think i have bored you all enough with all my talk about Derek.
Hope you are all having a great day
Emma you most certainly have not bored us with you talk of Derek. It is great to see you so excited!
I wish I could stay and chat, but we are hoping to get up to see MIL tonight and Caydence needs a bath as she's going to miss out tomorrow night - for some reason my parents never give her a bath or shower when she stays overnight:confused: Maybe they are scared that they'll make the water too hot, or she'll slip or something? Oh well, I just make sure she is bathed before she goes over and when she comes home - although that said, they wash her face 50 million times a day and change her clothes if even the smallest drip of food gets on them. I'm a bit lazy and don't bother if we're just at home as 9 times out of 10 she'll just get grubby again within 15 mins of changing her and I'd be doing 3 loads of washing a day just to keep up!
I hope you all have a lovely weekend - we are off to a wedding tomorrow(and I'm 99% sure that the bride is pregnant with #2 but hasn't told anyone yet - her boobs will give it away, she normally has none but they got really big really early on in her last pregnancy!).
mytwolilprinces
24-08-2007, 17:11
:gloomy: no lights on in here again!!!!*starts singing "alllllll byyyyy myseeeelff"*
I'll just come back later then!
Oh no Jackie - don't take it personally!!!! I actually popped my head in & saw your post here, but didn't have time to write anything as I was off to the chemist to buy up big:laughing: Unfortunately my purchases were not as exciting as yours of late (wink wink nudge nudge). I ended up getting a vapouriser which I've been meaning to do since my very first cold during pregnancy with Ryan. Anyway, I had it going last night. Didn't really do much for me as I still had a blocked nose, so had to sleep (well try to sleep:rolleyes: ) while breathing through my mouth. I just ended up with an extrememly dry throat & lips that i could almost peel off they were that dry!!! Everyone always raves about these things - maybe I am using it incorrectly :confused: I am yet to give it another go. Once again, I'm just going to have a complain about how over this illness I am. I am coming into 2 weeks now & there doesn't seem to be an end in sight.
Anyway enough doom & gloom. We are cruising down the coast in the new wheels today to check out the heavy surf & seas. And of course to throw in a nice lunch at Hogs Breath Cafe. NOw that ought to put me in a good mood!!!!
Lis - I know you are a Braurs girl - just wanted to ask you if any of their cold & flu products are useful during pregnancy? Think they have a nasal spray for head colds and a cough remedy or the like. I am soooooo over this.
I'm very jealous of the likes of you with DD's....that's HUGE!!!!! That's porn star material :laughing:
lmao
oh your too funny.
those were the days my dear however, like i said, theyve been taken off me but they kindly left me the outta casing!!
so i plan to "re-fill".
and i also agree with jackie.. i would also be happy with c cup. actually ANYTHING thats classed as "perky"
cant wait to show u girls my before and after shots.. lol ok ok i wont be that cruel hehe
JESS, let us know how the wedding goes, im curious if the bride is preggers now!
and emma.. your not boring us hun, besides.. i havent been here for a while i have all this goss to catch up on, so let it flow
tracy.. ive been reading about this new car u got, but i dont think i heard what u got. sorry for th ignorance.
so what did u buy??
sal, the popular little vegemite!
as for the knitting thing u were say, aint u clever!! i can crochet a square! does that count.. hey i can make a BIG square though!
Reidy, i always love your posts. u have such a way with words haha.
im sorry to hear you have birthed a wwf wrestler and chooses to practise his stunts on his mother and future sibling . too cute for their own good hey?
Ok i will be off for now. everytime i post i end up with them huge posts that no one wants to read and skim past it to the next one. i promise i will get better at this :)
Mummaof2
25-08-2007, 19:29
:wave: :wave: :wave: :wave:
I had a visit from Derek this morning...he called in to get his goodbye kiss i wasnt able to give him at work yesterday.
The kids and I went to Sydney today to visit my cousin who had her 4th bubba 2 weeks ago.
Here are some pics
Baby Summer
http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r187/Mummaof2_photos/Friends%20and%20Family/DSCF1717.jpg
Baby Summer again
http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r187/Mummaof2_photos/Friends%20and%20Family/DSCF1713.jpg
Steph & Coop with Cousin Montana
http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r187/Mummaof2_photos/Friends%20and%20Family/DSCF1711.jpg
Me & Baby Summer
http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r187/Mummaof2_photos/The%20Forever%20Changing%20Me/DSCF1714.jpg
Mummaof2
25-08-2007, 19:34
Here are some other pics i took today of me and steph
Me
http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r187/Mummaof2_photos/The%20Forever%20Changing%20Me/DSCF1728.jpg
Mummy & Princess Steph
http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r187/Mummaof2_photos/The%20Forever%20Changing%20Me/DSCF1731.jpg
Ewww Mum
http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r187/Mummaof2_photos/The%20Forever%20Changing%20Me/DSCF1732.jpg
Me in my new reading glasses
http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r187/Mummaof2_photos/The%20Forever%20Changing%20Me/DSCF1737.jpg
Hi everyone - sorry to be so awol.
I'm feeling a bit better, there have been some hiccups, but things are getting a bit better and my head has been in a much better space the past few days.
Emma - Derek sounds like a great catch. I'm so happy for you!
Brooke - hope the moving is going well. I hate to admit, but I love Ikea. I love the modern, simple, neat-freak style stuff. If I had money I would do my entire house in Ikea gear.
Jess - you are amazing. Pikelets? How do you do it?
Tracey - I wouldn't worry about Maccas sundaes. They clean the machine every day. I have indulged a couple of times myself ;)
Dannii - congrats on losing weight. As far as miracles, I wouldn't necessarily call it that, but a few months before I fell pregnant with Will, DH did a hypnosis for me for getting healthy and losing weight. Within a few days I was craving healthy foods and getting up at 6am to exercise before work. I lost 8kg in 2 months, and my body actually reshaped due to the pilates I was doing. Of course, that's all undone now, until after I pop this bub out ;)
Reidy - you always have a knack of jumping into interesting conversations! I hope your tummy is feeling a bit better. Not a nice feeling. I can't really lie down on the floor anymore coz Will tries to jump on me and sit on my belly. Liam sounds like such a cutie though, despite his wrestling obsession.
Sarah - I am always jealous when I hear about your day. So exciting. Sounds like Emily is at the same stage as Will re counting, he just likes to point to my fingers as I count to five, and then applauds at the end. He does say "Un, doo" though. We're getting there.
Sal - I wish I could remember how to knit. I used to many years ago, but I'm too scared to try again now! I have also joined that avatar admiration club here. I love that chicken!
Jackie - congrats on your weight loss too. Sounds like everyone's losing weight except me (or my butt to be more specific :()
Oh and Tracey - re the vapouriser. Which one did you get? We have a Vicks one and it's awesome. I have found that it works better if I add the mixture to the water inside the bowl, as well as in the little cup thingy on top. Does that make sense? Also, I try to keep it lower to the ground at night, as the steam rises. Re Brauers - unfortunately, their products haven't been tested enough to say whether they're safe during pregnancy, so I kind of steered clear myself :( It might pay to see an actual homeopath first, as they are used to treating women in pregnancy and can tailor-make something for you, rather than the off-the-shelf mixes. It will cost you a bit more, but you'll feel safer ;)
I found this helped with me, and it's done wonders for Will too. Have a bath before bed with some tea tree oil in it. It helps clear the airways before bed. You can also burn it through the day.
If you have the following oils, this is a great chest rub too, it worked really well for DH. Get some almond oil and add a few drops of tea tree, chamomile and lavendar oils.
Hope I've been of some help, probably not :(
There's a down side to being a DD gals :yes:
We used to go out partying a lot. And dancing till all hours of the morning (or the next afternoon), wasn't always easy. I went out armed with a super sports bra, aerobics top over that, tight singlet top or t-shirt. There were nights I wish I had gaffer tape on me :banghead:
It was very uncomfortable, and my back hurt heaps the next day from trying to keep a posture that would reduce bouncage.
I used to watch all the B cup girls with envy as they danced their little tooshes off without having to worry about bouncing around too much...
Emma - great pics!! I can see why Derek is so smitten. You look great! :thumbsup:
I'm buggered, heading off to bed soon. Just after I clean the kitchen and finish my cuppa.
Mummaof2
25-08-2007, 20:20
Thanks Lis....without sounding big headed and in love with myself im actually proud of how good and healthy i am looking
You do look great, and you're not big-headed. You deserve to be proud of yourself. You've worked hard!!
hello ladies..
I just had a quick read over all your post... BOY you girls can chat!
Dannii- its sooo great to see you posting in here again.... and Indy is so beautiful i love the avatar!
Emma- Im glad things are going so well with derek!
love the pics too...
Sarah- Im so glad to hear the holiday is still going well... when are you heading back to brisbane???
Jackie- Good work on the weight loss.. not that you needed it anyway!
Well i should head back to unpacking... I swear its a nightmare.... Thats what happens when you go from 4brms to 2! Oh well... the worst part was the fact paiges antique wardrobe wouldnt fit thru her door so i had to head down to ikea and get a new one.. not happy.. there was sooo many tears!
Funkychicken
26-08-2007, 19:22
Just popping in to say hi to everyone. I have only just been able to log on.
Brooke, moving is so hard. I hope you are settling in OK.
Lis, I'm sorry you are going through a traumatic time. Pregnancy can bring out all sorts of emotions and it nearly always takes us by surprise when it happens.
We need to go for that walk together and have a chinwag!
mytwolilprinces
26-08-2007, 19:58
Hello lovely Dec Mummies!
Lis - great to see you in here again and I'm so glad to hear that you are feeling better.
Brooke - B*mmer about the wardrobe, not really what you need to happen when your moving! Glad that everything else went pretty smoothly. It's amazing that you've managed all this on your own, your a strong, beautiful and independant girl.... I feel like a proud big sister :laughing: :o
Danni - can I ask if you know how much a tummy tuck costs (just approx?) I have so much spare skin flapping around my middle I would like to have it fixed one day (along with my boobs but the skin is a priority!)
Emma - you look great. Lis is right, no wonder Derek is smitten.
Tracey - sorry you've still got the never ending cold from hell ..... mine is finally gone - Blake is still coughing though but seems to be improving at last!
Jess - thanks for the PM - you're a sweetie :yes:
Better go, I'm feeling really tired tonight and I bought a new book today and want to read a bit of it before I crash!
Funkychicken
26-08-2007, 21:20
Hope you are enjoying your new book, Jackie. I'm off to do the same. Let me know what you are reading and if it is good-I'm always on the lookout for a new author/book.
emilysmumma
26-08-2007, 22:11
We don't have very good news. At the moment we are at the hospital at Halls Creek with Emily.
On Friday afternoon she started vomiting, and continue to do so for the next 18 hours at 10 minute intervals. It was a very long night.
The bad thing was it all of a sudden just started and she was fine after every vomit for the first 6 times but then it started taking it's toll. She couldn't keep any fluids down and we were 100km from Fitzroy Crossing. So we rode it out till morning. We packed up asap and by this time she held some water down and we drove to Fitzroy Crossing. She slept all the way and they only had a makeshift chemist at the mini supermarket there with just gastrolyte which we had. She had brighten up and was managing to keep her gastrolyte down mixed with diluted cordial so we continue on.
I don't know how far now Halls Creek is but she threw up again after about 180km's and was just sleeping and had no interest in anything as well as burning up. It's very scary being in the middle of nowhere without immediate help.
They adimitted her straightaway when we got here and after a couple of hours became a bit better but her heart rate started spiking and temp going up.
They wanted to give her a gastric nasal tube to keep her fluid in as she had dehydrated a bit but DH said not to as they made it sound really bad with putting it in etc. She had a needle of antibiotics though and I tried to give her fluids all during the night but her heart rate and temp was up still.
But this morning she ate and looked brighter and we had to stick to a strick schedule of giving her fluids as she looked good there for a couple of hours. But she went downhill again this afternoon and again became all floppy and listless like before we got to the hospital.
So they have bandaged her hands up so as not to pull the tube out, and I was there for the gastric nasal drip being put in and another needle of antibiotics. The doc said she has a virus and dehydration and really need to get her heart rate down to around 120 and she is usually 148. Also she got diarehha (sp) from the food she had this morning. So much so it's gone through two sets of bed linen and they were even cover with towels.
So she is finally now asleep. It took nearly 2 hours to settle down after the tube went in, and they couldn't get it in one side after a couple of tries to make things worse for her. Terry stayed in the van last night but in our room has a sofa bed he is sleeping on tonight.
So we are all wrecks and we are kicking ourselves in not getting the tube in last night, but the nurse put us off it. So I think we will be here another couple of days. And of all places to be I must say it's a pretty good hospital. Brand new and small. Only needs 2 nursing staff for the 5 patients that are ind an they keep the door locked with an intercom due to the area.
They just came in and also gave her some medicine for a bad gastro virus that's been going around too. So hopefully she will sleep well and every hour they give her top ups of rehydration.
Sorry if this is a bit all over the place, but besides her cold a few weeks ago and another one at the beginning of the year, this is her first sickness. I'm so wishing she was still breastfeeding as I feel that it's too coicidental that she started getting sick not long after she weaned. Also it would be great fluids for her.
I shall keep you updated. I honestly thought today she was on the mend and the doc did too as she seemed quite bright compared to before but not now.
DH has been very teary and is doing everything he can to make her smile.
Time to catch up on some much needed zzzz's. And to think I was on here late Thursday night and only got 5 hours sleep. If I only knew I would of went to bed early. If I only knew I guess I wouldn't let her go to that playgym last week as she must of got something from there.
Oh well, she is in the best place possible. I can't wait to hear her do her little chatter and sing songs again. It's been very quiet for a little girl who is constantly la laaaing to herself.
Night all.
emilysmumma
26-08-2007, 22:13
I didn't mean to have an angry sign there for the heading. I just manage to press something wrong sometimes.
mytwolilprinces
27-08-2007, 06:32
Oh Sarah :hugs: to little Emily,yourself and your DH. How frightening that Emily is so sick. I hope by the time you read this post she has improved 100% and is ready to leave the hospital. I can only imagine how tired and emotional you must be feeling at the moment - big :hugs: again.
Sal - the book is only light reading .... something to brighten myself up a bit as I've been in a bit of an icky mood it's "the other side of the story" by Marian Keyes - pretty funny so far!
Seems like everyone is having a bit of a bad run lately (apart from Emma :D ) so much for our "lucky 13" thread :rolleyes:
brodiebunch
27-08-2007, 07:11
Morning,I have just got back after a wedding planning filled weekend.Left Oli with DP to look through some housses and went to my sisters.I had my practice hair and makeup done,finally organised a cake and finalised the ceremony/order of service with the celebrant.We ended up writing our own vows.
My sis and I then went shopping:smiliedance:my sister went a little bit pink crazy and if squirmy turns out to be a boy then I will be having one heck of an ebay sale.I got 3 pairs of maternity pants from Big w for $5 each and a top.:eek: I got a full priced pair of jeans there a week ago and 2 of the pants were jeans,so one is getting turned into 3/4 lenght shorts.The other pair were camo pants for around the house.
Then yesterday we went to the stitches and craft show in sydney and had a great time.Well Oli is getting cranky with me so I will be back later
brodiebunch
27-08-2007, 08:12
:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: A leech in my dunny.It came up the pipes from the tank.I now have the saltiest loo in australia,and all my drains to!
Mummaof2
27-08-2007, 09:00
Sarah - Im so sorry to hear little Emily is so sick. Im sending her some very special get well fairy dust :wizard: and sending plenty of :hugs: for you and terry. What a terrible thing to be going through while on your travels. As Jackie said hopefully by time you get to read our posts Emily is 100% better and out of hospital.
Brodie - Glad to hear your wedding plans are going well and well done on the maternity clothes bargains.
Jackie - My luck hasnt been completely good of late. I got my pap smear results back last Thursday which werent good but have just been trying to forget about them and keep positive and enjoy being happy for a change. I was actually thinking to myself on friday night that everytime my life is going so well something or someone has to do something to try and stuff it up but im not going to let it happen this time. Sorry for the whinge I think I have a severe case of Mondayitis today or lack of sleep from Derek staying till late last night
I was right - the bride is pregnant - 10 weeks. I have been thinking for about 5-6 weeks that she's preg and hadn't even seen her in that time - must have a good connection with her.
Sarah - I am so sorry to hear that Emily is so unwell but glad to hear you are in a lovely hospital and happy with the service that you are getting, must be so reassuring when you've got so much else going on.
Brooke - I too would be crying if the wardrobe didn't fit. Can you keep it at a friends place until next time you move?
One of DH's friends wives went into labour today. She's having a boy, so hopefully by the morning we'll get some pics through with a name etc and hear that all has gone well.
BB - Did your DP like any of the houses he looked at? Glad you are getting to enjoy your weekends and get so much wedding planning done.
Em - Sorry to hear that the results weren't the best, but good on you for keeping your chin up. You are looking so well in the pics, looking so happy and healthy!
Looks like DH is going to buy a new motorbike this week:rolleyes: oh well, :fingerscrossed: next time it'll be me getting a new mobile - I'm hoping for a new car by the end of the year. I just reminded DH(as we drove away from the motorbike shop) that it's my b'day in a few weeks and asked what I'm getting:devil6:
Mummaof2
27-08-2007, 15:19
Where is everyone today?
I could have had a good old yarn in here today. I was having one of my chatty mood days.
Derek is coming over again tonight but he is bringing his DD with him which is fine but now im panicking that we are heading towards the next level. Out of the 3 times he has come over my kids have only been awake once but he was only there for 20mins and the kids were busy playing so he didnt really meet them. Ahhhhh i know i should just go with the flow and with my gut instinct but I cant help but panic that I like him more then he likes me, or that im going to be hurt all over again or what if im moving on too fast. I hate feeling like this being ecstatically happy but scared and confused at the same time.
:hugs: Em. At least with all the kids together it might seem more like a playdate for the kids rather than a date for you 2?
I hope it went/goes well.
Mummaof2
27-08-2007, 18:58
I havnt heard from him since 5:30pm he needed my sisters address so he could go and have a look at something for her and he said i will call you back shortly but i havnt heard from him. Maybe he has decided to wait till after he drops his DD back to her mums
hello ladies
Oh sarah massive hugs to you! :hugs: and poor little emily! I am so sorry to hear she isnt well!
Funkychicken
27-08-2007, 21:51
Sarah, how frightening for you and Terry and Emily! I hope she is improving tonight-it's every parents worst nightmare when they get sick like this. How scary to be so far out too.
From all you have ever written about Emily, she sounds like one very tough cookie, so I am sure her fighting spirit will shine through. Take care.
:hugs::hugs:
Hello ladies
Sarah - hope your little chicken is feeling a bit better by now. I can't imagine what you & Terry are going throgh right now, it's hard enough dealing with a listless bub during a bout of a cold let alone the extras that Emily is dealing with. :hugs: to you my friend.
Dannii - our new car is an x-trail. So far we are quite impressed with it, but must admit I feel very 'high' while driving around since our last car was so low!
Lis - thanks for the advice on the vapouriser. I ended up getting the Taav one which I have seen in a lot of shops, so figured it would be ok. In my desparate state, the chemist didn't have the vicks one which was on my list to look at, so ended up with this one. It pumps out the steam, and I could smell the vapouriser fluid, so it was well in working order. I know what you mean by mixing the stuff in the chamber too, but on the instructions it said not to. Am I a stiffler for the rules? Does your say not to too? I didn't end up using it the night after as I really needed a bit of sleep before work, so went it alone! I had the best sleep I have had in months. I seem to be on the mend finally, so guess I will wait until the next time I get a cold to test it out again.
Emma - sounds all good with Derek:yelclap:
Brooke - hope your move has gone as well as could be expected and you are getting your feet back on the ground.
Reidy - how are you travelling young lass?
BB - (and anyone I've accidently forgotten) :wave: hope you are all going well.
brodiebunch
28-08-2007, 06:49
Sarah-:hugs: For you all.I hope emily is better today.
Sorry I didnt get back yesterday but I got some bad news.My grandad is in Hosp and has been there scince friday as he was having a skin cancer cut out.....no biggy for him.Yesterday the nurses found him on the floor in his room unconcious and we got told in the arvo that he had a stroke.They think it was a big one but wont know the full extent of the damage till sometime tomorrow.
Sarah - :hugs: to you. I hope Emily is back to her energetic little self as soon as possible. How scary for you. :(
Emma - sorry to hear about your results. Life often seems to throw a curve ball just when you think you've turned a corner, doesn't it! On the up side, I'm liking Derek more every time you mention him!
Jess - is it a roadbike or a dirtbike? My DH just picked up a second hand dirtbike a few months back. He got it for a great price. It's been so long since he had a bike that I forgot how expensive they get to be. We were thinking it was such a great deal (which it was and he really wanted one so there was no question), but now is the shopping list - boots, wet weathers, helmet... it's begun!
BB - hope your Grandad is recovering. Stroke is so scary. I have a friend who has had 3 now and it's really frightening.
Tracey - I bought a TAAV vapouriser ages ago and returned it, as it kept cutting out on me. I'm glad it was faulty and I could get my money back, as they are really high maintenance, having to clean it out all the time and use the tablets. They do the job though, but you need to put heaps of fluid in the cup and keep it down below bed level at night to get the full benefits. The Vicks one says you can put the fluid in the tub, or in the cup, or both. And there are no tablets etc to buy. I just rinse it out every night before I refill it and set it going again.
Sal - a walk would be lovely. Let's tee something up. I'll have to work out when I'm getting my car back though. DH is using mine as his has been playing up a bit. I really loathe cars. They are the bane of our existence!
Anyway, I'll be back later to chat. I hope - that all depends on Will ;)
brodiebunch
28-08-2007, 07:37
I had the TAAV vapouriser as well.It wouldnt cut out automatically like it was supposed to.I had it for about a year and not long ago woke up and could smell smoke.It had only been on for around 4hrs and we had followed all directions.It was really scary as The night before it was in Oli's room and I hate to think what would have happened if had burnt out in there.It even burnt the surface it was on:eek: .My SIL's and S.mum have the vicks and have no probs.
:laughing: I'm thinking that info regarding the taav vapouriser would have been useful a few days ago :rolleyes: . Oh well, all done now, bu thanks for the heads up - I shall keep an eye on things. It's good to be aware of the possible problems that could arise. It has a 3 year warranty, so guess if it's that cr@p, I will go down that avenue.
Tracey, just remember that items do have a satisfaction guarantee. I took a fan heater back to Kmart 1 day before the 12 month warranty period expired, and got a full refund because the heater was plain old cr@p and didn't heat very well.
Tey do have to provide you with a product that you're happy with. If it's not working to your satisfaction, even if it's not faulty as such, you can try that road.
Mummaof2
28-08-2007, 08:17
Emma - sorry to hear about your results. Life often seems to throw a curve ball just when you think you've turned a corner, doesn't it! On the up side, I'm liking Derek more every time you mention him!
Thanks Lis.....My life is always like that one minute everything is finally going my way then i hit some kind of speed hump but like i said in my previous post Im not going to let it get me down as there are to many good things that have happeend lately that outway that one lot of no so good news. And Im liking Derek more each day too. I couldnt even get annoyed with him last night when he said he would come over and didnt and didnt ring me till 8:30 to say he wasnt coming.
Im heading back to the gym tonight after having 3 weeks off. I still feel like i have lost weight but am feeling very blah and tired all the time so think its time for me to head back but will ease myself into it.
Derek is coming over tonight and I am cooking dinner for him which im a bit nervous about as he said he is very fussy about food. Im just going to easy option and cooking spagh bol so :fingerscrossed: he wont have anything to complain about it.
emilysmumma
28-08-2007, 10:38
thanks everyone for your concern.
she was doing better yesterday after 12 hours of fluids in her nose tube and running around being pretty much her usual self and bribing her to drink orally, but she still didn't have enough fluids, then diorehha hit again and she has gone downhill again. They want us again today to give her oral fluids and food but she has passed out now for the last 3hours. so it's all over the place.
we got them to take her bandages off her hands yesterday as she wasn't bothered by the tube and she could play better.
Also there has been no phone contact either. all the phones were down on saturday when we arrived and they started working on late sunday night, and our mobiles only worked since last night. So thanks Tracey for your message, it means alot.
so it looks like we are in for another day. it's doing great for my diet though as hospital food ain't the best and the only option is the servo and i don't want food poisioning on top of that. plus i couldn't really eat anyway.
hopefully tonight i will come on as last night i just caught up on some sleep. then i can say a proper hello to you all.
Funkychicken
28-08-2007, 10:50
It sounds like Emily is doing better. I like that she is running around and playing. After Hamish had his op last month, he was groggy and irritable for about a 1/2 hour, then after eating sandwiches and jelly, he spent tow hours racing around the ward-with me chasing after him! I was so relieved when he was discharged. :yes:
Ewww...I don't know what sounds worse, hospy food or servo food!:barf:
Sarah - I'm glad to hear that Emily was feeling better, despite it being a bit short lived, it is still a wonderful sign.
Lis - He's looking at a new road bike, well was, until a few hours ago when he said he's happy with his current road bike for now. That boy is so indecisive sometimes:rolleyes: I'm sure before the year is out he'll be looking again.
BB - I hope that your Grandfather is on the mend. :hugs:
Emma - Have fun at the gym. I was just thinking last night that I'm going to try to get to mum and dad's a few times a week and use the gym there(at their apartment complex).
We can't have chocolate in this house anymore:crying: Caydence has worked out what it is and hassels us to get some. We just hide it from her now and pull it out when she's asleep:D
Mummaof2
28-08-2007, 12:38
Jess - If you can use their gym in the apartment complaex i would go for it. I dont think i will be renewing mine next year. Its good in winter time but during summer I can just run around oustide with the kids and punch the boxing bag. And my life is just so hectic when i work 9-5, pick the kids to be at the gym by 5:30, home by 6:45pm cook dinner, feed them, bath them and then put them to bed and then it takes me a few hours to wind down. I have enjoyed the last 3 weeks off having such a hectic life. But the results have been worth it. I always hide the chocolate from the kids but steph always seems to find it. She wanted the last piece of the block of Snack I bought last week and she got all stroppy when i said no.
Sarah - Im still keeping my :fingerscrossed: that Emily is on the mend soon. I heard on the radio this morning that severe strain of the gastro virus has hit australia and is only going to get worse in the coming weeks and can last from 3-5days. So as of today I have started drinking plenty of water and will be making sure the kids do too.
It is just too nice a day to be at work today. I wish i could be at home with the kids outside playing
hello everyone...
Just a quick one from me...
Sarah- :hugs: I hope meily can leave the hospital soon! you poor thing!
BB- I hope your granddad will be ok! :hugs:
brodiebunch
28-08-2007, 14:38
Dad just rang and they have moved my grandad to a rehabilitation ward.The stroke isnt as bad as they thought it was but he is still having all the usual troubles.At least he recognised his sons today.We lost my grandma sue,his wife almost a year ago to a stroke but that was after several years of little ones.Grandad is worried about dying like sue so at least he has some wits about him.
Sarah-I hope emily is out tommorrow for you:fingerscrossed: Servo food is the worst but hospy food only just beats it.
BB that is very reassuring to hear that he has been moved to a rehab ward so soon. I hate every second that my grandfather is in hospital and can only imagine what you are going through.:hugs:
brodiebunch
28-08-2007, 16:07
The hard part is seeing my dad so upset.I can deal with everything else.
hello girls,
I am so glad to hear your grandad has been moved to the rehab ward thats a positive sign!
well PP seems to be really enjoying her new childcare centre.. albeit that she wont sleep but thats no big deal as long as she is happy thats the main thing!
brodiebunch
29-08-2007, 06:39
Brooke-glad PP is settling in well:thumbsup: One less worry for you.
brodiebunch
29-08-2007, 07:16
When you guys moved your bubs into there big bed how did you make the bed?I was wondering if you make it up like a cot for a newborn ie. foot to foot or just like a normal bed?Oli has been sleeping in his toddler bed for a few mths now with a doona but never got underneath,it is just that a single bed is so much bigger.
hi girls
lots of chatter in here, good to see. im so sorry sarah that its not all good for you. how scary for you and i really really hope Emily is getting better. ill be thinking of you.
jess.. nat is also looking for a bike to buy. i actually cant wait because at the moment we only have one car. and i have to get all the kids up at 5 to take him to work so i have the car to take them to school and stuff. im not a morning person at all!
Jackie.. in regards to the tummy tuck.. i think its around $5000. i havent gone for my appointment yet so i havent had a stern price on it. i want to be at my desired weight before i do any of this. so i have about 7 more kilos to go.
i think the boob job is going to cost me just abit more. maybe about $7000. it may be more depending on where u go. either way im not too worried as i will have private health insurance and the rest im going to be naughty and get a mediloan for the rest.
cant wait!
BB.. i just make indy's bed like a normal bed. for her first bed she has a v8 supercar lol so its low to the ground and very high sides. its cute. were a car loving fam so it seemed approapriate for us. although i know little girls should have little princess beds haha not in this case though. my little rev head girl. :D
and btw i hope everything is ok with your grandad and that your dad is feeling abit better.
well i best be off, and ill chat again soon.
brodiebunch
29-08-2007, 09:55
A friend just called me top tell me she had a :bfp: and the dr confirmed it.she is really happy but I think she is crazy.She has an 11mth old and her partner of 7mths has a 6mth old :eek: She said they were talking about trying at some stage but:eek: :eek: They only have the 6mth old for 3 nights a week.Imagine having 3 so close!
A friend just called me top tell me she had a :bfp: and the dr confirmed it.she is really happy but I think she is crazy.She has an 11mth old and her partner of 7mths has a 6mth old :eek: She said they were talking about trying at some stage but:eek: :eek: They only have the 6mth old for 3 nights a week.Imagine having 3 so close! That's going to be 1 busy household!
I am so surprised at how tired I am today. So exhausted that I actually went and had a sleep this afternoon(just got woken up by someone dropping something off for DH but was soooooooooo not ready to wake up yet). I must have had a shocking nights sleep although I can't remember:rolleyes:
Mummaof2
29-08-2007, 18:17
Just a quick hello from while im waiting for Derek to come over.
I had a pretty **** day at work today. I hate when clients cant sort there receipts etc out and think that keeping them in a shoe box is great record keeping. And a job that should have only taken me 2-3 hrs has already taken me 16hrs and i havent even finished it yet.
Anyways enough of my whinging hope you all had a great day and have a great evening.
hello ladies
emma sounds like it was the day from hell all round! I had one of them days as well... so glad that today is almost over and tomorrow is a new day!
well a new day is here and i hope it is much better for all.
sorry to hear u all had a bad day yesterday.
BB: wow! now that is one keen family. i bet they were surprised! glad that theyre happy about it though.
What is everyone getting partners/dads for Father's Day. i think i will get nat a mobile phone as he needs a new one, his broke a few weeks ago now.
and the kids get him little things and make stuff at school as well.
im really not sure of what else to get.
I thought i'd pop on early, i just took nat to work at 5:30. the kids are usually zombies at this time of the morning watching abit of cartoons before starting to get ready for school.
ok well talk to u all later. have a great day!
Brooke: not sure if i already told you but your avatar is gorgeous, YOU are gorgeous :)
brodiebunch
30-08-2007, 06:50
For fathers day we did arts and craft at playgroup.Oli put his footprint on a hanky and we decorate it today.I also printed out 2 new pics of O and dp and framed them.The last pic of Oli we framed was at about 5mths old.I also made DP a card.
My Grandads condition is still not great and he can no longer swallow fluids as he cant feel them in his throat.He has to have thickend fluids so that he knows how to swallow.DRs expect him to be in the rehab ward for a few mths at least and are seriously worried he will have a masive heart attack.We just have to wait and see.Anyway i am off to make biscuts for playgroup.
Funkychicken
30-08-2007, 07:04
Morning all,
BB-I know how hard it is to watch your grandfather go through something like this. Last year, we watched my grandfather go through a stroke, followed by a minor heart attack and at one point complete unconsciousness that we were told he probably wouldn't come out of.
We were preparing for the worst and when the Dr's told us he wasn't responding, I jumped in the car with the children and drove down to the hospital to see him. I was convinced he wasn't ready to go yet.
I popped Hamish into bed with him and tucked him in and Hamish grabbed Grandpa by the lip and little finger and he woke up! He looked up at me and said, "Hello love, have you brought the kid's in to see me?" It was such a beautiful moment.
He went home about a month later and the next day, Nana ended up getting an ambulance ride to hospital with massive gall stones. They had to remove her gall bladder and whilst on the table, she had a heart attack. She needed to be in the ICU for a while and grandpa had to go into a home as he couldn't look after himself. They were both so distraught at being separated, I started wondering if they would both pull through.
They both did and they are now living very comfortably in their new unit in a retirement village and doing exceptionally well.
I really hope your grandfather also recovers as well as mine did. I'll keep you and your family in my thoughts.:hugs::hugs:
oh sal, your story gave me goosies!! thats awesome, that he recovered due to miracle hamish and to the fact they are both back with eachother and happy. its nice to hear things like that.
BB.. were all waiting for your grandads recovery story also, my fingers are crossed everything will turn out just fine. :hugs:
Reidymac
30-08-2007, 13:56
:wave: Hi lovely folks, sorry I haven't been in for a while
Sarah - I hope your little chicken is past the worst of the sickness and back kicking you in the eye while rolling on the bed. I can't imagine how scared you and terry must have been seeing her like that. I hope it was only a moment of weakness that made you question taking a little on a big journey, Emily is such a lucky little girl and what an amazing experience to look back on traveling Australia with the undivided attention of your adoring mum and dad. The sickness will be long forgotten but the memories and experience of the trip never will.
Brooke - I hope everything went well with the move and best wishes to you and Paige for a wonderful new start together. You are a brave and courageous lady and i hope Scott continues to be a good friend and allay to you as you raise that beautiful little one together.
Brodie - best wishes for a speedy recovery for your grandfather and for the strength and peace to be able to cope with the journey for your whole family.
Lis - I hope you are feeling much better and life is treating you well. Pregnancy is always a big catalyst for bringing stuff to a head that might otherwise be in hand and coping with another little person always adds to the stress. best wishes.
to gorgeous Jackie and Jess, Danni, Emma and Sal, Tracy and everyone, i hope that you are all feeling happy and well.
Reidy - how are you travelling young lass? :laughing: OK rub it in.......you've got a cool new car and traveling in style and I will never be so cool. Actually i have heard that there are a few nice cars parked way, way, away from all the rest at the bottom of the Mt O shopping centre car park and might be easier to steal from there........maybe i could own a (slightly used) xtrail.;) I'm doing good! thanks for asking and thanks more for calling me a 'young lass' just days after my 35th bday, you have always been my favorite, ya know Tracey :p
emilysmumma
30-08-2007, 14:28
Reidy- you always have me in stitches laughing when I read your posts. It's just what I need.
Yesterday we left the hospital with the all clear. So 4 nights of being woken up every hour. We had a great room and we even joked it was like being in a motel, except for the interruptions all the time. But the little Miss Emily seems back to her old self, but with more attitude I think. She is being very bossy and demanding. Cute as can be still, just more vivasious (sp). They took some blood tests though and left the iv line in just in case, but it all came back good but the poor thing not only had a nasal gastric tube in, but a iv line (nothing connected though) and her hands bandaged again so she wouldn't rip it out, as well as two bandaids on her legs. She was like the walking wounded. So thankfully that is all over with.
I was fine until we put her in the car yesterday in front of the hospital and that's when I broke down. I had been really strong through everything but putting her in her car seat when the last time she was in it she was like a rag doll and just so sick did me in. So yesterday I pretty much cried on and off. Silly me but I'm glad it's all over now.
We have driven to Kunnanurra which is a bigger place and are spending a few days here at a lovely place just so Terry and I can recuperate ourselves. Plus I have a heap of towels and things that are soaking and needing to be washed that were full of vomit from Friday night, so that's pretty gross.
So I just have to do the wages for everyone that works for us, then we are going to sit around the pool and relax. It is really tropical here and it really feels like holiday mode. Especially with all the geckos running around and the sweat pouring off you.
Tonight I'm cooking a roast and I can't wait to eat it. We both hadn't been able to eat, 1 because we just were too worried about the little miss and 2, the cook at the hospital left a month ago and who ever they could get to cook did, such as the orderley. So we just basically went without. Did great for our diet though, and I think I managed to lose about 3 kilos.
BB- I hope your grandad is on the mend.
Hi to everyone else. :wave:
brodiebunch
30-08-2007, 14:39
Sarah-I am so glad that Emily is out of Hospital and back to her old self.I am very jealous about the pool I would give anything for a dip.I would also give anything for a roast.A nice peice of lamb followed by a lamington(damn pg cravings)but it would have to be the cream filled kind.Oh god I can almost smell it cooking.Enjoy your night
Reidymac
30-08-2007, 14:47
Sarah - I'm so glad you've got your girl back, :smiliedance: vivacious and bossy is a wonderful sign and i bet you wouldn't have it any other way ;)
And don't worry about having a good cry yeasterday.....after seeing your little one and your family go through all of that, you would have to be made of steal not to cry. Getting back to all of those vomit filled towels would bring a tear to the eye too.
I am soooooooo glad that you are all on the up and up and a day soaking up the sun, basking by the pool sound like a perfect way to unwind :hugs:
aww thank you dannii you are too nice... i cant say im feeling too georgous today....
Reidy thank you so much for your kind words they mean sooo much to me!
sarah- I am glad that emily is doing better.. what a relief for you and emily... you are both very brave!
well i offically had the day from hell... first the foxtel man came at 6.50am which was good cause i had a full on day planned but then he took... 3HOURS! to install the foxtel which made me late for getting my hair done.. and while we were there pp was throwing mentals left right and centre and then i was late meeting my friend at my house then i got home.. hit my head on the shelf and then picked up a cake from heidelberg that i got made for a friends bday tomorrow... AND DROPPED IT! :banghead: :banghead: So then i had to buy a different cake.. not happy jan!
and now to top it off i have a belly ache.. think it will be an early one for pp and i tonight!
Funkychicken
30-08-2007, 18:24
Deep breaths, Brooke. :hugs::hugs::hugs::kiss:
mytwolilprinces
30-08-2007, 18:53
Sarah - I am so so soooo glad that you have little Emily back to her old self. What a relief it must be!
Reidy - you never fail to make me laugh. I have also been taking note of where all the nice cars are parked just incase I need to update my vehicle when I'm up in QLD :D
Brooke - sorry to hear you had such a lousy day.... dropping the cake would have been the end of me. Oh, and are you sure the foxtel guy wasn't just taking his time so he could take in the view (of you!) :p
Danni - thanks for "quotes" - I am going to seriously look into it when I'm all done popping out babies.
Hello to Em,Sal,Tracey,Brodie,Jess,Lis (hope I haven't forgotten anyone!)
Not much to report from me. Like everyone else I seem to be having a pretty average time atm.
Blake has not left me alone for days, he is clinging onto me constantly and it's driving me nuts. He particularily gets angry when I'm on the computer - he has bruised my arm that is how hard he grabs at me to get me off. Oh and he still can't say "mum" or "mummy" he has decided he'll be more formal and call me "JACKIE":eek: it's pretty funny but not really ideal..... he constantly says "jackie,jackie, jackie" and thinks it's hilarious.
thanks sal... i have been saying deep breathes all day... any deeper and i will suffocate hehe
Jackie- sounds like blake and pp have been talking and conspiring on how to not give mummy any space.. or in your case.. jackie hehehe thats cute!
I am sooo glad that paige is finally in bed.. talk about the terriable twos!
Funkychicken
30-08-2007, 19:30
:pLOL at Brooke suffocating on her deep breath's.
LOL at Blake calling you Jackie! :laughing:
Tristan called me Sal for a long time. I always let it go and was pretty sure he would outgrow it. Darryl on the other hand used to get all 'fatherly and stern' if Tristan called him Darryl. "I'm DAD, not Darryl!":rolleyes:
Hamish hates it if I am on the computer too. I have pretty much resigned myself to the fact that I can only be here when he is asleep. It's a whole new thing for me as we didn't have a computer when the other two were little!
Well, we are ALL a bit sick at the moment. Tristan has been home all week with a chesty thing, Hamish threw up at 1am and again at dinner time tonight (all over the dinner table which really impressed Tristan and Ella-NOT!), I have also been hit with this cold and am feeling all snuffed up and drippy-nosed, Ella started coughing this morning but seems OK now and Darryl is yet to be affected.
So, there is my whinge for the day. :D
sal let it all out... feels better huh?? hehehe
I hope your family are all feeling better soon! :hugs:
Funkychicken
30-08-2007, 19:38
I've just had a bath with some hot oils to help my cold but I ran out of hot water too early and had to get out after 10 mins.:crying: *sniff sniff*
On the upside, this is a great excuse to sit quietly and practice my new hobby-knitting! :smiliedance:
sal that is my pet hate... RUNNING OUT OF HOT WATER! I love hot showers... even in summer! :o
Funkychicken
30-08-2007, 19:52
Last week, I ran the bath and then went over to my shed to mix up a new blend of oils and when I came back, it had run out AND the water that was in the bath was cold! I didn't even get to start my bath. :(
Funkychicken
30-08-2007, 19:55
OK, off to bed with my book before my nose starts dripping on the keyboard.:p
Thanks for the chat, Brooke. Take care of yourself and all the best as you adjust to your new life. :hugs:
brodiebunch
31-08-2007, 07:10
Brooke-I hope you have a much better day today:hugs:
Jackie-We have just gone through a stage where I have been brodie for a few weeks.I think cause we live with the BIL he hears it alot.I am mum again now.
Sal-I hope you guys get btter soon.
Well I have a busy one today.My friend who is pg is coming over for help with her little one as she started bleeding yesterday and has to take it easy.Mil is coming tonight so I also had better do some house work.And ever scince sarah mentioned cooking a roast I dont want anything but lamb.So I am off to the butchers.Last night I felt like that woman in the frozen potato add,I kept waking up wanting a roast right then.....my dp would never get up and cook me tatoes:laughing:
Oliver has been sent to try me this week.He has been throwing the biggest tanties on the floor,kicking,hitting pinching and spitting water on me:mad: He does it deliberatley which is worse and thinks its funny.He was an absolute horror at playgroup yesterday so we left.If you tell him no or pay any attention at all to him he gets about 10 times worse.It is sooo frustrating and it is all day with no break.He has a new saying today....I got it and he ha slearnt to blow bubbles with a bubble blower and blow his food when it is hot.Anyway I had best get going.
Mummaof2
31-08-2007, 07:59
Morning girls...
Sorry I havnt posted for a few days I have been popping in and reading your posts though so i dont get too far behind.
Work has just been so hectic this week and stressful that I just havnt had the energy to post anything. Coop had me awake most the night last night. He just kept crying and screaming most of the night and had slight fever. I thought it was just him teething but even after a dose of nurofen he was still upset. I tried cuddling him, putting him into bed with me but nothing would settle him and then just as I was enjoying a bit of sleep the alarm goes off at 6:15am to get up and get Steph ready by 7am as her school holds a fathers day breakfast every year before school starts and her dad was picking her up at 7. Cooper seemed ok this morning except for a bit of a runny nose so I sent him to preshool and came to work early to try get what i need done today no matter what in case i get a call to pick him up and with the way im feeling i hope i do get that phone call.
On that note i better go do the work and i will post again later.
emilysmumma
31-08-2007, 08:48
I wish we had roast lamb Brodie. We had pork and it didn't turn out too great. We thought we would treat ourselves due to our diet, but thankfully it wasn't that nice so we won't be tempted again.
Good luck with the dreaded MIL visiting tonight Brodie.
Brooke you poor thing. I would of completley lost it with the cake icident after what had happened all day for you. Sometimes it is best just to hide your head for the night and start afresh the next day.
Sal, whinge away. God knows I do. I'm sure the looks on Ella and Tristan's face were priceless after Hamish's little gift on the table. Hopefully you all are better soon.
We had a nice afternoon yesterday. The pool was freezing though. It's only started to get hot here the last few weeks so it hasn't had time to warm up yet. You could say it was very invigorating! Emily had two swims as she started slowing down and just cuddling in the pool after about 10 minutes the first time. But other than that she seems just about fine.
We were suspose to leave today but I nixed that idea as I really want to relax and do nothing all day, plus some retail therapy at Target Country may be in order :laughing:
Funkychicken
31-08-2007, 08:54
So happy to hear Emily is on the mend. :thumbsup:
We are having Tristan's birthday party tomorrow and for the first time in 9 years, I am NOT doing a "party" with all his classmates.
We gave him a choice as to what activity he wants to do and he could invite two friends along. So, we are going ten pin bowling followed by dinner across the road from the centre at La Porchetta. I can't believe how free I feel, not having to plan a whole party!
I do have to make a cake though and plan some little gift bags for the children-all 4 of them including ours! :smiliedance:-, but it all just seems so easy.
emilysmumma
31-08-2007, 08:58
That sounds like a very sensible thing to do Sal. :yes:
Just letting you know I haven't run away. I'll jump on later and try and read through all your posts.
Will stayed overnight at DH's parents last night! We were there for DH's birthday, and Will fell asleep. So we decided to try him out there for the night. I slept deeply for 8hrs in a row! And didn't get up till 9am :smiliedance: I am a new woman today! Of course, while there, he slept for 7.5hrs straight - typical huh?
But he didn't even look funny at them when he woke and found DH or I weren't there. He was fine and just went on playing as he would any other morning.
Anyway, Will's home now - MIL dropped him off at 10am, but he was asleep when she brought him in and he's still asleep :eek: Wowsers!
So, enough from me. Catch you all later when I can reply to all of your posts!
brodiebunch
31-08-2007, 12:05
Lis-That sounds like a babysitter that needs to be used more often;) .Glad you had a good nights sleep.
mytwolilprinces
31-08-2007, 16:05
Hello gorgeous girls,
I just got back from my appointment with the FS, we went over my results and he seems to think that I can probably still fall pg (and stay that way) on my own but he offered Clomid to me and after going through the risks (reasonably high risk of twins) I declined because I really couldn't handle twins at this stage in my life. Maybe if I don't fall pg after another year I might be desperate enough to entertain the possibility of twins but at the moment not a chance!
So it's back to the bedroom - he suggested just "going for it" (yep, those were his words :laughing: ) every 2nd night :eek: and forget about timing it because my cycle is all over the place....
Ok, enough about me....
Sal - sorry to hear you and your family are not well. Hope you all feel a bit better now.
Hi to everyone else. I've got to run and get the boys dinner!
emilysmumma
31-08-2007, 16:21
I loved the doc's technical and scinitific (sp) term there Jackie :laughing: But hey good news though. You better get cracking. I'm sure your DH will like the doctors orders too.
Lis- that is great that Will slept like that, and you too.
We all just had 2 hours sleep and Emily nearly 3 hours this afternoon. We all just crashed. We went to Lake Arygle and the Ord River Dam this morning.
I get called mummy, mumma and mum. That's hilarous getting called by your first name. It was Emily's first word actually which was great because it meant that not only did she say it months before Dad, it meant that I won the bet with DH on who's name she would say first. :cool:
Now it's time to do some shopping
brodiebunch
31-08-2007, 18:34
My friend visited today.The crazy pg one.She has had a m/c at approx 7-8wks.We had a good day and the boys got on well.Oliver was nice to her son nathaniel for the 1st time ever,he even shared and said his name all day....naniel.It was so cute.It was actually quite restful even though I was watching both boys so his mum could rest and doing house work.MIL is due real soon so I might go to bed and read,DP has left me to them and gone to the football:mad:
Evening ladies
Just a quickie from me (Jackie - you will be getting into those too I'm thinking :p ).......
No seriously, I have my parents visiting us this weekend, so not much time to cruise the hub.
Sarah - so glad Emily is back to her old self. I have been thinking about you guys hoping all is ok. As Reidy said, you will look back on this holiday & say the likes of - 'oh yeh, remember that's when Emily got really sick'. You have had such a fantastic adventure as a young family, and in hindsight, all is well, so never regret taking such a journey. Knowing you, you've probably also been through the notion of wanting to never go out in public with the little munchkin again, and keep her away from all the other kidlets for fear of contracting awful virused again......I know the feeling too well myself, as I'm sure every mum goes through this process of thinking when our little ones fall ill. Never fear, when you return we can hang out together :yes: .
Looks like most of us are having some issue or another atm, so a general 'hope everyone gets through their respective rough patches' is in order.
Finally our little clan is getting rid of this cold from hell.......bout time, it's only been 2 & a half weeks :banghead: .
Hope everyone enjoys their weekend & fathers day. I'm starting mine with a massage tomorrow morning, followed by some retail therapy with my mum while DH takes Ryan to the boat show in Brissy with my dad. DH is so thoughtful at times, he offered to take Ryan so I could have some uninterrupted time with my mum and his words 'go shopping & try clothes on and stuff' - you know the things you just can't do with a toddler in tow all the time! Then we are having a bit of a fathers day bbq in the afternoon as I will be working on Sunday. Anyways, enough jibber from me........ oh and Reidy you are so cheeky!
hello gorls
Just back from after work drinks with my friends... I left my car in the garage at work so i will have to walk there tomorrow morning when they open to pick it up.. see how that goes hahahaha could be interesting!
We have a birthday party tomorrow after noon at wiggle worms and then i am ment to being going out for dinner with some friends... so should be a good night!
anyway time for me to get out of these work clothes and have a shower... have a great night everyone!
emilysmumma
01-09-2007, 08:17
Morning All
That sounds like a nice day Tracey. How sweet of your DH.
We are heading off soon towards Katherine. So we will be in the NT soon. I really like it there as it really gets back to basics.
Everyone enjoy father's day tomorrow.
I will catch up when I can as there is no internet range till we get to Katherine which will take us a few days. We need to be in Darwin by the 10th.
Also my mum is flying up on the 28th to spend 10 days with us in Darwin when we get back from Bali, as she misses us but mainly Emily and with the sickness scare it made her more determine to see us before December.
So we are really looking forward to that.
take care everyone. :wave:
Afternoon all,
Sarah - Glad to hear Emily is A-OK again. I forgot you were going to Bali - Hope you have fun!
Brooke - How long does it take to walk to your work? Hope it's not too long.
We went to a 2nd birthday party today. They played pass the parcel and had a pinyata. Caydence had a ball and DH let her eat lots of lollies - spoilt little girl!
I've been thinking a lot lately about how much further I would like to extend our family, and the more I think about it, the more I want a big family - a very big family. I just don't know how to bring it up with DH as he's so set on just 2. Might try and chat to him this afternoon about it.
We're off to Riverfire tonight, I just hope it isn't too cold!
Happy Fathers Day to all the daddies out there - I hope they all have a marvellous day.:party:
Funkychicken
01-09-2007, 19:58
Just dropping by to wish all the families a wonderful day tomorrow and I hope all the daddies get thoroughly spoiled by their princes and princesses.
Reidymac
01-09-2007, 21:37
Happy fathers day to the daddies! hope all the families have a lovely day!
And a huge big happy birthday to Tristan, Hope the bowling night was a winner and that you all had a great time.
Our local Primary school has a Spring Carnival which we go along to every year and enjoyed today. L and G were beside themselves having so much fun patting baby animals and going on all the rides and things. The school always end the night with a huge fireworks display so, even though I couldn't brave the crowds at riverfire tonight, I did get to see fireworks and just as they finished the F1-11 came overhead at the tail of it's dump and burn, LOL. pretty awesome for a primary school shin-dig.
Only problem was, it took me almost an hour to waddle the hilly 1km back to our house with the 2 kids in the pram and I think I am going to be a wreck for the rest of the week. Oh well.........
Happy fathers day too all the daddies... I hope you all got very spoilt!
Jess It only took me 15mins to walk in and get my car... and it was such a nice day yesterday.. welcome to spring! :smiliedance:
Reidy- That sounds like one cool carnival at the school! Are you still working????
Sal- I have tristan has a fab birthday!
we had a 2nd birthday party yesterday too... Paige had a ball! she loved every minute of it.. eating all the party food... singing happy birthday and playing in the massive ball pit!
she has turned into a real charmer at the moment.. we went up to my local shopping centre which is very snobby upper class cause i needed some new make up and while i was there she was smooching the sales assistant and then went around waving at all the ladies and the old people in the store!! I could have died from embarrassment but they all LOVED her! They were like... "Bring her in again to say hi.. she is so beautiful" That was right after she had grabbed a tissue and started wiping down all the glass cabinets in the store! :o :laughing:
brodiebunch
02-09-2007, 10:34
Hi all:D .I am finally getting my lamb roast for lunch:smiliedance: MIL has left the building:yelclap: Hope it is as nice a day for you all as it is here.The sun is just perfect not to hot but warm enough for Oli to get around in a nappy.
Reidymac
02-09-2007, 14:22
Reidy- That sounds like one cool carnival at the school! Are you still working????
:laughing: YES, you could call it that.........actually I am working very hard because I feel guilty about starting the job and the pregnancy at the same time and I have some misguided sense of responsibility to make it up to them. They have been very kind and are offering me full maternity leave rights even though I won't have been there for a year. I try to keep it to 3 days a week (which is exhausting) but inevitably on weeks like this one I end up having to do 5 days and very full on ones at that. I am hoping to stick it out until the end of November and recruit and train the new person.......but some days it's all that I can do to get up in the morning and I am still permanently attached to a bucket. I keep telling myself only 12 more weeks :fingerscrossed:
Brooke- Paige sounds like the sweetest little thing. They do say that children increase you circle of friends and break down all the social barriers in a new neighborhood. Sounds like she is a very happy girl and surviving the changes well. Big hugs to you both ((((((hugs))))))
Brodie - glad to hear you are MIL free for another little while. (and that your getting that much awaited lamb roast). My MIL decided the nicest way for my DH to spend fathers day with his dad would be.......without me and the kids around :rolleyes: Poor DH has been summonsed to the palace on the hill to be a good son and leave the evil temptress and her devil spawn behind for a nice day of BBQ and a little brain washing on the side. :p Don't ya just love MIL's.
brodiebunch
02-09-2007, 17:12
We just brought Oli's suit for the wedding.He looks so cute in his penguin colours and pink tye.He will steal the show.We also got his really nice black leather shoes to go with it.Obs appointment tommorrow morn(omg almost 23 wks only 15 left:eek: :eek: ) so will be missing most of the day.Good night.
brodiebunch
02-09-2007, 17:15
Oh yeah.....Oli had his first night in his big boy bed last night.He has been really good and still doesnt get out untill we ask him if he is ready.Hopefully it continues.
Funkychicken
02-09-2007, 18:28
Reidy, you deal with the people from that palace on the hill so well. I have so much admiration for the way you handle these situations.
Brooke, it certainly sounds like PP is settling in well!
Brodie, good luck at your OB appointment and I'm looking forward to a photo of your baby penguin all dressed up. What a big boy-going into a bed!
Well we had a great birthday celebration for Tristan yesterday. We met up with his two frineds at the bowling alley-which took me about 1/2 an hour to adjust to! Sensory overload in those places! :eek: Bright flashing lights and really tacky music but the children didn't notice.
They had a ball, and I played a game too which was fun but it took me until my 2nd last game to realize that the ball I had been using was too heavy and the next size down was so much easier. :rolleyes:
Then off to La Porchettas for pizza and cake (I made a bowling alley themed cake) and lemonade and then home with three sleeping children in the back seat.
Tristan woke when we got home so Darryl took him to "work" with him for the night. He had foal watch duty and our first foal arrived at 1am, which Darryl woke Tristan up to watch happen. As much as he gushed about it this morning, Darryl said he dry reached the entire time-:p. It has been about two years since they saw one born and Tristan has grown a lot in that time.
Quiet day today as I still feel icky with this cold and my chest is really sore now, but the two big ones and I managed to do a big brekky in bed for Darryl.
Alright, enough rambling from me. :wave:
:banghead: little cutie you will have to show us some pics for sure!
Sal im so glad the party went well!
well i just waited 3HOURS at the local medical centre to get seen.. its the only time i can go when im not working and dont have Paige all for some cream for my excema that wont go away and a new pill perscription! AND then to top it off... i scraped the WHOLE side of my car on my STUPID tiny garage that is sooo impossiable to get into its not funny! My mum tried the other day 6 times and couldnt get it in and my neighbour said that the old person who lived here before had trouble too... NOT happy... thats exactly what i didnt need... forking out more money for an excess and a loan car... welcome to the week from hell! :banghead:
Funkychicken
02-09-2007, 19:50
Oh, no Brooke! Do you have to pay the usual excess?
Yeah sal i sure do... no fair!.......
Funkychicken
03-09-2007, 06:18
Yeah sal i sure do... no fair!.......
Bummer. I thought you may get extra 'perks' in your job. That really is unfair. :thumbsdown:
brodiebunch
03-09-2007, 06:25
morning....Brooke:kiss: :hugs: :hugs: I hope this is a better week for you.
Sal that sounds like a fun party :party: .
be back later this arvo.
Brooke - :hugs: I hope the week gets better for you. I hate little car parks - I avoid them at all costs!
Reidy - the fete sounds fantastic. We keep missing them all, DH & I are quite fond of a good school fete. I hope you got a nice foot rub when you got home from that walk - I don't think I'd make it up your street with 1 child in the pram, let alone 2 and being pregnant - you are super woman!
Sal - Sounds like a wonderful party for Tristan & how lovely for him to be there for the birthing of the foul. What a lucky boy.
We had a lovely family picnic yesterday with 5 out of 7 of mums step siblings plus 1 out of 2 of mums sisters there all with kids in tow, it was great. I have 2 younger cousins(3 & 5) who just adore Caydence and loved playing with her. Then I made DH lasagne and self saucing chocolate pudding with whipped cream for dinner - all from scratch:chef: it was very yummy indeed and there is still 1/2 of the pudding left which I am contemplating getting stuck into while DH is out:devil6: .
Funkychicken
03-09-2007, 19:01
Go on Jess, eat the pudding!
:laughing: We had pudding for dessert tonight too-Tristan got to 'choose' dinner and dessert as today is his actual birthday. :chef:
emilysmumma
03-09-2007, 19:24
happybirthday to Tristan. What a brave boy seeing a foal being born. I always wanted to be a vet until I saw a calf being born on our friend's farm around the same age as Tristan. It required an arm all the way up to the armpit and chains. I quickly changed my mind after experiencing that.
I hope the lamb roast was good BB and worth waiting for. I wonder what I can entice you with this time. I just had grilled barramundi, prawns and calarmari with salad if that tickles your fancy.
Brooke- just remember tomorrow is another new day and try not to let today reflect the rest of your week. BTW that princess of yours is sounding just too adorable. Did she manage to get you a discount with all that schmoozing?
Reidy- those people in the palace on the hill need a good talking to from us dec mummies. How can they be so mean? And wowsers walking back from the school fete. Just getting up your front steps is a mean feat.
Well we are in Darwin. Yesterday we spent the night at some hot springs and they were HOT! It was amazing, 60 degrees. Thankfully the river forked and cold water flowed down to mix with it, so we sat and frolic for a couple of hours out of the heat, or in it.
So we got here a week earlier than expected but thats good as it's been nearly 40 degrees and we need air con to cope in the van. So we are at a caravan park cranking the air con just so we can survive. Today in Darwin it was about 32, but yesterday at the hot springs it was 38 degrees.
I love being out bush, but thank god for civilisation.
brodiebunch
04-09-2007, 06:28
Sarah-This time you cant tempt me.The 1st sign both times I have been pg has been a strong urge to :barf: if I see,smell and sometimes think about seafood.Salad would be alright.
Obs appointment went well yesterday:D .Still have the same issues as before and have only put on another 1kg in the last 4wks but bub is growing beautifully,and has a good heart beat:yelclap: .I feel like I had put more on but it is all fluid.The Obs is not weighing me anymore as everything with bub is fine and it is just an added pg stress that obviously means nothing with me.I go back in 6wks not 4 cause of the long weekend and the wedding but have to see gp twice in that time.The next trip is the glucose test.
I have a house to go through this morning so please keep your :fingerscrossed: for us.Anyway I have to run if I am going to make the inspection.
mytwolilprinces
04-09-2007, 19:08
Hey Girls,
I've been reading but haven't had much time to post. Had a pretty hectic day today... some of you may have seen my thread about meningoccocal at Joshy's preschool :eek: all very scary but we have been assured that the risks of it spreading are very small!
The little boy is in hospital but is stable ... as soon as I was called this morning I was worrying and thinking about how his parents must be feeling. Imagine being told your child has meningococcal :(
Better go, need to desperately catch some :sleeping: hope you are all well
Jackie- :eek: How scary! I hope that little boy will be ok! there seems to be a lot of it going around at the moment!
Sarah- I love seafood... I just had my parents and brother over for dinner and i cooked them red snapper... yummy!
well i think its an early night for me tonight!
Reidymac
04-09-2007, 20:54
:wave: hello lovely peoples
Jackie - I am so glad to hear that everything worked out OK for Joshy and hope the little boy at his kindy makes a fast recovery. Gosh that would have been scary. I have been dreading inevitable the first plague of kindy communal head lice, I didn't even
think about serious things like Menengicocal (sp?) being spread by the kindy community.
Brodie - Glad to hear that things are going well with you too. Good advice to stop weighing yourself, otherwise it's just one more thing to worry about. I haven't ever gained any weight in pregnancy (just stayed static or lost some) and my children have always been a healthy weight. it just takes a toll on you is all.
I am feeling a little daring (or is that delirious) tonight and I thought I might break one of my own cardinal rules ................this is me (http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1117/1320747914_bbe25c0803_o.jpg)in my 26 weeks, 3rd baby .... what do you mean you used to have stomach muscles, gigantic glory. I feel huge and cant believe I have gone from "kinda showing" to THIS in a matter of 8ish or so weeks. And remember this massiveness was all grown without keeping down a single meal in 26 weeks :rolleyes: So never fear Brodie.....babies continue to grow well no mater how much nutrients is coming through the host......ooops, I mean mother..
Sarah, so glad that you are in Darwin and safe if not a little too warm. Hope you have a great time before your trip to bali.
Hello to all, hope you are doing well:wave:
brodiebunch
05-09-2007, 06:30
Feeling a bit sad this morning:( .Tomorrow Dp and Oli are going to melbourne untill sunday.Dp's grandad is on his way out and wants to see Oliver and Tim.It will be the longest I have been without my little man.I know it seems silly because he is with DP.
emilysmumma
05-09-2007, 07:31
Oh BB I wouldn't be able to stand being apart even if they are in the hands of the next best thing from you. But I'm sure they will be fine and imagine all the kisses and cuddles when they return.
Wow Reidy, a photo of you! Just one complaint. Your head is missing :laughing:
Jackie I had heard it on the news but didn't know it was your kindy. I would of been frightened to death and that poor boy and his parents. Those kind of scares take it out of you so rest up.
I'm not normally a seafood person either, just fish occasionally. I like to see-food and eat it though ;)
Have a good day everyone.
emilysmumma
05-09-2007, 12:39
Where is everyone??????????????
I'm here Sarah, although only briefly. I got a few books out from the library today and have already got stuck into the one about dreams. I have been having a lot of full on dreams lately and usually end up waking more exhausted than when I went to sleep.
Reidy - That is a wonderful looking tummy! As Sarah pointed out - you seem to be missing a head:p
BB - I'd be feeling down too. We've had sleep overs at my parents place(maybe 3 times total) but I couldn't imagine being apart for a few days. :hugs: Try to make the most of it - perhaps it will give you a chance to get through the rest of Harry Potter.
:hugs: Jackie. I am glad Josh is ok and wish a speedy recovery to his ill classmate. What a scary experience for you - I hope that you are coping well - I know I'd be freaking out.
Nothing particularly interesting going on in my world atm, just reading lots, better break out my glasses at this rate or I'll end up with headaches again:shame:
emilysmumma
05-09-2007, 13:19
I saw you around Jess and hoped you'd pop your head in. I just finished reading the book Emily got DH for father's day, lol.
I too should be going and seeing if this little one will have a snooze.
mytwolilprinces
05-09-2007, 15:00
Hey Ladies,
Reidy - what a beautiful tummy you have there - I wouldn't say that you are huge at all - but like the other girls said.... where's your head? I think you'll have to post another without chopping off your noggin!
Well, I took Josh to preschool this morning and it was mysteriously empty! It seems that the parents are now all paranoid that the disease can somehow be caught from the furniture :laughing: silly people, I have done a load of internet research and know that Josh is perfectly safe attending preschool and the bacteria that causes it does not survive outside the human body and it's actually really hard to catch!
Better go as I have to go and pick him up now from the deserted preschool ... I'll be back later to read the posts properly
Mummaof2
05-09-2007, 15:02
:wave: everyone
Well I finally have some time to post.
What a week from hell I had last week (this week hasnt been much better) each day just got worse and by time friday came I was counting down the hours till 5pm and went straight home and had a nice large glass of port & coke.
My weekend was really good...i met a friend for coffee saturday morning after i dropped Coop to his dad, then did some retail therapy, then went and watched my nephew play his finals for footy to get into the grand final and almost lost my voice from yelling so much. Then saturday night Derek and I went out for dinner with my usual gang. He said he was very nervous when we first got there but ended up having a good night and i ended up very tipsy well maybe thats an understatement. I woke up fine on sunday though and spent the day with my dad and had lunch with him.
I had a bit of a "Oh no not again crisis" at the beginning of the week. I had spoken to Derek Sunday arvo and invited him over for a roast dinner and he said he would call me back after he dropped his DD back to her mums and see how he felt (usually his gives me an answer straight away) he didnt sound like his usual self but thought he was just annoyed cause he had misplace his mobile which is also for work. Anyway I didnt hear back from him and when he hadnt rang or showed up by 8:30pm i just assumed he fell asleep on the lounge even though i had tried calling and there was no answer. Come Monday I rang him at lunch time no answer......i had to go and see my sister monday arvo so called round to his place and both his car and his work van were there but no one answered the door by this time so many silly things were going through my head anyway I finally heard from him at 3pm yesterday afternoon. He still hadnt found his mobile and his home phone was and still is playing up and here I was thinking he was ignoring me or trying to tell me he didnt want to see me anymore. Anyway its all good now its just annoying that I cant ring him and he cant ring me unless he goes out in the freezing cold to a public phone like he did at 9:30pm last night.
ETA: The most embarrassing thing happened to me saturday night. When we first got to our destination I went to introduce Derek to my friends husband and almost called him David (my ex). I was so embarrassed and was stressing about it all night but he said it was an honest mistake and it didnt bother him.
Mummaof2
05-09-2007, 15:05
I will try and get back later and individually post replies to everyones posts
Funkychicken
05-09-2007, 20:16
Reidy, how lovely to share a pic with us! And I have to agree wit the other girls-you seem to have lopped off your head!:D Looking beautiful by the way.
Sarah, it sounds warm in your world right now. I need some warmth to try and kick this cold-it is the biggest hanger-on cold I have ever had I think! Each morning when I wake, there is a new symptom presenting. Today was blinding headache and I finally caved tonight and went out and bought some panadol-a really big deal for me as I just don't take anything as a rule. So at least now I can type without feeling like my head will explode.
Jess, it sounds like you are doing exactly what you need right now. Not a lot and a lot of reading.:thumbsup:
Jacqui-what a frightening experience for you!
I have more to add to you all bu t Ella is awake again with an ear infection, so best go.
Hi gals. I'm still here :wave: Just been so flat out, nutso.
I've had a flick through the last however many pages and so much has been happening. Sounds like lots of sicknesses and changes in people's lives. Amazing how it all happens at once huh?
I have to say, Reidy that's a lovely belly you have there.
My belly is growing and I now feel pregnant, sometimes. The rest of the time my head is otherwise engaged and I forget. But that little bulge is just starting to make itself felt when I lean over Will's cot or sit at the pc.
Anyway, I'm having dinner atm, yes, very late I know. Then have to finish cleaning up the kitchen, and then DH and I are going to play online for a bit. So I'll catch you all soon! Hopefully tomorrow if I can steal some time away :)
Take care everyone :kiss:
Reidymac
05-09-2007, 20:54
Hey Funky chick, sorry to hear that you are feeling so lousy with the cold. I hope that panadol does the trick and knocks the illness on the head.....or at least gives you a good nights sleep. All the best to Ella too.
Jess - glad to see you are taking some time out with a good book. hope those nasty dreams disappear soon.
Brodie - sorry to hear about your boys leaving you for a few days. maybe it will be a good chance for a big rest and a bit of last minute pre wedding pampering.
and on another note....
Now, now you lot, Don't tease me :shame: If you know me at all you will know that I am a shy and reclusive girl who is NEVER seen in such tight fitting or flesh revealing clothing........that was truly a laps of mind to allow such a sordid photograph to be taken in the first place, in an undershirt no less :eek: let alone parading myself on the internet like some kind of brazen hussy! :o You didn't really think I was going to include a head too? You must know me better than that??? I can only attribute this laps of judgment as terminal pregmentia and a slightly pushy DH who has decided to record the growing of the bump for posterity and who seems all pleased with himself and the (limited) part he played in creating the bump in the first place. :rolleyes: Besides....surely you recognize me by the mop of frizzy hair and the pale almost off blue skin pallor..........just imagine some dark circles under some very tired eyes and hey-presto Reidymac ;-)
ETA: Hi lis, it's so nice to see you around. hope you are doing well! cant wait to hear more about what youv've been up to
emilysmumma
05-09-2007, 20:54
I'd been wondering where you've been Lis.
Sal- I wish a quick or make that a quicker recovery for you and for Ella's ear infection. They hurt very much and I feel for her.
It is warm and I love it. Thankfully it's not the wet season here as there would be no way we could of walked two hours today outside reading about the history of Darwin and WW2. We have been here previously when it's so hot that you sweat in the cold shower and as soon as you step out of the shower you need to jump back in as you are all hot and sweaty again. The only thing with the dry season as you miss out on the amazing storms which we love.
Emma- bummer of a week but at least your w/end went ok. How did Cooper go with his dad? How did you go with him being with his dad?
Jackie- at least Josh would of gotten a lot of the teachers attention today. :laughing:
Just going to do a quick browse of the hub and am going to watch a will and grace dvd while DH watches some air crash investigation. For some reason it always seems those shows come on just around the time we are going to get on a plane and it freaks me out so I shall choose to ignore it.
night all.
emilysmumma
05-09-2007, 20:58
Yes Reidy, of course it would be too much to expect a head shot of you. You are very brave and I commend you for the photo you posted.
Ok, a bit tounge in cheek there but I understand how you are....you brazen hussy you. A undershirt!!!!!!!!!!!
Reidymac
05-09-2007, 21:25
A little more respect for your elders please Miss Sarah ;) It's not like I would EVER tease any of you :p
Will and Grace is always a highly recommended option :thumbsup: I remember reading a book called "cleared for take off" on a 16 hour flight to london........(more or less the book version of Air crash investigation) which was all about the age of fleets of planes and how unlikely you were to survive yadda, yadda, yadda. When I realized what I was reading I riffled through my bag for my other book of short stories and ended up reading Steven kings "the legionairs" which was all about a plane that disappears through a time space continuum and the world starts to dissappear...........I have since put a lot more thought into what books i throw in my bag to amuse during long flights.
I hope that you enjoy your mums visit while you are in darwin........when do you actually leave for Bali?
Reidy you look great.. Im with the others... I want to see a head shot!
Jackie how did Josh go at his deserted school?????
well thank god its my day off... Im so over this week again.. hahaha we are off to the dentist this morning and then meeting a friend later! Wish me luck at the dentist!
emilysmumma
06-09-2007, 08:25
Enjoy your day off Brooke. Not that a visit to the dentist is enjoyable. Good luck with sammy sucker and the annoying q's your supose to answer with fingers and a scraping tool in your mouth.
I was up till 3 watching will and grace and have a huge headache now from it and only 4 1/2 hours sleep. My own self infliction so no sympathy please :p
Emily pointed to her nappy this morning and said 'pooey'. And it was, albeit a tiny little ball smaller than a marble of poo, but it was still poo. :yelclap: Usually you know when she is doing a big one as she stands still, shakes her head and says no over and over. Why she does this and why it started is beyond me, so this is a big step for her in not being upset by the whole process.
It still amazes me that I can talk about poo in so many different ways and not go 'ooohhh'
Just another thing to throw into the works. My AF is nearly 2 weeks late and I've had 2 negative preg tests. :confused: I have no idea what is going on there but I'm being a incredible cranky pants which usually means it's on it's way, but no feeling of it whatsoever. Poor DH doesn't know which way to turn with me atm, he can't say or do anything right. Oh well, keeps him on his toes. :laughing:
Oooh Sarah - I hope it turns out the way you want! I love Will & Grace - the '5 straight with will & grace' used to be a favorite of mine back in the foxtel times, can't wait to get foxtel again although it may be some time.
Lis - Great to see you in here - you were the inspiration for 1 of my library book choices yesterday - a book on reiki. I saw it and you'd mentioned it a few times so thought I'd get it out and find out more about it.
Brooke - I hope the dentist wasn't too mean to you. I hope your day off is relaxing - you deserve it.
Emma - I hope that this week has been better than last week.
I'm pretty exhausted today, I don't seem to be sleeping properly atm. Hope I can get some more sleep over the next few days.
hey girls!
Sarah- hmmm how exciting.. maybe baby #2 on the way???? hehehe
I love will and grace..... its my favourite show ever! Actually it kinda reminds me of the disfunctional relationship i have with my male best friend! hehehe
Jess- sit back relax and have your hubby look after you.. you deserve it!
Well the dentist went well.. he said i have GREAT teeth with no decay or cavities to speak off! I was in big shock seeing as i am the biggest sweet tooth ever and havent been to the dentist in 19years! He said I must have the best tooth brushing routine.... the only thing i need him to do its fix my ugly chip on my front tooth that has been there since i was 10 and i have a referral to the orthadontist to see about my "drunk" front tooth (i call it drunk cause it sits back further than the rest)
Hello everyone!
Think I'm going through one of those emotional pregnancy stages where all I can think about is the future :rolleyes: . at the forefront of my thoughts is the whole baby growing up thing and the challenges that kids face these days. Especially the drug side of things. Please tell me I am not alone in this way of thinking. I know it's a long way off, but I guess my thoughts are being fuelled by those drug adds on tv at the moment where the little kid voice overs are saying things like 'when I grow up I want to be a fireman' & the young kids who is the footy player & ends up in a body bag. I just look at Ryan some days and want to bottle him up forever just as he is & I find myself wondering at what point will he not need me to hug him for reassurance etc. I've always been one to be a bit of an overthinker, but this is driving me nuts :o .
Tracey i dont think there is any such thing as over thinking when it comes to kids and drugs but i think at the end of the day as long as we keep ourselves and our children well educated on the dangers of drugs and have a trustful relationship with them then thats the best advise and education you can give them and yourself! I have NEVER tried drugs before so i hope Paige will never do it either but i was always well aware that my friends and others around me where doing it. I just always have the self confidence to say NO!
Mummaof2
06-09-2007, 12:05
Sarah - This weekend just gone was Coops 2nd time at his dad's overnight and surprisingly i was ok. Of course I missed him to bits but I know that he needs his time with his dad and Im not going to interrupt that by being an overprotective mum and ringing every few hours to make sure he is ok. But i was a bit peeved that he dropped Coop back 1hr later then he is meant to. Oh and he must think i am so stupid....he has been bringing his new fling with him and obviously trying to get to Maccas (our meeting place) before me so she can go inside and hide so i dont know. Well i caught him out both when he picked Coop up and when he dropped him off on the weekend..i thought it was quiet hilarious. He is probably only hiding her cause he has more than likely told her a whole heap of lies why we broke up and doesnt want her finding out the truth.
Coop is also at the stage at the moment where he comes up to me taps his bottom and says poo so i try to get him to let me take his nappy off and put him on the toilet but he looks at me with his frown and says 'no mummy close door' and pushes me out of the toilet and closes the door on me. He has been such a cuddly boy lately and I think by me giving the gym a miss the last few weeks and spending quality time with both Coop & Steph of an evening has really helped them be more calm and not fight so much with each other. Although when they have both been away for the weekend when they get home on the sunday afternoon they fight for my attention.
Mummaof2
06-09-2007, 12:20
Tracey - I too have had my concerns about how Im going to speak to Steph & Coop about the drug issues when they are older. Everytime i see those adds I cringe especially the one about Ice and wonder why my parents never spoke to me or my siblings about drugs when we were growing up.
A few people have said to me that even if you sit down and speak to your children about the harm drugs can cause they are still more then likely going to experiment anyway...which is probably true but I still want my kids to know exaclty the kind of harm drugs can do to you especially when you dont know what ingredients are in them and just pray that they dont decide to still experiment.
I started experimenting when I was 14 but was lucky that i realised when enough was enough but I have seen what affects just smoking dope has had on my brother and it terrifies me that my kids may end up down that same path if they are not educated about it correctly.
Drug & Alcohol education should become part of the high school curriculum. They are taught about safe sex and the harm cigarette smoking does to you why aren'y that educated about the harm drugs and alcohol do. I remember when i was in high school they held a big seminar once a year regarding drugs but it wasnt mandatory to go to and those that did go just thought it was a huge joke.
I could go on forever with this topic but will leave it at that. Hopefully we can raise our children to be anti-drug and start to make a better place for our kids to grow up in.
Emma- we had drug and alchol education at my school. I always took that kinda thing very seriously. My Parents also always talked to us about drugs and alchol. They still do. So I think it helped me a lot. Not so much my middle brother but myself and my youngest brother for sure!
Jess - glad to hear I'm inspiring someone at the moment. I feel quite uninspired myself. Am pumping the audiobooks out of our stereo at home at the moment to surround myself with stuff other than "aaaaaaaahhhh", "doh-doh" (playdoh), and "muuuuuumm".
Girls - I totally understand that you'd be scared of the drugs out there. But it's the kind of fear campaigning that's out there at the moment that doesn't serve anyone. Yes, they are to be respected and some of them to be feared, but the best way to approach it is to get as much info as possible (physiological as well as experiential), and remove as many aspects of it that are unknown to you so as to remove the fear. If our kids feel we are fearful about anything they won't feel confident and secure in talking to us about it. They need to get a sense of security in knowing we are there as a guide and support and, even if we don't know everything, are able to join them in the learning process without fear or prejudice. IMO, the way to deal with illicit drugs is no different to cigarettes and alcohol, as they are all in the same pile to me with regard to effects etc (of course, each has a different effect on the body, but they all provide an altered state).
I'm not scared to say I've tried most things - except heroin, crack, lsd and i'm sure there are others I haven't tried. But I've experienced most of what other drugs offer (in their ups and some of the milder downs). To be honest, the worst IMO are alcohol and nicotine. I'm confident and happy that I can talk to our kids about my experiences and give them a well-rounded view of drugs.
With all education of this type, laying the fundamentals starts very young. Mostly in relation to communication, but also in teaching our children to be respectful of their minds and bodies, to be open-minded and proactive in their personal education, and to be confident and free of dramas and coping mechanisms as they grow up, so that they don't rely on any crutches (whether they be chemical, or other mechanisms like anxiety disorders, passive-agression etc). It is possible for them to enjoy the altered states that some drugs provide, without being reliant on them, if they are balanced and well-adjusted people who don't need a crutch. They can just be recreational like the occasional glass of red.
If you want to know anything about any of them - how the body processes each type of drug, what they feel like, what the down sides are, how much they cost, and if they are going to try them how to stay safe and protect their bodies by taking the right supplements etc (yes it is possible to take some drugs with fewer of the down-sides if people understand their physiology and psychopharmacology).
Hope I'm helping a bit.
Don't be scared - by all means, be cautious and respectful, but please don't let fear get the better of you :hugs:
I can honestly say I never tried anything either, for which I am quite proud about. I just stuck to the good old alcohol, which I know can be harmful in itself, but still, compared to the alternatives. I guess what is a real concern now though, that the drugs around these days are so different to what was around when I was growing up, and I hate to imagine how much worse it will be when our kids are going through that stage of their lives. I'm not even that old (I don't think :rolleyes:).
It's just so hard to imagine not snuggling our bubs as we do at the moment. I can't imagine the time coming when they go to school etc! I want to stay like this forever (maybe without this ever growing bump I have though :laughing: )
I think the main issue is a person's potential for addiction, and the forces that drive them. Many things are dangerous if taken to obsessive or addictive levels - including drugs, alcohol, gambling, OCD, even things like religion, sex, can damage a person's psyche to irreparable end if they become an addiction.
A drug's viability for legal status is based on its potential for addiction and abuse, not necessarily the physical damage it can do when not being used.
If all drugs were laid out on the same table for assessment, most would not be made legal purely for this reason. Alcohol and nicotine would be the first ones made illegal. Unfortunately, prohibition didn't work the first time, and probably wouldn't work now ;)
I think understanding the history of drugs helps too. Cultures have used them over thousands of years for pain relief and spiritual development. The ancient Egyptians and the Native American tribes are prime examples of this.
Part of this "new wave" of drug use in youth has similar roots. If any of you have been to a rave there is a very strong tribal aspect to it. A feeling of connection and belonging to something greater. This is one of the reasons it is so attractive. For a generation that feels more separate from its roots and has felt more disconnected from the world than any generation before, this has been a means to search! I must admit that many a personal or spiritual revelation has occurred while using mdma, both for myself, my DH and many of my friends. We didn't abuse it, we weren't addicted to it, but we certainly did enjoy it's benefits, and DH and I grew very close over those couple of years.
That said, it was a stepping stone, a means, not the end for us. I have never had a problem meditating in my life, but DH has. For him it was a great tool. He was soon able to meditate deeply as his brain started to recognise the altered state and achieve it on his own. It's the very thing that inspired him to study hypnotherapy.
My wish is that our kids are able to get this amazing sense of belonging and connection to the people and the world around them without drugs. Chances are that their generation will be much closer to achieving it than ours is/was, but that there'll still be an element of the old chemical assistance floating around. But I don't think it will be as widespread or frequent as it was for us.
Drugs such as ice, heroin and gbh are definitely to be avoided. Nasty stuff - high potential for addiction and in the case of gbh just way too dodgy.
Wow, I'm going on, I'll finish up. Sorry guys! As far as background goes, a drug such as mdma (or ecstasy), was actually created for use in psychotherapy, but unfortunately made it to the streets too quickly for the US govt to assess and apply their rubber stamps and taxes. So it had to be made illegal.
More people die from alcohol related problems in a week than have ever died from ecstasy.
The problem with drug education is that it is based on the old just say no business. It doesn't work. It just fails to inform kids. There's a good chance our kids are going to experiment at some stage. I'd rather tell Will that "taking pure mdma in a pill, and then taking a fake filled with dxm from the guy at the corner of the room is neurotoxic and potentially fatal". Instead we're simply encouraged to tell them to say "no" based on the fear that it might hurt or kill them, without knowing why or how. Unfortunately kids don't listen because their parents don't know anything about it except what the govt feeds to them.
Sorry I'm going on, but I'm really passionate about it. DH and I looked into everything before put anything in our bodies. We studied how they work and what supplements to take to avoid chemical comedowns (eg. taking 5-htp natural supplements helps the brain produce seratonin in the period following ecstasy use, so that the pineal gland isn't overworked and damaged.)
Ok, I'll stop now. I've rambled way too much. :o
Lis- all that sounds very interesting but if Paige comes to me with that I will still be very disappointed... So I think this is one subject that we will have to agree to disagree.. I dont think any drug is safe... I dont even smoke.. and I have never been a big drinker... I personally prefer to be in control and alert in every situation!
Brooke - please don't get me wrong! I agree with you. I certainly won't be encouraging Will to do anything, and as a parent I will be disappointed if he puts anything into that perfect little body of his. What I'm hoping is that our generation can fill in the gaps of drug education for our kids, because as it stands today, the gaps are absolutely massive and don't help at all. Especially since it uses fear as the motivator rather than empowering our kids with real information.
Generations before us were more accepting of fear-based education. It started to fail for many in our generation and I think it certainly will fail for our kids. We need to switch to a method of educating that is without agenda and is driven purely by the desire to inform and empower our children. I'm tipping our kids are going to be able to smell fear and agenda a mile away and the education and political systems are going to fail them as a result, as they turn their backs on the system and take them with a grain of salt!
Just because I experimented doesn't mean I think it's the way to go and that I want my kids to. I'd rather them not touch anything. But if they are going to I'd rather have an intimate and trusted relationship with them. I'd rather them ask me and turn to me than their peers or the many websites with conflicting info that are out there.
Hey everyone, I'm sorry if I offended or scared anyone with my last few posts :gloomy:
I am passionate about educating our kids with the truth (and as much truth as possible), but I didn't mean to be so full on. Maybe that's the hormones, don't know. I've found that since preggers I've become a bit less likely to "mince words" so to speak, and I've had to apologise to a couple of friends lately too. Not that I've been nasty, just not like me, I usually approach things a little more gently.
It might have come across like I advocate using drugs, but that is far from the truth. I don't want our kids to use them, but at the same time I didn't have a problem with experimenting and all of the people I mixed with when doing so were responsible and trustworthy - our circle included 2 doctors and a cop! We never let it affect our day to day lives. I understand that being responsible as we were is commonly not the case though, and this is what scares people. I am glad for my experiences as I have a deep understanding that has removed any fears I have about helping our kids through this particular maze in their lives. But at the same time I don't think it's a prerequisite to being able to educate them properly and help them. I was just hoping to use what I know to help those of you who are scared get a better understanding of the whats, hows and whys your kids will be facing - because fear can be so paralysing.
I hope I haven't killed our wonderful thread. It feels like I have :(
DH has a big hangover from a work black tie function last night, and has a "work from home" day today. I'm sure he's going to be fabulous. Yeah right :rolleyes: We've got our prenantal doctor's appt this afternoon (the only time we see a doc of any kind), and getting all the test results etc.
I hope everyone has a lovely day! :D
Lol Lis - I don't think you've killed it at all!
When I saw that no one had posted since your posts I felt bad as I thought maybe I've opened a can of worms that shouldn't have been opened :laughing: . Don't be worried, you know that everyone in this thread is always open to each other speaking our minds & I think that's why it's such a nice thread to be a part of :yes: .
I can totally understand where you are coming from. It's the way our world is today I feel. It's a bit scary though to think that one bad decision (which all teenagers make at some point) could have such a drastic impact on their lives. I accept that most kids experiment with bits & pieces, and that is how they learn more or less) I just hope that when that time comes, it's not too difficult IYKWIM. In an ideal world, I'd like my kids to grow up avoiding those things at all costs, but at the same time, I think it's important to be prepared for anything. Like you say, the best way through that is to be open & honest and hope the kids can share their experiences with us rather than be afraid of talking to us about it. I know it's a long way off, but I'm such a thinker it drives me nuts sometimes!!!!!!!!! I also know that most of the things we worry about never happen, so I don't know why I get so wound up in it! Maybe I just need to get out of the house a bit more :laughing: .
emilysmumma
07-09-2007, 08:21
,No Lis you haven't killed our wonderful thread. I was just so tired after my late night stint of will and grace watching the night before.
You did make me agree with you in a way. I mean if you are going to use drugs you should be smart about it and educate yourself about them. But in my mind the smarter way would be not to use drugs at all. As otherwise you are giving yourself a false sense of secruity as drugs are unpredictable and so is your response to them, even if you know which way things are suspose to react.
I am a hypocrite though as I did in my teenage years willingly take them even knowing the affects (not to your extent though Lis). And after those few years of taking them it has turned me off completley and I have no tolerance whatsoever in anyone who uses drugs.
I no that sounds harsh but I've seen all too well the damage it can do. So when it comes to the time of our kids being in the situation on possibly using drugs, I'm in a bit of a quandry. All I can think of is to be open about it and do drug education together and keep up the loving envoirnment we have. The fear campaigns are out there for a reason as it shows how real things are with drugs. Not everyone has the knowhow to educate themselves to the extent of knowing all the ins and outs of drugs.
Now my AF has arrived. Dh asked me to take a preg test last night and I went to, only to find AF. So obviously no need for a test to his dissapointment. I had been waiting for it but had no physical symptoms at all so hence no idea I had AF. I guess all the symptoms came with me being a b!tch to DH this last week. Last night before even the AF, we called a 3 strikes your out. We called a truce with each other but as it takes some time in getting use to being nice to each other we got some leinancy and were allowed 3 not nice remarks to each other to help break in the niceness. Does that make sense.
DH this morning said he was really upset we don't have another little bub on the way. It was so cute as he woke Emily and I up this morning with a cup of coffee and her milk already made (being woken up wasn't cute), but he really let out his feelings of dissapointment and regret. Not that we will be trying just yet, but it would of been a nice surprise.
Ok all, time to clean up the morning mess and get on with the day.
emilysmumma
07-09-2007, 08:22
Tracey- get out of the house more, lol.
Thanks Tracey :)
What I found in our party days is that it was such a wide mix of people and backgrounds. Yep, doctors, lawyers, cops, administrators, tradies... Some of us couldn't talk to our parents about what we were doing as we knew the dialogue wouldn't be open and would be choccas full of fear rather than truth and maturity. My folks have no idea (I had a Catholic upbringing, had the Catholic girls school education etc). DH's parents know but I know they disapproved. DH tried to talk to them about it but hit brick walls. At the same time, MIL told me once that even though they don't like it, they know we are responsible and respectful of our bodies, and that she was more worried about BIL getting blotto every weekend than she was of us. So that was comforting.
Other friends discussed it openly with their parents. Some had even tried some with their parents (as adults of course, not kids).
There was no real rhyme or pattern to who could talk to their folks about it and who couldn't - except that most of our friends who were open with their parents and had an honest relationship, had parents who had either experimented themselves, or who were genuinely interested in why, how, what it felt like etc, and weren't fearful of the truth. I know which relationship I'd rather have with my kids.
I think it's a healthy can of worms, as the only way to not be scared of something is to talk about it and learn about it :D
well Sarah, hurry up & return to Brissy! I have no friends :crying:
emilysmumma
07-09-2007, 08:27
By the time I get there you will have your hands pretty full with chumps no.2 I should think.
Sarah - I've seen the bad as well as the good. It's not all roses and most people have suffered consequences at some stage. I've also seen and experienced how enjoyable it can be if you're responsible and informed.
I just know that if people are going to do it, they will regardless of what their parents or educators say. So we need to change how we educate so that we empower and inform our kids properly :yes:
Mummaof2
07-09-2007, 08:33
Lis you didnt kill our thread...I too was tired by time i logged on last night that I just had a quick catch up and went to bed. I really wasnt feeling myself yesterday or last night I think im going through one of my down moments again and thinking negatively about everything. Its probably due to the stress from work the past two weeks and the fact that its the 7th anniversary of my nan's passing next week and I always feel sad around that time as she was a huge part of our lives growing up and I was with her up to 30mins before she passed. The day my nan passed away our property got a visit from a flock of balck cockatoos and every year for a week leading up to the anniversary we get black cockatoos visiting us.
I also been thinking alot about the dreams that the ex and I had and the fact that if we were still together we would be starting TTC #3 in the next month or so among other things. Im contemplating going back to counselling because i still have alot of anger towards him inside me and I dont want to feel like this forever. I was even contemplating last night calling things off with Derek and just being friends because I don't want to take the risk of giving my heart away again and getting hurt. See im not always strong and positive like everyone thinks i am i do have my negative and down days but they always seem to hit me at once with a great force.
Anyway I will stop whinging now and go and do some work.
Have a great day everyone.
Sarah - Does this mean you and DH might be TTC now that he wants another bub????
:rolleyes: yeh your probably right! But I am in denial :D I'm thinking it's a sure way to keep the km's on the car at an all time low! Don't think I'll be venturing out for a while :laughing: .
That's so sweet of your DH to want a bubba so badly! You should just give in!
emilysmumma
07-09-2007, 08:48
Emma- Our plan is to start trying again at the end of the year. But well laid plans can go astray at times, which what we thought this month.
Don't be too hard on yourself. You need time to grieve your lost dreams and hopes. And with going full speed ahead since all this happened to you, you need time to slow down and just reflect on it all. You have been amazing with it all so remember that.
Lis- education is the way with drugs. :yes: But no matter how you much you educate people they will do what they want regardless, I agree with that too. So you just have to hope that they will be smart enough not to in the first place, but if not then at least they will be smart enough to be informed.
I am so in love with Emily right now. She has now started to come up to us and gives us spontanteous kisses and hugs all the time. Talk about melting your heart.
emilysmumma
07-09-2007, 08:53
:rolleyes: yeh your probably right! But I am in denial :D I'm thinking it's a sure way to keep the km's on the car at an all time low! Don't think I'll be venturing out for a while :laughing: .
That's so sweet of your DH to want a bubba so badly! You should just give in!
That will at least keep the value of your car up.
Now on your last sentence. :eek:
Mummaof2
07-09-2007, 08:57
Emma- Our plan is to start trying again at the end of the year. But well laid plans can go astray at times, which what we thought this month.
Don't be too hard on yourself. You need time to grieve your lost dreams and hopes. And with going full speed ahead since all this happened to you, you need time to slow down and just reflect on it all. You have been amazing with it all so remember that.
I am so in love with Emily right now. She has now started to come up to us and gives us spontanteous kisses and hugs all the time. Talk about melting your heart.
Thanks Sarah - Sometimes i just wish I had someone to go home to at the end of a bad day to hold me and comfort me.
I loving the kids so much right now...the past week as soon as I walk in the door Coop comes running up to me and almost knocks me over and gives me cuddles and kisses and same with Steph and then we have a big family hug. And now they both come in of a morning and climb into bed and we just lay there cuddling and tickling each other.
lis- you could never kill our little thread. I ment to come back on last night and post but i was so tired i went to bed at like 7.30am!
Emma- :hugs: you know if you ever need to talk where i am!
well im off tonight with an old school friend who i havent seen in ages to go dancing. I havent seen her in years but recently got back in contact. It will be great to see her again! then tomorrow night im heading down the a new place down at the beach with my cousin! so should be good... although i could do with a nanna nap tonight!
Funkychicken
07-09-2007, 18:17
Oh, Lis, don't fret lovely friend. It is because we are friends that we can express our thoughts without fear of judgment. :hugs:
I read through this last night but needed to think quite hard about how I would respond but I have decided that it isn't necessary for me to add to the conversation. We may be stuck on this topic forever if I did!:p
Pregnancy hormones make for weird and wonderful emotions and often have us behaving really unlike how we think we are. I know each pregnancy brought about all sorts of feelings for me and as is the case whenever this happens, I found it hard to get my head around it at the time but hindsight shows me that the spiritual growth I experienced then was huge. No wonder it throws us for a six!
Sarah, I had to laugh at your three strikes and you're out comment! I really like that idea.:devil6:
I'm sorry the baby gods didn't visit this month.
Tracey-deep breaths, deep breaths. It really is normal to have anxieties about what sort of a world our children are growing into. It is because we care so much that we feel that way. But, as scary as the world looks to us, our children are not fearful because they have no yardstick by which they can measure it. We often look at our own childhood and feel that our children are going to find it tougher etc... but I can guarantee that our parents felt exactly the same way. :hugs:
Brooke, have fun tonight!
Greetings also to Reidy, Jackie (where are you?), Emma, Brodie. I so hope that is everyone.
brodiebunch
07-09-2007, 20:06
:wave: .Well I am at my sisters house in Newcastle again.I figured there was no point mopeing around the house by myself.The trains from sydney were ridiculis and kept changing every 5mins cause of APEC:mad: .I got here a long time after my scheduled arival and was very tired sad and grumpy.I went to work with my sis today,she works on the lake and watched "memoirs of a geisha".It was nice to watch a movie without a little tacker to think about.The only interuption was the several wees I needed to do:laughing: .
I spoke to Oli tonight on the phone and got a "mum" and a "bye bye".DP said he has been a right grumpy turkey that walks around saying mum all day and when anyone trys to pick him up he crys and says no,no,no mummy.I miss my little sidekick heaps.I am really teary as well as the leaky breasts have picked it up a notch,I get let down feelings all day every hour or so.Damn hormones.My back is killing me and I am getting really strong Braxton hicks all day.I went into a maternity shop today and the lady asked how far along I was and didnt beleive me.She couldnt get over how tiny I was.If she saw me now she would ask how far overdue I was as at night I am twice the size with a belly full of wind.
Tomorrow I think I am going shopping and my Flower girl has her dress fitting.Then off to see my Gdad in hospy(he is doing really well now)and to my nans for tea.I will try and get back in the morning to chat......goodnight.
emilysmumma
08-09-2007, 01:55
Sal, has anyone told you that your a wise woman? Silence is a virtue! Something that I don't have. I did mention that I've been a big cranky pants of late. :D
I'm happy to inform you all that DH and I never got to the 3 strikes and your out. Never did find out what 'out' would be :confused: We couldn't keep up with each other so just declared 1 each and got over it. Thank god! I swear I may of been a hell b!tch but I think he was having PMS sypmtoms himself.
The poor dear is in mourning for the pregnancy that never was. He has been moping about it all day. Very romantic but we all know the reality of the whole shebang. So I seriously asked if he wanted to try now, but in all honesty he is of the same thinking as me and we will wait till the end of the year to try, and then hope it takes some time. I would prefer anytime after june next year but who knows how quick it will happen the 2nd time around.
BB- I'm glad your at your sisters. Take it easy and enjoy yourself. Your little fella will be home soon. Even though he wants you, it's kind of satisfying knowing that he does. I would be appalled if little miss Emily didn't ask for me after all my hard work :laughing:
I really should of been asleep hours ago. I wanted to finish reading this book, which I did. Then I wanted to find out what happened as it was a memoir of a woman who's husband abducted her son to france. The book was written 10 years ago and I just wondered if the fractured relationship ever healed because of it. I didn't get anywhere though :(
goodnight/good morning
brodiebunch
08-09-2007, 07:26
Morning:D .I got a sleep in:yelclap: .
Sarah-I am very happy that after all the time I have put into him that he misses me.Waiting till the end of the year isnt that long before you start to try so here is an early GOOD LUCK.
My sister and I are off to her IVF clinic to get get her more progesterone supositories.She has her pg test for this round on tuesday:fingerscrossed: .She is alittle down today and baby talk is off the menu.Have a great one ladies.
emilysmumma
08-09-2007, 08:21
Why do I do this to myself. Only 4 hours sleep.....again.
It must be hard for your sister BB. Good luck to her for Tuesday.
Reidymac
08-09-2007, 21:16
Gosh it's eerily quiet in here today. Hope you are all doing well.
I have nothing exciting to report I'm afraid. I think I might finally have lost my marbles. I was watching 'Bondi rescue" tonight with DH beside me (not something we've ever watched) a poor man was dragged lifeless from the surf and I burst into tears, sobbing like a lunatic. DH gave me that 'oh-you-poor-sweet-nut case look and hugged me assuringly telling me not to be sensitive and let the TV upset me so much........thats when I chocked out between sobs........."I.....*sob* don't care *sob* about that *sob, sob* I'm just so *sob* hungry!!" :rolleyes: I am sooooooo sick and tired of being sick and tired. I haven't kept much of anything down for months and its exhausting but I was copeing ok........it's just that it's at the point now that even with all of the medication I'm taking I am barely swallowing before I am loosing the food. Dinner is small bite, chew chew swallow, vomit, sob, next bite, chew chew, attempt to swallow, vomit, sob. I just want to eat something. I am trying to keep my spirits up but this is ridiculous (and needless to say doesn't make me a very appealing dinner guest). I have been trolling the MS threads for some assistance but getting narky at the posts about people feeling naueseas for 3 weeks and begging for relief. I am angry and tired and very hungry (which is a pretty ugly combination in a 26 week pregnant girl) Anyway thats my little vent, i just didn't know what else to do but share my joy. Hope your doing better
brodiebunch
09-09-2007, 07:10
It was soooo quite yesterday.
Reidy-big:hugs: .I at least get a meal down before I spew.I feel so haggard all the time and am very cranky with the whole being sick and tired to.As for girls who happily say that they were really sick for 4 wks and couldnt move but they are fine now,I say (well I cant say what I think here)but come and get my 20mth old and spew for 24 wks solid then you can whinge :mad: .Not to mention the constant heart burn and wind pain that make night times impossible.Oh well only another 14wks for me:yelclap: (not that I am counting).
I am off home today and get to see me buggaboo.I have hundreds of kisses for him and hope he is in a cuddly mood.I will probably get in trouble off DP again as he feels "left out" and like I didnt miss him but my ms makes his body smells repulsive.He doesnt really smell and it was the same with Oli but I just cant deal with it so all he gets is little pecks and hugs.God help me when we get to "you may now kiss the bride":barf: .Lord I hope not(LOL)Anyway now I am just rambling so catch you this arvo ladies.
where is everyone?????
Jackie I hope your enjoying your weekend!
Reidy- You poor thing.. thats so not fair that your still so ill at 26weeks pregnant! :hugs:
I went to the movies last night with my mum to see no reservations with catherine zeta jones... it was a nice easy movie to watch. I had the nicest day with my parents yesterday we went down to henley and had chips on the beach it was so nice to have a family day with my mum and dad and they were both in such a great mood it was nice!
On Friday Night I had a fairly big one so i decided to say home and relax last night.. chat went and had a chat with my bestie it was so nice to sit and chat about anything and everything! Today we are off to the gym in the city and then out to lunch!
I start my new role soon at work. I will be staying in the same dept but doing a higher role. Handling all Investigations.. recoveries and large loss fires (i do that already) and issuing denial letters to people who dont have their claims covered... time for a silent home number i think.. :laughing: :o
emilysmumma
09-09-2007, 08:29
Oh Reidy, you poor girl. :hugs: That just sounds too awful for you.
Yes it has been eerily quiet in here. It's will start to echo if we aren't careful.
Brooke- does PP go to her dad each weekend? It's sound like you're having a lovely weekend. Hmmm, can't say I'm jealous of your new job of insurance denial. At least it's in letter form and not over the phone. Can the customers phone and question you about it?
Well I don't know what I'm doing to myself. Again I stayed up til 3:30 finishing a book. So only 4 hours sleep again.
Hope everyone is good weekend?
sarah- yes scott has pp every weekend. He picks her up from childcare on fridays and drops her back on monday before childcare.... its nice to have a relaxing break.. although i do miss her heaps!
We have to 1st inform the customers that their claim is not for acceptance and then we issue the letter and then they can ring up and question and go thru the disputes process... I used to hate telling people that their claims werent covered... but as long as your confident in why its not covered its not too bad!
mytwolilprinces
09-09-2007, 13:13
Hello lovely Dec mummies,
Wow so much has been happening in here .... way too much for me to comment on or this post would end up taking over the entire thread and possibly crashing BH due to it's length.
So I'll just be selfish and make it "all about me" :o
DH took the kiddies away yesterday afternoon for a night so I could have some "me time" my mum rang me this morning to ask if I missed the kids and without thinking I said "nup" - she then accused me of being a mean mummy and heartless :eek: but seriously, the kids and DH had been gone for less than 12 hours ... and I was enjoying the break.
Had a bit of a night out last night and then slept in until (wait for it) 7am :smiliedance: ok, that doesn't seem a big deal but considering I wake up at 5am most days - it's a huge sleep in.
The house is now spotless, the kiddies have returned and all is well.
Sarah - I am thinking that your AF being late would have been due to stress making you ovulate late (as you would have been due to ovulate around the time Emily was sick in hospital) .... it's cute that your DH was dissapointed.
Sal - hope you feel better - I also have yet another cold so I know how you are feeling - it's sucks!
Lis - so does it look like you killed the thread - I'd say nope by the many many posts after yours! :laughing:
Hi to everyone else .... Brooke, Emma, Jess,Tracey, Brodie & Reidy!
Jackie- I am so glad that you enjoyed your time by yourself.. you well and truly deserved it!
And you are by no means a mean mummy... i would just call u normal!
Mummaof2
09-09-2007, 17:52
Reidy - I am sorry to hear you are still suffering from MS. Sending you plenty of :hugs:
Brodie - I bet you enjoyed some time to yourself this weekend but Im sure you couldnt wait to smother Oli in kisses and hugs.
Jackie - Your not a mean mummy. Every 2nd weekend when i dont have the kids I enjoy my time and dont start to miss them until around sunday lunch time. Im glad you had a great night out and that your DH gave you some time to yourself.
Brooke - Hope you had a great night out friday night. Did you end up wearing something sexy? Was the movie No Reservations any good?
Sarah - You sound a bit sleep deprived ( Hope everyone is good weekend?)
HI to Lis & Tracey & Jess
P.S. Dont think there is going to be anything other then friendship with Derek if that. I will explain later
emma :hugs: I hope your ok.... sorry to hear things havent worked out too well!
and haha i didnt wear something as sexy as my friend... i have had a baby remember.. un like her.. i just wore my dark denim jeans, my red top with a bow around the middle and my fav red suade shoes....
well im off to bed... its way past my bed time!