View Full Version : What have you bought for baby?
Chelle123
19-08-2007, 08:47 PM
I know we've all still got heaps of time till our bubbas arrive, but I'm sure at least some of us have bought some baby stuff.
So far I've bought:
Fisher Price Hi-chair (got it for $70 at a sale)
Valco Rebel pram on layby
My mum has bought:
2 pink Bonds jumpsuits 000
gorgeous velour jumpsuit 0000
hot pink sleeping bag 00 for next winter
faux suede pink jacket 0 for next winter (was on sale & she couldn't resist)
3 pink singlets
lacey socks (don't know about lacey socks?)I know this may sound crazy (to anyone not living in Melbourne) but I'm going to do a mini stock up of warm clothes. Even though bub will come in Summer, Christmas day last year was 13 degrees, hailing and freezing.
LilliS
19-08-2007, 09:18 PM
Woo hoo...I have been thinking about nursery buying all day - damn baby expo.
We have bought:
Boori Paddington Cot (white)
Mattress
Boori Large Bookcase (white)
Boori Change Table (white)
Change Mat (white)
Boori 4 Drawer Chest Drawers (white)
Steelcraft Strider 3 Pram (slate)
Steelcraft Strider 3 Bassinette (slate)
H & R Bassinette – Baby Bug
Safe N Sound Meridian Car Seat - Retractor
Kidsline Cot Set – Soft and Fuzzy Pooh
Kidsline Nappy Stacker
Kidsline Hamper
Kidsline Wall Hangings – Set 5
Kidsline Window Valance
Kidsline Basket Liners x 3
Kidsline Baskets – Set 3
Kidsline Lamp Base and Shade
Kidsline Musical Mobile
All of the furniture will arrive in four weeks (on order) and we will pick up pram and car set then. I have the manchester in the spare room although not sure why. I keep bringing it out to stare at. What baby loony!! We've also picked out the high chair and rocker and few small things but leaving them for later.
No clothes yet until I find out the sex in 16 DAYS!!!! Then I will be burning some plastic and in big trouble with my husband!! :laughing:
LilliS
19-08-2007, 09:19 PM
What an anal retentive list - can't tell I'm a teacher. It is only like that because I sent it to my mum to see...I promise!!
20-08-2007, 05:19 AM
lol nothing, and its not cause i have everything, i gave all the stuff away after dd3.... i'll wait till the scan:D
Chelle123
20-08-2007, 07:15 AM
I keep bringing it out to stare at. What baby loony!!
I keep opening the wardrobe where I've got all my baby clothes hanging and going through it - its so exciting. I'm noy going to buy too much more though till we pay off the pram.
xxxDragonFlyxxx
20-08-2007, 12:47 PM
What have we bought for #2?
A cot.
That's it, nothing else so far. WIll wait to find out boy or girl before we buy clothes etc, and I already have pram etc...so just needed a cot. Although I still need to get a mattress, but plenty of time to go yet :D
sairpaul
20-08-2007, 03:47 PM
Well I just got home from a day shopping with my nan.
What we have so far, We have either brought or lay byed:
Change Table Bori (wood stain)
change matteress
Sling
perri pram (3 wheel pump up tyers)
bassinet to fit the pram and the stand
woolen underlay for pram
Lots of clothes brought and handed down
Nan and I just came home with:
Winnie the pooh sheet sets X 2
Winnie the pooh quilt
Bottle steriliser
Bottle Brushes
Baby beanies
Winnie the pooh Mobile
HAHA I brought myself this winnie the pooh musical lamp for xmas and have given it to the babe. Anyway My nan just spent 270 on baby stuff
Chelle123
20-08-2007, 03:59 PM
Way to go Nan!!!
Isn't it great when people buy you things?
My parents bought the pram first time round and my MIL bought the cot. We've still got the cot and its in perfect condition but we've had to buy a new pram.
I've just been to my friends house and she has these beautiful butterflies hanging from her DD's ceiling. I'm going to the fairy shop one of these days to get some for our nursery - they are just beautiful.
MissSookyLaLa
20-08-2007, 05:35 PM
waiting till next monday to find out if its a boy or girl, then off to stock up on pink or blue!
Crazy Monkey
21-08-2007, 12:26 PM
The only thing I have bought bubs is the amazing animals zoo train (by Fisher Price)...
We have everything already for bubs from DS but have some things for DS so bubs can have his... So we have:
Safe n Sound Maxi Rider II
Toddler Seat for the pramThats it so far, but still need to get DS a bed and chest of drawers for his room...
We're not finding out the sex, so will just need to get some neutral summer outfits... Chelle I know what you mean about Melbourne weather, but I think DS's old clothes should cover us if we need the warmer clothes...
Chelle123
21-08-2007, 12:46 PM
Chelle I know what you mean about Melbourne weather, but I think DS's old clothes should cover us if we need the warmer clothes...
I didn't keep many clothes from DS2 because I didn't think I would ever convince DH to go for a third bub. Being a girl this time, I wouldn't have used his blue clothes anyway.
I can't wait to go shopping...
joshmum
21-08-2007, 01:10 PM
What have i brought for bub.
When the toy sales where on a few months ago i put on layby a new play mat and new toys for the pram.
We already have from Joshua
Cot
Bassinet
But i cant wait till the weekend and go out shopping and spend up big on our little girl.
Jodie
BlessedWithBlue
21-08-2007, 02:53 PM
I haven't bought anything at all yet but since the twins are only six months old i don't need much as all their stuff is still good and i have heaps of boys clothing so i don't need anything else.
Eventually we will need another cot but we won't be buying one until we need it as we have two at the moment and the twins are still sharing. I think i'm probably gonna have a hard time putting them in separate cots as they are so attached to each other they don't settle well apart.
If this baby turns out to be a girl then i will be buying all new clothing etc but that isn't likely as we have been told that it's probably a boy.
Chelle123
22-08-2007, 06:05 PM
I have been out shopping today, looking at cot sets among other things. I am now obsessed with Flutterbugs by Playgro - I just have to have the whole lot! My DH thinks I am crazy but I really, really want it.
I put my nappy bag on layby too which is quite exciting. I can't believe all the nice styles that are available these days.
Widget
26-08-2007, 08:18 AM
What have we bought...
NOTHING.
DD will be getting the new cot, we still have all her old clothes - well, waiting on some back from a buddy.
Getting a box and a half of left over newborn nappies given to us (friends bub is 5 weeks and 5kgs so we get the left overs).
Oh... I did buy a new nappy bag, but am using it for DD I love it that much!!
Chelle123
26-08-2007, 08:38 AM
Well apart from the stuff I've already mentioned, I've bought the Playgro Flutterbugs cot set on Ebay (should arrive this week) and I've lay-by'd my nappy bag at the same shop as my pram.
My other kids are moving rooms to make way for baby (DS2's room is going to be the nursery). DH has just gone off to buy paint to do a Carlton feature wall in DS1's room (he's Blues mad) and I've bought Thomas wall stickers for DS2's new room (he's train mad). So thats everything.
bambino
26-08-2007, 08:42 AM
Too much :laughing:
He's already born (nearly 10 months old) and I still shop !!!
Look out when #2 decides to happen:D
Chelle123
28-08-2007, 02:42 PM
My Flutterbugs cot set arrived today (ordered on ebay from Sydney) and I love it. It's soooo pretty. I can't wait to set up the nursery now - just have to kick DS2 out of his room first. It turns out that I've saved about $80 on the retail price by buying on ebay.
feline11
28-08-2007, 05:14 PM
we bought cot and drawers and bassinette, given 3 pairs socks and 2 singlets
Widget
01-09-2007, 05:44 AM
She now has 2 jumpsuits, one for a little after she is born and one for when she is around 1yr old (they didn't come in another appropriate Summer size!).
I have to go through all of DD's old clothes and decide what else this bub might need as it's opposite seasons!!
Chelle123
01-09-2007, 01:07 PM
I've bought 4 tiny summer rompers this week in 0000 and 000 and I bought breast pads while I was doing the shopping today - never too early to start stocking up on the essentials.
As for stuff for me, I bought 2 Summer maternity tops yesterday as hardly any of my clothes from last pg fit me.
LilliS
02-09-2007, 11:15 AM
I went and added some baby monitors to my order yesterday. I am such a sucker for the word 'special'. You think I would learn to wait....
Chelle123
02-09-2007, 08:36 PM
My MIL has given us today:
- 3 pairs socks - pink, mauve, white
- 6 pink singlets
- 2 dress/bloomer sets
- 2 bibs
It's so wierd still to talk about having a girl - so much pink stuff.
Chelle123
04-09-2007, 09:05 AM
I haven't bought it yet (that's DH's job) but I went to the paint shop this morning to get some pink paint samples that will co-ordinate with our carpet and the cot set.
I was a graphic dsigner in my life before kids and get quite fussy about colours so I thought it would be hard to choose but it wasn't so bad.
Going to just do plain pale pink and decorate the walls with butterflies cos those borders are so hard to get off - DH is in the middle of removing one from DS2's room.
xxxDragonFlyxxx
04-09-2007, 09:51 AM
oOoo sounds very pretty Chelle! Painting the nursery for DD was one of the most mentally strenuous things I have ever done (DH and I fought continuously cause he kept stuffing it up LoL) but was definitely the most fun!
Just a shame we don't get to do that this time around, damn 2 bedroom house! Well, we need to paint our room, but not in nursery style. Might have to spice up DD's room a bit more and make it look more 'baby' again!
MissSookyLaLa
04-09-2007, 05:44 PM
hey ladies,
this may be a stupid question, i dont know!
we are in a 2 bedroom unit, the two bedrooms are right across from each other...do we need a baby monitor?
xxxDragonFlyxxx
04-09-2007, 05:47 PM
Cantwait - We two have a two bedroom unit with the rooms right next to each other (townhouse so only bedrooms upstairs) and I found that no, at night I didn't need a baby monitor, I heard DD perfectly well withouth one, especially as you seem to tune in to bubs anyway.
However I would recommend getting one for when you are in other parts of the house and perhaps outside while bubs is sleeping. When i'm downstairs in the lounge I can hear DD crying from upstairs now that she's older, but as a newborn, there's no way I would have heard her if I was any further away than the bedroom.
Hope that helped :)
LilliS
04-09-2007, 06:29 PM
I would get a monitor if you can't hear from the furthest point/ balcony into that room. Otherwise see how you go without one and decide then.
We're getting one with the breathing pads so that would make a difference too if you were looking at one of those.
Chelle123
11-09-2007, 02:46 PM
I bought some pink butterflies for the baby's room on ebay. One big one to hang from the ceiling and 5 little ones to put on the wall. They should arrive in the next couple of days.
My mum has given me tiny pink coat hangers today and a whole heap of girly bibs.
I've also chosen curtain fabric and curtain rail for baby's room today. My mum works at spotlight so she'll get staff discount on all of it.
feline11
11-09-2007, 06:45 PM
Chelle - sounds like you are having good fun - we live in a rented place so cant do much - have found some removable pooh stickers so will get these and decorate the room and also some borders
Chelle123
11-09-2007, 06:52 PM
Sounds great Feline. I bought removable thomas stickers on ebay for DS2's room and they really do come off without leaving a mark. She had heaps of characters, Here's the ebay store if you need it (http://stores.ebay.com.au/Kyliez-Kidz-Korna), they were posted to me within a couple of days and look great.
Widget
11-09-2007, 07:01 PM
Don't get me hooked on eBay again!! I managed to kick the nasty habit but have been wondering where to get removable stickers from that don't leave marks - we rent too...
Bo0tifuL
12-09-2007, 01:39 PM
I want removable stickers...Im sick of scraping blu tac of walls!! hehe, but all is good.
I havent bought bub anything yet as i havent got much money these days, but mums neighbour bought 22 out fits.
my nan has been buying lots of things too latley which is good! the more the merrier i say!
Chelle123
12-09-2007, 01:46 PM
My butterflies haven't arrived yet & I'm getting very impatient. I know I've got ages till bubba arrives but the room just looks so bare.
Chelle123
12-09-2007, 02:18 PM
My ebay butterflies just arrived! Click here to see. (http://i222.photobucket.com/albums/dd319/chelle20_75/DSCN3160.jpg)
Bo0tifuL
12-09-2007, 02:26 PM
Today, 02:46 PM
Today, 03:18 PM
LOL! they are awesome! i LOVE them!
Chelle123
12-09-2007, 02:52 PM
Today, 02:46 PM
Today, 03:18 PM
I know! I know! I'm impatient!!!
feline11
12-09-2007, 07:05 PM
Thanks Chelle and the butterflies are gorgeous
LilliS
12-09-2007, 07:10 PM
I just went to the shop and bought about fifteen little outfits for my princess. Most of them are pink though. As much as I love pink and cute outfits there are some that are really TOO MUCH. I tried to find some other colours too but it was quite hard.
After looking through them now I have picked up quite a few bodysuits. (about 65%) Would those in the know be able to tell me if this is what a summer baby would wear most at home? As you can tell I am clueless and just picking up anything that takes my fancy.
My friend and mother-in-law have also bought me some outfits and body suits so I am building up quite the collection. Now I just need to find what else I will need...wraps, singlets, socks, booties etc...The shopping is so much fun!!!
My nursery furniture is been delivered this Saturday but they are still unable to track down my Boori - Paddington cot. Apparently there is a massive shortage of them in Australia (in white) and new orders are been told 12 weeks!!! :eek: The owner said I should be able to get mine in six weeks. Oh well at least I have plenty of time. I feel sorry for those people who can't really afford to wait for theirs.
Chelle123
12-09-2007, 07:20 PM
After looking through them now I have picked up quite a few bodysuits. (about 65%) Would those in the know be able to tell me if this is what a summer baby would wear most at home? As you can tell I am clueless and just picking up anything that takes my fancy.
I've bought quite a few bodysuit/romper type outfits. They probably will be best for hot days. My boys were born in Winter & Autumn so I'm not totally sure either. I'm just getting a bit of everything till I know what I need - I'm not even sure of sizes - my boys only lasted in 0000 for a week or 2.
Widget
12-09-2007, 09:38 PM
Lilli, at home in summer - depending on where you live and the temps you get, bub will mainly be in a singlet and nappy... When you go out the jumpsuits that have no arms and legs on them are good, or if you have full length ones, good if they are thinner materials.
for summer, I'd probably say a couple 5x0's a few 4x0's and a fair few 3x0's. Remember bub will be 4-8 weeks old when the weather starts cooling down again so may even still be 4x0's depends how big bub is and how quick she grows. DD was in 3x0's for AGES and she is at the top of the boys charts (yes, they differ) for height and weight.
but there's nothing wrong with having a few warm outfits for summer either, it might get rainy and cold and there could be a southerly breeze that brings a chill with it...
Hope that makes sense...
If you do get any 5x0's don't go overboard because bub will NOT be in them for long at all!!
Chelle123
19-09-2007, 09:40 AM
Today I have been to Big W and spent some of my Medicare rebate on the following:
1 pink & 1 white cotton waffle baby wraps
5 pack of Bonds singlets hot pink/purple/yellow/2 white - very cute
4 dummies - pink & purpleAnd this is not for the baby but I also bought a washing trolley cos its a really long walk to our clothes line and I'm still really scared of carrying heavy things. I haven't even carried DS2 since I was ttc and he's only 14kg.
joshmum
19-09-2007, 10:11 AM
Hey there,
Hope you are all well and bubs too.
Since I have found out that I am having a little girl I have not stop shopping for our little princess.
What have I brought for our little girl.
Singlets Pink, Purple and White
Socks
Lots of summer out fits
Sleeveess and Legs jump suits
Quilt for the Cot
Blankets
Toiletries for Bub
I am not a fun on Jumpsuit so I have brought a few pj's top and bottoms.
Hubby and I went into Myer last weekend and he pick up a peter rabbit outfit nice purple top and skirt with a match hat recommended price was 49.00 and we got it for $35. I thought that was a bargain and brought it.
Well that's all I can think of at the moment.
Take Care Jodie
Chelle123
19-09-2007, 10:19 AM
Hubby and I went into Myer last weekend and he pick up a peter rabbit outfit nice purple top and skirt with a match hat recommended price was 49.00 and we got it for $35. I thought that was a bargain and brought it.
You've inspired me Jodie.
I might go to Myer this arvo. I've been stuck at home for 3 days with sick DS1 but he's better today and I really need to get out.
I had a look at Myer the other day but didn't buy anything cos I had DS's with me & they were getting impatient. They do have some gorgeous clothes though.
xxxDragonFlyxxx
21-09-2007, 12:54 PM
Well, today I finally got to go shopping for bubs!!! Things I got were...
Cot Mattress
2x Cot Sheets
1x Cot Blanket
2x Bunny Rugs
2x Boy coloured Wondersuits (to add to the unisex colours I had from DD)
2x Summer Rompers
It was nice to finally go shopping :D
Chelle123
22-09-2007, 04:06 PM
Today I bought 3 rompers in size 0000 and a big, pink, squishy care bear for bubs room, well its a present from DS2 and DS1 picked a teddy during the week for baby.
xxxDragonFlyxxx
03-10-2007, 12:37 PM
Man, I am such a bad girl!
Today I got a few more things for bubs...
2x Boy coloured wondersuits (Blue)
2x Summer rompers (Blue camo and blue with a bear picture)
1x Outfit with denim shorts and a cool t-shirt (oh so cute!)
And I also have 6 outfits on layby at the moment too :o
3x Summer rompers (organic cotton with awsome environmental messages on them, 'Stop The Whaling'm 'Love Me, Love my World' and 'Love and Peace')
1x All in one suit
1x Blue shorts
1x T-shirt with a bear pic
1x Trousers and top outfit
Chelle123
03-10-2007, 12:42 PM
Sounds gorgeous Fly. I can't wait do do some serious shopping. I just sold all my boys old clothes on ebay and made $280 so I've got some cash to spend on all 3 kids now for summer :smiliedance:
LilliS
03-10-2007, 04:44 PM
My mum is here at the moment and is so excited by her first granchild she hasn't stopped buying. Yea for me!!
We are considering a nappy wrapper at the moment. Do you think there is a need for them? I figured since I will be using disposables at this time and it will be hot in summer that they may be good.
Chelle123
03-10-2007, 04:52 PM
We are considering a nappy wrapper at the moment. Do you think there is a need for them? I figured since I will be using disposables at this time and it will be hot in summer that they may be good.
Any anti-sposie users - close your eyes.
IMO you don't need to go to the expense. I think the refills are quite $$$ too. I go to the $2 shops and buy the scented nappy bags in a box of 100 or 200 for around $2.
Widget
03-10-2007, 06:36 PM
I use the scented bags as well as Chelle... Nappy sacks I think they're called...
Still only the 2 outfits for bub - she's only going to have one outfit that will have to fit her til she's 8 months!! Well, it won't last that long :laughing:
xxxDragonFlyxxx
03-10-2007, 07:07 PM
Okay despite the fact I now use MCNs, my thoughts on the nappy wrappers (there was a time when I used sposies) are that they aren't needed. I didn't do anything 'special' eith the dirty sposies, just rolled them up and put them in with the household garbage. I didn't use any extra plastic bags, as they were afterall going into the big garbage bag with everything else. That and they are already hard enough to degrade as it is, I didn't see the point in adding extra plastic to the mix...
Widget
03-10-2007, 07:20 PM
You only use the smelly bags for the offensive ones, unless you wanna either walk out to the sulo every time OR sometimes, it can offensive through the house as well if it's just thrown in the bin...
At our old place (2 levels) I had a big bucket in DD's room lined with a garbage bag and when I changed her the nappies went in there - offensive ones in a smelly bag first - and then it was easy to load the nappies into the sulo on bin night.
Being on single level now, I don't bother, she doesn't get changed in her room anymore, only time it's not in the lounge room is as she's going into the bath...
LilliS
08-10-2007, 06:56 PM
Ok I confess "My name is Lauren and I am a baby purchase junky...."
Mum came to visit for the holidays and we bought:
more outfits - 0000 and 000
a nappy wrapper
2 x cots sets
5 x bunny rugs or little blankets
8 x muslin wraps
2 x cots blankets
all the lotions and products
little things like burshes, dummies, thermometers
singlets
socks and more socks
mattress and bassinette protectors
floor rugs
lamb skin for pram
baby bath
stuffed toys - winnie and friends
christening outfit
actually not sure that is everything....can't be bothered getting up to check
AND...Mum brought over some of my blankets and little outfits that are still in...and some of my stuffed toys ...and books...
PLUS...have bid for a babasling on ebay...
I think I need to go back to work so I will stop spending $$$$
Mrs J
11-10-2007, 02:18 PM
We dont need to buy anything coz i have it all from DD and they are both going to be born in the same season so good way of saving i though LOL. Even though i have still got some clothes.
Bo0tifuL
12-10-2007, 04:54 PM
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b232/BuTt3rFl1/Bo0tifuL006-1.jpg
Here are some pics of haydens clothes ive been buying recently...Not much yet but my aunty had a baby girl so i get all the boys stuff back :D woo hoo!
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b232/BuTt3rFl1/Bo0tifuL008.jpg
MissSookyLaLa
14-10-2007, 09:15 AM
those clothes are so cute bootiful!
my MIL just got back from france and brought back some of frances version of baby bonds...they are so cute, have little french sayings on them though that i dont understand!
i'll take a photo when i can be bothered!
Widget
14-10-2007, 09:53 AM
I've now bought the 2 outfits mentioned previously AND a playpen - to keep DD out! :laughing:
Mamaduke
14-10-2007, 12:26 PM
I've bought...
http://www.strollermama.com/rock-star-baby-stroller.htm in beige/black
White sleigh cot
http://www.potterybarnkids.com/products/zb128/index.cfm?pkey=rromnurdid
Gymboree clothes
MissSookyLaLa
14-10-2007, 01:09 PM
your pram looks very stylish mamaduke, great choice!
Chelle123
15-10-2007, 11:11 AM
Here's a pic of my pram. (http://i222.photobucket.com/albums/dd319/chelle20_75/newpram.jpg) Its still on layby. I want to go and have another look soon as it's quite heavy but I love everything else about it. It goes both ways so I can see bub or change the handle to make it a normal 3 wheeler. I really wanted a 4 wheeler but they don't make many with blow up wheels, which I prefer for walking around here.
I've just realised that I only have about 11wks left and I'm really not organised at all. I have heaps of dresses and going out clothes, all bought by grandparents, but hardly any 'everyday' clothes or wraps, socks and normal stuff. I also want to buy a baby pouch for doing the school and kinder runs - I think it will be much easier than getting the pram out all the time.
pinkevie
15-10-2007, 01:46 PM
Everyones things look so nice. I find it so hard to know what to buy?!? How do you know what is a good pram - i am really confused.
So far we have buyed the cot, bassinet, change table and set of drawers and a bath.
(well my dh's parents got them for us - we got to pick but)
I have no idea what clothes to buy - extra hard as i dont know if it is a girl or boy??:banghead:
Crazy Monkey
15-10-2007, 01:51 PM
Here's a pic of my pram. (http://i222.photobucket.com/albums/dd319/chelle20_75/newpram.jpg) Its still on layby. I want to go and have another look soon as it's quite heavy but I love everything else about it. It goes both ways so I can see bub or change the handle to make it a normal 3 wheeler. I really wanted a 4 wheeler but they don't make many with blow up wheels, which I prefer for walking around here.
I have the same pram Chelle... I love it and its so easy to steer... It is quite heavy but you get use to it, and depending on the type of car you have, easy to pull the seat out to fold up (you don't have to pull the seat out to fold it up though)... I've bought the toddler seat, not sure how easy it is now to fold up, but we'll work it out...
Chelle123
15-10-2007, 03:18 PM
CM, I had a Valco once before but with my DS1 in the toddler seat, it was too heavy and nearly toppled more than once (lucky DH was there to catch it). However, my DS1 was about 18kg at 2yo. I really liked it otherwise, and won't need a toddler seat this time. I've got the skateboard attachment on layby for DS2.
Chelle123
03-11-2007, 12:03 PM
I just won a baby bath stand (already got the bath) on ebay for $5 and DH is going to pick it up on his way home. I never had one with the boys but I think it will come in handy. If not, I've only wasted $5.
The other thing I've got this week is the Fisher Price Aquarium rocker. My friend bought it a year ago and her DD has grown out of it so I've bought that off her for less than half price and it still looks brand new!
sairpaul
03-11-2007, 01:59 PM
Hi just got home and picked my layby up from kmart so we have the car seat now and baby monitor and we got some nappies and mil brought three bags of clothes towels and blankets etc for us. I had fun
feline11
04-11-2007, 03:23 PM
I had a great shopping spree today - bought the Fisher Price Aqua Baby Bath, a Kapoochi bag which has changing mat in it and insulated pockets for keeping bottles cool, an ear digital thermometer, 2 very cute coloured towels with star fish on them, a hooded towel with cute kitten face on it, some white sheet sets, a car shade for the window, a winnie the pooh nappy stacker and a safety gate for the nursery door so can keep door open but cats cant get in - its 1 metre tall so should stop them jumping over it. Had a great time
Chelle123
04-11-2007, 03:29 PM
I love this thread because I'm going back over it it finding things I still need to buy.
I've just realised I don't have any sheets for my basinet - only flannellette (sp?) as my boys were born in Autumn & Winter and I still don't have much in the way of everyday clothes for bub - plenty of party dresses though, bought by MIL (seriously, how many parties does she think this baby's going to?).
Chelle123
04-11-2007, 03:51 PM
I forgot to mention that I bought some butterfly wall stickers on ebay which will hopefully arrive this week. The room needs a bit more lift so I hope this will do it.
Also, my friend has told me about some hanging butterflies at Freedom so I might try and get there tomorrow.
sairpaul
04-11-2007, 03:59 PM
Sounds like you have been having fun too feline its getting excited only 8 weeks for me tomorrow so i am really trying to make sure things are right. Chelle. I didn't have and bassinete sheets either but when DH and i wen to pay some off our layby the people put 2 sets away coz they sell out quickly i luv our baby shop down here!!!
feline11
04-11-2007, 04:39 PM
that reminds me i need bassinette sheets too
i think someone sells them on the bub so might give a working mother the money
Chelle123
04-11-2007, 05:09 PM
that reminds me i need bassinette sheets too
i think someone sells them on the bub so might give a working mother the money
Let me know if you find the person. If I took the time, I could make them myself - too lazy though.
Ok ... looking around my messy dining room with the stack of baby stuff in the corner (haven't finished getting bub's room ready yet)
I have bought so far:
SafeNSound Premier carseat
Valco Urban ultralight stroller (champagne)
musical cot mobile
standard cot mattress (although not sure now as found our cot has heaps of missing pieces)
Pink curtains
White net curtains with stars and moons
sling
pop up insect tent with sunshade
heaps of nappies (no newborn - my bubs never fit them!) both sposie and mcn
bottles
breast pump (medela mini electric)
muslin wraps
mink blanket (pale blue)
mink blanket with teddy picture - DD and DS have a mink blanket with teddy each ... just sticking with tradition
cot comforter
3pk white singlet suits
3 pair pilchers
fisher price bouncer
2 dummies - "Daddies little Girl" and "I love my Daddy"
Watching several cots on ebay ... may need to take a trip to Sydney to pick up.
I think that's all ...
Have been given:
heaps of clothes in all sizes - most brand new
bassinet (not sure about it though)
heaps of bibs
towels
rocker
2 vtech baby gyms/pianos
Already have:
A selection of favourite outfits from DD and DS
An incomplete cot :thumbsdown:
Steelcraft avalon highchair
portacot
bouncinette
Steelcraft Swivelrite jogger - too heavy straight after c/s but fantastic for walking around our unpaved roads
wooden door barriers
Some cot sheets etc
Bought for DD and DS:
Metal safety gates for their bedroom doors so they can be older kids and have small items out without worrying that bub will get in and choke on them!
I think once I have a cot I will stop buying ... ;)
Chelle123
08-11-2007, 10:04 AM
Yesterday I bought some more decoration butterflies and a butterfly shaped cushion from Freedom. I'll have to wait till the weekend to get DH to hang the butterflies from the ceiling then I'll post a pic.
I've also ordered butterfly wall stickers on ebay so hopefully they'll arrive this week.
Do you think I've got enough butterflies lol?
We'll have to start a 'show us your nursery' thread soon.
feline11
08-11-2007, 05:09 PM
Let me know if you find the person. If I took the time, I could make them myself - too lazy though.
Here is the page in monkeysundies
https://www.monkeysundies.com/catalog.asp?catid=6
Chelle123
08-11-2007, 05:44 PM
Here is the page in monkeysundies
https://www.monkeysundies.com/catalog.asp?catid=6
That's really cheap Feline - could hardly make it for that. Might get me some. Are you?
Chelle123
08-11-2007, 05:55 PM
Just had a good look at the description but the size is smaller than my bassinette. I've emailed the seller to find out if she has my size.
MissSookyLaLa
08-11-2007, 08:28 PM
those sheets are great, so cheap too!
yep im buying some, i think i will buy the giraffe embroidered one too, i have a giraffe like that in my wall border for the nursery
chelle- nursery photos thread sounds awesome, im afraid our nursery is still chokas full of stuff and not looking anythign like a nursery, but maybe i will be inspired this weekend!
Chelle123
08-11-2007, 08:47 PM
those sheets are great, so cheap too!
I contacted her through ebay and bought cradle sheets (better size for my bassinette).
I got 2 soft pink and 1 bright pink. I'm not worrying about flat sheets though, I've always used bunny rugs to wrap and don't think I'll use the flats.
MissSookyLaLa
08-11-2007, 08:52 PM
i was wondering about whether anyone actually used the flat sheets- if i have the fitted sheet over the mattress and then bubs wrapped in a muslin bunny rug that will be ok for summer right??? im SOOOOOOO clueless with all this stuff!
Chelle123
08-11-2007, 08:55 PM
i was wondering about whether anyone actually used the flat sheets- if i have the fitted sheet over the mattress and then bubs wrapped in a muslin bunny rug that will be ok for summer right??? im SOOOOOOO clueless with all this stuff!
I haven't had a summer bub so I'm a bit clueless too. I've got so many bunny rugs and wraps that I really don't see a need for flat sheets. Anyone else with another opinion???
feline11
09-11-2007, 05:20 AM
think i might just go with the fitted sheets and use wraps as they say that keeps bub snug and secure and keeps them on their backs - is this true?
i hadnt looked at the sizes properly but will do and see what she can do for me if they dont fit my bassinette.
they look really nice thou and yeah great price
Chelle123
09-11-2007, 06:56 AM
think i might just go with the fitted sheets and use wraps as they say that keeps bub snug and secure and keeps them on their backs - is this true?
I think so. It's been 3.5yrs since I had a baby so there's probably new theorys and practices out there now.
Widget
09-11-2007, 08:00 AM
I've decided that I don't like this thread!!
All the things everyone gets to buy and I can't get anything...
Nursery photo thread is also out for me as I don't even have anywhere for bub to sleep - 6-10 weeks to go!!
Though, I do have a serious question...
When you get a cot, do you HAVE to order it in? If so, generally how long does it take to come in? Also, when do you pay for it??
Wondering if the baby bonus can help us with this struggle or not... But naturally, it comes after bubs is born...
Chelle123
09-11-2007, 08:37 AM
Not sure if you have to order it or not, probably depends on the store and the cot you choose. You might be lucky and get the after Christmas sales too.
When DS2 was born, my SIL was getting rid of her cot so we took it so we didn't have to buy a second one. I've since sold it on ebay for her and I kept my original one that MIL bought for us.
LilliS
09-11-2007, 09:02 AM
What are those bassinette sheets like you girls ordered? I have one set but have a feeling that I will need more.
I am STILL waiting for my Boori cot to come in and an getting a bit cranky as it has been a 3.5 month wait on it. It had better be here next week. GRRRR...
Even though I don't need it I would just like to see it in my nursery so I can "finish it".
What little things do I need to buy...you know those little things that come in useful?
As well as my furniture, some clothes 0000 and 000 I have bought creams and change table things but know I am missing stuff.
Chelle123
09-11-2007, 09:26 AM
Try this link to ebay (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/BOORI-SIZE-CRADLE-FITTED-OR-FLAT-SHEET-17-COLOURS_W0QQitemZ250181897170QQihZ015QQcategoryZ20 419QQtcZphotoQQcmdZViewItem)
or Feline posted a link to MonkeysUndies - I'm pretty sure its the same seller but I couldn't be bothered signing up to MU
Chelle123
12-11-2007, 07:58 AM
I just got an email from the ebay lady who sells the cradle sheets to say that they are being posted today.:smiliedance:
Hopefully they fit.
Widget
12-11-2007, 08:48 PM
Well, ultimately it wasn't purchased for the bub...
But, just bought Annabelle an Annabelle cot!!
LilliS
12-11-2007, 08:53 PM
I have just been told, my a single friend (ha ha), that an item such as a breast pump exists. Dopey me had no idea what they even were. Do I need one? Any suggestions?
Widget
12-11-2007, 09:06 PM
You might not. I only got mine because DD went to special care and I wanted her to have my milk.
But mine is the bees knees too... :D
Chelle123
12-11-2007, 09:07 PM
I have just been told, my a single friend (ha ha), that an item such as a breast pump exists. Dopey me had no idea what they even were. Do I need one? Any suggestions?
Not necessarily. I didn't buy one till I needed it, then found it easier/less painful to express without it. My advice, for what its worth, is don't buy one until you need it or know that you're going to need it (does that make sense?). If you need to do an urgent express, you can do without, I think the machines may be a little quicker.
I'm sure there are other opinions out there though.
Widget
12-11-2007, 09:13 PM
A little quicker?? :laughing: I cut my expressing time more than in half with my pump!!
I should probably dig it out seeing as I may need it this time too - glad I didn't sell it, i was going to!
Chelle123
12-11-2007, 09:24 PM
I hardly ever expressed so I didn't get a $$$ one.
The most I had to express was when DS2 was 4wks old and I had to have a chest xray and wasn't allowed to b'feed for 24hrs - had to express to keep up supply.
xxxDragonFlyxxx
12-11-2007, 10:09 PM
I posted in the main thread too, but I have a Tommee Tippee Nuborn breast pump, it's just a manual one, and for $100 it came with everything, bottles, teats, the pump, carry bag and a whole heap of breastpads, half of which I still have.
You don't need a breastpump at all, I only used mine as I was trying to increase my milk supply (I had horrid supply issues), but if it wasn't for that, I wouldn't of needed it.
If you plan on expressing and giving bub breastmilk from a bottle then you'll need one, or if you want to have one incase bub needs to be looked after by someone other than you while you're still breastfeeding, or if you plan to return to work early and still want to breastfeed etc...
But I wouldn't buy one until/if you need it. Otherwise it can be a huge waste of money. Especially as some women don't get a lot of milk from expressing, as the suction is nowhere near as good as a baby so you may not ever get a proper let down of your milk.
LilliS
12-11-2007, 10:15 PM
If you want to have one incase bub needs to be looked after by someone other than you while you're still breastfeeding, or if you plan to return to work early and still want to breastfeed etc...
Pretty much yes to all of the above. Which is why it made sense when my friend brought it up.
Widget
12-11-2007, 10:22 PM
I can't tell you what mine is yet, but it's good... The box is at Dad's place so I'll have a look when I get the chance. Being double breasted, it really does cut the expressing time in half (when full time expressing) Instead of 10 mins each side - it was pump both at the same time for 10 mins... So, instead of a 20 min express and barely any rest, I expressed for 10mins and got that much needed extra 10 mins!! Though my pump was around $250 brand new on the shelves July last year...
Just bought a cot on eBay ... "click here" (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=220167694691&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT&ih=012)
Will be getting a white one :smiliedance:
Chelle123
15-11-2007, 06:28 PM
What are those bassinette sheets like you girls ordered? I have one set but have a feeling that I will need more.
Mine arrived today in the cradle size and they are really good. They're a nice quality and fit really well.
Widget
15-11-2007, 07:12 PM
Well, as I said in the main thread... We got some clothes for bubba today... Can you believe Kmart DON'T sell 00000's???
I won't name these ones though, DD wants attention ASAP...
Pic1 (http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r46/MummaV/New%20Bubba/?action=view¤t=Gbodysuit.jpg)
Pic2 (http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r46/MummaV/New%20Bubba/?action=view¤t=Gbodysuitdetail.jpg)
Pic3 (http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r46/MummaV/New%20Bubba/?action=view¤t=Gbodysuitsbib.jpg)
Pic4 (http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r46/MummaV/New%20Bubba/?action=view¤t=Gdressbodysuit.jpg)
Pic5 (http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r46/MummaV/New%20Bubba/?action=view¤t=Gshirtsinglet.jpg)
Pic6 (http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r46/MummaV/New%20Bubba/?action=view¤t=Gshortsuits.jpg)
This the cot (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=270185353324&_trksid=p3907.m32&_trkparms=tab%3DWatching).
feline11
16-11-2007, 05:11 AM
Very cute V - cot looks really nice too
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.