View Full Version : Have you chose any names yet?
~Alicia
19-08-2007, 07:16 PM
I know it's early, but have you got any names in mind?
I'd love to have Matilda or Lily for a girl. Jayce for a boy. But DH doesn't like them :thumbsdown:
NicNac72
19-08-2007, 07:22 PM
DH and I have chosen names, but like always, we keep changing our minds...
At the moment we have Gage and Cohen for our bubbas, but we are waiting for out scan in two weeks to be clear of what sex they are before putting names in concrete.
We are having fraternal twins and were told they are both boys, but I have a sneaky suspicion the smaller one may be a girl!
Girls names..... I find are soooo much harder!
I like Eden for a girl, but every time I mention the name, people automatically think it is a boys name!
*~alegna~*
19-08-2007, 07:26 PM
We have names for both boy & girl picked. I like to be totally organised (control freak:rolleyes: )
So I'll spill but if anyone I know that is due before me comes across this thread & "by chance" names their baby the names we have chosen I'll be a little upset....I know I can trust my fellow febbie Ma's ;)
Ok, so **SSSSSSSHHHH**
Boy: Nash Johannes
Girl: Gabrielle Alexis
dormouse
19-08-2007, 07:40 PM
We have hardly even talked about names yet. I have a million girls names that I love so they wont be a problem, but DH & I just cannot agree on a boys name so we just havent really talked about it.
HoneyBlossom
19-08-2007, 09:35 PM
We have decided on a girls name, but can't on a boys. DH doesn't like what i choose. But we will know in a few weeks on what we are having and than fully decided.
Girl Name: Isabella Therese Anne
Boy Name: I like Lachlan Allen Scott, Brock Allen Scott, Nathan Allen Scott.
elissas
20-08-2007, 07:02 AM
We've chosen Bridget Clare for a girl.
Boys - we're finding a lot harder. We found it more difficult last time too. Jack is probably my favourite, but it's just too popular. I don't mind Matthew. Other than that we're stuck.
paulapoobum
20-08-2007, 08:09 AM
i am one of those really organised people to we still have the same boy name from last time because we love it
beau aurthor
and girls name last time we talked about it we said katlyn and nno middle name at the moment
strawberry lovemuffin
20-08-2007, 08:53 AM
I like Eden for a girl, but every time I mention the name, people automatically think it is a boys name!
Eden's a beautiful name, I wouldn't think it was a boy's name! Eden was one I liked too but it wouldn't go with our surname which is an "N" sound at the end. I don't think first and last names with similar intonation at the end works.
My girls name is Scarlett, either Scarlett Jade or Scarlett Celeste. I don't have any other serious contenders for girls' names, I just can't get past Scarlett, it's my favourite.
For boys, DH absolutely *loves* the name Trey, for some godforsaken reason (I hate it, reminds me of a bad American soapie actor!)
My choices are: Riley, Spencer or Eliott.
mahna mahna
20-08-2007, 09:10 AM
I have a niece called Eden! :)
ATM, I love (for a girl): Olive, Lily, Sage, and (for a boy): Jasper, Jarrah, Felix. But these change weekly!
The current front runners are Nicholas for a boy, with some cool interesting middle name that I haven't thought up yet...:rolleyes:
And for a girl, at the moment it is Luci, but we haven't decided on Lucille or another version of the name as the longer version. Marguerite will be the middle name, which is a family name.
Don't quote me though...it may change!
~Alicia
20-08-2007, 10:41 AM
I have a niece called Eden! :)
ATM, I love (for a girl): Olive, Lily, Sage, and (for a boy): Jasper, Jarrah, Felix. But these change weekly!
Oh I love Olive! (and olives :laughing: I eat them buy the bucketload! :eek: )
Eden is just beautiful Valentine I definately wouldn't think it was a boys name.
kristi001
20-08-2007, 02:17 PM
OK im another who throughout harrison's Pregnancy went through about 100 differen names that at the time i was deffinately Going to have.
So Boys name is Brooklyn Rylie Cooper
Girls names we arent so Sure but we are Fighting over..
Jordyn, Montanna and Lilly Her middle name will be Ashlee Hunter
I LOve Everyones Names they have Picked Out!!
JaidevsMum
21-08-2007, 12:15 PM
Ooh I loved Matilda - how gorgeous
We like to choose ours as Indian names that will still fit in here so they reflect their Dad's heritage, so..
boy - Taj Singh
girl - Jasminder Rose
the girls name may change but we both love the boys name!
sonlou73
21-08-2007, 12:53 PM
This bubba will most likely be another boy and so far DH and I are liking: Oliver or Owen.
I always change my mind with girls names - this week I like: Remy, Amelie, Mietta, Amaya and Emmy.
strawberry lovemuffin
21-08-2007, 02:26 PM
I love Oliver, but my that's my cat's name so I can't have that :laughing:
sonlou73
22-08-2007, 07:25 PM
DH likes Bailey but that's our cat's name! Last two DS he has tried to convince me to use Bailey by saying he won't be around forever :devil6:
2008bub
23-08-2007, 05:24 PM
You guys are so organised... I have a list for the boys.. but having so much trouble with girls..
Boys are - with middle name always Charles (family trad)
Oliver
Samuel
Harrison
Cooper
Campbell
Girls are - with Cherrie as middle name
Samantha
Haylee
Matilda2
23-08-2007, 06:56 PM
I like Eden for a girl, but every time I mention the name, people automatically think it is a boys name![/QUOTE]
I think Eden is really nice for a girl :)
TillieAndBug
23-08-2007, 08:43 PM
If it is a boy it is Holden Michael that is no change from my last pregnancy as it is really special name for me...my family name and my Daddy's name!
Girl hmmm that is tricky - with Matilda it was easy as that was the name we both agreed on...but this time DH being really vague about girls names but here is my list of especially specials...Isadora, Isabella, Arrietie, Freya, Oceane(ohsee-en), and Ellora. But think my favourite is Freya ;) but DH wont say if he likes...think he waiting on the 3D scan and will think about if it is a girl! Typical!
2SPUNKRATZ
24-08-2007, 10:03 AM
we have agreed on a girls name Aaliyah. i have chosen middle name for her but i will have to wait till we know the sex before trying to conivnce DH of them. so in full i would like Aaliyah Annelise Rebecca. my middle name is Ann, my sisters names and elise and rebecca.
we cannot agree on ANY boys names at all. DH is set on having a name that starts with D as the middle name will be James and he wants the initials DJ. our DS has the initials MC. so, did you guess DH is a muso?
NicNac72
24-08-2007, 04:05 PM
Ive heard and seen the name Aaliyah a few times, but I have know idea how to pronounce it??
It looks like a really pretty name!
we have agreed on a girls name Aaliyah. i have chosen middle name for her but i will have to wait till we know the sex before trying to conivnce DH of them. so in full i would like Aaliyah Annelise Rebecca. my middle name is Ann, my sisters names and elise and rebecca.
we cannot agree on ANY boys names at all. DH is set on having a name that starts with D as the middle name will be James and he wants the initials DJ. our DS has the initials MC. so, did you guess DH is a muso?
2SPUNKRATZ
24-08-2007, 04:23 PM
Kinda like AHH-LEE-AHH.
does that make sense?
NicNac72
24-08-2007, 04:31 PM
Yep! :thumbsup: I like it! Very pretty!
It's also like when I see the name Niamh. I get confused! I think its pronounced Nee Arm Uh! Ha ha When really it is Neve!
Don't worry about me, I am having a pregnancy brain day today! ha ha
~Alicia
25-08-2007, 07:48 PM
We have a boys name!! DH and I could not agree on a boys name when I was preg with DD (lucky she came out a girl LOL)
I can't believe we actually have one :D :D :D But we're not sharing it, we're going to keep it a secret.
2SPUNKRATZ
25-08-2007, 09:07 PM
i always get confused as to how anyone could see Neve in Niamh???? it doesnt look antything like it. lol. i always get confused by that to.
TillieAndBug
26-08-2007, 09:22 AM
Bit like Aiofe being Eva - All Irish to me :)
NicNac72
26-08-2007, 12:11 PM
As predicted, DH has decided he is not sure of the names he 'thought' he chose... lol He is doing my head in with this responsibility he has of naming our twins. Ha ha :banghead:
I might have to take control back! :p
crazykidz
26-08-2007, 12:18 PM
With 4 girls between us, we can't decide on a girls name... she will have to be nameless! Also DH won't discuss the possibility of another girl, so won't consider girls names anyway at this stage.
As for a boy, it will be named after DH.
Mrs J
26-08-2007, 07:48 PM
HMM im sure i have answered this else where. OH i know in the January Thread i am in between them both lol. We have chosen Alliyah Joan and has been from day one as i think its a Girl. A Boy will be Makai Robert.
2SPUNKRATZ
26-08-2007, 08:51 PM
OMG Mrs J. we have the same girls name just spelt slightly different. and i am really liking the name Malachai for a boy atm. similar to yours. hehe
we have similar taste.
Mrs J
27-08-2007, 02:54 PM
OMG we do to, i have LOVED it since we had Lorelei and DH picked that and i had no choice so i sort of hinted Alliyah this time and made DH think it was his idea and he agreed on it this time :laughing: sucker LOL. Only thing he changed was the spelling he likes it that way :rolleyes: I got Makai off Dr Phil :laughing: yeh i watch to much TV.
HoneyBlossom
27-08-2007, 07:20 PM
we have finally decided on a boys name.... (on our 24 hour drive)
For a girl we have Isabella Therese Anne
For a boy we have Hunter Allen Scott
Mumof6
30-08-2007, 06:50 PM
ATM it is Zamirah Joellen for a girl, with Zanetah Joellen as a back up.
Boy... OMG... Not sure... Sooo hard!
Quinn, Xave, Zeev, Zahn, Zion are all contenders... with about 5 others ROFL... So we are still working it out!
Spolly88
01-09-2007, 03:28 PM
For a girl, Harper Lily is our favourite. Most people love it too :)
Jaslyn Malaya is my second. (I'm half-filipino...hence malaya)
For a boy, our original favourite was Ethan Riley, but my bf has decided Ethan is too popular for his liking :rolleyes: , so he wants Jasper Riley. If I had my way, it would be Darius Riley though :)
sonlou73
01-09-2007, 08:31 PM
Spolly88 - i have a girlfriend who named her daughter Harper Ruby, its suits her. I really like Jasper - but my DH doesn't.
Spolly88
03-09-2007, 06:39 AM
hehe sonlou73, i love ruby too! :)
i think jasper is more common than i first thought...
demeter
03-09-2007, 05:37 PM
We've decided on our girls name (I've been in love with the name for many, many years, looong before I was even sure if I'd have kids), and we had a boys name but now I've gone off it, actually the boys name we have picked I really want to use for a second girl :laughing: Middle names are still undecided, we want to stick to a theme with middle names but haven't found a theme that works with the names we've picked.
For now they are: Harriet & Julian.
We've had our girls names picked from quite early on. Either Jocelyn (DH's grandmother) or Lorelei. Lauren is also a possibility.
But as for boys we are totally clueless at this stage, can't agree on anything!
*~alegna~*
25-10-2007, 06:52 PM
Nex, I love lorelei
We have names for both boy & girl picked. I like to be totally organised (control freak:rolleyes: )
So I'll spill but if anyone I know that is due before me comes across this thread & "by chance" names their baby the names we have chosen I'll be a little upset....I know I can trust my fellow febbie Ma's ;)
Ok, so **SSSSSSSHHHH**
Boy: Nash Johannes
Girl: Gabrielle Alexis
Thought i'd add as we're having a little girl, Her name will be Gabriella (varied a little) or "Gabbi". DH is on the middle name job & he is undecided now between alexis & Rose. Either way I'm happy.
Mrs J
26-10-2007, 07:17 PM
Nex Lorelei is my DD's name very uncommon, i have never heard it other than DD except for Gilmour Girls but thats not where DH got it from hence the spelling difference, it is such a pretty girls name isn't it :thumbsup: . We had Alliyah picked for a girl this time but DH came up with another one and wont budge :mad: It is Atayah Lee or boys is still Makai Robert. YET AGAIN he gets to pick and i get the middle name job again, oh well atleast he is into it i guess, and he does a good job and i am happy with it.
dingo
26-10-2007, 09:06 PM
All the name on here sound beautiful. We talk about it but nothing decided yet. Middle names are chosen. Both family names. For a boy front runners are Cooper or Tom, DF wants Bruce, but that will not happen as long as I have a say. Girls I like lots, DF is a bit harder to please, but we both at this stage like Tess, Zara and Eliza. No doubt these will change by bubs arrival.:wave: :wave:
2SPUNKRATZ
28-10-2007, 04:59 PM
Mrs J - Atayah is awesome to. sounds really pretty and rolls off the tongue well. hmmmm, nah i wont steal. lol.
leenaomi
28-10-2007, 05:29 PM
We're having a boy and will most probably name him Luke James (James is a family tradition on DH's side.) If it was a girl it would probably have been Anna Kathleen (Kathleen after DH's grandmother). DD has my Dad's name for her middle name (she's Elizabeth Jessie) so I thought it would be nice to use DH's family names this time!
Yay!
We've finally come up with a boys name we both like.
DH actually went looking :smiliedance: and came up with
.......ROWAN.......
And I LOVE it!
kristi001
03-11-2007, 07:58 PM
Beautiful names guys.. :D
Gawd us feb mums have great taste :yes:
cajary
04-11-2007, 05:06 PM
Oh I love the names in here! If only DH had such good taste as you all! He's terrible! The latest name that he came up with was 'Saber' as in 'Light Saber' - and the funny thing is he's not the big a Star Wars fan! To me the first thing that pops into my mind is 'SABER TOOTH TIGER!' from The Mighty Morphin Power Rangers! :laughing:
The names that we have been able to agree upon are:-
Ryder and Connor
Connor is after a character from his favourite tv show (Angel) - Connor is the main character's son however DH has just come to the realisation that Connor and his Dad didn't have the best relationship and he doesn't want to jinx his relationship with our next boy... so that's on a backburner for now.
DH doesn't want a middle name for this one as he himself doesn't have a middle name and he feels it's important that at least one bub is like him :)
dormouse
04-11-2007, 07:25 PM
We have finally found a boys name that we agree on but now we can't think of a girls name!
We have always founds girls names much easier to pick so I'm sure we will come up with something soon.
Hi Dingo
Bruce is what my DH keeps calling the baby now and i also told him that there is no way he is going to call it that when it come out :)
dingo
05-11-2007, 12:34 PM
Hi Cin,
I honestly don't know where they come up with these things. I don't know if he actually likes Bruce or if he just goes with it to get me going ??? Anyway it's not happening......Glad I am not the only one. :rolleyes:
GizmoKel
05-11-2007, 07:56 PM
We have pretty much decided on a girls name - Alyssa Skye or Alyssa Jade. We were told its a 70-75% chance of having a girl so haven';t really focused too much on a boys name yet though I know we will have to soon.
greenie
05-11-2007, 09:51 PM
My DH keeps suggesting the names of South American soccer players. Eduardo is his favourite at the mo!! Just have to hope it's a girl I guess...I find the whole name business so hard!
While we're on the subject though, what do you all think about naming your baby a really popular name? Before my DS was born I had a girl's name picked out but since then it seems to be getting really popular. Do you think I should let that put me off?
My name is Kylie and I hated being one of many Kylies at school, so not sure if I should risk doing the same to my child. Although I grew out of that, and now am very happy to be a Kylie!
Your thoughts would be appreciated ladies.
(it's probably a boy anyway!!) :o
mumwiththree
08-11-2007, 12:31 PM
Love all the names everyones picked. When DH and I were expecting or daughter, I got to pick her first name and he got the middle name. Her name is Holly Louise. I wanted something really femanine. The name I really wanted, DH didn't like. I would still have like it if this time round we were having another girl. But we are having a boy. The name I liked for a girl is Savannah Rose. But as we are not having a girl, we have chosen Hayden Gary. The Gary is after my father in law as he is now deceased. Hubby got to pick the first name this time.
Mumof6
08-11-2007, 10:55 PM
greenie... me personally... I would be put off... but I don't tend to go for the run of the mill names anyway.
If you love it, I'm sure popular or not, it will be perfect :)
Mummi2Be
09-11-2007, 05:13 PM
For a Girl we had Izzabella Sudi (mums name is Sue MIL's name is Dee)
But we have are having a boy and have Chosen Kaden, Not completely sure on the middle name yet, all my family hate Kaden though.. so its kinda putting me off it which is annoying because i think its a nice name
TillieAndBug
11-11-2007, 09:35 AM
For a Girl we had Izzabella Sudi (mums name is Sue MIL's name is Dee)
But we have are having a boy and have Chosen Kaden, Not completely sure on the middle name yet, all my family hate Kaden though.. so its kinda putting me off it which is annoying because i think its a nice name
Dont let family put you off! My husbands grandmother really rude about our choice, says she going to call him by middle name...and lots of people over here just roll their eyes when we say the name or just say oh thats different...why? My family however pretty much are thrilled (back home in UK) as it is a family name, and I am the first to use as first name (usually middle), I love it and so does my DH we just love the name...
so Holden Michael it will stay!
sonlou73
12-11-2007, 02:11 PM
Made up our minds bubba boy is going to be called Oliver Henry. Nearly changed our minds as a mate at DH's work called his son Oliver (just last week) we still love the name and won't change it - DH asked mate if that was ok and he said no probs (as guys do!). I even purchased the letters for his bedroom door, probably a bit too quick but hey who cares - now its definite. Feels weird though as with both DS's i didn't know their sex.
Greenie, I hated having a popular name at school too, and still don't like my name much. But if you REALLY love the name and it really suits the baby just run with it. Maybe have a back-up name picked out so you can have a choice when bub arrives. For me, picking a traditional name (versus something adventurous!) that is not at all popular is a priority. Very hard though, as the old fashioned type names seem to be very popular at the moment. Think I am on to both a boys name and a girls name that DH and I agree on now though, that I haven't heard anyone else use, so feeling happier.
greenie
12-11-2007, 09:35 PM
Good idea Bump.
Think I might try and find a back up name and have a good look at the baby before deciding.
I didn't have a definate name picked out for my DD but it became a lot clearer once I saw her.
I'm having that problem too that I like a lot of more traditional names that are all getting quite popular now.
I'm doing much better for boys though!
Ohhh...I think I might have just found THE name. One of my patients at work had this really old fashioned but quite unusual name today, and I LOVED IT! It isn't something I've really heard much, works well with the surname, is pretty cute for a little girl...oh I just love it.
Keeping it a secret for now though...;)
I've put it to DH and he's considering it, which is a huge step for him because usually anything I suggest he knocks back straight away.
:fingerscrossed:
Mummi2Be
19-11-2007, 01:39 PM
Dont let family put you off! My husbands grandmother really rude about our choice, says she going to call him by middle name...and lots of people over here just roll their eyes when we say the name or just say oh thats different...why? My family however pretty much are thrilled (back home in UK) as it is a family name, and I am the first to use as first name (usually middle), I love it and so does my DH we just love the name...
so Holden Michael it will stay!
My family have also said they are going to be calling him by his middle name (which is going to be Michael after my father) which I found really offensive, but also trying to not let it get to me.
If I fall pregnant again after this bub, im not telling anybody what we are naming him/her until after its born so I dont have to argue this time lol.
Mummi2Be
19-11-2007, 01:40 PM
mytillieroo, I only just noticed your sons middle name was michael :)
We are naming our little boy Lincoln Alexander. We aren't telling anyone what the name is because we don't want negative reactions from people - I know some people who would thoughtlessly say something like "what do you want to name him that for?" :no:
AOIFE
26-11-2007, 02:25 PM
Hi all im due on the 14th feb and im having a girl we still havent a clue what we are going to call her im thinking Chloe or Sienna Shannon,and he likes Sinead and Siobhan both are Irish .What ones do you like best?
TillieAndBug
26-11-2007, 03:28 PM
Think as you have Aoife, another pretty Irish name would be nice:flowerz:
Looks like we have finally come up with a name :smiliedance:
DH told me this name just popped into his head as he was driving to Bunnings (of all places). He hadn't heard it from anywhere, doesn't even realise it is kind of known as the name of a TV character...but it is very uncommon.
I like it, I don't love it, but I hope it grows on me. He is just so smitten with it, he's already calling her by this name. Do you think it's worth going with it seeing as it is kind of special that he picked it?
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.