View Full Version : What do you plan to do?

~Alicia
19-08-2007, 07:10 PM
Breast or bottle?

Co-sleep or cot?

Cloth or disposable?

These are just off the top of my head. Feel free to add your own. :D

~Alicia
19-08-2007, 07:11 PM
Mine are

Breast, co-sleep and cloth from day one :D

*~alegna~*
19-08-2007, 07:21 PM
Breast if I can (only BF DS for a few wks). Otherwise Bottle

Cot & Disposable.

dormouse
19-08-2007, 07:35 PM
I am planning to breastfeed, use cloth & bub will be in a bassinette/cot.
Of course, all of this could change as soon as bub gets here so I am pretty flexible...

GizmoKel
19-08-2007, 08:25 PM

I am planning to breastfeed (hopefully this time it works) and if not bottle.
Baby will be in a basinette in our room for the first few months then a cot in its room.
Will prob use cloth in the hospital and for as long as we can then go to diposable.

HoneyBlossom
19-08-2007, 09:32 PM
Breast or bottle? Breast Hopefully. If not Bottle

Co-sleep or cot? Porta cot with Basinette insert next to bed for a few months than cot.

Cloth or disposable? I'm cheating Disposable.

fabulouscazza
20-08-2007, 08:29 AM
As for me, hopefully Breast... Cot... Disposable (i think) havent decided on the nappies yet, its hard to buy cloth ones! Can't find them in a lot of places. I do like them.

elissas
20-08-2007, 08:56 AM
Definitely breast, but this time I'll encourage ebm in a bottle a bit more once breastfeeding is established. I waited about 8 weeks with DS to try it and he never took a bottle. Being a 2-3hrly feeder for nearly 13 months (he refused solids till then so was exclusively bf until he was 1), it got exhausting at times so I'll definitely be encouraging ebm this time round!

As with DS, a combo of co-sleeping, and basinette/cot in our room at first. Then move 'em over when either they're ready or we're ready, whichever happens first. DS moved happily into his room at about 10 months without an issue.

Mostly cloth, with sposies at night and for going out. But this time I'll invest in some MCN's. With DS I used the old style terry flats and did all the folding, clipping, etc.

Another one - Sling or pram/stroller? DS spent more time in the sling than the pram/stroller until he was about 8 months, which was sooooo easy. We could go out to parties etc and I'd put him in the sling and he'd sleep there the entire night! Plus, he had terrible colic until 6 months, so it was a godsend:yes:

elissas
20-08-2007, 08:58 AM
As for me, hopefully Breast... Cot... Disposable (i think) havent decided on the nappies yet, its hard to buy cloth ones! Can't find them in a lot of places. I do like them.

Most of the MCN's you can get online. There are sooo many! Check out the cloth nappy section in Parenting, you'll find heaps of mentions and the mums there know all the good sites :)

mahna mahna
20-08-2007, 09:06 AM
Breast for as long as possible, but it won't be as long as I want, because of problems with my bones. :(

Co-sleeping - DH has just built us a huge new bed, just for this purpose. It's bewdiful...

Cloth - I've already started getting an MCN stash together. They're luffly! (& they're all bought online, which helps support WAHM's).

MrsO
20-08-2007, 10:33 AM
Breast or Bottle? Breast most definately, as long as everything goes to plan of course.

Co-sleep or Cot? Hmmm, undecided. Thinking co-sleep for initial couple of weeks/months whilst establishing breastfeeding and Daddy will be home, then into bassinet/cot in room. I think we'll leave that one til bub arrives, just see how we go.

Cloth or Disposable? After some deliberation have decided to go disposable. I hate washing at the best of times (I know, I'm going to be in for a RUDE shock!) and I'm going to have to make life as easy as possible, particularly in the first few months.

Sling or Pram? Both! We have bought an awesome Mountain Buggy for going out and exercising, but I am also getting an Ergo and a Hug-a-Bub. I think they look wonderful, not to mention we will be doing quite a bit of air travel when bub is very young and I think they look so handy for navigating planes and airports!

~Alicia
20-08-2007, 10:35 AM
Oh Tia that's lovely! I'd love a nice big bed. I'm going to move DD into her big girl bed once we're in our own house. There's no room in our bed as it is, let alone with a newborn LOL.

Sling/Pram - definitely sling. I bought one for DD when she was 9 months old, but it was too late to introduce it, she hated it.

paulapoobum
20-08-2007, 10:36 AM
well i cant breast feed so i will be bottle feeding but i dont have a problem with that think i would have choosen that anyway,
baby will probably hopefully be in our room in basinette till sitting because has to then move to cot in my dd room and we are not sure if we can trust her so thought should wait till bub has some strangth
and disposable only because i am lazy
and pram i have a massive thing i was given a bertini huge so i have to use it as it was given by the mother in law

~Alicia
20-08-2007, 10:46 AM
and pram i have a massive thing i was given a bertini huge so i have to use it as it was given by the mother in law

:laughing: My in-laws bought us two prams. I probably won't be using either for this bubba :p

Bump
20-08-2007, 02:18 PM
Breast or Bottle? Breast hopefully, all going to plan. Co-sleep or Cot? I always assumed cot because co-sleeping was seen as such a no-no, but have been reading about co-sleeping in mags and sounds like a maybe.Cloth or Disposable? DisposableSling or Pram? Both. Pram for some outings, sling for others.

kristi001
20-08-2007, 02:27 PM
Breast or Bottle Like Harrison Breast For as Long as possible then I am Happy to Go to Formula.

Co-sleep or Cot Like Ds this baby will be in the bassinette in our room until thery are too Big for that and they will be into their Cot.

Cloth or disposable Mixture of both more then likely. Mostly disposables thou.

Sling or Pram Well I did the crazy thing and are having my second more then likely before my first will be fully out of the pram!!

So For the first few weeks bubs will more then likely be in the sling and then the pram when possible!

ShadyCharacter
20-08-2007, 03:25 PM
Breast or Bottle? Definitely breast. Will need to use EBM in bottles when I return to work, but am confident I can express no worries as I have done it before :)

Co-sleep or Cot? Co-sleeping.

Cloth or Disposable? Cloth. Though for the first few weeks sposies. Which I hate, but since DP does bulk of the washing, its his choice :)

Sling or Pram? Both - We have a Quinny Buzz and Quinny Zap (with Maxi Rider), but I am a sling junkie, so have an Ergo, HugABub, Calmawrap, mayawrap, Mei Tai, Ellaroo wrap, Podegai and a zillion others. I have a sling obsession :o

~Alicia
20-08-2007, 03:40 PM
:o HOly! I have one Haha!

mimcal
20-08-2007, 03:46 PM
Breast or bottle? Definately breast as our preference although we plan to use bottles with expressed milk quite early on as well.

Co-sleep or cot? Straight into the cot.

Cloth or disposable? Cloth using MCNs as much as possible. Will probably resort to disposables for longer outings.

Sling or pram? Both - don't know what I am going to end up using more so will have to wait and see.

dormouse
20-08-2007, 04:13 PM
Just adding my answer to the sling or pram question.. We will use both. I am planning on buying a sling, but I'm not quite sure which one yet & I will use that for as long as possible.
Ava will still be in the pram, but not for long enough to need to buy a toddler seat.

Duchessa
20-08-2007, 04:30 PM
Breast or Bottle? Breast.

Co-sleep or Cot? Co-sleeping for the first couple of months or so but then I'm afraid I lack the dedication to share my marital bed with my kids full time :eek:

Cloth or Disposable? I like to mix it up a bit but I have a good MCN stash left over from the twins.

Sling or Pram? Both.

Cin
21-08-2007, 09:57 AM
Breast or Bottle? Breast as long as all seems to go well

Co-sleep or Cot? I have a craddle for our room then a cot when a little bigger to go into their own room

Cloth or Disposable? Cloth, i have now found the ones that i like at DJs although i dont live there i can get them mailed to me, (they are Carringdale and are the thickest i can find) then disp when we go out

Sling or Pram? I have the pram and a baby carrier but i do like the look of a sling but unsure of which one and also someone told me that they are not SIDs rated

ShadyCharacter
21-08-2007, 10:51 AM
I'm afraid I lack the dedication to share my marital bed with my kids full time :eek:
There is also an issue of bed strength to consider :p:laughing:

JaidevsMum
21-08-2007, 12:09 PM
Breastfeeding, though will also try to express earlier so that bub gets used to a bottle as well, as DS never took a bottle.

Sleeping - not sure if we will have bub in our bed for the first few weeks or not - when DS was tiny I used to always wake up if he was in with us thinking I'd smothered him, and also in the early days I found it awkward to attach bub for a feed while laying down. Otherwise basinette then cot in our room, till I think the bub and DS are ready to share a room, maybe after 1 yr.

Combo of sposies when out or I havent had a chance to do the washing, otherwise cloth and also EC.

Sling, I use my pram once every month or so with DS. With DS I have a pouch sling, will be getting a ring sling for this bub because you can adjust it with them in there, so if they want to sleep I can lay them down, or if they wake up I can sit them up a bit. With the SIDS and sling bit, as they are so close to you you would be aware if they were not breathing anyway, it is not like a cot where you might leave them unsupervised, so I dont see it as an issue.

paulapoobum
21-08-2007, 01:05 PM
:o HOly! I have one Haha!

wow i dont even own one i got given one and gave it away

sonlou73
21-08-2007, 01:08 PM
Breastfeeding or Bottle: BF if possible for as long as bub will take it. DS#1 lasted 7 months, DS#2 11 months.

Sleeping: Bassinet then cot. DS#2 was too big for a bassinet (10lbs). Co-sleeping is a no go with DH & I - we've tried it & we couldn't sleep, in fear we'd suffocate the bub. I'm also a light sleeper so complete silence for me!

Cloth or Disposable: Without a doubt - disposable. Maybe I can be converted?

Sling or Pram: Both. Sling until bub gets too heavy. Unfortunately with DS#2 being heavy, I wasn't able to carry him around as much as I wanted too.

ShadyCharacter
21-08-2007, 01:13 PM
:o HOly! I have one Haha!One is never enough! You need different colours, different fabrics, different styles.... I could go on all day :ecomcity:

dormouse
21-08-2007, 02:41 PM
One is never enough! You need different colours, different fabrics, different styles.... I could go on all day :ecomcity:

In that case, can I ask, which one is your favorite? I have no idea which one to get. Especially as it will be summer & the bubs look very warm in there...

I have been looking at the babasling, but I just dont know!

mahna mahna
21-08-2007, 03:12 PM
Yeah, I'd love a recommendation too!

elissas
21-08-2007, 03:57 PM
I have a ring sling. Absolutely love it. Easy to adjust and easy on the shoulder and back. I got a large one too, partly because DH is so tall. But it was also handy because the tail was long enough to help shield DS from the sun, lights, wind etc, especially when trying to get him to sleep.

Re the SIDS thing. I don't think you'll find they need to be SIDS rated. As JaidevsMum said, you it's not like they are unsupervised.

The beauty of slings is that you can feel the warmth, breath, etc of bubs and it creates a wonderful bond. I loved carrying DS in the sling, I knew he felt close and secure.

Duchessa
21-08-2007, 04:22 PM
There is also an issue of bed strength to consider :p:laughing:

:eek: *Ahem* :o Did I ever mention my dh is overweight...

~Alicia
21-08-2007, 06:05 PM
Cloth or Disposable: Without a doubt - disposable. Maybe I can be converted?

How can I get rid of the maybe? :p :D

ShadyCharacter
22-08-2007, 09:57 AM
*Ahem* :o Did I ever mention my dh is overweight...He didn't look too overweight when I saw him :no: :p

Dormouse & mahna, With the slings... well I really do think that at least two is essential (to start with!), a ring sling for easy on and off and shorter periods, and a wrap sling for longer periods.

If you were really only going one sling, I would suggest the Amaryllis ring sling from www.carryingaway.com.au (http://www.carryingaway.com.au) (actually, not sure if she still makes them) - otherwise, just contact Amanda via the above website and ask what she recommends... she is lovely and always gives great advice. The Amaryllis is her own design (which I LOVE), but she sells many many different brands and designs of slings, so she isn't just pushing one particular product of her own iykwim?

My son is 3 years old, so I only sling him occasionally now, but am most excited with this pregnancy to go and visit Amanda again and stock up on all her new stuff :D

mahna mahna
22-08-2007, 11:08 AM
Thanks for that ShadyCharacter :thumbsup:
I'm definitely getting an Ergo, and a hug-a-bub, and now probably a ring sling too.

My in-laws insist on buying us a pram, even though we've said we won't be using it much. Wish they'd help us out with the baby carriers instead, but they think the pram's more "practical".

ShadyCharacter
22-08-2007, 11:39 AM
That's why I said 'to start with'... once bubs is older, you NEED an Ergo or Patapum too ;)

Prams are a toughy - as much as I love my slings (A LOT), I use prams a bit as well - its good to have a combination I suppose. I buy slings as baby gifts, but unfortunately a lot of my IRL friends and family won't use them :(

If you don't like the extra fabric in a ring sling, you could always try a pouch instead... I personally prefer the adjustable-ness of a ring sling, but love my pouches too. Carrying Away sells Ergos, HugABubs and ring slings, so might be easy to get them all in one shot!

NicNac72
22-08-2007, 05:19 PM
I am going to TRY and breastfeed. I am still feeding Scarlett occasionally as well, so this may work out a little to tricky. I would like to feed Scarlett up to 18 months, like I did with Jasper, but I don't see it happening with these to coming along now!

Cot and Disposables for us!

ShadyCharacter
23-08-2007, 09:48 AM
Do you still have milk Nic?

I am still 'feeding' my almost 3 year old, but I have nothing... nada, zip, zilch, not even a trickle. Kinda hoping that he will give up on them soon so I can get a rest between babes....

I am passionate about breastfeeding, but have often wondered at the logistics of feeding twins.. I know it *can* be done, but quite frankly, the mind boggles at imagining actually doing it!

greenie
28-08-2007, 07:38 PM
Ditto that about bf twins!! I am so full of admiration for mummies who manage that!

Well as for us its:

Breast (although I'm not looking forward to that :eek: ouchy part at the beginning!)

Cot - CANNOT sleep a wink with a lo in my bed so it's bassinet in our room then cot (when we kick ds out, lol!)

Cloth - using MCNs for ds so will just carry on with that. Though plan to use flats for newborn stage. Also interested in trying a bit of part-time EC this time. Worth a try!

Pram and sling- don't have a sling yet but would love to try one. I like the look of pouches but don't know a thing about them.

Kylie x

TillieAndBug
28-08-2007, 10:17 PM
Breast - only stopped with my DD 3 weeks ago...
Co-sleep to start with (DD slept in a phil and ted carry cot between us for many weeks) then in it in her cot before she finally at 11 weeks slept solely in grobag in cot. We'll prob do same with this one if that suits.
Disposables - really thinking about MCN's but we'll see what happens.

Mumof6
30-08-2007, 06:44 PM
Breast or bottle? bottle unless it is under 5 pound...

Co-sleep or cot? cot in my room with a tetra tree snuggle-bed inlay... DH would squash it if it was in our bed,,, he has no awareness

Cloth or disposable? disposable 100% I did cloth with the 1st 2, and a mixture with 3 and 4... no time to fit it in now, so Ill only use cloth for sick rags LOL

Sling or Pram... both... depending on what we are doing/ where we are going. The pram wont fit in the car with all 7 kids... but school hours it will :)

mumwiththree
12-11-2007, 09:30 PM
I tried to bf my first, but was quite young for a first time mummy and was going through depression and a lot of other stuff, so wasn't very successful.
But with my second, I bf her for 13 months. She would have loved to keep going as I would, but I needed to go out and get a job.
This time though, am not planning to go out to work for at least 5 years, as am planning on studying full time. So will feed for as long as I can.
With #1 pregnancy, I had him in a craddle next to the bed.
With #2, I co-slept most of the time and when I wasn't she was in a bassinet until she got too big. Then we tried to put her into a cot which she refused to sleep in, so we took my son's bunks apart and put one in our room right next to our bed and put a side rail on it and that's where she stayed from 2 months onwards.
With this one though, as I am now living in a more humid state, I want to refrain from co-sleeping as much as I know I may be tempted because of the heat. We have a bassinet and a cot.
I am cheating when it comes to nappies as I love the convenience of disposables as much as the planet doesn't.

dingo
13-11-2007, 07:19 PM
Breast, hopefully.
Cradle in our room for starters then cot.
Disposables....

BecD
16-11-2007, 05:52 PM
Breast
Bassinet in our room then cot
Disposables (biodegradable) to start with while I trial cloth, then switching to cloth full-time