View Full Version : Perth Mums
jakobsmum
26-08-2004, 23:17
I work part time, 15 hours a week, spread evenly over Mon, Weds and Thurs which is great as it means I get a long weekend every week and as most public holidays fall on a Monday I sometimes get a 4 day long weekend :p
I went back to work when Jakob was 6 1/2 months. It was hard at first as I was still breast feeding. I gave it up a short time later as it was too much for me, expressing that is. Sometimes I would like to quit work but then I love all the adult conversation and interaction. Hanging around Jakob at the moment I find myself singing to Bambaloo and roaring and screaming about! What the neighbours must think :o
There were a couple of websites to check out for first birthday ideas, though very basic. www.childrensparties.com.au & www.party-oz.com.
Talk to you soon.
PS A new thread started for us all to chat about whatever anyone fancies! :D
Hi Sarah,
I returned to work when Grace was 9mths. I usually work Wed and Thurs, but I am going to change to either Wed or Thurs and Sat or Sun (I’m a shift worker...nurse). I have found I so hard to work during the week as Grace has picked up every bug floating around at day care so I end up calling in sick/family leave at lease once every fortnight. So I thought if I worked two weekend shifts a fortnight, so my husband could look after Grace, I would have a better chance of getting to work.
I always feel so guilty about working, as if I was a SAHM she wouldn't pick up all those bugs, but I have to work as we need the extra income (and I do enjoy the adult interaction). But I still wish I could be a SAHM. I love being with Grace she is so much fun...and I hate to think what the neighbours think of us as we always are singing to some kiddies song...my favourites are 'there's a hole at the bottom of the sea', 'Der Glumph' and 'on the ning nang nong' :D . Also I must admit that Blue's Clues is my favourite TV show. :o
Talk to everyone soon.
jakobsmum
27-08-2004, 11:43
Thanks Gemma, made me laugh at your songs :D Grew up watching Play Schooland it's amazing that most of the songs are still in fashion. Jakob just squeals! Quite deafening.
Germs at daycare put me off the idea altogether. My best friends son is always sick :( Squirts, vomits, colds the list goes on. I don't think I will mind so much when he is older, I just hate not being able to make him as comfortable as I would like. Jakob had a bad cold a while ago and I could not get anything to help bring up the mucus. Felt like such a bad mum carrying him around whilst coughing up his lungs. The disapproving looks you get from strangers. :mad: Though it does build up their immune system, the only positive.
Was meant to go to playgroup today but the time is awkward. It goes from 9:30am-11:30am. Jakobs nap time. It is his best sleep during the day so I might wait until he drops to 1 nap a day.
Hope everyone has a lovely weekend :)
Hi Sarah and everyone reading,
Yes I hate those looks too. Especially from elderly women...you can just hear them saying to themselves "useless young mother". Makes you feel like a real failure sometimes. :(
Anyway, have a good weekend.
Lachysmum
28-08-2004, 11:00
Good idea to start this thread Sarah. I was going to join a playgroup (might even be the same one lol) at that time but had the same problem as you, 9.30 was no good for me cos that's his sleep time. He's got swimming on Thursday at 9.00 and sometimes i either have to wake him up or he misses out on a sleep which leaves him grumpy all day. On Friday he's got Gymbaroo in the afternoon and that's much better as he has a long sleep after that.
Gemma - how long did it take Grace to get used to the child care? Is there anything in particular that a child care centre needs to have? (ie. one person to look after no more than 3 babies at a time). I put Lachlan on a waiting list somewhere as i would like him to go there one day a week so i can go to work that day. But I think he is too young at the moment, might wait till he turns 1.
Have fun you guys. :p
Lachysmum - Grace started daycare at 7.5mths (6wks before I started back to work), and she loved it from day one. The first day I was there all emotional and Grace went to Vicky(nursery carer) and didn't look back! :rolleyes: Grant (hubby) drops her off in the morning and she is all smiles as soon as he walks in the daycare door. Vicky did warn us that she may become clingy from 9mths on, but so far we have had no problems whatsoever (she is now 12mths). I would start him 6-8wks before you start back to work so both you and him get used to the routine and are settled before working. It took me a couple of weeks to get used to what she needed and getting Grant proficient with it as well. Also you have a bit of time to yourself, which was just great...I really miss it. Additionally, it might be wise to start him before he is one in case he has some separation anxiety.
At the daycare we use (ABC...I think it is a national chain) they have 2 girls to 8 babies maxamim in the nursery and I think it is about the same in the toddler groups as well. They start at 6wks to 15mths in the nursery...personally I couldn't imagine putting a 6weeker in daycare.
Make sure you go and visit the nursery before you choose which day care you want and look at the kids and see if they are generally happy, if they are a bity grubby don't worry by the time they have played with their food and played with paint and "goop", they need a bath but they are enjoying themselves and thats the main thing.
Talk with the staff, if they are friendly and personable and you feel you can get on with them, and they interact well with the kids then thats great.
See what the sleep room looks like, is it air-conditioned (living in Brisbane where is gets really humid and hot air-conditioning was a real priority for me).
Some mums like the daycares that provide food and nappies (sometimes at extra cost). Mine doesn't but I don't find it a problem...just get a big pack of nappies that will last a month, and if you are providing the food then you know exactly what they have eaten.
I have found it just great for Grace, as none of my friends in the local area have kids, so she would only gets to play with others once a month. So it has been fantastic for her, she already has little friends, and it has been great for her physical and mental development. Also if there was any problems in her development, the girls would tell me straight away. I have also found it a good support for me as a first time mum. I was always asking them what the other mums would feed their kids so I knew when to introduce new things, how I could settle Grace better etc.
The only negative is the bugs she has picked up. But if she didn't get them now it would be when she went to kindy, pre-school, or school. She has gotten lots of upper respiratory tract infections, diarrohea and vomiting only once and the chicken pox (unfortunatly I hadn't gotten Grace jabed yet). However, I think there have been far more positives than negatives and I would recommend daycare to all mum's.
Well that was a bit of a speal wasn't it...hmmmm...I think I might just stop typing now... :o
See you all soon. :D
jakobsmum
29-08-2004, 11:58
Chris and I are so naughty. Jakob's birthday is still a month away but we decided to give him his birthday pressie now. We had just borrowed a little tikes walker from the toy library and Jakob just took to it. Walking pushing it around. A couple of months ago we bought the fisher price stride to ride walker for his birthday. It just had to come out early. :o He just loves it and is pushing it around everywhere with the music going off. We also have just reborrowed Jakob's favourite toy. A little tikes car that has a handle that we can push him around in. We have high pithched squeals of delight filling the house :D Especially when Chris zooms him around at high speed and fakes wheelies. What can I say, boys and their toys :p
We have just come back from a lovely walk down to another park (the one closest to us has no swings :confused: ) It had a wee kiddy swing that Jakob just loved. The weather this weekend is just beautiful after all the rain that we have been having and need. All my washing is getting dried a lot faster too!
Anyway back to all my lovely housework, have to get Chris working on it too.
Lachysmum
04-09-2004, 18:00
Hi Girls, :)
Gemma thanks heaps for the info on the daycare, appreciate it heaps. I've got good news, my 9.5 month old started walking on Monday! It's so cute! I should show u 2 a pic ? :D :D
jakobsmum
04-09-2004, 19:50
Well done Lachy!!! :D
What a magical moment, I am eagerly watching Jakob for this as he loves walking around whilst pushing something. It looks as though it is about to happen but then I let out the breath that I've been holding and he goes off crawling.
I am happy he is not walking yet. He has way too much energy for one person and I can see him running around in circles trying to get rid of it :p
If you have the pics on you computer email them to me. My address is on my profile :)
Yeah for Lachy, Grace started on wednesday, but we havn't had a repeat performance. Though she has gotten very proficient with her walker. Its all confidence with her. But I know your joy its so amaxing watching your baby walk!
jakobsmum
06-09-2004, 10:33
Well I hope all the fathers out there had a lovely weekend. Chris got spoilt by having a sleep in, a cooked breakfast and big cuddles with Jakob :p
Chris had to work on Saturday night, which left me with Jakob's evening routine. I don't mind too much it's just easier with two. I gave him some dinner, which he picked at as usual and then gave him a bath. Well had a bath with him. Chris usually does this and the two of them have a ball. Water everywhere, lots of noise and toys thrown out left, right and centre.
I am so amazed at Jakob's behavioural differences. He sat quietly in the bath with me playing with his toys, which did not get thrown out, happily chatting to himself and sitting between my legs to have his bath book read to him 3 times! I was blown away. Has anyone else had similar experiences?
Anyway hope you all have a lovely week :)
mamafelix
06-09-2004, 12:56
Absolutely.
Bath (or any play) time with Dad is energetic, lots of noise, laughter and splashing or wrestling or whatever. With me Felix is quieter, more independant and looks to me for help but doesn't expect me to run the playtime like dad does.
I guess males and females interact with kids differently?
Not sure what happens with a girl baby- if it's different again?
Lachysmum
08-09-2004, 15:37
I havent had a bath yet with my little Mr but hopefully soon. He still gets bathed in his baby bath!! I put it ontop of the washing machine. He is petite so still fits in it. :p
jakobsmum
08-09-2004, 16:17
Jakob is driving me mad. He will use whatever means necessary to walk around the house. He really enjoys pushing our dining chairs about, lovely noise on a tiled floor :rolleyes: I always try and say to myself that I can wait for him to walk but I am enjoying this stage less and less. I just don't want to think about what I will be in for when he starts running around everywhere :eek: He is getting a lot more frustrated too as he has more teeth coming.
But one lot of good news is he is eating a lot more and he is drinking from the Pigeon cup we bought him, with the straw attachments. Still not very interested with holding his bottle though :(
Hil, Jakob grew out of his babybath long ago. He was too long. We just filled the bath tub with about 10cm of water and lay him in there. He just loved kicking his legs around. Otherwise now he has a shower with Chris which usually ends with water being sprayed everywhere! (We have a detachable showerhead) But an easy way to clean the bathroom :p
Lachysmum
11-09-2004, 10:44
Hi Zoe, where abouts in Perth are you?
Sarah dont you hate that noise when they drag the chairs around the house! I'm getting used to it now.
Any more perth girls lurking here? Please feel free to join us. :D
mamafelix
11-09-2004, 21:37
Hi Lachysmum
I'm in Shenton Park, near Subi.
Thinking about moving south though, now my dh has a job we might be able to buy our own place...
jakobsmum
13-09-2004, 11:23
Hi Zoe, I read your birth story at the natural parenting site. It was amazing. Are you planning a home birth again? Good luck with hopefully buying your own house. It is great owning your own home. I don't have to worry about Jakob damaging the place and I'm sure I'm a lot more laid back not worrying what destruction he may have caused to someone elses house. Though we were previously living in my parents' rental property. So would've been let off easily :p
What a lovely weekend we have had. We went to an engagement party yesterday and took Jakob. He was sooo well behaved. Even though he was getting tired. He just soaked up all the attention. He loves it, and plays up to it also.
We have just found out that Chris' mum has some more spots on her brain. She is currently having radiotherapy so it is a bit of a blow. They were a bit strange about telling us. We found out about it from Chris' sister about 2 weeks ago! We have been waiting for them to tell us. I shouldn't be, but I get really annoyed when they leave him in the dark as they do it quite often. He gets quite upset about it and feels he can't talk to them about it :(
Well I hope everyone has a lovely week. Sorry for rambling on. What is everyone doing? Talk to you soon :)
jeanelle
13-09-2004, 21:31
hi all my name is jeanelle, my little girl is 7 months only just sitting up by her self but i have to sit with her when doing this as she throws her self back some times :eek: . I oso have a 7 year old son, who is on the go all the time :(
jakobsmum
15-09-2004, 09:16
Hi Jeanelle, how are Jessica and Kyle? Congratulations on Jessica sitting! I have just posted off another batch of labels :D
mamafelix
15-09-2004, 11:46
Hi Sarah
yeah I'm definately going to aim for another homebirth for my next baby(ies! hopefully). I'm particularly hoping tat second time round will be a little quicker and easier, I guess at least I'll know whats going on a bit more so I will be sure to sleep in the early stages! Also hoping that any further bubs have smaler heads... Felix's head is always in the 99th percentile of babies so I guess that didn't help... particularly as I am quite small in the hip region!
Actually weve just been kicked out of our house- it's been sold so we have to move quick sticks- probably going to rent for a while before we decide on buying. Looking forward to it though as we have been living in my parents in laws place which can be a bit taxing.
Sorry to hear of your MIL's illness, I think it can be hard to talk about those things sometimes.. sometimes especially to those close to you- it makes it more real. Maybe your dh should bring it up- it might be a relief to everyone?
jakobsmum
15-09-2004, 16:13
Thanks Zoe,
We have talked to them about it and seems to fall on deaf ears. We have even been told not to go to the hospital when she has had her ops, even when his sister is there. Even more upsetting because he thinks they don't want him there. It is a different story now with Jakob.
Hope you find a house soon :) Good luck with the move, we moved here when Jakob was 6 weeks :eek:
jeanelle
15-09-2004, 21:03
Hi Jeanelle, how are Jessica and Kyle? Congratulations on Jessica sitting! I have just posted off another batch of labels :D
thankyou i go then yestday ( do you want me to pay you for then, as some people have said not to and some just wanted me to pay them in stamps). :rolleyes:
jakobsmum
15-09-2004, 21:49
No don't worry about it. If you want any more just send me another envelope like last time :D
jeanelle
15-09-2004, 22:15
No don't worry about it. If you want any more just send me another envelope like last time :D
can you pm your address as bin men can today :)
jakobsmum
18-09-2004, 23:55
It was such a lovely day today! Beautiful weather. We went to a first birthday party for Jakob's third cousin born a week before him. It was at the South Perth foreshore. It was very windy and sunny. I am soooo glad that I bought some sunscreen for Jakob. I kept applying and applying. Not burnt at all, which is good seeing as we were in the sun a lot. He has been blessed with Chris' darker skin tone. Hardly gets burnt at all. :rolleyes: It was a lovely day with other kids his age there. He loves other bubbys. Likes their toys more though, lol. He is sleeping over my mum and dad's tonight. 2nd night ever. Hopefully I will get a bit more sleep this time. I am going on a train trip on the Spirit of the West tomorrow for a 5 course lunch! Very spoilt :D So will see him in the afternoon. Hope everyone else is having a great weekend :)
jakobsmum
04-10-2004, 17:15
:D :D HAPPY BIRTHDAY JEANELLE!!! :D :D
Hope you have a lovely day
I found your thread after searching daycare in Ellenbrook. I have an 18 month old and no relatives in Perth to give him an alternative outlet, so are thinking about one day a week in daycare. I tried this when he was younger and he was sick all the time, so I pulled him out. With the new bubs coming, I think it will be beneficial for him to spend some time away from mum and broaden his horizons. Hmmm, but I feel so BAD! :( I notice Jakobs Mum is from Ellenbrook - do you know anything about the Daycare centres there? We are building at Coolamon Heights. We were in Morley, and currently renting in Henley Brook while the house is being built. It's taking a tad longer than scheduled, so we are moving to another rental in Ponte Vecchio next week. So I'm not sure of the daycares here. I'd rather he went local, than back in Morley like before.
Just one more question - do your children eat???!!
jakobsmum
10-02-2005, 19:50
Hi Esther :)
Welcome to Bub Hub. Yes I live in Ellenbrook. Across the oval from where you are building! My mum watches Jakob for me while I work so don't know too much about daycare here. I live just down the road from Jacaranda child care ( a branch of Mulberry Tree). They are supposed to be very good. Why not just drop in and have a chat to them? There is also the Woodlake Childcare centre but don't know about them. 2 more centres are being built in Charlottes Vineyard also. You could also try getting him into Playgroup. There are a few here. One next door to Jacaranda child care. Info for that should be on the electronic newsletter (on TV) or in the Windows paper. Good luck. Let me know how you go :D
Hi Sarah
Thank you for that information. Across the oval hey! You'll probably see our Black Jeep going past every day then to check on the house! Did you build the one you are in?
We checked out Jacaranda - they were full unfortunately, but we did get a better feel for Woodlake anyhow. They had real grass and doors open. Jacaranda was a bit stuffy, hot and smelly. So we have enrolled Liam in at Woodlake for a Thursday to see how he goes. I really want him to be with older children so he can watch them eat and do other things. We have two playgroups we go to in the week - one is casual where it's really for us mums to catch up and the other is for Liam where he can access some great learning tools and toys. We just started that one last week.
Other than that we love Toddler Town! Liam first walked there, which was very exciting. Dad was there too and we just laughed and laughed. It looked so cute.
See you later
jakobsmum
20-02-2005, 15:29
Hi Esther :)
Yes we live just up th road from the medical centre. A good thing seeing how adventurous Jakob is! I hope Liam goes well at daycare. I have to admit the artificial grass is a bit off putting for me also.
Jakob and I go to a few internet parent meets which is a great place for him to meet other kids of different ages whilst I get to meet some of my online buddies. He loves it and is usually worn out by nap time and has a huge sleep.
Sorry forgot to answer your other question. No Jakob doesn't eat. He is 17 months this week. He does eat a few things but then is never interested in them when I make them again. Jakob loves to feed himself so have to find things that are easy to pick up with a fork by him. He likes, gnocchi, ravioli, sausages, tiny apples, popcorn, cheesymite scrolls. We had chicken caesar salad the other night and he just picked out the chicken and croutons. I have dropped the amount of milk he has daily and it has helped a bit. Good luck, I keep being reminded that they will not starve themselves.
Hi Kim :)
I think some daycares take babies from 6 weeks? Why not give a few in your area a call? Good luck.
Take care everyone xx