View Full Version : Itti bitti or Baby Beehinds...HELP
Well I have been converted now i have to decide, HELP!!
So itti bitti or baby beehinds what do you recommend? Or can you suggest a brand...
And why have you chosen the one you selected?
Thankyou.
Elle
I think like with anything it's a personal choice.
Baby Beehinds bamboos are favourably reviewed for night use, but I find they take too long to dry to warrant using them during the day. However the hemp ones get favourable reviews for day use by those who have them.
Myself I tend to use pocket nappies and AIO's during the day as I find them much easier to whip on an off, and I like the fact that they have a stay dry inner, so the boys stay feeling dry even if the nappy is wet.
I use Bum Genius pockets, Haute pockets and BlueBerry pockets. I have 3 WAHM AIO's, and 2 BBH Magic-All AIO's.
My favourite nappies are my BlueBerry's and BumGeniuses, I love the trimness of the BG's and I love the cuteness factor of the Blueberry's.
All of the nappies I have (bar the WAHM ones, and the one Berry Plush I have) are a one size fits all. So That I can get the most value for money as I can use them on the boys and on bubs (when he FINALLY gets here).
In terms of covers for the fitted nappies (my Baby Beehinds Bamboos) I tend to use Bummis PUL covers or Bonds Polar Fleece track pants (coz then I don't need to put a cover on :thumbsup: )
I haven't used an Itti Bitti.. so I haven't answered the poll. Hope that info helps though :yes:
neostudded
17-08-2007, 19:33
Baby beehinds are what Julius uses they are the only cloth I use currenty, I dont regret buying them one bit!!! I bought a full time nappy package so I never run out of nappies when they are drying.They are also one size fits all/most so they will fit him till he is at least two.They are very comfy and fit him perfectly, the bamboo are lovely and soft.Hope that helps :)
stellarella
17-08-2007, 19:43
I like....
Bits for Bots
Bubblebubs
Blueberry
Beetlebums
Cuddlebuns
Kidz in Cloth
There are so many types out there, just get one of each and see what you like.
I agree with Stellarella try out a lot of different ones.
I like Bubblebubs:thumbsup:
BabyBeehinds!
but my other fav is Blueberrys! sooo devine!
hayleysmummy
17-08-2007, 20:00
I have just started putting DD in cloth today and am building my stash just about to post some pics soon I have
Baby Beehinds Bamboo and hemp I personally love the bamboo I think the hemp will be too hard to look after
I have a pea pod in green I put DDin it today and I quite like it thats a pocket which is so easy all you do is put the trifold liner in the pocket and away you go
And I have a Monkey Doodles which is an all-in-one so you dont need tp put anything in it but you can for extra soakage :laughing:
with the Baby beehinds though you will need a pul cover I think they are 11.50 but I'm pretty sure you can use any
I would get a few Bbay beehinds they come withtheir liners when u buy them which is good but honestly I thought I could never use cloth and I have proved myself wrong I'm upset that I didnt use them from the start I'm still going to use sposies at night though I dont want any leaks in bed if you need the best sites to get em from let me know:thumbsup:
im new to cloth so dont know much but i do love itti bittis infact i have ordered 6 more in black and pink they are great havent had any leaks at all and that is with the hemp ones i am waiting on the bamboo ones, we dont use them for night time but for day they are fabulous
GraceUnhearing
17-08-2007, 20:19
good luck getting ittis to make a whole stash :P
both the ittis and the BBB are great
bu there are so many out there that i would have both for my entire stash
i love my Greenkids
berry plush
wild child
everything works different for each bub.
its a matter of trial and error and see which one works best for your bub.
and also as they grow there body shapes change.
so what works now might not work later on
17-08-2007, 20:30
Baby Beehinds and Itti Bitti's are very different nappies- I use the BB's (bamboo) for night or long day naps and the Itti's for short periods, going out and under leggings or jeans which require a trimmer nappy... I assume you mean the AIOs?
There are so many types... I personally recommend pockets for day use, with a few special AIOs or AI2s (all-in-two's) and soft, lush bamboo fitteds and woolies for night and naps :)
Sooo with that in mind, I have:
Pockets:
Swaddlebee organic velour side snap
Green Kids (their trial pack is awesome, a great way to try pocket nappies :yes:)
BumGenius
fleece WAHM pockets (made by HoopDeeDoo)
Fuzzi Bunz
Blueberry
Fitteds
Baby Beehinds (in bamboo)
Cute Tooshies bamboo delights
Very Baby Simply Nights (bamboo velour)
Good Night Sleep Tight (Bubblebubs, also in bamboo)
AIOs/AI2s
Itti Bitti (AI2)
Berry Plush (AI2)
a 'HoopDeeDoo AI2' (haha, love how that sounds :) )
Cherub's Kiss Honey!Boy (AIO)
Read up on the sticky's and have a look at past threads, and of course ask any questions you have! :D
SassyMummy
17-08-2007, 20:33
I have both and use them at different times of the day with my girl. BBBs are for night, Itti Bittis are for the day when we go out (because they're really really trim).
TBH, I dunno how well an Itti would hold newborn pooplosions... The legs on mine are not as tight-fitting as my BBBs... I would imagine the Itti to definately leak and spill newborn poo everywhere.
I'd get BBBs to be honest. They'll last a whole lot longer weight-wise. I'd wait until your bub is a fair bit older to get an Itti.
17-08-2007, 20:33
There's a fantastic BubHub page with a huuuuge list of links to MCN retailers :thumbsup: If I knew exactly where it was I'd link to it here... anyone else wanna? :D
So how many will I need???
Bare with me here ladies i dont know about this stuff LOL
SassyMummy
17-08-2007, 20:41
With a newie? LOTS!
I would recommend getting more than just the one brand though... I'd test out a few. Most of us don't just have one brand... we have lots of different brands that work at different times of hte day/different situations/etc.
I'd say a good amount might be... 24 nappies for a newborn? Maybe more if you can manage it!
hayleysmummy
17-08-2007, 20:42
I think and I may be wrong for kaids age about 6-10/12 a day
and double if you only want to wash once every 2 days
SassyMummy
17-08-2007, 20:45
You need AT LEAST double what you'd use per day... so that you can use one set, while the others are being washed/dried.
So, say your bub is using 12 nappies a day. You can't really be in cloth full-time and JUST have 12 nappies because then you'd use them all up one day, then have to wash them the next, and use sposies or something that day instead.
So if you use about 12 nappies a day, you'd need 24 nappies in total if you intend to wash daily.
It'd be better to get more though... as "spares" in case you need them... and it's probably safer to have more anyway...
Kaid doesnt go through 12 sposies a day lol is there something wrong with him he goes through 6 LOL
~J'dore~
17-08-2007, 20:55
No, My bub's normally only goes through about 6. Max 8.
If he's only going through 6 a day then 24 would be heaps if you wash every 2nd day:)
SassyMummy
17-08-2007, 20:56
Maybe go for... 18? If he's sick, he'll end up going through more, so you'll need some spare.
18 is probably a good starting point then if he only goes through 6 sposies.
Keep in mind though, that you may have to change wet cloth nappies more than you'd have to change wet sposies. It's something I've discovered.
~J'dore~
17-08-2007, 20:57
Gosh, 12 a day would be 1 every 2 hours for the full 24 hours:eek:
We don't change during the night at all, he wears the same nappy from about 7pm til 7am.
stellarella
17-08-2007, 20:57
Have you looked into prefolds for a newborn? A bucnh of prefolds and some PUL covers would be a good option. Easy to wash, dry quickly, inexpensive.
Thats what i thought!! HAHA
I dont change his nappy between 10pm and 7am while were asleep but will he leak when i use cloth?
Prefolds.... PLEASE EXPLAIN:confused:
~J'dore~
17-08-2007, 21:03
Not if you put him in a good combo. Coop wears a BB Bamboo with a mircofibre booster and a mircofleece liner on top to help him stay dry. Then a BB cover over top. It sounds like a lot but it's not too bulky... kinda cute actually:)
~J'dore~
17-08-2007, 21:11
While I've been increasing/making my stash, I've been using folded terry flats (just a big square fluffy type cloth) at home with a mircofleece liner wrapped around them inside a BB PUL cover. I haven't had one leak yet:yelclap: I'm making some prefolds out of bamboo fleece and pocket nappies, but until I have enough I'll just keep using the terry flats.
It's a really cheap way to go. The BB pul covers are only $11.50 each and you don't have to change them every change if they are still clean. Just rotate them between two covers to let them air. A New Blessing webstore has Baby Beehinds on sale with 10% off until sunday.
im on the anewblessing website so these pul covers you speak of are they also called pul wraps ????
okay so i am about to order
baby beehinds bamboo fitted nappy
and
Baby behinds hemp fitted nappy
they are 25 each then 10 percent of that
Cheeky Little Monkey
17-08-2007, 21:29
Make sure you get a cover (PUL or Wool ) to go over it:thumbsup: and some fleece liners too
hayleysmummy
17-08-2007, 21:31
:smiliedance: I'm so happy for you elle we are the newest cloth bum mums :thumbsup: yep your order is good pul wrap is the cover yep
Shipping Method: Standard Shipping
--------------------------
Product ID: Babybee-Hemp
Product Name: Baby Beehinds
Hemp Fitted Nappy
Quantity: 1
Unit Price: $25.00
> > > Choose Colour : Rainbow
Product ID: Babybee-Hemp
Hemp Fitted Nappy
> > > Choose Colour : Natural
Product ID: Babybee-Bamboo
Bamboo Fitted Nappy
> > > Choose Colour : Marine Green
Product ID: Babybee-PULWrap
PUL Wrap
Unit Price: $11.50
> > > Choose Size : Medium (7kg-11kg)
Product ID: Babybee-Bamboo
Bamboo Fitted Nappy
> > > Choose Colour : Purest Blue
Order Total : $111.50
Shipping : $5.00
Discounts : $11.15
Grand Total : $105.35
Did i do good???
Now do i need any inserts? For extra absorbency?
hayleysmummy
17-08-2007, 21:55
You get the inserts with the Baby beehinds but you can get extra if you want more its up to you also I just went on the itti bitti website and got to nappies for $49.50 with free postage they are ussually 55.00 without post plus you get something that comes with it cant remember now oh yeah bamboo boosters pretty good price I want more :laughing:
Cheeky Little Monkey
17-08-2007, 21:57
Stick with what you have for the time being, you can always order more later if your baby is a super weeeeeer!
PS, Your inbox is full :)
deleted some pms just now:)
hayleysmummy
17-08-2007, 22:04
How many have ya ordered now Elle you addicted yet I am :D
i voted for neither cos they're both totally different; for different purposes, and they're both my favorite.
i use BBB for night - nothing beats them for absorbency, good leak/blowout protection, but they're very chunky.
itti bitti - nothing beats these for trimness and small-bum-ness, but they tend to leak/blowout/wick just because of the trimness, if left for more than 4 hours. but the trimness is a huge plus for me!
my stash consists only of BBBs, ittis, and pockets, and i use cloth full time..
HollowLegs
18-08-2007, 01:01
I have both ittis & BBB & love them both for different reasons - they're 2 totally different nappies we use for different occasions.
I generally choose a BBB at night & when we're home during the day - (mostly in the mornings) - i know the BBB's have the absorbency ability to hold the superist of wees. I don't tend to use them when we go out as i usually put wool shorties or longies on over them, & as we sling it most of the time compression leaks can happen with wool.
Ittis on the other hand i go for when we're out & about, & i want something trimmer to go over a nice outfit or something - i tend to use them in the arvo or early evening when DD wees less & tends not to poop - not sure how they'd hold up in that case, touch wood never been in that situation with an itti on...
They're both really well made quality nappies, get a couple of each & see what you think. They've also got great resale value if you decide they're not for you too. Also, i've also got to say that both the WAHMs that own them offer terrific customer service, & are only too happy to help you out should you need any help.
As lots of people have said it is good to have both types for diff times of the day.
It is definitely a great time to try an itti with specials on their trial packs until the end of August. :)
i got 2 hemp and 2 bamboo and a pul cover im having a look at the bumgeniuses now, where are itti bittis on sale?
^there're some on buyforbaby atm for $25
we've had quite a few sloppy poos in the ittis.. it's usually held quite decently, but they are more likely to leak out than the BBBs and a cover (cos of the double elastic!), but are about the same leakability as a pocket, for us.
Well dp has just given me 300 to spend on mcn's not including the 150 iv spent so far on the 2bbb 2bbh 1AIO itti bitt and one bitti boo
I have tried lookin up blueberrys but couldnt find any????
Not a huge fan of the Baby Beehinds cos my bub is quite skinny so they droop without a cover. Not so much of a problem with a non crawler/walker I guess.
I like ittis for the trimness which is important atm for my bub. I do prefer fitteds otherwise.
I like WAHM made fitteds but they are harder to build a stash with.
hayleysmummy
18-08-2007, 10:15
Have e-mailed u the blueberrys e-mail i got today I ordered one with the snaps there quite funky and in aussie dollars including postage for an extra booster it came to a bit more than $40 for 1 nappy :(
what a rip off **** that!
it sounds like you found the itti website. I personally love them but my babe is small. Why don't you go with what you have ordered & see how you go before ordering more? otherwise make sure you are signed up to the GDUNH (see sticky) and lots of the aussie sites are currently having sales like 10% off. its a great time to buy nappies this august!!!
Well I have now purchased:
2 bumgenius
2 baby beehinds hemp
2 baby behinds bamboo
1 itti bitti AIO
1 bitti boo
3 baby beehinds PUL wraps
1 baby behinds wool wrap
12 bamboo booster inserts.
OKay what about swaddlebees?
18-08-2007, 18:39
swaddlebees are great, but too trim for my likings. Damn having a chubby bub :banghead:
hes 500 gms of all the medium sizes should i get the medium anyway???
hayleysmummy
18-08-2007, 20:48
hes 500 gms of all the medium sizes should i get the medium anyway???
I got the meds for hayley she has only just reached over 8 kgs at 10 months so I owuld go with a small :thumbsup:
hes 6.3 and they say from 6.8...
HollowLegs
18-08-2007, 22:26
Are you talking about the Swaddlebees? If so, then yep, go the medium - i got one when DD was 4 months & it fit her good then (can't remember how much she weighed then, but think about average - she was only 2.8kg when born), & it stills fits her good now at 10 months & 9kgs.
definitely medium IMO. esp if there is only 500 g in it!
What would I do without you ladies!?!?!?!?!
THANKYOU!