View Full Version : What time does your 3mth old go to bed?
17-08-2007, 17:29
I've been putting Jedd down between 730 and 8'ish, but a few nights it seems like he would prefer to go down earlier - even as early as 630. I'm hesitant to put him to sleep that early though cause he only sleeps for 3-4hrs before waking for his next feed - I'd prefer to get at least an hour or two or sleep before he wants me again...
Do you just do what bub wants? What time does your 3mth old go to bed? :detective:
mummajuice
17-08-2007, 20:18
I've been giving Ebs her last feed around 8-8.30pm after which she normally falls asleep so I put her to bed until she wakes 4 hrs later, then 2hrs later, then 3 hrs later like friggin' clockwork :sleeping:
Having said that, tonight I gave her 200mL of formula to see if it helps her sleep a bit longer. I'm really sitting on the fence at the moment when it comes to BF or FF her exclusively.
Some days she will want to go down at 6pm but if she does I wake her up at about 7.30 otherwise she will wake up the second I hop into bed at 9.30.
Sounds like our little darlings are in cahoots!! :p
SammiJane
18-08-2007, 07:37
Depending on what time Jacob's last afternoon sleep is he normally goes down around 7pm.
He doesnt like sleeping after 4pm so he is normally exhausted by then.
He sleeps through till about 5-6am normally.
Every now and again he will wake at 3ish for a bottle, depending on what time his last big one was.
Donna - ani.... how did she go with the formula feed?
Fuchsia!
18-08-2007, 09:15
gosh coop doesn't go down till 11pm :eek: I don't go to bed until then so i give him his last feed then and he usually wakes at about 5am. then has another feed then wakes again at 9am. I would hate to go to sleep then get woken again only in a few hours! I love my sleep!!!:sleeping:
oh sorry just realised i was barging in on this thread!! Didn't realise it was april-june! SORRY!!!!!
Annalise goes down at 8pm on the dot. She then wakes up at 4.30am for a 15 minute feed then is up for the day at 7.30am. We give her a bath at 6.30pm, she plays with daddy til 7.30 then I feed her and put her down.
Mamalicious
18-08-2007, 10:51
gosh coop doesn't go down till 11pm :eek: I don't go to bed until then so i give him his last feed then and he usually wakes at about 5am. then has another feed then wakes again at 9am. I would hate to go to sleep then get woken again only in a few hours! I love my sleep!!!:sleeping:
oh sorry just realised i was barging in on this thread!! Didn't realise it was april-june! SORRY!!!!!
lol :p
i used to put Ali down around 11 too, and hed wake up heaps but sleep from 5am till 10am in one go :D
but i was being lay and sleeping in so now he goes down around 6/30-7 and wakes up between 6 and 7am [ with 1-2 feeds during the night]
*babygirl*
18-08-2007, 11:56
i put miss aalliyah down at 9:30 n she sleeps till 7am.... sometimes she'll wake for a five minute boobie snack then straight back to sleep.:yes:
Mummy2Noah
18-08-2007, 12:09
i put miss aalliyah down at 9:30 n she sleeps till 7am.... sometimes she'll wake for a five minute boobie snack then straight back to sleep.:yes:
SAME :thumbsup: DS has done this since 3mths old
usually around 7 or 8 sometimes 8.30 then he will sleep now till about 1 then wake up at 5 then not till 9 that's just on average not every nite is exactly the same.
CHARLIEandNOAH
18-08-2007, 12:25
Noah is in bed at 7pm every night and sleeps through until 6:30am ..
ImNotJustAnymum
18-08-2007, 13:24
Aaliyah goes down at approx 8pm- she normally will only wake for a feed about 4.30 to 5 and then sleep for another few hours... mind you she has only got back to this after a week of growth spurting and being up every 3 hours:banghead:.....
mummajuice
18-08-2007, 19:21
Depending on what time Jacob's last afternoon sleep is he normally goes down around 7pm.
He doesnt like sleeping after 4pm so he is normally exhausted by then.
He sleeps through till about 5-6am normally.
Every now and again he will wake at 3ish for a bottle, depending on what time his last big one was.
Donna - ani.... how did she go with the formula feed?
She smashed it down and I let her have a HUUUGE burp, after that she was asleep by about 8pm and slept until probably 4am when I gave her some booby. Definitely an improvement :D
borntobemummy
18-08-2007, 19:30
Eden feeds every 3-4 hours during the day, then is awake for about an hour at a time before going back to sleep. I haven't really noticed what time he's down for the night, anywhere between 6 and 11 I guess, then he either sleeps all night or wakes once or twice to be fed and goes straight back to sleep.
Fuchsia!
18-08-2007, 19:35
just thought i would envade again just reading some of your post and gosh some of you have it good!!! My ds goes to bed at 11pm and wakes at 5am:eek: maybe its because hes just starting solids and getting more hungry! Im jealous!!!!:mad:
broncochik
18-08-2007, 19:39
Hayden different every night, but normally bout 7 or 8 and he wakes up all different imes sometimes he sleeps for 6-8hours striaght and other times is up in 4hours for his feed. We wake up bout 7 in the morning, which im still adjusting too, i use to love sleep ins. Can you believe how mauch your life changed for babies, it all worth it thou of course
18-08-2007, 20:02
Do you just do what bub wants? What time does your 3mth old go to bed? :detective:
In my honest opinion, at that age, yep, we just do what bub wants.
I have found both times that 6 months of age is a much better time to start bringing in a good regular bedtime routine and a regular time. Of course you can introduce this much earlier- but it's just an introduction and in the end it's often better to just do what they want at that age.
The good thing about it is that at 3 months of age you ain't going to set 'bad habits' (oh how I hate how people talk about that!) and what's important is just doing what makes life easier until they are a little bigger.
Good luck! :hugs:
ETA: sometimes an earlier bedtime just suits some bubs and even toddlers. They eventually stretch out the sleep to a more reasonable morning wake-up time, at a time that suits them, depending on their development. Both my kids (1 and 3) are full-on ready for bed at 6.30pm on the DOT. Ariene goes to her cot and frets, Ronan says that he's tired and wants to sleep in his car bed. So I put them to bed, and they sleep until 6.30-7.30am. It's because it suits them that it works, I think!
19-08-2007, 20:04
Most nights it is 9pm.
We start Jayden at 8.00 with a bath, then massage, feed at 8.30 and the asleep by about 9pm in which he then wakes at about 7-7.30 am
ButterflyMama
19-08-2007, 20:42
Scarlett goes down somewhere between 5:30pm-7pm. :thumbsup:
JackzMumma
19-08-2007, 20:52
I have a little power napper. He wakes about 8am, give or take an hr. But goes down at 10pm, give or take half an hour. He's been doing that since he was 2.5mths, he's now nearly 4mths. He doesn't sleep in his cot through the day, so he gets the day noises, like tv and his older brother, so when he goes down at night he sleeps right through. It's great!:)
Lachlan's Mum
20-08-2007, 08:59
Varies some days, but generally anytime between 5.30 and 7 pm, then we give her a dream feed at 9.30 ish and she then sleeps till between 5.30 and 7 am.
HollyHotLips
20-08-2007, 10:26
same here dd has nappy change and feed at 10pm and sleeps through until between 5am and 8am. she is nearly 10wks.
last night was her first night in her own room, i nearly died as she didnt wake until 7.15 and i was worried! i gave her a top up feed though (she ate at 8pm then half the amount at 10) so must have done the trick :D
20-08-2007, 11:12
Both my kids are usually in bed around 7:30-8pm.
jacks mum
22-08-2007, 09:16
Max is usually in bed by 6.30 and sleeps until 3-5am then wakes for a feed then sleeps again for another 3-4hours which gives me time to get up with Jack and have brekky before feeding Max.
GummyBear
22-08-2007, 09:25
My 3 month old DS goes to bed at 7pm. I give him a dreamfeed (which he usually wakes up for!) at 10:30pm. Then he sleeps through until 6 - 7am.
I think we are now blessed.... Sienna as only a few wekks ago ..
We will put her to bed when she is tired no particular bed time... usually around 7-830 and she wakes up once a night... any where from 2-4 usually but 6.30 this morning...
Bren goes down really well the same time as the twins 8.30pm any earlier n the twins wake him..
Sheer Bliss
22-08-2007, 15:56
Nick is usally in bed around 7:30-8:30pm. He used to sleep until 5amish, Last week he was up for a 3am feed, and the last few nights it's been a midnight & 4am feed! :eek: I hope it's growth spurt that he gets over quick smart - i was used to more sleep than this!!
I will just go with what he wants for a while. Dream feeds haven't worked so far, and if we try & keep him up later so he'll sleep later - it never works either. He just ahs less sleep & is cranky.
mummyofone
23-08-2007, 13:19
DD goes to bed anytime from 5:30 to 6:30.
Lipsmacker01
24-08-2007, 21:17
We have changed our sleep time for Sarah.
She is 4 months old on Sunday. She used to go to sleep at 9pm if not later and we found it difficult to settle her (due to over tiredness)
Wed pop her into her cot at 8.30pm and she goes to sleep herself usually without any cries at all.
Prior to 8.30pm shed have a few extended feeds and you can tell shes tired, she gets all fidgety and rubs her eyes constantly. Her eyes would also look glassy. If she happens to finish her last feed just before 8.30 pm, Id pop her into bed. If she cries it usually means she wants a top up (usually extra ten min feed). Id burp her and put her to bed. Shed normally sleep through till 5am, feed for 15 mins then sleep till about 7 or 8am.
I find that since weve moved her sleep time back by half an hour, looked for the tired signs and made sure she had a full belly and dry nappy, things have improved for everyone and we finally have some sort of a routine :)
ZooKeeper
26-08-2007, 19:16
Starfish is in bed sometime between 8pm and 9pm, if try for earlier she'll just stay on the boob till at least 8pm anyways. she wakes for feeds at about 2am, then 5 or 6 am -- sometimes more than that if she's doing major growing, then up for real about 7am -- but usually has a morning nap an hour later, so I get to eat breakfast etc.
her night wakes are pretty business-like, she's not a big day sleeper so I figure she's really keen for sleep when we are both being borning.
alexsmom
28-08-2007, 18:26
hi- I put Alexander to bed at 7- he cannot stay up past that! We wake him at 10 30 ish for a feed then he wakes at 3 ish for another and then sleeps to 7ish. It seems all the babies have quite different schedules
The bubs are 4months now and We feed them at 6.30 put them to bed about 7-7.30 and they wake up usually around 5.30am sometimes
ds wakes up once around 2 but hes bein good this week and started sleeping through again.
TheMamma
04-09-2007, 09:44
Tehya goes down at 9pm and sleeps until 7am.
kas_chat
04-09-2007, 22:04
:wave: jamieson usually settles about 7pm after a big bf or two in the hour before and sometimes wakes about 11pm for a quick bf and maybe a nappy change... he's had a pooey nappy almost every nappy change for the last 4 days... and generally wakes about 4 or 5am for a big feed, i lift him out of his cradle which i have right beside my bed and move him next to me and he feeds while i snooze, usually lying with him lying too cuddled under my armpit... he usually sleeps soungly then until 8 or earlier if ds1 is too boisterous and wakes him up... he likes to sit up in the bed in my spot watching cartoons with ds1 while i get dressed and so on. :rolleyes: only a few nights he has slept through from 8pm to 6am... take care all xox kas_chat
miss ani
07-09-2007, 08:52
i aim for 8.30 - 9pm... but lily is so unpredictable in the evenings it can take up until midnight to settle her (she'll wake several times after we initially put her down).
all you people with text-book babies who go down, stay down, and sleep all night... you suck! :laughing:
qldmummy
07-09-2007, 09:02
Well I will take the sucking as a compliment. :laughing:
Jet goes down between 7 and 8.30pm, sleeps until 6am if we let him but I usually have to take DH to work at 4.30am so he has a feed around then and back to sleep until about 8 or 9am.
When DD was in our room she would go down at 8pm then wake at 4.30am for a feed. I moved her into her room in the cot on Monday and she's sleeping from 9pm til 7am :confused: :yelclap: Not sure why she's sleeping through since she got moved, but hey, it works for me!
miss ani
07-09-2007, 09:52
When DD was in our room she would go down at 8pm then wake at 4.30am for a feed. I moved her into her room in the cot on Monday and she's sleeping from 9pm til 7am :confused: :yelclap: Not sure why she's sleeping through since she got moved, but hey, it works for me!
maybe she was being disturbed by you guys?? i know that happens with lily sometimes. we are going to move her into her own room shortly, i just need peter to dismantle the cot and move it into the nursery.
I reckon that's what it was. i think it became more of a habit than anything else too. She would hear us breathing and start her little talking thing so I'd pick her up and feed her. The first night she was in her room, she did do some talking at about 4am, but cos it was so cold and her room is down the other end of the house I stayed in bed istening to her and she went back to sleep after about 5 minutes. Voila, new habit!
Howdy!!! ds was going to bed around 10pm and waking at 7am... In the last 2 weeks and introducing solids he's dropped his 4th bott and is in bed at 8pm (or thereabouts) and wakes at 6:30am which suits our household to a tea. DF gets up at this time for work so he makes the bottle and feeds him. I make the coffee and we have mummy, daddy and bubby time for about an hr. It's great..... ds is 4 m.o now and as happy as Larry!!!!!:thumbsup:
mumzdaword
06-10-2007, 15:11
hayley goes to bed between 730-8pm and will sleep through till 7am...:thumbsup: once or twice she has woken about 530 for a feed...
amumslove
06-10-2007, 20:18
Zach normally has a bottle at 6:30pm and goes down anywhere from 7:30 to 9 and normally sleeps til around 7:30am. He has only started doing this in the last 2 weeks.
bellajorja
21-10-2007, 15:16
man o man I feel for you guys, my first was sleeping through from about 6 weeks went down about 9pm - till 7-8am. My newest gave me a bit of stick the first two months :no: thank goodness now she sleeps after her last feed 6.30/8.30pm till 6am. It makes it easier as I don't sleep through the day, there are just not enough hours in the day.:hugs: