View Full Version : Sunshine Coast Get-Together
MrsMiggins
07-02-2006, 13:31
I would love to meet up with some other Sunshine Coast mums!
I have a 4 month old baby girl named Claire and I live in the Caloundra area.
I would love to meet other mums of any age with bubs of any age! I am 29.... (OK, I turn 30 tomorrow, but I can still lay claim to 29 for another 10 1/2 hours!!!!!) and Claire is my first baby.
:D :D GOOD NEWS!!! A date has been set!! See page 2 of this thread for more info - ALL WELCOME!!!! :D :D
NB: We hope to also organise a weekday date very soon! Keep an eye out!
MissyMack
07-02-2006, 13:38
A BIG HAPPY BIRTHDAY for tomorrow Fiona! The big 30 hey :p I live at Bribie Island with my little man Mackenzie who is also 4 months. We are only here till late March then move to Brissy but would love to catch up if there is a gathering anythime soon :o
justtwogirls22
07-02-2006, 13:45
hi
i have just moved back to the sunshine coast & become a single mum - im 35 & my daughter is 15months old on saturday
would love to catch up
MrsMiggins
07-02-2006, 13:55
Hi ladies!!!
I am so glad I got a couple of replies so quickly! I was starting to think I may be the only Sunshine Coast mum left on here!!! lol :D
Thanks for the birthday wishes MissyMack! And a happy birthday to your little Aquarian melbee! Is she a fiesty little water-carrier?!
Where abouts are you on the SC, melbee? You can PM me if you don't want to post it.
Maybe we can arrange a time & place suitable for everyone. I don't mind driving wherever - Claire is a big fan of being in the car!
ElizaDee
07-02-2006, 18:23
Hey I am from Maleny and a mum to be, would love to catch up some time.
This is excellent I didn't think there were too many of us around up here either. :)
MrsMiggins
07-02-2006, 18:36
Hi Eliza!!
I love Maleny. I've only been there once or twice but I love all the little antique stores & such around there. (That narrow, windy road up from Landsborough is a little scary though!)
You must be very excited about your new bub! It's your first, right? CONGRATS!!! Enjoy every moment! I can't wait til I can get PG again! I loved it so much!
We will have to organise something, maybe early next week?? Are you working? When is good for you?
Great to hear from you!
ElizaDee
07-02-2006, 19:16
yes I work and its in Brisbane :( I could do a dinner on tuesdays or wednesday if you like.
Nothing flash just chinese or something like that??
Unless you would like to come to Beautiful Maleny and go to a local cafe on the weekend?
MrsMiggins
07-02-2006, 20:08
I worked in Brisbane too! Caught the train from Landsborough every day! I don't miss the 4 hours of travelling per day I can tell you! Especially in the last weeks of being pregnant, it was very trying.
We will definitely have to organise something. Dinners are a bit iffy for me as Claire is having a few sleeping problems at present, but weekends are good.
Feel free to PM me any time!
HAPPY BIRTHDAY Fiona,
I am turning 30 next month and live in Maroochydore/Buderim area.
I am only 3 months pregnant but would love to stay in touch and chat etc.
Have fun
vikki
MrsMiggins
09-02-2006, 10:51
Thank you Vikki!
And a big Congratulations to you on your pregnancy!!! Is this your first? It is such an exciting time! I loved being pregnant!
I'm going to try & organise a get-together somewhere on the coast convenient for everyone who wants to meet up. I'll keep you posted!
Hi Fiona and other mums,
I'd love to meet up as well - I have a 9 1/2 month old baby boy and I'm 35. It would be great to get together with other mums and babies! I live in Buderim but am happy to go wherever!
Kate
MrsMiggins
09-02-2006, 15:02
Hi Kate!!!
Well, we've got a few replies here now. (More always welcome!!)
I've added a poll to this thread so that we can all vote on what day best suits. You can choose more than 1 day.
Please also feel free to add a post with more info as to what time/s best suits etc.
I am basically free most days and I'm still working out a schedule with Claire. At the moment probably around lunchtime is good for me. I am also happy to do weekend lunches for the ladies still working.
Does anyone have any suggestions as to where we should meet? Obviously somewhere central to everyone is probably the best idea. We've got mums/mums-to-be from all up & down the sunshine coast so maybe Caloundra-Mooloolaba would be a good idea???
Hi again,
Mornings or around lunchtime is good for me - as for a meeting place Cotton Tree Park in Maroochydore is really nice for a picnic or barbeque, lots of shade. Or Jessica Park in Minyama (Kawana) is nice too. I think there's La Balsa park in Kawana (near Kawana shopping centre). I'm not sure what's in Caloundra - Mooloolaba there's heaps of cafes along the sea front that are good.
Kate
MrsMiggins
10-02-2006, 18:31
Kawana might be OK.
In Caloundra there are several really shady areas along the Esplanade on Golden Beach. There are lots of places to sit & it's a very pretty spot. There are also lots & lots of good cafes etc. I know there are similar sorts of spots around Mooloolaba, but I'm not overly familiar with the area there.
The other thing is also that we don't have to do the same thing if we all decide we'd like to meet up again. We can do different stuff each time.
I'd love to start getting this organised before it all starts to fall apart! So let me know what you all think & we will get something together for maybe next weekend??
I'm in Caloundra, and would love to meet up with you all. Bub is almost a month old, and has tonnes of problems settleing (or we have tonnes of problems getting him to settle :eek: - not sure which one it is yet!:rolleyes: )
Around lunch time sounds great, and any where on the Sunny Coast is fine by me as DH is the one who drives (we're in Currimundi).
Hope you don't mind if I invite myself along....tell me to rack off if you want!
I don't get on bubhub as often as before, so forgive me if you plan something and I don't show.
MrsMiggins
10-02-2006, 19:05
Welcome! Welcome! Welcome!!!
What a gorgeous little man you have there!!!
I totally understand where you are coming from, I was an utter wreck until that magical 6 week mark! (Took us over 2 years to fall PG and then when I had this baby, I kept thinking that someone had made a terrible mistake! How on earth was I going to look after this tiny human person?!) So if you can make it, you make it if not, then there's always next time!
Once we eventually get something underway that is.... It's just a matter of getting it off the mark I think. Don't fret! We'll get there! We all are keen to meet up so it'll happen!!
(PS: If we were able to organise the whole carseat bizzo, I would not mind at all giving you a lift.)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - Keep watching this space! - - - - - - - - - - -
Hi Hi Hi,
I can't make next weekend because my brother is coming up from sydney to see his nephew for the first time! He's only coming for the weekend so we'll be spending as much time together as possible!! I'd love to join you all for the next get together though so I'll keep watching for more details.
Kate
MrsMiggins
10-02-2006, 20:21
OK........... Let me think............ :rolleyes:
What if we make it Sunday, Feb 26th around lunchtime (say midday?) at Golden Beach Esplanade, Caloundra?
Can everyone make it on that day? How's the time for you all? I know we've got a few from Caloundra & one from Bribie & a couple from Buderim/Maroochydore way, so I think that is pretty central.
I could also in the meantime do some scouting around for an alternate "rainy day" location.
Any opinions or suggestions very, very welcome!
ANY NEWCOMERS BETWEEN NOW & THEN ARE ALSO WELCOME!!!!! The more, the merrier I say! :D
Shall we also say bring a plate?
That's all fine with me - looking forward to it to meeting mums and bubs!!
Kate
MrsMiggins
10-02-2006, 22:40
Excellent! So that's 2 so far!
I'll whip up some shortbread to bring along. I made some at Christmas & DH has been at me ever since to make some more! A good excuse to finally get motivated and get baking!
Hmmmmm..... hopefully that'll entice some more participants! I'm a pretty good cook if I do say so myself! The shortbread is an old family recipe and my family is Scottish, so it's pretty darn good! :D
I looooove shortbread and it's authentic as well!! I'll dig out my recipe books and see what I can come up with - maybe a quichey/tarty thing!!
See you then
Kate
MrsMiggins
11-02-2006, 10:32
mmmmm.....! Sounds good!!!
The 26th sounds great! And it'll be two days off the 6 week mark for bub. ;)
A plate is a great idea - have no idea what I can bring though..... Have to get back to you on that one! :)
Imsooverit
12-02-2006, 10:38
I'm in. Is there anywhere in particular on The Esplanade that you're thinking of?
I just wanted to double check - are we bringing Husbands/Partners. I've assumed so and have told my DH he's coming. Let me know if I have to uninvite him. :D
Storm
sounds like fun, that day doesn't work for me but i'll keep my eye out for any other get togethers! i'm up on the blackall range....
thanks for the heads up fiona, i do remember you :) love being a mum too the best thing i've ever done!
MrsMiggins
12-02-2006, 22:24
Yay!!! More replies!!!! :D
Sorry to hear you can't make it Mel! Not to worry - we'll see you next time!
Shaelia, if you don't want to bring something, I'm sure everyone will totally understand!!! Heck, I sure wasn't cooking anything more than some cold, burnt toast when Claire was 6 weeks old! I'd never have found the time! It's only now she's got a bit of a routine I know when I can sneak in an hour or two of baking!
Storm, I was thinking somewhere just down past the shops there where there's heaps of space, but it is pretty popular down there & we may be lucky to get a good spot. I was trying to think how we can get everyone to find us, so I was going to make up a bubhub sign & maybe get some pink & purple balloons (bubhub colours).... not sure. The other alternative would be if people want to PM me their mobile no's & I can text everyone once I get a spot???? Let me know what you all think.
Oh, and partners, hubby's, SO's are more than welcome! Mine will be working that day so it'll just be Claire & I.
Can't wait to meet everyone! :D
justtwogirls22
14-02-2006, 14:30
hi
sorry i havent been able to get online much as i dont have the phone on where i am yet - which is palmview (near the ettamogah pub)
im pretty easy with meeting up though not weekends as eliana's dad comes to visit & that is his time with her so other than that just let me know of the next plans to meet up
look forward to meeting some mums!
i had met a great group of mums through bubhub that meet up fortnightly in bris so im going to try & still meet up with them if i get a chance
Hi Fiona and all the other Mum's
I haven't read much on Bub Hub lately but thank you Kate :) for telling to find this thread as usually there isn't any for Sunshine Coast.
I would love to come and meet up with everyone too if that is okay. My son Ty is now 9 weeks and I am now feeling more confident and organised to get out and about.
The balloon thing sounds good so everyone can find each other as the Esplande is quite long and I have only been there a handful of times I live at Woombye. I am happy to give my mobile number too.
I also went to a breastfeeding group at Nambour last Tuesday the first meeting for the year and that was great to meet other people too, mostly social with a morning tea and usually one topic of discussion, if anyone is interested in that also let me know and I will tell you the details. It is on every second Tuesday morning.
Can't wait to meet you all. :)
Debster
MrsMiggins
16-02-2006, 18:56
Hi Debster!!!
Glad you can make it to our get-together! Only a week & a bit to go! I'm really looking forward to it! :D
I'm hoping to be able to find a good spot somewhere obvious to all-comers, but I know it gets pretty busy down there of a weekend. I'm sure we can manage to find something!
That breast-feeding group you mentioned, is that the Nursing Mother's Association one (or whatever it is they call themselves now)? I read something about that on a link from bubhub and it sounded OK. They say you are welcome even if you are not breast-feeding (which I'm actually not) but I thought it'd be a little weird - especially if I ended up being the only mum there bottle-feeding & everyone was talking about breast-feeding issues!
Debster, it's going to be great to see you again and get to meet your little man!
Fiona, I think the balloons idea would be good and I'm happy to give you my mobile number as well. I don't get to Caloundra much so any help finding the spot would be great!!
Looking forward to seeing everybody.
Bye for now
Kate
MrsMiggins
17-02-2006, 16:35
I have added our date to the calendar of events so hopefully more people can see it there.
If you like, you can click on the event on the calendar & request a reminder.
Hi Fiona,
Yes the group is the Australian Breastfeeding Association and as far as I know you don't have to be breastfeeding as one of the topics coming up is weaning/solids etc. The next topic up is a guest speaker Podiatrist coming in for anyone who has questions. It is just a social thing as last week was talking about 'keeping cool' they only disuss the topic as long as anyone has any input then we just eat and talk about whatever. I have only been once so far and although people were breastfeeding we didn't discuss it, there were older kids too ie: 2-3yrs who go off playing in another room. Going again this Tuesday. The lady who organises it is called Sharon 5446 6223 anyone is free to give her a call and she will give you a rundown and post you out a schedule you can look at. It runs every second Tuesday 9.30 - 11.30. Anyway hope that helps and answers anyone elses questions.
MrsMiggins
19-02-2006, 08:29
Thanks for that Debster, that's good info to know. I'll jot that number down & might look into it more.
Hi, Just wondering if anyone else besides Storm is bringing her partner? I told my DH about the get together and he wanted to know whether to come with me or not. It doesn't bother me either way, what are others doing?
I just added my son's picture (only just worked out how to do it :confused: ) he won a trophy that day in the 0 - 6months category in a baby and tots show, I was so proud I nearly burst into tears! Not that it mattered whether he won or not it but it was just delightful for his proud mum :) and the money to enter went to a charity so that was good.
MrsMiggins
19-02-2006, 20:13
You should be proud, debster! He is gorgeous!!
My DH is not coming on Sunday as he will be working that day, but all partners are most welcome!
Hi, My name is Michelle and would love to come to the get together on Sunday, if that's cool?! I have a 6 month old boy named Kai and we would both love to make some new friends!:)
MrsMiggins
20-02-2006, 16:47
Sure! That'd be great to see you & Kai there Michelle!
I'm going to head down to the esplanade just before midday & try to jag a good spot (out scouting the other day & I spotted a great place across from the fish & chip shop - not far from the new public toilets they built - so I'm hoping to get a shady spot in there somewhere.) To make it a little easier to find everyone, I have a few of the ladie's mobile no's & I'm going to SMS them when I get a spot.
I'll PM you & we can work out the details.
Glad you can make it! Welcome to bubhub!! :D
I just worked out how to put on a photo of my beautiful bubby - thought you'd all like to see it. See you on Sunday!!
Kate
MrsMiggins
22-02-2006, 10:37
How cute!!! Looking forward to meeting you both on Sunday!:yelclap:
biscotti
24-02-2006, 16:40
Hi - I am a Sunshine Coast Mum too. I can't make the get togther but wanted to say what a good idea :)
I would love to meet up with some other Mums when I stop work as I have a six year age gap between my last baby and this one and there is soooo much stuff I have forgotten or info that is changed, I would love to catch up with other Mums for a refresher lol. You guys will have so much to teach me!
Cheers :)
Hi portiasmum,
Welcome - sorry you can't make it on Sunday. I had my first baby in April 05 and I have 2 stepchildren, 14 years old and 19 years old - its been quite a learning experience for me and my husband has brought quite a bit out of his "memory bank" which is good!! I'd be happy to get together with you as I'm a stay at home mum so it would be nice to get out of the house - HA HA only joking :laughing: . But anytime to meet is fine with me.
Bye for now - to other mums, see you on Sunday!
Kate
MrsMiggins
24-02-2006, 18:42
Hi Portiasmum!!
Sorry to hear you can't make it this Sunday, but I'm glad you posted! Stay in touch as we will definitely be having more get-togethers very soon! :thumbsup:
I'm hoping the rain stays away on Sunday! It's been very on & off the past couple of days :thumbsdown: I must admit I haven't sussed out a rainy day alternative location, but if it is only on & off sort of rain, there is an undercover area which would be fine. If it's torrential, we could always just head off to a coffee shop I guess!
If it is raining, keep in touch because it'd be a shame to have to postpone due to the weather.
But I'm thinking positive!! The weather will be just gorgeous, I'm sure (OK, I'm going to go turn on The Weather Channel now!!)
I made good on my promise & there is a fresh batch of traditional shortbread coming along with me on Sunday .......that is if DH doesn't eat it all before then!:D
Imsooverit
25-02-2006, 20:01
Hey girls. Just letting you know that my DH can't make it tomorrow.
I know Debster knew he was coming and perhaps making her man come - this is mainly to let her know.
I'll still be coming with my DD. Can't wait to meet everyone.
Storm
MrsMiggins
26-02-2006, 10:09
Weather is looking nice down this way at the moment, (PHEW!) so see you all in a couple of hours! :smiliedance:
MrsMiggins
26-02-2006, 15:26
Wow! What a great day we had!! :thumbsup:
It was so nice to meet all of you and that nasty rain stayed away!! Woo-hoo! :yelclap:
It's great to be able to put faces to names now and I can't wait to catch up with you all again. Hopefully we can see some new faces next time too! It was also fun to be able to gas-bag with other mums & dads about baby stuff!
Kate, I am going to have to get the recipe for that fabulous bread! Yum! Yum! Yum! :chef:
Thanks to everyone for all the yummy food (which we hardly made a dent in! :)) and to Storm for the balloons.
Keep in touch everyone so we can get together again soon.
PS: If anyone ever wants to have a coffee & a chat or do lunch or whatever, feel free to PM/email/call/SMS me. I'm free most days & am always up for an outing!
Matthew and I really enjoyed ourselves today - he went to sleep in the car on the way home after that little performance just before we left!! It was great to watch him playing with the other bubs.
Fiona, I'll PM the recipe to you soon - looks like that's our dinner here tonight. My husband's already grabbed a piece!
I hope to see you all again soon - today was great fun!
Bye
Kate
MrsMiggins
26-02-2006, 22:25
Ha! Ha! Claire didn't go to sleep in the car - much to my surprise. But decided to stay awake til 3pm, only to stay sleep until 6.30!!! I guess that 15min nap on my shoulder really threw her out!
She normally nods off around 6.30-ish for the night!!
I was hoping at 6.30 she'd just go straight back to sleep, but no such luck! At 8.15, after playtime, stories, a bath, an extra feed & a long cuddle, I put her in her cot wide awake:devil6: ! She eventually drifted off around 8.30-8.45. :sleeping:
PS: Thanks for the recipe, Kate! I'll definitely be giving that one a run!!
Thanks Fiona for coordinating yesterday it was great to get out and meet the other mums and everyone was easy to talk to.:)
Would be good if we could have something once a month or every 6 weeks and I am sure the group will grow and be lots of fun. What does everyone else think?
It was a pity I didn't know the other two partners were coming otherwise DH would have joined but nevermind he had 3 mudcrabs for me when I got home for dinner :yelclap:
I thought everyone's bub was gorgeous. Ty slept from about 6.30pm to 2am I hadn't even had a chance to put him in his night clothes as usually he doesn't go down until 8pm.
MrsMiggins
27-02-2006, 15:50
Thanks Debster! I think it's a great idea to have a get-together every month, and you're right, I think it will continue to grow.
Sounds like Ty had a big day!
Ooohh! Mud crab! YUMMO!!!! Lucky you!
Also, has anyone ever eaten at Ebb restaurant in Maroochydore? DH & I were talking about going to see 'Walk the Line' one day soon & I got to thinking we may as well make a night of it. I was looking in my Entertainment Book & thought Ebb sounded nice. Just wondered if anyone had eaten there before.
I think it'd be great to have a monthly get together - I'll certainly be thinking of things we can do!!
Fiona, Ebb restaurant is really nice. The decor is pretty funky and the food is absolutely beautiful!!. You can sit inside or outside, looking at the river which was lovely at sunset when I was there. Sounds like you'll have a great night! I'll have to try and drag my husband out to dinner one night.:laughing:
Debster, I really enjoyed seeing you again - hope to do it again soon.
Matty's getting close to bedtime (I hope) so I'd better prepare for the battle!
Kate
I haven't been to Ebb Restaurant but I have the Entertainment Book too and it is great (when you get to use it!) I love 'Something Blue' at Caloundra as it is relaxed, cheap and you can sit outside with bubs :) Thinking of somewhere to go for my birthday on sat :yelclap:
I had a card sent to me offering for $99 twin waters resort accommodation, $40 dinner voucher, free disc player, breakfast & 2 movie tickets - turned out to be 'timeshare' and NOT baby friendly as the catch is listening to 1 1/2hour seminar :banghead: too good to be true!
Fiona could you please tell me the name of that seat for bubs 'again' that you mentioned on Sunday, memory like a sieve!.
I just bought baby peter rabbit clothes on Ebay again - very naughty :shame:
Cheerio for now
MrsMiggins
28-02-2006, 11:40
lol! I have been deliberately avoiding eBay until we clear this backlog of bills we currently seem to have (all the rego & insurance etc. falls due now!) Although I see they have free gallery for 3 days, so I'd better pay my eBay seller's account bill so I can list more stuff! If you don't have a credit card listed with them, they only allow you to run your account up so far before they won't allow you to list any more items. It's a pain really!
The seat is called a Bumbo seat. Check out what they have on eBay, although I hear you can pick them up at Toys 'R' Us new for cheaper than what you can get a 2nd hand one off eBay. Bumbo has a website too.
Gotta go! I'm being beckoned by the Little Miss!!
Fiona Thanks for the name of the seat, best to get one from Toys R Us, I guess that is a Brisbane trip sometime or wait to see where else has a special.
I know what you mean about bills :( .....I figure it is better to spend $10-20 on Ebay than $100 at the shops like last time I went to the Plaza and they had everything marked down.
My bubs is feeding while I type, he was asleep but woke up just as I got on line . Amazing what you learn to do with your hands full. Bubs has a rash all over his back and we are off to the doc's tomorrow, :eek: I think just heat rash but the doc wanted to see him after his immunisation as he had it then.
What is everyone else up to?
What a mission this morning was. Kai and I got locked out of the house in the pouring rain! Had to wait over an hour for the locksmith, who then took about 15 mins to open the door!:banghead:
Loved meeting you all on Sunday, was great chatting to new people!! Think we should try and catch up on a regular basis. Thanks to Fiona for organising it! Debster, hope you have a great B'day tomoz!
Storm, I didn't go to playgroup Monday, are you going next monday? thought it could be a bit scary without you! just kidding, didn't have a car and would have had to walk (it was raining). So sick of the rain and wind. I am getting cabin fever!! Kai has just woken up and he's peering over his cot, trying to get my attention. Better go and obey the boss! hope to see you all soon:)
Imsooverit
03-03-2006, 11:21
Hey girls. It was a great day last Sunday, I'm glad I could put some faces to names.
I've been thinking of our next "outing". I was thinking we could all meet up maybe at the Kings Beach Tavern for lunch. I haven't been there for ages but I think they have cheap counter meals for lunch (you know for grannies and such).
I was thinking a Tuesday because everywhere usually has a "cheap Tuesday" thing ... don't they?
What do you think? Maybe mid March ... 14th or 21st ... or earlier or later? Just a suggestion.
Michelle, I will be going to Playgroup this Monday, it's just that my Brother came up from Wagga to visit us and I thought it a bit rude to leave him :D . If anyone else wants to go to Playgroup with Michelle and I, just let us know and we'll give you the details. (2 hours Monday mornings)
Storm
Cool to meet up anytime Kings Tavern sounds good, anything cheap i like:smiliedance:
MrsMiggins
03-03-2006, 15:47
Sounds like a good idea Storm!! I'm good for any day - whatever suits everyone else. I like the KBT - last time I was there (admittedly some time ago!) it was still pretty cheap & they had decent meals.
We went down to Babies Galore at Morayfield today & got Claire a jolly jumper (actually, it's the jumping joey one as it looks to be much better) and we splurged & got her a bumbo seat as well! (Sorry Telstra! Your money is just going to have to wait! ;)) She loves them both - grins from ear to ear!
It was the cutest/funniest thing I have ever seen when she was in the jumper - she wsa getting tired, but didn't want to get out. I could see she was getting a bit sleepy, as she kept rubbing her eyes, but when I went to take her out, she got all upset, so I thought I'd leave her in for a bit longer. (This is the funny bit!) She kept nodding off, then waking up with a jolt & started jumping again, with a huge grin on her face! Then she'd nod off again & wake up - it was hilarious! She did it about 5 or 6 times before I eventually toook her out without protest & she just went straight to sleep. I got a video of it on my phone and I was watching it again a minute ago, laughing my head off! It is so cute!
Michelle, sounds like you've had a pretty crappy day! This'd have to be the worst day ever to get locked out! I hope your day's gotten better!
:bday: Debster!!! :bday:
Hi all.
We had lots of fun - it was good to meet everyone! Can't wait till next time.
Aimee'smum
06-03-2006, 16:29
Hi all - we would love to come and meet you at the next get together, but I work tuesdays (and monday and thursday!) so it will have to be the next time you have a weekend do!
Umm, I don't know much about playgroups - how old does your bub have to be? Aimee's only 5 mths and not quite sitting up by herself yet so I'm guessing she isn't quite "mobile" enough yet?
Nic
MrsMiggins
06-03-2006, 16:35
Hi Nic!!
Do you work Wednesdays & Fridays? Maybe we could catch up for lunch one day? I posted back to you on your intro thread - don't know if you got that reply? Our bubs are around the same age!
I contacted the playgroup mob when Claire was 5 weeks old & they said that wasdn't too early, although I think the one Storm & Chellby go to, most of the bubs are toddlers.
Aimee'smum
07-03-2006, 08:46
Sorry Fiona I musn't have seen it - probably didn't check back! I'm free on wednesdays / fridays (usually!) lunch would be cool! Aimee has a jolly jumper that some friends gave us - I was a bit suss on it at first but Aimee loves it - they think they're so clever bouncing don't they! you can email me kirranic@hotmail.com or call me on 0423765990 if you want to meet up sometime - Aimee would love to mett another bub her age I'm sure, the ones at childcare are a bit bigger than her. Umm - what is a "bumbo" seat? Sounds like something Aimee would like!
Cheers, Nic.
MrsMiggins
07-03-2006, 11:16
A bumbo seat is a little foam/rubber (?) moulded seat that babies can sit in from the time they are able to hold their head up. It's great before they're able to sit on their own, but they can still use it afterwards. We're planning on using ours as a casual sort of feeding seat instead of a high chair, because you can place it on a chair or table. I think we're still going to need a high chair though, as there is no way you could put a tray on the bumbo, but the bumbo will do for most of the time. It's very, very light & you can take it anywhere.
I'd never heard of them up until recently, but heaps of people I've been talking to have them & everyone raves about them. I knew Claire would like it as she would much rather be upright & looking around than lying down.
We'll definitely have to catch up for lunch one day soon. I'll get in touch with you once I work out what I'm doing the next couple of weeks & how much money I've got ;) lol
thanks for the birthday wishes, had a lovely day even though the weather was a shocker. :)
Kings Beach Tavern sounds fine by me but those two dates I can't go as already have something on both those Tuesdays. Wed/Thur or Friday's are best for me. Also on a budget so cheap is good :yelclap:
May I suggest if you want a weekend one again a bbq at a park somewhere that way if any men want to come they can congregate around the bbq with a beer :chef: . We can just bring our own stuff and maybe a salad to share. Just an idea.
Other suggestion could be at the Plaza at Banjo's for a coffee/lunch, has seating undercover outside, sort of opp crazy clarks. Also there is an enclosed playground next to it on the grass area and a picnic table so could sit there if prefer, plus you can then do any shopping you want.
I am happy to go anywhere anyone wants to. Just suggestions.
How horrible being locked out the house and having to pay someone to let you in.
Fiona the jumper thing sounds so funny I can just imagine it :laughing:
Aimee'smum
07-03-2006, 15:42
The bumbo sounds a good idea - but Aimee is so close to sitting unsupported now I'd probably only get a few weeks out of it! (She laughs and does that little exited jerky thing with her arms when you sit her up - but still slides forward after a few minutes! She looks so funny!:laughing: )
Debster, Banjo's cafe sounds a good place for coffee / lunch - I'd forgot that was there because I don't usually park that side! Or a weekend BBQ would be cool! See my email to Fiona for contact details if you want to org a get together later on...
Nic
MrsMiggins
07-03-2006, 22:47
Debster, I think a weekend barbie sounds like a great idea!! I can just picture the boys all standing round the barbie with their beers talking footy! lol
(Ooh! Actually, that reminds me! Footy season starts this Friday for all the league fans! I don't mind a bit of the footy! Woo-hoo!! I welcome the start of the footy season as it heralds the end of the cricket season. I cannot stand cricket!!)
:smiliedance: :smiliedance: GO YOU BULLDOGS!!! :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
Well, I've finally got a chance to chat!! I've been reading all the messages but Matty usually decides to want my attention just as I decide to start typing!!
A weekend barbie would be great - I'm sure I could drag my husband along:laughing: Debster, Banjo's sounds great too - Matty turns one next month so I think I'll be doing a lot of birthday shopping at the plaza!! I can't believe how fast he's growing up - he comes out with something new every day!!
Nic, it'd be great to meet up with as well!
I'd better go - I'm working tomorrow so I should get everything organised!
Bye for now
Kate
MrsMiggins
11-03-2006, 18:57
Woah! Time has sure flown!!! I can't believe it'll have been 2 weeks since our get-together this weekend!
Storm suggested Kings Beach Tavern - what do you all say we have lunch there?
Who's up for it?
Tuesday or Wednesday?
Shall we make it for the 21st/22nd of March?
I was thinking also that we should have this thread as the one to arrange our outings & maybe another one for chatting - some newcomers may not be comfortable or may not want to meet up, but would be happy to chat online.
hi fiona thanks for pointing this thread out and hello to everyone on the sunny coast.
i would like to meet everyone as well but i'm down the other end of the coast at cooroy and i'm pretty reclusive, maroochydore is about as far as i usually go....not saying i won't travel though, coz i'd love to meet everyone.
so i hope i can join up at a get together one day but i would also love to just chat occasionally.
Debster, was it you who mentioned ABA? i think i was at that meeting at nambour. it is such a great venue. i really enjoy going. i'll look out for you next time i go.
MrsMiggins
12-03-2006, 21:51
Hey guys!
I've set up a chat thread for general chit-chat & gossip!
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=14616
(Feel free to still chat on here, I just set the other one up so we have the two - one for arranging meetings & another for chat just in case there are people out there steering clear of this thread thinking they can only jump on here if they want to meet up.)
Hi meme! Glad you found the thread!
There are quite a few of us here from the Claoundra area, but there are also a few from Buderim, Maroochydore etc.
MEME yes it was me that mentioned ABA. Last week was pretty average though!
Fionayes a new thread is a good idea. I think I can make the Wed at the Kings Beach Tavern. Let me know what you decide and I will try to be there.
MrsMiggins
13-03-2006, 09:36
OK then!
Wednesday, March 22nd @ the Kings Beach Tavern - say Midday again?
Who's up for it?!:smiliedance:
Imsooverit
13-03-2006, 17:21
At this stage, I'm in. I know it's only next week but things have been a little hectic at home lately.
I've been a very bad Mother and Dean has been a very bad Father. Our precious little girl got burnt last Wednesday.:crying: We had just finished our swimming lesson (first one Daddy has made it to) and we decided to have coffee at the pool with a friend and her Husband from the same lesson. Well, Dean had Jazz and he had her sitting on the table because he had his work clothes on and she was wet (he is very against children on tables and is still kicking himself) and I bought over the coffees and thought I put his coffee out of her reach but, of course, it wasn't. To make matters worse he has a long black so it's not even cooled with milk. She just managed to get her finger tip on the rim and tipped it over. The lid stayed on but some came out of the spout and onto her foot. She got a long blister from her heel to her little toe and her two littlest toes also blistered. The Doctor cut of the skin from the foot blister on Friday and cut the skin off the toe blisters today. So we have been going to the Doctors every day to get it re-dressed and creamed. On the good side, it doesn't seem to be bothering her. They are resilient, aren't they. I just want to cry every time I look at her foot.
Anyway enough about me, who else is in?
ElizaDee
13-03-2006, 17:35
Would love too but don't think I can :( I will be at work...
hmmm if i can work out how to get there i can probably make it, will you have balloons again?
Debster- aba must have been average coz i wasn't there last week!:laughing:
MrsMiggins
13-03-2006, 21:34
Hi gals!
Meme, Kings Beach Tavern is very easy to find - it's pretty big. (And that's saying something coming from me - I am severely directionally impaired, so if I can find it, anyone can! :D )
We can sort out directions & where we're going to meet etc. beforehand, so don't fret.
Sorry you can't make it ElizaDee. Just think, it won't be long til you're able to come along during the week! YAY!
Storm, you poor thing! And your poor baby! :( I know you guys are hurting more than she is! It was an accident - if you did it deliberately you might be a bad mum, but I know you're not!:hugs:
I have made Claire cry twice in one week! The other day I trimmed her nail too low & made it bleed (quite badly!) & now she has nails to rival a Thai dancer as I am too scared to cut them anymore & I don't trust Dave to do it either!
Then just tonight, I had to go get petrol & Claire was being a bit grizzly, so I decided we'd go for a drive & kill two birds with the one stone. As I was putting her in the car, I whacked her head on the door! Well, she was only grizzling up until that point, then she started screaming! I felt horrible!! :crying:
accidents happen to the best of parents,
i once slammed e's(dd1) finger in a car door, i still remember how bad i felt and it was years ago..
one night i passed lola out of the shower and my bf lifted her straight up and banged her head on the shower curtain rail....
toddler bounced right off the trampoline, i didn't catch her...
and that's just a sample of mine:)
Imsooverit
13-03-2006, 23:05
Thanks girls. I had a bit of a laugh knowing I'm not the only one. I too have cut Jazz's nails too short and bumped her head on the car (she's actually getting quite used to that one). Meme - haven't done any of yours yet, but give me time :D At least I've cheered up a bit.
I am so clumsy, I just know I wouldn't get my Mum's Licence if they had one.
MrsMiggins
13-03-2006, 23:14
Ahh! Hi Storm! Good to see I'm not the only Sunnie Coast bubhubber trading uninterrupted internet time for sleep! :sleeping:
Aimee'smum
14-03-2006, 12:13
I think I'm good for next Wednesday lunch....I'll keep checking in and see how the idea is progressing next week! At least I work Tuesdays so I can get on the net (I know I know, we are way too unorganised to get hooked up at home - prob just as well, I might turn into a closet bubhubbian trading time on for sleeping too!)
Chat later,
Nic
At this stage I am ok too for next Wed lunch. :fingerscrossed: I have relies from England and my sister from Adelaide (not staying with us) but they seem to be organising alot of things I have to go to!. Ty is getting alot of attention, he is being handled so much that when they go home he keeps crying as now wants to be picked up all the time
Will be good to catch up with everyone.:)
3boys1girl
14-03-2006, 19:50
Hi Guys
My name is Cherie and I live in Chancellor Park. I have 3 beautiful kids. Tyler 11, Jackson 7 and Savannah 10mths. I have lived on the Sunny Coast for 3 years and still havent made any good friends that I can ring up and have a yarn to or go out for coffee. Sure, I have made aquattances at the kids school, but the mothers there are usally a fair bit older than I am. Do other mums find it hard to make "good friends" on the Sunshine Coast??:confused:
Welcome Cherie
You are welcome to come to the Kings Beach Tavern next week for lunch if you are available.
Yes it can be hard meeting new friends. I have lived on the coast for over a year and have been lucky to meet a couple of people I can go visit and chat to. One couple we met on a courtesy bus!! The other couple through my husbands work and I met a girlfriend who temped at my work. It is hard though so it is great to get out socialise and meet new people and good for the babes too!
Have you seen the general chat link 'chat with parents' that Fiona started?
MrsMiggins
15-03-2006, 21:48
Hi Cherie!!
Here's the chat thread in case you're interested
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=216707#post216707
As for meeting up, I hope you can make it next Wednesday! We'd love to see you!
I have lived in Caloundra for just on 3 years. I have found it difficult to meet friends here, but I have to admit I haven't really tried very hard up until now. Bubhub is the best place to meet friends!!
I work/ed in Brisbane & several years ago, I worked for a retail company on the Gold Coast & made heaps of friends in Bris & on the Gold Coast, so most of my friends are now down south. I see them every so often, but it's hard. Most of them have babies/children now so it's very hard to work in with everyone's schedules. All of their babies are older.
I was so glad of the opportunity to meet up with other mums in the area! It's been great so far!!:D
3boys1girl
17-03-2006, 13:53
Thanks guys
I will try to make it next wed, but sometimes its hard as I am a nurse and work shift work. :fingerscrossed:
Won't be able to make it on Wednesday - this week is full on! When you
re having lots of fun, think of me! :)
MrsMiggins
17-03-2006, 21:42
Hi Shaelia - sorry to hear you can't make it :( Oh well, there's always next time!
Hope you can make it Cherie! We'll understand if you can't. We'll be sad, but we'll understand! It'd be great to meet you & yours so hope you can get there!
Hey girls!
Hope you have a great time on Wednesday! (I would love to come
along and meet you all but I work Sunday to Wednesday!)
Oh well, some other time :D
Enjoy!!
Kel
Imsooverit
21-03-2006, 09:21
Well, time has fast approached for the next Sunny Coast Bubhub lunch meet.
So, who was coming along tomorrow (Wednesday) to the Kings Beach Tavern at midday?
I've gone through the last few pages and have kind of worked out who I think can make it:
Storm
Fiona
Debster
Nic (Aimee's Mum)
Meme (if she can find transport)
Cherie (3 kids Mum) - (if she doesn't have to work)
Whoooo hoooo! :smiliedance: That looks like 4 yes and 2 maybe.
Meme and Cherie - do you know yet?
Are anyone on the yes list not coming now?
Are there any other people lurking out there that are thinking of coming?
Unfortunately Ty and I are both quite sick and I don't want to pass it onto any of you babes, or you for that matter, so we will have to stay home. :crying:
Ty's Auntie was visiting and was sick so she kindly passed it onto all of us! We both have coughs & blocked nose and I have a sore throat, so assume Ty is feeling the same. I bought him a vaporiser and it seems to be helping.
Hope you all have a nice time, will miss being there.
3boys1girl
22-03-2006, 10:29
We where going to come but Savannah is sick as well:( She has a Drs appt soon. Its a cold or flu type thing, which she is finding it hard to sleep. We should organise another get togther!
Hope Ty is feeling better soon Deb:fingerscrossed:
Cherie
MrsMiggins
22-03-2006, 15:37
Sorry to hear you couldn't make it & very sorry to hear you and your bubs are not well! :( Hope you are all feeling better very soon!
There are lots of things going round at the moment unfortunately!
argh, so sorry i couldn't make the meet up either this week, had a last minute meeting that i had forgotten about ( brains like a siv)
:fingerscrossed: for next time:)
MrsMiggins
22-03-2006, 17:06
That's OK!! If it's one thing you can count on it's that other mums will totally understand the "one-too-many-things-on-your-mind" forgetfulness!
Hope to see you next time! :thumbsup:
Hope you had a nice lunch yesterday.
Do you think we should start a new thread for each get together so new comers don't have to wade through pages?
We're still home bound but nevermind :(
MrsMiggins
23-03-2006, 16:34
Good idea!
I'll go start one & post the link back here.
MrsMiggins
23-03-2006, 16:52
Here is the new thread!
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=232035#post232035
I'd love everyone to jump on with suggestions for future outings!