View Full Version : Home feels a little closer todayu

filmgirlgail
16-08-2007, 16:51

Just got back from a lovely holiday in Norfolk Island yesterday, went to pick up the post today and there were 3 unexpected packages from the UK - from my mum, sister and best friend!!!

Also, we've brought Alex's christening forward to the end of September so my brother arrives 6 weeks today :smiliedance: :smiliedance: as he is godfather and my cousin, who is godmother, will be coming too !!

So the UK is feeling a bit closer today :D

*Sparkles*
16-08-2007, 17:00
Hi there :wave:

I am also from the UK (although I don't get homesick anymore lol).

Just wanted to say Hi and I love the name Alex, we have that picked for our next bub if we have another boy :)

Hope the christening goes well too.

Hels.

filmgirlgail
16-08-2007, 19:41
Hi Helen

I don't get so homesick now, after 3 years here (on Monday I think) but the occasional day which usually coincides with my time of the month but it's always nice to know when the next visit, us to home or people to us, is IYKWIM.

We love the name Alex and it was one of only 2 we could really agree on, plus it's both our middle names (mine being Alexandra) which we liked.

Where are you from? I'm from Amersham in Bucks but lived all over the south east/London and surrounds.

*Sparkles*
17-08-2007, 13:32
I'm from Southampton, but I also lived in S.E London for a while. I've been out here for 14 years. Are you a citizen yet?

filmgirlgail
17-08-2007, 16:57
No not yet. I have until March 2009 when my visa will run out. Will think about it next year!!

Londonmum
17-08-2007, 20:39

Good to hear things are going well for you Filmgirlgail and I know what you mean about needing to know when your next visit is coming. We are aiming to go back for hol end Jan and then hopefully we will have some of our friends come over to Aus over the course of the next year.....really looking forward to it as missed everyone so much over this last year.
Do you have residency FGG ?

Hells - Long time over here then.....what part of S.E.London were you living ? I was in Grove Park between Bromley and Lewisham.

filmgirlgail
18-08-2007, 07:56

Good to hear things are going well for you Filmgirlgail and I know what you mean about needing to know when your next visit is coming. We are aiming to go back for hol end Jan and then hopefully we will have some of our friends come over to Aus over the course of the next year.....really looking forward to it as missed everyone so much over this last year.
Do you have residency FGG ?

Hells - Long time over here then.....what part of S.E.London were you living ? I was in Grove Park between Bromley and Lewisham.

What's FGG?

I know Bromley - my best mate at the time I was at uni was at the college there and I was at Kingston so I used to go over all the time! Spent many drunk nights there!

Londonmum
18-08-2007, 16:11
Sorry...FGG is my way of abreviating your username FilmGirlGail :D

Bromley is lovely, I would go there for shopping all the time in preference to Lewisham.

Pixie
18-08-2007, 16:40
AH dear Bromley lol was there on Tuesday :p

How exciting FGG about everyone coming out that will be heaps fun!

I love getting parcels haha I get them more now I am here hehe

Well looks like summer is winding down here a little in London bit rainy still humid though been 10 weeks of amazing weather!