View Full Version : Feedback on Childcare Centres Robina area
fingerscrossed2006
16-08-2007, 14:14
Hi Everyone:wave:
I am returning to work in November and my son will be 12 months old and I am hoping to get some opinions/recommendations or perhaps "warnings" on childcare centres in the Robina Area. I do have the option of having my mum look after him for a few months so can look into centres that start from 15 months old aswell. I have looked at EVERY centre in Robina and basically prefer the ABC at Varsity or Robina Groves and also looking into the Babyland one that takes them from 15mths. ANY feed back would be soooooo much appreciated as I am totally confused !! :confused:
Thanks Caroline
I understand what your going through.
I had a bad experience with my daughter Freya (14months) at the Robina Town Childcare Centre and i'm now looking for another one.
I have looked at heaps also.........Is the ABC at Robina Groves airconditioned? One of the ones I looked at wasn't, which was strange, I thought it was that one.
We are currently in London until mid September, so I have to find one for her to start at then. A few people have said Whispering Gully Childcare is good, I haven't had a chance to go there yet, but will be when I return.
Good luck, if you do find a good one let me know.
Take Care
Karen
I've been looking around at child care centres in Robina/Mudgeeraba area for my boys. I've been to a few and the best centre i have seen by far is 'Whispering Gully', so i think thats goin to be the one:thumbsup:
Good Luck!!
babyella
16-08-2007, 19:26
where abouts is 'whispering gully'???
Whispering Gully is on Cnr Highfield Dr & Breakwater Rd, Robina (near the Hungry Jacks & Shell Servo just off the M1)
fingerscrossed2006
17-08-2007, 09:10
Thanks for your feedback .... please keep them coming everyone !!!
Karen - I'm sorry you had a hard time at the Robina Town CC, thats the one on Thorngate Dr isnt it ??? I didnt like it much, thought it was a bit old and tatty. Not sure if ABC at the Groves is Air Conditioned, I would have thought so. I have been to Smart Kids, all the ABC's, Playful Possums at Mudgeeraba, Whispering Gully and so far I like ABC Varsity but they have a HUGE waiting list and the Robina Babyland which is on Ron Penhaligon Way, the staff in the toddlers room seemed nice although it was a bit of a mess.
Thats interstesting that a few of you have said the Whispering Gully because I have heard good things about them too however I am not sure if its for me.. I love the concept of the Steiner philosophy with a "homey" feel however I feel the staff are all very very young and not overly friendly and it had a bit of a "Hippy" feel which I wasnt overly keen on (sorry if that offends anyone). There is 2 Whispering Gullys next to each other so maybe I went into the wrong one, which one? I went into the one you first come to in the driveway not the one nearest the main rd.
Caroline :)
hayleysmummy
17-08-2007, 09:33
Thanx I've been keeping an eye on this thread as I hope to put DD in at the end of this year or the start of next she will be 14-15 months old Also wondering if anyone has had a look at the ABC centre on Tallai Rd in Mudgeeraba as its really close and convenient for me but would like to know everyone elses experiences with them
Also there is a Community Kids childcare centre in Mudgeeraba on Wallandra Drive that I would like to know about
fingerscrossed2006
17-08-2007, 14:11
Hi Hayleys Mum
A friend of mine takes her little girl to Community Kids in Mudgeeraba and is happy with the centre, its just a bit too far for me.
This is good feedback, thanks girls, it's such a big decision.
Caroline, I think alot of the centres have young staff, I guess they don't get paid a whole lot so move on as they get older. It's a hard job for not much praise for alot of them, it's hard enough looking after one let alone 6 or so. I admire them, but in saying that I want a centre that will take good care of my daughter so she's not just a number, it's a hard balance.
If anyone else has any info on any centres I'd love to hear it.
Thanks Karen
Oh does anyone know anything about Fuji International Childcare/Kindy at Robina?
fingerscrossed2006
23-08-2007, 10:26
Hi Karen
Yes I know the money is pretty bad in childcare especially because its such an important role it doesnt seem fair.... I actually started studying Cert III in Childcare myself before I fell pregnant and I am feeling a bit flat about continuing it since I have seen so many daycares and found out how bad the pay is so I decided to return to my admin role instead:) . No I dont know much about the Fuji Kindy, i did find a website for them when I was googling and they take children from 15mths, I think it may be owned by Japanese or Chinese people and I guess there draw card is they embrace multicultural children which is great. It may be even worth you putting your name down on some of the waiting lists in Robina seen your overseas at the moment, you dont have to take the spot but worth putting your name down so you have more options and dont get dissappointed if you like a centre and cant get in. Best of luck... keep me posted aswell. :)
Keep the feedback coming please everyone...its so helpful to get others experiences :thumbsup:
Caroline
babyella
24-08-2007, 19:53
I take DD to smater kids (investigation dr Robina) i love the staff there they make a real effort to get to know you and your bub, they are very friendly and do LOADS of activites with the kids through the day (they even had little chickens hatch there this week and had them on display at the front so eveyone can look at them SO CUTE!!), they write down everything your bub does during the day-activities, nappy changes, how much sleep, how much food etc., they are a montissery (sp?) learning centre, the only negative thing i find is it's not catered so you have to pack her lunch (makes me sound a bit lazy:rolleyes: ) but other than that DD really likes it
Jess
Hi Jess,
I had a look at smarter kids a few weeks ago and really liked it. The lady that showed me around was lovely. I think that will be where I end up sending Freya, but I was a bit put off by having to pack her lunch everyday. Not that I mind, but I liked the idea of her having a catered lunch, it would get her experiencing a few new foods.
I hope things are well with Ella and Isla.
Take Care
Karen
Does anyone have any experience with either of the ABC centre's on Christine Ave?
There are two ABC's direcectly side by side and just wondered if anyone had a preference between the two? (Robina Groves or Robina Groves East).
Thanks.
PinkBinkie
11-10-2007, 19:51
I've just started working at Robina Groves (the one on the left) and found it to be a great centre. My DD attends Whispering Gully (the one on the left) and LOVES it. And Robina Groves ABC has air con. It is a hard decision but I think you can pretty much tell whether the centre will suit you and your child on your first visit. First impressions really count :)
traceylee
14-01-2008, 17:53
my daughter use to go to village child care centre in mudgeeraba, its only been there just over 1.5yrs and i loved it and so did she, they also feed them there so you dont need to provide lunch.
My daughter went there from when it opened so 16months old right up until she was 3.5 and we moved.
Never had any dramas and the staff always told me everything that i needed to know.
There website address is
http://www.villagechildcarecentre.com.au/