View Full Version : Bub Hubbers have convinced me.....
After reading through the Cloth nappies section on bub hub, I have decided to give the MCN a go. Before I found this web site I didn't even know they exsisted.:laughing:
A have brought 6 BumGenius nappies (pockets)and 6 extra inserts, they are on layby and will get them in 4 weeks.
I was thinking about using them at home and sposies when I am out and about and for night time. Can anyone give me an idea on how many I will need? Any other tips appriciated:).
HoopDeeDoo
16-08-2007, 09:56
If you are going to use them part time then 12 should be heaps :yes:
Be warned though, once you start you won't want anything else on bubs bum! :D
Thanks Hoopdedoo, will have to layby another 6. I can't wait to get them.
The only thing I am not looking forward to is poo scraping.. :laughing:
Do you scrape into the toilet?
HoopDeeDoo
16-08-2007, 10:05
You can get what called a little squirt, it's a high pressure water gun like thing that squirts all the poop into the loo. Thats what I use :D :yes:
how much are they? how do they work?
Probably silly questions, but I want to get it right from the start or I know I will be turned off
Snugglepot
16-08-2007, 10:15
You can also buy flushable liners, they are great for my toddler and have been pretty good for my newborn, it takes a fair bit of the scraping out of it! I am planning to get a little squirt though, when bubs is bigger. They sound great.
I would get 12 or so too. Perhaps you should try a couple of other brands as well. Bubblebubs are great (AIO) and easy. Having said that I love my BGs and always reach for them first!
Have fun and :yes: its addictive!
HoopDeeDoo
16-08-2007, 10:17
They are about $70- $80 depending on where you get them. I've heard people getting them from Reece for $53. The extra cost is because of the shipping charge the business gets charged. Sometimes they absorb it, sometimes they include it in the price. The regular price is about $69.95, thats how much I paid for mine from Bunnings, and it was worth every cent :yes: I even bought one for my IL's house since the boys ALWAYS poo when they are there :yes:
You can get them from Bunnings or baby shops.
They're about $70.
you don't 'need' one.. I've been using cloth on my twins for about 4 months now and we still don't have one.
But am thinking of getting one to make getting newborn poo off easier... although in all honesty I haven't really minded the poo factor. we have a really strong pressure on the tap in our laundry, so once I've slooshed/shaken as much as I can into the loo, I just rinse the nappies in the laundry and flush the bucket I've rinsed them into :thumbsup:
You can always just buy a length of hose and attach it to your laundry tub, so you can make your own high-pressure hose... just make sure you spray it all off into a bucket, then flush the contents down the loo :D
Or... you could buy a little squirt. lmao. :laughing:
Oh and you can try some of the new BabyBeeHinds Magic-all's
They're All In Ones too... and super cheap :thumbsup: , so great for building up your stash.
16-08-2007, 10:20
I would really wait until you got the first 6 before ordering another lot :yes:
There are SO many different brands and types of MCNs out there, and it takes time to work out which suits you and bub and the wallet best.
Oh and Little Squirts are awesome, it's the best thing I got (other then the nappies :D ). I found the cheapest price at Reece (plumbing store), it was $54 I think, from memory, and it was the Little Squirt brand. :thumbsup:
Wow, thanks for all the replies. Might have to go the liners and layby one of those squirt things.
What brand of nappie does everyone use/prefer?
16-08-2007, 10:47
You're gonna have to do some thread-reading :D There's so many out there!
Pockets are great IMO- I prefer them over AIOs as an everyday workhorse nappy. I have one-size ones such as Green Kids and BumGenius, and Swaddlebee organic velour side-snaps, Blueberry, fleece pockets, just to mention a few.
I do have some nice AIOs though- Itti Bitti's, Cherub's Kiss Honey!Boys, Berry Plush (which are AI2's) and a new fleece WAHM one.
Fitted are great, especially for night- bamboo is more absorbant then hemp, but hemp is good too. I have bamboo Baby Beehinds, bamboo velour Very Baby Simply Night's, bamboo Good Night Sleep Tight nappies from BubbleBubs, an organic velour Dream Eze, a Cute Tooshies bamboo delight and a great WAHM bamboo fitted.
Some of the main webstores to browse through are Darlings Downunder, The Wee Wun and Nuture Nappies. There's a great list of other retailers somewhere on bubhub too :thumbsup:
Everyone is different.
I love pocket nappies. I LOVE my bumgenius's, so trim and absorbant. I also love my Blueberry's... but you can get those later on once you're comfortable with the cloth idea.
I really like my BabyBeeHinds Magic-All's.. so easy to use, just like sposies. (although I always keep my pocket nappies stuffed.. I put the inserts back in as I take them off the washing line,.... coz then they're just like sposies too.. easy for me, DH, and grandparents)
Some people like Green Kids... I'm not too fussed on them.
Some people like fitteds... I tend to only use these if the boys are wearing polar fleece trackies... coz I'm lazy and get annoyed with covers...
But with the fleece covers/trakkies they are an excellent 'sleep' nappy.. coz there are no 'gaps' in the absorbancy as the entire nappy is absorbant.. so you get full coverage regardles of sleep position. I use Baby BeeHinds Bamboos.
I reccomend getting a trial pack to start with.
stick with your BG's... look up BabyBeehinds... they have a good trial pack at the moment with a bamboo and hemp fitted nappy, some covers and some Magic-All's for a very reasonable price.
I have about 20 pocket nappies which I use for both boys, and I don't have to wash every day. coz I find they only use about 4 or 5 each a day. :thumbsup: same as sposies really.
thanks ladies
will look into some other brands. :thumbsup:
I love my BG pockets, nice choice - but I don't think you'll need all those extra inserts. The ones that come with them are pretty quick drying. :)