View Full Version : Would You Hire Me?

Noah_and_Elijah
13-08-2007, 15:52
I've just signed up to study to become a Doula through Optimum Birth and I am really looking forward to it.

I'm a little worried though that I won't get any work (as a student or otherwise) because I am so young (22) so would you hire me?

Would my age deter you from hiring me as your doula?

Please be completely honest! Thanks! :D

13-08-2007, 15:54
Nope, wouldn't be a problem.

If you weren't due around the same time as me, I'd hire you as a student :D

QTB
13-08-2007, 15:55
I have PMd you :D

Star81
13-08-2007, 15:56
Your age wouldnt bother me at all, it would come down to how well we got on and weather or not I was comfortable with you.

Good luck and all the best with your course.

punkbaby
Nope not at all as you have had babies yourself :) cant get much more expereince than that :)...wanna come to gippy for a holiday lol

QTB
oh and i am only 23 and have had no problems with getting clients... if you were 22 and didnt have your own child then you prob wouldnt get work, but you have so dont worry :D

Lirael
13-08-2007, 15:57
no, not because of ur age though :laughing: JJ i luffs ya. age isnt an issue in my opinion, if you are competent and professional doesnt matter if youre 22 or 82

Noah_and_Elijah
13-08-2007, 15:58
Phew! Thanks guys! I was a little bit worried!! :o

Mamaduke
13-08-2007, 15:58
I wouldn't hire you based on your age or how many children you had...that wouldn't matter to me.
I'd hire you based on your knowledge and how well I 'clicked' with you.

Mamalicious
13-08-2007, 16:00
Your age wouldnt bother me at all, it would come down to how well we got on and weather or not I was comfortable with you.

same here :yes:

it helps that you've had a baby too, IMO.

Noah_and_Elijah
13-08-2007, 16:11
no, not because of ur age though :laughing:

Well I wouldn't want to work with YOU either :p

Lirael
13-08-2007, 16:12
oh you would so! Im fabulous(can u handle a c section though?) :D

Noah_and_Elijah
13-08-2007, 16:17
I can handle anything! I'm a doula (well...nearly!) :D

LittleBoysRock
13-08-2007, 16:56
You have had a baby....that means you know what labour is like!

Some nurses are 22.... doesnt make them any less!

If you were in Perth you could be my doula for the birth of my bub in about 6-8 weeks!

tootiredtosleep
13-08-2007, 17:00
I'd much rather someone young who had kids, then someone older who never had!
Besides, younger people are much less likely to be jaded and have old fashioned/out of date ideas.

Tabby
13-08-2007, 17:07
I'd much rather someone young who had kids, then someone older who never had!

Thats my answer too :thumbsup:

biscotti
13-08-2007, 17:20
I would hire you if we "clicked". I wouldn't worry about your age, you on the other hand might think I'm too old :D :laughing: (nearly 40).

Actually I have just started looking for a doula for my November birth :detective:

Noah_and_Elijah
13-08-2007, 17:26
I would hire you if we "clicked". I wouldn't worry about your age, you on the other hand might think I'm too old :D :laughing: (nearly 40).

Actually I have just started looking for a doula for my November birth :detective:

Oh yes, far too old! Sorry! :p

“Age is just a number. It's totally irrelevant unless, of course, you happen to be a bottle of wine" - Joan Collins! (soo true!)

biscotti
13-08-2007, 17:28
Oh yes, far too old! Sorry! :p

:o

Loved the quote btw!!
hmm - are you north side Brisbane by any chance?

Noah_and_Elijah
13-08-2007, 17:32
No! I sent you a PM! :D

Lirael
13-08-2007, 17:35
do doulas have to bring me pie if i request some:D you know, in labour or whatever :p

Noah_and_Elijah
13-08-2007, 17:42
Hun if you want pie then I will get you pie! :laughing:

Lirael
13-08-2007, 17:43
oh yay Im so hiring you next bub :D I loove pie:smiliedance:

Noah_and_Elijah
13-08-2007, 17:44
Hey if your lucky I might even make it myself... ;)

Jeclipse
13-08-2007, 17:45
MMMMMMM...... piieeeee:p
OMG.. have u ever tried chocolate pie?
its VERY yum
lol

haha

I wish id hired a doula.. dont think I have enough bucks though:rolleyes:
they are rather lovely

Lirael
13-08-2007, 17:46
Hey if your lucky I might even make it myself... ;)

you can cook:eek::p

haha back at ya! If youre a student Doula do you charge? or is that not allowed?

and jeclipse, shut up about pie Im gettin hungry!:laughing:

greengables
13-08-2007, 17:47

I agree with the above. With all ages there will be advantages/disadvantages and the fact that you have had 2 children makes a big difference! :)

Noah_and_Elijah
13-08-2007, 17:48
You can charge if you are a student but I wouldn't / won't only because by attending the births you are doing ME the favour IYKWIM?

1+1=5
13-08-2007, 18:14
i would actually love a young mum to be my dula so i would definitly hire you.

my births went on for hours and hours (22hrs and 53 hrs) so you would definitly get some good experience out of me! i wish i did have doula. it would have been great.

Noah_and_Elijah
13-08-2007, 19:12
i would actually love a young mum to be my dula so i would definitly hire you.

ah that makes me feel much better, thank you! :yes:

BeautifulBoys
13-08-2007, 19:17
Nope it wouldn't bother me, Im a student Doula myself I trained through Australian doulas in perth, i am still waiting to support my first birth!!!!!! i live in hobart now.. its hard to find women who need the support here.good luck!!
im 28yrs old.:wave:

Super Trooper
13-08-2007, 19:20
Im only 19 so your not that young to me :laughing:

I like that, as someone else said, you wouldnt have old/outdated ideas on birth. And i like that you have kidlets yourself :thumbsup:

Id like to be a doula, or maybe even an ob :eek: (im studying vet but have considered changing to med), because since being pregnant my ideas surrounding birth have changed dramatically (for the better i think), and id like to help other pregnant women achieve the best birth possible.

Of course my ideas are only theoretical, i havent been through birth yet so i dont really know! :laughing:

Good luck with the studies!

warriorPRINCESSdaughter
13-08-2007, 19:25
hi yes yes yes i would hire you, like the others said its not your age it how well you klick , i too and a student doula through optimum birth i love the course and cant wait to finish. happy posting

:angel:Jodie

Ravofireman
13-08-2007, 20:08
sorry for being a dumb bloke but whats a dula

Noah_and_Elijah
13-08-2007, 20:16
A doula supports women in labour by attending to their emotional and physical comfort needs and assists in making their labour as amazing as it can be.

Ravofireman
13-08-2007, 20:17
were do i get one for my misses lol

Noah_and_Elijah
13-08-2007, 20:19
I'd love to help but the distance may mean that I don't arrive quite on time! :laughing:

Ravofireman
13-08-2007, 20:25
ahh lol dam

nah kiddin

Mummy2Noah
13-08-2007, 20:25
Leesh hun i reckon you will get heaps of work !! i would DEFINATLEY hire you!! Do you come to Broken Hill :laughing:

We have a midwife in Broken Hill thats 24 and she is the most Popular midwife cause all the younger mummys 2 be wont her!!!