View Full Version : ::The Blubber Club::

lilsprout
05-02-2006, 21:51
~this club was formed for all of us interested in a realistic, healthy environment to loose our weight~

No weigh-in's, No scales, No calorie counter's{fat counting is ok:p }

....Just great advice, great people, great recipes we'll have to add these, exercise tips/hints

and encouragement

support

:: Let's make ourselves feel fitter and more energetic ::

polony
05-02-2006, 21:58
Hooray! I am really happy that this is here!!

Tomorrow morning I am going to have on wholegrain toast some fresh tomato with basil. Yummo... any other suggestions?

I need to try and stick to the 5 veg 2 fruit a day rule!!

Good luck!

Ffrenchknickers
05-02-2006, 22:01
Good on you guys!!!

Hey, when you get out of bed in the morning, do 20 squats!! Will only take you half a minute and it wil kickstart your metabolism!:D

[http://images.google.com.au/imgres?imgurl=http://www.health24.com/images/site/fitness/exercises/pics/Bodyweight_squat2.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.health24.com/fitness/exercises/16-1339-1345,28397.asp&h=202&w=152&sz=9&tbnid=ryJkeCD2eoiSBM:&tbnh=99&tbnw=74&hl=en&start=23&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dbodyweight%2Bsquats%26start%3D20%26sv num%3D10%26hl%3Den%26lr%3D%26rls%3DRNWH,RNWH:2005-08,RNWH:en%26sa%3DN

polony
05-02-2006, 22:07
20 squats? Ok. But I must warn you, I am not a good morning person so I may forget but if I do remember then... yeah!!

Ffrenchknickers
05-02-2006, 22:12
Go on !! You'll love it hehe....write it on a bit of paper and stick it on your bedhead..........DO 20 SQUATS!!!! LOL

Cheekychops
05-02-2006, 22:13
20????? can i do that without the zero??? i printed out the instructions.....but don't know how many I will be able to do....do you have to do them all at once? I know i'm a bit pathetic, but have really let myself go....so am fairly unfit :(

dannii
05-02-2006, 22:14
20 squats? lol yeah im also not a morning person!
my hubby says not to even look sideways at me on most mornings haha

once ive had my coffee im usually ok!

hmmm dont have to give up my caffiene do i? :o

Ffrenchknickers
05-02-2006, 22:15
Just do however many you can! You'll be fine! Doesnt have to be 20 an it doesnt have to be all at once - no pressure:)

lilsprout
05-02-2006, 22:16
Hi polony:D I'm glad your here

Your brekky sounds so yummy xcellant choice

I'll kick off with a recipe
Chicken Burgers
seves 6{easily halved for less}
cooking time: 5minutes

500g chicken mince
100g mushrooms{omit or replace with something else if you hate them}roughly chopped
1 stick of celery, roughly chopped
1 onion, grated so kids will eat it!!
1 large sprig of parsley{excellant to help with being a women and fluid retention} chopped
1 egg
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 cup of breadcrumbs
2 tablespoons flour
6 wholemeal bread rolls
2 tablespoons of sweet chillie sauce{if it's your thing}
3 lettuce leaves, shredded
1 tomato, sliced
1/2 a cucumber, sliced

blend mushroom, celery, onion, parsely, egg and soy sauce in a food processor until smooth. Mix with chicken mince and enough breadcrumbs to make a soft and manageable texture. Divide the mixture and shape with a little flour to make six round patties, larger than the width of the rolls. Spray a non-stick pan with oil and cook the patties for about 4 or 5 minutes on each side until brown and cooked through. Serve on the roll with lettuce, tomato and cucumber slices

Nutritional Info
Fat 9.2g {excellant for dinner it's under 10g-12g}
Carbs 48.0g
Protein 29.0g
Sodium 1,007mg{add low salt soy to make it lower}
Fibre 6.0g

Ffrenchknickers
05-02-2006, 22:19
Woohoo, this is a great thread Lilsprout - and a yummo looking recipe I must say! You guys are going to be lokoing mighty fine in no time:D:D

P.S.......dont forget the squats.....LOL

Cheekychops
05-02-2006, 22:22
thanks lils......they sound delicious - i might try them for dinner this week sometime!

Cheekychops
05-02-2006, 22:23
Just wanted to say thanks Frenchie for being so supportive and interested in our new and improved healthy lifestyle efforts.....it's really great!!!

Ffrenchknickers
05-02-2006, 22:24
aww...no worries! I think this thread is a great idea:)

polony
05-02-2006, 22:35
Here is another recipe. Chicken again, sorry, but here goes...

Garlic and Lemon Thyme Steamed Chicken

4 skinless chicken breasts (hold the nipple)
2 cloves garlic (although I like more)
lemon thyme (or you can use lemon pepper which I use)
1 cos lettuce
carrots
sugar snap peas

Sprinkle chicken with lemon thyme, salt, pepper and garlic. Roll up chicken in lettuce leaves.

Using a bamboo steamer, line it with baking paper and pop in the chicken with the carrots. Cover and steam for about 8 minutes or until carrots are tender.

Add sugar snap peas, cover for 3 minutes.

Done!!

sugar n spice
05-02-2006, 23:51
This is a really great idea. I don't really have any advice but will love to get some. Im eating a lot more spicy food for somereason and i have heard that it speed up your metabolism.

Mary_T
06-02-2006, 07:22
What a great thread I love the idea of no weigh ins. I try to go to the gym three times a week.

lukaelmo
06-02-2006, 07:32
Oooo I wanna be in the club too! I don't really want to lose weight, but I am a bit floppy all over now :D ...

I just did my 20 squats :D

But I ate crap all weekend :(. I am gonna go to the fruit and veg store when DP wakes up and get us some of that good green stuff ;)

lilsprout
06-02-2006, 07:44
I haven't done my squats...yet but will that was such a fantastic idea. I wonder what we could do whilst peeling vegies, brushing teeth??
During the commercials of an evening I am going to do crunches{and aim for more each night}
I am going to try your chicken recipe polony, we use more garlic in this house too!!

there are 3 things that are t are fabulous for weight-loss, they are available in the breakfast isle and the healthfood sections at wollies. I use them everyday for our health. psyllium husk, Linseed, soy and almond mealand lecithin.
LSA:is wonderful for weight-loss and adds nutritional value to foods
psyllium husk: this is a dietary fibre but not limited too it. It helps with weight-loss also. Is wonderful for releiving constipation and preventing diarrhea. It reduces heart disease and lowering cholestrol. Also, improves glycemic and lipid control especially beneficial too type II diabetics.
Lecithin: This is also great for weight-loss but also read that it is great for brain function also!!:cool:

This is the beginning of a whole new an improved way of living and I am so happy there are others here that feel the same. It doesn't make it seem like such a "task" now...thankyou

polony
06-02-2006, 13:00
I only managed 15 squats this morning, after rolling over and seeing a note plastered next to my bed!!

Still, I am feeling more awake and energised....

Will get myself to the shops to get those psyllium husks etc. Do they taste yukky, or nice or like cardboard? How do you use them? I have no idea

polony
06-02-2006, 13:03
Oh yeah, and I changed my mind for brekkie. I instead had one egg and mixed it with mushrooms and bean sprouts.

Mmmmm......

sugar n spice
06-02-2006, 13:21
hey keep it coming with the reciepes though polony what is a bamboo steamer?:confused:

Ffrenchknickers
06-02-2006, 13:25
yay!! WELLDONE:D

I only managed 15 squats this morning, after rolling over and seeing a note plastered next to my bed!!

Lilsprout - yup do them whenever!!! Good on you Lukaelmo:)

polony
06-02-2006, 13:40
Hey Bride83

www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00005EBH8/104-1792476-1171167?v=glance&n=284507

this is a bamboo steamer.

06-02-2006, 13:51
OOh can I join the club?!! :D

I started weight watchers again last week so I'm bound to need some moral support at some stage! :o So far, not so good, but I am determined to make the rest of the week a success!!

I'll start on those squats too, actually if any of you have an exercise ball stick it behind your lower back against a wall & do them that way, just as effective but a little easier to do!!:)

Ffrenchknickers
06-02-2006, 14:04
Yes good idea Becky....someting else, if you do use a ball, challenge yourself by going down into a squat position and see how long you can hold it:) Try ot beat your record everytime:)

polony
06-02-2006, 14:14
Thought I would put the recipe of what I had for brekkie down. I made it up, but here goes:

Brooke's Baby Blubber Breakfast

1-2 eggs
A handful of bean sprouts
2 large mushrooms
1 tspn garlic
1 tablespn oyster sauce

Chuck it all into a wok and mix around till egg is cooked.

Thats it.

I had that for breakfast. Yummo

lilsprout
06-02-2006, 15:50
Will get myself to the shops to get those psyllium husks etc. Do they taste yukky, or nice or like cardboard? How do you use them? I have no idea
the psyllium husks&lecithin don't really have a taste at all, but do suck up the milk:D
LSA has a nutty taste and is reall yummo over yoghurt... You have a teaspoon of each over your breakky cereal, in a smoothie - my DH's fav, over your yoghurt in just about anything!! If you happen not to like it and still want the added benefits add it in a smoothie {my DH is scared of anything "forgien" in his breakky and blantly refuses to eat it, except in a smoothie...gotta love compromise:p }

peterpan
06-02-2006, 16:00
Thought I would put the recipe of what I had for brekkie down. I made it up, but here goes:

Brooke's Baby Blubber Breakfast

1-2 eggs
A handful of bean sprouts
2 large mushrooms
1 tspn garlic
1 tablespn oyster sauce

Chuck it all into a wok and mix around till egg is cooked.

Thats it.

I had that for breakfast. Yummo

Yummy Yummy thanks so much for that it was great:)

peterpan
06-02-2006, 16:05
Oh I forgot to say please add me to the list after today and me trying to buy shorts...omg i do not want to tell you what size i had to get but it made me cry:mad:
A big thank you to F.S for helping us
Lets make her the team leader?

Cheekychops
06-02-2006, 19:05
Guess what?!?! I did 20 squats!!!!!! :eek: Yippeeeeeee, legs a little sore tonight,:( but I'm gonna try to do em again tomorrow!!! Have been doing ok today....will be even better tomorrow!!!!:D

polony
06-02-2006, 20:17
Hmm... wondering what to have for din dins. Any suggestions??

bella'sbub
06-02-2006, 21:01
great this is just what I was looking for! Thanks

a hairy question: My ECN told me it is not safe to diet whilst breast feeding because the toxins (pesticides and all those nasty drugs we took in our misguided youth) break down in the fat and go into the milk. This is a pretty scary idea. Any thoughts about this?
I really don't want to belive her cos I would like to loose those tuck shop lady arms. I like the 20 squat idea and will give it a go. And no weigh ins!:cool:

Also wanted to add that last time I lost a whole bunch of weight (before preggers) I started by trying to love the body I was in. (I have tried almost everything else) And it worked!
Lets give ourselves a pat on the back for having healthy, strong, feminine, baby birthing bods!!!

lilsprout
07-02-2006, 07:17
great this is just what I was looking for! Thanks

a hairy question: My ECN told me it is not safe to diet whilst breast feeding because the toxins (pesticides and all those nasty drugs we took in our misguided youth) break down in the fat and go into the milk. This is a pretty scary idea. Any thoughts about this?
thankyou bella'sbub, it's important that while you are breast-feeding that your giving your body all the nutriments it needs to sustain energy and provide all the food for your growing baby/infant/toddler ~ your body is working really hard and burning up so much fuel already to do this that you need to provide it with enough to get through the day.

I don't think it's a good idea to depleat your body from anything during breast-feeding phase of motherhood.

What is important is healthy food. While it's not ok to diet and work out vigorously, it is ok to put the right foods in and cut out junk and excess "empty calories". :D

Glad you like the thread!!

lilsprout
07-02-2006, 07:28
Oh I forgot to say please add me to the list after today and me trying to buy shorts...omg i do not want to tell you what size i had to get but it made me cry:mad:
I know what your feeling peterpan; I cry when putting on clothes and looking at the "don't fit pile"

I am not crying anymore!

I've decided that to make it feel better I have to start looking at it differantly. This can only happen if I make the connection between not happy with size XYZ and aiming everyday for a healthly diet and some exercise. The fat doesn't melt off like ice cubes, unfortunately, we have to work on it everyday.

You can do this peterpan, you have us to lean on all the way:)

lilsprout
07-02-2006, 07:39
Hi there...feeling so good this morning the air is brisker down here in Tassy in the mornings now, but I feel better already more alive and alert.

How about we have a healthy recipe finder; where we will all post a healthy recipe today{before midnight}.

It shouldn't take long; google "low fat recipes" or "healthy meals" or "interesting low fat recipes" etc

choose one recipe and bring it here to post....:D

.....as frenchie would say, "don't forget those squats!!"......

DB&O
07-02-2006, 11:56
Hi all, I have a really yummy baked risotto recipe that is simple & easy to cook (even DH has managed this one), tastes great & is healthy, so thought I would list it for all to try, also this recipe is suitable for children from 10 months & a lot of the ingredients are things that I usually have in the cupboard so great for when I've been out & forgotten to take something out for dinner. Keep in mind you can alternate some of the ingredients if you don't the originals, ie- zuchini & you can add a finely diced chicken breast that has been lightly pan fried if your DH needs meat.

You'll need:
2 tsp olive oil, 1 med onion, 1 clove garlic, 185g arborio rice, 375ml chick stock, 400g tin chopped tomatoes, 2-3 diced zucchini, 60 g parmesan, freshly ground black pepper & 25g butter.

1- Preheat oven to 200c. Heat oil in a 3L ovenproof dish (with a lid) over a medium heat. Saute onion & garlic until the onion is soft & translucent (about 5 mins).
2- Add rice, cook another 5 mins, stirring occasionally. Add the stock & chopped tomatoes & bring to the simmer, stirring occasionally. Add the zucchini, sprinkle with most of the parmesan & some black pepper & cook for 2 mins. Cover & bake for 30 mins, or until the rice is cooked.
3- Stir in the butter & the remaining parmesan, cover & leave for a few minutes. Serve, if you have to reheat this you may need to add some additional stock.

This makes enough for my DH (big eater) & DD & me, with a small amount of leftovers.
I love this recipe as it means I only have to cook one meal for the family & DD eats this with gusto. Why not give it a go.
Ciao,
Brooke.

sugar n spice
07-02-2006, 12:07
i think that is a fantastic idea goooogling a reciepe i will go find one now.
see ya later.

sugar n spice
07-02-2006, 12:26
ok this one looks yummy

Lamb and Asian Green
Diabetes-Friendly Recipe
Diabetes-friendly Recipe X
This recipe contains:

Fat:
No more than 15g

Saturated Fat:
No more than 5g

Cholesterol:
No more than 300 mg

Sodium:
No more than 1000 mg

Carbohydrates:
No more than 50g

Total Sugars:
No more than 25g total sugars; limit to 35g in desserts
Low-Carb Recipe
Low-Carb Recipe X
This recipe contains:

Carbohydrates:
No more than 45g Total Sugars:
No more than 25g total sugars; limit to 35g in desserts
High-Fibre Recipe
High-Fibre Recipe X
This recipe contains:

Fibre:
At least 3g
Quick And Easy Recipe
Quick and Easy Recipe X
This recipe requires 30 minutes or less for complete preparation.

Serves: 4 person(s)

Preparation Time: 10 mins
Cooking Time: 15 mins

You just can't go wrong with this combination of flavours!

Ingredients:

375 g lamb loin fillets, thinly sliced

2 Tbsp kecap manis

2 Tbsp sweet chilli sauce

2 Tbsp sesame seeds

1 Tbsp peanut oil

1 red onion, cut into thin wedges

400 g button mushrooms, sliced

200 g snow peas, trimmed

1 bunch baby bok choy, leaves separated and stems chopped

Directions:

Combine lamb, kecap manis and sweet chilli sauce in a medium bowl, mix well to combine.

Heat a wok over high heat until hot. Add sesame seeds and stir-fry 2 minutes or until golden. Remove to a plate.

Add 1 ½ tablespoons oil and the lamb and stir-fry 4 minutes or until brown. Remove to a plate.

Add remaining 2 teaspoons oil to the wok and heat until hot. Add onion and stir-fry for 1 minute. Add the mushrooms and stir-fry 2 minutes. Add bok choy stems, snow peas and stir-fry 1 minute.

Add lamb and bok choy leaves and stir-fry 1-2 minutes or until heated through. Stir through the sesame seeds and serve immediately.
Variations:

Serve with steamed jasmine rice, if desired. Serving suggestion not included in nutritional information.
Author:

Fresh Finesse

this was from the web page: http://www.calorieking.com.au/recipes/

bella'sbub
07-02-2006, 12:36
OK thanks lilsprout & co.

I'm Feeling great today, got so enthused by blubber club, that I went for a run on the beach! Energy does create energy. Your thread made me think: as mums, partners, friends, daughters etc. we spend so much time looking after others that we forget to really nuture oursleves. You are right a ggod way to do this is by eating great, nutritious, alive food (and cutting out crap). So I made a list & stuck it to the fridge (I'm a list person)on one side is "good food" and on the other is "fat people's food" (inspired by the before diet of the contestants on Australia's biggest loser:D as seen in no idea mag) Don't get me wrong I totally empathise with these guys and their struggle, just a bit worried about becoming one of them because when I looked at what they where eating I realised that I ate a bit like that some days!. so lets keep each other posted about how getting healthy is going?

Any way here is my recipe:

Low Fat Apple Muffins

1 1/2 cups of wholemeal SF Flour
1/2 teaspoon mixed spice
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 a cup of sultanas
2 egg whites
2 tablespoons cold pressed almond oil (or olive)
1 cup of poached apple, diced
1 tablespoon of honey or concentrated apple juice
1/2 cup of soy milk

sift flour and spices and add sultanas. Beat egg whites and add oil, apple & soy milk and stir thoroughly. Add to the dry ingredients and mix. Pour into lightly greased muffin tin and bake in moderate oven for 20 minutes or untill cooked.

(From The Liver Cleansing Diet by S Cabot)

for other variations try mango coconut and lime or peach and almond ~enjoy!

07-02-2006, 12:53
you guys are awesome !!
So this morning I was very good!! I went into town & restisted the bakery, the chockies in woolies & maccas on the way home!! The thought went through my head for each of them... but I didn't cave in WOO HOO! :D
Havn't done my squats yet, but I'm off to the gym tonight so I'll do em there!! :o

What should I make for tea? This is what in in my fridge/freezer... chicken breast, brocoli, carrots, tomatos, lettuce & potatos. As you can see I am in need of a grocery shop!! :p !! I'm stumped!!

sugar n spice
07-02-2006, 13:10
well done becca - rae i don't know if i could do that:) :p

MissyMack
07-02-2006, 13:14
Yes Becca-Rae, well done. Sisters must think alike. I avoided Donut King (which was very hard) & Gloria Geans. And yes, you do need to do a shop. Your cupboards and fridge is crying out for food!

07-02-2006, 13:15
LOL, thanks guys!! Lets hope I can continue being a good girl!! Well done MissyMack!! :p

Any ideas for tea?

lilsprout
07-02-2006, 14:04
well done becca-rae avoiding all those temtations!!! We have some yummy recipes to try and it's shopping day tomorrow so I will grab all the ingredients.

15 Ways To Remove The Fat!!

Invest in some good non-stick cookware and bakeware{can buy 1 piece at time and keep adding to it}

Use a lower heat and stir a lot when using no oil.

Don't add fat to other food. Stop using:butter, cheese, cream, milk, margarine, oil, gravy and sour cream. Alternatives:Light evapourated milk instead of milk, Low fat natural yoghurt instead of sour cream...can't think of other's just yet:rolleyes:

Use gourmet ingredients to enhance flavor: Dijon mustard capers, flavored vinegars, herbs, hickory smoke, ginger, garlic, fruit juices, spices, sun-dried tomatoes, tamari and wines.

Make nonfat yoghurt cheese{philly spread} and use for dips and baking

Make falvored stocks {beef, chicken, fish, mushroom and vegetables} then freeze in ice cube trays.

Flavored teas can be used for poaching chicken, fish, and vegies.

Buy a herb and spices chart

Use a lot of fiber instead of fat for your dishes: add beans, grain, and vegetables.

Use a spray bottle for oils and dressings.

Try using salsa or chutneys{check out markets and street stores for homemade varities} on baked spuds, rice and salads.

Substitute chopped water chestnuts for nuts in entrees or main dishes.

Instead of using oil or spray to cook onions, a lowfat way is to add a small amount of water and stem them first and then as the water evapourate and the onions soak up the water they then brown nicely.

MissyMack
07-02-2006, 14:34
you guys are awesome !!
So this morning I was very good!! I went into town & restisted the bakery, the chockies in woolies & maccas on the way home!! The thought went through my head for each of them... but I didn't cave in WOO HOO! :D
Havn't done my squats yet, but I'm off to the gym tonight so I'll do em there!! :o

What should I make for tea? This is what in in my fridge/freezer... chicken breast, brocoli, carrots, tomatos, lettuce & potatos. As you can see I am in need of a grocery shop!! :p !! I'm stumped!!

Ok chicky,

Simple Stir Fry

2 cups of chopped veges; broccoli, carrots, greens (microwaves till tender)
100g Chicken breast, cubed
1 tbs sweet chilli sauce
1 tbs oyster sauce
handful of nuts (pref cashews, walnuts)
1 onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, crushed
1 pkt noodles
2 tsp of ginger (opional)

Cook noodles to directions on packet. Drain and put aside. Coat a non-stick pan with cooking spray. Add chicken and cook till tender. Add onion, garlic and ginger. Cook for 1 minute.

Add veges, noodles and sauces and combine well. Heat through. Serve and sprinkle with nuts. Serves 1.

Hope this helps :p

polony
07-02-2006, 15:38
Ok, here are some that are cheap to make and great for feeding the kids with!

Meat Loaf

Cook off 1 finely chopped onion with some crushed garlic and 100g finely chopped mushrooms, until they’re soft.
Add 500g lean minced beef, 1/2 cup shredded oats, 1 grated zucchini, 1 grated carrot, 1/2 cup green peas, 2 tblsp tomato sauce, 1 teasp Worcestershire sauce, 1 egg, about 1 tblsp dried herbs including basil, oregano, thyme, parsley.
Squash the ingredients together then press into a lightly oiled loaf tin and cover with foil.
Stand in a baking dish and pour hot water in the dish until the meat loaf tin is 1/2 submerged.
Bake for about 1 hour at 200ºC.

Fritters

Peel and chop 1 medium orange sweet potato (375g) and 2 Pontiac potatoes. Steam or microwave them until they are tender.
Mash the potatoes with 1 finely chopped onion and an egg.
Add 270g corn, some freshly ground black pepper with 1/4 cup shredded oats and 2 tblsp self raising flour and mix until combined.
Refrigerate the mixture for about 30 minutes until it is completely cooled.
Shape the mixture into about 8 rounds then heat a small amount of oil and cook the fritters over moderate heat for about 5 minutes on each side until brown.
Left over meat is a good addition, as is a can of fish.

Fish Fingers

180g oat or corn flakes processed with 3 tblsp sesame seeds, 1 teasp dried herbs. Place in a flat dish.
In another flat dish have a mixture of 1 egg mixed together with 1 tblsp low fat buttermilk or low fat yoghurt and a dash of mustard.
Place 1/4 cup flour (wholemeal) in a plastic bag then add pieces of boneless white fish (ling, flake, hake, swordfish, gemfish or mahi mahi) fish that have been cut in 2cm strips.
Shake the fish fingers about in the flour in the plastic bag then dip them in the egg mixture then the flake crumb mixture. (You might need to do the crumbing mixture 2 times to get a good coverage.)
Place on a non-stick baking tray and bake at 200ºC for about 15 minutes or until the coating is crisp and golden.
Serve with mashed potato or chunky chips made from chat potato (leave the skin on) and sweet orange potato that have been roasted for about 45 minutes while you prepare the fish fingers.
Don’t forget the green vegetables!

polony
07-02-2006, 15:41
I also found this link which you may all enjoy and look at when (or if) you have time!!

http://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/bhcv2/bhcrecipes.nsf/AToZ?Openview&RestrictToCategory=A&count=500

Healthy eating and happy thoughts!!

Oh yeah, and I forgot my squats this morning, so I shall do them now!

lilsprout
07-02-2006, 15:50
I've found of couple of recipes and because they are small I'll post 2:)
The first one; how often do you take a snack for your baby/toddler/child when you go out somewhere and don't take one for yourself?? I never took anything for me and ended up snacking on an extra one of DS's...not anymore ladies. Those that work you can easily pack these in your handbag for a snack to/from or whilst at work!
Take Along Bars 2 weight-watcher points
Ingredients:
2 tablespoons firmly packed brown sugar
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
1/4 cup light corn syrup {Karo's is available in health food stores}
2 tablespoons S-R Flour
1/4 cup applesauce
1/2 cup cut-up dried apricots
2 cups bran flakes, slightly crushed
2 egg whites or 1/2 cup of egg substitute
1/4 cup golden raisins, pitted
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 cup flaked coconut {optional}
Non-Fat cooking spray
Instructions:
Preheat oven to 230C or 220{fan-forced}. In a non-stick saucepan combine sugar, syrup and applesauce and heat until sugar is dissolved. In a bowl, combine cereal, raisins, coconut and nuts. In a seperate bowl, add flour to apricots and mix to coat. Add to cereal mixture and mix. Stir in whites, vanilla and mix well. spray a 25cm square pan with nonfat cooking spray. Add mixture, pressing firmly. Bake 15-20 minutes or until golden brown. Cool 10 minutes and cut into bars. Makes 12.
Per Serving: Calories 107, Fat 2.3g, Saturated Fat 0.7g, Cholesterol Nil, Fiber 1.9g, Sodium 75mg

This next recipe isn't recommended for little ones. How about treating your DH and yourself to a predinner hors D'oeuvre and drinks??

Hors D'Oeuvres ~ Hot Barbequed Chicken Appetizers
1 Whole chicken breast
1 green pepper, cut in strips
1 medium onion
1/2 cup tomato sauce
1 tblspn of mustard {your choice, recipe didn't state}
1 tblspn of brown sugar
1 tblspn of vinegar
1/4 tpn garlic powder
2 dashes {or more if you like it hotter:p } tabasco sauce

Cut chicken into 16 chunks and place in a microwave dish. Scatter with peppers and onion strips on top of chicken. Combine remaining ingredients in a small bowl and pour over the chicken and vegetables. Cover and microwave (med) 70% power for 7 minutes or until chicken is white and tender.
Serve with toothpicks.

~ Enjoy ~

07-02-2006, 22:12
I ended up throwing all the vegies I could find, the chicken & a tin of tomatos into a casserole dish & threw it into the oven... it was actually really yummy & only 4 1/2 points (ww). YAY!! :D

peterpan
07-02-2006, 23:03
I know what your feeling peterpan; I cry when putting on clothes and looking at the "don't fit pile"

I am not crying anymore!

I've decided that to make it feel better I have to start looking at it differantly. This can only happen if I make the connection between not happy with size XYZ and aiming everyday for a healthly diet and some exercise. The fat doesn't melt off like ice cubes, unfortunately, we have to work on it everyday.

You can do this peterpan, you have us to lean on all the way:)

Hi Lilsprout,
Thank you for the kind words:)

mum24
07-02-2006, 23:30
Hi ladies can I join in too? Two weeks ago I birthed my fourth bubba via vbac ( 10lb 4oz ) and so have already lost - guessing 8kg, but still have a further minimum of 30kg to go. Problem now is I'm now all saggy belly ( very unflattering ) and don't know what will help tighten the muscles. Do crunches actually work or do I have to wait until the tummy muscles have " knitted " back before I can do them?

I'm waiting for the tv show " the biggest loser " to start next week and I'm going to tape each show so I've got it for motivation and for extra tips. Is anyone else going to be watching it?

bella'sbub
08-02-2006, 06:39
yes Mum24,I hear you! I can't wait! I loved the American "biggest loser" especially the guy who won and cried all the time (isn't it sweet when men get all emotional?). You are doing well to think about losing anything this soon after giving birth. I couldn't even think about it for 4 months hence I've still nothing to wear. Anyhow not sure what a crunch even is so can't help you on that one, well done for having a natural birth,you go girl!

ps where you really up at 12:40 am?

lilsprout
08-02-2006, 08:50
It is important that you regain the strength of your abdominal muscles, after the birth of your baby as strong muscles help prevent lower back injury, prevent abdominal organs from " dropping forward" through lack of support and help you to regain a flat stomach. Try combining these with Kegel exercises to get the maximum benefit. The pelvic floor is a "sling" of muscles that supports your internal organs, e.g. your uterus, bladder and kidneys. To keep the pelvic floor (also called the Kegel muscles) strong, you need to exercise them. You can find your pelvic floor muscles by stopping and starting the flow of urine when you urinate. The squeezing that stops the flow of urine are the pelvic floor muscles contracting. Now try contracting and relaxing your Kegel muscles while sitting at your desk, driving in your car and watching television! Aim for a goal of 100 Kegels each day.

Regular ab exercises such as sit-ups and crossover sit-ups, which target the sides of your addomen, should not be done until a few weeks after delivery. A women must also allow her addominal muscles to heal before putty more strain on them. Any weight loss must be gradual and any exercise should only be done if it makes you feel better not worse. If your muscles are weak, concentrate on the regaining the strength by performing "Pelvic tilt" before trying anything harder.

1. Pelvic Tilt:- Lie on your back, knee bent up and feet flat on the floor. Place hands on your stomach so that you can feel the tightening muscles. Gently tighten your stomach muscles and push the arch of your back towards the floor. Squeeze your bottom tight. Hold the position till the count of 6, and then relax.

2. Elbow to Knee lifts: Gently bring one knee and your opposite elbow together. Then bring your other elbow and knee together. Work up to 20 rep, altering sides.

3. Ab Crunch: Lie on your back with your knees bent, feet on the floor and ankles pressing down on the floor. Hold your hands behind you head and then raise your head as you contract your stomach muscles. Breathe properly and work up to 10 rep.

4. Sit-Ups:- Lie on your back with your knee bent and hands alongside your head. Sit up and touch you knee. Swing your hands up into the air repeat at least 10 times.

5. These are some of best post-natal abdominal exercises. As pregnancy and childbirth can weaken the pelvic floor muscles which support your bladder, it is important that you make Kegel a part of your workout routine. Kegel exercise strengthens muscles that hold the bladder and many other organs in place. You need to understand that any workout will show you long lasting effect only when combined with other parts of the body , a cardiovascular regime and a well balanced diet ,one that is especially designed for a postnatal woman.

Besides there are certain things you need to consider before starting on a post natal workout like. past experience with exercise, consultation with your doctor before commencing the workout, type of delivery you have had, stop immediately if you feel dizzy or sick etc.

Let your body be the guide-never over do the exercises and stay committed.

Hope this helps, is from womensfitness.com

mum24
08-02-2006, 10:34
Thanks for the exercise tips lilsprout. I'll have to print them out so I can refer to them during the day ( or whilst watching tv - no point in just sitting on my butt when I can be doing something active :cool: ).

lol bella'sbub, dh and I are usually nightowls. He works from home and with me a stay-home-mum we really don't have a need to keep regular ( normal ) hours so we tend to be up till all hours and sleep in till really late in the morning. Plus when children are asleep at night, that's when we get time to think without lovely children noises intruding in:) .

lilsprout
08-02-2006, 13:06
Thanks for the exercise tips lilsprout.
Your most welcome mum24I hope it helps:D

Ffrenchknickers
08-02-2006, 13:12
Hey guys:) Sorry I havent been on for a couple of days..great to see more and more people joiining in! You will do it TOGETHER!! Yay

Thanks for the kind words Peterpan:)

How are the squats going everyone??? DO them everyday for the rest of this week and then I'll add another one to the list:D

Ffrenchknickers
08-02-2006, 13:15
As far as abs go....the Hover is my all time fave ab exercise, have you guys done it before?

08-02-2006, 13:17
Must admit Frenchy, I've been a little slack on the whole squats thing, but have been doing my crunches.... need to lose that stretched flabby belly!! :p

08-02-2006, 13:18
Explain the "hover" what it is?!!

Ffrenchknickers
08-02-2006, 13:18
GO on Becky, do 10 squats for me right now!!!! You'll love it:D

08-02-2006, 13:21
Ok Ffrenchy... did it!!! :D Are you proud of me?!!!!! :D Now explain the hover to me... sounds interesting! :)

Ffrenchknickers
08-02-2006, 13:24
YAY!!! Well done:D:D:D Clap clap clap!!!!

OK, the hover, I might just go find a link....just a tick...

(Oh, do another 10 squats while you are waiting.......;) )

08-02-2006, 13:27
he he he... not likely, Girlfriend!!! :D

Ffrenchknickers
08-02-2006, 13:43
I couldnt find the thing I was looking for......heres a bad picture of the hover.....
http://www.runwashington.com/images/features/core2wrr123.jpg

The level one position is done on the knees though.....instead of teos. The idea is to have your back as flat as possible and brace your abs (like you are trying to make your waist as small as possible) You hold it for as long as you can (even if its only a couple of seconds. Then you try and build up to longer and longer and eventually get up to your toes, on one leg etc etc:D

This exercise works the transverse abdominals which wrap right around from the front of your waist to your spine - so they kind of at like a corset and hole everything in!! Yay, thats what we want!!

Give it a go but always stop if your back starts to hurt and do plenty of back stretches after. You will feel slight presure in your back but in a "good" way, it shouldnt ever hurt.

lilsprout
08-02-2006, 17:21
I was wondering Frenchie, when I've done ab crunches like now where my tummy isn't flat and carry excess weight, my stomach muscles hurt so much afterwards I have to revert to "the after caesarean" avoid your stomach muscles altogether thing...is there any way to avoid this feeling afterwards, is it a good-sign that it's workin the right place:D

and lastly, I'd like to work my abs again, obviously, but a bit worried about that next day feeling that lasts a week lol.
man, I am outta condition:(

polony
08-02-2006, 17:30
Little steps, Lil Sprout, little steps.

My sister is getting me into running (of all things!) So I don't pull up sore the next day I am taking it really slow and easing myself into it. I ran a lap around the oval, then walked two, then ran one and walked two. In about 2 weeks I will try for 2 laps running and 3 walking.

The last thing you want is to pull up sore as that deters you from continuing.

Just go easy when starting! :o

sugar n spice
08-02-2006, 18:05
Polony well done, that sounds like a really good idea, reminds me of being at school and having to do the 1500m, huff huff puff . Go girl

peterpan
08-02-2006, 21:07
Well I'm a good girl I did my squats today...But wait there is more I also went for
a walk did'nt go for long but my goal is to do the round trip to the shop's which is a 10k walk , I just have to start of slow,
DH came up with a good idea for me our clothes line is very high as DH is Tall and does the washing but he got me a step so i can climb up and down to hang out the washing, Do you think that would work maybe it would be like doing a step class....
It's nice to see so many of us here it's great with all the tips:)

sugar n spice
09-02-2006, 01:07
peter pan that is a very good idea stepper while doing house chores, good one lol.:D

lilsprout
09-02-2006, 07:08
Thanks polony I should "ease myself into it" but I can't help it sometimes it's like it's all or nothing...and I know it's not good but it's hard thing to change. I have always being the type of person that if haven't exercised for a while and wants to get back into it; I go to the gym and do a high-intensity workout and sign up for circuit training!!:D

I will work on it....:confused:

Ffrenchknickers
09-02-2006, 07:10
Lilsprout - I guess it depends on what sort of soreness it is...is it muscle soreness or does it feel "wrong?" If it is muscle soreness you could do two things 1)Ease into a bit more gently and gradually build up each time you do them or
2) Remember that if you do them consistently the pain will get less and less, its normally just when you do them for the first couple of times that the "really bad" pain resuts. You shouldnt ever do them again though until the soreness has gone, the muscles need time to repair themselves and grow before they are worked again:)

Peterpan, good work on the squats!! Go the stepper!:D

Polony, great work on getting into the training! You will see results in no time!!

bella'sbub
09-02-2006, 09:30
good-morning blubber clubberz,
I hope youv'e all done your squats.

i'm only on day 3 of eat healthy get fit plan and this-morning on my walk, I encountered alot of resistance (and not just pushing the pram thru soft sand) felt like there was no way in the world I could jog, even though bubba was fast asleep, beautifull morning, right tunes on ipod etc.

SO thought I would share a few bits of an article about LAZYNESS: ( by Janelle Garlick -Nature and Health)

Pema Chodron(buddhist teacher) Says there are 3 types of lazyness:

1) Comfort Orientation[/B]- where we try to stay cozy and comfortable. Also ignoring our self doubt etc. Characterised by eighter spending days on the couch, eating junk and watching crap ( yeah we wish!:rolleyes: )OR excess busyness. Lazyness can manifest as speed: an unconsciuos rush from one thing to the nextWheather our comfort zone is inertia or activity, Pema chodron says that we are looking for is spaciuosness and relief "But finding what we seek is like drinking salt water, becasue our thirst for comfort and ease is never realised.

2)Loss of heart- hopelessness and giving up on our selves. Characterised by vulnerbilty, woundedness not knowing what to do. "We tried just being ourselves and didn't measure up".

3)[B]Couldn't care less lazyness- which hardens into resignation and we close down, more external hopeless ness i.e. the world is rank so why bother. Also characterised by meanness.

These different styles of lazyness reveal 3 distintive strategies our personallities have developed for dealing with ourselves in the world: we either aviod, become victims or cut ourselves off.

She reckons the key to overcoming all lazyness ( which is just a mind state and not physical) is to use lazyness as a toll for awarenss. Become initimate with our so called obsticles. Instead of feeling discouraged become curios about it. Don't sweep it under the carpet. See what happens.

"You cannot manifest "thin" from thoughts of "I hate being fat". You cannot manifest "health" from "I abhor being sick". Feed your brain with positive thoughts and affirmations instead." ~ Wayne Dyer

Niki
09-02-2006, 11:10
when i was preg i put on 25kg and lost 9 after the birth....i hate goin shopping for size 14 clothes so i joined an all womens gym called curves and its great...i have been doin it for a month and i am feeling so much beta about myself...oh and other good thing they dont have mirrors

sugar n spice
09-02-2006, 11:32
Ive heard of that gym called curves, wish we had one here

Niki
09-02-2006, 11:58
where bouts u live

09-02-2006, 15:29
hmmm having a bad day I 've got the munchies... thought I'd blog instead... :rolleyes:

polony
09-02-2006, 15:37
I am so naughty. No squats for 2 mornings now. Ok, will do them right now!!

polony
09-02-2006, 15:39
OK.... done. Actually, they seemed a lot easier to do today.... Maybe I can up the ante and do more tomorrow???

sugar n spice
09-02-2006, 17:36
luckyniki i am from albany

mum24
09-02-2006, 21:35
I have good intentions of doing my exercises but if I'm not holding two week old bubs in my arms I'm doing the bare minimum of house chores - dishes that's piling up in the sink, clothes that's piling up in the basket, having a shower @ two in the afternoon, or I'm tending to two year old Miss. Can someone lend me another hour in the day that I wont use for sleep and can use, instead, for exercise?!!!

lilsprout
10-02-2006, 11:22
Thanks frenchie for the tips, I will do them gently in future and ease up to a good rep. It is the muscle soreness, so I will do as you have suggested and wait for the muscle to recover before doing more. It's also a really point that it will only be sore the first couple of time - I'd have given up after the first 2 times of soreness - I won't be a whimp this time 'round, I'll persist:D thankyou for your help.

I'm feeling tired this morning...and it could be one of two things:p lets hope it's just the fact that I've sat down now to this.

When the munchies hit : it might sound strange, but is true for the majority, it can be a sign that your body is thirsty - not hungry -. Where you've eaten a healthy breakfast followed by a drink then had a fruit/yoghurt or whatever for morning tea but still hungry your body could be thristy instead.
When you feel "the munchies" try a glass or two of cold water with a hint of lemon&lime...give it 20-30 mins and then if still hungry you are probably hungry but won't eat as much now either.

10-02-2006, 20:52
Hmmm that munchie thing is true!! So last week I lost 1.7kg!! I'm so happy about that!! On my way to looking sexy... YAY !! :D

(sorry I know no weigh ins, but I was excited!!) :rolleyes:

Ffrenchknickers
10-02-2006, 20:54
Well done Becky!! Thats huge:D Results like that do motivate you to keep going dont they? Well done!!

Ffrenchknickers
10-02-2006, 20:55
Guys......squats? Hover?

lilsprout
11-02-2006, 21:05
well done becca-rae that is a fantastic result:D

I've started a "diet" Dr Sanra Cobot's body shaping diet; I'm retaining fluid and have puffed out skin - never before {except when pregnant with DS as I had pre-ecalmpsia} has my body being like this. As the fluid retention is due to the lymphatic systme clogging up, I'm eating lymphatically until I shed this fluid and then revert to my usual body shape diet ... it is just awful. But on a happier note I will be feeling fabulous in 4 weeks, already I have more energy.

This week I am going to be walking up and down this hill that is a real killer, even if your fit we have people travelling 40-50 kms to walk up this hill!! So this week I'll be walking up twice and down twice per day - rain, hail, slit or snow!!

....How is everyone's motavation going?? Becca-rae's is of the rickter, how is everyone else???
- who is doing well??
- who is struggling??
- who still needs inspiration??

lilsprout
11-02-2006, 21:34
Want to give your body a boost in health and healing? Then you may want to add some fresh pineapple and pineapple juice to your diet. Pineapples are yummy tropical fruit high in the enzyme bromelain and the antioxiadant vitamin C, both of which plays a major role in the body's healing process.

Bromelain is a ntural anti-inflammatory that has many health benefits and encourages healing. According to Dr. Andrew Weil, bromelain is a very effective treatment for healing bruises, sprains&strains by reducing swelling, tenderness and pain. This powerful anti-inflammatory effect can also help relieve rheumatoid arthritis symptoms and reduce post-operative swelling. Additionally, the bromelain contained in fresh pineapple can relieve indigestion. This enzyme helps break down the amino acid bonds in proteins, which promotes good digestion.

Pineapples provide an ample supply of vitamin C too, a commonly known antioxidant that protects the body from free radical damage and boosts the immune system. Vitamin C helps build and repair bodily tissue and promotes wound healing. The body uses vitamin C to help metabolize fats and cholesterol, absorb iron and synthesize amino acids and collegen. Collagen is one of the promary buliding blocks of skin, cartelage and bones. Vitamin C also decreases the severity of colds and infections.

Furthermore, due to its high vitamin C content, pineapples are good for your oral health as well. It's being known to reduce your risk of gingivitis and periodontal disease. Besides increasing the ability of connective tissue to repair itself, vitamin C also increases the body's ability to fight invading bacteria and other toxins that contribute to gum disease. Periodontal disease, which destroys gum tissue and underlying faw bones, has been linked to heart disease, stroke and type 2 diabetes.

So if you want a natural way to enhance your body's healing mechanisms, promote overall good health and tantalize your taste buds, pineapples are the way to go!! Choose the fresh fruit because it has the most healing properties. Unfortunately, most of the bromelain in canned pineapple is destroyed due to the heat used in the canning process.

When choosing a fresh pineapple, do not judge ripeness solely based on colour. There are several varities on the market that range from green to golden yellow. The most important factor in determining ripeness is smell, let your nose help you decide. Ripe pineapples give off a sweet, fresh tropical smell. Avoid pineapples that give off an unpleasant smell, or have soft spots, or areas of dark discolouration. Once home, let your pineapple sit on your counter at room temperature until ready to use.

sugar n spice
12-02-2006, 00:08
Well i see my dr on the 21st so i know this cheating but i am going to ask for something to give me a kickstart. I used to take tenuate dospan which is fantastic but only worked the first time i used for a couple of months as i think my body got used to it. I am only asking her as i want to shed a fair bit and then try and get preg.

lilsprout
12-02-2006, 09:17
I am only asking her as i want to shed a fair bit and then try and get preg.
that's fantastic news sugar n spice :D I am doing the same although not on any contraceptives at all.

sugar n spice
12-02-2006, 10:09
thanks i just hope the weight comes off. Is anybody else having probles see the last couple of posts?

bella'sbub
12-02-2006, 16:31
Thanks for the info re: pineapples lilsprout when I was preggers I couldn't get enough so will get back into them, also pineapple plus parsley juice is a goer for iron absorbtion acording to my doc. I had a shocker of a weekend (indulgent in bday cakes) but still did all the excersise and looking for running budies from my mum and bubs group, so all is not lost, good on you yummy mums

I'm upto 30 squats yay!

lilsprout
13-02-2006, 07:09
Your welcome bella it was my pleasure:D Don't worry too much about indulging over the weekend instead allow yourself to indulge in life's pleasures, your doing the right thing the majority of the time and a splurge here and there isn't going to effect the outcome greatly.

I must admit sugar n spice is worrying me; diet pills are so bad. They boost your heart-rate so much that they have actually caused cardiac arrest before today. There are so many other healthy options for you...why do have to resort to something like diet pills and then want to concieve after those "nasties" have robbed your body of all the nurtriments and expect your body to function. I'm sorry if you are upset by what I've written but someone had to warn you; diet pills are dangerous.

....more later....

bella'sbub
13-02-2006, 17:38
Hows everyone going?

don't forgett Aus. biggest loser starts at 7 tonight!

I feel really good for having about a week of lots more excersise, good food and self nurturing.

We have propbably all been on every fad diet, fast, cleanse and weight loss program going since 13 years old regardless of our shape, just because we are women and are always subtly told that we are only as good as we look. Therefore we probably know exactly how to shift a few stubborn excess baby kilos.

So after years of experiance here are some common sensible ideas:

drink heaps of h2o (especially if BF)
take phsyillium husks before breakfast
take care of your liver; cut down on caffine, alcohol and fat and drink veg juices and dandelion root teas etc.
when hungry eat ( don't feel guil;ty, "think I am nourishing my body")
be present when eating you may eat more if you are watching tv etc.
take it slowly. the slower you loose the more likely it will stay off.
be active

Is anyone else outraged by the trashy mags bagging out any celeb mumma who is not immediately a size 8 agian?
Anyway

lilsprout
14-02-2006, 09:14
Hi bella, it is upsetting that we would subject other's {famous or not} with that kind of ridulcule during a time when comments can sting. We, as women, are particularly vunerable during pregnancy/child-birth/and as a new mum. Why should it worry us if they don't get into size8 jeans straight away?? is it more that if they don't, we are doomed?? No way!!

I have alot of weight to lose of my small frame that isn't use to this amount of weight. Only a few short years ago I wore size8 jeans also. I have them close by as inspiration - that I can do it:p

Instead of losing it all it one hit, that would be fine but I have something else important to do as well; after so many miscarriages it's really important for us to have our baby in our arms finally. So I've decided to lose enough to have a healthy pregnancy and if I do concieve before the process is complete that's ok...my diet is healthy and creating the perfect fundation and home for our growing baby.
The final stage will occur, after birth or breast-feeding then I will be so strict and will push myself to the limit and loose it all and get back into those size8 jeans....but along the way I will reward myself with new clothes, a new hairstyle, a massage, a new cd anything but food. We have to find new ways of treating ourselves and changing our inner dialogue's to create a heathly way to reach our goals and not sabbotage ourselves.

I wish I new why there aren't so many contributing lately...If this thread closes there is no other to talk about these issue's and more. I won't let this thread die, it will be closed if due to lack of interest.

bella'sbub
14-02-2006, 19:10
good on you lil sprout,

llooks like its just us for now.

Don't worry other yummy mums will be inspired by your ideas & return to tell us how they are going. You have definitely inspired me to stop giving myself a hard time over my post baby bod (only four months since birth) and take care of myself so I can enjoy him and I have more energy. So thanks. Tonight when I watched "the biggest loser" I thought god if these people can loose upto 100 kilos on national tv then I can certainly manage 10 ! Here is a little quote by His Holiness the Dalai:p Lama of Tibet:

Never Give Up

Never give up,
No matter what is going on
Never give up
Develop the heart
Too much energy in your country
Is spent developing the mind
Instead of the heart
Be compassionate
Not just to your friends
But to everyone
Be compassionate
Work for peace
In your heart and in the world
Work for peace
And I say again
Never give up
No matter what is going on around you
Never give up

HH XIV Dalai Lama

sugar n spice
14-02-2006, 19:19
lilsprout, i take diet pills only under my drs supervision. i don't buy over the counter ones as i find they don't work. anyway im not on any until nexy wk when i can see my dr

bella'sbub
14-02-2006, 19:43
sugar and spice, I'm curiuos and perterbed Are you still BF? Do diet pills make you moody?

kuz78au
14-02-2006, 19:50
Howdy,
I am in on this club! I'm just about to start WW at home by myself (I have the books from many years of going, stopping, going, etc lol) tomorrow!

I was overweight before I was preggers, was lucky enough to put on 17kgs then lose it once I had the bubbas! And am now back to my pre-preg weight! I need to lose quite a lot - over 50kg! So it seems insurmountable at this point! Plus I'm addicted to chocolate! Grrr! It's soo hard!

Exercise? What's that!?! Lol! As for the squat thing, what if you don't have a bedhead?! Lol! :p ;) Cheeky aren't I?!

So we will see how we go! :D

kuz78au
14-02-2006, 19:53
Is anyone else outraged by the trashy mags bagging out any celeb mumma who is not immediately a size 8 agian?
Anyway

Oh yes, drives me insane!!!! :mad:

lilsprout
14-02-2006, 19:55
I loved the quote from the dalai lama oooh to be that wise:D Don't you just love their inner peace&beauty!! Yes; we have all the inspiration we need and I will be here and find little things to keep us going, hints and tips for a heathly mind, body and spirit...

sugar n spice: so long as there isn't any danger's ... I'm not the one taking them, but if your happy and done all the research and know all the side-effects long-term and short-term then hey how am I to say anything. But if it's a "kick start" you need you can try a little lemon&lime in a glass of water upon rising for say $0.60; that's cheaper than a diet pill huh??
Note: lemon&lime juice in water especially in the mornings but anytime during the day speeds up the metabolism naturally, helps you get started in the mornings and gives you a boost when ever it's taken.

M&M that is so nice to hear ... you guys are the inspiration that I need too, and I thankyou for that xxx

lilsprout
14-02-2006, 19:59
Howdy,
I am in on this club! I'm just about to start WW at home by myself (I have the books from many years of going, stopping, going, etc lol) tomorrow!

Exercise? What's that!?! Lol! As for the squat thing, what if you don't have a bedhead?! Lol! :p ;) Cheeky aren't I?!

So we will see how we go! :D

Nice to have you with us kuz, your in good company ... just start by doing what you can!

lilsprout
14-02-2006, 20:16
M&M keep picturing yourself in a slim fitting pair of jeans and short skirts....

My DH says to me; your legs are the biggest muscle in your body - that's why any exercise that use's them burns fat and tones up. He's right :D

sugar n spice
14-02-2006, 23:27
Kerrie i know what you mean squats with the bed head i do that alot well it's more like push ups. lol. i know what your thinking.

Lilsprout thanks for the tip on lemon and lime. my prob is im always dehydrated and drinking its just i hate water:o

kuz78au
15-02-2006, 14:40
Lol ;)

Hey I was thinking about joining a gym. I'd love to get out of the house, but I'm not a big walker and need some strength training to help specific areas. But I'm concerned about cost...I would love to get a personal trainer but they are so very expensive... *sigh* a pipe dream :( Anyone know any free gyms? LOL! Kidding! Seriouly, anyone got any feedback about a gym?

Also didn't too too well today with my food. I crumbled about 11am and ate a stupid amount of choc! :( I was very emotional and I'm soooo tired. I know exercise would do me the world of good, but I haven't even had a chance 4 a shower today....I just made some bottles in time for bubs next feed...phew! He is in my arms now, he just won't go down and wants lots of cuddles today.

lilsprout
15-02-2006, 16:02
awww kerrie that sounds so cute; I remember when my DS use to have an unsettled day, just wanting me to sing to him and rock him in my arms, it's a time that passes quickly as I'm sure you've heard before, but it does before you know it you DS will be 10yrs old!! Thankfully, mine still gives cuddles{atm:p } and I cherish every single one!! As for singing well he has a mp3 so mum has be upgraded lol

While your precious little cherub is so little take the presure off you, you have enough. Of course your going to crave chocolate when your tired, it also fills an emotional "hole". Would your DH be willing to give you some time in the evenings to go to the gym?? If not then I'll babysit for you, serious.

Do you have stairs inside or out at your house...even while holding your little fellow you can walk up and down and be working out at the same time!! You might even find he is gentley soothed by the rocking motion {simular to being in utero} and go blissfully to sleep:D Your legs are the biggest muscle in your body so if your workin the legs your really working out, and be burning fat and toning as well.
If you do this 20mins twice a day you'll get results

lilsprout
15-02-2006, 16:11
I've had to stop dieting at the moment. You see I had my last m/c on the 23rd Nov 05. I didn't go back on any contraceptives afterwards. Late January 06 my mum came for a visit and up until then I'd being munching ginger snaps for a queasy tummy:rolleyes: and I remember vividly saying to DH that I'd better "suck it up" or otherwise mum will be putting 2'n'2 together. And I did a little to well I think.
Anyway, I've realised that I could in fact be pregnant again; I haven't had any AF's since the m/c and coming up to the third missed AF:eek: DH doesn't think I am quiet 12weeks but does also truly beleive that I'm pregnant....so I will get a test in the next couple of days and see what happens.

I will be watching my diet though but not dieting obviously.

bella'sbub
15-02-2006, 16:27
CONGRATULATIONS! Lilsprout

That is such great news, I hope you are having a baby!!!. if not keep trying.

lilsprout
15-02-2006, 16:51
CONGRATULATIONS! Lilsprout

That is such great news, I hope you are having a baby!!!. if not keep trying.
thankyou Bella!!:D

I saw my gyn/ob after the m/c and he investigated "why" he was very thorough and couldn't find anything wrong his end, but I have sleep apnea and that is why I had miscarried so much. So if there was any other reason for me not to have a AF he would have said, because I mentioned to him that I had missed a couple of AF's lol and he said, "I'll see you when your pregnant" as I left!!:D

kuz78au
15-02-2006, 18:03
Anyway, I've realised that I could in fact be pregnant again....so I will get a test in the next couple of days and see what happens.

I will be watching my diet though but not dieting obviously.

Woo hoo and congrats! Everything is crossed (and I mean EVERYTHING) on my end for you! Good luck!

Thanks for the advice too! :p

Something funny, I saw this thread and at first thought it said 'bladder club' LOL! I guess I must be overtired! He he he! ;)

kuz78au
15-02-2006, 21:42
Would your DH be willing to give you some time in the evenings to go to the gym?? If not then I'll babysit for you, serious.

Forgot my manners lilsprout, sorry, thanks for the offer for the sitting....I have a fantastic MIL (I know surprise surprise!) and DH who are willing to watch him if I ever need them to! If I get stuck though, I will let you know! At this stage I'm still in 2 minds about the gym thing....(scratches head) :p

lilsprout
16-02-2006, 08:29
thanks girls for the congrats i've got everything crossed too but to make sure this pregnancy goes to term...I rang the sleep study clinic and they have hurried my results through and will be avail this afternoon; so I can get a sleep machine and save this pregnancy:D
My DH told me to watch the stress and stop worrying about the HPT - you know your pregnant so stop worrying...

anyway, I love this thread and have no intention to stop it. I must appologise though I haven't written more about what helps and anything interesting in the last few day - I am so tired - But I promise I will do what I can...I want to find out as much as I can:D

gyms are great lets face it but not everyone has the money and the time. Alot of the things they do there you can do at home. From buying a all over workout DVD or using the stairs and remember the girl that lost so much weight from walking around her washing line?? There are lots of ways to do it, I will endevour to find more....

In the meantime...be nice to yourselves, cherish what you have not what you haven't and keep that beautiful smile on your face:p

polony
16-02-2006, 12:26
Congrats Lilsprout!!

Sorry, I have been AWOL lately. Soooo busy. But I am back.

I have also been doing my squats so don't think I didn't forget! :)

Anyway, keep it going girls!

16-02-2006, 12:39
Hi ladies....
It's been a while but I'm back... I've missed quite a few pages so I'm just gonna jump in now!! :o How is everyone going....?

I'm doing not too bad, though I have succombed to the odd chocky here & there (tut tut). Well it's been back to the gym this week for me!! Although I was completely exhausted afterward it wasn't as bad as I thought it was gonna be :) So that's a good thing. Last time I was on WW (b4 I fell pg) I really got hooked on the gym & was starting to look really good, then I got pg & now I'm back to square one (well not quite, but close :rolleyes: )

Hey Ffrenchster..... they've got me doing the "hover"... OUCH it's very hard!!!!! But worth it I'm sure ;)

16-02-2006, 12:44
BTW, good luck Lilsprout!! :p

lilsprout
16-02-2006, 13:04
Polony & Becca-Rae thankyou!! OMG...this is really happening....!:D

I have found some interesting things that I'm sure you will find helpful...I'll get them together and post them shortly.

It's great to have you guys back with us...we missed ya!!

16-02-2006, 13:21
Oh Lilsprout.... dont leave us in suspence!!! :confused: ;)

lilsprout
18-02-2006, 08:22
Sorry guys had a real sleepy day yesterday, felt so tired and hungry...

I will just go and grab the most amazing diet revalation you've heard lol

lilsprout
18-02-2006, 14:33
Ok I've found some interesting information on what the diet industry/good health consider ~ to be superfoods. For a variety of reasons; either for assisting in weightloss, a wholesome food to be included in your diet and maybe because they are just - good - for you.

Apples
Each crisp, juicy apple provides five grams of fiber and an abundance of antioxidants, which may support cardiovascular health. Enjoy baked with cinnamon and granola or sliced into wedges.

Vegetables
The advantages of eating more vegetables are undeniable. Packed with powerhouse nutrients, vegetables are naturally low in calories, and they're full of fiber, so they're plenty filling. Loading your plate with more vegetables will automatically mean you're eating fewer simple carbs (which raise blood sugar) and saturated fats (which increase insulin resistance). Aim to get four or five servings a day. (A serving is 1/2 cup canned or cooked vegetables or 1 cup raw vegetables.) Go easier on starchy vegetables -- including potatoes and corn, and legumes such as lima beans and peas -- which are higher in calories than other vegetables.

Eggs
Simply folded into an omelet or whipped into a grand souffl�, eggs (especially egg whites) provide an inexpensive source of high-quality protein. Eggs are not only low in carbohydrates and sodium, but they contain lutein and zeaxanthin, antioxidants that support eye health. Whether you prefer brown or white eggs, be kind to your fine-feathered friends and always choose cage-free, organic eggs.

Cereal
The right breakfast cereal is your absolute best opportunity to pack more fiber into your day. There's a bonus: Studies show that people who start the morning with a high-fiber cereal actually eat less later on. So don't forgo breakfast. And choose a cereal brand with at least 5 grams fiber per serving. Good choices include Kashi GoLean Crunch! (10 grams), Kellogg's Raisin Bran (8 grams), General Mills Multi-Bran Chex (8 grams), Wheat 'N Bran Spoon Size (8 grams), Kellogg's All-Bran Original (10 grams). Top your cereal with fruit and you've checked off a fruit serving for the day.

nuts&seeds
Roasted, toasted or raw, nuts and seeds are a delicious source of protein and fiber. A tasty snack, nuts and seeds pack a nutritious punch with heart-healthy monosaturated oils, vitamins and minerals. The lignans in seeds have been demonstrated to reduce cholesterol levels, and scientific evidence suggests, but does not prove, that eating one and a half ounces per day of most nuts, as part of a diet low in saturated fat and cholesterol, may reduce the risk of heart disease.

oats
Stick-to-your-ribs nutrition! Simmered into a warm cereal, oatmeal provides a good source of complex carbohydrates. Soluble fiber from foods, such as oats, as part of a diet low in saturated fat and cholesterol, may reduce the risk of heart disease. A half-cup serving of oats supplies about nine grams of fiber.

olive oil
Rich and fruity, olive oil stands out as a culinary staple in Mediterranean cultures. A good source of monounsaturated fat, adding two tablespoons of olive oil per day to your diet may support cardiovascular health. Favolosamente!

omega-3's
Cold-water fish like wild salmon, tuna and trout contain beneficial omega-3 fatty acids. Supportive, but not conclusive research shows that consumption of EPA and DHAomega-3fattyacidsmayreducetheriskof coronaryheartdisease.Whileamounts may vary by species, origin and season, one serving of omega fish provides at least 0.5 grams of EPA and DHA omega-3 fatty acids. There�s nothing fishy about that!

Chicken Breast
Versatile, extremely lean, and low in calories, chicken breast is practically a miracle food. Unlike steaks and hamburgers, it's low in saturated fat, which raises "bad" cholesterol and may increase insulin resistance, making blood sugar control more difficult. A 125 gram serving of skinless chicken breast has only 142 calories and 3 grams fat. Turkey breast is even leaner and lower in calories. Many body builders favour chicken breast and turkey breast for added protein, so I've heard{they wouldn't put anything in their bodies that wasn't good for them, they are very fussy}.

Cinnamon
Believe it! Amazingly, just by sprinkling cinnamon on your foods, you could lower your blood sugar. Components in cinnamon help the body use insulin more efficiently, so more glucose can enter cells. A recent study found that in people with diabetes, just 1/2 teaspoon a day can significantly lower blood sugar levels. So go ahead and add powdered cinnamon to your whole wheat toast, oatmeal, baked apples, or even chicken dishes. Or soak a cinnamon stick in hot water to make a soothing and curative cup of cinnamon tea.

Tea
Sip your way to good health with a calming cup of tea. True teas, whether they are green, white, black or oolong, originate from the Camellia sinensis plant. Processing techniques differentiate each type of tea. With beneficial levels of flavonoids and only two calories per cup, drinking tea is a great way to support overall health.

Tomatoes
Naturally delicious and full of nutrients, tomatoes contain an abundance of lycopene, a health-promoting plant pigment. Lycopene not only gives tomatoes their ruby red color, it also helps support immune function and prostate health. Cooked tomatoes found in pasta sauce, salsa and tomato paste enhance the absorption of lycopene into your system.

last but not least...

Honey
The buzz about honey is true! Full of B-complex vitamins, amino acids and enzymes, raw honey is tasty and a great substitute for refined sugars. Enjoy swirled into tea or drizzled over oatmeal and porridge.

kuz78au
18-02-2006, 21:32
MMmmm good stuff! I like the cinamon part! Oooh that sprinkled on baked apple, mmmmm! And honey, I love honey! I will keep these foods in mind for sure!

I have been going not so good. I'm having trouble with stomach cramps. I had my gallbladder removed 3 weeks ago and today had the worst pain, just like the attacks I used to have. I had pizza (I know, tut, tut) and I think that's what triggered it. I'm kicking myself so hard for being so stupid and taking the easy option, pizza. It's so fatty and bad for you, why do we like or choose foods we can't have? :(

Anyway, so I sat down with my hubby today and had a frank discussion about this food problem. And the exercise. We decided to invest in some machinery. It would work out cheaper for us than gym membership, and I will be able to keep an eye on bubs while I'm working out. So we are looking around now to see what we can get. Wish us luck!

I hope you all are going okay and having a good weekend :p

lilsprout
20-02-2006, 07:32
Hi girls:) Kuz that sounds like a plan!! great to have hubby in on it too let us know how it goes ok.....

I have being feeling sleepy still for 13weeks, but hungry as anything. I have really had to pull in the reins...so I nibble on these little packets of nuts, the brand is Lucky and they come in packets simular to sultanas. So I figure they are good for the bub and not bad for me. I want to get more fresh fruit next shop day, more variety it's hard when you don't fancy the same thing each day:(

I have found some info on creating a meal plan, and making a diet or healthy menu work for you...it can be really hard going making a menu that isn't overly strict, has interesting meals for everyone in the family and not being tempted by having things for the kids in cupboards that at a weak moment become too tempting:D I am hoping that this next lot of ideas are what makes the differance for you.

one thing I just thought of...if your working or even if your not. Find a healthy recipe from googling low fat meal ideas etc., print out a recipe that flicks your switch and buy the ingredients on the way home, or while taking bub for a walk could be one way to overcome buying on impulse or even buying too much!! try it and see if it works for you.

lilsprout
20-02-2006, 07:50
For most of us, switching to a healthier diet means changing some deep-seated habits: preparing dishes like mother never made them; spending more time in the fresh vegetable aisle of the supermarket; and keeping balance and nutrition in mind along with taste.

This change doesn't have to be a chore. It can be a pleasant, even exciting, process as long as we recognize that it is a big change—something that can only be accomplished gradually, not in an instant. Taking the time to examine your present eating patterns can help you decide which changes are most important right now, and which ones can be postponed until you've gotten comfortable with the first round of adjustments.

In this overview, you'll find out how to assess your current eating habits, zero in on healthy changes, and devise a plan that suits your own lifestyle and tastes. It then shows how to put that plan into practice through savvy shopping, healthier cooking, and balanced menu planning.

STEP ONE: DISCOVER WHAT YOU REALLY EAT!!

While keeping a food journal is the method recommended by many nutritionists, more abbreviated forms of record keeping can work just as well.

The results of a food journal analysis are likely to surprise you. People who fear that their eating habits are deplorable will probably discover they have pockets of healthy tastes and habits to build upon. And those who are sure they're on the nutrition honor roll may discover that their idea of a "portion" is two or even three times larger than what nutritionists have in mind. People often underestimate their daily intake by as much as 50 percent.

A food journal also helps you see how your eating habits fit into your everyday routine, allowing you to target mutually reinforcing habits for easier change. Research shows that this type of self-monitoring and daily record-keeping does help you modify ingrained behavior.

Any type of notebook, calendar, or computer file that is easy to consult frequently can serve as a food journal. Entries should include:

* What you ate

* How much you ate

* Where you ate

* What your motivation for eating was

* What else you were doing at the time

It's important to enter every meal and snack, including such "incidentals"

Once you've kept a journal for a week, put aside some time to analyze the results. Use the accompanying "Fat, Cholesterol, and Calorie Counter" to calculate your calorie and fat intake for each meal and snack, and then add up your daily counts. This will give a realistic picture of what you currently eat.

Reading through the journal will raise your awareness of the specific foods you favor as well as your overall eating patterns. You will get to know your food cravings, and may find helpful patterns (such as a tendency not to snack in the evening if you've had a fruit dessert with dinner). You can then incorporate this knowledge into your meal-planning. For example, if you find you often crave sweets in the late afternoon, you can anticipate your desire and keep healthy substitutes like fruit on hand. Or, if you find that your motivation for eating is often not hunger but to reward yourself for a completed task, you can build this awareness into your plan by finding alternative ways to celebrate. Identifying your particular needs, desires and lifestyle will help you to create an individualized plan for improving your diet.

If the idea of keeping a complete food journal seems too bothersome, there are other ways to assess your daily intake of nutrients. Try focusing on one nutrient each week or month. For example, if you have a high cholesterol level you can record all the saturated fats you eat and then compare this figure with the recommended amount. When you have a good sense of your fat intake and how to adjust it, you can move on to another food group—for example, counting fruit and vegetable intake for a week. Another option is to consult a dietitian for help in assessing your current nutritional status—a method particularly recommended for people with special medical needs and those with long-standing weight-control problems.

Reluctance to assess your current intake may itself signal an important attitude toward food. Many people think that nothing they now eat is nutritionally "good." They want to wipe the slate clean of all current habits and start over. It's a good idea to try to overcome this reaction, since virtually everyone has some good eating habits. It's easier to retain these patterns and plan improvements to be added, instead of totally rejecting all of your favorite meals. On the other hand, resistance may mean that now is not the right time in your life to change your eating habits. A dietetic makeover does involve some work and the food journal is merely the first step. People with serious health problems (such as binge eating) often avoid keeping track of food. If you find that you're afraid to keep a journal, you might want to consider consulting a professional.

ok that is the end of step one

let me know when your ready for step two, ok

20-02-2006, 15:24
Hey all!!

Back again.... dh has decided to join me on the weight loss journey... YAY we can egg each other on now!!

Well had another good loss last week, woo hoo!!! There is hope for my poor heart yet! :D

princesscook
20-02-2006, 22:50
any tips on exercise and diet (eating habits) whilst pregnant - to make it easier to loose that fat after birth - i have to loose it all 4 months after my birth which is suppose to be happening 23rd June this year because i have to be a bridesmaid in October - and i worried i will still look like a big fat ball walking down that isle when only just 9months ago i was such a slim bride myself
please help
sj :confused:

lilsprout
21-02-2006, 09:06
let me help you princesscook let me see what I can find....give me sec

lilsprout
21-02-2006, 10:01
All care was taken in providing these plans; they contain all the nutriments needed to support a healthy pregnancy, maybe without excess weight. I am willing to have a go myself and will let you what I think. As each women craves differant types of foods if there is something on the list that baby doesn't like, swap it with something simular {don't like steak, swap it for chops or chicken or fish}. Please insure your taking pregnancy vitamins and 500mg folic acid daily.
If diabetic pregnant women would like info please let me know, I can help you as well.

PREGNANCY MEAL SUGGESTION'S #1
Breakfast
Orange Juice
Breakfast Cereal or
Scrambled Eggs
1 Slice of Wholemeal bread(toasted)
a smear of margerine & vegemite, jam or 1 teaspoon peanut butter
skim milk, decaffinated coffee (is nice and decaffinated tea have decaff tea black)

Lunch
Baked chicken
sweet potato
green beans
coleslaw
wholewheat bread roll
strawberries
skim milk or water

Dinner/Tea
Vegetable-Bean Soup
Meatballs with Tomato Sauce
Spaghetti
Spinach Salad with Dressing, Zucchini
Rice Pudding
Garlic bread
home-made frappe: 1 tspn decaff coffee, 250mls skim milk, ice cubes
dissolve decaff coffee in a little boiling water, add all ingredients place in either a blender or jug(hand-held blender) and blast until frothy...voila!!

Snacks
a piece of fruit
wholemeal toast with smear of margerine with 1 teaspoon topping - vegemite, peanut butter, tomato slices or jams.
low-fat yoghurt
or fruit juice

PREGNANCY MEAL SUGGESTION #2
Breakfast
Fruit or juice
Wholegrain cereal with milk (preferably low fat milk)
Toast/bread (wholemeal preferred)
Margarine or butter

Lunch
Bread/roll/pita bread/flat bread/rice cakes
Meat, cheese, egg, fish or chicken
Salad
Fresh fruit
Glass of milk or yoghurt

Dinner
Meat, fish chicken or legume dish
Potato, rice or pasta
Green and orange vegetables
Fruit dessert or milk pudding

Between meal snacks
Fresh/tinned/dried fruit, nuts

Crispbread and cheese, pikelets

Wholemeal muffins, crumpet or scones

Yoghurt, milk, water.

I'll just add these as well:
Caffeine
During pregnancy your body takes a long time to break down caffeine so a little goes a long way. Avoid large amounts of caffeine containing foods such as coffee, tea, cola drinks, chocolate and cocoa (2-3 cups of coffee, less if percolated, or 4 cups of tea per day is OK).

Alcohol
It is best to avoid alcohol during pregnancy. This is because alcohol is carried across the placenta into the baby's blood stream. Unborn babies cannot effectively break down alcohol and may beat risk of developing abnormalities, particularly in the first 3 months of pregnancy. (There is no known safe level of consumption of alcohol during pregnancy.)

kuz78au
22-02-2006, 14:06
any tips on exercise and diet (eating habits) whilst pregnant

I'd say eat smaller meals throughout the day, 5-6 smaller meals rather than big ones. Careful about snack foods though! They may be low in fat but they are high in KJ's! :mad:

Update on moi, after weighing up the machine options, I decided to join a gym (lol - I am all over the place aren't I?!) which includes a weight loss management program. I didn't get the machine because they are sooooo expensive and also I will be getting out of the house which will be great! I'm very committed because I just can't take it anymore!!!! :banghead: (luv these new smileys btw!) Can't wait to start, I'm pretty excited! I'm taking a photo of my hubby and bubba in with me for each gym and weight loss session, I am doing it for me, so I can be there for them. I want to be able to play with my children, not just sit on the couch and watch! And also be there for my hubby, and egg him on too! Corny huh :rolleyes:

Thanks for the info lilsprout, I think recording what you eat is a great start! Sometimes you don't even know you have eaten, especially when you sit in front of the tv to eat dinner! (Which we do sometimes!)

Have a great week everyone!!!

PS. Woo hoo Becca-Rae! :thumbsup:

22-02-2006, 14:10
OOPS :banghead: Had a major blowout. Had to have a trans vaginal Ultrasound today. Felt really gross & depressed afterwards..... I ate A LOT of chocolate....:mad: . Well if I go to the gym tonight I might be able to burn a bit of it off :rolleyes: I hope so!! :o

Gotta beat the battle of the brain....

lilsprout
22-02-2006, 15:47
Hi girls...great to hear your news and catch up on how it's all going for you I love these new smilies too they are so much better than the other ones, it doesn't take much to amuse me lol

Kuz I have more parts to add to the food diary, that is one of three parts...I am going to start a food diary as well, as I'm in the second trimester{as far as I know, have to go for a ultrasound} and I don't want to put on a stack of weight, I have enough already. Tomorrow I'll post part2.
You go girl...:smiliedance: @ the gym!!

Becca-Rae, your far from digusting...your beautiful inside and out. Your just going through a rough spot wear your getting tempted and it's causing inner conflict?? Hang in there, it will come together for you. Be strong and try the food diary, it misht just seem to be :ecomcity: but it might just work??

I had a pretty good lunch today...I was feeling iky all day so I made poached fish and a steamed potato. I put a little water in a pan, with two lemon teabags and boiling water and gently poached it while the potato was cooking in the microwave... was really yummy!! the lemon tea just adds flavour

lilsprout
22-02-2006, 20:17
What a fantastic idea M&M:thumbsup: I'll start mine in the morning for today though I've being making sure I go to bed early each night.

This is bound to help, especially when it seems your :banghead: when it's all there in print before your eyes what you've eaten there is no deying that. It's easy to convince yourself that the biscuits are ok.........because..........! But when you've written it all done, it can be very motavating :yelclap:

~thankyou xxx~

22-02-2006, 21:06
Becca-Rae, your far from digusting...your beautiful inside and out. Your just going through a rough spot wear your getting tempted and it's causing inner conflict?? Hang in there, it will come together for you. Be strong and try the food diary, it misht just seem to be :ecomcity: but it might just work??

Thanks lilsprout.... I do a diary already, just a bad day today... tomorrow is a fresh start!! :smiliedance:

Mamaduke
22-02-2006, 21:28
Hello...
I've been meaning to call in, but I've been too busy exercising:smiliedance: :rolleyes: !!!!!!!!
I'm currently on the CSIRO 'plan' (I'm not using the word diet anymore...because then I'm sure to fail!) and I've been on this 'plan' for 5 days...and I'm not weighing myself because one of the boys has taken the scales somewhere and we don't know where it is!!! Anyway, I seem to have already lost 3cm of b/w/h so I'm pretty impressed...but are we supposed to be talking about weights/measurements? Oops...might go back and check what the rules are!!!

lilsprout
23-02-2006, 10:20
your very welcome becca-rae, glad to hear your feeling better, but when your not I'm here:D

Great to have you stop by Marmaduke:thumbsup: your doing really well with the new plan come back and let us know how your going, we like to support each other and gain insight and strength from each other!!

NB: On a silly note, I've being singing "Voodoo Child" by the rogue traders to the baby lol...with DD it was "Wild Child" by the Doors {i think i see a pattern forming here...oh well}

kuz78au
23-02-2006, 21:10
Thanks lilsprout.... I do a diary already, just a bad day today... tomorrow is a fresh start!! :smiliedance:

Yay! Sooo true! Don't beat yourself up Becca-Rae, as long as you don't keep doing it everyday you will be fine! :p

Woo hoo Mamaduke! I've heard a lot of people losing weight on the CSIRO, even a whole town are on it! Did you ever see that on tv? I think it was on Extra or Today Tonight or something! Funny hey!

As for me, first session at the gym today and it was great. I already feel better, like I've got more energy! I'm having my weight management session on Monday night. I'm really excited! :D

lilsprout
26-02-2006, 07:29
hi becca-rae, just thought I'd pop in and see how your getting on. I have being slack over the last few days, saying I was going to post part2 and I haven't yet....but promise that I will do it. I've being nervously awaiting monday for the blood results.

I have meant to tell you for ages now, the photo of your two cherubs is just gorgeous, the most adorable photo I've seen.

kuz78au
26-02-2006, 21:39
I've being nervously awaiting monday for the blood results.

Good luck lilsprout, I'm sure it will all be fine :p

SassyMummy
26-02-2006, 23:42
I've decided to join the Blubber Club...because I feel that THIS time, I really AM committed to losing weight (there's been so many times before that I've said it, but not actually felt it).

I think my first little bit of inspiration came from The Biggest Loser...seeing that THEY can do it, makes me realise that I can do it too. (Though I won't have personal trainers to push me, or a really expensive home gym...lol).

My second bit of inspiration has come in the form of Ajay Rochester (yes, the Aussie Biggest Loser host)'s book, "The Lazy Girl's Guide to Losing Weight and Getting Fit." I only bought it yesterday...and today, I went out and bought HEAPS of new foods...and pushed myself to exercise.

With the help of that little book, I've realised (it CLICKED in my head) that I need to change the way I live my life...not just go on a diet...lose x-amount of kgs...then gain it all back and then some more 5 weeks later. I've realised that I deserve to be healthy and fit and I deserve to be able to fit into a size 12 (that's what I'm aiming for anyway...if I can make 10 I'll be over the moon. I don't want any smaller than that though!).

I know that "calorie counting" has a bad name...but I'm using it as my weapon anyway. I find it easier that way...because I have something follow. I know how much fat I can have a day (up to 60g)...and how many Calories I'm allowed (between 1000 and 1400...depending on exercise). I also know how to convert Carlories to KiloJoules...which is useful.

It's like I've gained a personal trainer/dietician/shrink all in one little book. She did all that, so I don't have to. Sure...she can't listen to my whinging like a therapist can...but I feel that I don't need one, because I can related to just about everything she says. It's really going to be my saviour!

I've also realised that it doesn't have to be as difficult as I thought it would be. All I have to do is exercise a bit (and I can even do some of those just sitting on the couch!) and eat healthier. I'm even (following the same plan Ajay did) allowed to eat HEAPS during the day. 3 meals and 2-3 snacks actually! A lot of it is salad, low-fat yoghurt, fruit and the like...but I've decided to road-test fruits I don't normally get (I had a pink grapefruit today. It wasn't nearly as awful as I imagined!).

I'm visualising what that piece of chocolate will do to my thighs/bum/arms/belly/etc and I'm just not tempted. I no doubt WILL be tempted...but I'm not.

Oh - I should mention that, while I only got the book yesterday, I've been eating more healthily for about 2 weeks now. My only real "bad food" was a bit of brie cheese and a medium fries at maccas when I was switching trains (I was starving!).

Now...for the scary news...
I'm nearly 20 (less than 2 weeks from it! YAY! :yelclap: ) and weigh 100kg. (I have lost about 4.5kg though...so I started, 2 weeks ago, at 104.5kg! :eek: ).
My goal weight is about 65kg. If I can get down to 60, I'll be thrilled...but it's not necessary.
I'm only 163cm too btw (that's roughly 5'3''!).

Good luck on your journies ladies...I'll be following yours, and letting you know all about mine!

lexi'smum
27-02-2006, 08:38
I have been following this thread since it begun, and I just want to say how proud I am of all of you, it is so admirable of you all and I wish each of you the very best of luck.
:yelclap: GOOD LUCK BLUBBER CLUB :yelclap:

hillbaby5
27-02-2006, 08:43
Hey guys wat a great site
Just thought Id let you know I'm a qualified gym instructor so if you have any questions re exersice and nutriton before after and during pregnancy I'm happy to answer them.

Ffrenchknickers
27-02-2006, 21:55
Hey all

Just wanted ot say that I am sorry sorry sorry for neglecting this thread lately!:( I know I offered my support and I feel like I have abandoned you lately.....Had lots going on BUT NO EXCUSES! I am here to stay now!

How are those squats going guys?

MM, I'll let Hillbaby answer too but tone tone up you need to do some weight traning (the heavier the better for your muscles to respond)...are you already doing that at the gym? Combine it with plenty of cardio as well. You need to lose bodyfat but also gain some muscle to "strecth out" the skin to make it look firmer:)

Benchpress
Tricep dips
Seated Row
Squats
Leg press
The Hover (which I posted ealier in the thread...)

Everyone has a 6 pack, the abdominal muscles are only small and dont tkae much to build up....it just depends how much is covering them LOL. Weight training is the best way to strenghten your abs...being concious of using your core all day every day as well. Also, drink heaps of water...Good luck with it.

BECKY!!!! Yo are beautiful and I have met you in real life!!! You are so gorgeous! Dont ever think any different!!!

Lilsprout, how are you doing these days? I am glad to see your thread is still alove and kicking! You are awesome to start it!

lexi'smum
28-02-2006, 11:50
Hi M&M
There are los of exercises you can do at home, so thought Id stop in and post some.
Some have previously been mentioned. A few can have variations to make them harder so il add them too:

Lunges - standing, alternating, elevated,
Pushups- standard, wide and close grip. elevated hands or feet, uneven hands, clap.
Squats- jump squats, walking squats
Step ups- step ups with kick
uphill sprints (ok, thats outside)
dips
boxing
reverse crunches
hover
superman

thats just a few I can think of right now, if I get more time il come back with more, if your unsure of any just ask and il explain them.
also if you have an exercise ball then theres alot more exercises you can do at home.
good luck :smiliedance:

lexi'smum
28-02-2006, 12:40
oooh having a pool is awesome for exercise, you should try and get in there and do laps atleast a few days a week :thumbsup:

ok, i will try my best and explain those one to you, bear with me a little :o

dips- using a chair or bench or something of the kind stand with your back to it and put your hands on the end of it, walk your feet out till your knees are out stretched and bend your arms at the elbow till they make roughly a 90degree angle lowering your bottom to the floor(not toughing). and then come back up and repeat, keep your tucked elbows behind you, making sure they do not go out to the side.

reverse cruches-quite the same as ordinary cruches except lifting your legs not your torso, lay on your back and bring your legs up as far as you can, even slightly lifting your bottom off the ground also.then slowly lower them back to the ground, and hold for a few seconds in the lowest position youcan, remember to keep your abdominals braced the whole time.
-these are also really good when done in an incline position.

hover- i think this one has been mentioned in a previous post on this thread, there may even be a photo, laying face down, come up onto your toes and forearms and brace your abdominals and keep you back flat hold for as long as you can.

superman-this one can be done a few ways, two of them are, lying either on your stomach or kneeling on all fours, holding one arm out in front of you and the opposite leg behind you parrallel (sp?) to the ground, hold for a few secs and repeat with other side.

I just thought of another one for the inner thighs and abdominals-

like a sissor type thing, lay on your back with your legs spread out, lift them a few inches off the ground (as close to the ground as you can) and open and close your legs (sorry couldnt think of better wording) like sissors.

I just have to say to any one else who reads this, some of these exercises are not recommended if you have just given birth.

Hope it is a help :)

hillbaby5
28-02-2006, 12:57
hey M&M sorry I havent got back to you been flat out I went to the Gym today Yeah first time back in awhile (to train myself that is) and I'm having PT see even Pt's need PT's
Anyway Frenchie answered your questions:hugs:
Keep up the good work it's hard to stay motivated but the results are worth it
xxxxx:thumbsup:
[QUOTE=M&M]Okay I have 3 questions

Best way too loose the flab on upper arms?

Thighs ^^^ As above ??

Tone the backs of legs ?

Okay make it 4 And Tummy ??

Thanks in advance !!!! :

28-02-2006, 13:02
BECKY!!!! Yo are beautiful and I have met you in real life!!! You are so gorgeous! Dont ever think any different!!!

Thanks Katie.... :o But I have to ask, when did I say I was disgusting? :rolleyes:
I cant find where I wrote that. I dont think I'm disgusting... but I do think with a little effort I could look much sexier :p !!!

Well after a couple of shocking weeks... today I did well... I resisted temptation once again!! :smiliedance: WOOHOO!!

sugar n spice
28-02-2006, 13:49
well i have just started dieting so i will join in more now if i have time and let you know my progress:smiliedance:

28-02-2006, 13:50
OOhh Good luck Rachel.... at least we are all on the journey together!! :yelclap:

kuz78au
28-02-2006, 19:27
Sassymummy - Woo hoo! Good on ya for making the start girl! :thumbsup: And EEEK about those Macca's fries, but remember even if you have a moment and eat something naughty, as long as you don't keep doing it you'll be fine! So well done! Good luck with it all, make sure you keep us all updated!

Thanks Lexi'smum! Thanks for the great encouragement!

As for moi, I went to my appointment with the weight loss specialist on Monday and all is good. I ate like a piggy on the weekend (I suppose I was thinking that 'last supper' thing!) but today have been really good. I have to plan a lot, my wonderful hubby is doing the shopping at the moment, there are so many fruit and vegies on the list which is awesome! I also have these slim shakes that I have about 3 a day with food, they are quite tasty and you can also blend them with fruit. I've never had anything like that before, and I'm enjoying it. Especially with such a young baby, I don't really get a lot of time at the moment to prepare big meals!

As for the exercise, I'm still gymming! I LOVE the gym I'm going to, they are so lovely and the facilities are wonderful! I also went for my weights session on Sunday and I thought I would be sore but I wasn't too bad....but then again I didn't do a full session. I will hopefully tomorrow so we will see how we go! I do the squats with the fitball against the wall, OMG! My knees are sooo stuffed from the pregnancy! What a great way to get them going! I'm struggling with them at the moment, but slowly but surely I will be doing more and more until I'm a pro!

So conclusion for me, I'm one happy slimming chicky babe! :smiliedance: I hope all of your week goes great and look forward to catching up with you all! :hugs: I love all of your support and thank you!

Ffrenchknickers
28-02-2006, 21:16
Hey great to see you going to the gym..:D

MM I thought you posted a couple of times that you had been going ot the gym??:confused:

Anyway, Lexismum has posted some great stuff....here is a link to a program I wrote up for Wattle to do at home:) Similar stuff to Lexismum:thumbsup:
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=4455&highlight=wattle+exercise

Good luck with it~!

bella'sbub
01-03-2006, 06:15
hey girls, I'm still here and following everyone's journey. You are all brave :thumbsup: had a bit of a setback last week: after being a good girl for 3 weeks and walking every morn. I braved the scales and I havn't lost even one gram!. I really felt like giving up but I guess I just have to work harder. Like the food journal idea, thanks. :kiss:

kuz78au
02-03-2006, 12:50
Aww don't feel discouraged if the scales don't move. Remember that there are other ways to know you are doing good - feeling better, your clothes a bit looser, measuring yourself and being able to do more than before (more stamina). REMEMBER MUSCLE WEIGHS MORE THAN FAT! :smiliedance:

Never give up, just keep on track :p If you have a set-back, learn from it and it can make you stronger! :thumbsup:

hillbaby5
02-03-2006, 13:01
Hey girls how are you all doing I'm excited I lost .4kg this week not much but better than nothing I have my first personal training session tomorrow and I'm scared cause It's gonna hurt!!!!! but NO PAIN NO GAIN
A good tip too if you love sweet thing especially if you crave at night Like me make up batches of diet jelly its fat and sugar free and its filling and yummy
keep it up girls

xxxx:smiliedance:

kuz78au
05-03-2006, 07:30
Hi M&M,
Haven't heard from Lilsprout either? I hope all is okay :fingerscrossed:

I'm going okay. Have been gymming :smiliedance: and loving it! I go for my first weigh in tomorrow night. I have been pretty on track this week although I have had one or two setbacks - but nothing major! I have been eating a variety of food too which has been great! I weighed myself at home and it says I've lost about kilo! Woo hoo!

kuz78au
07-03-2006, 18:48
Just a quick update!
I was weighed last night and I've lost 0.5kg! Yay! :yelclap: I'm very excited! Woo hoo!

I have to run! I hope you are all going well!

Ffrenchknickers
07-03-2006, 19:30
YAY! WELL DONE:D KEEP UP THE GoOD WORK!

kuz78au
07-03-2006, 21:32
YAY! WELL DONE:D KEEP UP THE GoOD WORK!

Woo hoo, thanks matey! :thumbsup: I wondered where everyone got to! Lol! ;)

kuz78au
10-03-2006, 10:57
Awwww I'm having a bad week this week :( I've been naughty and been hoeing into the chocolates and biscuits.....not sure why. It's like I can't stop thinking about them until they are all gone. Then afterwards I feel worse but find myself going back for more. Plus I've only been to the gym once this week, and I'm soooo tired from sleep deprivation. :crying: I hope things look up, I really do!

10-03-2006, 13:04
I have to say sorry, I havn't been here for ages!! I'm just feeling very unmotivated at the moment!! I'll keep popping in to see if I can get excited again....

10-03-2006, 13:05
BTW :hugs: Kerrie!! I'm hearing you!!

kuz78au
10-03-2006, 21:13
Thanks for the support Becky, it's been a bit quiet around here lately.... (tumbleweed floats by...) lol! :laughing:

bella'sbub
03-05-2006, 13:12
hey girls how are you all going?
Ive; just moved to the south coast, so I have been off-line for ages! I don't think I'm any skinnier than a few months ago when this thread started but I'm feeling better, Much healthier, I have got more support and am obsessing much less about my curves. I'm reading a book about the no more diet idea. I will let you know how it goes. :fingerscrossed:

03-05-2006, 13:20
I have always been overweight
don't aspire to be skinny
but would love to be fit and healthy
breastfeeding for last six months
only now starting to lose last pregnancy weight

ideally would like to lose 10kg

tammi-marie
04-05-2006, 19:24
:wave: hi, my name is tammi-marie,21, and i am nearly 24 weeks pregnant, due 25th august, my problem is i cant eat any salad or vegetable except potatoes. even when i was a little girl i didnt eat vegies. what could i eat to stay healthy and loose weight? anyone? :eek:

kuz78au
09-05-2006, 16:08
:wave: hi, my name is tammi-marie,21, and i am nearly 24 weeks pregnant, due 25th august, my problem is i cant eat any salad or vegetable except potatoes. even when i was a little girl i didnt eat vegies. what could i eat to stay healthy and loose weight? anyone? :eek:

Hmm, that's a toughie! I'm not sure it's the right place to post this question (maybe a pregnancy section?) but I will try and help as much as possible!

I would say stick to what you can eat for the moment. Don't try and lose weight while you are pregnant, you can really harm your baby. Just remember, your baby will get it's nutriants from you no matter what you have, but of course the more good things you eat the better you will feel. Talk to your Dr about this issue as soon as you can as they might have some better suggestions and can monitor you. Good luck! :hugs:

bella'sbub
13-06-2006, 09:32
hey blubberclubbers are you all still going?:kiss:

kuz78au
14-06-2006, 20:24
hey bella'sbub, just watching the tumbleweed floating by....this thread is kind of dead :thumbsdown: I'm still watching it though in case someone wants to chat! :ecomcity: