View Full Version : I am converting!

Dangerkitty
06-08-2007, 19:19
Ok so because of my great and marvelous friend Mum2Charli, I am converting. She has given me tip after tip, but wanted to come here too and get other peoples take on MCN's!

What brand do you prefer? Do you like AIO's or Fitteds? Pocket? How many do you recommend to get started full time with? I am soo excited about this!!:smiliedance:

ziggie
06-08-2007, 19:37
I love a good convert!

My all time faves are Greenkids pockets boosted with the GK microfibre insert and a Bambooster from nurture nappies. Really soft and super absorbant!

At night, I love TotsBots Bamboozles, boosted with a Babybeehind bamboo flat booster folded into 3, covered with a PUL or wool wrap.

GK's come in a starter pack, I think.

~J'dore~
06-08-2007, 19:37
I'm new to MCN's too and I think the most helpful thing was to read the sticky's:thumbsup:

How many nappies you will need with depend on how often you want to wash and the drying time of the nappies you have. If you only have AIO's they can take longer to dry so you'd need more etc...

Dangerkitty
07-08-2007, 17:17
Any one else? I know there are tons of you out here who use MCN! :) I could use some input from the masters!:yelclap:

becstar
07-08-2007, 17:45
I wouldnt say I was a master hehe but I have been using MCN for about 6 months and have a good variety.

My fav type are pockets followed closely by AIO (although I do change my mind from week to week). I like pockets because they dry quicker than AIO.....Greenk Kids, Bumgenius pockets and Haute pockets make up the bulk of my stash but I also have some pretty AIOs made from minky.....LOVE LOVE MINKY. Its so soft. I have a berry plush and 4 Blueberrys.

I would recommend getting some trial packs of different types to see what you like before ordering up big......Have fun shopping!!

juzzy
07-08-2007, 18:09
Im a convert as well! I have spent the last few days buying some MCNs online, now just waiting for them to be delivered! I am so excited!

I was told that the best ones to start with would be Green Kids or some other kind of pocket MCN. I ordered a trial pack from Green Kids.

I was also told that bumgenius was a good nappy as well. They do trial packs, i purchased one today.

Good luck!

07-08-2007, 19:06
Yay!! Welcome aboard to the addiction. You've got a great teacher on your hands, she's learnt from the best :p ;)

I'm by all means no master, we've only been full time cloth for a year now so I still have a long way to go and many more spendings to be had. Yup, once you start buying MCN it's really hard to stop. You'll soon see.

The stickys are a great place to start. Then work out what you want your work horse nappy to be, ie AIO, fitteds, pockets ect...

When we started my work horse nappies were Green Kids pockets.. They are fantastic nappies but I personally I wouldn't recommend them to be work horse nappies. They don't last that long because if my memory serves me correctly (and please don't quote me on this) the PUL has a life expectancy of 50 washes so basically you'd need one massive stash to keep up the high rotation which would make them last longer. Also, I found that stuffing pockets all the time became daunting and I just got over pockets completely in the end. I highly recommend them as a once in a while nappy but like I said not as work horse nappies. Bum Genious pockets, I found that they wear quickly also.

In our stash now we mainly have bamboo Baby Beehinds, PUL covers, wool soakers and longies, fold ups and boosters. We have other nappies like Berry Plushes, Very Baby, Nic Naps, HoneyBoy!s and various other brands. I'm addicted to fitteds at the moment. Well this week anyway.

I strongly recommend you to try different types and different brands because not all MCN's work for everyone. Just like disposables to start off with, you need to try a few different brands sometimes to find the right one, MCN'ing is much the same!

One thing I can not stress enough is, get yourself a Little Squirt (I keep telling Carmen the same thing) it makes life SO much easier.

Anyway, enough ramblings for now. If you have any more questions, please don't hesitate to ask.. we MCN mumma's are a lovely bunch and are always happy to help :yes:

Happy shopping! :)

Becteria
08-08-2007, 08:28
i'm recently converted too........

i love baby beehinds bamboo, not a huge fan of the hemp.... and i think my new addiction may be longies and soakers thanks to noo! ha ha ha!

stellarella
08-08-2007, 08:36
Oh yay!!! I love coverts!!!

What brand do you prefer?
Oh, sooooooooo many. I love Bits for Bots, Cuddlebuns, Bubblebubs....

Do you like AIO's or Fitteds? Pocket?
I like them all. I was a massive fitteds fan for ages, but now I have lots of pockets and AIOs too. I think its nice to have a few of each. Just remember, fitteds need a cover, and I love woolies for my covers.

How many do you recommend to get started full time with? Ummm, a minimum if 18 I think, and around 24 is a nice stash with not too much washing.

I am soo excited about this!! ME TOO :yes:

One more bit of advice. Dont buy too many of the one type to start with. Its fun to try heaps of different types and also a wise decision as you may hate certain types and if you buy a full time set of say Baby Beehinds then you will be stuck with them....trust me, it happens all the time.

09-08-2007, 16:34
Just wanted to clear something up re PUL on Green Kids nappies. Green Kids nappies are made from longer lasting, premium quality 2 mil PUL. Here is a quote from Sasha aka Green Kids.

My daughter has many of her nappies for well over 2 years, and they are still going strong. If cared for gently as per the care instructions, a set of 20-24 nappies should last most bubs from birth to toilet training.

09-08-2007, 16:48
Just wanted to clear something up re PUL on Green Kids nappies. Green Kids nappies are made from longer lasting, premium quality 2 mil PUL. Here is a quote from Sasha aka Green Kids.

My daughter has many of her nappies for well over 2 years, and they are still going strong. If cared for gently as per the care instructions, a set of 20-24 nappies should last most bubs from birth to toilet training.

Thanks RB.

Like I said, I'm only going by my personal experience with them. Don't get me wrong I do think highly of GK, customer support is fantastic, the nappies are well made but they started to wear very quickly (especially the aplix) even in a high rotation and well looked after. I guess Dakota wasn't part of the "most bubs" part of the quote. :)

Lillynix
09-08-2007, 17:03
What brand do you prefer?
I don't really have a favourite brand, I love lots of different ones for different reasons, but in my stash I have Baby Beehinds Bamboo Fitteds, Dragonfly Magik AIO's, Honeyboy! AIO's and BumGenius Pockets and love them all equally for different reasons.

Do you like AIO's or Fitteds? Pocket? It depends. I started with Pockets and I love them, they dry quickly, and as I stuff all mine once they're dry it's no different to putting on an AIO (or 'sposie) come nappy change time. However I would only use Fitteds for night time as I find they work the best, but I do use them during the day at home too, with a knitted soaker or flongies. AIO's I love because I don't have to stuff them, I just put them on and away I go, I like these for going out and about with.

How many do you recommend to get started full time with?
My full-time stash is currently around 30 and I wash every second day. However I could get away with less, probably around 24, but i'm expanding my stash due to #2 being on the way.

To roughly work it out, find the average of nappies you go through in a day (adding a few extra for emergencies) and how many days you'd like to go inbetween washing, that's what I did!

Hope that helped!

09-08-2007, 22:08
Hi!! :wave: :D

I'm with the majority here, I've got a mixture of different varieties and brands and I like it that way!

But I have to say this about AIOs- a pocket that's been stuffed (an insert shoved into the pocket) is just like an AIO except it dries faster because the absorbant layers come out for drying. You can customise it to make it last for longer or shorter periods of use.

Having said that, I have a some great AIOS (Cherub's Kiss HoneyBoy!s, BubbleBubs, Berry Plush, Itti Bittis, etc) and they are great. But I do love pockets for going out and around the house, and fitteds for naps and sleeps.

Pockets: I really like the Swaddlebee organic velour side-snap pockets. I have a few Green Kids that are a bit worn now after 10 months or so, but are a good nappy nevertheless. Same with BumGenius pockets, and I also like Bits For Bots pockets, Fruit Salad Pockets and some WAHM fleece pockets that are awesome.

Fitteds: I like bamboo Baby Beehinds but for night I prefer BubbleBub's Good Night Sleep Tight. They are sooo absorbant and a better fit for my kids. I also have a Dream-Eze organic cotton velour which is a great, trim fitted, Cute Tooshie's Bamboo Delights and some bamboo velour Very Baby Simply Nights.

I knit my own merino longies, soakers and shorties, they are so easy to make (although I do get a bit obsessed during the process... I knit whenever I have a spare moment!!) but I have some Baby Beehinds pul covers that are great too. Never had a leak in wool yet though!

I definetly prefer snaps over applix... much more durable IMO.

Ok... suffering from information overload yet? :D

SassyMummy
09-08-2007, 22:17
I like AIOs or pockets for the day, and fitteds with a fleece cover for night (because the others just don't last the distance).

DD is 15.5kg and 2 years old, and JUST fits into her BBBs (Baby Beehinds Bamboo - which is a fitted). It's the only OSFM nappy we have... because she's pretty much too chubby to fit into any other OSFM type of nappy.

I really like my Swaddlebees AIO&pocket (it's both in one... you can use it as is as an AIO and there's a space to stuff an insert too - which I do). It's VERY trim and absorbant too (WITH the pocket stuffed).

I don't mind my honey boy, my pea pods (they ARE cheap, and look it, but they work well IMO), my BubbleBubs either.

I have an itti bitti which is okay too... not the best, but okay.

I also prefer snaps... because after a while, the aplix (velcro) tends to get a little cr*p.

Ange&Seth
09-08-2007, 22:20
I've just bought 2 Baby Beehinds Bamboo Nappies from A New Blessing (you'll find the details in the bubhub directory).

I use them at night and find they are fantastic. Am yet to buy day time nappies but I'm getting there. Considering I ordered/bought the BBB's yesterday and they arrived today, I'm really itching to get back on that site and buy some more!

Tubbychook
10-08-2007, 06:48
Wy to go on the converting. Like the others have said its an addiction. I started off with some Babybeehinds i have about 8 of those which i use at night boosted and during the day just with the snap ins. I also brouhgt a Green Kids pocket that i use too and one berry plush which is yummy. But my fave nappies and most of my growing stash are the nappies i have made DS. If you can sew making your own is really rewarding. I just love making a nappy and putting it on ds. I have spent more money on material then i have on nappies.

HoopDeeDoo
10-08-2007, 09:15
I just wanted to clear up the confusion over PUL. It is supposed to last for 150 washes - if you treat it right it will last longer. Which is still pretty good considering for the same price as a PUL pocket you would get about 1/2 that amount in sposies.

I use pockets - mostly fleece-, a few All in ones/all in twos through the day. Mostly with hemp inserts and microfibre boosters. At night I use bamboo fitteds with knitted soakers and longies.

I've made most of mine myself which is a great way to save money, plus you can make some really unique gorgeous nappies that your kids will LOVE. And you can use whatever fabrics you want, if you can get your hands on it :D

10-08-2007, 10:15
I just wanted to clear up the confusion over PUL. It is supposed to last for 150 washes - if you treat it right it will last longer. Which is still pretty good considering for the same price as a PUL pocket you would get about 1/2 that amount in sposies.

Thanks for clearing that up Em. I couldn't remember whether it was 50 or 150 washes. :o Either way mine didn't last that long, maybe I was doing something wrong.. Not sure what though. Bottom line is money still well spent for a newb to cloth at the time.